Americas in the Revolutionary Era

Course No. 8617
Professor Marshall C. Eakin, Ph.D.
Vanderbilt University
Share This Course
4.5 out of 5
35 Reviews
77% of reviewers would recommend this product
Course No. 8617
Audio Streaming Included Free

Course Overview

The revolution that created the United States was only one of many American revolutions. From 1776 to 1825, wars for independence erupted throughout the Americas—from Boston to Buenos Aires—creating 19 new nations. What common roots did these revolutionary movements share? What role did such events as the Enlightenment, the Industrial Revolution, and the French Revolution play? How did the "radicalism" of the U.S. revolution affect other European colonies in the Western Hemisphere? How did Napoleon Bonaparte's invasion and occupation of Spain spark revolts across Spanish America?

The Americas in the Revolutionary Era answers these and many more important but often overlooked questions about the tumultuous political history of our part of the world. Professor Marshall C. Eakin explains the cultural, economic, and political pressures each of these new American nations faced in achieving independence. In addition, he examines—through the unique figures and situations present in each country—exactly why each revolution progressed as it did, succeeding or failing, its history written "in ink and in blood."

The Americas' "Other" Revolutions and Founding Fathers

Beginning with the revolution in our own 13 colonies, these lectures examine the uprisings and invasions that created the independent nation of Haiti in 1804; the wars for independence in Spanish South America; the bloody uprisings that led to Mexican independence; and the relatively bloodless revolt in Brazil. You will also consider "counterexamples," nations that failed to become independent or followed unusual patterns, such as Cuba, Puerto Rico, the British West Indies, and Paraguay.

This is also an opportunity to learn more about the "other" founding fathers of the Americas: Haiti's Toussaint L'Ouverture; Francisco de Miranda and Simón Bolívar in Venezuela, Columbia, and Ecuador; José de San Martín in Argentina and Bernardo O'Higgins in Chile; and Agustín de Iturbide of Mexico.

The Individuals Who Shaped Our Hemisphere

Professor Marshall C. Eakin is ideally suited to lead this fascinating excursion across so many cultures. Originally a student of both anthropology and history before focusing on the latter, he has worked, lived, studied, and done research across all of Latin America since he was a high school student. As Professor Eakin points out, "structures and institutions matter, but history is made by individuals." The significant figures you will meet, whose stories are brought to life in episodes that are often as surprising as they are fascinating, include:

  • José Antonio Páez, the charismatic leader of the llaneros—the Venezuelan horsemen who first fought and then allied with Bolívar—who rode into battle accompanied by an immense African bodyguard who would protect and carry him during his frequent epileptic seizures.
  • The colorful Thomas Cochrane, Earl of Dundonald, the British naval mercenary whose key role in helping to win the independence of Brazil, Chile, and Peru included managing to steal the Peruvian flagship during an important battle.
  • José Gaspar Rodríguez de Francia, the authoritarian dictator who walled off Paraguay from the surrounding world for 30 years, spurning modernity at the same time as he achieved for his nation such self-sufficiency that today historians are reconsidering their once negative view of him.
  • André Rigaud, the mulatto son of a Haitian native and a French nobleman. Fiery, intellectual, and idealistic, he commanded troops on behalf of the colonists in the American Revolution. Yet he eventually developed a visceral hatred of whites, and would arrive in Haiti preaching the gospel of class and race genocide.

The Human Side of the Quest for Independence

Throughout these lectures, as Professor Eakin explores the forces that shaped each nation's path to independence, he never allows you to forget that these forces ultimately translate into the events of people's lives. He brings his perspective down to ground level, spanning oceans and mountain ranges to translate those forces into dramatic events, including:

A riveting portrait of life among the slaves of what was then known as Saint Domingue (later Haiti), including the conditions of their plight and the brutal Code Noir under which they lived. The Haitian revolt remains to this day the only successful slave rebellion in the hemisphere: the nightmare that white slaveholders had always feared.

A brilliant description of the chaotic evacuation of the Portuguese royal family and its entourage—10,000 people in all—as they fled to Brazil only an hour ahead of Napoleon's troops. They would rule the remains of their empire from Rio, which they would attempt to make, ironically, into a tropical version of Versailles.

The bold exploits of Simón Bolívar, including his remarkable and dramatic march from the tropics of eastern Venezuela through the 13,000-foot passes of the Andes to defeat the Spanish at Boyacá and liberate Colombia. Embittered late in life by his failure to foster true freedom or stable governments in five South American nations, Bolívar wrote that "he who serves a revolution, ploughs the sea."

The heroic resistance to Napoleon exhibited by the Spanish people—with some of our best documentation available in the paintings of Goya—including the tactics that gave the world the term "guerilla warfare."

This 24-lecture course is both grand drama and an absorbing intellectual exercise in comparative history. At the end of these lectures, you will have a detailed understanding of how our hemisphere took shape, and why.

Hide Full Description
24 lectures
 |  Average 30 minutes each
  • 1
    Revolutions and Wars for Independence
    This lecture outlines the plan and logic of the course and puts forth its major themes, along with an explanation of the critical difference between the concepts of revolution and wars for independence. x
  • 2
    Origins of Revolution in the Atlantic World
    Important transformations have shaped the Atlantic world by the middle of the 18th century, including the Enlightenment, the revolution in commerce and trade, and the Industrial Revolution. x
  • 3
    Colonial Empires on the Eve of Revolution
    Professor Eakin surveys the dimensions and key characteristics of the large empires that Spain, Portugal, France, and England had established in the Americas by the middle of the 18th century. x
  • 4
    The "North" American Revolution Emerges
    After surveying the origins of the Thirteen Colonies, as well as their similarities and differences, Dr. Eakin traces the emergence of the colonies' unity and their movement toward independence. x
  • 5
    From Lexington and Concord to Yorktown
    Here we find a chronicle of the course of the fighting during our own U.S. revolution, from the action at Lexington and Concord to the British surrender at Yorktown in 1781. x
  • 6
    The Radicalism of the American Revolution
    Here we consider a debate that still rages after more than 200 years: Was the American Revolution really a radical break with a monarchial past, or did it represent a conservative effort by planters to seize power and control the development of an already divided society? x
  • 7
    Slave Rebellion in St. Domingue
    This is the first half of a two-part examination of the only successful slave rebellion in the Americas, including the impact of the American and French Revolutions, the two most important influences on Latin American revolutionaries after 1789. x
  • 8
    The Haitian Revolution
    Over more than a decade, Haiti's rebellious slaves, along with some free blacks, manage to defeat invading armies from France, England, and Spain, with implications that will continue to resonate throughout the Americas. x
  • 9
    Seeds of Rebellion in Spanish America
    By 1750, the Spanish Empire in the Americas has been in place for two-and-a-half centuries and is straining to survive. This lecture begins an examination of the wars for independence faced by Spain. x
  • 10
    Napoleon Invades Spain and Portugal
    Although modernization and reform have set the stage for the wars for independence, it is the Napoleonic Wars—especially Napoleon's invasion of Spain when he sparked rebellion by removing King Fernando VII from power in 1808—that trigger Spanish America's wars for independence. x
  • 11
    Francisco de Miranda—The Precursor
    This lecture introduces the most glamorous and dashing figure in the wars for independence, whose life and work foreshadow the generation of leaders who will lead those wars and who mentors the most famous of those liberators. x
  • 12
    Simon Bolivar—The Liberator
    Professor Eakin looks closely at the life of the most famous of Latin America's revolutionary figures, comparing and contrasting him as the "George Washington" of a half-dozen South American nations. x
  • 13
    Liberating Northern South America
    Bolivar overcomes a disastrous early failure and exile in the Caribbean to liberate Venezuela and the rest of northern South America in a bloody struggle that will consume more than a decade. x
  • 14
    San Martin and Argentine Independence
    The struggle for independence in Argentina and Uruguay revolves around the figure of José de San Mart'n, the southern South American counterpart of Bolivar. x
  • 15
    Bernardo O’Higgins and Chile
    The illegitimate son of the Irish-born former viceroy of Peru, who struggled to win the recognition denied him by his father, Bernardo O'Higgins emerges as the great military hero of Chilean independence. x
  • 16
    Liberating Peru
    The liberation of Peru, the great Spanish stronghold in South America, is accomplished from two directions, with Bolivar leading the attack from the north and San Martin from the south. x
  • 17
    Mexico—Race and Class Warfare
    Professor Eakin looks at the first of two stages in the war for Mexican independence—the race and class war that begins in 1810 and which is the ultimate nightmare of the Latin American elites. x
  • 18
    Mexico—Empire and Chaos
    In the aftermath of social revolution and racial war, Spaniards and Creoles close ranks to preserve peace, but events in Europe spark a second war for independence. x
  • 19
    Brazil—A Royal Revolution?
    The path to independence taken by Brazil, despite being similar in many ways, differs from that taking place in Spanish America in crucial respects. x
  • 20
    Failed Movements in the Caribbean
    Some American colonies, despite the successful wars for independence taking place around them, do not achieve independence in this era. This lecture looks at Cuba, Puerto Rico, and the troubled case of the Dominican Republic. x
  • 21
    The British West Indies and Canada
    Professor Eakin looks closely at the British West Indies and Canada, two more counterpoints to the successful wars of revolution and independence swirling around them. x
  • 22
    The Strange Case of Paraguay
    Perhaps the most unusual country in Latin America in the 19th century, Paraguay was led by the authoritarian José Gaspar Rodriguez de Francia, who forced it to turn inward in isolation. x
  • 23
    Revolutions Made and Unmade
    Professor Eakin returns to the "big picture" of the age of revolutions, examining the processes at work and comparing the revolutions of the Americas. x
  • 24
    The Aftermath of Independence
    The course concludes with a wide-angle look at the Americas in the aftermath of the wars for independence, and reflect on the legacies left by these wars for the many peoples of the Americas. x

Lecture Titles

Clone Content from Your Professor tab

What's Included

What Does Each Format Include?

Video DVD
Audio Download Includes:
  • Download 24 audio lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE audio streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps

What Does The Course Guidebook Include?

Video DVD
Course Guidebook Details:
  • 128-page printed course guidebook
  • Maps
  • Suggested readings
  • Questions to consider

Enjoy This Course On-the-Go with Our Mobile Apps!*

  • App store App store iPhone + iPad
  • Google Play Google Play Android Devices
  • Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Tablet + Firephone
*Courses can be streamed from anywhere you have an internet connection. Standard carrier data rates may apply in areas that do not have wifi connections pursuant to your carrier contract.

Your professor

Marshall C. Eakin

About Your Professor

Marshall C. Eakin, Ph.D.
Vanderbilt University
Dr. Marshall C. Eakin is Professor of History at Vanderbilt University, where he has taught since 1983. He completed his undergraduate work at the University of Costa Rica and at the University of Kansas, where he also earned his master's degree. He earned his Ph.D. from UCLA. Before taking his position at Vanderbilt, he taught at Loyola Marymount University. He has won many teaching awards at Vanderbilt, including the...
Learn More About This Professor
Also By This Professor

Reviews

Americas in the Revolutionary Era is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 35.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow, I was so eager to hear the lecture As a mid western born WASP I never was exposed to much of Latin American history and sadly, I never sought out information on it. Suddenly one day I realized that I was essentially ignorant of the cultures, peoples and histories of Latin America so I bought this course and with Profeesor Eakins other course on The Conquest of The Americas I am beginning to realize how shallow my understanding was, and that many of my perceptions were wrong. I would like to recommend a course on the Peoples and Cultures of Latin America
Date published: 2014-04-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fills in a big gap in my knowledge Audio version This course filled a big gap in my knowledge of the Americas. If you're like me, your high school history and even college history classes omitted the Latin American revolutions. My Latin American history classes in college started from the late 1800s. Reading the news I saw names like Simon Bolivar and Jose de San Martin but didn't know their stories. Now I do. This is a comprehensive look at all the revolutions in the New World, starting with the American War of Independence. Eakin's lecture on Haiti's blood-soaked revolution was the most interesting. Eakin is an expert who knows almost every name and battle in Latin American history of this time period. I learned a lot from him. While I got a great overview of the wars of independence and themes in the course, Eakin overwhelmed me with details when he described the Bolivar and de San Martin's campaigns in South America. There were too many names, dates, and locations to keep in my head. Eakin does a fantastic job explaining how events in Europe, specifically Napoleon's invasion of Spain and Portugal, spurred revolution in the Americas. This is a factor I had never considered. I give this course four stars because it doesn't have passion of an Ehrman or Timothy Taylor lecture, who, to me, set the standard for audio Great Courses. I wish Eakin would indulge in some unscripted, non-academic comments like "That was a total disaster" or "What a crazy war!" These would convey the magnitude of historical events. I like Eakin's focus on leaders but I wish he would add some color about the wars' impacts on people. The gory details would deflate some of the heroism and mythology of revolutionary wars. Eakin does a good job comparing and contrasting Bolivar and George Washington but seems a little too uncritical of Simon Bolivar. For example, he never explained why Bolivar betrayed his own mentor and lifelong revolutionary Francisco de Miranda to the Spanish at the beginning of Bolivar's involvement in revolution. That seems to contradict Bolivar's reputation as a freedom fighter yet Eakin never brings it up later in the course. Overall, I recommend this course to someone interested in Latin American history. Even if you're up on Latin American history you will still probably learn a lot because this covers an oft-neglected time period in history.
Date published: 2014-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Introduction to all of the Americas. This course covers the entire North and South American continents primarily from the time period of 1770-1830, with some prelude and postlude. As an American History (United States) student, this course was an eye opener. I had no idea of the history of anything but the U.S. during this time period. This course is a great overview of the other American nations and their quests for independence. Each country or region is covered in a lecture or two. The series covers the major individuals and movements in each country. For the novice like me this was great. If you want a really in depth understanding of one region or country, look elsewhere. Now that the course is only available in an audio download, it was hard to follow without a guidebook. A guidebook would be handy to keep all of the names of people straight. The course was very informative, but not spellbinding like my favorite Great Courses.
Date published: 2014-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Leave It to Bolívar Review of Prof. Eakin's 'The Americas in the Revolutionary Era (2004)'. I watched an old DVD set (from back when the discs came in tall 10-inch high cases). What you see most of the time is Prof. Eakin speaking. Helpful maps are sometimes displayed, along with illustrations of the people or events being referred to, captions of when key people lived or reigned, quotations being read, etc. I think of this course as the "sequel" to Prof. Eakin's earlier course, 'Conquest of the Americas (2002)'. The Conquest course was mostly concerned with the 1400s to the 1600s. The Revolutionary Era course focuses on the 1770s to the 1820s, with some overview of earlier and later times. I particularly learned a lot of Latin American history from this course, from big themes such as the demand for (legal) free trade to details such as San Martin deciding to leave the liberation of Peru to Bolívar. Prof. Eakin is often looking down at his notes while speaking in this course. (In the earlier Conquest course, he seemed much more extemporaneous.) He spoke in a clear, confident voice. Some of the narrated events were hard to follow the first time as they were so unfamiliar to me, but with some review of the guidebook or replaying some segments I could understand the key points. The earlier Conquest course was one of my favorites. This sequel seemed less foundational, but I still give it 5-stars as the prof did a solid job of informing me about a time and place that is not covered in any other course offered. I'd like to see a followup series on the later Latin American history to the present.
Date published: 2013-12-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Original but Unpolished ! In this series of lectures, Professor Eakin sets out to explain and compare the evolution of the various European colonies in the Western hemisphere in the late 18th and early 19th centuries. Although he claims to have a wider view, his approach is essentially political and military, with only secondary treatment given to cultural, social and economic elements. He has a very refreshing but abrupt view of the American Revolution that may shock some members of his audience. To him, the term revolution applies truly to the events in France in 1789, in Russia in 1917 and in China in 1949 but not necessarily those in the 13 colonies between 1776 and 1783. He points out that, for the founding fathers, those ‘men that are all created equal’ excluded women, slaves and Indians. He also underscores that George Washington was no military genius. Professor Eakin’s presentation is often drawn-out with a strange insistence on minor details: eye and hair colour, minutiae of executions, discussion of wives and mistresses, etc. The conclusion to the series is much too lengthy, covers two lectures and is largely repetitive. In South American fashion, ‘North America’ is all too often equated with the United States. Thus, the treatment of Canada is very cursory. The topic is essentially only discussed in the latter half of lecture 21, the first part dealing with the British West Indies. There is no mention of the deportation by the British of all Acadians from their lands in what was to become Nova Scotia, a major turning point in Canadian colonial history. Professor Eakin is very pedagogical in setting clear objectives for his lectures and explaining how they are organized. His performance is marred however by the fact that he obviously reads out his text. His delivery is choppy and he often pointlessly overemphasizes certain words what only makes it even less natural. Irritatingly, he systematically mispronounces certain words. For instance, Bolivar comes out as ‘Bow-liever’ and debauchery as ‘debaukery’. Potential buyers are strongly advised to wait for a second edition that will be shorter and better polished.
Date published: 2013-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good course I preferred Eakin's Conquest of the Americas to Americas in the Revolutionary Era but this is still a solid course. Its strength is that it is a reliable introduction to Latin American history. Many of us barely heard of Bolivar in school and are woefully ignorant about the Latin American wars of independence. However, as other reviewers noted, Eakins is not a story teller. He gives a synopsis at the beginning of each lecture and then gives away the punch line (eg that a liberator was betrayed, or died in prison). If Eakins is selected for other courses, I recommend that he listen to someone like Baum who in the modern Chinese history course, maintains some suspense while still being a thoughtful scholar. My other criticism is that the US revolutionary material is too superficial and would better be left for TC's courses on the American literature. I did not become engaged til lecture 4. I also agree with another reviewer that political history is emphasized in this course over military and economic history--more could have been done here. . I recommend this course but not as highly as Conquest of the Americas where (though Eakins style was stilted in the first couple of lectures) he was more engaging. This is a knowledgeable scholar and this review should not be taken too negatively.
Date published: 2012-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A terrific program I thought the lectures were great. They presented a set of ideas I was unaware of. I enjoy meeting people from Latin America, and it really helped me understand their perspective.
Date published: 2011-08-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The subject needed a story-teller As with many others who've reviewed 'Americas in the Revolutionary Era,' I found the information excellent: clear, comprehensive, and enlightening. It was especially valuable to me as an English-as-Second-Language tutor because I have students from South America, and knowing about their history and culture is one of my goals. The only aspect of this course that I found disappointing was Dr. Eakin's delivery. He doesn't seem to be a natural story-teller; he didn't generate the excitement and enthusiasm - at least in me - that I think the subject of revolutions and heroes should command. I'm definitely glad I bought this course, but it could have been more compelling.
Date published: 2011-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mostly political history This course covers materials not often found elsewhere. This course primarily focuses on political history, accompanied with some interesting biographies of the key personalities. I would wish to have more social history and more economic history. It is good that he regularly contextualizes what happens in Latin America within the larger currents of world history. The lecturer's tone-of-voice is earnest, and slightly intense.
Date published: 2011-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Material Not Found Very Often This review will cover the Audio version. About two years ago, I took, and greatly enjoyed, Dr. Eakin's course on "Conquest of the Americas" Although I really gained much from that course, I walked away wanting more information. I am very happy to say that his "Americas in the Revolutionary Era" greatly satisfies this desire. I was somewhat disappointed that this course was not offered in the DVD format (although I purchased it from a TTC magazine that advertised it as such) However, his voice and presentation are very 'easy on the ears' His grammer is perfect, and his passion and enthusiasm are very obvious as well. The subject matter itself is rarely covered today, and it is a story worth hearing. As the professor himself points out in an early lecture, the material used to be presented in a few select university programs of history. However, this material was pushed aside in the 1970's and 80's. The one thing that I really appreciate about the presentation is that Dr. Eakin begins with the United States' experience of a revolution ( a revolution in which we are familiar) and, once he has our interest, he expands on this central idea into the revolts and revolutions of other geographic locations in the Western Hemisphere. As he often points out, these revolts do not always result in independence from the home country. In fact the story of the failed attempts is just as compelling as those that were. The history of these movements in Canada, Mexico, as well as Central and South American nations are all covered. The outlines given in the guide book are excellent, but the professor goes into some detail in the lecures that are not given in the book. That is one of the wonderful things about the course. I took my time in reviewing the subject material, and his use of bibliographical list and other sources are excellent. I was a litlle surprised at times in that some other references mentioned in the lecture were not covered in the guide book. However, with a quick stop of the CD to write down the name and author is a good solution. In closing, if one is looking for something different, this is it. This is not material that is covered in nearly all the other TTC history courses. I found it very informative and refreshing. Dr. Eakin's bonding of putting the events given into the proper historical context of the time is stunning. For example, he talks about the impact that the events of the French Revolution had on opportunities for revolt in the Americas. If one has not taken Dr. Eakin's prior course on "Conquest in The Americas" I would suggest that it also be used, since the two courses are companions to each other.
Date published: 2011-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A compelling, holistic view Professor Eakin makes a strong case for a transformational, half-century "era of revolution" in the Americas, and does a nice job identifying and weaving together the many forces that drove it. I appreciated his refusal to be held captive by any one source of causality (geography, climate, pre-existing political/economic/social structures, Enlightenment intellectual influences, brilliant individual leaders) and instead giving each their due. I also liked his insistence that the "Atlantic World" of the Americas, Europe and Africa should be viewed holistically, and his comprehensive coverage of all independence movements in the Americas, including those that failed. Presentation was easy to follow (I was able to understand fine at 2x speed) and suggested good supplementary sources of information (e.g. on Eakin's recommendation I read Gordon Wood's very concise history of the American Revolution and it reinforced the American Revolution section of the lectures nicely). Recommended for anyone interested in the history of the U.S. or Latin America, and highly recommended for anyone interested in how the two compare and relate.
Date published: 2010-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Succinct, Fast-Moving, and Fascinating! I thoroughly enjoyed the audio version of this course. Professor Eakin does an outstanding job of compressing the revolutionary histories of two dozen countries from the 1770’s to the 1820’s. Obviously, the U.S. wasn’t the only country that had a revolution in this period. Understanding the wars for independence in the Caribbean, Mexico, Middle and South America gives the listener a larger and useful context to more fully compare and contrast the themes and details of myriad massive shifts of power south of the U.S. border. I appreciated Dr. Eakin’s speaking ability -- he uses good grammar, avoids clichés and jargon, and sustains his enthusiasm. I commend his ability to condense large amounts of data while holding the listener’s interest almost constantly. In Lecture 4, the professor implies that the U.S. revolution may not have been especially ‘exceptional,’ but in Lecture 5 he recounts highlights of the American Revolution with real fervor bordering on outright patriotism. A fascinating key point is that ideology may drive a revolution, but a revolution probably won’t succeed unless ‘special interests’ have their needs met during the initial uprising and in the aftermath. Highly recommended!
Date published: 2010-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You Say You Want A Revolution This course is an excellent follow up to Dr. Eakin's first rate course entitled Conquest of the Americas.As a citizen of the U.S., I am familiar with our revolution but when it comes to other revolutions in the Americas, my knowledge was lacking. But Dr. Eakin rectified that issue. This is a broad yet deep course. Dr. Eakin analyzes events that influenced revolutions and wars for independence including the Enlightenment, Scientific revolution and various political events. The American Revolution is covered, but so is the birth of the second free nation in the Western Hemisphere- Haiti. The story of that successful slave revolt is fascinating. The bulk of the course looks at events in Mexico and South America. The course is chock full of interesting figures including Tom Paine, George Washington, Toussaint L'Ouverture, Bernardo O'Higgins, Simon Bolivar and Jose de San Martin. This survey ends with a discussion of similarities and differences between these revolutions. The complex tale of the Americas is brought to life in this course. The course booklet also has helpful maps and vocabulary.
Date published: 2009-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from our library expanded... This lecture series took a bit longer than usual as we stopped to read several of the books suggested by the lecturer. All have aided in our understanding of the historical time period of our neighbors to the South. Dr. Eakin presents the stories of the liberators concisely and with genuine interest and feeling. There are excellent maps and photographs to assist in learning and we were able to follow the path toward liberation easily. Dr. Eakin is a wonderful lecturer and I highly recommend this course along with his "Conquest of the Americas" also by the Teaching Company.
Date published: 2009-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New Perspective on History "The Americas in the Revolutionary Era" is an example of how turning your historical point of reference by 45 degrees causes you to see things completely differently. All the history I have studied about the American Revolution was framed in an east-west perspective -- i.e., everything centered around the axis running from North America to Britiain. Dr. Eakin views this period from a north-south axis, examing the all revolutionary trends there were occurring simultaneously in the Western Hemisphere. By the end of the course, I felt that we in the U.S. had won the lottery. Most of the revolutions that had the same aspirations as our never succeeded. We had a rare convergence of enlightened leadership which managed to successfully pull off our revolution. Dr. Eakin is an excellent instructor whose courses are among the best history courses in the Teaching Company inventory. I highly recommend this course -- it provides a different perspective our historical development that isn't usually taught in our country.
Date published: 2009-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Course, Great Professor This is one of the first courses I listened to and it continues to be one of my favorites. The author has passion, knowledge, and most of all, maintains your interest. Highly recommended!
Date published: 2009-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I purchased this course expecting to just learn about the revolutionary movements in Latin America in the traditional sense, but Prof. Eakin has challenged how I look at the history of Latin and North America as a history of all the Americas. This is a very broad topic, but Prof. Eakin does a good job at disecting each part of the Americas piecemeal to discuss their revolution or failed revolution. He spends alot of time emphasizing his points (which he does in both of his classes), but at least he makes good points with what he emphasizes.
Date published: 2008-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A useful viewpoint It took me a while to buy into the idea that it was sensible to view the American Revolution of 1776 and the various independence movements in Latin America as part of a single historical trend, but in the end I was convinced. The early lectures on the American revolution struck me as being too cursory, and if that's the part of this topic that interests you most, you'll be much better served by the American Revolution courses by Profs. Guelzo and (especially) Mancall. But they were needful, I suppose, to establish the United States experience as a point of reference to support the basic thesis of the course. The real meat of the course begins at lecture 7, with the Haitian Revolution, and the good stuff continues to the end. The lecture on the non-revolutionary histories of Canada and the British Virgin Islands is particularly thought-provoking. This course would be great as a follow-on to Prof. Eakin's outstanding "Conquest of the Americas" course.
Date published: 2008-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Prof. Eakins was (again) excellent. He gave me a whole new perspective on the American Revolution by putting it in the context of all the Americas - well done!
Date published: 2008-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dr. Eakin is an outstanding teacher. I have listened to both of his courses (the other is conquest of the Americas). I wish he had more courses.
Date published: 2008-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Prof. Eakins love of the subject matter comes through in his delivery.. Great job!!
Date published: 2008-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from There was a mistake in Part 1 Lecture 9: Felipe IV was not the last Habsburg king in Spain. Carlos II was the last Habsburg King in Spain.
Date published: 2008-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As a history teacher, I find your lecture series particularly helpful in adding depth to my own lessons. Thanks!
Date published: 2008-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from These courses are excellent for clarity & coverage of material
Date published: 2008-10-17
  • y_2019, m_5, d_26, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_32
  • loc_en_US, sid_8617, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 169.69ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Customers Who Bought This Course Also Bought