Ancient Greek Civilization

Course No. 323
Professor Jeremy McInerney, Ph.D.
University of Pennsylvania
Share This Course
4.6 out of 5
106 Reviews
82% of reviewers would recommend this product
Course No. 323
Sale
Streaming Included Free

Course Overview

Why do the ancient Greeks occupy such a prominent place in conceptions of Western culture and identity? What about them made generations of influential scholars and writers view Hellenic culture as the uniquely essential starting point for understanding the art and reflection that define the West? Does this view tell the whole story?

The Ancestors of Us All

Clearly, the Greeks are a source of much that we esteem in our own culture: democracy, philosophy, tragedy, epic and lyric poetry, history-writing, our aesthetic sensibilities and ideals of athletic competition, and more. Blazoned above the portal of Apollo's temple at Delphi were the words, "Know thyself." For us, this injunction to self-awareness also commands knowledge of the Greeks.

With Professor Jeremy McInerney as your teacher, you'll come away with fresh knowledge on one of humanity's most golden ages. A native Australian, Professor McInerney is Associate Professor of Classical Studies at the University of Pennsylvania. He also serves on the Managing Committee of the American School of Classical Studies at Athens. He has excavated Greek sites in Israel, at Corinth, and on Crete.

Our customers are very enthusiastic about Professor McInerney. "The quality of the course is so high, I hate to see it end," writes one. Another says, "Professor McInerney's lectures are among the finest I have ever heard. He is articulate, thoughtful, and engaging. I learned more from this course than from any book I have read on the subject."

Our Mediterranean Origins

Spanning roughly 1,000 years, from 1500–400 B.C.E., this course covers the Late Bronze Age to the time of Philip II of Macedon and his son Alexander the Great in the late 4th century B.C.E. Professor McInerney traces the complex web of links between our present and its Mediterranean origins. With him, you explore ancient Greek civilization in the light shed by the newest and best research and criticism. The course expands understanding of history, literature, art, philosophy, religion, and more.

The lectures pay special attention to the two crucial centuries from 600–400 B.C.E.—the era of the Persian and Peloponnesian wars and of classical Athens as described in the histories of Herodotus and Thucydides and the philosophic dialogues of Plato.

Magnificent Minoan Crete and Mycenae

The first 12 lectures introduce you to Greek civilization from its earliest discernible beginnings up to the Persian War. In them, you learn to see ancient Greece split in two: a period of magnificent achievement that plunged to darkness, and a second flowering of that civilization that is the foundation of our own.

Minoan civilization on the island of Crete and Mycenaen civilization on the mainland were the two great Greek civilizations of the Bronze Age. They left behind magnificent ruins, art, and artifacts, but no written histories. In Lectures 1–8 you:

  • Explore these extraordinarily advanced cultures
  • Learn why their collapse around 1200 B.C.E. puzzles scholars to this day
  • Hear the full story of Heinrich Schliemann, who found Mycenae by following clues in Homer's poems
  • Review the finding made only in the 1950s that showed us that Mycenae was, in fact, Greek
  • See how a new and distinct Archaic culture—one that revered Homer's epics—arose in the Age of Heroes after the collapse of Crete and Mycenae
  • Discover how much the Greeks gained from their contacts with other ancient societies (the alphabet, among other things, came from the Semitic peoples of Syria and the Eastern Mediterranean)
  • Understand how Spartan warrior culture was forced on the Spartans because they enslaved a nearby region
  • Explore the causes and effects of Greek colonization from France to the Ukraine
  • See how a uniquely "Greek" identity was based in part on the Oracle at Delphi and the Olympic Games; non-Greeks were not admitted to either.

The first section of the course examines the origins of democracy, which grew out of authoritarian government. And you see here how much of our freedom we owe to Cleisthenes, who created the democratic government under which Athens flourished for two centuries—and how he ingeniously designed it to undermine established power and allegiance.

The Persians, the Peloponnesian War, and the Arrival of the Macedonians

The course's second 12 lectures include the compelling histories of the Persian War (490–479 B.C.E.) and the Peloponnesian War (431–404 B.C.E.).

First united by their common enemy in Persia, Professor McInerney explains how much the Persian War came to define the Greeks—and us. The notion of freedom they developed in response to Persian power is one we inherit. After the Persian War, the Greeks developed their sense of identity as the antagonists of the Eastern world, a tension to which the West has been heir ever since.

After the defeat of the Persians, Athens rose to hegemony over the Greek world. You see how the Athenians' trade and power were developed and imposed on the Mediterranean. And you learn some surprising facts about this Golden Age:

  • Greek tragedy began as a religious ritual to purge the audience of "uncivilized" emotions.
  • Greek art was often an intensely and explicitly competitive enterprise.
  • Athenian culture depended heavily on slavery. Professor McInerney addresses the charge that Athens only prospered because it had slaves under its heel.

Two lectures are devoted to the clash between Athens and Sparta in the Peloponnesian War. Socrates served as a soldier in that struggle.

After Athens was defeated, its philosophers rose to their full achievement in the work and lives of Socrates, Plato, and Aristotle, reinforcing the old axiom that defeat is the greatest muse for political philosophy. Professor McInerney delivers a provocative interpretation of the trial of Socrates.

In its postwar "decline," Athens defined the contours of philosophy and science for more than 1,000 years and produced great drama, art, and literature.

Toward the end of the 4th century B.C.E., Macedonian kings dominated Greece. Philip and his son, Alexander (who was tutored by Aristotle), created a Pan-Hellenic culture again to unite the Greeks against their common enemy—Persia.

In short decades, Greek power would extend from Egypt to the Hindu Kush.

Differences and Affinities

Just as the divide between East and West still exists, so does one separating our world from that of the ancients. We must remember that the Hellenic world had many values, beliefs, and mores at odds with our own. In ancient Greece:

  • Slavery was common
  • Women suffered complete exclusion from public life
  • Homosexuality was an accepted aristocratic practice in Athens, Sparta, and other city-states.

As Professor McInerney shows, such differences do not imply that the culture of ancient Greece holds no meaning for us. Rather, it should spur us to deepen our engagement with the Greeks, for their differences can teach us as much as our affinities with them.

Hide Full Description
24 lectures
 |  Average 30 minutes each
  • 1
    Greece and the Western World
    Why do we feel such a strong affinity with the ancient Greeks? When and how did the West begin to venerate the Golden Age of Athens under Pericles? x
  • 2
    Minoan Crete
    Bronze Age Crete has been dubbed a "palatial society" whose magnificent buildings housed a complex, hierarchical world. But this world remains shrouded in mystery. x
  • 3
    Schliemann and Mycenae
    Inspired by Homer's poems, Heinrich Schliemann uncovered the elite warrior culture of Mycenae, "rich in gold." The relationship of this culture to that of Bronze Age Crete has long been a subject of intense scholarly debate. x
  • 4
    The Long Twilight
    Civilization in Bronze Age Crete and Mycenae declined rapidly after 1200 B.C.E. Archaeologists have long argued about the cause: Was it natural disaster, military invasion, internal strife, or some combination of these? x
  • 5
    The Age of Heroes
    During the ancient "Dark Ages," the predominant unit of Hellenic society was a tribal or clan-based group known as the oikos (household). Poets such as Homer created an imaginative world that provided society a heroic, aristocratic ethos. x
  • 6
    From Sicily to Syria—The Growth of Trade and Colonization
    Greek colonies were established as near as the Mediterranean and as far away as Ukraine. While the causes of Hellenic colonization are complex, its results were important. Trade filled Greek coffers. Intellectual imports, such as written language and artistic motifs, arrived as well. x
  • 7
    Delphi and Olympia
    The preclassical institutions of the Olympic Games and the sanctuary of Apollo at Delphi were crucial elements in fixing Greek identity. x
  • 8
    The Spartans
    Conflict, tension, and civil unrest were endemic in most Greek city-states from the 8th century B.C.E. onward. Sparta, however, formed a notable exception. How did it avoid civic violence? x
  • 9
    Revolution
    Solon, the "father of the Athenian constitution," was elected to forestall factional strife. He attempted to formalize rights and privileges based on wealth rather than birth, and did away with debt-bondage. He laid the groundwork for the rule of law in Athens. x
  • 10
    Tyranny
    Contrary to our modern definition of tyranny, the Greek word originally meant the seizing of power by an ambitious man. The tyranny of Peisistratus and his sons kept the peace in Athens and nurtured its prosperity for more than 50 years. x
  • 11
    The Origins of Democracy
    Cleisthenes recognized that the common Athenian was a more potent political force than any aristocrat, and used this knowledge to take control of an Athens newly freed from the Peisistratid tyranny. Under his rule, the Athenians established the elements of democratic governance. x
  • 12
    Beyond Greece—The Persian Empire
    The epic confrontation between Greece and Persia changed Greek history forever. In this lecture, the Persian Empire is examined and, as far as possible, without the bias of Greek sources. The portrait that emerges is of a complex and sophisticated society. x
  • 13
    The Persian Wars
    The Persian Wars, 490–479 B.C.E, were probably of more consequence to the Greeks than to the Persians. From these confrontations the Greeks articulated their idea of eleutheria (freedom), which is still embedded in Western culture. What was freedom as the Greeks conceived it? x
  • 14
    The Athenian Empire
    An alliance of Aegean city-states, the Delian League was formed in the aftermath of the Persian Wars while Athens enjoyed great prestige. The Golden Age of Pericles was the age of imperial Athens, during which time the Parthenon, Propylaia, and Erectheion were completed. x
  • 15
    The Art of Democracy
    Athenian democracy was a remarkable achievement. Although participation was restricted to adult male citizens, the assembly, council, courts, and magistracies guaranteed a broad basis for sharing power. x
  • 16
    Sacrifice and Greek Religion
    Greek spiritual life rested on a fluid cosmology in which faith was personal while religion was a public affair that revolved around a communal sacrifice. These sacrifices were organized as festivals, leading us to ask: Which ranked first in importance, performance or belief? x
  • 17
    Theater and the Competition of Art
    Familiar as Greek plays seem to us, their roots lie in the more foreign realm of ancient religious festivals. The power of drama was seen as connecting the community with the divine. Therefore, the straightforward structure of most Greek dramas should not blind us to their powerful emotional role and content. x
  • 18
    Sex and Gender
    Ancient Greek attitudes toward sex and gender differed markedly from our own. Activity and forcefulness characterized the masculine ideal. Women, on the other hand, were thought to need the protection of their family and society. x
  • 19
    The Peloponnesian War, Part I
    The Peloponnesian War, 431–404 B.C.E., was a contest between Athens and Sparta, the two most powerful states in Greece. Thucydides, an Athenian general, wrote his observations and attempted to analyze scientifically the causes of the war. His account remains important not only because it is remarkably detailed, but because Thucydides saw the gap between societal ideals and the realities of power. x
  • 20
    The Peloponnesian War, Part II
    Thucydides wanted to teach his audience fundamental truths about history rather than entertain people with war stories. To him, human events followed a pattern. He writes with great restraint but stunning depth and power. x
  • 21
    Socrates on Trial
    The philosophic traditions of Ionian inquiry and sophistic pedagogy met in the career of Socrates, who concentrated almost exclusively on moral philosophy. Plato immortalized his trial and execution in the "Apology," "Crito," and "Phaedo." Was Socrates a martyr, as Plato and many others have held, or is there another explanation for his fate? x
  • 22
    Slavery and Freedom
    Slaves were ubiquitous in classical Greece; even the poorest citizens owned slaves because the amount of time needed for participation in democratic government meant that the eleutheros, the free man, needed to have others do his domestic tasks. How did the Greeks reconcile the ideal of democracy with the practice of slavery? x
  • 23
    Athens in Decline?
    The history of Greece during the 4th century B.C.E. is divided between the early decades when important developments were made in many areas, and the later decades, during which Greece came under the domination of the Macedonian kings. Plato's Academy and Aristotle's Lyceum changed philosophy forever, and writers such as Xenophon and Menander produced enduring prose and drama. x
  • 24
    Philip, Alexander, and Greece in Transition
    Once Philip II had conquered Greece, he used the dream of a Panhellenic crusade to unite the Greeks and conquer the Persian Empire. Philip's son, Alexander the Great, went a long way toward realizing this dream when he led Greco-Macedonian armies in the conquest of Persia and extended the Greek "empire of influence" across Asia as far as the northern marches of the Indian subcontinent. x

Lecture Titles

Clone Content from Your Professor tab

What's Included

What Does Each Format Include?

Video DVD
Video Download Includes:
  • Download 24 video lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
Audio Download Includes:
  • Download 24 audio lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE audio streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
DVD Includes:
  • 24 lectures on 4 DVDs
  • 112-page printed course guidebook
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps

What Does The Course Guidebook Include?

Video DVD
Course Guidebook Details:
  • 112-page printed course guidebook
  • Photos & illustrations
  • Maps
  • Suggested readings

Enjoy This Course On-the-Go with Our Mobile Apps!*

  • App store App store iPhone + iPad
  • Google Play Google Play Android Devices
  • Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Tablet + Firephone
*Courses can be streamed from anywhere you have an internet connection. Standard carrier data rates may apply in areas that do not have wifi connections pursuant to your carrier contract.

Your professor

Jeremy McInerney

About Your Professor

Jeremy McInerney, Ph.D.
University of Pennsylvania
Dr. Jeremy McInerney is Davidson Kennedy Associate Professor of Classical Studies at the University of Pennsylvania. Dr. McInerney earned his Ph.D. from the University of California, Berkeley. He was the Wheeler Fellow at the American School of Classical Studies at Athens and has excavated in Israel, at Corinth, and on Crete. He serves on the Managing Committee of the American School of Classical Studies in Athens, Greece....
Learn More About This Professor
Also By This Professor

Reviews

Ancient Greek Civilization is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 106.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great story told by a master lecturer This definitely is one of The Great Courses best products. The lecturer has an easy, charming manner of speaking and relates his accounts in engaging, almost flawless logic. In addition, he does a fine job of covering his topic broadly, so listeners (or viewers) will feel they really have learned a lot not only at the conclusion of the course, but at the end of each lecture, I enthusiastically recommend both of this lecturer’s courses for anyone even slightly interested in Ancient Greek history.
Date published: 2018-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well presented and very informative! We travel to Greece in April and find the lectures a great preparation for our trip. One of the flimsy pins on the center holder in the DVD case arrived broken. Is there a sturdier system available?
Date published: 2018-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really enjoyed Jeremy McInerney’s Style Excellent knowledge of his subject and an excellent delivery style. He covered a broad subject so well. Fantastic!
Date published: 2017-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I’m traveling to Greece next month and I’m going to have a much better understanding of of the culture
Date published: 2017-10-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This Didn't Meet My Expectations I found this course to be somewhat boring and only got through 3/4 of the lectures before giving up. It seemed too much like it was the professor's own version of Greek history without much to support it. I particularly had problems with lecture 18 "Sex and Gender" in which the professor seems apologetic about homosexuality in Greek society, implying that it was only a phase that younger "normal" boys went through with older men. He seemed to rule out gay love between adults as unthinkable to the Greeks in spite of Homer's telling of Achilles lover and the lover of Alexander the Great. I just figured that if the professor can be so wrong in this field, what can I believe about what else he says. I do not recommend this course.
Date published: 2017-10-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Assumed Pre-Knowledge and Jumped Around a Bit I listened to this after finishing the course "The History of Ancient Rome" and I expected a similar approach: a chronological retelling of ancient Greek civilization history. While the professor's lecture topics generally stayed in the chronological timeline approach, he did seem to assume his audience has prior knowledge of certain topics, he does jump around a bit on topics, and does not really focus on events per se. Call it my pet peeve but it irritates me when a professor speaks of x character in various contexts (assuming prior knowledge of this person) before he/she even introduces x character! That approach has always made it difficult for me to get into a course. I prefer a history from the beginning to the end assuming the audience has NO prior knowledge of an event or individual. The professor's idiosyncrasy of smacking his lips everytime he took a breath between points began to grate on me. A few times throughout 12 hours is not noticeable but when it occurs countless times in each lecture it can begin to stand out and distract especially since most professional speakers prevent such a sound from being so prominently audible. With that said this is not in the pantheon of terrible courses. The professor generally does a good job of putting you in the shoes of the ancient Greeks: getting into their mindset and how they thought about certain events or life in general. In that respect this course was a bit different. Examples include how they likely truly felt about the Persians, the Peloponnesian war, and slavery vs. what ancient historians and writers stated they felt. Still I was looking more for a political/cultural/military history of the ancient Greeks focusing on events and people and in that respect I felt like this course was instead something different. I just purchased "The Long Shadow of the Ancient Greek World" to see if that course fits the bill...
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from First I would like to say I have ordered a few courses from The Great Courses and found them awesome. However, this one absolutely bored me to death, just could not get anything out of this professor. It was so bad I threw my CD's in the garbage.
Date published: 2017-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ancient Greek Civilization I watched this course on VHS two decades ago. It was do good that I delisted as a digital download. Cannot recommend it highly enough.
Date published: 2017-08-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid Information I learned a lot about ancient Greece from this series. For example I didn't know that the ancient Greeks were so given to fighting among themselves. It was interesting to compare their attitudes and ways of life to our own. The information unfolded in a logical manner with one lecture building on the previous one. My only complaints are that although there were visuals, I felt that the visual element could have been used even more to greater advantage. Also the booklet that went with the series was more abbreviated than the booklets that accompanied other Great Courses series I've watched. Finally, occasionally Prof. McInerney lowered his voice and looked down just as he was giving the name of a person or place, and I couldn't hear it. Some names are listed in the booklet but not all.
Date published: 2017-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Well Done I wasn't so sure about this one when I first started, but by the third program it came around and turned into a very informative and enjoyable series. The initial episodes turned out to be a necessary preamble. He has a pleasant presentation style. I would recommend this to anyone with an interest in history, particularly as it might deal with culture and social evolution. If you have spent any time in Greece, it becomes that much more interesting.
Date published: 2017-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fascinating This has been the one of the most interesting courses I have taken. So much to learn.
Date published: 2017-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was Sorry to See it End Professor. McInerney provides, in this 24 lecture course, an excellent overview of Greece's ancient history from Minoan Crete to Philip and Alexander. Although it must be a daunting task to cover such a vast amount of history (1500 B.C. to abt 300 B.C.), I felt the professor accomplished it with a high level of proficiency. Some may not care for Dr. McInerney's delivery style, considering that he stands behind a lectern and refers (not reads) to his notes for the whole series, but I didn't buy the course to be entertained. Rather I purchased it to learn, and learn I did! Professor McInerney continues to keep the student interested through the information he provides, which, to me, was simply fascinating. In addition, the course was skillfully organized. It was amazing to me to see how the professor could cover so much complex information and structure it in such a manner that the student does not become confused. He does this by generally following a chronological order of Greece's ancient history. In addition, he provides a short summary at the beginning of each lecture to provide a bridge with the previous lecture. Furthermore for lectures discussing general aspects of Ancient Greek common life (slavery, philosophy, sex and gender, etc), he masterfully intertwines these topics with the history of the time and provides enlightening conclusions. Not to digress, but it reminded me of how Dickens ties everything together at the end of one of his novels and the reader says, "Oh, I see!" Finally, a few other items I enjoyed in these lectures which are specific to Professor McInerney's delivery are as follows: 1. If the professor is expressing his opinion, which in many cases, considering the topic, was necessary, he plainly states it was his opinion by saying a phrase such as, "It seems to me...". 2. I enjoyed his subtle sense of humor which would occasionally arise during the lectures 3. I enjoyed how he concluded each lecture. In most cases it was like the conclusion of a good novel provoking thought. 4. Although visuals (photos and maps) were not frequent, those that were provided were appealing and instructive. Considering that this series was produced quite a few years ago (1998), I was sorry to see that it is included in the recent warehouse clearance. It seems like this was a gem that may eventually not be available. Too bad.
Date published: 2017-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Excellent Pedigogical Mid-level Approach There are many ways to present this material. One such method would be that of the late Rufus Fears. The Learning Company has many such raconteur-style courses from Professor Fears AND they convey much information on this same topic. However, as an introductory-to-mid-level approach to ancient Greeks, their origins, history, culture, society and never-ending internecine wars, this course delivers as would most top-notch college courses. This extremely knowledgeable professor delivers the facts and dishes the dirt on the ancient Greeks. This topic has been one of my pets, for years and I still learned many new "nuggets" as we viewed this new-to-my-wife course together.
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ancient Greek Civilization, by Prof J. McInerney I have learned so much. The material is presented is presented in a fashion that is not only educational, but in a way that coorelates the Greek's society to our own. The information about the religious, judicial and govermental aspects of Greek society is amzing and to think that occurred 2500 years ago. I am so glad I picked this title. The comments he makes about the excavations and his experiences there lets you imagine being there. Nice voice, too
Date published: 2016-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I was extremely satisfied with this course, which effectively covered the highlights of Ancient Greek history and culture in a mere twenty-four lectures. I listened to the audio version, and enjoyed the lecturer's manner of presenting the material. The choice of topics was also excellent, and I learned a tremendous amount about such fascinating topics as Sparta, Ancient Greek ideas about gender, the Olympics, and the trial of Socrates. Highly recommended!
Date published: 2016-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Greek Culture's Influence on the West This course is largely a study of the way that Greek culture has influenced the West, including our modern culture. This is not the stated theme of the course, but it becomes apparent throughout the course based on the professor's topic selection and the issues he decides to emphasis. This is very appropriate given the incredible influence that Greece continues to exert on our culture thousands of years later. This influence is often indirect and subtle, but its presence can be felt and understood better through courses like this one. This course dovetails nicely with another Great Courses, The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World, which dedicates nearly a dozen lessons to Greek life and culture. I recently listened to The Other Side of History, and I found this course complimentary rather than duplicative. There is significant overlap, but this course provides more chronological framework and spends more time on the political and military situations that helped shape Greek culture. Maybe another way to say it is that this course explains the "why" behind aspects of Greek culture while The Other Side of History focuses more on the application of the culture to the lives of people. Either way, taking these two courses close together gave me a renewed and deepened appreciation for Greek culture and the debt that the West owes to this incredibly important civilization.
Date published: 2016-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Time & Money Well Spent I'll try to keep this short. This was an excellent course. (I purchased the audio download.) The professor knows his material and communicates it effectively. The tone and speed of his voice make it easy to follow along without dozing off or daydreaming. His obvious excitement about teaching the material actually increased my own curiosity to learn. I thought I already knew a lot about ancient Greece and that this course would only be a refresher, but I was wrong. I learned so much that I had never known before and what's more, I was motivated by this course to purchase other courses to further my studies. It was time and money well spent.
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ancient Greek Civilization This was a well presented and interesting course. I was however disappointed that there was not a lecture on Greek art and architecture. This in my opinion is a major oversight.
Date published: 2016-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A excellent introduction to ancient Greece Professor McInerney provides an excellent overview of ancient Greece, from the early civilizations of the Bronze Age to the Golden Age of Pericles. He succinctly covers major events and developments in a clear, engaging manner. I would have appreciated a bit more coverage of the arts--specifically the Homeric epics, drama, and sculpture--but I generally feel that the lectures left me with a comprehensive understanding of the broad outlines of ancient Greek civilization.
Date published: 2016-06-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Introduction to Greek History I watched this course with some trepidation as I had already listened to McInerney's course Age of Pericles (see the link below). Would there be too much repetition? Would I learn anything? I was very pleasantly surprised that the two courses had very little overlap. With that out of the way, McInerney's speaking style isn't particularly enthusiastic, but was animated enough to keep my attention. I felt that he provided excellent context for each of the lectures. Most importantly, despite having watched a number of other courses which covered Greek history, this course still offered plenty of learning opportunities. As other reviewers have noted, this is a very old course. At times, they even show members of the studio audience! As would be expected, the various graphics, maps, etc., are quite primitive by today's standards. Fortunately, they were definitely good enough to get the points across.
Date published: 2015-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from offers synthesis, evaluation, analysis and insight McInerney is an engaging speaker very much in command of his material. He wastes no words in his presentations. What I most enjoy about McInerney’s courses, including this one, is that he goes very much beyond simple narrative, and offers his listeners synthesis, evaluation, analysis and insight. You will come away knowing why “X” was important, rather than simply that “X” happened for “Y” reasons.
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Course This is an overview of Greek civilization from the earliest times until the Macedonians conquered the Greeks. Jeremy McInerny is a first-rate instructor. He focuses on Greek civilization, which is probably the most important thing about the ancient Greeks. He seems to have a thorough knowledge of Greek civilization, and his presentations are easy to understand. He explains new and interesting theories about the Greeks. The most interesting theory from my point of view concerns the origins of the Dorians, which you will learn if you take this class.
Date published: 2015-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Overview of Ancient Greece Video Review: Dr. McInerney takes the student on a journey from the Minoans of Crete through the Athenian age up to the beginning of Alexander the Great's empire. My previous experience with this period has been piecemeal; reading Homer's Iliad and Odyssey, learning some philosophy of Socrates, Plato, and Aristotle, learning some things about the mythology and the gods of Mount Olympus, and learning tidbits about the Peloponnesian and Persian Wars. Dr. McInerney not only ties all of these together, but adds the dimensions of the culture, art, politics, social life, sexuality and gender, and science of the various peoples and phases of the Aegean and Northeastern Mediterranean region from 1900-323 B.C.E. For the casual student of Ancient Greece like myself, this introductory level course really pulls these fragments of prior learning together into a context. Dr. McInerney mixes information gained from literature and poetry, documents of history (notably from Herodotus and Thucydides), and archaeology to give a comprehensive view of the time period. In addition this course gives a clear chronology of events and people, while introducing some sagacious observations. Among these are the evolution of the concept of a city-state from the organizational origins of a household, to a village (or group of households), to the city-state; the peaceful (at times) coexistence of the Greeks while co-located with other peoples in Asia Minor and coastal Levant for purposes of commerce, the adoption of the spoken sounds of the Phoenicians into the Greek Alphabet (origins of "phonetic" spelling?) and who the Phoenicians were anyway, the dilemma of a "free" society based on democratic ideals that allowed and fully rationalized slavery more than 2000 years before Thomas Jefferson, the intertwining of theater and religion, and the juxtaposing of masculinity and homosexuality in a male dominated society. Of course Dr. McInerney highlights the contrasts between the nature of the various Greek city-states as well as the countless wars among them, and with their non-Greek neighbors. Though Dr. McInerney speaks from behind a podium using written notes, he speaks in a clear voice with inflection and body language while looking at the audience (some of which is in the room with him). He speaks with enthusiasm and uses occasional humor while making clear what is fact and what is his own speculation about events and interpretations of writings and/or archaeological artifacts. The course was produced in 1998, so the set and graphics reflect that vintage. Nevertheless the all important maps are clear and help guide one through the location of important places, trade and battle routes, etc. For this reason alone, I recommend the video version of the course, though I am sure the Dr. McInerney's clear and emphatic voice would result in good audio version as well. The accompanying course guide is adequate. The lecture summaries are somewhat spartan (pun intended) but contain the key points. The maps and timeline are excellent and the biographical notes and bibliography are helpful. For those people looking for an introductory course on Ancient Greek Civilization or those looking to provide a context for the philosophers, political figures, literature, and/or mythology that they may already be familiar with, I heartily recommend this course.
Date published: 2015-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very good introductory course to Ancient Greece This is a very good introductory course for those interested in ancient Greece. The professor is interesting and obviously understands the subject matter in great depth. He covers a great deal of Greece, not just the important battles, but also what things were like for average citizens and even has lectures on the arts and economic issues of the society. There are other courses that covers specific events in greater detail, but this is a very solid introduction to Ancient Greece that will leave you wanting more.
Date published: 2015-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly Recommended Excellent and careful introduction to classical Greek civilization, and an engaging delivery. Prof. Elizabeth Vandiver's classic mythology and Homer courses have been my favorites from the TC for a long time for their correctness and clarity and insightfulness - this Greek Civilization course is a perfect supplement to those - I would give Prof McInerney the same high recommendation as I do to Prof. Vandiver. I never thought I would be so interested in classical Greece - these courses made it so interesting. It seems the TC has gotten some marvelous teachers for the subject. (I might add Prof. Roochnik's "Intro. to Greek Philosophy" - excellent.) If only the TC would offer a course in the classical Greek language in the spirit of their fine Latin course!! (Hint to TC.) Prof. McInerney's other two courses are also excellent.
Date published: 2014-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent course!!
Date published: 2014-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thorough and well organized. A Joy! This course provides a well rounded introduction of ancient Greek civilization - from the bronze age Minoan and Mycenaean civilizations to the beginning of Alexander the great's Hellenistic empire. The one Issue I had with the course was that it almost exclusively focuses on Athenian history, and not on Greek history as the title implies. There are a few lectures on the bronze age and the so-called "Greek Dark Ages", and one lecture on Sparta but the big bulk is focused on Athens. So we really only understand the Greek society in Athens and don't really get a more general perspective in this respect. Furthermore, the reason for choosing to talk about almost exclusively about Athens is not given - is it because the sources are considered good enough only in Athens? We are left in the dark... Having said this, the different aspects described in the lectures about Athens were extremely interesting and well put together, and the course did not feel "rushed" although it is only 24 lectures long. Many different aspects are described, such as gender roles, homosexuality, tragedy and comedy, governance to name only a few. One thing that Professor McInerney REALLY does well, is to cement the message of each lecture with an inspiring summary at the end note of each lecture. The course easily owns up to being a good introduction course to Ancient Greek Civilization.
Date published: 2014-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Scholarship, Stylish Production Values Among the many excellent lecture series on ancient Greece offered by The Great Courses, this one is an exceptional foundation course on the historical legacy of Greece. As taught by Professor Jeremy McInerney, the course is both economical and all-inclusive as an introduction to the cultural landmarks of Greece. At the same time, the lectures are much more than a survey of names, battles, and dates. Professor McInerney presents a detailed interpretation of the total experience of ancient Greece. The lectures on the political organization of Sparta and Athens were especially informative. But the course also covered military, artistic, social, and economic history. Throughout the course, the content addressed important topics and themes with many colorful anecdotes sprinkled into the lectures. The professor’s scholarship is superb with close work to source documents and archaeological evidence to support the main points. There are excellent introductions to Greek art and architecture, theater, philosophy, and the epic sweep of Greek history from its origins to the death of Alexander the Great. The professor does not shy away from such delicate and controversial issues as religion, gender, sexuality, and slavery in the ancient Greek world. Once again, the lecturer's analysis derives from close work with source materials. DVD viewers of this course will be pleasantly surprised by the dynamic production values. This was a refreshing stylistic departure from the approach to filming other studio lectures by The Great Courses. There were stylish directorial techniques enhancing this series with oblique camera angles and a creative configuration of the studio space. The backdrop was a large mural of the Athenian Acropolis and a sumptuous display of Greek art. Above all, the soft lighting helped to create a cheerful atmosphere, due to the warm color aesthetics within the room. In any recorded studio experience produced with limited technology, the goal of the camera work should be to place the lecturer in focus. That goal was accomplished with great success in this course. The creative camera choices really brought us into the live experience of the classroom. With the viewer in close proximity to the lecturer at multiple angles, the presentation was enhanced with visual variety, including the occasional use of the zoom lens, as opposed to a permanently fixed and static “one-shot” or "two-shot" camera perspective. Above all, the uses of the fade and the dissolve supported the lecturer with smooth transitions, avoiding the awkward and amateurish jump cuts of the more recent Great Courses. The result was a production style that highlighted the poise of this speaker and the brilliance of his presentations. Based on these outstanding lectures, it is easy to become engaged in the cultural life of ancient Greece. The professor’s lecturing style was lively, and the ideas were provocative throughout this enlightening and well-produced series. COURSE GRADE: A
Date published: 2013-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Starter Course AUDIO This is an excellent multi-faceted introduction to ancient Greece. Professor McInerney has a great presentation style: he is well-organized and he lectures in a clear manner, with an eye to the key events, people, and developments. For me, the most important aspect of this course is that it is so wide-ranging. Despite being only 24 lectures, it includes historical/political, cultural, social, economic, religious, and military aspects of the period, and does not seem rushed or unbalanced or lose me in a cascade of detail. I especially enjoyed Professor McInerney’s masterful treatments of sacrifice and Greek religion, gender, the Persian Wars, and, most especially, the two lectures devoted to the fateful Peloponnesian War. This TC course dates from 1998. I bought it on tape in 2001, and still find it worth returning to from time to time. It is a great background whether I am reading ancient Greek literature or digging deeper into Greek history. I continue to find Professor McInerney’s observations and evaluations useful and the course a much-needed framework within which to explore the world of ancient Greece. This is the course that inspired me to learn more, and I now have several other TC courses on ancient Greece, notably Professor McInerney’s equally stellar ‘The Age of Pericles’ and ‘Alexander the Great and the Hellenistic Age’.
Date published: 2013-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from made me think This course is a good broad overview of Greek history and civilization and certainly does not get into tremendous detail. It gives some understanding of the ancients that have impacted western civilization and our own culture. I wish there had been more detail and discussion of the city states other than Athens and the small amount about Sparta. There is so much more to ancient Greece, but to learn that you will need to delve further into the subject outside this course. Professor McInerney is an interesting teacher and thoughtfully presents his subject. I will consider other courses he teaches.
Date published: 2013-06-24
  • y_2019, m_5, d_25, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_15, tr_91
  • loc_en_US, sid_323, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 8.29ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Customers Who Bought This Course Also Bought