Anthropology and the Study of Humanity

Course No. 1631
Professor Scott M. Lacy, Ph.D.
Fairfield University
Share This Course
3.6 out of 5
47 Reviews
51% of reviewers would recommend this product
Course No. 1631
Streaming Included Free

What Will You Learn?

  • Gain a comprehensive understanding of the field of Anthropology.
  • Survey the field of Anthropology and its major subfields-biology, archaeology, linguistics, and cultural anthropology.
  • Ask the big questions about humanity: Where did we come from? What makes us human? What unites our world?
  • Explore the diversity of humanity and see how the field of Anthropology unites us.

Course Overview

What does it mean to be human? Where did we come from? And what unites us in our diversity today? As the world population continues to explode, these big questions about humanity become increasingly important, and anthropology is the field of study that tackles them. From our tree-dwelling primate ancestors 63 million years ago through today’s globally connected citizens, anthropology looks at Homo sapiens to find out why we are the way we are.

Because anthropology is such an interdisciplinary field, many Great Courses have touched on it from different angles. Now for the first time, we are pleased to offer a comprehensive survey of this fascinating topic. Anthropology and the Study of Humanity is your chance to gain a complete understanding of one of the world’s most engaging — and human — sciences. Taught by acclaimed professor and field researcher Scott M. Lacy of Fairfield University, these 24 wide-ranging lectures are the ideal guide through the world of anthropology.

“Put simply, anthropology is the study of humankind over time and space,” Professor Lacy says in the course introduction. “And I promise, if I were to get any more specific than that, we’d be chopping off specialized branches of our disciplinary tree.”

As a field of study, anthropology covers a lot of ground, from the language of primates to bones found in a desert to modern-day war zones. A survey of the field encompasses elements of history, biology, archaeology, linguistics, sociology, and cultural studies. It also involves data analyses, population modeling, urban development, economics, medicine, forensics, sexuality, art, and much, much more. Anything and everything that relates to humanity, anthropology approaches, demonstrating the common threads across world cultures and revealing the underlying connections that unite us all.

In Anthropology and the Study of Humanity, Professor Lacy gives you an elegant blend of theory and application to help you understand this extraordinarily interdisciplinary field as a whole. You will examine how humans evolved and built civilizations, review humanity’s changing attitudes about our relationship to the cosmos, and consider the many ways we express ourselves. In the end, what you’ll discover is that while our species is rich with diversity, we are much more similar than we are different.

Explore the 7-Million-Year History of Walking Apes

To anchor this course, Professor Lacy gives you a historical overview of Homo sapiens, starting at the very root of our family tree, when proto-humans split away from other primates in the animal kingdom. As he wends his way across time and around the world, he grounds you in an array of theories and models, making them accessible and relevant to the world around us. He also introduces the field’s four major academic sub-disciplines:

Biological Anthropology: Uncover the physical makeup of humans, our evolutionary history, and biological variations from one individual to another. Start with the research of primatologists and trace the evolution of Homo sapiens and find out how they might have spread around the world. See how scientists have shifted from a Social Darwinist model to Cultural Relativity.

Archaeological Anthropology: Take on the role of a historical detective and dive into the reality of fieldwork. You’ll learn what the archaeological record shows about the development of tools, the transition to agriculture, and the development of ancient cities. And, you’ll be surprised to discover ways that archaeology reveals counterintuitive truths about our history, such as the origins of money and debt.

Linguistic Anthropology: Language has changed human evolution by increasing our capacity for information exchange, thus speeding up the development of new technologies. Survey this fascinating sub-discipline and consider how language shapes how we observe and perceive daily life. Revisit primatology to see what talking chimpanzees can teach us about humanity.

Cultural Anthropology: One of the biggest lessons from this course is that our behavior is relative to cultural context. Western thinkers used to classify humans as savages or civilized, but as you will discover in this course, such classification is not only wrong-headed, it also shuts down discovery about the richness of our world’s cultures. Examine humanity through the lens of art, religion, cultural constructs, and more.

Cultural Diversity, A Common Humanity

One of the joys of this course is that it is truly global in the way Professor Lacy introduces you to the boots-on-the-ground practice of anthropology. As a hard science, anthropology relies on evidence, and researchers take a test-and-correct approach toward advancing their field. As you review the history of this research, you’ll see how scientists’ thinking has evolved as new evidence is discovered and new insights are gained. For instance, you will:

  • Travel the world to see how our behavior is relative to cultural context — and how the dichotomy of the “savages” versus the civilized represents foggy thinking.
  • Meet field researchers such as Bronislaw Malinowski and Franz Boas, who debunked the older notions of cultural evolutionism in favor of cultural relativism.
  • Find out how Zora Neale Hurston and other anthropologists took Boas’ field work to the next level.
  • Unpack enduring ambiguities around race, skin color, and biology to discover how we are all one united race.
  • Consider how gender and even biological sex itself are socially constructed.

A field researcher himself, Professor Lacy has spent much time in Mali, and he brings real-world examples to bear on the theories and frameworks he discusses. From the Pacific Islands to the Americas and from Zambia to Tibet, this journey takes you around the world to encounter different cultures with different ideas.

When it comes to the question of who is “more civilized”— Western cultures or Eastern, industrial or agrarian—the answer, for anthropologists, is neither. While Professor Lacy offers unique insights into topics ranging from the family to sexuality to art to war and peace, this course is ultimately a grand examination of what it means to be human, and modern anthropology shows how, despite our diversity around the world, we all share a common humanity.

Anthropologists in the World Today

The exciting thing about this field is that it is no mere academic discipline. It also has real-world implications beyond the textbooks. The course closes with a six-lecture unit on applied anthropology and shows you how its research methods and insights can help us shape the future. Among other topics, you will:

  • Reflect on the nature of war and how anthropologists serve as peacemakers.
  • Follow a forensics exam from the discovery of bones to creating a profile.
  • Consider the difference between the subjective experience of illness and the biological phenomenon of disease.
  • Review the recent history of international development and uncover an approach to alleviating poverty.
  • Discover the “big kahuna” — the ultimate key to happiness.

When you complete this course, you will have a new appreciation for our world and its many cultures, but you will also have a new appreciation for the cultural connections and similarities we share as one race of Homo sapiens. With a passionate and knowledgeable professor as your guide, Anthropology and the Study of Humanity is a must-have course for asking the big questions about human beings. Not only will you gain a broad understanding of academic anthropology, you’ll also get a deeper appreciation for humanity as a whole.

Hide Full Description
24 lectures
 |  Average 29 minutes each
  • 1
    Why Anthropology Matters
    Begin your course with a few of the big questions: Who are we as humans? Where did we come from? Anthropology is the study of humans over time and space, but it is also about bridge-building, connecting, and understanding ourselves and the world around us. Survey the biological, archaeological, linguistic, and cultural approaches to the field. x
  • 2
    Science, Darwin, and Anthropology
    Because anthropology is so strongly linked with other sciences, particularly biology, take a guided tour through the history of science over the past 3,000 years. From pre-scientific ideas through the theory of natural selection, see how the emergence of scientific ideas changed the way we understand ourselves and our origins. x
  • 3
    Our Primate Family Tree
    Travel back in time 63 million years to the beginning of our family tree. Because of our shared evolutionary history, modern humans and other primates have much in common, including our emotional range and our ability to communicate. Review the field of primatology to find out what studying other species can teach us about humanity. x
  • 4
    Paleoanthropology and the Hominin Family
    Shift your attention to the field of paleoanthropology, the study of our human ancestors. Here, trace the development of our species from the earliest bipedal hominids to modern Homo sapiens. Explore archaeological evidence of Homo habilis, Homo erectus, and other species. See how anthropologists continue to test and correct their theories. x
  • 5
    Tracing the Spread of Humankind
    Anthropologists have several theories for how Homo sapiens spread out of Africa and around the globe. In this lecture, examine three theories to explain the migration, and then turn to archaeological and genetic evidence to uncover the latest thinking on when and how humans arrived in the Americas. x
  • 6
    Anthropology and the Question of Race
    Conclude this first unit on biological anthropology by unpacking the ambiguities around race, skin color, and biology. After reviewing the history of Social Darwinism, you'll see how Franz Boas and other 20th century anthropologists shifted our understanding of race to show how it is a cultural construct, independent of biology and geography. x
  • 7
    Archaeology and Human Tools
    Shift your attention from biology to archaeology, where you will dig up several answers about the Homo sapiens family tree. Here, Professor Lacy introduces what archaeologists do and how they work. He then examines the history of tools such as the hand-ax and the microlith, which had a tremendous impact on human population. x
  • 8
    Agricultural Roots of Civilization
    Continue your archaeological studies with a fascinating look at the rise of farming. Why did humans shift from foraging to agriculture 10,000 years ago? How did changing ecology and technological inventions drive this transition? And what lessons does this story have for us today? See how humans must contend with producing more food with less arable land. x
  • 9
    Rise of Urban Centers
    Delve into the ancient urban experience. After the rise of agriculture, our ancestors invested in the future of humankind by building major cities and civilizations across the planet. After considering what constitutes a city in the first place, you'll take an archaeological tour of several early cities, including Jericho, Aleppo, Uruk, and Cahokia. x
  • 10
    Anthropological Perspectives on Money
    The classic story of money says that early humans transitioned from barter to money to credit, but the archaeological record shows we have that history all wrong—that credit emerged before actual money. Study the history of money from an anthropological angle, beginning with early number concepts through the development of paper cash. x
  • 11
    Anthropological Perspectives on Language
    Language has played a starring role in our continued survival as a species, so linguistics is a critical subfield of anthropology. In this lecture, you'll study the origins of language in our primate cousins and then survey the evolution of language in Homo sapiens. Then see how language has changed our evolution by increasing our capacity for information exchange. x
  • 12
    Apocalyptic Anthropology
    No history of humanity would be complete without a few thoughts about how it all ends. Reflect on how different societies have viewed the end of humanity, from the epic cycles of Buddhism and Hinduism to secular techno-apocalypses such as the Singularity. Then see what lessons anthropology may offer in how to avoid extinction. x
  • 13
    Cultural Anthropology and Human Diversity
    Humans are all the same species, but we have a seemingly infinite cultural diversity. As an introduction to anthropology’s fourth major subfield, Professor Lacy takes you around the world to meet Franz Boas, Bronislaw Malinowski, and others who helped anthropology transition from “cultural evolutionism” to “cultural relativism.” x
  • 14
    Field Research in Cultural Anthropology
    Continue your study of cultural anthropology by looking at how the next generation of field researchers built on the foundation of Boas and Malinowski. See how Zora Neale Hurston, Alfred Kroeber, and Audrey Richards have broadened the way we think about culture, diversity, and social structures. x
  • 15
    Kinship, Family, and Marriage
    You likely have a concept for what “family” is, so you might be surprised to learn there is no universal concept for “family” around the world. Apply the anthropological lens to understand how and why different cultures have different ideas about how to structure a family—and what functional logic underlies these differences. x
  • 16
    Sex, Gender, and Sexuality
    By this point in the course, it should be no surprise that biological sex and our construct of gender are much more complicated than they seem. Here, Professor Lacy unpacks the cultural and biological questions of sex, gender, and sexuality using genetics, twin studies, and more to show the breadth of human diversity as well as a common humanity. x
  • 17
    Religion and Spirituality
    Anthropologists study religion as a way of studying humans, and this lecture surveys the origins and history of religion, from primate grieving and early human rituals through organized religions and the scientific worldview. Anthropology may not offer new answers about God and the great beyond, but religion offers a fascinating window into humankind. x
  • 18
    Art and Visual Anthropology
    Until recently, Westerners understood art in terms of progress, with non-Western art as somehow “primitive.” Survey the changing views toward world art throughout the 20th century and the role of art in anthropology. Then turn to explore the benefits and challenges that film brings to ethnographic studies. x
  • 19
    Conflict and Reconciliation across Cultures
    This course’s final unit examines several realms of “applied anthropology.” Here, discover how anthropology can assist with conflict resolution. After examining the history and nature of war, Professor Lacy offers several case studies around the world for resolving conflicts with anthropological methods. x
  • 20
    Forensics and Legal Anthropology
    Forensics is the science of analyzing and identifying unknown human remains. Using a hypothetical discovery as an example, you'll follow the stages of a forensics exam to see how anthropologists build a profile of the remains. Several test cases show forensics anthropology in action. x
  • 21
    Medical Anthropology
    Anthropologists recognize a difference between the subjective experience of an illness and the biological phenomenon of a disease. With this distinction in mind, learn how anthropologists study medicine, and how anthropology's four subfields can help us better understand human health and healing. x
  • 22
    Anthropology and Economic Development
    Using his own field research as an example, Professor Lacy takes you inside the powerful world of development anthropology. After grounding you in recent development theory, he takes a look at how anthropologists have thought about international development since World War II. x
  • 23
    Cultural Ecology
    As explorers of the human condition, anthropologists are particularly interested in the complex relationship between culture and the environment. The field of cultural ecology looks beyond mere environmental determinism and examines how the natural world inspires cultural differences. Review the methods and theory of this field of study. x
  • 24
    The Anthropology of Happiness
    What is the purpose of life? This is arguably the biggest question of all, and anthropology helps point the way toward a few answers. See how each of the four subfields—biology, archaeology, linguistics, and cultural anthropology—approach the question of human satisfaction and what we can apply to our own lives. x

Lecture Titles

Clone Content from Your Professor tab

What's Included

What Does Each Format Include?

Video DVD
Instant Video Includes:
  • Download 24 video lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
Instant Audio Includes:
  • Download 24 audio lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE audio streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
DVD Includes:
  • 24 lectures on 4 DVDs
  • 220-page printed course guidebook
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
  • Closed captioning available

What Does The Course Guidebook Include?

Video DVD
Course Guidebook Details:
  • 220-page printed course guidebook
  • Suggested Reading
  • Questions to Consider
  • Bibliography

Enjoy This Course On-the-Go with Our Mobile Apps!*

  • App store App store iPhone + iPad
  • Google Play Google Play Android Devices
  • Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Tablet + Firephone
*Courses can be streamed from anywhere you have an internet connection. Standard carrier data rates may apply in areas that do not have wifi connections pursuant to your carrier contract.

Your professor

Scott M. Lacy

About Your Professor

Scott M. Lacy, Ph.D.
Fairfield University
Scott M. Lacy is an Associate Professor of Sociology and Anthropology at Fairfield University in Connecticut, where he teaches anthropology, environmental studies, and black studies courses. He earned his Ph.D. in Anthropology at the University of California, Santa Barbara, and his research interests include cross-cultural knowledge production, food systems, intellectual property rights associated with seed, and the...
Learn More About This Professor
Also By This Professor

Reviews

Anthropology and the Study of Humanity is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 47.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Valuable study I feel the study would be enjoyed by anyone interested in history, philosophy or science; and probably anyone with some background in anthropology. I would note that the last several lectures seemed to be more about the subject of anthopology than about the anthropological beliefs about the development of us as humans, which was more the main reason for my being interested in the course; however i did also find them to be interesting.
Date published: 2018-05-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not For Me I was very disappointed in this course. I have purchased hundreds of Great Courses and have loved most of them and wanted to put in the dust bin only a couple. This is one of the few that left me shaking my head. The Professor showed great enthusiasm for the course and an almost reverence for Anthropology as the science that can save the world. That is fine. His enthusiasm and energy were decided pluses. But there were aspects of his delivery that were distracting, such as his insertion of the word "right?" when trying to explain something. But the worst part of the course was the PC that was integral to almost everything he had to say. The course should have been called "A PC Guide to Anthropology." While he so badly wanted to convince the listeners that anthropology is a science, his subjective, personal values actually served to undermine his conclusion that all fields of Anthropology are today strictly scientific. I was also disappointed that several of the lectures were really about the history of anthropology and the personalities that shaped the evolution of anthropology rather than the content of the various subject matters. Yes, some background on the giants of anthropology is appropriate but he went into too much detail about too many of them. Also, at times, he would quote someone as a source for a statistic but the course book made no mention of the person, making it impossible to discover if the quote had any scientific basis. I found this particularly annoying in lecture 16 on Sex, Gender and Sexuality, where he quoted statistics on the so-called category of "intersex," but gave no clue for how the reader could figure out if the statistics were outliers or not. If you want to know what it is like to be an anthropologist doing a field study in Mali, this course may be for you. But, if you are really interested in the Study of Humanity, there are better courses offered by the Great Courses.
Date published: 2018-05-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The title held possibilities. I have purchased many of your courses and enjoyed them all, until I started listening to this one! The "professor" is so inferior that I could not complete the course. He seems unable to speak in proper English sentences and gives the impression he is talking to 9 year olds. Anthropology was my undergraduate major, but I never had such an idiot as a professor. Please dump this course from the lineup and find an outstanding professor to do it properly.
Date published: 2017-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great presenter. Well done and interesting topic. A most enthusiastic professor. Wished I had majored in anthropology!
Date published: 2017-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have not heard it You ask for reviews before I have had a chance to listen to the lectures. All courses I have completed have been great.
Date published: 2017-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely fascinating information As a retired professor I found the course to be extraordinary, both in terms of content and presentation. I had to pace myself while watching the video to give myself time to reflect upon and absorb the information. Dr. Lacy made every effort to make a complicated, very broad range of studies accessible to someone new to anthropology and its related fields. The summary statements on the screen were especially helpful as were the charts and photos. Dr. Lacy is a riveting speaker, full of energy, animation, and enthusiasm. I find his range of knowledge extremely impressive and I thank him for writing this wonderful addition to your catalogue of courses.
Date published: 2017-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved this course It was great. Probably one of your best courses yet. Fairfield university must be a fascinating school to go to if this is how they teach!
Date published: 2017-10-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Did Not Meet Expectations Anthropology and the Study of Humanity is one of the latest entries produced by the Teaching Company in the field of social sciences. I was excited to see this course offered in my catalogue, but I must say that, after reviewing all 24 lectures, I am pretty ambivalent about this offering. The syllabus indicates that the course covers the 4 main sub-topics of anthropology, namely biological anthropology (human origins), archaeology, linguistics, and cultural anthropology. It seems to me that the linguistics section is given short shrift, and there is an overemphasis on cultural anthropology. While the teaching professor, Scott Lacy, seems knowledgeable and has done a good amount of field work, I didn't care for his politically-correct emphasis in the sections on social and cultural anthropology. The Teaching Company has done a much better job in presenting individual courses in biological anthropology in course numbers 1612, 1518, and1657), anthropology (course number 9431), and linguistics (course number 2270 and 1600). The course on Cultural & Human Geography (1761) was better than this. The Teaching Company tried to "tie the bow" on all of the above in this survey course but they failed and I cannot recommend this course.
Date published: 2017-10-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Mildly inaccurate Pop culture PC lectures proving there is no science to modern anthropology. The author critiques Western views that less developed societies are uncivilized, while excusing the violent, the illiterate and (truly) barbarian acts of unsettled, disorganized societies. He pretends primitively cultures are simply different than advanced ones while implicitly conceding that there would be no one to listen to him if those societies dominated the planet.
Date published: 2017-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from way too many personal anecdotes The professor's personal politics were obvious from the very start. I buy great courses to learn about the stated subject, not how the teacher feels about modern PC subjects. I want to know how things really happened instead of how the teacher feels that they should have happened.
Date published: 2017-09-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Simplistic content; not geared to intellig. adults This course fell far short of my expectations, having taken 30+ Great Courses programs previously. I felt it was not intended for intelligent, college-grad adults but rather for freshmen in high school or even younger. Let me explain. First, the professor was obviously trying very, very hard to make the material engaging for people who had absolutely no prior knowledge of the subject and who had a limited intellectual background. This doesn't work for the Great Courses, in my opinion, because as far as I can observe from the many course reviews I've read, this group of adults don't mind a mental challenge. I felt I was listening to the sound track of a Saturday afternoon TV program for teens or pre-teens. Second, the professor's sentences were hobbled by two annoying mannerisms. He rarely spoke a main verb right after the subject of the sentence. Instead, he would say the subject of the sentence and then pause and insert a pronoun for that subject before going on. For example, instead of saying "Archeology is the study of..." he would say "Archeology - it's the study of..." He did this an average of two or three times a minute! This is not acceptable in a lecturer, and I'm surprised the Great Courses did not coach him out of this bad habit. In addition, he overused "Well,..." and "Right?" Very distracting and also not what I'd expect of a university lecturer. Again, it seemed geared to young people who would be shifting in their seats without this kind of rhetorical interactivity. So sorry, I cannot recommend this course for serious adult learners.
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great audio for my daily walks I borrowed this course from a friend who suggested I check it out. I'm glad I did! I listened to two lectures and decided to buy the audio version. The content is fascinating, international, cross-cultural, and remarkably diverse in terms of the topics presented (e.g. genetics and evolution to religion, economics, farming, and art). The course has become my current favorite listening for my daily walks. One drawback to the topical and multidisciplinary breadth of this course is that it requires a "survey/overview" approach, so some topics like ancient cities don't get as much attention or depth as they might deserve.
Date published: 2017-09-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from like being fed politically correct pablum It was like listening to a fundamentalist leader of any religion. He has decided that certain views of the world are the best because they are the nicest, and so we must look for evidence to support those views, and disregard or explain away any contrary evidence. And if we really, really believe, then that makes it true. He spends an entire lecture arguing that the human brain stopped evolving 200,000 years ago, simultaneously all around the world and despite differing environmental pressures. He admits that other parts of the human body continued to evolve in different ways due to different environments, but the brain alone stopped. We also learn that all of the problems of the third world (oh, sorry, we must call it the "majority world" because "third world" is not nice) are due to the effects of colonialism and the slave trade. According to him, these areas of the world, most of which were never able to develop a written language, make a wheel, smelt metals, or build roads, cities or anything else, would be so much better today had they not had contact with Europeans. He quotes a sentence from the Declaration of Independence and says it is from the Constitution. His description of a couple of Supreme Court cases is legally incorrect. Frankly, most of the lectures seem simplistic. There is no spark. His discussion of his life in Mali is interesting, but that takes about 30 minutes in total and does not make it worth buying the course.
Date published: 2017-09-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Learned a lot First, let me say he's one of Teaching Co's best presenters--his enthusiasm and positive approach to topics is contagious. I have an interest in human history for the past 6,000 years, less before that and I'm not great at understanding science courses, but he kept my attention and communicated clearly for a general audience, so I learned an enormous amount.
Date published: 2017-08-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Better Options Elsewhere This course is an overview of what Dr. Lacy calls four-field anthropology, i.e., the study of the human experience as seen through four subordinate perspectives: biological anthropology, archeology, linguistics, and sociocultural anthropology. Dr. Lacy is engaging and very enthusiastic about his field. Perhaps he is a little over the top such as when he suggests that anthropology can prevent wars. Similarly, in Lecture 12, he teaches how all religions view the end of the world but then he gushes, “Fear not! We have anthropology!” In the first of the four units of this course, Dr. Lacy presents biological anthropology, which is essentially the story of evolution. However, this material is presented much better in the TGC courses Major Transitions in Evolution and Theory of Evolution: A History of Controversy. Incidentally, as Dr. Lacy addressed how anthropology advanced such subjects as eugenics, he repeatedly stated that anthropology is testable and correctable. Then he never repeated the phrase in any other unit except for one time when he was discussing Social Darwinism. In this unit, Dr. Lacy made multiple references to “Chief Justice Oliver Wendell Holmes.” It’s just an annoying nit, but Justice Holmes was never the chief justice. In the second of the four units, Dr. Lacy showed how archeology and linguistics teach us that humans are the sole surviving member of a variety of upright walking apes. Once again, the archeology is presented better in the TGC course Major Transitions in Evolution. Linguistics is better taught by any of the courses by Dr. McWhorter such as Story of Human Language. In the third of the four units, Dr. Lacy addresses cultural anthropology including such topics as religion, family, marriage, gender, sexuality, and arts. Dr. Lacy is a self-proclaimed “empiricist.” He says that he considers the different religions to be different paths to the same destination. Dr. Lacy teaches that anthropology holds to cultural relativism. On the other hand, he clearly considers science to be in a position to judge religion and morals. In the fourth of the four units, Dr. Lacy applies all four fields to examine various topics such as happiness. A number of times throughout the course, Dr. Lacy referred to visual aids. I listened to the audio version but I think that the video version would probably have been somewhat better. I cannot recommend this course. The student would be much better served to listen to the more detailed TGC offerings in each of the subfields. I guess TGC is not Lake Woebegone; not all the courses can be above average.
Date published: 2017-08-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A Big Disappointment I was hoping to get a survey of the ethnographic record, exploring how human societies organize themselves. For example, a lecture on marriage customs would discuss the broad approaches to family formation that most societies take, with interesting outliers covered as well. But we get very little broadband discussion of that type in this lecture series. Instead, about 80% of this course consists of a single idea: In the 1890's, at the start of anthropology, a Social Darwinist approach was used, which held that some cultures were more evolved than others. Most evolved was Western culture. Beginning in the '20's, a newer generation of anthropologists championed the concept of cultural relativism, which holds that no society is more advanced than any other, and no culture is superior to any other, especially not Western European or American culture. Rinse, repeat, move on to the next lecture. I listen to the audio lectures during my daily commute, and many of the lectures faded into background noise. I kept hoping "maybe the next lecture will be interesting" but nothing stands out. This was one of the few Great Courses series where I felt that it was a real slog to get through the course. I would steer friends away from this one.
Date published: 2017-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fascinating Overview of Anthropology This course was a refreshing Great Courses offering. The professor covers more topics than might otherwise seem possible, but his energy level is high enough to tread through several million years of the human experience. Toward the end of the course, I most enjoyed how those lectures focused on the different ways anthropologists do their work (surprisingly, well beyond the confines of universities and laboratories). My favorite lecture (the final one) on the Anthropology of Happiness was my favorite, and I am most happy to have found this course.
Date published: 2017-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a great view from 37,000 feet Disclaimer: the professor could have just as easily read stereo instructions and make it sound fascinating. I found his child-like fascination and enthusiasm for anthropology to be absolutely contagious. You can always tell when someone is a master in their field when they are relaxed & can be playful with subject matter. Looking beyond the presentation, the material was presented in a very clear and organized manner. The huge scope of the discipline was surveyed with enough depth to be intellectually tantalizing and thorough but unencumbered with minutiae and not imbalanced and haphazard. A quick, enjoyable 12 hours & I learned quite a bit.
Date published: 2017-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Enlightening Survey of Anthropology. This is a great course for those new to Anthropology as it covers numerous branches of the area. The Professor is very easy going and thoroughly versed in field research which adds to the course value. I have purchased over 200 lecture sets from the Great Courses: I am an Environmental Scientist (chemical emergency response and Homeland Security) and greatly enjoy courses from the exemplars in various science fields. I do purchase specific lighter courses for morning listening (5:00 a.m.) and the deeper courses (cosmology, etc.) for evening. This was a morning course and I greatly enjoyed it and the professor. It sparked many questions about humanity, and the many references provided are of great value. Some reviewers, already versed in anthropology, felt the course lacked content. Again, myself being new to anthropology looked forward to every lecture and the knowledge they presented. This course made me consider a different side to humanities issues. Lectures on forensics, Darwin, the primate tree, to name a few were excellent. As I indicated, I greatly enjoyed the entire course and the professor, and recommend it to those new to the field. I did video course but it could be appreciated using audio.
Date published: 2017-07-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very interesting & Informative For the first few lectures, I thought Professor Lacy was going to be a poor recap of Professor Barbara King’s lectures on biological anthropology. Then he branched into new and more interesting areas. By the end I was very pleased with my newly gained knowledge.
Date published: 2017-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stories, great topics! This course does a great job at exploring what it means to be human. The professor bridges biology, language, history, ecology, and so much more to examine what makes us human. I appreciated the professor's approach, which focuses on several big questions like "Who are we and where do we come from?" Each lecture also contains compelling descriptions of a wide range of anthropological research from archaeology and genetics to primatology and environmental studies. That said, the final lecture on "the anthropology of happiness" was my favorite, and it tied the whole course together. I might suggest that new viewers consider starting with that one and then going back to lecture #1.
Date published: 2017-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved this course! I had no idea anthropology was such a detailed subject. I am learning so much! The instructor sure knows his subject.
Date published: 2017-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved this course and professor! I am new to the Great Courses, and this course has me excited to watch more courses. I've never taken an anthropology course and for me this course was a terrific introduction to this fascinating field. As someone more familiar with the humanities, the class spoke to me because Prof. Lacy connects social and biological sciences with age-old inquiries on the human condition. Lectures on human evolution, primatology, and race, for example, were tied to the central theme that our origins and development as a species clearly reveals the oneness of humankind. That said, I most enjoyed the lectures that explored cultural diversity themes (family & marriage, sexuality & gender, conflict & conflict resolution). All in all, this great course shows how anthropology can help us understand just about any facet of the human experience.
Date published: 2017-07-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Anthropology Some very good materials, presentation style could be better and in fact the more supplemented by photographic anthropolographical materials the better
Date published: 2017-07-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Almost worthless I purchased this course because I wanted to add to my substantive knowledge of anthropology. I had taken the basic introductory survey course in anthropology at Yale, and assumed that the course would cover much the same ground. I thought it would discuss some other cultures in detail and feature the substantive works of Levi-Strauss, Margaret Mead, and other prominent anthropologists. I was sadly disappointed. The most fundamental problem with the course is that it contained very little discussion of anthropology. If the course had a major theme, it was that professional anthropologists today serve a number of important functions in the world, from identifying bodily remains (forensic anthropologists), to spearheading economic development, to assisting with agricultural initiatives (as the lecturer did in Mali), to helping persons from other cultures communicate with doctors and other health care professionals ("medical anthropology"). This is all well and good. It is nice that anthropologists do these things and are adept at bridging multiple disciplines and organizing interdisciplinary enterprises. . But I have absolutely no interest in the career options available to anthropologists. I am interested in the knowledge that is the basis for the various sub-specialties of anthropology, and the lectures on these subjects conveyed no such knowledge. For example, the lecture on forensic anthropology merely recounted that individuals in the field are skilled at identifying bones, skeletons, and human remains -- and have been involved in some prominent cases -- and didn't convey any substantive information about the techniques that are used or other features of the discipline of forensic anthropology. . The lecture of "medical anthropology" similarly discussed developments in health care (that manifestly are not the province of anthropologists) and the fact that sick people in many parts of the world do not have access to treatments that we take for granted here in the U.S. -- such that the experience of an "illness" differs fundamentally in different cultures today. To the extent that the course actually dealt with anthropology -- by which I mean the conclusions others have drawn from studying other cultures -- the course was embarrassingly superficial and slipshod. Rather than presenting relevant materials, the lectures were primarily devoted to slogans, references to popular culture, politically correct views (which I happen to share) and long digressions. These things may endear the lecturer to students at Fairfield University, but I have come to expect more substance from the Teaching Company. For example, in the lecture on race, the lecturer stated ad nauseum that "we are one human race," and did not provide an intellectually satisfying explanation how the genes that give rise to features associated with race (e.g., skin color) represent a small discrete portion of each individual's genetic code and are irrelevant to all other human characteristics or traits. The lecturer was similarly obsessed with repudiating the view that some cultures are superior to others (which he referred to as "social darwinism"). In this regard, the lecturer also incongruously referred several times to the Supreme Court decision on eugenics (where the lecturer sloppily referred to Associate Justice Holmes as "Chief Justice Holmes") and to the Plessy v. Ferguson decision that upheld racial segregation under the doctrine of separate but equal (overruled in Brown v. Board of Education). Rather than repeating these points the lecturer could have simply explained once that all cultures are adaptations to specific environments and spend time discussing cultures, rather than belaboring the obvious. I cannot resist noting that the course includes a silly lecture on "apocalyptic anthropology" where the lecturer thought the theory of "multiverses" could somehow present humanity with alternatives after the sun consumes the earth in several billion years -- and used this lecture as an occasion to plug the view that humanity should develop renewable energy sources. While I share the latter view, it is comical to suppose that this will matter after the earth has been vaporized. All in all, this course was a major disappointment. I have purchased well over 150 teaching company courses. This is only the second one that I have returned
Date published: 2017-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fascinating intro to interdisciplinarity of anthro I received this as a gift last week and binge watched all 24 lectures in four days. The professor is down-to-earth, is a good story teller, and he integrates a wide variety of topics and methodologies to describe anthropology and how it integrates interdisciplinary approaches to better understand humankind. This was my first anthropology course, and it inspires me to take a deeper look into some of the diverse subjects covered by Prof. Lacy (the origins of language and biological anthropology specifically). If you are looking for a general introduction to anthropology, this course it!
Date published: 2017-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Inspiring. I heard about this course from a friend who said I had to see it because of how inspiring it was. I was not disappointed, listening Scott Lacy truly inspired me to want to learn more. He is an enthusiastic speaker and delivers this course with heart and wisdom. I was intrigued with hearing about his work with the beautiful people of Mali. I really appreciated this course as and will definitely recommend it to my friends and colleagues.
Date published: 2017-07-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very Basic Introduction I viewed a couple of these lectures on The Great Courses Plus and quickly realized it was not meant for anyone like me who already had a good knowledge of anthropology. It did seem to cover a lot of ground but not in the in-depth fact filled way I have experienced in so many other Great Courses titles on this subject. This is strictly for those new to Anthropology.
Date published: 2017-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Clearly tells what the subject is Haven't started this course yet a/c my electric power went down during a storm and zapped my TV. Will start very soon--this weekend for sure
Date published: 2017-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fascinating & comprehensive survey course I agree with the review by Challenger below... the course is an excellent survey course. It covers a remarkable array of subjects, and while that may prevent deeper explorations of individual topics, it presents a a comprehensive overview of all things anthropological. I appreciated the organization of the course because rather than isolating each sub-field of anthropology, the professors integrates them to address particular "big questions" like "who are we and where do we come from?". Reminded me of how much I loved my anthropology classes in college.
Date published: 2017-06-26
  • y_2019, m_9, d_16, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_45
  • loc_en_US, sid_1631, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 10.83ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Customers Who Bought This Course Also Bought