Argumentation: The Study of Effective Reasoning, 2nd Edition

Course No. 4294
Professor David Zarefsky, Ph.D.
Northwestern University
Share This Course
4 out of 5
118 Reviews
64% of reviewers would recommend this product
Course No. 4294
Streaming Included Free

Course Overview

What is effective argumentation? How does it work? Abraham Lincoln, Franklin D. Roosevelt, and other great figures were masters of the craft. So how can you reason through your position and make the best possible case for it with the same skill and ease as the experts? Argumentation: The Study of Effective Reasoning, 2nd Edition is a rigorous introduction to the formal study of argumentation—communication that seeks to persuade others through reasoned judgment.

In 24 lectures you learn the building blocks of an argument, the different categories of argument and the issues that are at stake in each, the kinds of evidence that serve as proof in an argument, and many other aspects of argumentation and reasoning, illustrated with examples from some of the most famous speeches, debates, and controversies in American history.

What You Learn

Award-winning Professor David Zarefsky of Northwestern University has five goals for this course:

  • You will learn how to recognize arguments; how to find them in conversations, newspaper editorials, speeches, in controversies of any kind; and how to know them when you encounter them.
  • You will become aware of how arguing reflects choice, broadening your understanding of the choices that arguers can make and that you can make when you build and construct an argument.
  • You will learn how to evaluate various types of arguments. In the process, you'll learn the standards that should govern your assessment of these qualities.
  • In attempting all of these tasks you will examine examples of a variety of historical and contemporary arguments, shedding light on some significant controversies by looking at them from the perspective of argument.
  • Having become familiar with argumentation theories, you should be able to improve your ability both as an analyst and as a maker of arguments.

Argumentation starts with four lectures that review the intellectual and historical backgrounds of argumentation. Then in Lectures 5 through 11 you explore the strategies and tactics of argument construction, attack, and defense. Lectures 12 through 18 consider the components of argument in greater detail and examine how they work. Next, Lectures 19 and 20 focus on the appraisal of arguments. Finally, in Lectures 21 through 24, you investigate how argumentation functions in society, covering such topics as argumentation in specialized fields and the different ways that arguments can end.

Argumentation in Action

Professor Zarefsky infuses Argumentation with rich historical examples to illustrate the principles of argumentation in action. For example, in 2003, U.S. Secretary of State Colin Powell gave a dramatic speech before the U.N. Security Council, seeking approval for the use of military force against Iraq. Dr. Zarefsky uses this speech to explore how arguments employ complex structures. Secretary Powell's address used a combination of parallel and convergent structures. Through careful analysis, you'll learn how these structures work logically and why supporters of President Bush's Iraq policy treated the arguments as purely parallel, while opponents treated them as convergent.

Why should you practice this kind of argument analysis? "It enables you to understand what's going on in the argument," says Professor Zarefsky. "Few of us are ever going to have the opportunity to address the U.N. Security Council, but if you do this with a letter to the editor, or an editorial in the local newspaper, or in a conversation that you have in your family, the same process works just as well, and you can get some real insight into the nature of the arguments."

Principles behind Historic Speeches

More examples of important principles at work in historic speeches include

  • The Lincoln-Douglas Debates of 1858: The dueling speeches of U.S. Senate candidates Abraham Lincoln and Stephen A. Douglas illustrate the principle that argumentation takes place with a particular audience in mind—in this case, the swing voters of central Illinois. You also learn that all argument involves risk, and that Lincoln and Douglas each sacrificed strategic advantages in meeting to debate.
  • Lyndon Johnson's 1965 Voting Rights Message: President Johnson's historic address to a joint session of Congress was a policy-oriented speech that focused masterfully on the relevant topoi—the traditional categories of issues that arise in dealing with a controversy. You learn why it was named one of the top 10 American speeches of the 20th century by a national survey of communications scholars.
  • The Kennedy-Nixon Debates of 1960: John F. Kennedy's reply to a journalist's question during the third presidential debate with Richard Nixon illustrates the application of the "mini-max" principle—the minimum effort and risk yielding the maximum gain. You see why Nixon's rebuttal does not reflect the best strategic choices in meeting Kennedy's arguments.
  • Abraham Lincoln's House-Divided Speech: Lincoln's speech accepting nomination to run for the U.S. Senate against Stephen Douglas demonstrates a classic use of figures of speech. Lincoln employs the analogy of workmen building a frame house to connect prominent politicians of the day with a plot to legalize slavery throughout the United States. He can't prove it directly, but by using a clever figurative analogy he makes a convincing case that the plot is inexorably unfolding.
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt's December 8, 1941, War Message: Roosevelt's speech to Congress on the day after the Pearl Harbor attack is a vivid model of a type of argument called the warrant from example. A warrant is an authorization to make an inference from evidence to claim, and Roosevelt cites a litany of examples of Japanese aggression to establish their intent for general war.
  • Martin Luther King, Jr.'s "I Have A Dream" Speech: You learn how this celebrated speech illustrates a sign argument, in which Dr. King juxtaposes intolerable conditions for African Americans with a Scriptural allusion to the onrushing "mighty stream" of justice. He infers that one phenomenon predicts, or is a sign for, the other.

A Teacher with Passion, Insight, and Humor

These are just some of the creative ways that Professor Zarefsky explains a subject that is inherently fascinating, though often technical and demanding. Rarely has it been taught with the passion, insight, and humor that Professor Zarefsky displays.

For instance, in discussing the concept of "stasis," he shows how a simple accusation of theft offers a variety of responses that will determine exactly what is at issue and therefore what needs to be settled. That point of dispute is called the stasis. The claim, "You stole my car," could be countered with, "No, I never had your car," asserting that the act never took place. This is called "stasis of conjecture". By contrast, the reply, "I only borrowed your car," signals an argument over how to characterize the act and is called "stasis of definition." "I needed your car for an emergency" cites urgent circumstances and is called "stasis of quality." And a refusal to discuss the matter at this particular time and place with the response, "If you've got a case, then take me to court," indicates that another forum is more appropriate and is called "stasis of place." Determining stasis is crucial to understanding the issues at play in any argument.

Additional technical aspects of argumentation that you study include the basic structure of arguments (claim, evidence, inference, and warrant); the patterns of complex arguments (multiple, coordinative, and subordinative); the six types of inductive inference (example, analogy, sign, cause, commonplaces, and form); and such strategic issues as patterns of attack and defense, choices of language and style, and fallacies to avoid, including the surprising insight that the exact same pattern of inference can sometimes be fallacious and sometimes valid, depending on circumstances.

Sound Argumentation: Antidote to Destructive Behaviors

Throughout Argumentation, Professor Zarefsky never loses sight of the purpose of sound argumentation. "Argumentation legitimizes freedom of speech and makes it work to a constructive purpose," thereby preventing a debasing trend in which bad arguments drive out good.

Professor Zarefsky notes that a June 2005 op-ed piece in The New York Times suggested that argumentation may be a lost art. The article pointed out that people increasingly interact only with those who already agree with them; that differences of opinion are treated as unbridgeable; and that attempts to persuade are cloaked in deception. The result is fewer opportunities for compromise, deliberation, and mutual understanding. "Understanding and practicing argumentation is the antidote to these destructive behaviors," says Professor Zarefsky. The crucial difference that makes arguments productive, instead of futile, is an appreciation for the principles that underlie this common, vital human activity.

Hide Full Description
24 lectures
 |  Average 30 minutes each
  • 1
    Introducing Argumentation and Rhetoric
    We will examine argumentation in its classical sense—as the study of effective reasoning. This introductory lecture will relate argumentation to the field of rhetoric and consider how argumentation is ethical. With a clear understanding of basic terms, we will preview the directions we will take in the course. x
  • 2
    Underlying Assumptions of Argumentation
    Argumentation is a means of decision-making, and there are several assumptions that we make when we use it. This lecture will focus on five key assumptions. x
  • 3
    Formal and Informal Argumentation
    This lecture will review the defining features of deduction and induction and will summarize three major forms of deductive reasoning: categorical, conditional, and disjunctive. The lecture will conclude by emphasizing why informal reasoning is involved in contemporary study of argumentation. x
  • 4
    History of Argumentation Studies
    The study of informal argumentation can be traced to the beginnings of rhetoric in ancient Greece. During the Renaissance, the subject matter of rhetoric was divided, with argumentation assigned to philosophy. Formal logic was held to be the highest form of reasoning, and argumentation tried to imitate it. Since the mid-20th century, theorists have identified weaknesses in the formal-logic model and have revitalized the study of argumentation. x
  • 5
    Argument Analysis and Diagramming
    This lecture examines how controversies begin and how the process of arguing produces individual arguments. It will consider the claim as the most basic part of the argument and identify types of claims. Then it will present the structure of an argument: a claim, evidence for it, an inference linking the evidence to the claim, and a warrant justifying that inference. x
  • 6
    Complex Structures of Argument
    The diagram presented in Lecture 5 will help us understand a simple argument structure, but most arguments are embedded in complex structures. A claim in one part of the argument may be evidence in another, and subsidiary claims are joined to support a main claim or resolution. Mapping and analyzing these structures offers considerable advantages, and these will be reviewed. x
  • 7
    Case Construction—Requirements and Options
    The complex structure of argument discussed in Lecture 6 can be termed a case: the pattern of arguments used to support a claim. In assembling a case, arguers must be sure to address all the issues raised by the claim in the particular situation. Addressing the issues will satisfy an initial burden of proof. In meeting these requirements, arguers have choices about what arguments to use and how to arrange them. x
  • 8
    Stasis—The Heart of the Controversy
    Stasis refers to the focal point of dispute, the point at which contending positions meet. It is determined by the choices that advocates make about what to stipulate and what to contest. The first decision to be made in responding to a case is what the point of stasis will be. This lecture will illustrate the concept, which is drawn from ancient theories of rhetoric. Finally, using the concept of stasis will be shown as useful for both the arguer and the analyst of argument. x
  • 9
    Attack and Defense I
    This lecture and the next will consider the processes of refuting and rebuilding cases. Attacks on a case achieve the best possible resolution of a controversy. Decisions to be made in planning an attack include which arguments to attack, at which parts of the argument to focus the attack, and what type of attack to develop. These choices can be understood best if they are examined systematically. x
  • 10
    Attack and Defense II
    This lecture continues the discussion of attacking arguments by focusing on a second set of choices: those related to the arrangement and presentation of the attacks, then the focus shifts to defending and rebuilding arguments. The lecture will consider the basic strategic options of the defense, and highlight the most significant choices. The lecture also will consider methods of refutation and how the pattern of attacks helps to move the dispute forward. x
  • 11
    Language and Style in Argument
    This lecture completes a series that addresses the development of arguments into cases and the dynamics of controversy created by the presentation of a case. Here, the specific concern is with choices related to language and presentational style, how language is a factor, and how the presentation of an argument is part of its content. x
  • 12
    Evaluating Evidence
    With this lecture we turn to argument appraisal and focus on individual arguments. We begin with the evidence supporting an argument. It must be agreed to by the arguers for a meaningful discussion to proceed. Evidence can be categorized in many ways, but we will focus on examples, statistics, tangible objects, testimony, and social consensus. x
  • 13
    Reasoning from Parts to Whole
    The next six lectures focus on inferences, the most complex parts of an argument, and how they determine the argument scheme to be used. Six common inference patterns will be reviewed. This lecture considers inferences from example, which are used to relate specific cases to general claims and to apply general statements to specific cases. The lecture will also identify common errors. x
  • 14
    Reasoning with Comparisons
    A common form of inference is that like things should be treated alike. This is reasoning from analogy. This lecture describes types of analogies and tests for this reasoning with comparisons. It will consider why logicians often consider analogy the weakest type of inference, while rhetoricians often consider it the strongest. We will address two uses of the argument from analogy: the judicial analogy and the argument a fortiori, sometimes called a "super-analogy." x
  • 15
    Establishing Correlations
    The focus of this lecture is on inferences from sign. Sign inferences establish the relationship between two factors so one can be predicted from knowledge of the other. Sign arguments are used to infer the unknown from the known, to predict outcomes, and to rely on the judgment of expert authorities. The lecture concludes with pitfalls to avoid in making sign inferences. x
  • 16
    Moving from Cause to Effect
    Causal inferences assert that one factor has influence over another. Influence must be inferred because it cannot be observed. The lecture will consider meanings of the concept of causation, purposes for which causal arguments are used, and methods that have been used to infer the existence of causal influence. The lecture will conclude by discussing factors that can undermine a causal inference. x
  • 17
    Commonplaces and Arguments from Form
    This lecture considers inferences based on social knowledge and inferences that resemble deductions but are not. Commonplaces are beliefs or judgments that an audience generally accepts as being true. Often these come in pairs of seemingly opposed terms with each term sometimes being preferred. Dilemmas, arguments from hypothesis, and arguments from probabilities are examples of inferences that are not deductive but gain their power from a form that resembles deduction. x
  • 18
    Hybrid Patterns of Inference
    This lecture will examine three hybrid patterns: reasoning with rules, reasoning about values, and dissociation. x
  • 19
    Validity and Fallacies I
    The central question of this and the next lecture is: What makes a good argument? The answer is validity. In formal reasoning, validity is a matter of structure unrelated to content. In informal reasoning, it means following patterns that have led to good results and avoided fallacies. This lecture examines errors specific to each pattern of inference, and then considers errors of vacuity ("empty" arguments). x
  • 20
    Validity and Fallacies II
    This lecture continues the discussion of general errors in reasoning that was begun in Lecture 19 with the treatment of vacuity. We examine deficiencies in relevance and discuss fallacies. The lecture concludes by reviewing two challenges to understanding fallacies. One suggests that arguments are valid or fallacious depending on their context; the other suggests that fallacies should be understood as errors of procedure rather than form. x
  • 21
    Arguments between Friends
    The final group of lectures moves into examining the practice of argumentation in society. The organizing principle is the concept of spheres of argument, sets of expectations that provide contexts for arguing. This lecture concerns the personal sphere. Dialogue is the mode of discourse, and participants seek to resolve their own disagreements. The ideal of a critical discussion is proposed. Practices that diverge from the ideal are noted and possibilities for repair are considered. x
  • 22
    Arguments among Experts
    Argumentation takes place where there are field-specific patterns of inference or appraisal. Argument fields can be defined by subject matter, orientation, or worldview. Drawing on examples from law, science, management, ethics, and religion, this lecture considers how the nature of argumentation is affected by the field in which it takes place. The lecture also considers interfield disputes and how they can proceed toward resolution. x
  • 23
    Public Argument and Democratic Life
    The public sphere is the place for arguments about matters of interest to people as citizens, for example, deliberations about public policy. There are several ways to devise arguments that can appeal simultaneously to different political presumptions. A robust public sphere to negotiate tensions inherent in democratic argument is crucially important, and this lecture speculates on the current state of the public sphere. x
  • 24
    The Ends of Argumentation
    This lecture considers two meanings of the term "end." It re-examines, from Lecture 5, how controversies begin by studying the conditions under which they end, but most of the lecture concerns "end" in the sense of the larger purposes that are served by the process of argumentation. Argumentation helps achieve the goals of a democratic society by cultivating the skills of critical thinking, reflective judgment, and active participation that are vital to the maintenance of a robust public sphere. x

Lecture Titles

Clone Content from Your Professor tab

What's Included

What Does Each Format Include?

Video DVD
Instant Video Includes:
  • Download 24 video lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
DVD Includes:
  • 24 lectures on 4 DVDs
  • 136-page printed course guidebook
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps

What Does The Course Guidebook Include?

Video DVD
Course Guidebook Details:
  • 136-page printed course guidebook
  • Photos, illustrations & diagrams
  • Suggested readings
  • Questions to consider

Enjoy This Course On-the-Go with Our Mobile Apps!*

  • App store App store iPhone + iPad
  • Google Play Google Play Android Devices
  • Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Tablet + Firephone
*Courses can be streamed from anywhere you have an internet connection. Standard carrier data rates may apply in areas that do not have wifi connections pursuant to your carrier contract.

Your professor

David Zarefsky

About Your Professor

David Zarefsky, Ph.D.
Northwestern University
Dr. David Zarefsky is the Owen L. Coon Professor of Communication Studies at Northwestern University, where he has taught for over 30 years. He earned his B.S., master's degree, and Ph.D. from Northwestern University. From 1988 through 2000, he served as the Dean of the School of Speech. A nationally recognized authority on rhetoric and forensics, he is a past president of the National Communication Association (NCA) and...
Learn More About This Professor
Also By This Professor

Reviews

Argumentation: The Study of Effective Reasoning, 2nd Edition is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 118.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just OK The material was somewhat interesting, but I have done dozens for courses from the Teaching Company, and this one doesn't quite measure up to my expectations. BTW, the Great Courses App is terrible; quirky and unreliable, and constantly losing my place.
Date published: 2017-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Argumentation I bought this course - as the result of getting to watch (for free) several courses - and plan to give It to my son for his birthday. That is how much I enjoyed it - - - which I would not have done - had I not been able to watch it - before buying it. Rod Newman
Date published: 2017-05-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A snooze or a treasure? Who needs it? Many have said this course is enjoyable IF you have an interest. Hopefully, a line from L4 might awaken interest for most of us: "Argumentation (is) ... the basis for attempts to influence others." Whether you are a speaker, an activist, a wolf, or a sheep, it might be good to know something of the strategy and tactics of today's influence peddlers. Zarefsky makes his case for ideal argumentation BRIEFLY in L5: "People argue - that is, they engage in reason giving" and BEAUTIFULLY in L2: "Argumentation takes place with an audience in mind, and the audience is the ultimate judge of success or failure. Despite its seemingly adversarial character, argumentation is fundamentally a cooperative enterprise. The claims being advanced are not universal truths. Argumentation involves justification for claims. Justification is different from proof; it is subjective and dependent upon a particular audience." Oh, if it were only so today. His warning [L1] that cooperative argumentation is imperiled seems ripped out of today's headlines: "1. People increasingly interact only with those who agree with them; 2.Differences of opinion are treated as unbridgeable; 3.The result is to weaken opportunities for compromise, deliberation, and mutual understanding." Zarefsky does not whine about this observation. He merely provides tools to help the peddler or the peddled. PROS: 1.) The Scope of Course clearly guides you through the course. Read it before attempting the audio and refer back to it if you get lost; 2.) "Topoi", [L7], are shortcuts identifying recurrent patterns that can help the uninitiated understand the direction an argument will take about the important subjects of fact, definition, value, or policy. It is a good chapter to crib sheet; 3.) The concept of Stasis [L8], its progressive attributes, and its nonlegal adaptations are extremely important for anyone; 4.) The flow of discourse "burden of rejoinder" and "attack" [L9] sounds a bit much but is actually quite useful in identifying who is helping and who is being destructive. 5.) "Persuasive definition", [L11], is so commonly (mis)used today that being able to identify it is alone worth the price of the course. CONS: 1.) A person interested in influence might justifiably point out that this course has magnificent content. For others, the terms wandering, "puffed up", overly dissecting, and repetitive might come to mind. EX: even the definition of "Argumentation" at the start of L2 wanders from that given in the "Course Scope". 2.) The course seems to awkwardly straddle two distinct college-level audiences: legalistic analysis vs general logic. Perhaps the course could have been divided? 3.) The 2 overwrought lectures on "argument models" were distracting, its opposition noting: "Models suggest that a linearity of movement runs from the evidence to the claim, which is not characteristic of actual arguments" [L6]. MISC: L4, on the history of argumentation, made me wonder greatly at the absurd corruptions Zarefsky's concept of ideal argumentation has suffered - including our own. SUMMARY: I gave the course a "4" because separating its magnificent content from peripheral issues was tedious. Given current societal abuse of the principals of argumentation, this course is vital despite its imperfections.
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective reasoning Excellent course. The professor knows the subject and presents it in a well-organized and enthusiastic manner. Although I majored in philosophy in college and took several logic courses, I learned a lot here that is new to me. The "argumentation" discussed in this course is not rhetorical manipulation but rather the effective use of reason under conditions where truth is uncertain. Formal logic, the type I studied in college, deals with certainties. If the premises are true and the form of the argument is valid, the conclusion follows with certainty. As valuable as formal logic can be, it actually applies to little of the reasoning we do, since most issues are filled with uncertainty. Scientific method, as vital as it is, requires experimental validation. Many important issues, such as matters of value and policy, cannot be dealt with this way. Argumentation is a method of pursuing the truth in which the strength of arguments are tested in debate. This testing can often be the most effective way of establishing which conclusions are best. This type of argumentation -- free and honest debate -- is critical to a democratic society because otherwise citizens are reduced to believing whatever they are told or simply following their own prejudices.
Date published: 2016-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great course, but you need a reason to take it Audio CD review. I believe I can find the Middle Path between the positive and negative reviews of this course. This course is excellent, but I believe your appreciation of this course will be directly proportional to your technical reasons for taking it. I simply describe this course as an exposition on informal logic. For me, the course was extremely professionally useful in my role as an advocate. I was able to apply many of the tenets Dr. Zarefsky teaches in my day job. Dr. Zarefsky’s treatment of the patterns of inference are the core of the course and are particularly illuminating. If the Teaching Company were to release a 3rd edition, then I recommend re-designing the course to spend more time on those inference patterns. Some of the front-end and back-end broad contextual materiel, while very well done and interesting, was not overly germane to my technical inclinations. Dr. Zarefsky could sacrifice that contextual materiel to dilate deeper on inferences, or he could just shorten the course. Regarding the claim that Dr. Zarefsky is boring: he is not. He does a great job of taking a subject as inherently “dry” as informal logic and makes it as fun as can be expected. If you do not have a practical reason to advance your knowledge of informal logic, then this this course probably isn’t for you. My hunch is that the negative reviews are from those expecting something different or those without a practical need or desire to delve into the nuances of informal logic.
Date published: 2016-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So good I bought it twice... The description for this course, on argumentation, was so good I forgot I already owned it and ordered it again. I had to return the second one once I realized my mistake but the good news is it lives up to the hype and is a well produced, insightful course that I have listened too on several occasions and will listen again as I cycle through my all-time favorites library. I have always tried to stay current on many fields of study and this great course on Argumentation from The Teaching Company is a good way to use my time while commuting, mowing the yard, or even just relaxing. I highly recommend it. Thank's Great Courses for making it available
Date published: 2016-05-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Difficult to get through I purchased the audio version of this course and I had a hard time getting through it because my mind kept wandering.
Date published: 2015-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Fav Course (So far) This course takes a few times to listen to, not because it's hard to follow, but because it's packed with so much material. I've listened to it about 4 times over the years and each time I learn more and retain more.
Date published: 2015-12-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not the easiest course to listen to This course is one of those that require more than one 'listening'--especially if one is listening in one's car. I have listened to it at least 3 times. I agree with many other commenters that the material can be a bit 'dry'. Perhaps it's in 'the nature of the beast'. I don't agree that 'formal' logic is more worthwhile than 'informal logic'. I remember taking courses in 'classic' logic in college back in the early '60s and found them to be boring, and ultimately pretty useless. In fact, I learned more about critical thinking from reading literature and history--and discussing and writing about these subjects--than from those courses (and their silly diagrams!). From my point of view, 'abstract logic' is more of an intellectual exercise than a tool that can enable discernment of issues. I also disagree with several commenters who objected to the professor's use of 'political references'. He is very clear from the outset that he will use historical and contemporary political examples to illustrate 'argumentation', and how these techniques can be used to evaluate 'political speech'. It also is perfectly reasonable for him to use the rhetoric of the Bush administration vis a vis the justifications for the Iraq War...this is a clear, contemporary example of how 'argumentation' can be used to develop the warrants and supports for a course of action that--at the time--many Americans were either opposed to, or at least skeptical, about. Quite frankly, I can't think of a better example that will make sense to most listeners. We are in an era of 24 hour 'political speech'--we are inundated by it. The techniques and tools that Prof. Zarefsky describes can assist us in discerning the substantive parts of any speeches and assertions by those seeking elective office; or those already in office seeking support for their policy decisions. (As a matter of fact, I have been for many years involved with an organization whose goals are non partisan voter education...the techniques described in these lectures model very closely the process we use for evaluating issues, and in presenting the results of our evaluations.) Not every GC lecturer has the luxury of a topic that--in and of itself--is entertaining, lively and easily presented. Prof. Zarefsky does a very good job with a tough subject.
Date published: 2015-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great Great Courses course! I just finished Prof. Zarefsky's 24 lecture course on argumentation. It was great from start to finish. Well researched, well organized and well presented. He is an accomplished lecturer and I felt he carefully picked each and every word. I particularly liked his treatment of comparing and contrasting formal logic and informal logic. Obviously this class is NOT focused on formal logic. It is focused on informal logic which the majority of argumentation is based on. If you are interested in informal logic and argumentation I can recommend this course to you.
Date published: 2015-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy to listen to..... This was my first course with The Great Courses and upon completion I was very satisfied and impressed with the content, delivery of the lectures and how well the subject matter was easy to listen to and grasp while commuting. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2015-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worthy of your time Having listened with great profit both to this course and to the preceding edition thereof, I’m delighted to recommend “Argumentation: The Study of Effective Reasoning, 2nd Edition” to other listeners. Let me admit up front that I deem Zarefsky an astoundingly boring speaker. Nonetheless, his organization of the lectures is so superb and the content that he packs into them so useful that the course merits your attention. I have listened to the first edition at least twenty times to my own enrichment; I’ve listened to the second edition at least four or five times. Another listener complained about Zarefsky’s references to diagrams. I believe that this is an unfair criticism because the diagrams are reproduced in the course guide. In fact, the course guides are very fine, indeed; I’ve annotated mine into oblivion. I’ve also hunted down a number of the works listed in the bibliography and have benefited from reading them.
Date published: 2014-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decided to take a chance...happy I did! Some of the reviews had raised doubts in my mind regarding the course content and I decided to take a chance. I no longer have any doubts and would recommend this course to anyone who wants a thorough review of the components of arguments, how they are assembled, and how they can be effectively used. I purchased the audio version for my daily commute. The presenter's enthusiasm is evident throughout. The first few lectures illustrated foundational topics which were deceptively simple but essential to the understanding of argumentation. The examples using presidential speeches or American historical references did not require knowledge of American history to understand the argumentation components being discussed. I look at arguments differently now and have been applying the concepts in my own work and also able to recognize and appreciate argumentative approaches used by colleagues. I will keep my eye open for future courses on this subject!
Date published: 2014-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good overview of the subject I had taken a logic course in college, so this looked interesting to go down a similar path. I did learn a lot from the professor; I thought the course was well-structured. Yes, some of the examples were a bit redundant, but on the flip side, it broadened my understanding or knowledge of that event as well.
Date published: 2014-07-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Deeply disappointed. My listening to this course followed Seven Novella MD's _Your Deceptive Mind: A Scientific Guide to Critical Thinking Skills_. Where Novella described how we can best pursue the closest approximation of the truth possible, given all the biases of the human mind, Dr. Zarefsky goes in quite another direction: how to persuade. This is a course on Rhetoric, not, as advertised, Effective Reasoning. It is not in the least about a search for Truth, but how to win over an audience, whether what you are saying is true or not, which is incidental in this concern. In Zarefsky's approach, one musters Points to make and organizes them in the manner that is the most persuasive. These Points might be true or merely commonly believed. Evidence might be a type of Point, but not a necessary one, and is often problematic because the Other Side just might be able to discredit it in ways you had not anticipated. (When that happens, it is not a beneficial opportunity to advance the pursuit of Truth, but a major setback.) Points are arranged to construct an argument that may or may not be logical, so long as that argument sequences the Points in such a way as to be persuasive. One might even present a questionable Point 1 that is followed by, "And even if this is not true, well then <Point 2>." Nevertheless, I confess my egocentric perspective on this, as my own worldview is the scientific one, in constant pursuit of that closest approximation of the truth possible, also known as "Wherever the data lead." Dr. Zarefsky's audience appears to be lawyers and politicians, whose worldview, at least for their occupations, is orthogonal to the scientific. I intend to share this collection with my pre-law son, as a bad example of how to approach how to find out the facts and eventually the truth of a situation. Then, I will recommend it to no one else.
Date published: 2014-03-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The only Great Course that I could not complete Listen to this course only if you want a very lengthy obtuse description of argumentation. I got exhausted at lecture 10 and could not go back. I can not say that the question is answered, as what is effective reasoning.
Date published: 2014-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Argumentation: The Art of Effective Reasoning Excellent... absorbing. It was fascinating to learn the techniques of what I recognized from my own experiences many of which seem to come naturally. This is powerful information for use in daily life as well as business. This course was so engrossing that some days I viewed 3 or 4. Dr. Zarefsky has very pleasant presentation style. The course is very well organized and unfamiliar terms are defined making it easy to follow along. This course has me enthused to take more courses. The product is of excellent quality.
Date published: 2014-01-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from More than I wanted to know In the end, the course told me more than I ever wanted to know about argumentation. However, many of the basic concepts are exceptionally useful, and the logical discussion of evidence is generally applicable to ones daily life. This course should probably be taken by the editors of the New York Times, who seem particularly challenged when it comes to developing convincing arguments..
Date published: 2013-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best courses I have ever taken Phenomenal professor, phenomenal course. Deserves far more than 5 stars!
Date published: 2013-06-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Probably Worth Your While As may be the case for many Teaching Company students, I have been arguing about pretty much everything since time immemorial, so I leaped at the opportunity to "reason more effectively." While the course is in its second edition and the content has many highlights (that I will get to momentarily), it could benefit significantly from a major revision and reconstruction. But, first things first: a) The major strength of the course remains its coverage of the fundamental concepts of argumentation, namely, claims, warrants and inferences, comparison with formal logic, and stasis, fallacies, and warrants, argument diagramming etc. b) In explaining the aforementioned fundamental concepts, Dr. Zarefsky's presentation is largely jargon-free. Technical terms, when used, are adequately explained, and when possible, are avoided. I know this because I have read a thing or two on this topic, and, believe me, things can get technical and abstruse in the blink of an eye. c) The presentation style is fine. I won't go so far as to say he is "one of the best TTC lecturers" but his use of tone and inflection is measured, and personal anecdotes and everyday examples are thoughtfully provided. Downsides: a) The content, and some examples are at times redundant. Many simple-enough topics are discussed multiple times, in multiple units throughout the course, and this can sometimes get frustrating, especially when the topic is intuitively straightforward. Optimally, I imagine the content of this course could have fit in a 16 or even 12 lecture course. b) Dr. Zarefsky's undue focus on presidential debates and formal speeches was unhelpful and detracted from the practical value of the course. In my opinion, common, everyday arguments about sociopolitical (or other) issues could have served to shift the focus from the specific content (which was at times technical and abstruse in the case of the presidential debates) to the flow of the argument itself. c) Like many scholars of argumentation, Dr. Zarefsky has a predilection for narrowing down the scope and reach of formal logic that is to be expected. But his commentary sometimes takes this proclivity a tad too far. This is especially noticeable in the highly slanted discussion of the history of philosophy in the last few hundred years. However, all this does not seem to prevent Dr. Zarefsky from calling his colleagues "speech act philosophers." All in all, listening to this course can be beneficial, especially if you are a debater, but have not had the chance to familiarize yourself with the relevant scholarship.
Date published: 2012-07-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Competent; covers the subject I purchased this course while developing some software to assist in the preparation and presentation of legal arguments in court. I was looking for a formalistic treatment of argumentation with some rigor involved as a check on my intuition and experienc. Professor Zarefsky is instructive and the material is thorough. However, I believe that a student has to have a use for this material in order to maintain an interest. Although there are some interesting examples, I did not find the subject matter to be especially entertaining and might not have made it all the way through if I did not have a well-defined purpose for the information.
Date published: 2012-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this course! Audio review: This course covers a lot of material. I have to work at it and i think it's excellent. Lots of clear examples. I'm very happy with the delivery, I find him enjoyable and thorough. I don't find it boring. I do have to go back and listen if I wander even for a short while. Buy this if you want to put in the effort. I'm going to buy more from this professor. Regarding the audio, at times I wondered if I was missing helpful diagrams but overall dont feel that matters much. I see it like I just have to work harder to pay attention and learn. I wouldnt hesitate to buy the audio but I think it would be hard to multi-task and get much out of it.
Date published: 2012-01-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Argumentation: The Study of Effective Reasoning, 2 This course was good as far as it went, but there was too little said about formal logic, which (in my opinion, anyway) is an essential foundation to understanding that the "argumentation" that might persuade in a political speech does not necessarily equate with sound reasoning. For example, it's nice to know about Appeal to Authority (Michael Jackson said the sun came up in the west; for many people Michael Jackson is a well-respected person; therefore you should conclude the sun comes up in the west), but if you don't first understand logic and why a fallacy is actually fallacious, you may end up thinking you have made a reasoned judgment about where to look for the rising sun, when all you've actually done is choose sides on the issue. Formal logic is a powerful tool that is often overlooked today (look at the number of court decisions using fallacious reasoning), and I think imparting knowledge of formal logic could greatly benefit society. Sixty years ago many universities required a 2-hour course in logic as a prerequisite to graduation, but logic (and history) fell into disfavor in the late 60's, and now it's difficult to find a logic class even in the largest American university (our local university offers only 2 courses for 33,000 students). So . . . I found the course useful for convincing the guy on the barstool next to you that your view is right, but because I think students who don't know formal logic may think they are engaging in sound reasoning when they are pursuing "argumentation," if I were designing the course I would use the first half to teach formal logic, and only then get into the other devices that can be useful in the art of persuasion.
Date published: 2011-12-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Really Dry This is the only course I have ever gotten fomr The Great Courses that I have not enjoyed. The material is boring and overly technical. The professor is really dull. I gave up after about 10 lectures.
Date published: 2011-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Course I am involved in presenting legal arguments in disciplinary hearings. I obtained this course just at the right time, when I have to write six disciplinary cases. One of the most important points I learned about was the concept of warrants to link evidence and the claim. This is crucial in disciplinary hearings. No one had ever explained this to me me before.
Date published: 2011-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Argumentation, a must for everybody. Very interesting material. This is a course about something that we do naturally all the time, namely trying to prove our point of view to other people. But it is not about arguing per se. It is mostly about communicating your ideas to others in the most efficient and effective ways. Of course there are many situations when you want to convince other people that you are right and to turn them to your point of view. This is the most natural process and each one of us was engaged in it hundreds of times. It turns out that there are rules that govern this process. There are claims, inferences, warrants, and all kinds of other supportive propositions that make your argument more effective. So in the end, an argument is not about arguing, but about conveying your ideas to your audience in the most effective way. It is not about fighting, but about reasoning and presenting your point of view in such a way that your opponent(s) will accept your point of view willingly. Effective reasoning will make your ideas acceptable to your audience or the person you are having a conversation with. The only problem is that listening to this course will not automatically make you a more effective communicator. This is a skill that has to be studied, worked on, and practiced. You have to read and analyze speeches, editorial articles, etc. to see how they are structured, what kinds of claims, inferences, warrants, etc. are being used and to learn from that. It’s like any skill – if you want to become good, you will have to work on it. And this course is a good place to start. I liked this course and I recommend it.
Date published: 2011-09-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from 1st Disappointment Too long, too little content, too repetitive-couldn't finish it. This course could be covered in 12 lectures--or better presented with more analyses of great speeches, instead of the fictional examples.
Date published: 2011-09-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Valuable Information! This course contained a lot of valuable information. I purchased it in expectation that that it would help me prepare for my debate class this year. Although it's not neccessarily a course designed to do that, it still presents much information regarding reasoning in general. Every lecture is full of intellectual stimulation, and the professor does a good job at explaining otherwise boring topics. He uses examples for practically everything which really help the listener comprehend what he is talking about. Sometimes the subjects may seem monotonous or redundant, but, overall, it is a very worthwhile course.
Date published: 2011-08-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Recommended I must say that this was my least favorite course of the many I have listened to. I must also admit that I did not make it all the way through the course. I found it tedious and didn't get much practical info out of it. Some readers of this review will probably figure I am obtuse and just didn't get it. Maybe they're right. But if I didn't get it (as a college grad, top level executive and as someone devoted to lifelong learning), I imagine I wouldn't be the only one scratching his head.
Date published: 2011-08-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Useful information I found this course useful, but a bit too long. Important information was presented which would be of value to anyone interested in Argumentation and the course certainly was thorough. I did find that after a while I just wanted the professor to get on with the point and move on. In any case, if you are interested in the suject, this is as good as any course out there!
Date published: 2011-08-18
  • y_2019, m_9, d_18, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_112
  • loc_en_US, sid_4294, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 101.92ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Customers Who Bought This Course Also Bought