China, India, and the United States: The Future of Economic Supremacy

Course No. 5892
Professor Peter Rodriguez, Ph.D.
Darden School of Business, University of Virginia
Share This Course
4 out of 5
40 Reviews
82% of reviewers would recommend this product
Course No. 5892
Sale
Audio Streaming Included Free

Course Overview

You are living at a critical moment of change for the world economy. A moment that will be defined by the economic trajectories of three key players. A moment whose outcome will have a deep and lasting impact on the way you live. Recent years have seen a dramatic, unprecedented transformation in the landscape of the global economy. And the catalyst of this transformation—destined to create a new economic order that will scarcely resemble that of the last 300 years—is undoubtedly the rise of China and India. Both nations, which represent around 37% of the world's population, have experienced a rapid surge in annual economic growth of 7% to 10% in the last decade alone—a growth rate that is nothing short of miraculous.

Just as important as this amazing story are its implications for the United States. Long seen as the central driving force behind the world's economy, the United States is emerging from the greatest recession in more than 80 years. For the first decade of the 21st century, its average per capita income growth was a paltry 0.53% per year. As China and India continue to gain a dominant foothold in the 21st-century marketplace, America's role in it will continue to evolve in unprecedented ways.

Knowing what to possibly expect from the future of the global economy presents an enormous opportunity for you to better prepare yourself for the momentous challenges and possibilities of tomorrow. Now you can, with China, India, and the United States: The Future of Economic Supremacy. This provocative six-lecture course, delivered by noted economist and award-winning Professor Peter Rodriguez of the University of Virginia's Darden School of Business, is your opportunity to preview what the next few decades of the global economy may look like. Offering you pointed looks at the economic past, present, and possible futures of these three powerful nations, these lectures will have you finally grasping the intricate nature of our world economy and the driving forces responsible for where it will stand in years to come.

Get Answers to Pressing Questions about These Economic Giants

In the last 20 years the incremental economic growth of China and India has been the equivalent of adding another United States to the world economy—and it could happen again in just 12 years, or even fewer. The implications of such a statistic demand to be better understood, and Professor Rodriguez's lectures are the perfect way to witness just how these three economies have gotten where they are today.

Central to this course are revealing answers to some of your most pressing questions about the current state of the global economy and its future.

  • How long will the United States remain at the top of the global economic ladder, and what will happen when that time passes?
  • What economic, political, and cultural forces are responsible for China's and India's spectacular growth over the last two decades?
  • When and why might China's and India's rapid annual growth rates slow down?
  • What strategies and policies can these three nations undertake to weather the current global recession?

Discover the Future of the 21st-Century Global Economy

In addition to bringing you up to speed with the economic stories of these three world powers, China, India, and the United States: The Future of Economic Supremacy also provides you with insights into the next decades of the world economy and the new economic order currently being forged. Throughout the lectures, Professor Rodriguez uses his keen economist's eye to report ideas, trends, and possible outcomes you can expect to see as China and India continue to reach (and possibly even supersede) the economic power of the United States.

Here are just a few of the many predictions and possibilities you'll explore in depth.

  • China's particular challenge to sustain solid economic growth, more so than the two other countries, will be highly political in nature.
  • India cannot rely solely on information technology to continue growing; rather, it must also achieve global prowess in manufacturing to truly strengthen its internal and external economic power.
  • The United States must reemerge as a global exporter and must retain its preeminent status in financial markets to ensure its near-term economic future.

Most important, you'll investigate how the great changes in the coming years will also bring with them a range of benefits and opportunities for each of these three countries. According to Professor Rodriguez, the coming decades of the new global economy will be a bumpy ride, but there is much to remain positive and hopeful about for the United States and the rest of the world.

Learn What to Expect—Before Everyone Else

In addition to being a skilled educator whose awards include Princeton University's Teaching Excellence Award, Professor Rodriguez possesses significant real-world business experience working with multinational companies, including Rolls Royce and Visa. This know-how, combined with his vast knowledge of global macroeconomics and international business, makes him an authoritative guide to this pressing subject and its implications for your future.

So join him for this chance to find out, before everyone else, just what to expect from the economies of China, India, and the United States. This course is a piercing look at the economic future being shaped right at this very moment.

Hide Full Description
6 lectures
 |  Average 30 minutes each
  • 1
    The Narrowing Economic Gap
    Take an insightful look back at the dramatic economic histories of the United States, China, and India between 1961 and 2010—a period that offers a strong foundation for thinking carefully about what the global economic situation of the next 20 years may look like. In particular, explore the impact of such trends and programs as America’s post–World War II economic boom, Mao’s disastrous Great Leap Forward, India’s triumphant independence from Great Britain, and the paralyzing global recession of 2008. x
  • 2
    China’s Economic Miracle
    China’s recent economic growth is the most miraculous economic story in world history. But it’s a uniquely Chinese story that perhaps no other nation could have written. What about China’s culture and politics changed to produce such spectacularly rapid growth? Does the successful Chinese approach represent a new model for economic growth in other countries? How sustainable is this growth in the long run? Professor Rodriguez reveals the answers to these and other questions here. x
  • 3
    India’s Rise from Isolationism
    India’s economic growth, which emerged after decades of lost opportunities, is primed to earn the country a place among the most influential world economies of the 21st century. In this fascinating lecture, accomplish three main objectives. First, grasp the root causes behind why India’s economy was terrible for so long. Second, learn why India’s rapid growth is happening right now, and not decades earlier. And third, discover what India’s unprecedented economic success means for India—and for the world. x
  • 4
    The U.S. at the End of the Old Global Order
    Will the end of American economic supremacy mean the end of American prosperity? Make sense of this provocative question by charting the rise of American economic “exceptionalism” during the 1990s; investigate why the era of a U.S.-dominated global economy is ending and how the Triffin Paradox helps explain these reasons; and find out why this dramatic change may in fact be the only way to ensure America’s future prosperity and its ability to continue growing. x
  • 5
    Strategies for the New Economic Order
    The next decade will be an absolutely critical one for the future of the world economy. Using his keen economic and historical knowledge, Professor Rodriguez explores the future of America and China’s economic relationship; helps you make sense of the massive changes and challenges India faces in the coming years; illustrates specific steps that the United States can take to rebalance its economy; and demonstrates why the global recession of 2008 was, in actuality, a transformational moment. x
  • 6
    The Future of the Three Economic Powers
    Look further ahead and address the questions that loom the largest when thinking about the economies of America, China, and India. What can we expect from each of these three countries in the next 20 years? How will each country contribute, in its own distinct way, to the new economic landscape currently being formed? How ready are China and India to assume the power coming their way? And how influential will America continue to be in the new global economy? x

Lecture Titles

Clone Content from Your Professor tab

What's Included

What Does Each Format Include?

Video DVD
Instant Audio Includes:
  • Download 6 audio lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE audio streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps

What Does The Course Guidebook Include?

Video DVD
Course Guidebook Details:
  • 112-page printed course guidebook
  • Photos & illustrations
  • Questions to consider
  • Glossary

Enjoy This Course On-the-Go with Our Mobile Apps!*

  • App store App store iPhone + iPad
  • Google Play Google Play Android Devices
  • Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Tablet + Firephone
*Courses can be streamed from anywhere you have an internet connection. Standard carrier data rates may apply in areas that do not have wifi connections pursuant to your carrier contract.

Your professor

Peter Rodriguez

About Your Professor

Peter Rodriguez, Ph.D.
Darden School of Business, University of Virginia
Dr. Peter Rodriguez is Associate Dean for International Affairs and Associate Professor at the Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia, where he teaches global macroeconomics and international business. The holder of a Ph.D. in Economics from Princeton University, Professor Rodriguez has also taught at both that university and at Texas A&M, as well as at universities around the world, including on the water...
Learn More About This Professor
Also By This Professor

Reviews

China, India, and the United States: The Future of Economic Supremacy is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 40.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent synthesis of NOW The US has bypassed several times in its dominant history to address its responsibilities as a world power and dominant economic force. It has built its own imbalance of payments by not addressing the need of a save creditor of last resort other than the dollar. This was the intention of the IMF.
Date published: 2017-07-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Should be Required for Current Administration The copyright on my course material is 2011, but the material presented seems to be somewhat earlier. Either way, Professor Rodriguez’s course suffers a bit from making predictions about what will likely happen in the second and third decades of the 21st century. Even so this course delivers on its title, focusing almost exclusively on the economies of China, India and the United States. Dr. Rodriguez give a brief (what else can he do in three hours?) description of the recent economies of each country and then more detailed analysis of how they moved from then to where they are now. Here I really learned a lot. For example, why the “Great Leap Forward” failed so badly and how China managed to recover from this disaster. Also interesting was Dr. Rodriguez’s view on the reasons for the failure of the Indian economy after independence. This analysis of the failure of self-sufficiency (economically speaking) should be required for the current British and US governments as they rush forward a new era. As Dr. Rodriguez considers the future he is more optimistic than many American doomsayers, who view the rise of China with alarm, as he views that not being with world’s largest economy does not mean that the standard of living will not continue to rise in the US. As other reviewers have noted Dr. Rodriguez falls down a bit in his presentation skills, repeating himself far too often (especially as he is constrained to only 3 hours), but he is organized and presents his material well. Personally I could have used a few more lectures, but this is not what TTC had in mind.
Date published: 2017-06-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did not listen to the material because it was only audio. I thought that there would be visual material but I was mistaken. I prefer a lecture series that has co-ordinated, congruent visual and audio information.
Date published: 2017-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Interesting stuff! Fascinating review of America's current position in the global economy and how it will change.
Date published: 2017-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from China, India, and the United States: The Future of It was interesting after traveling to those countries. Very good.
Date published: 2016-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Oversight! I greatly enjoyed this presentation. The presentation probably should be updated to reflect the recent changes in the China economy (slowing down). That being said, however, this course is of significant value in putting perspectives on the global economy. Especially useful and valuable is the professors presentations and analysis of the India economy.
Date published: 2016-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from New Economic Insights I purchased the download version to listen to in the car. This is a very short course but it still presented a lot of interesting insights into the current economies of China, India, and the U.S. Rodriguez includes an explanation of the last half century and how it led each country to where it is now. He then explains what he expects to happen over the next few decades. I learned the most from his discussion of India - I had no idea how badly the economy floundered following independence. The one downside of the course is the number of times Rodriguez repeats himself. While never a great thing, it's worse when it occurs in a short course. This course is a nice complement to his other course (see link below). I found Rodriguez to be clear and easy to understand. I recommend this course.
Date published: 2015-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great For Someone New To The Topic Except for having read the occasional statistics, I'm new to economies. The six lectures were highly informative for me: I learnt about the histories of China and India, and now a have a pretty good understanding of the world's top economies and about what economic supremacy means. Some others complained that the lecturer was repetitive. However, I think he was repeating himself for emphasis. Overall, I recommend the course to anybody who cares about money itself. The topic concerns everybody. It's remarkable, the amount of information you can learn in only 180 minutes. By the way, something new and interesting: already, October 2014 estimates have shown that China's rapidly-growing economy has overtaken the U.S.'s in terms of GDP (PPP).
Date published: 2014-11-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sophomoric This course is not recommended for adults. I guess that trying to fit such a complex topic into 6, 30 minute lectures is an impossible undertaking. The Professor is very repetitious and could have done a much better job with the subject. He seems to be very "China-centric" and completely ignores China's demographic crisis: "China will grow old before it grows rich." The implications of this cannot be ignored and he does not even mention it. What effect will this have on the social fabric of China? I guess that Terminal 3 at Beijing's Airport (PEK/ZBAA) convinced him that China is destined for greatness. Did he happen to notice the incredible air pollution in the city once he left the airport? The air pollution in China, a country where the people have no ability to assemble, is another factor that will slow them down immensely, yet not even a mention.
Date published: 2014-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Overview of Relative Scope of the Economies The course is an excellent and timely look at where the US, China, and India have been and where they are going. It's not all bad news for the Americans. Professor Rodriguez has developed a logical and interesting course and has delivered it with an engaging style. If there is a gap, it's the other aspects of competition for international influence among the countries, particularly the US and China, but the focus is, and should be, on the economics. The most interesting aspect of the course for me was how the relative growth and size of these three economies were compared. The course is a good value for any lay person interested in learning more about a critical aspect of international economics that will affect the world in the coming decades.
Date published: 2014-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Course!!! I really enjoyed the class on China, India, and the United States: The Future of Economic Supremacy. I felt Professor Peter Rodriguez did an excellent job in presenting the material and drawing me into the course. His method of presentation made me really think about the subject matter and how i can use the information from the lectures in my field of work.
Date published: 2014-09-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The course material is interesting and very relevant in today's economy. The problem is the way Professor Rodriguez presents the subject - with endless repetition (and here I am afraid I myself am at fault of repeating previous reviews, but it is a very important point). Still, if you can put up with that, the course is worthwhile...
Date published: 2013-10-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Vague and repetitive I have listened to many offerings from the Great Courses and this was the first one that I found disappointing. The lecturer was distressingly short on detail and long on banalities. The best lectures are the first two; after that it gets really platitudinous. The lecturer qualifies almost all his statements so that nothing sounds strong or original. His most common tic is to argue against a phantom "they", without anyone real being identified. Another irritation is that his word choice is extremely repetitive. By the end I felt that if he used "opportunity" or "impressive" one more time I was going to scream. These lectures felt like pap for children, not meat for adults.
Date published: 2013-06-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from You really have to be interested in the subject. I was, so I liked it a lot. Overall, I would give this one 4.5 stars if I could. The content and value were excellent for me. I listened as I drove and did three lectures today to finish the course. The information was all new to me and presented in an understandable way. It was a plus that the newness hasn't worn off the course yet--it runs to 2010. I was surprised by some of the assertions about our most recent decade in the US, but I suppose it was treated that way because of the constraints of time. Calling the years between 2000 and 2010 a "flat" decade is perhaps fairly descriptive, but it leaves a lot out which was only touched on. Prof. Rodriguez is pretty matter-of-fact in some areas. He simply tells us that the Communist command economies of both China and India were responsible for their many years of slow, tiny growth, and that things changed when Communist ideology and tight restrictions on business were replaced with a more open free-market-like system. Still not great for India, but improving. And he explained why growth is squelched by a Communist command economy, and why it only takes a bit of loosening to turn it around to where growth is noticeable. I was a bit more hopeful about the future with competition from China and India after finishing the course, but it worries me that we seem to be going the other direction, towards MORE regulation and restrictions and central planning. My only complaint echoes some others--superfluous adjectives and adverbs were everywhere. Way too many "amazings" scattered about, and "extra-ordinarys" too. They did seem to subside a bit later in the course.
Date published: 2012-11-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting Course The professor's presentation was very good and the content was interesting. The course covered the economic rise of China and India. What wasn't covered was how all the American manufacturing jobs outsourced to China and IT jobs sent to India impacted the USA. However, it was still very interesting.
Date published: 2012-07-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GOOD, QUICK OVERVIEW This set of CD's provides exactly what TGC promises on three major economies, China, India and the U.S. Obviously, in three hours on these economies, only the highlights can be touched. I would describe the tone as optimistic which is okay, depending on one's viewpoint. On China, I wish there was more discussion about the role of the local banks in the economic growth. From what I read, this is a weak link in the overall performance and record of China's economy. The Chinese are willing for high tech companies such as Nikon and Apple to utilize its work force, but it insists on sharing in the companies' technology. How successful the U.S. is protecting its core knowledge will be an ongoing and interesting story. My brief time in India introduced me to the maddening, universal corruption. It pervades every level of economic activity whether public or private. Coupled with the equally maddening arrogance of the civil service, India has a serious set of obstacles to overcome. One interesting dynamic between the two countries is the reported contempt most Chinese feel towards Indians. This feeling is alleged to be particularly strong in the military. What it means to the future is hard to guess. There is a cruel joke that has been played on America. The export of its manufacturing base with its attendant good jobs has had far more serious consequences than most people realized. It's not clear how it can be recaptured despite Professor Rodriquez's hopes for the future. It's among the most serious challenges the country faces as it struggles to recover its economic momentum. All in all, I believe this brief series of lectures is worth its modest cost, and it's highly recommended.
Date published: 2012-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Necessary knowledge in today's world economy I am amazed at reviews that show little patience for detail or tedium in a SIX- lecture course. If I did not like the professor, his opinions, the material or style, I could still intently listen to this entire course in one sitting while hanging upside down, emersed in a tank of water with electrodes attached to my toes...it is that interesting and, unfortunately, that compact. I truly wish it were more detailed, more expansive and at least 24 lectures. But, I regard the presented material as necessary and essential knowledge in today's global economy. Professor Rodriquez speaks plainly and understandably about the recent past and probable future of the three-way relationship between us and our most improtant competitors and trading partners. Some slightly negative reviews may have been motivated by the (from our perspective) less than rosey view of the future. But, it is critical that we understand the course corrections necessary in order to lessen the impact of sharing rather than dominating the global economic landscape. All in all, a must-buy, must-read, must-listen kind of course. The cod liver oil message notwithstanding, I give it five stars.
Date published: 2012-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Think about this... but maybe not say it that way The subject matter was interesting enough to follow but swung from being far too simplistic to far too complex far too often. The quick intro into the modern Chinese and Indian economies was informative given I had no prior readings of either beyond the basic Chinese failings under Mao and successes since then. I found there wasn't much independent thought to go with this course... Professor Rodriguez had a destination in mind and took the listener there without leaving much room to wonder about things on their own. It's not necessarily a bad thing but usually only history courses are presented on such inevitable rails (simply because the events have already happened and always will have happened a certain way). The manner of presentation, however, left much to be desired. I felt like I was being talked to by someone in jeans and t-shirt in a diner and not lectured to by a top university professor. The Professor's repeated uses of 'think about this...' or 'for example...' or 'let me put it this way...' numb the intellectual message to the point of a distracted diner conversation. I found myself constantly thinking 'could this guy just come up with some other trite into to make his point.' It was nice that the entire course transcript is the guidebook so there is no chance of missing out on anything but I would not expect a book (or presentation) at this level to come across with a "I'm jus' sayin'" type of conversationalism.
Date published: 2012-02-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good but Tedious The material is certainly very timely, but unfortunately, I found the presentation tedious. Dr. Rodriguez has chosen topics that I think are necessary for a fundamental understanding of where we think we are (U.S. economically) and the rising powers, but I think he was reading the material - it sounded stilted and too "polished" to be off the cuff, which I found very distracting. The material is presented in a somewhat repetitive way, but in a sense I found that helpful. I tend to listen to each course a couple of times, I'll try with this course but not sure I'll get through it again.
Date published: 2011-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from INTERESTING OVERVIEW On the whole, one will find these lectures to be optimistic about the future for all three economies, and why shouldn't they be? My limited distasteful experience with the Indian rigid and arrogant bureaucracy some years ago certainly conforms with his concerns about it being a possible roadblock to India's progress. Also, the pervasive constant corruption in Indian society is a reality about which even Indians regularly complain presents a formidable barrier to overcome if the country's future is to be bright. My exposure to it with government employees was disheartening. China represents a better near term prospect. It's not clear what role the regional banks have played in the reported statistics of economic progress. I wish Dr Rodriquez had addressed more attention to this issue. While it's true sophisticated companies such as Apple and Nikon have complied with Chinese demands to share technology if they wish to take advantage of China's lower labor manufacturing costs. By withholding their most advanced technological information, they believe they can retain their market leadership. However, it's questionable how much longer that advantage will last. Furthermore, America's immigration policy appears to encourage Chinese students to enroll in our best scientific schools where they do extremely well, but are forced to return home once they've received their degrees. The export of that knowledge base would appear to be a long term risk to the technological leadership of both the United States and other western countries as well as Japan. The cruel myth that the United States could happily export its manufacturing base and rely on service industries for future economic growth is addressed by Dr Rodriquez. The recapture of that momentum he believes must come from new industries and advances. One can only hope he's right. This brief series of lectures is thought provoking and a useful review of the current economic situation as well as one way of looking into the future. They are worth the investment.
Date published: 2011-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Good Perspective The lectures are good --- well-planed, logical and full of information. There is only one negative: the presentation is monotone and bland -- not enough curry powder in the Vindaloo, so to speak. Overall I give it 4 stars. Buy it.... You need to know this stuff -- we can get our excitement elsewhere!
Date published: 2011-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Overview CD Audio. This course is a short (6 lectures) overview comparing the three most potent economies in the world: United States, China, and India. It addresses the strengths and weaknesses of each economy. Most importantly, it asks whether the United States can retain its economic dominance and, if it can’t, what would that mean. Many of these questions are raised on other TTC courses but from fresh perspectives. This course is well-worth taking.
Date published: 2011-10-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Good, the Bad, and the Short! There's much good in this course. Professor Rodriguez does a very nice job of describing China's economic rise. It's short, focused, and insightful. He does equally well at discussing the separate, challenging path of India. These two nations have experienced incredible and historic growth, and the future and direction of the global economy are, as the professor capably teaches, very dependent upon developments there. The course, however, has serious flaws. None is more damaging than the professor's virtually total reliance on issues around the reserve currency in explaining major current difficulties in the US economy. There are other important reasons for our high levels of debt, other important causes of the recent recession, and other significant structural problems that imperil our economic future. All of these other matters get virtually no attention in the course. Further, the professor seems to suggest an inevitability to our economic position in the years to come. He may be right, but his too-heavy reliance on the Triffin Dilemma, without getting into deeper issues and nuances, weakens his case and makes this part of the course less valuable. Finally, for such a short course, the professor repeats his conclusions over and over again. Though many of them are indeed worthy, it's painful to miss needed discussion that was left out in favor of the repetition. If TGC truly wants to make a go of these very short courses, it must exert greater editorial control over the content in them. Failing to provide critically important supporting data and repetitiveness are deadly characteristics of any course, especially a short 6 lecture course. Even with the flaws, the course has value for a student who wants a very quick introduction to the stunning, recent economic growth of the world's two most populous nations, China and India.
Date published: 2011-10-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from We're OK? Their OK? I don't think I will bother with any more of the mini courses. The content is limited. I felt like this was an introduction to a larger format and was left wanting more. Was this an atempt by the Teaching Company to assure US citizens that we need not worry about the fact that China hold a major portion of our debt? This to me is a problem as dictatorship controls everything in China, and we cannot repay. This topic requires more than 3 hours of lecture. The economy is more complex than what was presented.
Date published: 2011-10-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Dear Great Courses, I love your short courses idea, but the first one was a puzzle. I bought the Course on China and India Economy with one purpose only – to find out the reasons for their sudden success. However I didn’t get the clear answer beside ‘Free market’ argument. But what about Africa? Russia? Arab world? Latin America? Does it mean that only China (!) and India have real Free Marke... See More
Date published: 2011-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good overview This was an informative course. The lectures on China and India were relatively easy to follow and enjoyable, requiring no economic background. The lecture on US got technical. This is OK but the professor assumes you understand what happened with the subprime lending crisis and does not go into the detail of how it led to the crisis, just that it did. I had to listen to this lecture about three times but then I got most of it (I also had spent a lot of time learning about the subprime lending crisis on my own). This is the reason for 4 and not 5 stars. The last lecture about the future is too speculative and can be summarized with "no one knows". I wish he had spent two lectures on the US and combined the last two lectures into one. Overall, though, its short, enjoyable and goes by fast. It is worth it if you are not up with current world economics (which I am not).
Date published: 2011-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from First off, this is a survey course that delivers exactly what it sets out to do. It stays narrowly focused on the past, present and future economies of China, India, and the US. I liked that it was so well organized and logical. Professor Rodriguez also conveys a smooth and professional economic narrative backed up by facts and figures, economic theory, and finally offers speculation about the future. Overall, I felt all three countries got an equal share of airtime—fair and balanced across the board I’d say. This course would interest students studying economics and TGC customers who have global perspectives and interests. I was especially interested in the topic because I spent a month traveling in China 15 years ago (before the economic build up) and returned on a business trip a couple of years ago and witnessed an entirely different country and people. Some of what you can expect to learn (without giving away too much): 1) the juggernaut that is China has experienced phenomenal growth rates the world has never seen, but still has incomes at the US level in the 1940s, 2) China’s growth rate will slow in 10 years, 3) the Trifflin Dilemma (“economic supremacy sows the seeds of its own destruction”), 4) what the US should do given its loss of preeminence, 5) how long the US will have influence, 6) prosperity is more important than supremacy, and 7) economically speaking, 2001-2010 can be considered “the lost decade.” But there are only six lectures, and afterwards you can’t help but want more. Right now I’m undecided as to whether this experimental 6-lecture format is right for me. I think many listeners might be clamoring for more content about the events leading up to our current economic troubles. Dr. Rodriguez touches very briefly on this topic in Lecture 4 but for the most part limits the conversation to macroeconomic policy and currency reserve issues. So, just to reiterate, this course does not tackle housing bubbles head on or any other domestic banking meltdowns. The Guidebook is pretty good. Of course, each chapter has its expected summary, but it also includes a transcript of the monologue so you can read along with the audio or read as a follow-up. If you think the price is right and you want to learn more about the topic, you can’t go wrong. It’s polished and professional. Just be sure to curb your expectation for a dominant share of US content focusing on our current economic climate.
Date published: 2011-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good course, absurd price, horrible production [Audio download] First off, the price for this course is absolutely ridiculous. This course has only 6 lectures, but it costs as much as a 12 lecture course. Even worse, when browsing around, I saw some 12 lecture courses going for $10, which is twice as much material for half the cost of this course. When 6 lecture courses were initially proposed in a Facebook poll, they were advertised as being $13 for an audio download, which is a fair price. However, this price is grossly unfair,and I simply do not want to pay the same price for half the material. I only bought this course because I got a $10 discount coupon, which reduced the price to a decent $10. The production values were also terrible. At times, loud, strange and persistent noises can be heard resembling a 747, which are extremely distracting. Worse than that, the Teaching Company scrapped the customary applause at the end of a lecture, and replaced it with music that starts playing while the professor is still talking, like it's a cheap cable talk show going to commercials. I regretted the fact that the Teaching Company abandoned Tom Rollins's choice of Bach's Brandenburg Concerto no. 2, but I regret this further infantalization of the great courses even more. One can only hope that this will not be repeated, and thankfully, Myths of Nutrition and Fitness did not have this producer-introduced problem. Even still, the content is excellent. The professor provides a balanced account of the rise of China and India (though in India's case, there is much more focus on the policies that caused its economic trouble), in as much detail and depth as you can expect in three hours. If you can get the course at a discount, I definitely recommend that you get it.
Date published: 2011-09-07
  • y_2019, m_8, d_23, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_36
  • loc_en_US, sid_5892, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 72.12ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Customers Who Bought This Course Also Bought

Buy together as a Set
and
Save
Choose a Set Format