Cosmology: The History and Nature of Our Universe

Course No. 1830
Professor Mark Whittle, Ph.D.
University of Virginia
Share This Course
4.9 out of 5
161 Reviews
95% of reviewers would recommend this product
Course No. 1830
Video Streaming Included Free

Course Overview

Evidence for the birth of the universe is raining down on you. It's called the cosmic microwave background, and it's had quite a journey. Born in the stupendous annihilation of matter and antimatter seconds after the big bang, trapped in the hot plasma of the expanding universe for 380,000 years, and then suddenly released when the universe cooled to the point that atoms could form, this echo of creation has been on an uninterrupted voyage through space for 13.7 billion years—until it reached you. The cosmic microwave background is just one of the many clues about the history and nature of our universe that make the science of cosmology a wondrous, fascinating, and philosophically profound field of study.

Cosmology: The History and Nature of Our Universeintroduces you to the biggest story of all in 36 half-hour lectures that cover the origin, evolution, composition, and probable fate of our universe. This detailed and accessible course, presented by award-winning Professor Mark Whittle of the University of Virginia, incorporates more than 1,700 stunning illustrations.

The Perfect Time to Learn Cosmology

An expert on the dynamics of supermassive black holes at the cores of galaxies, Professor Whittle is an astronomer with a gift for making his subject vivid, understandable, and awe inspiring. For example, in explaining the vastness of the universe, he asks you to imagine yourself as a stupendous giant making billion-light-year strides through the cosmos, hour after hour. Even at this ultra-warp-drive pace, you would always find yourself in the middle of a uniform mist of galaxies with no end in sight.

Professor Whittle notes that we are the first generation ever to know in detail just how the universe came to be. Right now is the perfect time to learn cosmology, since researchers have just completed the work on more than a decade of breathtaking discoveries. The picture they have assembled is truly stunning in its richness and coherence and includes such findings as these:

  • The universe began 13.7 billion years ago in a hot big bang.
  • The geometry of the universe's space is "flat," supporting the theory of a cosmic origin in a rapid, inflationary burst of unimaginable speed.
  • Ripples frozen in space at the instant of inflation formed the seeds from which galaxies and all later structure grew.
  • The universe will expand forever at an accelerating rate.

Take an Intimate Look at the Universe

Einstein famously said, "The most incomprehensible thing about the universe is that it is comprehensible." As Cosmology shows, the universe is comprehensible at a remarkably deep level in simple, intuitive terms. As the course unfolds, you are introduced to the major clues that have gone into deciphering the mystery of the cosmos. Some of these clues involve concepts at the cutting edge of astrophysics, such as dark matter, dark energy, and cosmicinflation. Professor Whittle introduces these and many other ideas with inventive analogies and then builds on his explanations.

For instance, one of the most extraordinary aspects of the cosmic microwave background is that it tells us the universe was ringing with sound during its first 380,000 years. It took a satellite measuring minute fluctuations in the microwave background to disclose this property of the early universe. But the story does not end there because scientists can say a great deal about this primordial sound and what it means:

  • Was it loud? Variations in the microwave background indicate that the sound was the approximate decibel evel of front-row seats at a rock concert. (Professor Whittle picks Pink Floyd as a suitably deafening example.)
  • What's the pitch? The primordial sound was 50 octaves lower than the range of human hearing. Just as larger organ pipes make deeper notes, so the universe's "pipes" are cosmic in size and make extremely low notes.
  • Was it musical? As you hear in Professor Whittle's different re-creations of the primordial sound, it had a harmonic complexity with a quality somewhere between a musical note and noise.
  • What does it tell us? The primordial sound included pressure waves destined to grow into the largest structures in the universe.

At Home in the Cosmos

There is also much to see in Cosmology. In addition to showing magnificent telescopic images, Professor Whittle illustrates his lectures with hundreds of informative diagrams, together with computer animations from NASA and other sources that give a three-dimensional perspective on the universe. You take a tour of our local supercluster, watch galaxies collide, and see "rivers" of galaxies flowing toward pockets of invisible dark matter, among other compelling simulations. Such a comprehensive, in-depth presentation is only available with this course and not in any classroom, book, or documentary.

Professor Whittle enriches his lectures with a number of simple equations, such as Hubble's Law. But you don't need to follow the math in detail, since he always restates what's going on in plain English. Indeed, Professor Whittle suggests that we may be hardwired to understand the universe at an intuitive level, since we evolved on a planet embedded in an astrophysical setting and subject to the same laws of physics that apply throughout all of space and time. We are truly at home in the cosmos.

Prepare to Be Surprised

Nonetheless, prepare to be surprised by some of the startling ideas you encounter in Cosmology:

  • Matter and energy are only the positive side of reality. There is an equal and opposite negative side that resides in gravitational fields. Together they sum to zero, implying that the universe came from nothing.
  • The annihilation of virtually all matter by antimatter just after the big bang means that every proton and electron in your body has survived a game of Russian roulette with a billion bullets and one blank.
  • Dark energy has the crucial property of making the universe fall outward, rather than inward, which is why the expansion of the universe is accelerating.
  • Our universe may be only one of many, in what has come to be called the multiverse. If each of these universes has different laws of physics, we should not be surprised that at least one—ours—happens to have the parameters that are conducive to life.

Looking back on the wealth of recent discoveries about the universe that are covered in this course, Professor Whittle can hardly contain his excitement. "I wouldn't be surprised if 500 years from now, these two decades will be seen as a period of breakthrough, not unlike the periods of discovery we associate with names like Copernicus, Newton, Darwin, or Einstein. ... One might say that right now is when cosmology has finally come of age."

Hide Full Description
36 lectures
 |  Average 30 minutes each
  • 1
    The Journey Ahead
    Cosmology takes the entire universe as its subject, not just its form, structure, and contents, but also how it was born and how it has evolved. You look at the origin of cosmology in creation stories before taking a whirlwind tour of the whole course. x
  • 2
    Denizens of the Universe
    This lecture introduces the hierarchy of structures in the universe: from planets to stars, galaxies, galaxy clusters, and larger groupings of galaxies called the cosmic web. Since light travels at a finite speed, looking far away also means looking far back in time. x
  • 3
    Overall Cosmic Properties
    The universe is lumpy at the scale of galaxies and galaxy clusters. But at larger scales it seems to be smooth and similar in all directions. This property of homogeneity and isotropy is called the cosmological principle. x
  • 4
    The Stuff of the Universe
    The most familiar constituents of the universe are atomic matter and light. Neutrinos make up another component. But by far the bulk of the universe—96%—is dark energy and dark matter. The relative amounts of these constituents have changed as the universe has expanded. x
  • 5
    The Sweep of Cosmic History
    Take a quick trip through the history of the universe, from the big bang to a conjectured future of ever-accelerating expansion. Eight key stages are in between, including the condensation of atoms, the birth of the first stars, and the formation of galaxies. x
  • 6
    Measuring Distances
    Astronomers use a "distance ladder" of overlapping techniques to determine distances in the universe. Triangulation works for nearby stars. For progressively farther objects, observers use pulsating stars, the rotation of galaxies, and a special class of supernova explosions. x
  • 7
    Expansion and Age
    Measurements of the Doppler shift of galaxies in the early 20th century revealed that essentially all were moving away from us. The more distant ones are moving faster, in direct proportion to their distance. This is the famous Hubble Law, which implies an initial "big bang." x
  • 8
    Distances, Appearances, and Horizons
    Defining distances in cosmology is tricky, since an object's distance continually increases with cosmic expansion. There are three important distances to consider: the emission distance, when the light set out; the current distance, when the light arrives; and the distance the light has traveled. x
  • 9
    Dark Matter and Dark Energy—96%!
    Atomic matter comprises less than 5% of the total cosmic census. This realization came with the discovery of dark matter (23%) in the 1970s and dark energy (73%) in the late 1990s. They are "dark" because they are detectable only by their subtle gravitational effects. x
  • 10
    Cosmic Geometry—Triangles in the Sky
    Einstein's theory of gravity suggests that space could be positively or negatively curved, so that giant billion-light-year triangles might have angles that don't add up to 180°. This lecture discusses the success at measuring the curvature of the universe in 1998. x
  • 11
    Cosmic Expansion—Keeping Track of Energy
    Has the universe's rate of expansion always been the same? You answer this question by applying Newton's law of gravity to an expanding sphere of matter, finding that the expansion was faster in the past and slows down over time. x
  • 12
    Cosmic Acceleration—Falling Outward
    You investigate why the three great eras of cosmic history—radiation, matter, and dark energy—have three characteristic kinds of expansion. These are rapid deceleration, modest deceleration, and exponential acceleration. The last is propelled by dark energy, which makes the universe fall outward. x
  • 13
    The Cosmic Microwave Background
    By looking sufficiently far away, and hence back in time, we can witness the "flash" from the big bang itself. This arrives from all directions as a feeble glow of microwave radiation called the cosmic microwave background (CMB), discovered by chance in 1964. x
  • 14
    Conditions during the First Million Years
    You visit the million-year-old universe to take in the sights: a slowly changing rainbow sky, a low-density super-hot atmosphere, and everywhere, brilliant light. x
  • 15
    Primordial Sound—Big Bang Acoustics
    Earth's atmosphere is the medium for sound waves. Was the primordial atmosphere of the young universe also conducive to sound? The answer is yes, as proved by tiny variations in the CMB. You hear re-creations of this primordial sound, which is somewhere between a musical note and noise. x
  • 16
    Using Sound as Cosmic Diagnostic
    Slight differences in the properties of the universe lead to slightly different sound spectra. These differences allow cosmologists to use sound spectra to determine what kind of universe we inhabit. You listen to the primordial sound of three universes of different densities. x
  • 17
    Primordial Roughness—Seeding Structure
    There are two key players in the growth of structure in the universe: atomic matter and dark matter. This lecture looks at how dark matter created the framework into which atomic matter ultimately gathered. From these concentrations of atomic matter, stars and galaxies eventually formed. x
  • 18
    The Dark Age—From Sound to the First Stars
    How does the universe move from a smooth, uniformly filled state, ringing with primordial sound, to one with stars and galaxies? You follow the process that resulted in the first stars, which were massive, brilliant beacons lighting up the early universe. x
  • 19
    Infant Galaxies
    Once the first generation of stars had formed, they began to collect into infant galaxies—chaotic collections of stars and gas that were much smaller than today's huge, majestic galaxies. The best telescopic images, such as the Hubble Ultra Deep Field, show this exuberant period. x
  • 20
    From Child to Maturity—Galaxy Evolution
    The young universe matured into its present adult phase through the ceaseless collision of small galaxies to make big ones. Our own Milky Way galaxy formed this way and has a major collision looming in its future—3 or 4 billion years from now. x
  • 21
    Giant Black Holes—Construction and Carnage
    At the heart of essentially every galaxy lies a giant black hole, a million to a billion times as massive as the sun. These monsters play an important role in the lives of galaxies. Confirming their existence was an impressive achievement of the Hubble Space Telescope. x
  • 22
    The Galaxy Web—A Relic of Primordial Sound
    A simulated intergalactic trip shows you the three-dimensional distribution of galaxies in our region of the universe. On the largest scale, galaxies form a weblike pattern that matches the peaks and troughs of the primordial sound in the early universe. x
  • 23
    Atom Factories—Stellar Interiors
    Humans are no less a part of the universe than any star or galaxy, and the atoms in us can only have arrived via a cosmological route. This lecture discusses how heavier elements came from stellar processes, including nuclear reactions and supernova explosions. x
  • 24
    Understanding Element Abundances
    The theory of atom genesis in the interiors of stars is confirmed by the proportions of each element throughout the cosmos. The relative abundances hardly vary from place to place, so that gold isn't rare just on earth, it's rare everywhere. x
  • 25
    Light Elements—Made in the Big Bang
    There is one glaring error in the story of atom-genesis inside stars: far too much helium. It must have been produced in the big bang along with other light elements. According to theory, this occurred when the universe was just three minutes old. x
  • 26
    Putting It Together—The Concordance Model
    This lecture reviews the six key pieces of evidence that indicate that we live in an expanding, evolving universe that began in a hot big bang a few billion years ago. Together with five key observational datasets, these pieces yield a remarkably consistent picture called the concordance model. x
  • 27
    Physics at Ultrahigh Temperatures
    This lecture begins your investigation of the universe during its first second, which is an immense tract of time in nature. To understand what happened, you need to know how nature behaves at ultrahigh energy and density. Fortunately, the physics is much simpler than you might think. x
  • 28
    Back to a Microsecond—The Particle Cascade
    At one microsecond, all the particles of the standard model of particle physics were present. By the time the universe was a few minutes old, matter-antimatter annihilation and nuclear fusion had roughly created today's composition of mainly photons and a few protons, helium nuclei, and electrons. x
  • 29
    Back to the GUT—Matter and Forces Emerge
    You venture into the bizarre world of the opening nanosecond. There are two primary themes: the birth of matter and the birth of forces. Near one nanosecond, the universe was filled with a dense broth of the most elementary particles. As temperatures dropped, particles began to form. x
  • 30
    Puzzling Problems Remain
    Although the standard big bang theory was amazingly successful, it couldn't explain several fundamental properties of the universe: Its geometry is Euclidean, it's smooth on the largest scales, and it was born slightly lumpy on smaller scales. The theory of cosmic inflation offers a comprehensive solution. x
  • 31
    Inflation Provides the Solution
    This lecture shows how the early universe might enter a brief phase of exponentially accelerating expansion, or inflation, providing a mechanism to launch the standard hot big bang universe. This picture also solves the flatness, horizon, and monopole problems that plagued the standard big-bang theory. x
  • 32
    The Quantum Origin of All Structure
    Inflation also helps explain the origin of cosmic lumpiness. During inflation, tiny quantum mechanical fluctuations can get frozen as real fluctuations when they expand faster than light, away from their place of origin. The expansion then stretches these fluctuations to cosmic proportions. x
  • 33
    Inflation's Stunning Creativity
    All the matter and energy in stars and galaxies is exactly balanced by all the negative energy stored in the gravitational fields between the galaxies. Inflation is the mechanism that takes nothing and makes a universe—not just our universe, but potentially many. x
  • 34
    Fine Tuning and Anthropic Arguments
    Why does the universe have the properties it does and not some different set of laws? One approach is to see the laws as inevitable if life ever evolves to ask such questions. This position is called the anthropic argument, and its validity is hotly debated. x
  • 35
    What's Next for Cosmology?
    The next 20 years in cosmology promise to be no less interesting than the last. New experiments are in the works to deepen our understanding in six areas: dark matter, dark energy, the universe's first billion years, galaxy evolution, inflation, and the early universe. x
  • 36
    A Comprehensible Universe?
    Why is it possible for us to understand the universe? Could our apparent comprehension be an illusion? There are good reasons to believe that we have authentic access to the deepest secrets of nature and that we should not be surprised to feel at home in the universe. x

Lecture Titles

Clone Content from Your Professor tab

What's Included

What Does Each Format Include?

Video DVD
Video Download Includes:
  • Download 36 video lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
DVD Includes:
  • 36 lectures on 6 DVDs
  • 296-page printed course guidebook
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps

What Does The Course Guidebook Include?

Video DVD
Course Guidebook Details:
  • 296-page printed course guidebook
  • Photos, illustrations, charts & diagrams
  • Math-physics appendix
  • Suggested readings

Enjoy This Course On-the-Go with Our Mobile Apps!*

  • App store App store iPhone + iPad
  • Google Play Google Play Android Devices
  • Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Tablet + Firephone
*Courses can be streamed from anywhere you have an internet connection. Standard carrier data rates may apply in areas that do not have wifi connections pursuant to your carrier contract.

Your professor

Mark Whittle

About Your Professor

Mark Whittle, Ph.D.
University of Virginia
Dr. Mark Whittle is Professor of Astronomy at the University of Virginia, where he has been teaching since 1986. He teaches on the solar system, stars, galaxies, cosmology, and observing techniques. He also gives frequent public lectures, and he is committed to community outreach on all areas of astronomy, particularly cosmology. Professor Whittle's research centers on various aspects of nuclear activity in galaxies, a...
Learn More About This Professor
Also By This Professor

Reviews

Cosmology: The History and Nature of Our Universe is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 161.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from And that's how it all began! I have always been interested in the science of Cosmology. As of now, I have only viewed a bit more than three quarters of this course and I must say that I am very impressed. I have heard some of most these topics from other sources, some parts though, I think are more complex than other producers feel capable of presenting in other programs. Professor Whittle has a very effective presentation style, he covers all the topics in a very clear concise manner. Also, his method of organization shows a comprehensible and coherent picture of an otherwise very complex topic. Actually, I would like to communicate with Professor Whittle directly. Given what I understand now, I think I could add meaningful opinions to expand and integrate a few of the subordinate topics that he describes. As is prone to happen occasionally, I inadvertently purchased this course twice! Which is actually okay, because I then gifted one set to a family member who also enjoys watching space science programming.
Date published: 2018-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb instructor and well designed course I found professor Whittle to be highly engaging, well prepared and very effective in communicating complex material. This was one of my favorite courses and I greatly enjoyed my time going through the lectures.
Date published: 2018-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thought provoking course raises more questions... The course seems really accurate until disc 6, when the logic starts to break down. I didn't get any answer to my question, "If the chart at disc 5/Title 8/3:14 is accurate the universe expanded from a diameter 1 mm to 10 Light within the first second after the Big Bang…this expansion rate appears to be 100 trillion times speed of light. How can this be considered possible?" Suppose the laws of physics hold true and what actually happens immediately after Big Bang time = "0" is that when velocity exceeds speed of light time starts to run backwards until the velocity drops below the speed of light; time reverses and moves forward...
Date published: 2018-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elite Professor Delivers Knowledge Packed Course! Cosmology: The History and Nature of the Universe, Is one of the ABSOLUTE BEST courses I have ever studied anywhere! The professor can be described no other way than Elite! Professor Mark Whittle is stunning in delivery, substance and passion. This is not an easy course, or one which a learner can listen to while driving or working out. Dr. Whittle presents very deep scientific theory and models, in addition to intense mathematical calculations that support the subject being discussed. It can be very overwhelming for a learner if not versed in higher level math. He does advise those with limited math background to just sit back and enjoy his presentation, which is flawless. I am not going to summarize his lectures but I greatly enjoyed his discussion of space acoustics, event horizons, and how the universe gets the energy to expand. This is such a thought provoking presentation I will watch it again. His discussion of the Cosmic Microwave Background was mesmerizing. I have purchased over 250 lecture courses and this is the deepest, richest, and most inspiring. Although this course is a little dated; 2008; it's foundational knowledge is breathtaking! Lecture 36, in which Dr. Whittle sums up the course and its relevance to our existence and interpretation of creation myths is inspiring. I will purchase any course Professor Whittle presents.
Date published: 2018-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful subject and Lecturer Even though this course is about 10 years old, almost all of the material is still very current and relevant. I have viewed many courses and I have to say this lecturer is superb in the clarity of his presentations, the analogies he uses and the excellence of his graphs. You do not have to be a scientist to understand or enjoy this.
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best course I ever took Professor Whittle made this so easy to understand. Great approach to a complex subject.
Date published: 2018-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you want to understand how we got here.... I'm a chemist with a background in spectroscopy. My previous knowledge of cosmology was centered around the microwave cosmic background. Wow, now I know so much more. This course is outstanding in its organization and presentation. Afraid it would be essentially non-mathematical, I found the treatment exactly to my taste; some key equations are shown and discussed but good verbal descriptions are always provided. Whittle is excellent and tells a great story. This course has made me confident about wading into other Great Courses on related topics. The bad news: Pollock, Lincoln, and Caroll deliver solid talks but they all fail to organize as well as Whittle. This is a HUGE topic that can be comprehended only via well thought out presentations that build on each other. Cosmology: The History and Nature of Our Universe is breath-taking.
Date published: 2017-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cosmology The Nature oF the Universe This course has finally made clear, all that I have ever learned about Cosmology. Prof.Whittle is a brilliant lecturer. He combines mathematics and theory, making both understandable at a intuitive gut level. I am thrilled with this course.
Date published: 2017-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Out of this Universe Great for my treadmill exercise regimen because I would often watch more than one course a day they were so interesting and engaging. Professor Whittle has a comfortable presentation style and speed that helps in comprehension of this engaging subject. As a retired trial lawyer I wish I could cross exam him on several points so that I might ferret out an even better understanding. But I do appreciate his honesty when he often admits many things are still just not known. As others have noted, some of the graphs need more time to digest/review/study and for me on the treadmill hitting the pause button did not seem practical. It also would be nice if the graphs would have been included in the guidebook notes, perhaps with more and/or different explanations. Overall this was truly a great course! Can we have an update?
Date published: 2017-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great Course! I bought this course because I had followed, through science magazines and TV documentaries, some of the research on topics such as the Big Bang, Dark Matter, and Dark Energy and I wanted to know more. I was a little skeptical about the existence of Dark Matter and Dark Energy and I wanted to know why cosmologists were so sure of their reality. I thought the course would be rather superficial, aimed at the general public. But I was delighted to find it contains an enormous amount of material in great detail. I have learned so much about so many aspects of Cosmology - and I am only halfway through the course. Already Professor Whittle has convinced me! I was very pleased to see that he does not shy away completely from a little Math - but don't let that scare you. You can ignore the mathematics if you wish without losing understanding. However, if, like me, your Math skills are adequate, the few equations give better solidity and insight. I am truly delighted to have found this gem of a course and I recommend it wholeheartedly to anyone who wants a solid understanding of the current science of Cosmology, the detailed history of the evolution of the Universe and how it functions.
Date published: 2017-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exhilarating and rewarding I am repeating the course and find it even more rewarding than the first time. The lectures are well thought out, and the themes developed in an easy flowing manner. I find myself in awe of the scientists who developed this majestic model of how we and our universe have evolved, and which Professor Whittle makes readily understandable and clear. Professor Whittle has a relaxed teaching style and his presentation is excellent ! It was well worth buying the transcript to follow up on the ideas that come to mind often hours after I have heard a lecture and clarify my understanding.. Learning has never been more fun even in my 77th year,
Date published: 2017-05-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good But Not Great The Great Courses has a lot of course offerings on astronomy and physics especially as related to the cosmos and the universe and I have taken over a dozen of them. This course has some good material but when compared with the other courses, it just does not measure up for the following reasons: 1. Too long. There is a lot of repetition in this 36-lecture course and the meaningful content could have been covered in half as many courses. 2. Too many graphs. A large portion of this course is spent on reviewing a large number of graphs and, in some cases, reviewing the same graphs multiple times. Part of one lecture is spent on how to use a web site to generate even more graphics which may be useful to college students taking cosmology courses but is probably of little value to those who are just trying to get a general understanding of the universe. 3. Too much detail. The general principles are obscured by too much detail in graphs and theory. In this course, the discussion of the timeline of the universe is spread across several lectures which makes it more difficult to get the overall sense of the timeline of the universe. In contrast, one of the latest offerings from The Great Courses is 2017 course titled “The Theory of Everything – The Quest to Explain All Reality”, the timeline of the universe is provided in one 30-minute lecture with an excellent graphic depicting the timeline since the Big Bang. In summary, while there are some gems of information in this course, they can be difficult to find especially since this course is like a Cosmology 101 for university physics undergraduates than as a general overview of cosmology for the general public. I do not recommend this course but instead recommend that you consider the other course offerings on astronomy and physics to get the desired overview information.
Date published: 2017-04-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very informative and challenging. As a non-matmetician and with a deep curiosity about science, Doctor Whittle's lectures are on a level I find thought provoking but still enjoyable. They make the topic and the information understadable. Before watching each lecture I read the appropriate chapter in the text and then reread it after which help me grasp the material. The only reservstions I have about the course are I wish there was an index in the text and a listing and definition of the symbols and constants used in the lectures, so I could have an available reference to them when I get lodt in the formulae across the material. I would not hesitate to recommend the course to any interested in Cosmology and the universe. Good course.
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite Course! I just noticed I'd failed to review Mark Whittle's course in Cosmology. I have now viewed it twice through; alone, and then with a friend. Background: I am a "moderate" user of The Great Courses, having gone through 19 of them and still owning others, which I haven't viewed. The majority have been related to modern physics and science. My mathematics background is not strong; a very poor teacher for one semester of calculus crushed my interest in pursuing higher math further. I thought I understood a fair amount about modern astrophysics until I watched this course. I was amazed to find that some things I thought I "knew" were simply incorrect, and other things I simply had no knowledge of whatsoever. Even though this course is getting a little long in the tooth I would still highly recommend it for anyone considering something along this line. If you think you might learn something, I believe you'll be very pleasantly surprised. There are, I think, only a couple areas where our understanding has advanced much since this course was released; for example the first detection of gravitational waves, and of the "Higgs boson". Both these were discussed by Mark Whittle and you can just nod your head that yes, now scientists feel they've confirmed them both. Professor Whittle is definitely a great lecturer. If you have to stare at the same lecturer for 18 hours, you are bound to notice their personal quirks; perhaps to become fixated on or annoyed at them. You'll be happy to see that he has virtually none; definitely none that I found distracting or annoying. He shows enthusiasm without gushing. He emphasizes appropriately. His pacing is perfect. He uses great visual aids to help his explanations. I noticed a couple of reviewers grumbled about the mathematics. It's true that he presents important equations now and then, which someone with a postgraduate interest in physics would find important. However you should be able to understand what he is telling you without obsessing over the meaning of the equation or your inability to grasp it. If that seems frustrating just don't LOOK at the equation--listen to what he's telling you. I've watched quite a number of lectures since this one, related to physics and astrophysics, and having watched this first was enormously helpful. All the others just built on a whole new understanding which I got from this course. My very favorite so far from The Great Courses!
Date published: 2017-03-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very interesting DVD. And do get it in DVD I really enjoyed this. The graphics are well done and make getting this in a visual format a must. Dr. Tyson has a great voice and presentation of some super information. It is presented for the general public but anyone can view and enjoy it. I gave it four stars because of him. Great though he is, he is too hyper. And his hands flipping around so much were a distraction. Excellent otherwise.
Date published: 2017-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderfully & Appropriately Focused Presentation As I contemplated retirement years ago, I was anxious that I would be so bored I would go crazy or die early. Eventually, I figured one thing I would have to do is learn new stuff. My interest in the birth, growth, and future of the universe and all its features and characteristics has been gratifyingly stimulated by the just-right level of detail here. The mix of material by an erudite and articulate lecturer with supportive graphics and illustrations has more than justified my gamble in trying this course. I without reservation recommend this for anyone who wants to start an exploration of this topic. I'm looking forward to a long retirement so I have time to take a whole bunch of related coursework.
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cosmology: History & Nature The course is a good foundation for the understanding to as many levels as ones effort persists with the follow up with topic research and rec. readings. I didn't know when purchased that it was a few years earlier than current scientific validations.
Date published: 2017-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cosmology Course content was exactly what I was looking for. I bought extra for Christmas gifts.
Date published: 2016-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceptional! I cannot praise this course enough, it is exceptional. I am an avid viewer of Great Courses videos and this one is among my favorites. The lectures require your full attention, but what a reward in knowledge. Professor Whittle makes the most arduous concepts accessible and somewhat intuitive. By providing actual measurements and observations, the math become tangible, and the whole story is confirmed.
Date published: 2016-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extraordinay Course and Superb Professor Professor Mark Whittle is superb as professor and deserves all the recognition from us. His voice is calm, warm and his talent as a lecturer hardly can be surpassed. His knowledge of the subject is deep and transmit full confidence. I always was passionate by cosmological mysteries but Professor Whittle can offer almost all the answers that the Science and scientist can offer today. As the course dated from 2008 an up date is imperative. Nobody will be dissatisfied with this purchase I can guarantee. I highly recommended the video presentation because there are many pictures, photos and diagrams that will help you to understand the Course. Congratulations, Professor Mark Whittle and The Great Courses for this opportunity.
Date published: 2016-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Needs update This lecture series is dated 2008. Cosmology is a fast moving field, and a updated set of lectures is over due. Also, you chaRGE TOO MUCH POSTAGE.
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GRAND Acoustics first: we have here a good specimen of upper-class English accent. Moreover, Prof. Whittle sounds like a narrator in an old-fashioned documentary (sort of David Attenborough?). The voice is steady, patient and warm, the style is urbane and effortless, signalling total control at all times. Still Prof. Whittle cannot really restrain his great ardour to teach us cosmology nor can he suppress that series of delightful, one thinks deeply felt, apophthegms he utters from lecture to lecture about the ways of the cosmos. It is crystal-clear that Whittle intends to maximize the information he conveys, including an adumbration of the observational techniques deployed in cosmology, while minimizing the issues he hides from the viewer lest the viewer be overwhelmed or lest the message to be transmitted to the viewer becomes too complicated. And yet I was never lost! It is also quite evident that Whittle aims to maximize the challenge for the intellect of the viewer while minimizing the confusion he might create, the loose ends he might leave, the matters which remain untouched. From my personal point of view he got the balance just right I never felt that anything in the course was incomprehensible. True I had some previous knowledge of cosmology. I have watched Prof. Wolfson’s “Physics and our Universe” (this includes lectures on virtually every type of physics, including cosmology) as well as Prof. Carroll’s “Dark Matter, Dark Energy.” Though strictly speaking Whittle’s course does not require prior knowledge of physics beyond high school (and even this is very occasionally mobilized) and certainly calculus is never used by Prof. Whittle, I think I would have found it considerably more difficult had I not watched Prof. Carroll’s DVDs about 12 months ago. One should also mention that, strictly speaking, some vestigial acquaintance with relativity theory and with particle physics, as might be acquired from the science pages of a daily newspaper, might be desirable to better follow Whittle’s lectures. Differing from Prof. Carroll, Prof. Whittle’s opts for subtlety and for somewhat indirect explanations retaining unsuppressed as many facets of complexity as possible. By design his course is intended to be more comprehensive than Carroll’s and in fact one gets the impression that Whittle’s is a rather richer course which goes relatively deeper (I cannot go beyond reporting my impressions, since I am not in the profession myself). By contrast, Carroll’s approach is direct, cutting through the detail to compile a rough simplified sketch of the issues. This too is a very useful approach, with perhaps an even greater educational value especially for absolute beginners, and indeed Carroll’s lectures constitute a very friendly intro. to cosmology. Finally, Whittle’s use of visuals is very frequent and truly inspired (far more effective than Prof. Carroll’s visuals). He includes in the course numerous, extraordinarily revealing, animations and graphics. Photographs of the sky, of stars, of nebulae and the like are not thrown at the viewer just to create some nice background but are thoroughly explained and dissected with little arrows flagging particular features in the photograph which Whittle analyzes. In conclusion, Whittle’s course is definitely FIRST CLASS.
Date published: 2016-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Greatest Story Ever Told I would recommend the course to anyone who is interested in learning, in some detail, the story science tells us about the origins, make up, and evolution of the universe. Professor Whittle has a gift for explaining the methods and reasoning used by astronomers and physicists to unravel this epic tale. He uses comparisons to scales humans can relate to convey an appreciation for cosmic distances, and similar techniques to make the information more accessible. Importantly, he explains how we know what we know. His style is soft spoken, reverent, and encouraging. I appreciate that he explains the underlying math and provides many of the important constants and equations derived to describe natural phenomena, such as cosmic expansion and the shape of the universe. But he also points out that one need not follow every detail of the mathematics in order to understand the phenomena involved in this amazing story. Before taking this course, I had no background in astronomy. After taking this course, I have a new understanding and appreciation for the general subject, but most especially for just how much the methods and technologies scientists and engineers have developed allow us to understand about the origin and evolution of the universe. One side note is that this course is dated 2008. Because astronomy, cosmology and the underlying physics are such vital fields, much has happened since then. (This was before the Higgs boson was confirmed, for example.) While this did not detract from the value of the course at all, from my view, I would urge The Great Courses to engage Dr. Whittle to update this exciting and wonderful course in the near future.
Date published: 2016-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Interesting information presented very well. Very interesting lectures, with some challenging material, but presented in a very understandable way.
Date published: 2016-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cosmology This is a fantastic course. My husband and myself have not finished it yet. There is so much we did not know & I have to say that we will have to go over it again. I would encourage anyone who want to enlarge their perspective of the universe to study this course. Religion & science are very closely related.
Date published: 2016-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Greatest Educational Experience in my Life This was the most amazing educational experience I have ever had, without exception. I'm frankly blown away at all there is to learn about modern cosmology, and about how profoundly fascinating it all is. Dr. Whittle was superb, covering just about every topic I've ever wanted to learn more about in cosmology, and more. The explanations, evidence, and history of discovery and theory offered in this course are excellent. I really can't say enough good things about it. It was the biggest eye opener of my life. I hope that everyone everywhere at some point in their lives has an educational experience like this.
Date published: 2015-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT PROGRAM This program is a very detailed and exhaustive look at the creation as well as evolution of our Universe. Professor Whittle has done an excellent job of presenting a complex subject in segments and in sequencing to make this study very understandable. As one who has developed and taught programs in the biological and health related sciences I truly appreciate the tremendous amount of effort and time he has devoted in developing this excellent program. His enthusiasm and love of the subject is obvious and maintains the entire program in an uplifting and energized state. I had completed four other courses in Astronomy prior to this one each of which had some degree of Cosmology presented. I am glad I had a general background in the subject as I felt it made this program even more meaningful and clear. It truly filled in and supplemented that material to give me an in-depth understanding of this complex subject. However, the program stands on it's own with or without an Astronomy background. He relies on the use of graphs and where necessary mathematics to illustrate various points. Math is not my strong suit but I found that I was able to appreciate what he was detailing and his appendix has excellent support material to help. But even without a strong mathematics foundation the course content is not in any way diminished. I appreciated his excellent presentation of Quantum and Sub Atomic Physics. It truly added "icing to the cake". If the student wishes to really understand the detailed nuisances of this fascinating subject they will not be disappointed with this program.
Date published: 2015-08-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Genial Guide Through Cosmic History A very good overview of "the Inflationary Hot Big Bang Theory." I appreciated Professor Whittle's ability to explain complex ideas in understandable terms. And I was particularly impressed by how fairly he presented the differing points of views around the subject of "the anthropic principle" #arguably the most philosophically divisive topic in cosmology#. One point of disturbance for me, however, was that he often seemed to discuss the topics of inflation and dark energy #at least in the early and middle lectures# as if scientific theory had pretty well figured out what their respective natures were --- which was at odds with the impression I came away with from TGC's "Dark Matter/Dark Energy" course. #It's one thing to have a general model of "vacuum energy," it's another thing to get its magnitude to match the empirical data.#
Date published: 2015-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cosmology: The History and Nature of Our Universe. Subject matter and presentation is excellent. The math in it is a little daunting at times for me, a mathematical idiot, but I get the general ideas.
Date published: 2015-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best cosmos Excellent course. Instructor holds your interest throughout and provides much detail. I still have much to learn but this sparked me to go further in my self education.
Date published: 2015-01-20
  • y_2019, m_6, d_16, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_151
  • loc_en_US, sid_1830, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 14.96ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Customers Who Bought This Course Also Bought

Buy together as a Set
and
Save Up To $0.00
Choose a Set Format
$999.90
$1,174.90