Customs of the World: Using Cultural Intelligence to Adapt, Wherever You Are

Course No. 3092
Professor David Livermore, Ph.D.
Cultural Intelligence Center
Share This Course
4.6 out of 5
65 Reviews
86% of reviewers would recommend this product
Course No. 3092
Sale
Streaming Included Free

Course Overview

You’ve heard it before: When in Rome, do as the Romans do. The concept of cultural adaptation is hardly new. But is it always the best approach? In our increasingly globalized world, the need for cross-cultural understanding has never been more essential to our success in life, both personally and professionally—yet how can we possibly adapt to all the cultures surrounding us?

Whether you are tasked with building business relationships internationally, wish to be a more respectful traveler, or simply want to be a more thoughtful, global citizen at home, developing cultural intelligence, or CQ, is paramount.

Of course, we’re not born with a high level of CQ, and a country’s customs, values, and expectations may be hidden or too subtle and bewildering to pick up on. Common sense alone isn’t enough to help us navigate the cultural differences that can lead to costly misunderstandings, tension, and embarrassment. But groundbreaking research is revealing what we can do to improve our cultural intelligence. With the right guidance, CQ is a capability anyone can develop and hone.
Improving your CQ offers a host of benefits, including

  • the ability to make cross-cultural adjustments more rapidly;
  • greater critical judgment and decision-making abilities in cross-cultural situations;
  • a higher degree of creativity and innovation when working with a multicultural team;
  • increased earning potential; and
  • a greater sense of personal well-being.

In Customs of the World: Using Cultural Intelligence to Adapt, Wherever You Are, you’ll learn both the values held by cultures around the world and how those values influence behavior so you can successfully accomplish your objectives, no matter what the cultural context. Taught by Professor David Livermore of the Cultural Intelligence Center, these 24 eye-opening lectures address dynamics and customs related to working, socializing, dining, and marriage and family—all the areas necessary to help you function with a greater level of respect and effectiveness wherever you go.

In this course, you’ll encounter practical tips and crucial context for greeting, interacting with, and even managing people from other parts of the world. But you’ll also see that being culturally intelligent doesn’t mean fully adapting to the cultural preferences of everyone you meet. In fact, sometimes it’s better not to adapt. As Professor Livermore notes, culture is like an iceberg, with only a tiny fraction of it in view. The most significant part of a culture lies invisibly beneath the surface. Failure to account for this can result in extensive damage.

A Guide to the World’s Archetypes

  • Why do people from certain cultures have little regard for time?
  • Why might working overtime reflect poorly on you in Scandinavia?
  • Why should you avoid using your left hand when interacting with someone from the Arab world?
  • Why might someone in China give you incorrect directions rather than say, “I don’t know”? 

Customs of the World illuminates how thousands of years of history and a legacy of practices passed down through generations create differences in behavior that may seem rude or strange to some and perfectly acceptable to others.

In the first half of the course, you’ll analyze 10 cultural value dimensions that researchers have identified as helpful for comparing cultures; and you’ll see how these “sophisticated stereotypes” or “archetypes” play out in day-to-day lives.

For example, you’ll explore the differences between cultures that adhere to clock time, as in the United States, and cultures that operate on event time, as in Brazil. And you’ll identify the differences between “being” cultures such as in Mexico and “doing” cultures like that of the Japanese.

Some of the other dimensions you’ll explore:

  • Individualist versus collectivist: In the United States, the will of the individual is championed, whereas in India, priority lies with the family unit.
  • High power versus low power distance: Some cultures are uncomfortable with visible inequality in power and status, while others accept it.
  • High-context versus low-context communication: Speaking bluntly is appreciated in some countries, while conversational directness is avoided at all costs in others.
  • Neutral versus affective: Many cultures, such as that of the Japanese, show minimal outward signs of emotion. Others, like Italian culture, are highly expressive. 
  • Universalist versus particularist: Some cultures believe rules should apply to everyone equally, while others think each situation and person needs to be handled uniquely.

Be More Savvy at Home and Abroad

An awareness of these cultural dimensions will guide you as you navigate real-world interactions. Your new understanding of power distance, for example, can be applied cross-culturally when

  • addressing people at various levels of status;
  • leading group discussions;
  • deciding where to sit—or seat others—at a social function;
  • interpreting the behavior of children; and
  • asking colleagues to join you for meals.

And you’ll learn a plethora of other practical tips for dealing with business associates and friends from other nations, whether on your home turf or theirs.

Span the Globe in 24 Lectures

In the second half of the course, you’ll look at 10 cultural clusters around the world. Once you combine your understanding of the 10 cultural dimensions with your knowledge of these 10 global clusters, you’ll have strategic insight into how to be more effective as you live, work, and travel in our globalized world.

From the Nordic, Germanic, and Eastern European clusters to the countries in Latin America, Confucian Asia, and Sub-Saharan Africa, you’ll traverse the continents, expanding your awareness and comprehension of people’s customs, values, aspirations, and motivations.

Discussion of each cluster concludes with “do’s and taboos” for interacting with people from those countries; however, Professor Livermore is careful to point out that cultural intelligence can’t be reduced to a simple list of do’s and don’ts. It requires a more nuanced perspective that balances an understanding of cultural norms with your knowledge of who you are, what you believe, and the particular situation and people involved. Only then can you determine how to behave in ways that are both respectful and productive.

Learn from a Sought-After International Speaker

As an adviser to leaders of Fortune 500 companies, nonprofits, and governments who has worked in more than 100 countries around the world, Professor Livermore brings an unparalleled depth of cross-cultural knowledge and sensitivity to these lectures. Insights and cautionary tales culled from his decades of travel and experiences living abroad lend a personal touch to the presentation, while detailed maps, charts, portraits, and on-screen text guide your learning.

Clear, organized, engaging, and, best of all, practical, this course is an indispensible guide for our times. So make an investment in your cultural intelligence with Customs of the World.

Hide Full Description
24 lectures
 |  Average 29 minutes each
  • 1
    Culture Matters
    What is culture? How do you know whether you can attribute a person’s behavior to culture or personality? Why are business executives increasingly paying attention to the realities of cultural differences? Start to answer these questions as you explore why virtually every aspect of our lives is shaped by culture. x
  • 2
    Developing Cultural Intelligence (CQ)
    According to research, there are recurring characteristics that exist among those who can be described as culturally intelligent. Examine these capabilities, then learn a variety of ways to enhance your own cultural intelligence. Consider the potential benefits of improving your CQ, from being a better global citizen to increasing your earning power. x
  • 3
    Identity—Individualist versus Collectivist
    Begin your exploration of the 10 cultural value dimensions most useful when comparing cultures. As you contrast individualist and collectivist societies, learn how these differences shape personal behavior and society in countries such as the United States, China, and India, then get helpful tips for working with people from each background. x
  • 4
    Authority—Low versus High Power Distance
    Power distance—the degree to which members of a society are comfortable with inequality in power, influence, and wealth—is one of the most significant value orientations that shape behavior. Identify cultures and settings with high and low power distance indexes and learn how you can use an understanding of this dynamic to avoid misunderstandings or awkward situations. x
  • 5
    Risk—Low versus High Uncertainty Avoidance
    Your tolerance for risk and the degree to which you believe people should develop contingency plans is not only a reflection of your personality, it’s also a product of your cultural background. Compare behavior between high and low uncertainty-avoidant cultures, and conclude with tips for interacting with people from both. x
  • 6
    Achievement—Cooperative versus Competitive
    The degree to which a society emphasizes the importance of nurturing, collaborative behavior over achieving results varies widely and can cause confusion, particularly for business travelers. Look at countries and personalities at each end of the cooperative-competitive spectrum, and learn why the most lively groups, organizations, and work teams include people from both orientations. x
  • 7
    Time—Punctuality versus Relationships
    There is perhaps no cultural difference that people relate to more than the stewardship of time. Learn how researchers account for these variations, and see how a culture’s tendency to be “polychronic,” or have a long-term orientation, correlates with punctuality being a low priority. Conclude with practical suggestions for dealing with people who may not share your view of time. x
  • 8
    Communication—Direct versus Indirect
    Do you appreciate people who “shoot straight” or do you find that communication style overly direct? The culture in which you were raised has a lot to do with your answer. Differentiate between high-context cultures such as that of Liberia, where much is left open to interpretation, and low-context cultures such as in Holland, where little is taken for granted. x
  • 9
    Lifestyle—Being versus Doing
    Return to the topic of how we relate to time, but shift your focus to contrasts between “being” and “doing” cultures and ways you can effectively relate to people whose orientation differs from yours. Consider how our environment shapes this value and can even create variations within a culture—as in differences between New Yorkers and Midwesterners. x
  • 10
    Rules—Particularist versus Universalist
    People in North America, western Europe, and Australia tend to be universalists who believe a singular set of rules should apply to everyone regardless of circumstances. Particularists, found in many Asian societies, Latin America, and Russia, believe each situation should be handled individually. See how these dimensions play out in daily life and learn why bribes are expected when you visit particularist countries. x
  • 11
    Expressiveness—Neutral versus Affective
    In many cultures, long pauses in conversation are uncomfortable, but in Asia—which has a “neutral” expression culture—it’s a sign of respect. Consider how expressiveness is often a product of our cultural and socioeconomic origins, then examine the concept of “face” and get tips for making someone from a face-conscious country feel comfortable. x
  • 12
    Social Norms—Tight versus Loose
    As the intermingling of cultures and religions increases globally, so too does tension in many societies. Contrast “tight” cultures, where there are rules, norms, and standards for “correct” behavior, with “loose” cultures that have greater “category width” and will tolerate a variety of viewpoints and behaviors. x
  • 13
    Roots of Cultural Differences
    Cultural value dimensions must be understood within the broader framework of cultural intelligence, or else we stereotype people. Pause at this midpoint of the course to consider deeper questions about why cultures do what they do and how far you can apply these various generalizations. Then get an introduction to the 10 global clusters that you’re about to explore in detail. x
  • 14
    Anglo Cultures
    As you begin your examination of specific locations around the world, explore the currents that flow throughout this geographically dispersed culture with historical ties to the British Empire. Consider what it means to be an “average American” and get a list of do’s and don’ts for dealing with people from the Anglo cluster. x
  • 15
    Nordic European Cultures
    In Sweden, every employee (grad students included) gets five weeks of paid vacation. Across Scandinavia, dressing prosperously is frowned upon. See how the people of Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden live life based on Jante Law—which says people shouldn’t see themselves as special or better than anyone else. x
  • 16
    Germanic Cultures
    German culture emphasizes orderliness, straightforwardness, and loyalty, so it can be easy to interpret its people’s behavior as rigid, aloof, and untrusting. Investigate the long history of the German cluster, its way of life, and what we can learn about Germany from its art, literature, and music. x
  • 17
    Eastern European/Central Asian Cultures
    Characterized by a tough tenacity forged through centuries of harsh weather, constant movement, and the dominance of other clans and empires, this diverse cluster includes countries such as Russia, Slovenia, Poland, Greece, Kazakhstan, and Albania. Take a closer look at what connects these cultures and the reasons why—despite their having a reputation for hospitality—customer service seems to have limited priority. x
  • 18
    Latin European Cultures
    Why do the French and people from the United States often seem to dislike each other? Find out in this lecture on the culture and dining customs of the Latin European cluster, which includes Italy, Portugal, France, French Switzerland, Belgium, and—although an outlier—Israel. Also get tips for handling catcalls as the locals do when you visit Italy and other countries in which such behavior is common. x
  • 19
    Latin American Cultures
    Why are you expected to provide your own nurse in some Latin American hospitals? What does it mean to be Latino? Draw distinctions between Latin America and Latin Europe as you investigate common Latin American cultural traits, including the central importance of family, adherence to Roman Catholicism, and a contagious form of optimism. x
  • 20
    Confucian Asian Cultures
    Etiquette, order, and protocol are important to Chinese, Japanese, and Korean cultures—but so is getting drunk. See why this is especially true in Chinese business culture, where relationships can make or break you, and learn the five key relationships that govern most of life in Confucian cultures. Also, look at where the custom of using chopsticks comes from. x
  • 21
    South Asian Cultures
    We often think of Asia as having a monolithic culture, but the South Asian cluster has very different characteristics and core cultural values from places such as China, Japan, and Korea. Explore the various foods, religions, languages, ethnic influences, and other aspects of countries including India, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Malaysia, Cambodia, the Philippines, Pakistan, and Afghanistan. x
  • 22
    Sub-Saharan African Cultures
    Why are Africans so religious? Why are African brides looked upon with such high regard? How big a problem is corruption in Africa, really? Get answers as you examine the diversity of Sub-Saharan Africa’s customs, religious and tribal traditions, and lifestyles, as well as its unifying history of colonization and slavery. x
  • 23
    Arab Cultures
    The news often depicts the Arab world as a place filled with conflict and unrest—but is that an accurate portrayal? Learn the Five Pillars of Islam, why you must avoid using your left hand when interacting with others, what it means to be an Arab, and more in this lecture that clears up misperceptions frequently associated with Arabic culture. x
  • 24
    Cultural Intelligence for Life
    Using the hypothetical situation of traveling to Southeast Asia, learn CQ strategies that help you prepare for and make the most of your trip, whether your destination is in that part of the world or elsewhere. Also, get tips for avoiding jet lag and quickly identifying where the place you’ll be visiting falls within each cultural value dimension. x

Lecture Titles

Clone Content from Your Professor tab

What's Included

What Does Each Format Include?

Video DVD
Instant Video Includes:
  • Download 24 video lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
DVD Includes:
  • 24 lectures on 4 DVDs
  • 168-page printed course guidebook
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps

What Does The Course Guidebook Include?

Video DVD
Course Guidebook Details:
  • 168-page printed course guidebook
  • Photographs
  • Suggested readings
  • Questions to consider

Enjoy This Course On-the-Go with Our Mobile Apps!*

  • App store App store iPhone + iPad
  • Google Play Google Play Android Devices
  • Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Tablet + Firephone
*Courses can be streamed from anywhere you have an internet connection. Standard carrier data rates may apply in areas that do not have wifi connections pursuant to your carrier contract.

Your professor

David Livermore

About Your Professor

David Livermore, Ph.D.
Cultural Intelligence Center
Dr. David Livermore is president and partner at the Cultural Intelligence Center in East Lansing, Michigan, and a Visiting Scholar at Nanyang Technological University in Singapore. Before leading the Cultural Intelligence Center, he spent 20 years in leadership positions with a variety of nonprofit organizations around the world and taught at several universities. Professor Livermore completed his Ph.D. at Michigan State...
Learn More About This Professor
Also By This Professor

Reviews

Customs of the World: Using Cultural Intelligence to Adapt, Wherever You Are is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 65.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great course! This course is full of insightful information. I strongly recommend it!
Date published: 2018-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enlightening course This course introduces the student to the basics of what he or she needs to know to interact effectively with people from different cultures. It is very useful knowledge to have, whether you are travelling abroad or interacting with people in your own neighbourhood. The course gives the student a vocabulary by which to quickly assess the differences among his culture and that of others. Communication and understanding of others is enhanced through the knowledge conveyed by Professor Livermore. The examples of the interpretation of the parable of the Prodigal Son by pastors from different nationalities and the example about the well to make life easier for the women of a village were/are of particular interest and surprise to me. Those two examples encapsulate for me the value of cultural knowledge. This course is a worthwhile investment of time and money. It is a rich source of knowledge for personal development and mental acuity.
Date published: 2018-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This appears initially for business travelers but should apply to all. Outstanding insight to understanding how different people react in social settings based on their background and culture. It helps to develop tolerance and appreciation for different backgrounds and cultures.
Date published: 2018-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Research based information I am very pleased with how organized, well-thought out and well researched this course is. Plus, the emphasis that cultural intelligence is something one learns, not necessarily something you have a natural ability for.
Date published: 2017-11-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lesson of the day If i wrote a review it would be highly critical but someone has done a good job already. My lesson of the day is look what happens when different people look at the same thing.... I found this course unwatchable no matter how I tried to "get into it."
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent information is disbursed in the lectures; presented in a format that keeps you attentive.
Date published: 2017-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great information It has practical advise and great examples of how to understand and work with people from different cultures.
Date published: 2017-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this series. Gave my sister a copy for her birthday.
Date published: 2017-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Course for Everyone This course was a delight from beginning to end. Very well organized and presented, and the material is something everyone can relate to and use to enhance their participation in just about any social interaction. I would recommend it to anyone, because I think it makes a valuable contribution to our understanding of what it means to be human.
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Course As a long-term, satisfied customer of The Great Courses (20 + years, 220 + courses), I am very confident to recommend "Customs of the World" to a wide learning audience. My grade of a "5" is based upon the following criteria: Speaking style--(1 pt): Dr. Livermore has a very articulate, engaging speaking style which easily holds the listener's attention. I was able to watch back-back-back episodes without experiencing any listener fatigue. Content--(1 pt): Although 24 lectures is only enough to scratch the surface of explaining all the various cultures of the world, all of the basics were presented. Organization of the material--(1 pt): The first half of the course presents 10 cultural dimensions, the second half of the course applies these dimensions to particular cultural groups. By presenting the material in a logical, organized fashion, it is obvious that Dr. Livermore is a seasoned educator. Success in meeting the objectives of the course--(1 pt): Given the time constraints, I think anyone but the most hyper-critical viewer will come away feeling like they learned a lot. The potential target audience of this course ranges from high school students to old folks who are considering traveling abroad. Intangibles--(1 pt): Dr. Livermore projects an excitement for learning about other cultures which is infectious. He does a very good job in presenting the features of the various cultures in a diplomatic, non-judgmental way. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2017-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my all time favourite Great Course As a frequent traveller, I loved this course and would rate it one of the best and most interesting.
Date published: 2016-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An excellent introduction to Cultural Intelligence The next perspective shift from Emotional Intelligence, and an eye opening course! Highly recommended.
Date published: 2016-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Informative This course presented so many examples of how customs from different cultures of the world affect us when traveling to different countries or even here in the United States. Actually, this course helps one understand other countries cultures and attitudes even if you don't plan on traveling. Highly recommend it.
Date published: 2016-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comprehensive, Insightful, and Practical For the first couple of lectures I wondered if this guy wasn’t just too slick, his presentation too smooth, as if this was to be a canned, Madison-Avenue sort of course aimed at corporate CEOs and government bigwigs. However, it soon became clear that Livermore was a real pro, used to presenting this material to those audiences but also a rigorous scholar with academic as well as extensive pragmatic expertise. The course’s content was unique, comprehensive, and practical. He first took us through 10 different cultural axes, or dimensions, by which different cultures or groups can be assessed (individualist vs collectivist, cooperative vs competitive, being vs doing, particularist vs universalist, etc). He then examined the world’s 10 main cultural clusters (Anglo, Germanic, Latin European, South Asian, etc), including how they placed along each of the 10 axes and how to act when in, and deal with people from, those cultures. That his take on all this was “right on” was illustrated by the interactions I’ve had with friends and professional colleagues from nearly every one of the 10 culture groups. This material would have been exceedingly helpful to me 30 years ago; as it was it was extremely self-validating in thinking about my experiences.
Date published: 2016-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tremendously helpful in an academic environment I tremendously appreciated this series. I teach and mentor students in scientific research coming from diverse places around the globe. I have lived in Africa and Europe for some time but not in other areas of the globe. This series helped me to understand better, to be more patient with, and to be more creative in encouraging, students and colleagues from all areas, and it was especially helpful for those areas such as Asia for which I had very limited exposure. I appreciate the reviews that have caught and corrected a limited number of errors; however, rather than making me want to abandon the series, these small number of errors help me to feel that I am in the right place. For me, cross cultural interaction (and good teaching!) has never been flawless, but where the bulk of the effort is very strong, and accompanied by a commitment to continually deepening wisdom and learning; the small number of errors are easily navigated, and the adventure is well worth the trip. A huge thank you to David Livermore for insights that are helping me to work more effectively across cultures.
Date published: 2016-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Overview of Our Diverse World Professor Livermore models how to approach, engage in, and appreciate other cultures. Surely he increases good will for the United States wherever he travels abroad. The second half of the course is more engaging than the first, but is all the better for the initial groundwork. It may take a few lectures to fully appreciate the Professor's skill in organizing this course. The Professor makes effective use of examples and his own experiences to enhance and enliven his presentation. The visuals contribute to the enjoyment and understanding of the presentation. Professor Livermore retains his enthusiasm throughout the course and is a polished lecturer. When preparing a new edition, Professor Livermore might consider recommending additional novels and movies for the various cultures.
Date published: 2016-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tops This is the 35th Great Course I've listened to but only the second one I would view as complete enough to rate it five stars. This course provides excellent insight into the various dimensions that help explain a populations’ customs, views, and culture. This pursuit can truly provide practical application in helping one avoid misunderstandings between cultures. The professor also discusses the values and customs of 10 global cultural clusters including how they score on the dimensions discussed. Pluses of the course: 1- Engaging discussion on 10 cultural value dimensions: Identity – Individualist vs. Collectivist (degree to which personal identity is defined in terms of personal, individual characteristics---emphasis on individual goals and individual rights---vs. group, collective characteristics---emphasis on group goals and personal relationships) Authority – Low Power Context vs. High Power Context (the amount of hierarchy and inequality that is assumed to be appropriate and normal within a society: emphasis on equality, shared decision-making, and informality between bosses and subordinates vs. emphasis on differences in status and superiors make decisions) Risk – High Uncertainty Avoidance vs. Low Uncertainty Avoidance (the degree to which most people within a culture tolerate risk and feel threatened by uncertain, ambiguous circumstances: emphasis on planning and predictability---perhaps resulting in precise operating procedures/rules to avoid the unexpected and unknown situations---emphasis on adaptability and flexibility---perhaps less structure and routine in how life is organized) Achievement – Competitive vs. Cooperative (oriented on achievement, success, and results vs. placing a priority on nurturing, supportive relationships and collaboration) Time – Punctuality vs. Relationships (belief that individuals control their circumstances and that schedules and deadlines can always be met because except in rare circumstances vs. believing times are set not to be exact start/end times but as approximate flexible guidelines affected by life’s unpredictable circumstances) Communication – Direct vs. Indirect (directly and clearly say what you mean and mean what you say vs. depending much more heavily on implied meaning and assuming that the listener will pick up in between the lines such as tone) Lifestyle – Doing vs. Being (Should time be spent primarily on being busy/meeting goals/being productive or is it more liberally dispersed across various obligations in life?) Rules – Universalist vs. Particularist (a singular set of rules and policies should be applied to everyone vs. belief that each situation and relationship should be handled separately) Expressiveness – Neutral vs. Affectionate (control of feelings, using reason to influence actions, and not revealing what you are thinking or feeling vs. believing emotions should be used in making decisions and displaying them openly) Social Norms – Loose vs. Tight (how strong social norms are within a culture and how much tolerance there is for deviance from those norms; such as having acceptance for a diversity of perspectives vs. a very prescriptive approach to how people should behave) 2- Commonalities between the dimensions (for example Punctuality Time is usually found in Competitive Achievement cultures and Direct Communication is usually found in cultures where a Doing Lifestyle is prevalent) 3- Discussion on the 10 global cultural clusters: Anglo- Australia, Canada, Ireland, New Zealand, United Kingdom, United States Nordic- Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden Germanic- Austria, Germany, Netherlands, Switzerland (German-speaking) Eastern Europe/Central Asia- Greece, Hungary, Mongolia, Poland, Romania, Russia Latin Europe- France, Italy, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland (French-speaking) Latin America- Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Mexico Confucian Asia- China, Japan, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan South Asia- Afghanistan, Cambodia, India, Indonesia, Pakistan, Philippines, Thailand, Vietnam Sub-Sahara Africa- Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria Arab- Egypt, Jordan, Lebanon, Morocco, Saudi Arabia, Syria, United Arab Emirates 4- Discussion on the do’s and taboos when visiting each region and the cultural value dimensions most identifiable/dominant with each global cluster 5- The professor had an easy to listen to presentation style Very minor minuses of the course: - The professor explicitly mentioned the need to distinguish between a behavior by an individual being related to their culture in general or may just be a personality trait but practical advice on how to do so seemed to be lacking (unless if the assumption is knowing how global clusters score on the 10 cultural dimensions) - During the lectures on the global clusters the professor mentioned how each cluster scored for some of the 10 cultural dimensions but did not cover all of them All in all this is in the "tops" category. A very good experience and helpful guide interacting with various cultures in today's globalized world.
Date published: 2016-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the most important courses you will ever take Simply said, David Livermore presents the emotional intelligence side of being a global citizen. The background of different cultures and their norms is backed up by about a 10 lecture on different aspects of cultural variation. Not only was it engaging and interested for this not-so-well-traveled person, the information had immediate application is day to day interaction with individuals. This course is a giant among peers.
Date published: 2016-02-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The value of Livermore's course is that it puts us up to speed on what sociologists/anthropologists have been thinking about cultural differences in this increasingly globalized world. He gives us an excellent set of criteria to interpret culture-based values and behaviours. These include such polarities as individualist vs. collectivist cultures, low vs. high value distance, being vs. doing, neutral vs. affective, tight vs. loose, etc. (I actually typed them up and pinned the printout on my bulletin board, I find them so pertinent.) I found Livermore pleasant, breezy, his anecdotes always entertaining, and the visuals relevant to the presentation. Of course, any such survey is going to repose rather much in generality. Other reviews point out how Livermore glosses over some extremely sensitive issues, and may even get certain cultures quite wrong. Nevertheless, I greatly enjoyed this course -- it was one I was compelled to watch in quick order -- and its the benefits have been both highly memorable and permanent. Would recommend this course to anyone.
Date published: 2016-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent course on cultural comparison Professor Livermore's course is an overview of the aspects of cultural dimensions that generally can be used to describe the patterns in human diversity, as well as some insights into the major cultural groups of the world. The main idea I want to put out here is that the reviewers who complain about Livermore somehow perpetuating stereotypes are missing the major point; one which Livermore himself hits upon: while not every individual of a race or group can ever be lumped into one category, it is a fact of life and history that there are cultural patterns resulting from societal evolution that can GENERALLY be accepted. And the discerning learner can take those to heart for future interaction with other cultures, so long as s/he doesn't take them as gospel truth. It's as simple as that. If you've ever wondered why many of your Brazilian or African or Chinese acquaintances in your life seem to share certain tendencies and penchants, this course will help explain that. And even further, Livermore does not declare one better than the other; he incites the viewer to understand and respect others. I do have to admit I agree that Prof. Livermore might have been a bit nuts to lump everything from Greece to Mongolia into one cultural grouping! If he were to revise the course in the future, I'd suggest renaming "Latin European" as "Southern and Mediterranean European" to include Portugal, Spain, France, Italy, Greece, Israel (his inclusion of Israel here is sound because of its complex history) and Turkey. The other could be "Central Asia and Eastern Europe."
Date published: 2016-01-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Lack of tact and knowledge about Eastern Europe In overall I appreciate very much the quality of this Course of the TC (I'm an owner of more than 300 Courses and saw so far more than 1100 lectures) given the fact that this is not an easy topic to present in tactful manner as far as any mishaps could "ignite" inconvenient sensitivities of the peoples or even the nations. Yet the course contains, in my view, one unfortunate exception - the lecture No. 17 concerning "the Eastern Europe". It would be hard to believe even to the layman how little similarities could share the cradle of Modern Civilisation Greece, the Old Hanseatic league territories in the Baltic Estonia and Latvia, the components of the Austro-Hungarian Empire which today comprise, among others, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Slovenia or remnants of the Commonwealth of Poland and Lithuania - the biggest commonwealth for five long centuries during the Middle ages in Europe, stretching from the Baltic to the Black sea, on one hand, and Russia, Kazakhstan and Mongolia, last being good examples for nomadic cultures, on other hand. Yet, instead of hearing about, for example, famous Poles, like Copernicus, Chopin, John Paul II, Ben-Gurion, Latvians like Mark Rothko or Isaiah Berlin or Czech Dvorak (like we did about the Cultural Ambassadors of the Germanic part of Europe), we hear the steady flow of misleading keywords, like "Mongolia", "nomadic" and "Marjoshka", thus instilling to student the sense of backwardness of the Eastern Europe and lack of civilised modernity. In fact, in this lecture no. 17 we can see disaster in attempt to teach the Cultural Intelligence while in fact reinforcing the old stigmas of the Eastern Europe which were, ironically, one of the political tasks assumed by the Great European Empires since division of the Commonwealth of Poland and Lithuania in 18th Century (please, see the lecture 4 "The Great Crimes of Empires" of the TC Course "A History of Eastern Europe" by Professor V.G.Liulevicius). I hope seeing in the future the courses relating to this dynamic part of the Europe with improved academic quality and deeper insight into Cultural Intelligence.
Date published: 2016-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! This is the most relevant material that you could EVER review before a trip abroad. I purchased it before my first mission trip to Haiti and ended up teaching the others in my group the things I had learned from Dr. Livermore's lectures. In the future I would love to see additional courses from The Great Courses and Dr. Livermore on travel and cultural intelligence.
Date published: 2015-10-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mis-representation of women's lives in Africa I enjoyed this course, except for one, to my knowledge, inaccurate description -- the procedure done to women throughout Africa -- that is so completely different from the many articles and books I have read, that at first I was shocked, and then later, thinking that David Livermore must have also read at least some of these same current newsreports, began to wonder if this was a deliberate distortion of what must be the most barbaric practice in the world in order to gain favor with African businessmen. Mr. Livermore states that young girls attend "circumcision schools" where other women teach them what is involved in marriage and where "clitoredectomies are performed." The girls learn that "[physical relations between husband and wife] is meant to provide children for the family and village; it is not for pleasure." To demonstrate how very inaccurate Mr. Livermore's statements are, let me quote from the book "desert flower" by Waris Dirie (published by William Morrow, NY, copyright 1998. This is upsetting and gruesome reading, but Mr. Livermore's papering over African societies' insistence on mutilating its women must be corrected. Ms. Dirie describes her personal experience of undergoing genital mutilation, certainly a much more accurately descriptive term than Mr. Livermore's clinical-sounding "clitoredectomy": Ms. Dirie writes that she thinks of the woman performing the procedure in her village as "the Killer Woman because of all the little girls who have died at her hand." The woman used "a broken razor blade," with "dried blood on the jagged edge" which she "spat on and wiped against her dress." Ms. Dirie continues: "The next thing I felt was my flesh, my [noun is deleted as The Teaching Company deems these parts of the female body as "profanity"] being cut away. I heard the sound of the dull blade sawing back and forth through my skin." Then the woman used "thorns from an acacia tree" "to puncture holes in my skin, then poked a strong white thread through the holes to sew me up. My legs were completely numb, but the pain between them was so intense that I wished I would die." And then, "my legs had been tied together with strips of cloth binding me from my ankles to my hips so I couldn't move." It gets much worse for her, not only during the weeks her cut body stops bleeding. Pain and medical complications continue for her entire life. But I have quoted more than enough, I think, to prove the barbarity of what Mr. Livermore so inaccurately glosses over. Although Mr. Dirie suffered this mutilation a few decades ago, from everything I continue to read to this day, genital mutilation is still done to young girls all throughout Africa, whether in cities, villages or tribal areas. it is even secretly done in this country, despite US laws prohibiting this, among African immigrant families. I do hope Mr. Livermore re-dictates that section of his course; genital mutilation has absolutely nothing to do with Africans' considering "the family unit of the utmost importance," but rather, has everything to do with depriving femaies in the most horribly inhuman way possible of their humanity, their health, and so many of the joys that can be found in simply being alive.
Date published: 2015-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best course so far! I find this subject fascinating and I found the information VERY helpful with my career at my current employer. We are growing internationally and understanding a little about the countries we are looking at for acquisitions is very useful! I have just shared this course with our VP of HR since I think it will be of help to him as well as our company continues to grow. I found it helpful to understand the different perspectives in different cultures in the key areas covered. Defining and pinpointing some of these differences helps expand understanding of what other people in different cultures value and the reasons for the differences in behavior. I really enjoyed the speaker and I loved how the course was broken out. The first half explained the 10 different primary sets of characteristics seen in different cultures. The second half of the course then put them together and applied them to the various groups of countries. I would have loved for the course to be even longer in order to dive into more detail in those areas. I listened to the course on CDs during my work commute and I felt I didn't miss anything by not having the DVD version.
Date published: 2015-06-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Superficial and Laden with Corporate Speak This was one of the most disappointing TC courses I have ever encountered. Its 12 hours could be easily boiled down to half an hour of tips and pointers for short-term business trips. Not only that, but many of his 'insights' are just plain strange. Like "Don't expect an invitation to someone's home in France. That's only reserved for the most intimate friendships." I'm sorry, but I think that must have just been a personal experience. When I lived in France, we were always being invited to homes for dinner, it generally being much preferred to going to a restaurant as we could sit for hours after dinner to talk. Also, the "cultural clusters" he organized are bizarre in the extreme and evidence a lack of deep understanding of any one particular culture. For example, to put Russia in the same category as Greece and Mongolia is laughable. Finally, his propensity to tell anecdotes to try to bring home a point only succeeds in revealing his own ignorance and naivety. Like the story of the Ukrainian family that kept a stick of deodorant another American had left behind at their home on display on a bookshelf. He claims that it evidenced the "Eastern European's" bemusement at the American obsession with getting rid of body odor. I hate to break it to you, but whoever this family was was just plain provincial. When I studied in Russia I met some smelly people too, but hey, it was the 90s, most people were still very poor, and they were just coming out of the consumer-goods-starved Soviet period. Of course they were going to find deodorant a strange American luxury. They also found credit cards strange at first, or the idea of sitting in a cafe for a long time to chat with friends or read. But go back to the former Soviet countries today, and all of that has changed. In short, this course is not just a waste of time, it's potentially harmful. Just try to reveal your understanding of French or Spanish culture by relating it back to the experience of living under the Roman emperors, or use the matryoshka doll to make an analogy to Russian culture, and see if people from these "clusters" will be able to keep a straight face. This is the one course where I am certain that even I would have done a much better job with than this professor.
Date published: 2015-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent perspectives Professor Livermore presents interesting anecdotes, enlightening perspectives, and useful tips and traps to remember when interacting with other cultures. I have tried to find experimental evidence for this field and failed, though clearly some bits and pieces have been established through experiment. So I suppose you should take it as accumulated wisdom from the experts, not as established fact.
Date published: 2015-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent This course was informative & entertaining, even for well travelled persons such as ourselves. My wife & I performed teaching in Asia & Africa & South America, yet we found new information & insights presented in this course.
Date published: 2015-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really good buy. I participated in a global initiatives class, which included cultural communications. The content in this program paralleled many aspects we were discussing and covering in the course curriculum. Students were required to compose an essay at the conclusion of the semester and this program was a viable reference for the context of my script. Many of the components in this program were on point.
Date published: 2015-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This course is more than worth the price I highly recommend this course for everybody. I found that this course broke thru some prejudices and stereotypes I wasn't even aware of! When around people of a different culture I used to subconsciously think that they'd sooner or later become like "Americans" as if that was their goal. Now I can accept others behaviors without having to change them in any way. I believe that if everyone could take this course, the degree of prejudice in the US would go way down! I've already loaned it to a couple of friends who were interested when I mentioned it to them. I really liked how the instructor broke types of cultures into the many categories and compared the differences between them. That made it easy to follow and grasp. I wrote down the types and often carry it with me to remind myself of which differences I may encounter as I go about my day, and to remind me not to return to judging others because of their cultures are different.
Date published: 2015-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best courses I've taken I have extensive international sales experience and have done business around the world and still found this course to be thoroughly enlightening, entertaining and very well structured. The framework for the course is superb and application of the concepts established in the first part of the course to each culture cluster in the second part has transformed my approach with dealing and working with different cultures. I will certainly apply the concepts learned moving forward. Professor Livermore is an excellent lecturer and I would welcome taking more of his courses in the future.
Date published: 2015-02-24
  • y_2019, m_11, d_7, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_63
  • loc_en_US, sid_3092, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 72.13ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Customers Who Bought This Course Also Bought

Buy together as a Set
and
Save Up To $10.00
Choose a Set Format
$57.90
$79.90
$379.90