Economics, 3rd Edition

Course No. 550
Professor Timothy Taylor, M.Econ.
Macalester College
Share This Course
4.6 out of 5
123 Reviews
82% of reviewers would recommend this product
Course No. 550
Sale
Streaming Included Free

Course Overview

We are all economists—when we work, buy, save, invest, pay taxes, and vote. It repays us many times over to be good economists. Economic issues are active in our lives every day. However, when the subject of economics comes up in conversation or on the news, we can find ourselves longing for a more sophisticated understanding of the fundamentals of economics.

  • How can I get an overview of the entire U.S. economy?
  • Why do budget deficits matter?
  • What exactly does the Federal Reserve do?
  • Why do most economists favor international trade so strongly?

Economics, 3rd Edition, will help you think about and discuss these and other economic issues that affect you and the nation every day—interest rates, unemployment, personal investing, budget deficits, globalization, and many more—with a greater level of knowledge and sophistication.

Designed for those who haven't already purchased our 2nd Edition economics course, this enlarged and reorganized 3rd Edition includes updated statistics and discussions of more recent events. It also features expanded coverage in areas of great public interest, such as anti-trust issues, corporate responsibility, and international financial crashes.

Master the Basics of Economics

These lectures require no special or advanced knowledge of mathematics. Instead, you will learn economics through intuitive explanations and in plain English, from an instructor who has won teaching awards at Stanford and the University of Minnesota.

Professor Timothy Taylor's first 18 lectures focus on "microeconomics," or looking at economics "from the bottom up." You will study the behavior of individuals, households, and firms; and how they interact in markets for goods, labor, and saving and investment. Topics in microeconomics include:

  • How does supply and demand operate in the free market to determine the prices of the goods we buy and the salaries we are paid?
  • How are interest rates determined? And what effects do they have on so many decisions we make—such as what house we will buy?
  • How do businesses compete with one another? What is a natural monopoly? What role does government have to play in encouraging and regulating competition?
  • Defining "public goods"—things like national defense and education—that we all benefit from whether we contribute to them or not. The difficulty of encouraging citizens to support production of public goods can be understood through a game theory problem known as the prisoner's dilemma.

The second half of the course covers "macroeconomics," or studying the economy "from the top down."Here you will examine the factors that help economists evaluate the economy on a national and global scale. Among these macroeconomic issues are:

  • Common ways the government taxes and spends, and how these actions affect the total demand and supply in our economy
  • The relationship between employment and inflation, and the different perspectives on this problem advanced by the two main schools of economic theory—the Keynesians and the neoclassicists
  • International economics: What are the arguments for and against international trade? How are exchange rates determined and what do they really mean to us as individuals and the economy in general? What are the future prospects for the global economy—which nations are likely to do well and which will lag behind?

Throughout this course, Professor Taylor helps you apply what you are learning to many of today's most frequently discussed and misunderstood issues. Has the world economy become truly borderless, and does globalization take jobs away from American workers? Why do markets for car and health insurance often seem so costly and controversial? What are our prospects for heading off the Social Security and healthcare crises that loom in the coming decades?

Learn to Think Like an Economist

One of the 20th century's top economists, John Maynard Keynes, once said, "Economics is a method rather than a doctrine, an apparatus of the mind, a technique of thinking which helps its possessor to draw correct conclusions."

You will learn that economics is essentially a way of thinking about big problems that face our society, and that economists sometimes think very differently about these issues than the rest of us do. You will practice thinking like an economist about a succession of topics that are in the news virtually every day, such as:

  • Is it realistic to view pollution as a moral wrong, as some environmentalists do, and try to eliminate it completely? Or can pollution actually have benefits? What would we have to give up if we tried to totally eradicate pollution?
  • How should the government decide whether or not to block a proposed corporate merger?
  • Should we control rents so that people can afford housing? Or should government subsidize low-income housing, or offer families rent vouchers? Which strategy would an economist favor? Which would a politician most likely choose?

In these lectures, you will appreciate the difficulties involved in formulating economic policies that are both effective and satisfying to everyone—consumers and businesses, Republicans and Democrats, rich and poor.

Economics Everywhere: From Cowrie Shells to Edison, from Mohair to Mickey Mouse

Economics isn't just about numbers: It's about politics, psychology, history, inventions, and countless other aspects of human endeavor. As a result, it never lacks for interesting, surprising, or amusing content. The following are a few of many examples:

  • Thomas Edison's first invention was an automatic vote-counting machine. But he found he couldn't sell it, so he vowed only to make inventions people would buy.
  • The idea of using a "basket of goods" to measure inflation goes back a long time. During the Revolutionary War, Massachusetts paid its soldiers the amount of money that would buy the following basket of goods: 5 bushels of corn, 68 and four-sevenths pounds of beef, 10 pounds of wood, and 16 pounds of leather.
  • The first federal minimum wage law, passed in 1938, was intended to keep jobs in northern United States from flowing to the south, where wages were much lower. It intentionally put millions of low-skilled black workers in the south out of work.
  • The item that served as money over the broadest geographic area and the longest period of time was the cowrie shell. It was in use as early as 700 B.C. in China and was subsequently used in India, Africa, and southern Europe. It was an acceptable way to pay taxes in some African nations well into the 20th century.
  • The argument that a product should be protected against foreign imports because it is vital to national security is often abused. In the 1950s, the American mohair industry successfully argued for protection—which exists to this day—on the basis that military uniforms contained mohair and without support for the industry American soldiers risked going to battle naked.

In other lectures, you will learn how various ways to measure and analyze the economy were first developed—for example, how America's first statistical definition of poverty was formulated by one person, Social Security Administration employee Mollie Orshansky, in the 1960s. Professor Taylor takes you through the intricacies of patents, copyrights, and product advertising, with examples ranging from America's top corporations to Sonny Bono and Mickey Mouse. You will even see that economic analysis can be applied to behavior that doesn't seem related to economics at all, such as why so many Americans don't vote.

Be an Economics Conversation Starter. Or Stopper.

If you complete this course and devote some thought to its subject matter, you'll be able to hold your own any time the discussion turns to economics, whether it's at your office, in the news, or at the dinner table.

If you hear someone say, for example, "A tax on gas could be a good way of encouraging people to drive less," you'll be able to add, knowingly, "Perhaps, but of course, it all depends on the elasticity of demand for gasoline."

"I should warn you though," Professor Taylor says, from personal experience, "that comments like this can either lead to a really much more intelligent and informed conversation, or they can lead the conversation to an abrupt and uncomfortable halt."

Please note:

This course is not intended to provide financial or investment advice. All investments involve risk: Past performance does not guarantee future success. You acknowledge that any reliance on any information from the materials contained in this course shall be at your own risk.

Hide Full Description
36 lectures
 |  Average 30 minutes each
  • 1
    How Economists Think
    This lecture identifies ways in which economists think differently about human motivations, tradeoffs, and the workings of markets. It also introduces a number of terms: microeconomics, macroeconomics, opportunity cost, marginal analysis, and more. x
  • 2
    Division of Labor
    The division of labor means that almost no one produces all or most of what they consume. Since Adam Smith over 200 years ago, economists have explained how the combination of a division of labor and exchange of goods and services increases productivity. x
  • 3
    Supply and Demand
    Any market involves both buyers, or "demand;" and sellers, or "supply." The supply and demand framework predicts that markets will tend toward an equilibrium price, where the quantity supplied and the quantity demanded are equal. x
  • 4
    Price Floors and Ceilings
    Price floors, such as government support for farmers, set price minimums, while price ceilings, like rent control, set a maximum price. Both can hold prices away from equilibrium, and make demand unequal to supply. Price regulations impose costs on consumers or producers, and create inefficiency. x
  • 5
    Elasticity
    Demand for orange juice is elastic—when its price rises, consumers can switch to other juices. Demand for gasoline is inelastic—when its price rises, drivers can't switch to other fuels. Elasticity is useful in evaluating how public policies will work. x
  • 6
    The Labor Market and Wages
    In the labor market, individuals are the suppliers, businesses are the demanders, and wages are the price. This lecture examines labor markets by discussing some prominent issues, like the minimum wage and how payroll taxes for Social Security affect wages. x
  • 7
    Financial Markets and Rates of Return
    There is a longstanding prejudice against capital markets in western culture—after all, charging interest used to be considered a sin of usury. This lecture focuses on the demand side of the capital markets, or primarily the demand for financial capital from businesses that seek to invest in plants and equipment. x
  • 8
    Personal Investing
    The supply side of the capital market is an ornate name for a more basic question: How can I get rich through financial investments? While this course is not intended to provide financial or investment advice, this lecture looks at the four major investment concerns—return, risk, liquidity, and tax status—and then considers a range of investments, and their tradeoffs. x
  • 9
    From Perfect Competition to Monopoly
    Competition between firms falls into four categories: perfect competition, monopolistic competition, oligopoly, and monopoly. This lecture discusses these paradigms, and describes how prices, output, and profits are likely to differ in each. x
  • 10
    Antitrust and Competition Policy
    Antitrust refers to government policies to prevent monopoly and encourage competition. They include blocking proposed mergers between firms; forcing firms to change unfair practices; and in some cases (like AT&T in 1984) requiring large firms to be split into smaller ones. x
  • 11
    Regulation and Deregulation
    In some industries—like airlines, banking, and electricity—government has sought to regulate prices charged and/or quantities produced. This lecture discusses the situations when government regulation works best, and when it does not. x
  • 12
    Negative Externalities and the Environment
    "Negative externalities" are situations in which the buying and selling of goods creates consequences—like pollution—felt by third parties who are not part of the original transaction. Regulation can be inflexible and costly. Economists have instead proposed market-oriented policies. x
  • 13
    Positive Externalities and Technology
    The market can produce too few "positive externalities": good things like scientific research, innovation, and education. Policy solutions for this situation include patents, copyrights, direct government support, and tax credits to industry. x
  • 14
    Public Goods
    Public goods, like national defense or basic scientific research, are "nonexcludable" and "nondepletable." Potential sellers cannot exclude people from using them, and they are not used up as more people use them. Markets often do a poor job of producing public goods, so there is a case for government action. x
  • 15
    Poverty and Welfare Programs
    Economists have preferred anti-poverty strategies that favor cash and wage subsidies over trying to set prices low or wages high for the poor. However, recent welfare reform emphasizes another feature—that people take jobs as soon as possible. x
  • 16
    Inequality
    Inequality is the gap between those with high incomes and those with low incomes. Since the late 1970s, inequality has increased in the United States. This lecture discusses the possible causes, whether some government response is appropriate and, if so, what kind. x
  • 17
    Imperfect Information and Insurance
    Imperfect information, such as how much to charge for auto insurance when information about the risks of auto accident is imperfect, can raise havoc with markets. It raises two issues—moral hazard and adverse selection—that are fundamental to arguments over health insurance in the United States. x
  • 18
    Corporate and Political Governance
    Shareholders may have trouble constraining the actions of top corporate managers and voters can have difficulty controlling politicians' actions. So skepticism is warranted about whether firms will seek efficient production, or whether politicians will act in society's best interest. x
  • 19
    Macroeconomics and GDP
    Macroeconomics has four policy goals—economic growth, low unemployment, low inflation, and sustainable trade deficits—and two main tools: federal budget policy and monetary policies of the Federal Reserve. Gross domestic product (GDP) is the standard measure of a nation's economy. x
  • 20
    Economic Growth
    In the long run, the rate of economic growth is by far the most important factor in determining the average standard of living. The key factors behind economic growth are increases in physical capital, human capital, and technology, all of which depend upon a supportive market environment. x
  • 21
    Unemployment
    The economist's view of unemployment focuses on why supply and demand in the labor market are producing unemployment. The underlying causes of unemployment can be split into two broad categories: cyclical unemployment, and the structural or natural rate of unemployment. x
  • 22
    Inflation
    Inflation is an overall sustained increase in the level of prices. The inflation rate is determined by defining a basket of goods, and then tracking how the cost of that basket changes over time. Mild inflation is not a great policy concern, but higher levels can cause problems. x
  • 23
    The Balance of Trade
    The trade deficit is perhaps the most misunderstood statistic in all of economics. The United States ran extremely large trade deficits in the late 1990s and into the 2000s, turning the United States into the world's largest debtor economy. x
  • 24
    Aggregate Supply and Aggregate Demand
    Economists commonly think about the macroeconomy through the model of aggregate demand and supply. It indicates how growth, inflation, unemployment, and the trade balance are related; why certain goals sometimes involve trade offs; and which macroeconomic policies to use. x
  • 25
    The Unemployment-Inflation Tradeoff
    Some of the biggest controversies in modern macroeconomics revolve around whether an unemployment-inflation tradeoff exists. This tradeoff, known as the Phillips curve, existed quite clearly in U.S. data from about 1950 to 1970, but then fell apart. x
  • 26
    Fiscal Policy and Budget Deficits
    This lecture reviews the main spending and taxing components in the federal budget, surveys trends in federal budget deficits and federal debt, and explains why budget deficits exploded, contracted, and then exploded again in the last 20 years. x
  • 27
    Countercyclical Fiscal Policy
    Spending increases or tax cuts can mitigate a recession, and spending cuts or tax hikes can fight inflation. In the United States, these countercyclical measures happen automatically to some extent, but some believe government should go beyond these automatic stabilizers. x
  • 28
    Budget Deficits and National Saving
    When government budget deficits are large and sustained, two possible effects can result. First, less financial capital may be available for private investment. Second, the United States may need to attract foreign investors. In the long term, neither is healthy. x
  • 29
    Money and Banking
    Economists define money as whatever serves as the medium of exchange, store of value, or unit of account. Money's various modern definitions— traveler's checks, checking accounts, savings accounts, money market mutual funds, etc.— reveal that money and the banking system are tightly interrelated. x
  • 30
    The Federal Reserve and Its Powers
    The Federal Reserve controls monetary policy, and has great power over the United States and even the world's economy. Yet it is run by presidential appointees and bankers, not by elected officials. Although there are plausible reasons, this remains controversial. x
  • 31
    The Conduct of Monetary Policy
    Controversies exist over exactly how the Federal Reserve should fight inflation. Should it focus exclusively on inflation, or also pay attention to such goals as shortening recessions? Should it act when stock market or housing prices may be forming a bubble? x
  • 32
    The Gains of International Trade
    Economists are deeply supportive of foreign trade; the average person is much more suspicious. The expansion of global trade in the post-World War II period has brought large gains to the United States and to the world economy. x
  • 33
    The Debates over Protectionism
    Pressures to limit imports are called "protectionism." This lecture reviews arguments for protectionism—saving jobs, protecting the environment, and others—and the reasons that most economists find those arguments less than compelling. x
  • 34
    Exchange Rates
    An exchange rate is the rate at which one currency exchanges for another. Exchange rates can be considered as a (misguided) symbol of national economic virility, when in reality they are just a price for currency. x
  • 35
    International Financial Crashes
    This lecture explores international financial crashes—such as those suffered by Thailand, Russia, and Argentina in recent years—and policies that may reduce their risk. But such risks will likely continue as international flows of financial capital expand. x
  • 36
    A Global Economic Perspective
    This lecture discusses global economic prospects over the next few decades. Even with a number of potential stumbling blocks, the chances for several billion people to be far better off are extraordinary. The United States sometimes seems to fear this richer world, but it need not. x

Lecture Titles

Clone Content from Your Professor tab

What's Included

What Does Each Format Include?

Video DVD
Instant Video Includes:
  • Download 36 video lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
DVD Includes:
  • 36 lectures on 6 DVDs
  • 208-page printed course guidebook
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps

What Does The Course Guidebook Include?

Video DVD
Course Guidebook Details:
  • 208-page printed course guidebook
  • Suggested readings
  • Questions to consider
  • Glossary

Enjoy This Course On-the-Go with Our Mobile Apps!*

  • App store App store iPhone + iPad
  • Google Play Google Play Android Devices
  • Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Tablet + Firephone
*Courses can be streamed from anywhere you have an internet connection. Standard carrier data rates may apply in areas that do not have wifi connections pursuant to your carrier contract.

Your professor

Timothy Taylor

About Your Professor

Timothy Taylor, M.Econ.
Macalester College
Professor Timothy Taylor is Managing Editor of the prominent Journal of Economic Perspectives, published by the American Economic Association. He earned his Master's degree in Economics from Stanford University. Professor Taylor has won student-voted teaching awards for his Introductory Economics classes at Stanford University. At the University of Minnesota, he was named a Distinguished Lecturer by the Department of...
Learn More About This Professor
Also By This Professor

Reviews

Economics, 3rd Edition is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 123.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Economic food for thought Another worthwhile course. With the understanding this is a survey course and somewhat dated (the derivative insanity and crash of 2008 had not yet happened), the course provides a solid background in economic theory from which the student can branch out to more advanced topics. Prof. Taylor has a good speaking style and fine sense of humor. In other words you won’t get bored even with the more technical details of the course. Prof. Taylor has a love of capitalism and a free market (faults he readily acknowledges) and it does create a certain bias that he also acknowledges. The course seems aimed at educating the student in the concepts that no economic system and no economic solutions are perfect and tradeoffs and policy decisions are ever present. When he does suggest certain proposed solutions he fairly presents both pros and cons while noting the political complications of the idea. I’m not sure I agree with everything Prof. Taylor says (this is certainly not required to benefit from the course) but I really enjoyed the lectures and they certainly gave me much food for thought. I am definitely going to take further courses in the area.
Date published: 2018-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More! More! I like the professor very much - he is clear, detailed, well spoken. Yes, needs new data. I want more. Please create a course called "The Great Debates of Economics" and give the **evidence as pertains to "trickle down economics", raising the minimum wage, state-subsidized higher education, tax-incentives for any favored activity from marriage to retirement saving to home ownership. Explain all the tax loopholes. Why do some powerful companies get massive tax deductions? What is the actual outcome benefit of extending 529 benefits to K-12 private school tuition? So many provisions of the new tax law are debatable at best, self-serving tomfoolery at worst. Help us understand.
Date published: 2017-12-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty Good I bought this course as a highschool freshman trying to learn more about Econ, and this course did a pretty decent job of providing me with lots of info. I wouldn't recommend buying this course at its full price, but if you're looking for a way to grasp a basic understanding for economics (both macro and micro), then you might want to consider this course. The professor that taught it, Timothy Taylor, was engaging enough, and he was pretty clear and concise when he explained the topics.
Date published: 2017-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Course! Needs to be Updated!! I am really enjoying listening to the audio-book version of this lecture series from audible. The lecturer is easy to listen to and easy to understand. However, this lecture series was evidently recorded in 2005. A lot of significant things, unexpected things, have happened in the US economy since then and listening to Professor Taylor discuss how recent recessions have all be so minor, one might discount his authority. The Great Recession and the consolidation that's happened since have changed a lot of narratives. This lecture series feels kinda out-of-date.
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic I purchased this series through audible.com. I could not be more delighted with it. Dr. Taylor does a terrific job of covering the various topics. He presents useful examples, definitions, and explanations at a level suitable to a novice such as I. He also discusses matters that are often reduced to shouting points between political extremes with fairness to various points of view and without propagandizing or proselytizing. If the 2005 copyright is any indication, the material is about ten years old. He speculates about what might happen in real estate markets in the future. It would be interesting to listen to the lectures again updated with information from more current events. Excellent piece of work.
Date published: 2016-04-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Recommend audio version not video I am getting from the course just what I was hoping to learn. I am one third of the way through the course and it seems to be a good, in depth overview of economics but does not get mired down in details. I have to agree with other reviews that Professor Taylor’s presentation is not exactly a dynamic presentation, but the information flows smoothly and is concise. All of the Great Courses I have purchased have been on DVD. I regret spending the extra money for the DVD on this course. I would strongly encourage getting this course but discourage buying the video version. I am happy with the course and I am looking forward to finishing the rest of it.
Date published: 2015-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Is there anything else I can say? I'm always reluctant to blather on about a course when I see there are already more than 100 reviews, but The Teaching Company apparently wants me to, so I will. I know a considerable amount about economics, but I still learned a lot from this course. And I loved the professor: how many people can tell economist jokes?! He also has unusual ways of thinking about things: how many people would look at illegal drugs as an economics issue? Some of the issues he discusses have been altered by recent events: one of the reasons we have high true unemployment is that current unemployment benefits are so generous and long-lasting that people don't need to work if they have an employed spouse, and perhaps even if they don't. I also found it interesting that he had to preface Lecture 8 (personal investing) with a disclaimer that he was not offering personal advice! I found it appealing that many of his references are to technical papers that are available online. His reading lists are splendid: he discusses each one at some length. There is an excellent glossary and short biographies of many important economics (yes, there are several). I strongly recommend this course to anyone who decides he or she needs to know something about economics.
Date published: 2015-07-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Introduction that Needs an Out-of-Date Label Though I was already familiar with most of the concepts, I took this course primarily as a refresher and to improve my economics terminology vocabulary. The course achieved exactly what I was looking for, so I was not disappointed. That being said, this course needs to be updated. Most of the Great Courses that I have taken so far are fairly timeless—e.g., the history of World War I has not changed much in the last five years. While the basic concepts presented in this course are timeless, most of the statistics and some of the concepts were badly out-of-date. This course was recorded before the start of the Great Recession, so the economic data presented is nearly a decade old and fails to include one of the largest economic disturbances of the last hundred years. It would have been very helpful to hear the professor's point-of-view on the events leading up to the Great Recession and how the economy has recovered since then. As an example of how the course is out-of-date, there is section in the course where the professor talks about how the last several recessions had been relatively mild—obviously, that has changed. The out-of-date aspect of the course was particularly noticeable in the last two lectures, which focused on the "current" economic growth of international markets. As a side note, the professor gained a lot of credibility during one of the lectures when he discussed the then-current housing bubble and expressed his fears that the bubble might burst in a terrible way, as it actually did just a short while afterwards. The course covers microeconomic concepts such as supply and demand as well as macroeconomic concepts such as the role of the Federal Reserve. The course is generally apolitical often presenting both the liberal and conservative view of the same economic issue. The primary goal of the course is to make the listener begin thinking like an economist, and I believe the course makes good strides toward this goal. This course is not for you if you are looking for current economic information. If, however, you are looking for a course with a broad overview that does a good job of teaching terminology and putting concepts into context, then this is a great course. The professor is clear and intelligent and organizes the material in a logical and concise manner. The professor ties concepts together between lectures and builds on lessons. There is little to criticize, and much to learn, except for the glaring "out-of-date" label that should be plastered on the front cover.
Date published: 2015-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Extremely informative for average person The course is from 2005, but I found plenty of worthwhile information in it that I feel it was still well worth the price (I got the audio version). If I had bought this course back in 2005 I am sure I would have given it 5 stars across the board. But it being 10 years old when I bought it, I can't do that because it is dated. I consider myself to be something like the "average" person when it comes to economics - that is, not very knowledgeable. I took one economics course at a university back in the late 1990s: I remember supply and demand curves and the equilibrium point, and that's about it. For someone like me, this course is hugely informative. One feature I like about the professor's delivery is that he will give alternatives on how to implement an economic approach (whether personal investing, labor wages, pollution reduction policies, etc.), and explain the advantages and downsides of each. This helps the learner understand why things are done the way they are and how they could be improved in some instances. If a 4th edition is coming out I would suggest holding out for it. But if a 4th edition is not coming out, I'd suggest that the 'average' person not pass up the chance to learn what is in this course.
Date published: 2015-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Economics and its Politics Professor Taylor begins the course by saying how the topic of Economics is rather dreary. He's correct, economics is not exciting. But thank goodness my internet is not the fastest because sometimes it freezes up during lectures and the professor looks comical, he has one of those faces. Actually the topic of Economics is extremely important but not the most entertaining. The lectures are roughly divided into microeconomics and macroeconomics. I thought the macroeconomics were taught with more enthusiasm. The professor was not shy about many of his positions in economics and I enjoyed hearing them especially when there was some sarcasm added into them. I think The Great Courses should have Professor Taylor make an intermediate level Economics course. It would provide more depth and maybe some basic math behind the statements that are made. Surprisingly this Intro to Economics course is mostly devoid of mathematics. However, in its place the viewer is provided an earful of economic policy perspectives, which is very political in nature. So, in other words it's less math but more politics.
Date published: 2014-11-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Overview, But Outdated Professor Timothy Taylor's 36 lecture tour of the field of economics is a fine overview of the subject, particularly for someone like me who last took an economics course decades ago in college. I found the second half of the course covering macroeconomics to be more interesting than the first half and also more applicable to the modern world. My only caveat is that, although the course is in its 3rd edition, it's badly outdated. Last revised in 2005, it completely misses the economic meltdown and Great Recession of 2008. No survey course in Econ 101 is worth its salt without covering that event which effect business and economics well into the second decade of the 21st century.
Date published: 2014-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Real value Well written and easy to understand for everyone who is interested in day to day economics.
Date published: 2014-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good course to gain a basic understanding Professor Taylor does a very good job in presenting this course, as he does in his other courses that I have heard. However, a lot of the material covered in the course was not new to me, and will probably not be new to anyone who has taken any academic course in economics. The course did provide me with enough interesting insights to make hearing it well worthwhile.
Date published: 2013-10-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good overview but some weaknesses This course is a reasonable overview of the portions of elementary economics that are amenable to an audio format. I mostly enjoyed it (I'm going through it for a third time in a period of several years- the commute thing you know...) but some parts are kind of infuriating. For me personally, some of the more useful elements are just reminding me how to clearly convey some of the aspects of economics, rather than the actual content. His introductory portion on economists not making predictions is just weird. He later talks about the great "predictive value" of supply/demand analysis. His saying, "no one asks physicists to make predictions" is just ridiculous. This whole discussion was confused and fuzzy. He could have made some great points about particular vs. general predictions or the role of exogenous events or the roles of mathematics and equations, but didn't. His introduction to the prisoner's dilemma was confusing and overly complicated. The economic implications were mostly covered well, but the original introduction of the problem was weird. As indicated by both of the above, the speaker sometimes seems to forget to say important things and gets rambly. More appropriate for informal two-way conversation than a lecture series that people pay for.
Date published: 2013-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Econ 101: Either a first course or refresher This is a basic undergraduate course that covers micro and macro economics with sufficient depth and sophistication to educate one never exposed to a course in economics, or to serve as a refresher for those who have taken basic or more advanced economics. Given the current state of the U.S. and world economies, this course makes relevant, changes in monetary and fiscal policies, including problems facing the European Union. Professor Taylor allays concerns about United States manufacturing and trade being supplanted by foreign products--especially from China and India. He is straightforward in his presentation and does not hesitate to give his opinion on economic issues. He does this in a style that is neither confrontational nor dogmatic. I agree with other reviewers that this course needs periodic updates from Professor Taylor in order to better understand current economic policies. With on-line access to course content, TTC could easily provide an annual "supplement" to students of this course.
Date published: 2013-08-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Elementary beyond belief I was expecting something more advanced and a bit more academic. I have never taken a course in Economics, but I do read the newspaper (now online) and some magazines. I tried more than a dozen of these lectures and didn't hear anything that I didn't already know. An example, a long lasting description of how basic insurance plans works was simplistic everyday knowledge - I can't imagine being an adult in this world and not knowing this stuff. Perhaps this would be fine for a high school level Economics course. But it ought to be relabeled to Elementary Econ, or Econ for Dummies, or something like that.
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Currency (Pun intended) I have read a few of the other recent reviews, and I suppose I don't have much to add about content. I purchased this course as a DVD set about 1.5 Yrs ago but only got around to watching this winter (2013). Well, alot has happened since this course was recorded, and I think this definitely needs a supplemental DVD added by Dr. Taylor to explain where the crash of 2008 fits into his previous statements that would allow for the crash to basically not happen. Even by the time I purchased this course it was seriously out of date. I think the Great Courses owes us an update to this material. How about a single on-line lecture to give Dr. Taylor a chance to walk us through the crash?
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A blast from the past A very basic course in economics presented in the reassuring, fairy tale-like, spirit that was typical before the recent economic catastrophe. Trust us we are economists, we know what we are doing..... even if it may seem counterintuitive....... This course is a nice time capsule. A cameo of unquestioning orthodoxy.
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great presentation of a complex subject (CD review) Very informative and excellent presentation overall. I listened to this in my car and as I do not have a regular, extended commute, I would often listen to it for 10-15 minutes at a time. This made it difficult to maintain continuity for me. I wonder if the CD version is the same as the DVD version just without the visuals. There were times when Professor Taylor would throw out a series of numbers or comparative values that would have been much easier to grasp with visuals, possibly combined with my full attention, something that is not always present when I am driving. He was particularly good at defining terms and giving real world examples of how these concepts apply to both consumers and producers. The only drawback is that this necessitates updates, for example there was no mention of the recent "fiscal cliff" as the course was recorded prior to that time. In the beginning the professor says that most people may be approaching this course with some trepidation. My observation with these courses is that it often depends on my previous study of, interest in and practical experience working in the field with these topics as to how much I get out of them. For someone with no experience with economics I would suggest the course "Thinking Like an Economist" before this course. I was glad that I did just that as it gave me a better foundation for this course.
Date published: 2013-01-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too introductory and uninspiring The course is at a very, very introductory level, just enough to talk at a party but not enough to understand economics. Very poor accompanying materials such as slides, diagrams, etc. I watched through it but did not gain any new knowledge out of the lectures. I would expect TTC to start targeting more advanced audience with their courses rather presenting entry level information.
Date published: 2013-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from an introduction to american free market orthodoxy this course is designed for people with no previous knowledge of economics and who would not normally go anywhere near an economics course—in short, people like me. with such an audience in mind topics are kept helpfully basic, and we are walked very methodically through each new subject. the lectures are in fact a model of organizational clarity and logical presentation. and, surprisingly, the professor is often funny or entertaining, which is extremely welcome if you normally find economics as dry as dust. my central concern however was bias. at the beginning of the course the professor says his aim is not to present a left- or a right-wing view of economics, but merely to lay out the common language. and i thought, is it really possible to talk about economics without having some kind of bias? as it turns out, the answer is yes and no. about every second lecture i felt like i was getting just the facts, with the issues presented in a manner which didn’t seem to advocate for one side or the other. but this meant that every other lecture i could expect to get my back up about something, as the professor and i clearly occupy different points on the spectrum. as a result this was the first teaching company course i’ve taken in which at the end of each lecture i desperately wanted someone else to come on and critique what i had just heard. for example, here are some of the things we learn. we learn that the main reason for the rise in inequality is the internet. we learn that free trade is a good thing and that none of the arguments against it are very convincing. we learn that the west is not responsible for other nations being poor: poor nations have simply not made the effort to grow their economies. we learn that firms can often lead the way in bringing environmental regulation to poorer countries. and we learn that having unaccountable bankers in charge of the federal reserve is the best way to run the most powerful economic institution in the world. whatever your position on any of these issues, i think very few people would describe such statements as without bias. or take the lecture on deregulation. according to prof. taylor, deregulation leads to all sorts of advantages for consumers, with no drawbacks whatsoever—at least none important enough to be worth mentioning. regulation on the other hand leads to all sorts of problems, and the latter part of this lecture is an impassioned and extended argument against regulation in all sorts of circumstances. now to be fair these lectures were recorded before the crash of 2008, but we’ve had several decades to observe the effects of deregulation on ordinary people and to fail to mention any of those devastating consequences is all but criminally negligent. it’s also unfortunate for this course as a whole because if prof. taylor couldn’t see any issues with deregulation prior to 2008, it leaves one wondering how credible he is when presenting anything else. indeed, surprisingly often for a teaching company course it felt like the professor was not so much explaining the subject at hand as arguing for his particular position. and while i certainly don’t fault an economist for being passionate about his chosen field, if i’m taking an introductory course i want to be able to make up my own mind. there’s a place for argument and debate, but a beginner’s audio course isn’t it. now i don’t want to leave the impression that i’m completely hostile to professor taylor: i actually came to have some sympathy for the balancing act he has to perform, and i’m very curious to know what this course would have been like had i been able to stick up my hand and ask a question or object. he does seem like someone you could have a meaningful discussion with, and it may be precisely because i couldn’t do that that i often felt so frustrated. at the end of the day this is an american economics course, and if america is orthodox about anything it’s their economic system. i knew this going in, and i got more or less what i expected. if you’re prepared for this bias it is still possible to find this course useful, even if it has a tendency to be infuriating. it does provide you with the general lay of the land as well as a surprising amount of useful vocabulary, and i do feel like my understanding of economics is much improved for having taken it. that this is an american course is worth repeating for another reason: all the statistical examples and descriptions of government agencies refer to the united states. given the US’s role in the world this will be of some interest to everyone; nonetheless, those of us outside the states will be left wondering how similar trends and institutions look in our own countries. on the other hand, if you’re an american and if you agree with the professor’s general take on things, the only thing you’ll find infuriating about this course is my review.
Date published: 2013-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite Very informative, even with college economics under my belt; and as an active investor. I purchsed the old cassette tape version; and I may get the new version. He is a great speaker and well deserving of 5-Stars. These courses are Great! I just wish that hey could be placed on mp3 format from a DVD for car listening.
Date published: 2012-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Engaging Professor, Strong Content Prof. Taylor’s courses are always engaging, and here he provides a top-notch course that is as thorough as an audio course can be. I’m primarily interested in how economists perceive both macro and micro economic issues and understanding the latticework of the social science, so I can better understand and follow economists’ way of thinking. This course looked to fit the bill. And it does so in enjoyable fashion. Economists are the envy of other social scientists, because economists have tools that seem to work and more-or-less accurately depict reality. Lay folks who ride the surface of economics, myself included, surely benefit from a course like this, which breaks down the components of a complex system and makes sense of them. Extremely pleased with this course.
Date published: 2012-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid Course well presented. I am a university educated professional with no background in economics. This course gave me an outstanding introduction to the subject of economics at a beginners level. The presentation is excellent and Professor Taylor has a good sense of humour as well as using simple, easy to understand examples to clarify the subjects. This course has not made me an economist but has given me a basic understanding of the subject allowing me to understand the politics of economics. The course does need to be updated because so much has happened since being presented. I would have given this course a 5 star rating if it was more up to date.
Date published: 2012-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good This course is very well put together, the topics are well-chosen, and Dr. Taylor is very clear and enthusiastic. Why, then, not five stars? I have two reasons. Economics is numerical subject; it rests on both empirical data and mathematical models but this course avoids both. Indeed, it avoids data and graphical presentations altogether which unfortunately makes the coverage qualitative and hence largely hand-waving. Dr. Taylor quotes numbers freely, which I am grateful for, but without the underlying data, it is hard to grasp them or remember them. The second reason to withhold a star is that the credibility of the course is undermined by its content. It appears to date from about 2006, before the Great Recession. Despite the fact that Dr. Taylor discusses financial crashes and speculates about the future, he apparently did not see the worst recession in 70 years coming. I find this particularly disturbing because the housing and private debt bubble were widely recognized: Surely economists should have connected this to the reckless practices of the banking industry and identified the risk that lay ahead?
Date published: 2012-09-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from All that's right and wrong about economics This is a solid course that teaches the economist's view of how the economic world works. Whether that point of view is right or wrong is subject to argument, but this course does a good job of explaining how the economist sees the economy, for better or worse. It is useful for both the person who wants to learn economics and the person who wants to take issue with it. Its main flaw is that most of its examples are from before the Bush recession, which had consequences that cannot be explained by the course.
Date published: 2012-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Overview Timothy Taylor does a great job of explaining the basic principles of economics. Watching this course may not, as Taylor points out, make one an ace economist, but it does excel at giving one the tools to be able to understand the many economic issues one encounters. This is, as Taylor acknowledges, a modest goal, but one which is achieved supremely well.
Date published: 2012-06-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Some course material is dated The course material is generally sound and appropriate for a person with no technical knowledge of economics. The material and presentation are quite adequate. Personally I had several economics courses in university, (which was long ago), and hoped for a refresher; the course was useful towards this objective, especially in the are of macroeconomics. All this said, I feel I have a few significant quibbles. The principal weakness of this course is that it was record in about 2006 and accordingly doesn't reflect the turmoil of 2007 to date. I feel no doubt that many of Mr. Taylor's comments would have a somewhat different slant or emphasis from a 2012 perspective. On specific shortcoming pertained to discussion of fiscal stimulus during a recession. Here Mr. Taylor equates tax reduction and government spending with no discussion of "multiplier effect". E.g. are tax reductions for the rich as reductions for the poor? Maybe not, because the poor will spend while the rich may save. Are either as effect as government spending on, say, infrastructure? It depends on the "multiplier effect". On the topic of declining real wages in the USA, Taylor attributes only 13% of this to globalization. Although Taylor provides does some references, I'm inclined to feel this is low. E.g. Taylor mentions declining union membership as a separate factor, but union membership has largely decline as a result of manufacturing migrating off shore. On the topic of environmental consequences of globalization and "fairness" in international trade where countries have stricter or laxer laws, Taylor is dismissive. He has an overly optimistic belief, in my opinion, that prosperity in rapidly developing countries will automatically lead to them intiating stricter regulations.
Date published: 2012-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If I were shipwrecked on a deserted island, this is the course I would want to have in my possession (and a dvd player with charged battery, of course). I gleaned more practical information and gained greater insight about the factors that influence economic development and trends (personal, national, and international) from this course than all the (relatively boring) economics lectures in college. I say "relatively boring" because Professor Taylor is articulate and engaging, and the course content is very well organized and presented skillfully. He impresses me as the type of person I would like to know personally...highly knowledgeable but very human and approachable. If you want to become more informed about economics and related issues (unemploymernt, national debt, inflation, balance of trade, etc.) this is the course to get.
Date published: 2012-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from None better than Professor Taylor. This is the updated version of the economics course I slept through many years ago with a different professor when I was an undergraduate. I did not sleep through this one. I knew Professor Taylor through his repulation at Stanford where he is still considered one of the best of the best by his former students. I expected a knowledgeable and engaging presentation; I was not disappointed. My objective in taking this course was to refresh my knowledge in preparation for his course on global economics. I think that was a wise move, not so much because the global course is difficult, but because this one teaches so much. I should add that I did this course entirely from audio CD without feeling that I lost anything in the process. I did study the very few graphs and tables prior to the lessons but found that Professor Taylor's explanations were understandable without much else.
Date published: 2012-04-26
  • y_2019, m_12, d_11, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_111
  • loc_en_US, sid_550, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 69.74ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Customers Who Bought This Course Also Bought

Buy together as a Set
and
Save Up To $13.00
Choose a Set Format
$79.90
$111.90