Emperors of Rome

Course No. 3410
Professor Garrett G. Fagan, Ph.D.
The Pennsylvania State University
Share This Course
4.3 out of 5
79 Reviews
65% of reviewers would recommend this product
Course No. 3410
Audio Streaming Included Free

Course Overview

They are said to be the most powerful rulers who ever lived—a checkered mix of the wise, the brutal, and the unhinged. For more than five centuries they presided over a multi-ethnic empire that was nearly always at war, if not with neighbors then with rebellious factions within the empire itself. The full scope of their powers was not systematized in constitutional law, a fact that tempted many of them to overreach disastrously; and the lack of clear rules of succession meant that most of them died violently.

Yet, on balance, the emperors of Rome served as a stabilizing influence in a realm that straddled three continents and covered more than 32 modern nation-states, with a population numbering about 60 million souls at the height of Roman prosperity.

Rulers Treated as Gods

How did this system of rule come about? What did it replace? And who were the colorful, cruel, and crafty men who filled this almost omnipotent post? Television series such as I, Claudiushave explored the complex personalities of several of the better-known emperors, whom you will meet in depth in this course:

  • Augustus: Known as Octavian during the long civil wars that extinguished the Roman Republic, he titled himself "Augustus," the first emperor of Rome, after vanquishing all rivals and becoming the undisputed strong man of the sprawling empire.
  • Caligula: Supposedly the most deranged Roman emperor of all, Caligula executed people indiscriminately, sent his troops on nonsensical maneuvers, and famously invited his favorite horse to dinner and planned to make him consul. But were his crimes exaggerated by ancient sources?
  • Claudius: Reputedly a halfwit who was named Caligula's successor by the imperial guards on a whim, Claudius may actually have connived in Caligula's murder and arranged his own elevation. Whatever his route to power, his reign was surprisingly successful.
  • Nero: As emperor, Nero performed in chariot races, dramas, and poetry recitals. The "fiddle" he reportedly played while Rome burned was actually a lyre, but the mystery remains: Did he set the fire himself, was it an accident, or were the Christians really responsible, as he claimed?

Presented by noted Roman historian Garrett G. Fagan, whose other Teaching Company courses, The History of Rome and Great Battles of the Ancient World, have brought antiquity vividly to life for spellbound listeners, these 36 lectures show that there is no end of gripping stories. More than 50 legitimate emperors ruled Rome from the time of Augustus at the turn of the 1st century to the reign of Constantine in the 4th century, which marked the transition to the Middle Ages.

What sort of men were the emperors (and they were all men)? What background and training, if any, prepared them for their awesome responsibilities? What depravities did they display? And what achievements can they claim: laws passed, monuments built, lands and peoples conquered? Some of the most noteworthy emperors include:

  • Trajan: Moderate at home and warlike abroad, Trajan was the perfect mix of Roman virtues. His reign inaugurated the period of the empire's greatest strength and stability, when emperors adopted their successors from among able army commanders. But that sensible policy did not last.
  • Commodus: The son of the esteemed philosopher-emperor Marcus Aurelius, Commodus believed himself to be Hercules reincarnated—a role he enacted in the Colosseum in combats with wild beasts and gladiators. He renamed Rome and all the months of the year after himself.
  • Diocletian: The Roman Empire seemed doomed to disintegration until this general rose to the top job. He subdivided imperial authority, established a new system of succession, and institutionalized the despotic powers of his office, giving the empire a new lease on life.
  • Constantine: The first Christian emperor was apparently reluctant to forsake the old pagan gods; they continued to appear in official iconography. But Constantine's endorsement of Christianity and his founding of a new capital called Constantinople opened a new era of Western history.

You will cover scores of other Roman rulers, some of whom lasted only a few weeks before they were done in by rivals for a position that conferred virtual divinity in this life—although the chances that the life would be a long one were not good.

Sleuthing the Past

Throughout the course, Professor Fagan emphasizes the detective work needed to read the ancient sources critically. Roman history is an amalgam of eyewitness reports, later compilations, archaeological remains, and inscriptions on monuments and coins. Contemporary accounts, when available, are not necessarily to be trusted, since the emperors' greatest political rivals were usually members of the Senate, and they were the ones most likely to be writing history. Therefore scathing reports on imperial conduct have to be read with caution.

One result is that some of our most indelible impressions about Roman imperial history may be wrong. Was Nero really a frivolous fool for devoting himself to performing on stage? So the ancient sources would have it. However, in Lecture 14 you learn how a modern historian makes an intriguing case that Nero was a shrewd master of spin, choosing his stage roles to convey exculpatory messages to the Roman people.

Similarly, did Livia Drusilla really poison or otherwise dispose of all the princes that stood in the way of her son Tiberius's succession to the emperorship after Augustus? The ancient historian Tacitus certainly gives this impression, which is chillingly conveyed by the actress Siân Phillips in the PBS adaptation of Robert Graves's novel I, Claudius. But Professor Fagan suggests that the case against Livia is weak and can be traced to her particular circumstances as well as to broader cultural prejudices against women in her position.

From Princeps to Dominus

Livia's prominence illustrates another characteristic of the Roman Empire: Aristocratic women often played a powerful role in dynastic politics. This is one of the fascinating background topics that Professor Fagan investigates to show what life was like not just for the emperor but also for those in his immediate circle and for his subjects.

In Lectures 27–31 you take a break from the chronological narrative to examine the emperors' relationships to different parts of Roman society: the city of Rome itself, the provinces of the empire, the elite, the people, and the army. For example, you learn that games and spectacles were one of the few places where ordinary citizens saw the emperor in person, and they would take advantage of this audience to organize demonstrations of their political views. Despite occasional signs of unrest, unpopularity was something emperors could live with. Not a single emperor in recorded Roman history was ousted by popular revolution.

One of the most intriguing questions about the emperorship is why it endured for so long. As you witness the reigns of the successive rulers unfold, you will see how the office evolved with the political forces that sustained it, becoming more and more tightly bound to the military. Each step toward despotism was taken with a view toward expedience. But when that step became the new normal, it paved the way for the next step, and so on, until Rome had moved from Augustus, who styled himself the princeps, or "first citizen," to Diocletian and Constantine, who ruled as the domini—lords over slaves.

Hide Full Description
36 lectures
 |  Average 29 minutes each
  • 1
    The Shape of Roman Imperial History
    After outlining the plan of the course and defining Roman imperial history, Professor Fagan will survey the types of ancient sources that shed light on Rome's emperors. These include literary works, official inscriptions, physical remains of structures erected by emperors, and coins stamped with imperial messages. x
  • 2
    The Roman Republic
    Before there were emperors, there was the Roman Republic, founded in 509 B.C. after a period of autocratic rule by kings. This lecture investigates the political character of the republic. As the 2nd century B.C. drew to a close, its institutions were under increasing stress from Rome's expanding empire. x
  • 3
    Caesar and the Suicide of the Republic
    Starting in 133 B.C. the Roman Re­pub­lic began to disintegrate, sowing the seeds of imperial rule. Although the great general and politician Julius Caesar was not an emperor, he did more than anyone in this period to create the conditions that led to the reintroduction of monarchy to Rome. x
  • 4
    The First Emperor—Augustus
    The importance of Augustus to Roman and European history cannot be overstated. This lecture explores Augustus's career, from avenging revolutionary to senior statesman, and briefly surveys the main thrust of his domestic policies and the broad shape of culture in the Augustan Age. x
  • 5
    The Powers of Augustus
    This lecture surveys the series of constitutional settlements that saw Augustus established as a super-magistrate, simultaneously part of and above the organs of state—a system termed the Principate. You will also look beyond the legal frontage of the Principate and uncover the harsh realities of imperial rule. x
  • 6
    Succession Woes
    The nature of the Principate was a mix of authoritarian and republican practices; so it was difficult for Augustus to secure the succession legally. The succession problem proved a destabilizing influence during his reign and was to remain so for his successors for centuries to come. x
  • 7
    Livia Drusilla, Empress of Rome
    Augustus's wife, Livia Drusilla, was easily the most powerful woman in Roman history to date. You will examine the roles of aristocratic women in the republic and under the empire. The rumor that Livia arranged the deaths of a long string of rivals to ensure her son Tiberius's succession is probably exaggerated. x
  • 8
    The Early Years of Tiberius
    On the death of Augustus in A.D. 14, Tiberius succeeded to the emperorship with the understanding that his popular nephew, Germanicus, would be his heir. Five years later Germanicus died under mysterious circumstances. A newly discovered inscription in Spain sheds intriguing light on these events. x
  • 9
    The Would-Be Emperor—Sejanus
    In this lecture, you meet one of the most odious figures in Roman history: Sejanus, the prefect of the Praetorian Guard. Sejanus used his influence with Tiberius, a few well-planned murders, and a canny marriage alliance to try to become emperor. His demise offers lessons in the perils of court politics. x
  • 10
    The Mad Emperor? Caligula
    The ancient sources tend to portray Caligula as deranged. But was he really insane? You will examine different modern approaches to this issue, focusing on two famous incidents when Caligula apparently acted erratically. An ancient eyewitness gives a sense of what it was like to be in the emperor's presence. x
  • 11
    Killing Caligula, Finding Claudius
    This lecture covers a little over 24 hours of the year A.D. 41, when a ruinous pattern was established in the imperial succession. With the murder of Caligula, the Senate dithered while the Praetorian Guard, eager to preserve its power, pushed forward a successor—in this case Caligula's reviled uncle, Claudius. x
  • 12
    The Odd Couple—Claudius and Messalina
    Claudius's reign was surprisingly successful. He embarked on the first major war of expansion since Augustus by adding Britain to the empire and was a conscientious ruler. Even so, he was manipulated by powerful subordinates, notably his third wife, Messalina, who concocted a bizarre plot against him. x
  • 13
    Power and Poison—Agrippina and Claudius
    You will study a woman who could be the most prominent female dynastic figure in Roman history: Agrippina the Younger, sister of Caligula, wife of Claudius, and mother of Nero—a pedigree that speaks for itself. Agrippina's political conduct was brazen to a degree heretofore unthinkable. x
  • 14
    Artist and Assassin—Nero
    Agrippina reportedly poisoned Claudius and then orchestrated Nero's accession. As emperor, Nero showed little interest in rule and far more in writing poetry and other diversions. This lecture surveys these impulses and discusses modern theories about the meaning of his "antics," which included matricide. x
  • 15
    The Trouble with Christians
    In the summer of 64, Rome burned. As suspicion fell on Nero, he blamed the Christians, starting the long history of Rome's persecution of this sect. You will consider the possible causes of the fire and discuss the rebuilding of the city, notably Nero's pet urban renewal project: his opulent Golden House. x
  • 16
    Dynasty's End—The Fall of Nero
    Nero's final years were increasingly disengaged from reality. Finally, the legions in Gaul and Spain turned against him. Abandoned by his armies and the Senate, he committed suicide in 68. His earlier murders of all plausible heirs in his family ensured that the Julio-Claudian dynasty perished with him. x
  • 17
    The Long Year, A.D. 69
    Nero's death ushered in the Year of Four Emperors—a bloody struggle among four commanders who successively held the top job. Left standing at the end was Vespasian, fresh from suppressing the Jewish Revolt. These events confirmed the principle that emperors depended on the army for their position. x
  • 18
    The First Flavian—Vespasian
    Vespasian started the first dynasty of emperors who had no family connection to Julius Caesar or Augustus. This lecture examines his rise and the "Law Concerning Vespasian's Power," apparently the first attempt to define an emperor's authority. Vespasian also built Rome's most famous landmark: the Colosseum. x
  • 19
    The Last Flavians—Titus and Domitian
    Shortly after Vespasian's son Titus be­came emperor in 79, Mt. Vesuvius erupt­ed, killing tens of thousands in a grim omen for the new ruler. He led an effective relief effort but died prematurely two years later. He was succeeded by his autocratic brother, Domitian, who descended into paranoia. x
  • 20
    Pax Augusta—Nerva and Trajan
    The murder of Domitian terminated the Flavian dynasty. His successor, Nerva, began a new practice: Emperors adopted able army commanders as their heirs. With Nerva's adoption of Trajan came the period of the Roman Empire's greatest stability under the Antonine (or Adoptive) dynasty. x
  • 21
    Trajan in Rome and in the East
    Trajan had a successful reign that added new territory to the empire as well as magnificent new public works to the capital. You will also examine the remarkable correspondence between Trajan and his provincial envoy, Pliny the Younger, who wrote for advice on handling recalcitrant Christians, among other problems. x
  • 22
    The Eccentric Emperor—Hadrian
    Trajan's successor, Hadrian, set about a massive push at consolidation: Trajan's new eastern provinces were abandoned and the frontiers were fortified, most notably with Hadrian's Wall in England. Hadrian was wide-ranging in his talents and unconventional in his personal life. x
  • 23
    Antoninus Pius, Marcus Aurelius, Lucius Verus
    The reigns of Antoninus Pius and his successor, Marcus Aurelius, represent the high point of Roman power, peace, and prosperity. In the course of Marcus's reign, however, signs of trouble became evident that would intensify. Marcus is especially known for his philosophic work, Meditations. x
  • 24
    Marcus in the North and Commodus
    In his last years, Marcus was constantly on the threatened northern frontier with his legions. He succumbed to the rigors of camp life in 180 and was succeeded by his son Commodus, who proved a disaster in the mold of Caligula and Nero. Commodus was assassinated on the last day of 192. x
  • 25
    Civil War and Septimius Severus
    Commodus's death left a vacuum temporarily filled by the aging senator Pertinax. He was soon assassinated by his own guard, who then auctioned off the empire to the highest bidder. The winner only lasted 10 weeks before Septimius Severus took control, initiating a naked military autocracy. x
  • 26
    Caracalla and the Severan Dynasty
    Severus set the tone for the rest of imperial history. From now on, the emperor would be a military man, occupied with keeping external enemies at bay and staving off internal threats. The Severan dynasty included, among others, the brutal Caracalla and the outlandish Elagabalus—along with some remarkable female relatives. x
  • 27
    Emperor and City
    The first of five lectures on themes relating to the emperors examines their lavish building projects in Rome, such as the complex of public squares and huge bathhouses. You will also examine the political aspects of such projects, as well as their social and economic implications. x
  • 28
    Emperor and Empire
    Next Professor Fagan considers the emperor's position relative to the wider empire. How could an empire as vast and diverse as Rome's survive the mismanagement of a Caligula or a Nero? The secret lay in the unique, decentralized administrative structures the Romans employed in running their realm. x
  • 29
    Emperor and Elite
    The Roman elite was obsessed with the struggle for rank, and the emperor determined the winners by the offices he dispensed. You will focus on the senators and the equestrians, learning how the former had to adapt to diminished roles under the Principate, while the latter enjoyed a greatly enhanced public profile. x
  • 30
    Emperor and People
    The emperor served as the benefactor and patron of the common people. This lecture examines that obligation, from the provision of grain, games, and other "comforts" to the means used by the people to communicate with the emperor. x
  • 31
    Emperor and Soldier
    No relationship was more important to Roman rulers than the one with their troops. Emperors used strategies to ensure loyalty, from oaths of allegiance to bribes. These measures are surveyed in detail, as are the dispositions of the troops in the empire and the different classes of soldiers. x
  • 32
    Chaos
    With the collapse of the Severan dynasty in 235, civil war raged almost continuously for nearly 50 years as generals fought for dominance. External enemies took advantage of the chaos to raid and plunder the empire. In this lecture, you will look at several of the emperors of this turbulent era. x
  • 33
    Aurelian, Diocletian, and the Tetrarchy
    In 268 the Roman Empire, battered from without and divided within, was on its last legs. But from the mountains of Illyria in the northern Balkans stormed a series of militarily aggressive and highly competent general-emperors who, in a few years, had turned the situation around. x
  • 34
    Constantine—Rise to Power
    This lecture surveys the rise to sole rulership of an emperor who would transform the empire and change the course of history: Constantine. Despite being passed over by Diocletian's tetrarchic system, the young Constantine accepted his army's imperial acclamation and began battling his rivals. x
  • 35
    The Christian Emperor—Constantine
    Under Constantine, Christianity changed from an outsider's religion to a state-aligned cult, a transition that had seismic repercussions. Here, you will examine his conversion, his impact on the church, his reforms, and founding Constantinople in 324. x
  • 36
    Reflections on the Emperors of Rome
    The ancients were inconsistent in labeling emperors as good or bad; for them, an element of spin was often involved. You and Professor Fagan will embark on your own diagnosis and uncover fundamental truths about power, legitimacy, and empire. This course concludes by considering the theme of emperors and tyranny. x

Lecture Titles

Clone Content from Your Professor tab

What's Included

What Does Each Format Include?

Video DVD
Instant Audio Includes:
  • Download 36 audio lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE audio streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
DVD Includes:
  • 36 lectures on 6 DVDs
  • 272-page printed course guidebook
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook

What Does The Course Guidebook Include?

Video DVD
Course Guidebook Details:
  • 272-page printed course guidebook
  • Dynastic family trees
  • Suggested readings
  • Questions to consider

Enjoy This Course On-the-Go with Our Mobile Apps!*

  • App store App store iPhone + iPad
  • Google Play Google Play Android Devices
  • Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Tablet + Firephone
*Courses can be streamed from anywhere you have an internet connection. Standard carrier data rates may apply in areas that do not have wifi connections pursuant to your carrier contract.

Your professor

Garrett G. Fagan

About Your Professor

Garrett G. Fagan, Ph.D.
The Pennsylvania State University
Dr. Garrett G. Fagan is Professor of Ancient History at The Pennsylvania State University, where he has taught since 1996. He was born in Dublin, Ireland, and educated at Trinity College. He earned his Ph.D. from McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario, and has held teaching positions at McMaster University, York University (Canada), and The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Davidson College. In all of these...
Learn More About This Professor
Also By This Professor

Reviews

Emperors of Rome is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 79.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from SOLID BUT VERY DULL DVD REVIEW: This is a pretty solid, detailed course, given by an Irish professor ~~ so get used to hearing "turred" for "third"! The accent is not excessively strong, but may create difficulty, I think, for North American listeners. Dr Fagan's approach is very straightforward; he relates the "bios" of the emperors in a rather sombre and, to me, somewhat dull manner; he displays deep knowledge and can reel off loads of facts, figures & dates, but his delivery is quite lifeless, uninspiring... to the point of being tedious and tiring, I'm sorry to say. I found it a strain to continue past the first four lectures. He looks to the side from time to time, possibly autocue, an assistant or director? I felt the professor exhibited considerable and increasing nervousness, which tended to preoccupy me in watching him. My impression was that Dr Fagan is standing there, feeling uncomfortable, reading a prepared script, waiting for it all to end. The course's structure is, logically, chronological, BUT with a sudden diversion into emperor themes for lectures 27 through 31; a bit odd.
Date published: 2013-02-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Skip this one I have listened to many courses and I can honestly say that this is the only one that I will not listen to again. I had a difficult time understanding the Professor, and found what should have been an interesting subject UN-listenable.
Date published: 2013-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from At times fast paced, at times sluggish This course has me perplexed. As I began the course (digital audio), I was very pleased with the material and presentation. The background on the rise and fall of Julius Caesar and setting the stage for Augustus was top-notch. The lectures on Caligula, Nero and the end of the first dynasty continued along this course. Then it hit a few bumps. Towards the end it seemed a torrent of information read straight from a text book. By the time we reach the 300's AD, even the professor seemed to want to just get it over with. Gone was the passion that was there in the beginning. For that, I can't give the presentation 5 stars. But the content was there. There were a few hilarious asides, such as mixing the study of history with gin drinking and a comment about his own sons. This intentional humor was a welcome respite from some of the tedium of data. Many reviewers have commented that his Irish accent is distracting. I found no problem with it.
Date published: 2012-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from detailed and interesting I thought this course does a very good job introducing the Roman republic and covering in detail the transition from Republic to Empire. There's an immense amount of detail in the transition from Julius Caesar to Augustus, and the rest of the Julio-Claudian dynasty. You learn a lot about the personalities, and come away understanding why Augustus' achievement was so important, and why it was so fragile because it was so personal instead of institutional. The end point with Constantine was well chosen, covering the transition from Diocletian to Constantine in depth. As Fagan says, the sources are very limited for some of these emperors, but he tells the tale well with the information available. You do get a very clear sense of how utterly inept and venal many of these emperors were. There were more of those than the competent ones, which makes it all the more amazing that Rome and its descendant Byzantium survived so long. All in all, an interesting course, delivered with great enthusiasm by a real expert.
Date published: 2012-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Course This series is a "sequel" to the History of Ancient Rome course, also taught by Prof Fagan. Both have been an absolute joy to listen to. Highest recommendation!!
Date published: 2012-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Give Professor Fagan Another Chance This may seem like a really odd title, but I will explain. I purchased this course before I purchased the History of Ancient Rome course. The Ancient Rome course was Fagan's first with The Teaching Company, and anyone could clearly see that he was nervous doing that course. Professor Fagan is much calmer, more organized, and speaks with better delivery in this course. There are still cases of stuttering, but if you have only purchased the History of Ancient Rome course and not this one, you may be pleasantly surprised. There were so many Emperors who ruled for short amounts of time, but Professor Fagan gives as much information as can be expected during periods of time when the sources were limited. Everyone has heard of Nero, Augustus, Claudius, Constantine, and Hadrian, but you will also learn about lesser known Emperors such as Titus, Domitian, Antonius Pious, Commodus, Septimus Severus, Elagabalus, and many others. At the time of this review, I am in the middle of The History of Ancient Rome course which has it's good moments, but comparing Fagan's delivery in that course and this one is like comparing two complete opposites. I came across this course believing that not only that Professor Fagan is a very knowledgeable teacher, but an overall good guy. He struck me as someone I would like to have a pint of Killian's with.
Date published: 2012-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fascinatingly Good I started out at TTC with Dr. Fagan's overall history of Rome (which I still have and listen to, even though it's 10 years old and on cassettes!). In his introductory series, he noted that he didn't have the time or space to do each individual emperor in the depth required, so whereas Course I is a great introduction, Course II is for those who now have some foundation for learning about the Emperors. I had no trouble with his presentation and think this is definitely a great course and well worth getting! (I should also notice that Dr. Fagan is a wonderful outreach prof and did a stint, unpaid, on a ancient history web site I work with, so he's a Good guy as well as a Great Teacher!)
Date published: 2012-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very objective and insightful This applies to the audio version. This is the companion and sequel to Professor Fagan's excellent "History of Ancient Rome" series, and shares its qualities. I have long been a student of ancient Rome, particularly Imperial Rome through the Flavian Dynasty, but obviously Professor Fagan's scholarship is vastly superior to mine. I was delighted with his insightful analysis of these men and the culture that produced them. Any scholar may arrive at different interpretations of these men, and comparing differing interpretations is often very revealing and rewarding. Professor Fagan does not have time to do much of this in the limited time frame of this course, but he does enough to teach the student that they must do so, and perhaps form their own opinion. For example, I disagree slightly with his interpretation of Tiberius (I favor Professor Barbara Levick's). However, I favor Professor Fagan's interpretation of Vespatian over hers. I am very glad I have been exposed to both. Once again, thoroughly and unreservedly recommended. If you haven't already, consider Professor Fagan's other courses, especially the History of Rome. I've yet to find one I didn't like.
Date published: 2012-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ancient Rome, Interesting People. A wonderful continuation of the first part of the story :"History of Ancient Rome", also by Professor Fagan. By the way he relates their stories, one would think he knew them all personally. I enjoyed the course.
Date published: 2011-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent, but realize it's part II of II. I am reviewing this after having enjoyed Prof. Fagan's "History of Ancient Rome." That is precisely how I recommend you enjoy this course. Also, for what it's worth, I am reviewing the audio version, and cannot comment on the visuals. This said, I amfantastically happy with the combined course, and all of my ratings above are for the 84 lecture combination of the two, and those of you who read both of my reviews on this will realize a goodly section of it is copied/pasted. Rather expectedly, I would imagine, the course on "Emperors of Rome" is biographically oriented, and Dr. Fagan is, naturally, limited to the available sources, which he discusses. So...don't be surprised when the course offers more information on Emperors for whom we have plentiful information than on those for whom we don't. When it comes right down to it, I'm glad that TC divided the era, and spent the amount of time they did on each, without combining into one huge expenditure. Dr. Fagan's presentation is good, and his wry sense of humor is always welcome. He is careful to highlight areas of scholarly debate, presenting different perspectives, as well as giving his own opinions and rationale for those opinions. All told, I heartily recommend this course as a meaty introduction to the era....accessable to people new to the topic, but more in depth than most introductions. I have listened to both this course and its companion volume more than once, and can easily see myself returning to them regularly. Bravo!
Date published: 2011-08-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A Big Disappointment I'm a bit nonplussed by this lecture series when comparing it to Professor Fagan's earlier course offering, "The History of Ancient Rome," which is a five star course and one that I could easily recommend. In "The History of Ancient Rome" Professor Fagan's presentation sounded relaxed and extempore. In contrast, in the "Emperors of Rome" lecture series Professor Fagan's presentation sounds scripted, even down to the jokes he tells. I'm certain that Professor Fagan is an expert in all facets pertaining to Roman emperors, so why resort to such a rehearsed presentation? Perhaps he over-prepared for this series. In any event, the unnatural presentation of Professor Fagan in this series forced me to quit a subject quite fascinating to me at the halfway point. What a shame. My advice to Professor Fagan in his future lecture series: Stick to the genuine qualities that made you a "great professor" and leave the pretensions to greatness at home.
Date published: 2011-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than I had hoped Absolutely great course. I could quibble that the review ended with Constantine, but that's not such a big deal. A separate course on the later emperors seems called for, but I have no complaints about this one. Professor Fagan let's us know when the sources are poor and he must extrapolate, and his even-handed treatment of controversial emperors is very much appreciated. Terrific, I would highly recommend this brilliant course. Above all, it was very entertaining and made learning fun.
Date published: 2011-06-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well worthwhile IF you already have background This is a very worthwhile course for any who *already* have a good background in ancient Roman history, and wish to learn more about the details (specifically, in this case, the details of the emperors), as well as issues with sources and historical interpretation. As others have noted, the course is heavy on names, dates, chaotic wars of succession, family intrigues, internecine rivalries, and the interpretation of inadequate or conflicting sources, and lighter on "traditional history," the novel-esque narrative of peoples and nations which most of us think of as history per se. A prior knowledge of at least the basics of this history - available in Prof. Fagan's outstanding "History of Ancient Rome" - would, I think, be essential to appreciating this course. It is, however, quite good for what it is, and I am very glad to have taken it. Prof. Fagan is well-organized, insightful, knowledgeable, and quite articulate. I found his voice a pleasure to listen to. I also appreciated the forthright discussions of the problems with the sources and interpretations, which contrasts so greatly with the more typical presentation of history as a wholly known and uncontroversial monolith. So - choose carefully, and note the very divergent reviews. This course is not for everyone, but for those with an interest it is well worth the time.
Date published: 2011-04-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A bit disapointing Sorry to admit - this course wasn't quite what I had hoped for. While, Professor Fagan clearly has an excellent command and is quite passionate about the material covered - the course seemed to be little more than a review of family trees and tales of who assassinated whom. There was very little (I thought) on what specific Emperors accomplished during their reign. I was particularly disappointed with the DVD format - which added very little (other than helping you follow the family trees). Ironically, I think this course would be better in audio-only.
Date published: 2011-03-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Truly tedious I concur with those who found these lectures dense, monotonous and repetitive. These are not live performances but readings: applause is canned and appears at the end (Thank Heavens!) of each lecture. I gave up after the first twelve.
Date published: 2011-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from emperors of rome this course was intellectually engaging and the presentation was entertaining.i've watched it on DVD,now i'm going to order the audio so i can review and listen in my car.
Date published: 2011-02-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Should be read, not listened to ! This is unequivocally a university-level course. Material is not presented as absolute truths and often difficulties with sources are discussed. This frequently leads to various hypotheses being brought forward, thus adding much depth to the discussion. However, the overall structure of the course is questionable as the hitherto strictly chronological presentation is interrupted at lecture 26 by five thematic lectures and resumed afterwards. Why aren’t the thematic discussions grouped at the beginning or at the end of the course? Yet, this annoyance is trivial compared to this production’s major shortcoming. To put it directly, Professor Fagan is an extremely poor public speaker. He very obviously reads out his text, is nervous, often stutters and even stumbles on words. His enunciation is very poor and, for instance, A.D. 4 sounds like ‘84’ whereas A.D. 47 sounds like ‘1847’. More often than not ‘th’ is pronounced ‘t’ so that we hear bats for ‘baths’, debts for ‘deaths’, ‘boat’ for ‘both’, etc. His voice unpredictably varies from shrieks to monotone. To make it worse, his come and go rhythm almost induces sea sickness. Sadly, this results in the course being way under the very high quality level that Teach12 has spoiled us to expect.
Date published: 2011-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb presentation and content My first teaching company video was the history of Rome course taught by Garrett Fagan, ahd this course on the emperors of Rome is my latest TC course. I think he is better than ever. I listen to this course in audio format while I make a very tedious commute. It is more than absorbing. It has just the right level of detail. I am especially impressed by the literary quality of the lecture. Fagain is obviously a good writer. Also noteworthy is the care with which he describes the quality of the sources on each emperor. He tells not just the fact but the leading areas of open interpretation. If you are weak on Roman history not to worry he begins the course with a couple lecture overview. Superb.
Date published: 2010-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Generally a Chronological Narrative This course is generally a narrative of the various emperors, starting with the life of Julius Caesar (not himself actually an emperor - his successor Augustus is credited with being the first) up through Constantine. Though the empire continued beyond that point, professor Fagan does not bother to speak much about the emperors after Constantine. (Note: the TTC course "The Early Middle Ages" picks up from Constantine, so this bit of history is available.) It was easy to get lost among the unfamliar names and I did have to listen a couple of times to keep track of who was who among the less familiar players. I found it most helpful in later lectures when the professor got away from the historical narrative mode and reviewed the context of the Emperor and various parts of Roman life (lectures 27-31.) I listen to the lectures on CD and had no problems with the professor's diction or presentation. On one occasion, he seemed to have made light of a brutal situation (a brief and elliptical reference the treatment of a child.) I often wonder how historians can know what they know, and it is obvious that at times Fagan was filling in logical details (such as dialogue) to present a coherent story, but I don't think these details can be taken as literally factual in many cases.
Date published: 2009-12-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Awful Presentation I have watched numerous TTC courses, including Prof. G's initial course on the Roman Empire--which I thorougly enjoyed. However, in this course, it's obvious that the prof. either has a photographic memoiry, or he is reading from a tele-prompter--I strongly suspect it is the latter. Whatever the reason, it makes him seem very stilted and extremely unnatural. Prof G. constantly refers to something off to his left-center, and then uses terms that he would use only in writing the material--(i.e. his vocabulary in no way resembles what we heard in his first course). This entire approach is completely unlike his first TTC offering. Additionally, he spends so much time repeating the first two or three words of the majority of his sentences, loses his place, then refers to the teleprompter, and finally repeats it all over again. His continuous facial grimaces for no apparent reason were the final straws. They had no relation to anything he was saying and certainly added nothing to his lectures. Although I understand that Prof. G is a learned expert in this area, his delivery was absolutely dreadful. I am a diabetic and, as part of my therapy, I walk 45-60 minutes each morning on my treadmill--I rely on the TTC courses to keep my mind occupied and to learn something in the bargain. This course made that nearly impossible. It was virutally unwatchable and I am able to continue with the course only because I decided to siimply listen to, and not watch, the presentations. Even at that, it was extremely difficult. I am nearly finished with this course and I plan to return it to TTC. Sorry Prof. G., but you were much better when you simply referred to your notes.
Date published: 2009-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ROMA URBS AETURNA Prof. Fagan's two courses on ancient Roman history are excellent structural overviews of the Classical Roman period. From his courses I was able to move on to reading Livy, Polybius, Appian, Suetonius, Tacitus and other essential primary sources with greater pleasure and appriciation. I have also followed many of his recommended secondary sources, such as Barrett's Agrippina and Champlin's Nero. On my frequent visits to Italy I have to thank Prof. Fagan for helping to make sense of the ubiquitous ruins. After reading many recommended books by Fagan and other Teaching Co. Professors, I realized that their courses, as rich as they are, only scratch the surface.
Date published: 2009-07-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Course I really enjoyed this course. The material was clearly and logically presented. The instructor was very clear and very organized. It provided me with an excellent understanding of Imperial Rome.
Date published: 2009-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Very Good Series I thoroughly enjoyed Dr. Fagan's lectures. I highly recommend them, and regret that I was never exposed to this material during my public school education. The content is invaluable in understanding Western Civilization. The lectures are tight, well-organized, and capably delivered. Good stuff. Throughout these lectures the parallels between ancient Roman politics and some of the recent trends in modern America kept jumping out (Fagan didn't make these connections, but they are rather obvious). The concentration of power in a deified leader completely eclipsed the authority of the Senate. Eventually power lay in the hands of the army. I do have a gripe, however--the reason for the four (and not five) star rating. Dr. Fagan took a number of digs at Christians. Some of them justified--the hommage paid to Constantine by Eusebius (the church historian), for example. But I grew a bit weary of the implication that Roman persecution of Christians wasn't really that bad. And while it is certainly possible that Christians started the fire which burned much of Rome during the reign of Nero, it is not at all likely, and all of the ancient sources (despite their differing agendas) blamed Nero. I perk up my ears a bit when a very competent historian rejects the more ancient sources for speculative theories of contemporaries. Sometimes this is a good thing--the ancient sources certainly have their biases and weaknesses. But it seemed to happen over and over again when Fagan dealt with issues related to Christianity . . . That said, there is nothing here which would keep me from recommending this course to anyone. I would, however, like to take Dr. Fagan up on his challenge to enjoy a bit of gin while reading the Book of Revelation. If I can substitute some good single-malt, let's do it!
Date published: 2009-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb History of Imperial Rome This was the first lecture from The Teaching Company that I listened to and it's still probably among my 2 or 3 favorites. The professor is an excellent lecturer, and the details of the reigns (along with the exploration of the reliability of the sources) was great. And let's be honest... Caligula, Nero, etc.... how can this not be fun! My only regret is that it stopped with Constantine.
Date published: 2009-04-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The course is filled with interesting anecdotal stories that give you insights into the lives and personalities of the emperors. Prof Fagan successfully avoids the pitfall of boiling down emperors into "good" emperors and "bad" emperors but instead takes an objective view of each -- their strengths and weaknesses. I also really appreciated that Prof Fagan explicitly tells you when he believes his sources are scant or biased and what effect this may have on the historical view of a particular emperor. Audio vs Video: Audio worked fine for me. One suggestion I would have if you are listening to audio is to have the Course Guidebook handy while listening because the pictures of the family trees in the back are very helpful. Without an occasional glance at those, it is easy to get lost in the sea of Roman family names.
Date published: 2009-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Very Enjoyable Course This is great course. But firstly it is important to state what it is not: It is not a continuation of the Fabulous History of Ancient Rome. It is a History of the Emperorship and also a biography of the most important Romans in this period. (Also it does not chart the final fall of the Roman Empire or anyone after Constantine) Professor Fagan is a great and very witty communicator. He makes the subject interesting and has organised it well. The course is structured chronologically with occasional transgressions into relationships between Emperor and citizens. There is also an excellent exposition about the usefulness / bias of the sources available. Overall, this is a very enjoyable course.
Date published: 2009-01-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but no THOAR I have happily listened to all available courses by Prof. Fagan and generally the content is excellent. However, it is only in his "The History of Ancient Rome" (THOAR) that the prof. really shines as a lecturer. Sadly in the others it sounds much more like someone reading a manuscript aloud rather than a live lecture. I find this a little frustrating as THOAR is my favorite lecture series (and I've covered most of the historical ones). In any case this is a very good course, highly recommended to anyone with an interest in the subject.
Date published: 2009-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not as good as Fagan's "History of Ancient Rome " A good course; an interesting course; but not as good as it's predecessor. I heard this one first, and was sufficiently taken with Prof Fagan to get "History of Ancient Rome." My recommendation would be to get that and skip this. "Emperors" is long on anecdote and short on lesson.
Date published: 2009-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Imperial Grandeur This is simply one of my favorite courses from the Teaching Company. Firstly, the subject matter is inherently interesting. Augustus and Marcus Aurelius, Caligula and Nero are all figures of great fascination (and some revulsion). And Prof Fagan delivers the entertaining anecdotes that enliven ancient history. However, beyond the entertaining serial biography of dozens of eminent figures of the ancient world is the greater theme of the course: the establishment and evolution (some might say devolution) of the imperial office. Prof Fagan succeeds wonderfully in explaining how the role of emperor changed over history, how the accumulation of countless precedents gradually shifted the superficially benovlolent monarchy into an overt military autocracy. Prof Fagan also succeeds in sharing with his students a taste of how classical history is often a matter of scholars extracting scattered facts from limited sources, facts that may support multiple theories. Prof Fagan does not shy away from these complexities and uncertainties but rather fully explores them and leaves the audience with a greater understanding of how our knowledge of the past is generated.
Date published: 2008-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A measured, well-written, witty treatment I teach literature, so my reaction to Dr.Fagan's course must be different from those of professional historians. Part of the reason I often listen to these lectures is that they're so skilfully written in a lovely - and wittily accessible! - rhetorical style, and that they're so nicely delivered by the professor. Form is at least as important as content, and I say so without any apology to the other reviewers; if you agree with me, then this course will give you much intellectual pleasure.
Date published: 2008-12-17
  • y_2019, m_7, d_20, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_78
  • loc_en_US, sid_3410, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 54.53ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Customers Who Bought This Course Also Bought

Buy together as a Set
and
Save Up To $335.00
Choose a Set Format
$129.90