Dutch Masters: The Age of Rembrandt

Course No. 7180
Professor William Kloss, M.A.
Independent Art Historian
Share This Course
4.9 out of 5
70 Reviews
84% of reviewers would recommend this product
Course No. 7180
Sale
Video Streaming Included Free

Course Overview

Holland in the 17th century was home to the most remarkable concentration of artistic talent and accomplishment in modern history. From this tiny land came the great masters Vermeer, Frans Hals, Jan Steen, Pieter de Hooch, and Rembrandt, as well as an abundant assembly of memorable artists.

To this day, these compelling pictures take our breath away-an unrivalled heritage of portraits, still lifes, landscapes, marine paintings, and profoundly observant images of everyday Dutch life that continue to grace museums throughout Europe and America.

Why are our eyes mesmerized by the glistening stream issuing from the pitcher in Vermeer's The Milkmaid? How does our understanding deepen with each moment we spend taking in the revealing details of his Woman Holding a Balance? What are the means that create the self-contained intimacy that glows from de Hooch's A Mother's Duty, or from his Interior with Women Beside a Linen Chest?

We are forever astonished by the inclusive sweep of Rembrandt's art, which encompasses the brooding power of The Mill and the moving immediacy of The Jewish Bride. That unsurpassed image of human devotion was painted with such astonishing bravura that Vincent Van Gogh, sitting spellbound before the painting in Amsterdam's Rijksmuseum two centuries later, was impelled to say: "One must have died several times to paint like that."

Learn What Made the Art of Holland so Special

What was it that made Holland so special, that nourished great masters and produced artists like Jan van de Cappelle, Meindert Hobbema, Jacob van Ruisdael, Pieter Saenredam, Gerard ter Borch, Hendrick Terbrugghen, and so many others?

And what of the extraordinary technical ability of Holland's artists? They commanded a realistic technique so descriptive and alive that their work seemed like a transcription of life itself. Many people today think of the Dutch artists as "realists." But is this really true? Were they, instead, the creators of a parallel reality-often preoccupied with concerns of faith and morality, and expressing deeper truths through the familiar realities they were painting?

Dutch Masters: The Age of Rembrandt will introduce you to the art of 17th-century Holland. It traces the development of this renowned, independent school of painting, and the great seafaring nation that produced the new society that would be reflected in that new art. The course concludes with the achievements of Holland's greatest and most versatile genius, Rembrandt, whose range of work-including his remarkable etchings-claims the final seven lectures.

Your introduction to this marvelous world is a visually sumptuous one, as Professor William Kloss-well known to Teaching Company customers from his A History of European Art and Great Artists of the Italian Renaissance-shows you the work of more than 100 artists and guides you through more than 450 masterful paintings.

How Deep Meaning Can Hide in the Tiniest Detail
Painting by painting, you'll see how each artist's technical choices-about composition, lighting, color, or brushstrokes, to name a few-contribute to a work's overall impact and statement. And you'll see how even the smallest detail of content can speak volumes. For instance, the artist may depict a room and include a painting hanging on a wall within that room, and that painting within the painting may have significant meaning. The same may be true of an artist's choice of background props or secondary figures in the painting.

Dutch artists created paintings that offered insights into history and commerce. They created great religious works that not only interpret biblical narratives but address the spiritual conflicts of the period. And they also placed on canvas every facet of daily domestic and social life in "genre" paintings, one of the most characteristic categories of Dutch art.

Whether you're new to art or an experienced museumgoer, Dutch Masters: The Age of Rembrandt is a delight, filled with insights into the explosive inventiveness of Dutch art as it interpreted and reinvented the reality of Holland-the most dynamic nation in 17th-century Europe.

Hide Full Description
36 lectures
 |  Average 30 minutes each
  • 1
    Art and Society in 16th-Century Netherlands
    This lecture outlines the art to be discussed and provides historical background about the Protestant Reformation, Catholic Counter-Reformation, and the beginning of the Eighty Years' War between the Northern Netherlands (Holland) and the Spanish-ruled Southern Netherlands (Flanders). x
  • 2
    The Years of Crisis in the Netherlands
    Political and religious clashes of the 1560s led to the Protestant rebellion and, ultimately, the independence of the northern provinces. This lecture concentrates on the art of this period, especially that of Pieter Bruegel the Elder. x
  • 3
    Art in Haarlem and Utrecht, c. 1530–1625
    We look at two significant art centers and works produced by Cornelis van Haarlem, Hendrik Goltzius, Abraham Bloemaert, and Hendrick Terbrugghen. x
  • 4
    Facing the Truth—Candid Portraits
    Portrait painting becomes prominent in Holland in the 17th century, with citizens of the new Dutch Republic eager to record the features of their families and their national leaders. x
  • 5
    Dutch Portraits, c. 1635–75
    We examine some of the finest Dutch portraitists, including Gerard ter Borch, Jan de Bray, and Bartolomeus van der Helst, and note the 1660s shift in taste that led to greater emphasis on artifice and display of skill. x
  • 6
    Frans Hals—The Early Years
    The first of three lectures on Hals—who in a career spanning more than half a century never left Haarlem—discusses his early single portraits and rare genre paintings from about 1611 to about 1633. x
  • 7
    Frans Hals—Civic Group Portraits
    During the same period covered in the last lecture, Hals painted a famous series of group portraits of the Civic Guard Companies of Haarlem. His vivid, animated compositions and vigorous paint surface contrasted strongly with similar portraits by others. x
  • 8
    Frans Hals—Later Portraits
    As Hals aged, he retained all of his astonishing skill and became more penetrating in his characterizations, seeming never to repeat a pose as he found a new invention, a new insight, for each painting. x
  • 9
    Town and City
    In this first lecture devoted to the most inclusive category of Dutch painting—genre painting, or scenes of everyday life—we focus on paintings of public places in town and city, primarily Haarlem and Amsterdam. x
  • 10
    Daily Life in the Town
    This examination of depictions of the public places—inns, taverns, barber and doctor establishments, shops, even brothels—includes the work of painters Judith Leyster, Adriaen van Ostade, and Job Berckheyde. x
  • 11
    Daily Life in the Home
    In Dutch homes of rich or poor or middle class, artists found plentiful settings for all sorts of scenes. Almost always the works carry deeper meaning than the action suggests to a modern viewer. x
  • 12
    Music and the Studio
    Music and art prove to be important genre subjects. Indeed, music was a preoccupation of Dutch art, with romantic and erotic connotations almost always present in musical subjects. x
  • 13
    Jan Steen—Order and Disorder in Dutch Life
    One of the greatest Dutch genre painters, Jan Steen is best known for subjects that often show boisterous activity, a subject seemingly at odds with Calvinist precepts of an orderly life. x
  • 14
    Pieter de Hooch and Quietude
    The quiet pervading much of the work of Pieter de Hooch presents an introverted style, in marked contrast to the extroverted, "loud" paintings of Jan Steen. x
  • 15
    Art in Delft
    The town of Delft was a crucial locale in Dutch history, commerce, and art. In art it will always be associated with Johannes Vermeer. x
  • 16
    Johannes Vermeer, c. 1655–60
    In the first of three lectures on Vermeer, we look at the unexpected beginnings of this short-lived artist, including some works that particularly display his characteristic and miraculous effects of light and profound silence. x
  • 17
    Johannes Vermeer, c. 1660–65
    Between 1660 and 1665, Vermeer painted subjects common to Dutch genre painting, including music and letter writing, but they are infused with his own aura. x
  • 18
    Johannes Vermeer, c. 1665–70
    This lecture includes discussions of renowned paintings like Girl with a Pearl Earring as well as the camera obscura, a visual tool assumed to have been used by Vermeer and other artists. x
  • 19
    Still-Life Painting, c. 1620–54
    This first lecture on still-life painting, a subject which often conveyed the moral of life's brevity, includes the work of Ambrosius Bosschaert, Pieter Claesz, Jan Davidsz de Heem, and Willem Claesz Heda. x
  • 20
    Still-Life Painting, c. 1652–82
    We conclude our examination of still-life painting with a look at the work of artists Samuel van Hoogstraten, Pieter Anraadt, Willem Kalf, Willem van Aelst, Abraham van Beyeren, and Jan Weenix, and also special categories such as illusionistic art, banquet pieces, and dead game. x
  • 21
    Landscape Painting—The Early Decades
    Dutch artists essentially invented naturalistic landscape painting, producing thousands of views of land and sea, in Holland and abroad. This is the first of seven lectures surveying the subject with examples ranging from Hendrik Goltzius around 1600 to the early work of Salomon van Ruysdael around 1630. x
  • 22
    Landscapes of Jan van Goyen and Rembrandt
    We look at the work of the first great genius of Dutch landscape specialists, Jan van Goyen, and also discover that only eight of Rembrandt's landscapes were paintings (he depicted them more often in drawings and prints). x
  • 23
    Foreign Landscapes
    The Dutch were world traders and colonizers, and their interest in the world beyond Holland was expressed in landscapes by painters who went on foreign missions and by others who traveled alone or with other artists, including Frans Post, Allart van Everdingen, and Jan Both. x
  • 24
    Landscape Painting in the 1640s and 1650s
    During the 1640s and 1650s, landscape painting developed from a tonal style to a more colorful style. We look at examples from the work of artists Salomon van Ruysdael, Aert van der Neer, Albert Cuyp, and Paulus Potter. x
  • 25
    Jacob van Ruisdael
    Unanimously agreed to be the greatest Dutch landscape painter, Jacob van Ruisdael produced potent landscapes that featured a rich blend of precise observation and vivid imagination. x
  • 26
    Dutch Landscape Painting until 1689
    This lecture continues with Ruisdael's painting before continuing with two other prominent landscape painters, Philips de Koninck and Meindert Hobbema. x
  • 27
    Marine Painting
    Marine painting—seascapes, beach scenes, lakes, and rivers—unsurprisingly received its first complete exploration by Dutch artists, who came from a nation that had a great navy and was under constant threat of flooding from the sea. x
  • 28
    The Moral of the Story—History Painting
    Although Dutch art is especially known for its specialties, from portraiture to landscape, many Dutch artists also made history paintings, depicting elevated narrative subjects from the Bible, mythology, and ancient or modern political history. x
  • 29
    The Decoration of the Amsterdam Town Hall
    The Town Hall of Amsterdam, when opened in 1655, was considered one of the grandest and most significant buildings in the country. We look at the art commissioned to adorn it. x
  • 30
    Rembrandt to 1630
    The first of seven lectures on Rembrandt includes details about two of his early self-portraits and two significant history paintings that signaled his lifelong dedication to the subject matter in which he would become pre-eminent. x
  • 31
    Rembrandt in Amsterdam, 1631–34
    This examination of Rembrandt's first years in Amsterdam, to which he moved permanently in 1631, includes Saskia, which may be his first portrait–even a wedding portrait–of Saskia van Uylenburgh, the woman he married in 1634. x
  • 32
    Rembrandt and the Baroque Style
    Although he never left Holland, Rembrandt was acutely aware of the extroverted drama of the Baroque style that characterized much Italian and Flemish painting, and it found a place in his art, especially in the mid-1630s, when he painted some of his most dramatic works. x
  • 33
    Rembrandt's Personal Baroque Style
    In the decade that follows, Rembrandt moved away from apparent emulation and reinterpretation of the European Baroque style toward the full maturity of his thirties and a personal Baroque style with a full range of size, subject, and expression. x
  • 34
    Rembrandt's Etchings
    Rembrandt's technical and expressive command of etching was unequaled. This lecture describes the process and examines a dozen examples from the 1630s to the 1650s. x
  • 35
    Rembrandt in the 1650s
    This lecture looks at portraits and religious paintings infused with the ever-deepening emotion and inwardness of Rembrandt's art that we first saw in several etchings discussed in the previous lecture. x
  • 36
    Rembrandt's Last Years
    This final lecture features some memorable paintings of the last decade of Rembrandt's life. It discusses the fascination Dutch artists showed in creating their seemingly realistic record of the world with a lifelikeness and truthfulness that have made Dutch art of the Golden Age recognized everywhere. x

Lecture Titles

Clone Content from Your Professor tab

What's Included

What Does Each Format Include?

Video DVD
Instant Video Includes:
  • Download 36 video lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
DVD Includes:
  • 36 lectures on 6 DVDs
  • 208-page printed course guidebook

What Does The Course Guidebook Include?

Video DVD
Course Guidebook Details:
  • 208-page printed course guidebook
  • List of works discussed
  • Suggested readings
  • Questions to consider

Enjoy This Course On-the-Go with Our Mobile Apps!*

  • App store App store iPhone + iPad
  • Google Play Google Play Android Devices
  • Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Tablet + Firephone
*Courses can be streamed from anywhere you have an internet connection. Standard carrier data rates may apply in areas that do not have wifi connections pursuant to your carrier contract.

Your professor

William Kloss

About Your Professor

William Kloss, M.A.
Independent Art Historian
Professor William Kloss is an independent art historian and scholar who lectures and writes about a wide range of European and American art. He was educated at Oberlin College, where he earned a B.A. in English and an M.A. in Art History. He continued his postgraduate work on a teaching fellowship at the University of Michigan and was then awarded a Fulbright Fellowship for two years of study in Rome. As Assistant Professor...
Learn More About This Professor
Also By This Professor

Reviews

Dutch Masters: The Age of Rembrandt is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 70.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from teaching with joy Great knowledge of the field . Well organized course. The professor enjoys teaching the material.
Date published: 2019-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've been waiting for the streaming version! I wanted to own this course but didn't want to buy the DVD. Who uses DVDs anymore? FINALLY, you issued the streaming version and I snapped it up! Another Kloss masterpiece. In fact, it could be the best one he's done. Clearly, he loves the Dutch Masters and for good reason.
Date published: 2019-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Teacher Mr. Kloss loves his subject, takes art history seriously, and has an obvious deep regard for artists and their accomplishments. This is essential in a teacher. He does a good job of tying Dutch history tightly together with the lives of its painters, and I appreciated that very much. I have trouble absorbing history without this focus on individual biographies. I learned a lot.
Date published: 2018-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Inspired a trip to the Netherlands I missed a Smithsonian lecture on Rembrandt, so I bought this course instead. I had watched another Great Courses set with Professor Kloss and thought it was very informative. In this course, I really enjoyed learning about the historical background behind the artists and artwork, and learned about artists I had never heard of. After watching 36 lectures, I was inspired to travel to the Netherlands and see Haarlem and the work of Frans Hals in person, as well as many Rembrandts and other Dutch masters. These courses provided both the inspiration for the trip, and great background from which to approach my travels. Thank you Great Courses and Professor Kloss.
Date published: 2018-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dutch Masters: The Age of Rembrandt Really great and informative information. Would recommend to others.
Date published: 2018-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Don't be misled by the professor's low-key delivery. He loves this art and it is a pleasure to hear him savor the historical and psychological aspects of great paintings.
Date published: 2018-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Professor Kloss is beyond wonderful in his breadth of knowledge of art, of history, of culture. He passes on to us not only the view of hundreds of the era's paintings, but the language of describing art, of seeing behind the scene to the references made by certain recurring images (spilled wine, watches, sculls...) the history of specific paintings, the biographical background of these artists.... His elegant presentation and generous descriptions are to appealing, I can't wait to start all over again. This is the third of his series we have watched and I want to see them all.
Date published: 2017-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Background, Great Examples My husband and I watched this two lectures at a time. Now everything we see looks like a painting. There is just enough historical and contextual background to inform the marvelous examples. I have seen some of these works in museums, but have not been able to travel to see all of them. The lecturer is quietly witty and wonderfully in love with the subject. It's great to spend time with someone who enjoys sharing art.
Date published: 2017-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the Dutch Masters The Dutch paintings always stick in my memory after seeing them in museums. Now I have a better idea as to why.
Date published: 2017-06-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Information Good facts about the artist and the painting. But, would have liked more about painting procedures and skills.
Date published: 2017-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Prof Kloss blends art and history so well. Good background for a planned trip to Amsterdam
Date published: 2017-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Intellect and Emotion SO in Harmony w. Dr. Kloss This review is simultaneously for Dutch Masters (course 7180) and World’s Greatest Paintings (7126), both presented by Dr. Kloss. Not to worry: comments regarding the two courses close out my review. But most important is the information in my review on Dr. Kloss. Simply put, Dr. Kloss is an utterly superb speaker and lecturer. But choice of superlative adjectives on my part still would not convey much to you. Instead then, I give the following characterization of this truly outstanding lecturer. 100% objective fact-of-the-matter is that this speaker has no “uh”s in his speech – completely devoid of them. Such a fact is not crucially important. However, if a speaker is “always” saying “uh”, then the ever-present “uh”s can be a distraction. Nonetheless, it is not opinion here. Dr. Kloss does not say “uh”. OK, more substantively now: Dr. Kloss is a high-precision speaker – both literally (in his enunciation) and semantically (in his excellent word choices). Borrowing the language of linguistics, Dr. Kloss’ prosody (or melody of speech) is not cold and removed and overly-studied for such an erudite and high-precision speaker. I have heard (CD) a Great Course wherein such was the case: a high-precision speaker who was erudite but delivered in a totally overly-studied manner – as if he were reading the “book report” he wrote. Such cold, withdrawn, overly-studied speaking is NOT Dr. Kloss. Enough on that analysis of Dr. Kloss’ speaking manner and on to THE MOST IMPORTANT POINT I HAVE TO MAKE IN MY ENTIRE REVIEW: Dr. Kloss is SIMULTANEOUSLY and FULLY-HARMONIOUSLY COMBINING INTELLECTUAL IDEAS AND EMOTION in what he presents. For being such an erudite, knowledgeable, well-controlled, well-organized, high-precision enunciator, and high-precision semantics chooser, it is truly remarkable how much emotion Dr. Kloss conveys. Some of his descriptions brought tears to my eyes. But, totally honestly, a couple (or more) times I literally had tears in my eyes due to Dr. Kloss’ presentation itself: how wonderfully he engaged my cognitive mind and my emotion and that he did that for me – well I was literally weeping with joy. In our world are so many things we do for each other: cashiers taking our money, folks changing the oil in our car, doctors trying to fix us, et cetera. That’s great that we don’t have to do it all ourselves, á la Robinson Crusoe. But then there are folks that purely bring us joy: entertainers, athletes, artists, musicians. And then there’s Dr. Kloss who simultaneously – and fully and deeply – engages our cognitive mind and deep emotion. I’m tearing up even thinking about how this person accomplished this for me. That (preceeding paragraph) may – to you my review reader – seem overly hyperbolic, but, it is not. I literally was weepy with the beauty of it all – the art, the understanding, the emotion, and the emotion from what Dr. Kloss himself was doing (the meta-knowledge that he was doing it). Somehow I hope Dr. Kloss receives word of this review. I want to thank him for the marvelous way he so fully engaged me both intellectually and emotionally. And I hope Dr. Kloss continues to live with a very much longer and very happy life. He SO enriched my life. Interestingly – and then my promised comparison of the two courses – Dr. Kloss himself spoke words on the topic of combining the intellect and emotion. In the World’s Greatest painting course, Dr. Kloss said, quote: “Emotion and intellect are not separate analytical concepts. But intertwining strands in a living painting.” Dr. Kloss: you made me weep with joy realizing how you did this yourself in your presentation. I wish you a long and happy life still to come. Continuing the thought, Dr. Kloss said in lecture 6 of the 7126 course, “…self confident robust man who seems to be the embodiment of the ideal Renaissance humanism. A person whose intellect and emotions are in perfect harmony and under the control of wisdom.” That well-developed sentiment, my dear (and patient) review reader, is fully the case with Dr. Kloss himself. As for the two courses, I preferred slightly the Dutch Masters (7180) over World’s Greatest Paintings (7126). 7126 has equal counts per allotted historical time period of the paintings. I see no need for that. For example if there were more superb candidates in say the Renaissance or Baroque era, then include more of those era’s paintings than in the middle ages or more modern era. The other small quibble is that I think the World’s Greatest course over-emphasized religious paintings. The 7180 (Dutch Masters) course I therefore liked better. There is a surprising variety there (hence the 36 lectures). The subtitle about “age of Rembrandt” is very misleading. The Dutch Masters is not Rembrandt + footnotes! Still, if you want an even larger variety, then the World’s Greatest will have that – including, by the way, many paintings from the Dutch Masters (some of which are merely referenced rather than “selected”). But don’t get me wrong: There were paintings I loved in the Greatest Paintings course and they were not just the selections from the Dutch masters that were what I liked. Really I think you should get both courses.
Date published: 2017-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better Than Going To A Gallery I watched this course on my 46" TV. I thought it was like I was at the art gallery and had my own personal tour of the Dutch Masters. Professor Kloss seemed very knowledgeable on the subject. His presentation was very professional. There were times I thought he should stop speaking so to keep up with what he had to say. I found myself dosing off once in a while and had to rewind the DVD to catch up. (That's just my usual response in a learning situation.) Some times I thought Professor Kloss interjected a little more than what was actually in the picture. It was good to see all the different paintings by different artist. Great course!
Date published: 2016-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enlightening and satisfying This is my first course (DVD) by Professor Kloss and certainly will not be my last. He combines elegance, enthusiasm, restraint and eloquence in a pleasing lecture style. He clearly loves the art and the artists of this course and works to reveal their greatness to us. As an old Art History major, I have heard and seen my share of lectures and lecturers. Professor Kloss is exceptional. I seemed to flow through the course with a continued curiosity and eagerness for each coming lecture. Learning about the Dutch Masters: The Age of Rembrandt was fascinating and well-organized and I am left with a greater understanding and appreciation of the era. I will probably watch it again. Professor Kloss has a dignified and restrained style and his voice is very pleasant as well. I think you can tell I liked it very much!
Date published: 2016-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good overview Kloss does a good job of presenting a wide array of artists and paintings. He is a practiced presenter; he has learned good moments to pause and make a clarification or aside, even if the asides are sometimes fussy. He follows solid teaching guidelines (present a framework, fill it in slowly, illustrate, and branch to associated material). Visuals are excellent, used at both whole object and detail level, w on screen text and pointers. Some context/history is usually provided, making the material more meaningful to contemporary minds. A negative note: Kloss heavily sprinkles lessons with empty superlatives (beautiful, lovely, wonderful) which is not expected by a university lecturer -- it becomes annoying. Also, while it is important to guide the viewer’s eye and teach how to see keenly, once this is established in early lectures more time could have been spent on artist technique and context vs just explaining what is in the picture. Overall, a generous survey of Dutch art; one that begs further study.
Date published: 2015-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Professor Kloss, TTC hit another home run I am running out of superlatives when reviewing courses from Professor Kloss. My interest in Dutch art prior to watching the lectures was minimal; but, as usual, Professor Kloss's knowledge, presentation, and passion enabled me to view these works in a new light and to appreciate the particular genius of the "close looking" and detail characteristic of so much Dutch art. Outstanding in every respect and a "must-own" for anyone with an interest in art.
Date published: 2014-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Kloss Masterpiece Reviews are extremely consistent that this is a great course. I could not agree more. The elegant and passionate Dr. Kloss is certainly one of the stars of TGC. Shame for anyone with the slightest interest in art , to miss this!! Although the same could be said of any of this courses !
Date published: 2014-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent with a few reservations DVD review. Prof. Kloss' DUTCH MASTERS: THE AGE OF REMBRANDT is an extensive exploration of Holland's golden age of painting. Three giants in particular stand out — Frans Hals, Vermeer and Rembrandt. Why was Holland so artistically productive during the 17th Century? Long interludes of peace, and prosperity born of international trade created new wealth, spread widely. This led to new, more spacious housing that required decorating. At the same time, Protestant values swept away demand for old-style images of saints and clergy. Newly-wealthy patrons wanted a celebration of their good fortune within a Calvinist framework of hard work, sobriety and communal solidarity. DUTCH MASTERS covers many paintings embodying these values, divided by artist and genre. Landscapes, seascapes, still lives, historical paintings — most betray an appreciation of realism down to the last nail and rig. The town and family portraits, especially, often mix small moral lessons with warts-and-all snapshots. "Well done is better than well said." "Who has deceived thee so oft as thy self?" "Keep conscience clear. Then never fear." These words come from Benjamin Franklin a century later, but their Calvinist roots express Dutch values nicely. There is a sad, omnipresent feeling of time flitting between everyone's fingers. Kloss' focus are the individual works one-by-one, explained in voice-over. We look at each painting as a whole, with perhaps too few zoom-ins for details. To be honest, in some cases such as marine paintings and still lives, I skipped along after 1-2 examples. The details offered far exceeded my level of interest. I filed these lessons away for future use should the need arise. This is not Kloss' fault; just my limitations. He is a good presenter. _____________________ And now for the 3 giants: — The 3 Frans Hals lessons were a memorable introduction to the man and the civic group portrait genre he is most associated with. — Vermeer too gets 3 lessons with many insights into the odd conjoining of intimacy and distance his little domestic scenes provide. We catch a glimpse of private moments, and yet remain outsiders. As for the man, he remains a mystery. In Kloss' opinion, "Girl with a Pearl Earring", as novel or film, does not shed new light unfortunately. — The Rembrandt section was the most disappointing to me, despite the 7 lessons devoted to his works. Kloss does a good job when explaining individual paintings, but offers little insight into the man's ultimate bankruptcy. Yes, he overspent on his house and art collection. He was a poor manager. But at some point, Rembrandt parted ways with the values of patrons he pursued successfully in his early career. What happened? Clearly, loss of ability was not the problem. Since we know him only through his paintings, detective work and educated guesses are in order. And yet Kloss is not interested. __________________ PRESENTATION was great, overall. Kloss is a learned man with a down-to-earth fluidity of expression. The only issue perhaps is that 36 lessons are a big time investment if your interest in Dutch painting is only casual. Despite my beef with his Rembrandt section, it and the whole course are a fascinating overview of a large topic that illuminate your study of narrower Dutch topics should you feel so inclined. It also follows very well after TTC's equally excellent NORTHERN RENAISSANCE course. Strongly recommended for art enthusiasts.
Date published: 2014-02-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I Can't Believe It Understanding the Dutch Masters is incredibly important to any art history student, but Dr. Kloss has a slow, klunky, style. It's clear he never took any course on how to be a good instructor. He's so bad, I can't believe that anyone would like him. I certainly hope "The Great Courses" company will find a replacement for him.
Date published: 2013-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Kloss Gem I have a confession to make: at the start of my first course with Professor Kloss, I didn't care for him. His manner seemed arrogant. His need to mention the dimensions of each painting and other details that seemed unimportant to me was off-putting. His wishing us "good morning" before each odd numbered lecture and "good afternoon" before each even numbered lecture seemed really goofy. And his trademark "thank you for your attention" at the end of each lecture began to grate. But, somewhere along the way in that first course, I realized that my concerns about these mannerisms of the good professor were silly and that the value in his teaching was really extraordinary. This is now my third experience with Professor Kloss, and I have only positive, very positive, things to say about this course on the Dutch Masters. The gems within the course are clearly the lectures on Hals, Vermeer, and Rembrandt. The works of the great masters are so superb and Kloss's treatment of them is so outstanding that whatever your feelings about Dutch painting generally you owe it to yourself to take the course for these lessons alone. Though I was less interested in the full treatment of the history, religion, and culture of 17th century Holland, I'm glad I was patient through those lectures in which Kloss set the context. As always, such learning makes one's appreciation of the art that much richer. While some of the "minor" masters didn't impress me much, I was extremely glad to experience Kloss's teaching of Jan Steen, De Hooch, the Van Ruisdaels, and Cuyp. There are so many commendable features to Professor Kloss's instruction - his deep background in the art and its times, the hard work he has done over many years to master the subjects he teaches, and the passion and intelligence he brings to interpreting and exploring the art. I want, however, to focus on one aspect of his teaching that perhaps impresses me the most. He will often put his attention and ours on elements of paintings that tend to escape one's notice. There may be a character on the periphery. Or there may be a child or an animal that might seem incidental to the main action of the scene. Or there may be some small interaction between the characters, or an unusual facial feature or pose, or some seemingly indistinct action in the distance. Kloss is brilliant about noticing all such things, putting the camera closely on them, and enriching our understanding of these great paintings by emphasizing the "small things." These are the criteria for judging an art course, not the mannerisms of the teacher that once foolishly concerned me. As to what matters most, Kloss is 5 stars all the way.
Date published: 2013-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and Inspiring This is the second course in which I have been privileged to learn from Professor Kloss, one of the most able, approachable, and inspiring teachers I have encountered in the marvelous offerings of the Teaching Company. His love for his material shows in every word and gesture, and he successfully imparts that enthusiasm to those of us lucky enough to be watching his lectures. As to the content of the course? Incredibly splendid! Just before taking this course I had finished "Art of the Northern Renaissance," by Professor Catherine Scallen, and it was a perfect introduction to this course. Together, they allow one to survey the wonderful art, in several different media, produced from the 13th through the 17th centuries. Not only are the individual works of art described (and celebrated) in wonderful depth, but viewers are given insight into the times of the artists as well as some of their own personal journeys and travails. How I wish this had been a much longer course -- not because I feel Professor Kloss hurried or left out material, but because with his stimulating and uplifting lectures the time flew by. This course -- and this professor -- are gems! Highly recommended!
Date published: 2012-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An era of amazing breadth If you've taken an art appreciation course, you probably know Rembrandt and Vermeer, and maybe Hals and Steen. But they are just the tip of the iceberg, as you will learn in this captivating course from Prof. William Kloss. He provides a historical background for the golden age of Dutch art, and then takes us through the principal genres, providing hundreds of visual examples. He gives extra time to the "big names" (Rembrandt gets 7 lectures) but includes dozens of lesser-known artists as well. The course book contains details on every painting, in case you want to follow up on some favorites. Prof. Kloss spends enough time with each painting to let you examine details, and the visual production by TGC is quite good. (My only production question is: why do many of the paintings appear square when they are first shown, when they are actually oblong?) This is an enlightening course from a man who clearly knows and loves his subject matter. Extra points to Prof. Kloss for taking time to explain the Scriptural background for the many religious paintings that are included. My wife and I are planning a European trip next year, and I am definitely heading to the art museums to see many of these great works.
Date published: 2012-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from another wonderful course from Dr. Kloss This is indeed another excellent course by Dr. Kloss. He took an interesting subject which is less well studied by most students and made it interesting and memorable. It is a course worth studied over and over again. Thanks for such a high quality course. Perhaps the Great Courses would consider doing courses which are more specific, going deeper rather than just broad reviews.
Date published: 2012-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Marvelous Course Prof. William Kloss is an articulate lecturer that provides an astonishing depth of insight into the historical context and development of the Dutch Masters and of their paintings. He makes these gifted artists come alive with their innovative talent to depict life! I marvel at his succinct elocution to identify the detail greatness of each painting. This series invigorates in me the desire to return to The Netherlands so as to stand with a much better understanding and appreciation of the Dutch Masters' art.
Date published: 2012-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A master teacher of the Dutch Masters Well I am going to continue the unanimous streak of five star ratings enjoyed by Prof. Kloss. "Eye candy" is a phrase that comes to mind when reflecting on this visually stunning course; masterfully, I say masterfully presented by a master teacher. The phrase Dutch Masters has such heft within the world of art because of the great number of painters and sheer volume of their output. In the 16th and 17th centuries, the Dutch single-handedly invented a new economic model, called capitalism. The incredible wealth generated by this new economic system made the Dutch some of the wealthiest burgers in all of Europe. For this reason the middle-class, for the first time in history, was capable of not only patronizing the arts but directly commissioning artists too. Formally, only institutions, nobles and governments could afford such patronage. With their newfound wealth the Dutch middle-class came out in force to have their lives, homes, cities, waterways, families and landscapes painted in such profusion that it takes, today, a 36-lecture course just to skim over the top and provide you with a survey of only the most important works. Prof. Kloss takes you through these paintings by category, style, genre, artist and period. Not only do you get to see the wonderful paintings but also delicious pieces of information about the artist, the times, motivations and distractions that all went into the mix of each particular work. So, if you have marveled at the artists of the Italian, French and German schools and their modicum of work, you will be blown away by the explosive quantity and variety of the Dutch Masters.
Date published: 2012-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truly wonderful course! This is my 27th review of Great Courses and prior to watching this course I watched Professor Kloss's World's Greatest Paintings. I wondered if I would find this course too confined in subject but found that instead it gave great insight into a prolific era in painting. He begins with the history of the reformation and counter reformation that defined the era and set the stage for why the Dutch of this era produced the paintings that they did and in such numbers. The structure of the course could not be better. He discusses the paintings by type and by painter but he does not hesitate to deviate from this format where it helps to explain the paintings. While I enjoyed his World's Greatest Art I must say that I thought this course was truly masterful. If I had to choose one or the other I would choose this one although both are well worth adding to your library of courses. There are some oddities including occasional reference to "Good Morning" or "Good Afternoon" which I am sure was correct for the audience but since this was being done for DVD presentation it comes across as odd. Not off putting but odd. Also mention is made of his background with a BA and MA and on screen he is shown with a Ph.D. but source is not mentioned. Not that it matters since he is a recognized expert in his field but it is always interesting to know. For example his BA and MA are from Oberlin and in both this course and the one on World's Greatest Paintings he includes works in the Oberlin museum. I mention this for information but it in no way detracts from the courses. I can remember as a college student spending hours in the Louvre in front of Rembrandt's paintings as well as those of other Dutch painters. This is not my field, only one I find of interest, and while I enjoy many different types of art I am drawn to the Dutch painters of this era. Now I know why! I can not only recommend this course but highly recommend it. It enlightened me on many aspects of Dutch painting which I have enjoyed over the years in museums around the world. After watching this course on my next visits I will have a much better understanding and am sure will enjoy them even more.
Date published: 2012-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dutch Masters: a course given by a master Porfessor Kloss is in every way a remarkable mentor with his affable presence, vivacious intelligence and wit and his command of the English language which combine to offer his seemingly infinitely detailed knowledge and his profound love of his subject to us with great care. This course must surely be an inspiration to aspiring teachers let alone those interested in the course subject. This course is the culmination of a study I began in 1983, leading me to the brush, pigments and canvass to explore my way through the art of painting, having brought my most revered works to life in my soul on this journey through this most sublime period of oil-painting given in this course. Thank you so much for the astonishing sensitivity with which you imparted this material - it is now a useful source to which I shall return time and again. How can school systems endure without this sort of knowledge being sought and presented?
Date published: 2011-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Professor Kloss's Best! While I have all of Professor Kloss's wonderful courses on art and have enjoyed them all, I think this course is his very best. His knowledge of and enthusiasm for Dutch art of this period absolutely shine through every lecture. I especially liked the mix of lectures on specific artists and specific subjects. Pictures were thus covered that might not have been if only one approach were taken. There were many works in this course that were new to me, which made it even more informative. The professor's insights into the cultural context of the time add greatly to an understanding of its art. This course cannot be too highly recommended!
Date published: 2011-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Course In reading the reviews of this course it seems that all of the possible superlatives have been mentioned. They are well deserved. Mr. Kloss’s enthusiasm for Dutch art of this period is infectious. In particular, I found his effort to explain aesthetic themes in relation to religious, political, and social paradigms of the era to be fascinating. Like most moderns I had considered French painting of the 19th century to be the final word in the history of art. After Mr. Kloss’ course I have had to reconsidered this notion.
Date published: 2011-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Watch this, then visit! Prof. Kloss has done it again--another brilliant, informative course. My husband and I watched this one before visiting Holland and Germany. We are museum people, and during our trip we visited many of the Dutch and Munich museums featured in the course. We found we got so much more out of what we were seeing as a result. (Just getting to the museums was fun. The Dutch trains are easy to use, so don't hesitate to branch out from Amsterdam.) Prof. Kloss has a way of making you really look and see things you never noticed before. I recommend this course for all travelers who plan to take in some art as well as experience the current culture in this part of Europe.
Date published: 2011-05-29
  • y_2019, m_12, d_8, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_64
  • loc_en_US, sid_7180, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 50.76ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Customers Who Bought This Course Also Bought

Buy together as a Set
and
Save Up To $14.00
Choose a Set Format
$115.90