From Jesus to Constantine: A History of Early Christianity

Course No. 6577
Professor Bart D. Ehrman, Ph.D., M.Div.
The University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Share This Course
4.2 out of 5
90 Reviews
62% of reviewers would recommend this product
Course No. 6577
Streaming Included Free

Course Overview

In a world where Christianity has been, in the words of Professor Bart D. Ehrman, "the most powerful religious, political, social, cultural, economic, and intellectual institution in the history of Western civilization," most of us have grown up believing we know the answers to these questions:

  • Were the early Christians really hunted down and martyred, with repeated persecutions for an illegal religion forcing them to hide in the catacombs of Rome?
  • Did the ancient Jews of Jesus' time always believe in a single, all-powerful God?
  • How did breaking away from their Jewish roots make Christians more vulnerable in the Roman world?
  • What were the origins of what we now consider the distinctively Christian liturgical practices of baptism and the Eucharist?

But do we know the answers? As this course shows, the answers are, in fact, quite surprising.

See How Today's Christianity Emerged

The traditional form of Christianity we know today includes beliefs, practices, a canon of sacred scripture, and even its own stated history, but it emerged only after many years of transition and conflict—with Judaism and with what can now only be called the "lost Christianities."

That term, of course, is familiar to anyone who has taken Professor Ehrman's earlier course, Lost Christianities: Christian Scriptures and the Battles over Authentication.

And now Professor Ehrman, whose previous and popular efforts for The Teaching Company also include The Historical Jesus and The New Testament, has created a course that places those forgotten forms of the faith in an even broader context.

From the Religion of Jesus to a Religion about Jesus

These lectures take you back to Christianity's first three centuries to explain its transition from the religion of Jesus to a religion about Jesus.

It introduces you to lost Christianities and their sacred writings. And it shows how many of those writings were originally proscribed or destroyed, only to be rediscovered in modern times.

You also learn how a single group from among many won the struggle for dominance, which allowed it to:

  • Establish the beliefs central to the faith
  • Rewrite the history of Christianity's internal conflicts
  • Produce a canon of sacred texts—the New Testament—that supported its own views.

From 20 Followers … to Two Billion

These lectures offer a fresh and provocative perspective on what are perhaps the most intriguing questions of all:

How could a movement originally made up of perhaps only 20 low-class followers of a Jewish apocalyptic preacher crucified as an enemy of the state grow to include nearly four million adherents in only 300 years?

And how would it eventually become the largest religion in the world, with some two billion adherents?

To answer those questions, Professor Ehrman examines Christianity from several directions:

  • The faith's beginnings, starting with the historical Jesus and the other individuals and traditions that formed the foundation of the emerging religion
  • Jewish-Christian relations, including the rise of anti-Judaism within the Christian church and the emergence of Christianity as a religion different from and ultimately opposed to the Jewish religion from which it emerged
  • The way Paul and other Christians spread the new faith, including the message they proclaimed and their approaches to winning converts
  • Hostility to the Christian mission from those who were not persuaded to convert and who considered Christianity to be dangerous or antisocial, leading to the persecutions of the 2nd and 3rd centuries
  • Internal struggles within the faith, as Christians with divergent understandings sought to make their beliefs the ones that defined the one "true" faith
  • The factors that led to the formation of traditional Christianity we know today, with its canon of New Testament scriptures, set creeds, liturgical practices such as baptism and the Eucharist, and church hierarchy.

Christianity's Evolution from Judaism

In tracing the process by which Christianity evolved from its origins within Judaism to become something dramatically different, Professor Ehrman discusses how most Jews simply weren't willing to accept Jesus as the Messiah.

Professor Ehrman conveys the Jewish perspective on what the Messiah would be like. And you learn how much of it was based on Jesus' own teachings, which the early Christians were attempting to alter in trying to gain Jewish converts.

But he also explains how early Christianity, even though it was increasingly at odds with Judaism, also found a degree of legitimacy under its umbrella.

Professor Ehrman points out that this was a time when ancientness itself was essential for a faith seeking acceptance. So as Christianity separated from Judaism, it sought a means of asserting ancient roots in its own right.

Learn Christianity's Argument for Its Ancient Roots

Christianity argued its ancient roots by retaining the Jewish scriptures and arguing that it was, in fact, the fulfillment of what those scriptures had promised.

Throughout these lectures, Professor Ehrman challenges old misconceptions and offers fresh perspectives on aspects of Christianity and its roots that many of us might have thought we already understood. For example:

  • The five common myths about early Christianity, including that it was illegal in the early empire and that Christians were pursued and persecuted: It was not declared illegal until the middle of the 3rd century, and was tolerated in most places, just as other religions were.
  • The belief that early Judaism was exclusively monotheistic: Although Judaism was unusual in the Roman world in that Jews insisted on worshipping only one god, you learn that there is good evidence that at different periods in history, Jews—like others in those pagan times—believed in the existence of multiple gods.
  • The development of the New Testament canon was as a way to both differentiate Christians from Jews and also create a body of text substantiating their views.
  • The roots of baptism and the Eucharist are in Jewish liturgical traditions and rumors about the alleged licentiousness of the baptism ceremony led apologists such as Justin Martyr and Tertullian to write publicly about those heretofore secret practices.
  • Wild charges of child sacrifices, cannibalism, and licentiousness were often made against Christians, and the persecutions that did occur.
  • Walter Bauer's research revealed that many forms of Christianity deemed heretical were, in fact, the earliest forms that could found in most places.
  • The movement by church scholars of the early 16th century to once again create from surviving Greek texts a New Testament in the original Greek, and how forgery often reared its head.

These lectures are an engaging experience that will increase your understanding of Christianity today. They offer you a scholar's perspective on the origins of what Professor Ehrman describes as the most important institution in Western civilization.

Hide Full Description
24 lectures
 |  Average 30 minutes each
  • 1
    The Birth of Christianity
    This lecture introduces some issues essential to understanding how Christianity began, grew away from its Jewish roots, and ultimately became the most important religion of our civilization. x
  • 2
    The Religious World of Early Christianity
    This lecture introduces the pagan, polytheistic religions that dominated the early world and the most important Roman religion for the birth of Christianity: Judaism, the religion of Jesus and his followers. x
  • 3
    The Historical Jesus
    In the first of three lectures on the "birth" of Christianity, Professor Ehrman examines the life of Jesus of Nazareth, as referred to both outside the New Testament and within the Gospels themselves. x
  • 4
    Oral and Written Traditions about Jesus
    This lecture looks at how four anonymous authors who lived decades after Jesus recorded traditions that had been circulating orally over the intervening years, and examines the extent to which those traditions had been modified in the retelling. x
  • 5
    The Apostle Paul
    Based on a visionary experience of the resurrected Jesus, a Jewish Pharisee converts to Christianity and begins an intense missionary experience to win over non-Jews to faith in Jesus. x
  • 6
    The Beginning of Jewish-Christian Relations
    In the first of three lectures dealing with the relationship of Jews and Christians in the ancient world, we consider how Christianity started as a sect within Judaism, yet quickly became a religion separate from Judaism. x
  • 7
    The Anti-Jewish Use of the Old Testament
    How could most early Christians, who held on to the Jewish Scriptures as revelations from God, claim these Scriptures for their own when they did not follow many of the laws set forth in them? This lecture considers two key figures in the early Christian-Jewish debates. x
  • 8
    The Rise of Christian Anti-Judaism
    This lecture explores the social and historical situations that led to the rejection of Judaism by many Christians in the centuries after Christ. x
  • 9
    The Early Christian Mission
    This is the first of two lectures specifically exploring how Christianity became, in only 300 years, a world religion that commanded the attention and, eventually, respect of the Roman society and government. x
  • 10
    The Christianization of the Roman Empire
    In this lecture, we will move into the periods of the Christian mission after Paul to see how far and how quickly the religion spread, the reasons for its success, and its ultimate reach to the upper echelons of the Roman government. x
  • 11
    The Early Persecutions of the State
    In the first of four lectures dealing with persecution and martyrdom in the early church, Professor Ehrman examines some graphic early accounts and considers why these persecutions took place and the Christian reaction to them. x
  • 12
    The Causes of Christian Persecution
    This lecture provides a historical sketch of the course of persecution from the 1st to 3rd centuries, asking what motivated the two most common kinds of violence against Christians: grassroots persecutions and those ordered by the state. x
  • 13
    Christian Reactions to Persecution
    Many early Christians recanted their faith in the face of persecution, but many others stayed faithful to what they believed. x
  • 14
    The Early Christian Apologists
    This lecture examines the strategies of an elite group of Christian intellectuals who defended Christianity against the charges of atheism and immorality commonly leveled against them, focusing on the work of one of the most interesting of them, Athenagoras. x
  • 15
    The Diversity of Early Christian Communities
    This is the first of four lectures that will consider the wide-ranging theological diversity of early Christianity and the internal conflicts that emerged as Christians tried to determine once and for all the "right" beliefs and practices. x
  • 16
    Christianities of the Second Century
    Many groups of Christians in the 2nd century claimed to have the only true understanding of the faith, including three that are the focus of this lecture: Ebionites, Marcionites, and Gnostics. x
  • 17
    The Role of Pseudepigrapha
    This lecture considers several of the supporting—and usually forged—"sacred texts" possessed by the various groups of Christians arguing for their own version of the faith. x
  • 18
    The Victory of the Proto-Orthodox
    This lecture examines how the conflicts were waged between "heretical" forms of Christianity and the proto-orthodox Christians who eventually established themselves as dominant. x
  • 19
    The New Testament Canon
    This is the first of five lectures devoted to the question of how traditional Christianity—with its canon of Scripture, creeds, liturgy, and church offices—emerged out of the conflicts of the 2nd and 3rd centuries. x
  • 20
    The Development of Church Offices
    This lecture considers the movement from the charismatic organization of the early churches founded by Paul to the official church hierarchy in place by the end of the 4th century, with its elders, deacons, priests, and bishops. x
  • 21
    The Rise of Christian Liturgy
    This is an in-depth look at how Christian liturgical practices arose, particularly those that became virtually universal throughout the church: baptism and the Eucharist. x
  • 22
    The Beginnings of Normative Theology
    This lecture considers the development of a normative theology among the proto-orthodox, who insisted that believing the "right" things was essential for salvation and who took care, therefore, to formulate correct doctrine and differentiate it from false doctrine. x
  • 23
    The Doctrine of the Trinity
    This lecture considers the most distinctive theological development of early Christianity, the doctrine of the Trinity: God exists in three entities—the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit—who are equal and distinct but make up one God. x
  • 24
    Christianity and the Conquest of Empire
    This concluding lecture considers the character of Christianity at the beginning of the 4th century and its enormous consequences for the history of Western civilization. x

Lecture Titles

Clone Content from Your Professor tab

What's Included

What Does Each Format Include?

Video DVD
Instant Video Includes:
  • Download 24 video lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
Instant Audio Includes:
  • Download 24 audio lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE audio streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
DVD Includes:
  • 24 lectures on 4 DVDs
  • 152-page printed course guidebook
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps

What Does The Course Guidebook Include?

Video DVD
Course Guidebook Details:
  • 152-page printed course guidebook
  • Suggested readings
  • Questions to consider
  • Timeline

Enjoy This Course On-the-Go with Our Mobile Apps!*

  • App store App store iPhone + iPad
  • Google Play Google Play Android Devices
  • Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Tablet + Firephone
*Courses can be streamed from anywhere you have an internet connection. Standard carrier data rates may apply in areas that do not have wifi connections pursuant to your carrier contract.

Your professor

Bart D. Ehrman

About Your Professor

Bart D. Ehrman, Ph.D., M.Div.
The University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Dr. Bart D. Ehrman is the James A. Gray Distinguished Professor at The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He completed his undergraduate work at Wheaton College and earned his M.Div. and Ph.D. from Princeton Theological Seminary. Professor Ehrman has written or edited 27 books, including four best sellers on The New York Times list: Misquoting Jesus: The Story behind Who Changed the Bible and Why; God’s...
Learn More About This Professor
Also By This Professor

Reviews

From Jesus to Constantine: A History of Early Christianity is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 90.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor course. It's a shame that the author himself is not a Christian because the Great Courses seem to be devoid of many true Christian authors. I wonder why that is?
Date published: 2018-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from OK As a concept your courses are great, yet you don't avail yourselves of medium features. It's all like attending a college lecture---indeed a good one---but when you're watching something you can check back, lecturer ought to be succinct and not repeat himself, even considering doing so in the live event is undeniably prudent. And I'd rather presumably the many possible visuals, even animations, than the lecturer's mug throughout. Your competition, UNIVERSE, a TV show with a tiny agenda compared to yours, and at a reasonable regular price (one has to watch for your sales), that you ought to review for everything they're doing right, and you're not doing. Last but not least, UNIVERSE comes in Blue Ray, don't we love Blue Ray!
Date published: 2018-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Evolution of Christianity It helped me piece together the development of different pre Constantine Christian groups to the resulting religion we experience today. Their creeds and beliefs were put together for me by Professor Ehrman. I ordered this course for my grandson as a present. He found it very informative too.
Date published: 2017-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great as Usual This is more in-depth than many of my Seminary Classes. I also get to play them again and again. I'm on my third time.
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My bible study group is using this series but I bought it for myself also. I find that the lectures are very interesting and very well presented. The series is outstanding!
Date published: 2017-06-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Pro-church Johnson acknowledges he's a believer, and officially lays out the need to examine his material according to the principles of academic history--but in the end this comes across as a pro-church polemic. As such, it was deeply disappointing, and at times even offensive, as he seems to slide into a tacit assumption that his audience sees the church (and often we're talking the Catholic Church) in the same positive light he does. Not trustworthy or, ultimately, very interesting. Plus, his delivery grates--too much over-intonation and over-enunciation. Skip it.
Date published: 2017-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Listened to These Episodes I had read a few of Ehrman's books, so I thought I would give his lecture episodes a shot. He covers much of the same information in his books, but I appreciated the breadth, depth, and scope of these lectures. A lot of historical research and source criticism went into these lectures. I think a lot of negative reviewers here misunderstand the academic project that Ehrman and scholars like him are engaged in. The starting point is not an assumption that Christianity or Christian scriptures represent the inerrant word of God; instead, Christianity is treated as a historical phenomenon and scriptures as literary and cultural productions. There is no attempt to "prove" any particular belief right or wrong. Instead, there is careful consideration of the evidence, and while one might quibble with particular interpretations of evidence, it seems that's not what negative reviewers here are doing. Instead, they are objecting to the very notion of religious studies as a non-devotional enterprise. Anyhow, I recommend these courses. But before you take my word for it, you should know that I also recommended the 1976 film "Bagley Falls Out The Window", and in retrospect, it's clear that film was really quite bad. In other words, my judgment is suspect, so listen to these episodes and decide for yourself. Also for a while I thought I was the reincarnation of the Emperor Constantine. After listening to Ehrman's lectures, I no longer think that. It was a mistake. Well, I think I'm going to end this review. The best part of these episodes is that there is a clear explanation of just what sorts of sources are out there for Early Christianity. As I said, time to end this review.
Date published: 2017-01-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not a history, but a well sustained point of view This course greatly disappointed me: not because it presented a well-argued and considered point of view that I personally disagree with, but because it presented this opinion as objective history. It is therefore tendentious in the strict sense of the word: the lecturer assumes the truth of his preferred reading of a complex set of historical materials, and then builds his narrative on that base. I waited for a degree of scholarly humility and perspective, for 'on the other hand', for 'according to other readings', for 'this point of view of course assumes....' but was disappointed, although I found it stimulating to identify those points on which the lecturer relies on assertion over demonstrable fact (ironically all the while endeavouring to apply a sceptical and objective standard himself). The historical narrative he provides is a compelling and internally coherent one, but it is just one narrow band of what is necessarily - objectively, historically (without venturing into matters of faith) - a broad spectrum of possibilities. Without engaging in armchair analysis, one is tempted to suspect that the lecturer has been on a complex personal pathway towards a more sceptical and agnostic position, from the 'pleasant harbourage of Faith', and - in a way that is wholly understandable, even sympathetic - wishes to illuminate this personal journey for others to follow. But this material would be more accurately presented as a more direct first person narrative than a formal 'history' as such. The course has at least led me to take up and read some of the standard histories of the early church - e.g. the Cambridge History of Christianity (Vol I), or even Henry Chadwick - with much greater appreciation and insight. There are some tremendous, rich, historiographical questions at stake here which merit a more systematic and inclusive account than this course provides.
Date published: 2016-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thought provoking and enjoyable A balanced historical approach to understanding a critical period in world history that still impacts every aspect of our world today. Fascinating to learn more about the actual sources of what I "know" about Jesus.
Date published: 2016-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Learned plenty This is a course in Christian and religious history, which gives an eye-opening knowledge of religion and its perspective in history. It helped me understand more on the Roman government. This course got me to a sequential understanding of emperors, and the ways they ruled.
Date published: 2016-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Course for understanding Christianity Having been in ministry for 41 years, I wish every serious Christian who wants to know more about Jesus and the development of Christianity would take this course.
Date published: 2016-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Essential Church History Since few Christians have a strong understanding of the formation of the Christian Church during the three centuries following the crucifixion of Christ, Professor Ehrman's course "From Jesus to Constantine" is a highly recommended and extremely worthwhile undertaking. He clearly and painstakingly explains a number of important developments in early Christianity, namely the reasons for the split between Christians and Jews, the origins of anti-Christian persecutions, and the emergence of a Christian proto-orthodoxy with its canon of scripture, liturgy, ecclesiastical offices, and doctrine. At the end of the course, Professor Ehrman leaves no doubt that the conversion to Christianity of the Emperor Constantine was an indispensable event in the growth and influence of the Church and as such is one of the key historical events in Western history.
Date published: 2015-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from From Jesus to Constantine: A History of Early Chr I LOVED this course. I give highest praises to Professor Ehrman in his flawless presentation skills--telling it in his own words rather than reading--and his objective presentation of the facts as they are known without injecting personal bias. I could tell he was careful to respect that. As a Sunday School teacher, Professor Ehrman's course has been invaluable to me not from a religious context, but adding additional dimension and perspective to the historical circumstances surrounding the doctrines. I've listened to this course twice, and learned so much more that I missed the first time, and will eagerly listen to it again in the near future. Very well done, engaging speaker to listen to, tastefully and respectfully presented--one of the best courses in my collection yet. Top marks and bravo Professor Ehrman--I look forward to more courses from you.
Date published: 2015-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb! Professor Ehrman is a rock star in the world of Christian history & this course is superb! I went from zero knowledge of the subject matter to being sufficiently proficient to impress my Christian friends & I'm not Christian! To those expecting a Sunday sermon, this is not such a course. Professor Ehrman's secular POV is well-known. But, for those interested in a first-rate history of Christianity, at least through the fourth century, I don't think Professor Ehrman can be surpassed. As for those quibbling with Professor's Ehrman's teaching style, such criticism is superfluous. Of course, he's referencing notes as professors customarily do in a classroom setting. His authoritative knowledge & presentation make this course very engrossing. Highly recommended!
Date published: 2015-04-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Much redundancy The lecturer basically reads his notes, then repeats what he just said in twice as many words. No need to watch the DVD... just read the accompanying booklet.
Date published: 2014-11-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from From Jesus to Constantine: A History of Early Chri Course content was good but the lecturer was stumbling and not very entertaining or interesting.
Date published: 2014-11-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from NO TITTLE The course is not altogether objective since it does not take in consideration professional references that are from the religious field, such as linguist in the Hebrew language and it does not take into account the new findings that the language of Jesus time and of the Jewish people of the era was Hebrew and not Aramaic as believed for a long time. New findings prove otherwise. Old references state otherwise.
Date published: 2014-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase A real eye-opener about Christianity. A great course by Prof. Bart D. Ehrman, as are all his courses. Would recommend this course to any person wishing to explore the roots of Christianity without any dogmatic preconceptions.
Date published: 2014-11-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Very Interesting to Me Though the topic is potentially interesting the way it is presented it falls flat. I found that the instructor spent most of the time reading from materials written in the early Christianity period. Periodically, he would add a little insight but not frequently enough to make the course interesting to me.
Date published: 2014-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Christian conquest of the West The rise of Christianity was obviously of pivotal importance to the course of Western culture and history. Prior to the rise of Christianity, most of the Roman Empire was populated by Polytheists (Pagans) – believing in many gods, and highly acceptive of others who believe in gods (be they singular or plural). The only exception were, obviously, the Jews. The Jews of Jesus’ time were Monotheists though in their history, we are told, they had been at times less monotheistic than one might think. In any case, the Jewish people had no ideas of expanding their faith in the missionary sense – they kept to themselves. The fascinating question, therefore, is how it came about that from within Judaism originated a new religion that quite quickly came to view the Jews as their foes, targeted Pagans for conversion, and ultimately grew enough so as to convince a Roman Emperor (and eventually his empire) to take on the Christian faith and in so doing - change history forever. This is my sixth title on Christianity given by the TGC – the fourth given by Professor Ehrman. All the previous ones were primarily focused on early Christianity (primarily first century CE), on the theological aspects and on the historical Jesus. This course had a different focus: one could call it the history and spread of the Christian faith in the first to fourth centuries CE. It sets out to describe the process by which it eventually came to be that by the sixth century CE, most of Europe was Christian. Professor Ehrman starts, quite naturally, from the beginning – the birth of Christianity, HISTORICAL JESUS (lectures 1-4). We are told that Jesus probably did not have ideas of creating a new world religion at all. He was a devout apocalyptic Jew and did not think of creating a faith that would come to disobey the rules of Torah, to target Pagans for conversion or even to diverge from Judaism. He certainly did not see the Jews as the enemies of his faith. All of these new perspectives were introduced by Paul. Paul had previously also been a Pharisaic Jew but at some stage, became a whole hearted believer in Jesus. It was Paul that in many ways “invented” the Christian faith as we know it today. He was the one who declared that it is not necessary to obey the laws of Judaism in order to become a Christian. He was the first to run intense missionary campaigns, primarily in Asia Minor and in Greece. He was the one to decide that one should practice Christianity through faith alone, and not through works as was customary in Pharisaic Judaism. It was Paul’s faith that “put Christianity on the map”, and it was Paul’s teachings that created the anti-Jewish Christian sentiment that would continue for Millennia to come. All of this is discussed in lectures 5-9. It was during Paul’s time that we see the first major interactions between the new faith and the Roman Empire. The first Christian persecutions by the Romans were instigated by Emperor Nero, with the Christians serving as scapegoats to draw attention away from the fact that it was Nero’s men who torched Rome in 64 CE. Many were martyred, and it was during these persecutions that both Peter and Paul were executed in Rome. Professor Ehrman tells us that the Romans of the first to third century CE had a really hard time figuring out those weird Christians. The Romans were Pagans and so had no problems with other people worshipping other gods. Their relationship with their gods was very different from ours today: they did not think that gods have a moral stance on human issues, or that they care if humans believe in them. The Pagans believed that the gods were solely concerned in being worshipped, and if they were not worshipped properly they could potentially become angry - that’s when bad things happen. Thus, if some group refuses to sacrifice to the gods, they are putting the whole community at risk. Furthermore, why couldn’t those Christians sacrifice to the Pagan gods and then go and worship their own god?! They just couldn’t figure it out, and so the Christians became prime targets for religious persecutions. For the most part, these persecutions were sporadic and usually not carried out with great fervor. It was only in the second half of the third century that Empire wide persecutions were carried out, the worst of them by Emperor Diocletian. Eventually, the Christians had to find ways to explain their beliefs to the Pagans in a convincing manner. These works came to be called the Apologies, written by the famous Apologists. Professor Ehrman tells us that it was during these times that the Christian doctrine became more set, and the Christian theology was given extremely deep consideration (lectures 10-14). The rest of the course is given over to describing the diversity of the early Christian faith, the formation of the Christian Canon, the development of the Church hierarchy, and finally the Christian conquest of the Roman Empire. Professor Ehrman is always focused on the historical aspects of Christian studies. In this course, the material is less contentious than in some of his other titles that I have heard, such as “how did Jesus become God”, since we are dealing primarily with historical events that tend to challenge less those who approach the subject from a perspective of faith. His presentation of this course was fascinating and entertaining. My main interest so far in the TGC has been to learn history. I started out chronologically from ancient history and worked my way up all the way to the end of the Roman Empire (40 courses so far). I found this course to be of huge value in giving a profound presentation of the Christian conquest of the Western culture.
Date published: 2014-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Knowledge is Power I've been a fan of Erhman's books and his courses are even better. I plan on buying more.
Date published: 2014-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant Essential knowledge systematically and clearly presented. Absolutely compelling no matter what your religious orientation is as long as you are interested in Western civilization as such. Yes, I have gone through numerous courses on historical topics from TTC.
Date published: 2014-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An excellent introduction to Early Christianity Audio version Ehrman is a fantastic speaker. I love his fast, authoritative, get-to-the-point style. He does good job setting the historical and religious context for Jesus, giving a brief summary of what historians know about Jesus (an amended version of his 24 lecture course on the Historical Jesus), and describing the early Roman persecutions of and theological debates among Christians. Ehrman discusses the contradictions in the four gospels, especially as they pertain to Jesus' last days, the huge influence of the Apostle Paul in the early Church, Jesus' apocalypticism, the wide variety of beliefs in the first and second century, and the wacky liturgies of the church before a hierarchy emerged. Ehrman explains the irregular persecutions of Christians. He says Christianity was never illegal in the Roman Empire, save for a brief period under Diocletian. The Roman Empire was surprisingly tolerant of other religions as long as you worshiped the official gods. Throw some incense in honor of Jupiter and Saturn and then you were free to worship other gods. But some Christians refused and were arrested. Local residents persecuted Christians for two reasons. First, they believed that Christians' failure to worship the Roman gods brought on local calamities such as plagues and droughts. Second, non-Christians were very suspicious about Christian gatherings. Christians were meeting before dawn or after dark in secret, calling each other brother and sister, greeting each other with a kiss, and talked about eating the body and drinking the blood of the son of God. So the suspicious pagans deduced that the Christians were into all sorts of debauchery and infanticide! One Christian apologist named Athenagerous turned these accusations around on the pagans, saying the pagans got those ideas from their own gods! After all, Jupiter/Zeus was portrayed as turning into a bull to have sleep with human women whenever he pleased. One topic Ehrman covered that has major historical relevance was how we got one dominant sect of Christianity from the great variety of Christianities in the second and third centuries. The one sect which triumphed wants us to believe the reason for their triumph is because only they held the true doctrine laid out by Jesus and his apostles. The German theologian Walter Bauer wrote in the early 20th century that the triumph sect--what became the Roman Catholic Church--was only victorious because it was centered in Rome. When Constantine converted to Christianity and promoted it, he promoted the Roman version of Christianity. As one of the largest, richest cities in the empire, Rome could afford to promote its doctrine over those of other sects scattered throughout the Mediterranean. The most difficult parts for me were the theological debates about the relationship of the Hebrew Bible to Christians, the physical nature of Jesus, and the doctrine of the Trinity. I found the historical topics more interesting than the theological debates. I hope Ehrman does another course on Christianity in the Middle Ages and Reformation.
Date published: 2014-01-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from diappointing Should have checked him out before buying his lectures. It's a challenge to my faith to listen to him, not to mention the waste of money. If you are looking for a deeper understanding of your faith, this course is not for you. You may even detect sarcasm and smugness. Ehrman's lecture is a classic example of the danger of historical-critical biblical study when conducted without faith. I feel sorry and pray for Ehrman. He is trapped in the contradictions. Knowledge did not help but hurt him.
Date published: 2013-06-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good but not excellent This is an interesting course overall. However, it has various shortcomings. The major one is that throughout the course concepts and sentences are repeated "ad nauseam". In some instances over ten times. The same content could have been easily presented in half of the time. Another problem, in my opinion, is that being a course on "history" it relies almost exclusively on textual sources. No archeological, or geographical or iconographical context to speak of. Another thing that is completely missing is an analysis of the influence of the greek culture on early christianity. Even Constantine is liquidated with very few sentences. That' a real pity.
Date published: 2013-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent as Usual I really like this Professor's style and approach. The way he analyzes the available historical information and puts together a case is very interesting. I recommend his courses for that reason alone - real insight into how historians work.
Date published: 2013-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent In this course, Prof. Ehrman presents the history of the early Christian church in an organized and interesting manner. Based on reviews for this course and other courses of Prof. Ehrman's presented by TTC, I think it is helpful to point out that Prof. Ehrman has described himself as an agnostic. This creates a certain amount of polarization among his reviewers. Those who feel uncomfortable with a professor who might be a non-believer may want to consider steering clear of this course. Prof. Ehrman does an excellent job with his presentation. He is clear and organized. He chose his topics well. His course guide is informative. I have listened to, I believe, all of the courses that Prof. Ehrman has done for TTC. Approximately 20% of this course repeats what he has said in other courses. I don't feel that there is any way to avoid this unless the TTC develops "prerequisites" for certain courses. I do not think that this detracts from the course at all. In fact, with a somewhat limited memory, it was helpful to hear the information again. I found that this course was helpful for me as it filled a void in my knowledge. It is difficult to pick out a particular aspect of the course that I enjoyed the most because the entire course is so strong. However, I did particularly enjoy Prof. Ehrman's sense of humor and his discussion of the importance of Constantine's conversion. This is an excellent course, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone interested in learning more about western culture.
Date published: 2012-11-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from He's not a Papal Apologist, That's for Sure I have no problem when a historian takes issue with myths that have been passed off as the truth. That is what they are supposed to do. This historian, however, seems to be unhappy even with much of the history that was. When emotion comes into his voice, he sounds for all the world like a Gnostic asking for a recount. He's obviously not happy that the forerunners of today's Catholics got their way, and he implies that the influence that accomplished their "victory" was unfair, that the result was undeserved, even that the election was "bought" by financial pressures from Rome. He has some kind of prejudice going on; it would have been better if he'd have identified what that was going to be up front. He's no fan of Rome, that much is clear, and I'm not sure he's any fan of mainstream Christianity of any kind. Other than those who share his seeming dislike of the history that was, many in his likely audience might be turned off by that.
Date published: 2012-09-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Illuminating journey through early Christianity I bought this course as someone who had a reasonable grasp on the doctrines of Christianity and some of its history. What this course did was shed light on the early development of the Faith in a way that demonstrated how little i actually knew of the way the foundations of Christianity were created. The Professor is clearly deeply knowledgeable and makes it clear very early on that he appraoches this subject as a historian not a theologian. Historicism as a basis of understanding religion is fine provided you enter it with eyes wide open. This is not going to be an approach that believers will find addresses or reinforces their Faith; it is rather an approach within the contraints of historical scholarship. In his defence the Professor does openly say this and does indeed confirm that whilts evidence for certain parts of the new Testament may be lacking this is from an HISORIAN's point of view. Miracles, the virgin birth; the validity of these events is not within the purview of historians. So i welcomed the course as history and would suggest those who believe in the Almighty approach it in that way.
Date published: 2012-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another solid winner from Bart Ehrman Once again Bart Ehrman proves that a high skill in imparting knowledge combined with a deep understanding of the subject matter produces a course of major value. The topic is covered comprehensively ~ and in considerable detail bearing in mind the restrictions of 24 half-hour sessions. The material is presented in a fascinating, appealing way that makes learning a pleasure. I must add that Professor Ehrman delivers his points succinctly and convincingly, giving us known facts, as well as the possibilities for aspects that are not certain or not supported by available source material. Absolutely recommended ~ whether you are a committed Christian, a searcher, or a dedicated agnostic!
Date published: 2012-04-04
  • y_2019, m_12, d_8, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_81
  • loc_en_US, sid_6577, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 61.31ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Customers Who Bought This Course Also Bought