Great Masters: Mozart-His Life and Music

Course No. 752
Professor Robert Greenberg, Ph.D.
San Francisco Performances
Share This Course
4.6 out of 5
86 Reviews
81% of reviewers would recommend this product
Course No. 752
Sale
Audio Streaming Included Free

Course Overview

He composed his first symphony at the age of 8. His middle name means "loved of God." And Austrian Emperor Joseph II accused his music of having "too many notes." This course is a biographical and musical study of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756–1791), who composed more than 600 works of beauty and brilliance in just over 20 years.

According to Professor Robert Greenberg, Mozart's music combined the pure lyricism of song with dramatic timing, depth of expression, and technical mastery of the complexities of phrase structure and harmony that allowed him to create a body of work unique in the repertoire.

Will the Real Wolfgang Please Stand Up?

And his personal life has generated nearly as much interest as his music. Who was Mozart? Was he the fair-haired boy-divinity of 19th-century Romanticism? Was he indeed the horse-laughing lout of recent theater and cinema? Was he borderline autistic or musical freak?

Was he an artistic traditionalist working happily within Haydn-defined Classicism? A social and musical rebel at war with a patronage system?

What did his contemporaries think of his music? Why was he so passionate about writing operas? How did he view his audience, his patrons, and his fellow composers? Does any of his music reflect his own moods or states of mind?

Who and what were the crucial influences in his life and his art? And how did he die?

You learn about Mozart's:

  • Journey from youthful prodigy to posthumous deification
  • Difficult relationship with his father
  • Tours to London and Paris
  • Struggles for a successful career
  • Marriage to Constanze Weber
  • Triumphs and disappointments in Vienna
  • Relationships with Haydn, Emperor Joseph II, and librettist Lorenzo da Ponte.

"Much of today's Mozart scholarship is about debunking myths," says Professor Greenberg. "One of the reasons for the Mozart mythology is the fact that few responsible accounts of Mozart's life and personality were written during his lifetime. Much was written years after his death.

"Mozart's extraordinary, prodigious talent also fueled the notion that he was some kind of freak. At the heart of the Mozart mythology is the otherworldliness of his music. His middle name, Amadeus, 'loved of God,' also helped to imbue him with a God-like image.

"The goal of these lectures is to show Mozart to be a person: a talented, hard-working, ambitious man who had friends and enemies and whose music was subject to criticism in his own day."

Mozart's Early Life: Young Apprentice and a Domineering Father

The reality is that Mozart, like any other composer, served an apprenticeship. What is extraordinary is that Mozart's apprenticeship began at such a tender age; he wrote his first symphony at the age of 8 and was a mature composer by age 20, when most other composers are beginning their training.

He had an extraordinary memory and an ability to compose whole symphonies in his head. He worked extremely hard, frequently to the point of exhaustion—often at breakneck speed, amid squadrons of distractions, and without putting pen to paper until every last note of a new work had been composed in his head.

Mozart's early life was dominated by his father. Leopold Mozart counted on his children's musical talents to bring him the fame and fortune he could not earn for himself. The grand tour of 1763–1766 made the Mozart family the sensation of Europe and turned the small, fragile, desperate-to-please Wolfgang into an international celebrity and the family's main breadwinner.

Mozart learned his craft by absorbing the music of the best composers of his day: Johann Christian Bach (eleventh son of Johann Sebastian Bach) and the legendary Franz Joseph Haydn. By the time of Mozart's second visit to Paris in 1777 at age 21, his own original genius was emerging.

But that trip to Paris was also a disaster. His mother died there, he failed to find a position, he had no money, and his domineering father was interfering with his life to a degree he now found intolerable.

Settling in Vienna: A Soaring Genius

In 1781, Mozart settled in Vienna, an exciting place to live and work for artists at the time, thanks to the reforms of Emperor Joseph II. He married Constanze Weber against the wishes of his father; Leopold withheld Mozart's wedding dowry and later disinherited his son.

Mozart's genius soared. He reached the peak of his career in Vienna in 1782–1786. At this point, his piano concerti were his main source of income. Then, beginning in 1786, he collaborated with the great librettist Lorenzo Da Ponte on three of the repertoire's finest operas: The Marriage of Figaro, Don Giovanni, and Così fan tutte.

By the late 1780s, however, Mozart's popularity in Vienna was on the wane. His music had always had its critics—those who thought it too difficult, complex, or contrived.

"Mozart never attempted to compromise his musical integrity just to please the masses," notes Professor Greenberg. "Even his so-called 'entertainment' music is stamped with his inimitable and complex genius."

His politically controversial opera, The Marriage of Figaro, did not help further his career in Vienna. Masterpiece though it is, it deeply offended the Viennese aristocracy.

"Mozart was, in essence, biting the hand that fed him," says Professor Greenberg.

Mozart continued to pour out one masterwork after another, the expressive content rarely hinting at his unhappy circumstances.

The Final Years: The Magic Flute and a Requiem Mass

In 1790 Mozart's health began to deteriorate and he became depressed. That year, he wrote very little of significance. His creative recovery in early 1791 was inexplicable. The compositions of that year culminated in the great Masonic opera, The Magic Flute.

By the end of the year, he was working on a Requiem Mass, anonymously commissioned by a nobleman who liked to pass off others' compositions as his own. The Requiem remained unfinished at Mozart's death on December 5, 1791.

Myths and speculation surround the cause of Mozart's death. The most famous myth is that he was poisoned by the Italian composer Antonio Salieri who, while a patient in an insane asylum decades later, claimed that he had done the dastardly deed. The most likely theory is that Mozart died from acute rheumatic fever and a stroke brought on by excessive bloodletting—at the age of 35.

A Wide Selection of Excerpts from The Great Masters

Mozart wrote more than 600 compositions, whose standard numbering comes from the catalogue listing first published in 1862 by Ludwig von Köchel.

Works you'll hear in the lectures are excerpted from:

Eine kleine Nachtmusick, K. 525 (1787)
Don Giovanni, K. 527 (1787)
Piano Concerto no. 21 in C Major, K. 467 (1785)
String Quartet in C, K. 465 (Dissonant ) (1785)
The Magic Flute, K. 620 (1791)
Serenade in D Major, K. 320 (Posthorn) (1779)
Così fan tutte, K. 588 (1789)
Flute Concerto in D, K. 314/320d (1777)
Piano Concerto no. 18 in B-flat, K. 456 (1785)
Ein Musikalischer Spass, K. 522 (1787)
Sinfonia Concertante in E-flat for Violin, Viola, and Orchestra, K. 364/320d (1779)
The Marriage of Figaro, K. 492 (1786)
String Quintet in C Major, K. 515 (1787)
Symphony no. 40 in G Minor, K. 550 (1788)
Symphony no. 39 in E-flat Major, K. 543 (1788)
Symphony no. 41 in C Major, K. 551 (Jupiter ) (1788)
Requiem Mass, K. 626 (1791)

Hide Full Description
8 lectures
 |  Average 46 minutes each
  • 1
    Introduction
    Much of today's Mozart scholarship is about debunking myths; this lecture explores Mozart mythology. The goal of these lectures is to show Mozart to be a person: a talented, hard-working, ambitious man who had friends and enemies and whose music was subject to criticism in his own day. x
  • 2
    Leopold and the Grand Tour
    Leopold Mozart dominated his son's life from the start. When Leopold realized that his children, Marianne and Wolfgang, possessed prodigious musical talent, he made them his source of wealth and fame. Their grand tour of 1763–66 made them the sensation of Europe and turned Wolfgang into the child wonder by which we still measure prodigies today. The small, fragile, and desperate-to-please Wolfgang became his family's main breadwinner. x
  • 3
    Mozart the Composer—The Early Music
    Leopold probably had a hand in creating Mozart's early pieces, but Mozart also learned his craft from Johann Christian Bach, whom Mozart met in London in 1764–65. Mozart also modeled his early works on established Viennese symphonists, and he absorbed the Italian style on his tours of that country in 1769–73. By the time of his second visit to Paris in 1777, Mozart's own compositional voice had emerged. x
  • 4
    Paris
    The study of Mozart's musical style is often linked with two myths; neither one is true. The first is that Mozart was a vessel for divine inspiration. The second is that he composed without effort, automatically, subconsciously. What makes him different is that he began his apprenticeship at an incredibly young age and was a fully matured composer by the time he was 20. In 1777, Mozart left Salzburg for Paris—a disastrous trip during which his mother died. x
  • 5
    The Flight from Salzburg and Arrival in Vienna
    Despite the disasters that Mozart endured at the time of his trip to Paris, his creative energy never flagged. Longing to compose an opera, Mozart succeeded in convincing the Elector of Munich to commission the opera Idomeneo from him. The opera was premiered in Munich in 1781 to great success. Mozart married Constanze Weber in August 1782, against his father's wishes. The father-son relationship would be severely strained until Leopold's death five years later. x
  • 6
    Life in Vienna
    Between 1782 and 1786, Mozart reached the peak of his career as a pianist and composer in Vienna. Among his supreme achievements are his piano concerti, string quartets, and the C Minor Mass. His six string quartets, inspired by and dedicated to Haydn, exhibit an expressive range and intensity. Mozart worked extremely hard and earned a great deal of money. His speed of composing and ability to compose in his head are the stuff of legend. But his embittered father disinherited him before dying in 1787. x
  • 7
    Operas in Vienna
    Poet and librettist Lorenzo Da Ponte collaborated with Mozart on his great operas: The Marriage of Figaro, Don Giovanni, and Cosi fan tutte. Mozart's popularity in Vienna began to wane in the late 1780s and he experienced financial hardship; his marriage was strained because of Mozart's real and perceived affairs. Yet he continued to write a series of masterworks, the expressive moods of which seldom, if ever, betrayed his unhappy circumstances. x
  • 8
    The Last Years
    Mozart's Cosi fan tutte of 1789 was no more successful in Vienna than Don Giovanni had been. By late 1790, Mozart was in financial straits and his health deteriorated further. He wrote little of significance until January 1791: The Magic Flute. He began a Requiem Mass, which remained unfinished at his death on December 5. Among the most famous myths about Mozart's death is that he was poisoned by the Italian composer Antonio Salieri. The most likely theory is that he died from rheumatic fever. Mozart gave us a "picture of a better world" (Franz Schubert), and was, as the composer Rossini put it, "the only composer who had as much knowledge as genius and as much genius as knowledge." x

Lecture Titles

Clone Content from Your Professor tab

What's Included

What Does Each Format Include?

Video DVD
Instant Audio Includes:
  • Download 8 audio lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE audio streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
DVD Includes:
  • 8 lectures on 2 DVDs
  • 64-page printed course guidebook
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook

What Does The Course Guidebook Include?

Video DVD
Course Guidebook Details:
  • 64-page printed course guidebook
  • Vocal texts
  • Timeline
  • Glossary

Enjoy This Course On-the-Go with Our Mobile Apps!*

  • App store App store iPhone + iPad
  • Google Play Google Play Android Devices
  • Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Tablet + Firephone
*Courses can be streamed from anywhere you have an internet connection. Standard carrier data rates may apply in areas that do not have wifi connections pursuant to your carrier contract.

Your professor

Robert Greenberg

About Your Professor

Robert Greenberg, Ph.D.
San Francisco Performances
Dr. Robert Greenberg is Music Historian-in-Residence with San Francisco Performances. A graduate of Princeton University, Professor Greenberg holds a Ph.D. in Music Composition from the University of California, Berkeley. He has seen his compositions—which include more than 45 works for a wide variety of instrumental and vocal ensembles—performed all over the world, including New York, San Francisco, Chicago, Los Angeles,...
Learn More About This Professor
Also By This Professor

Reviews

Great Masters: Mozart-His Life and Music is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 86.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A badly-needed corrective to the Mozart myths So much of Mozart's life is mythologized and misunderstood, to the point where his talents are seen as supernatural, not as the output of a real, live human being, who studied and learned over the course of his lifetime. He was undoubtedly born with a gift that is given to few, and that many of us cannot comprehend. But that doesn't mean he never had to work at it. Mozart was constantly exposed to new musical ideas and learned to incorporate what was good and to reject what was not good. His relationship with his father and his break from his father is also too often treated as if Mozart was an eternally brow-beaten child. He was not. He was the first composer to truly go free-lance and in that regard he was revolutionary, and paved the way for future composers. The movie "Amadeus" was undoubteldy a great movie, even a masterpiece in its own right, but it is not and never was intended to be a biopic of Mozart's life. It's a drama which asks questions about the nature of man and his relation to art. As great as "Amadeus" the movie is, this course provides a much needed return to the realities of Mozart's lived experience.
Date published: 2018-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Suspicions Confirmed Probably out of all the “Great Masters” series, I know both the music and life of Mozart the best. But still Professor Greenberg managed to add to my knowledge and fill in missing pieces where there had been gaps before. For example, I knew that Mozart’s father was a self-centered, overbearing, controlling jerk, but I was unaware of just how much, and more to the point the idea that the deprivations during Mozart’s youth may well have contributed to this untimely death. Or that this same parsimonious attitude likely also was a major contributing factor to Mozart’s mother’s death. And to top it off, that dad then put the blame on the son is really shocking, though not unexpected. As usual in reviewing a Dr. Greenberg course, one has to consider the rapid patter filled with multiflorous adjectives, adverbs, examples and analogies that at times tend to overwhelm the message. Not to mention his humor, often amusing, sometimes hilarious and with a few jokes that just fall flat. For me, Professor Greenberg’s passion more than makes up for any delivery deficiencies, but it is understandable that others disagree. I would suggest that those who disagree, must acknowledge that amount of considered material and analysis that Dr. Greenberg can manage to put into eight, 45-minutes lectures. And all of this filled with plenty of examples of Mozart’s marvelous music. As an aside I do like to be reminded that much of what he wrote seemed at the time to be surprising and even ground-breaking, as it always seems to me that one note follows another perfectly, just as one might say about an elegant mathematical proof, “it had to be that way.” Along the way Dr. Greenberg takes plenty time to dispel many of the popular myths about the life of Mozart and his contemporaries. And he never fails to take a shot, cheap or otherwise, as to the movie “Amadeus”. Here I think Dr. Greenberg displays a bit of a thin skin. After all a movie is a movie and not really an accurate biography. Someone had to be antagonist and in this case Salieri was chosen. Fortunately Professor Greenberg gets his chance to correct the record for any who thought that the movie reflected real life.
Date published: 2017-12-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I know I will enjoy. Don't know what else to say at this time.
Date published: 2017-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice, maybe not perfect Interesting course on the life of Mozart. Professor Greenberg is great, as always. Unfortunately, not much music inside, it’s really first of all about the biography. Also, the audio quality is good but not on par with the most recently recorded Great Courses.
Date published: 2017-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These lectures are outstanding in every way -- expertly researched, organized and presented in an incredibly entertaining style. I'm near the end and will be sorry to see it go!
Date published: 2017-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mozart, the Magnificient We REALLY like Professor Greenburg's lectures. They are soooo informative. His examples are very enlightening
Date published: 2017-05-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing I have very much enjoyed courses about Schumann, Liszt and Tchaikovsky and therefore I'm so disappointed with this one. Very little music, too much tabloid-style details, delivered in a very vulgar manner, so very different from the way Professor Greenberg handled similar aspects of Tchaikovsky's and Liszt's lives. Will return.
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WHAT A RIDE! Dr. Greenberg presented an outstanding and accurate presentation. I am a die hard Mozart fan and I've read much about this genius composer. It is refreshing and entertaining to be an audience to Dr. Greenberg's lectures, What A Ride!
Date published: 2016-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from nothing wrong with this I have been a good customer and frequent user of TGC for several years. This was the first music course I tried. It was very satisfactory in every way. Even so I was somewhat disappointed because I really could not get into this class as much as the math and science courses that I usually use. I do not plan to try any more music classes anytime soon. I probably would have liked it better if I concentrated on the music which I already like.
Date published: 2016-11-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice! The professor is annoying, but after the first 1-2 CDs I got used to him and started enjoying it more. There is a lot to learn, and I thought it was covered nicely in an enjoyable way. Lots of music to listen to! It could have easily been more but I suppose there wasn't enough time allotted. The length of each lecture was perfect for me: 35 minutes. Quality of the CDs themselves was excellent. I'm shipping it off to a friend so he can enjoy it. I don't think I'll want to listen again. I've got Hayden to learn about next!!
Date published: 2016-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lively, Entertaining and Revealing As a lifelong Mozart fan I knew his life story at a high level, but this course deepened my understanding considerably, especially with regard to his influences. The professor is humorous and engaging while simultaneously dropping considerable insight into how Mozart became Mozart.
Date published: 2016-09-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost Perfect First let me say that Professor Greenberg’s presentation is, as always, outstanding! The material is well covered and I came away from the course with a vastly improved knowledge of Mozart’s life and its pressures. The treatment of rumors and the use of his letters was very helpful to my understanding of Mozart’s motivations. My only critique is that I would have liked to see introduction expanded to provide more coverage of sociological changes occurring in all the geographical areas impacted by Mozart’s music. In addition, I would have liked more thorough coverage of the changes in musical composition style’s and forms taking place during the gradual change from baroque to high baroque to the classical era. Perhaps it is time for an update to the course. Still and all, I still highly recommend this course.
Date published: 2016-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mozart his life and music This was a very informative and entertaining series. Professor Greenberg is fabulous. He is professional,knowledgable, and very funny. I have bought three of his courses now and look forward to more.
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great car listening I'm really enjoying this as I drive to meetings and shopping in my car. The professor is dynamic and interesting, the music is beautiful, and the biographical information very interesting. Unlike books on tape that can be poorly written (or read) and potentially distracting, this is entertaining and informative. Glad I decided to try this!
Date published: 2016-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Biography of Mozart Make no mistake - this is a biography course which also guides the student through the history of Mozart's music. Greenberg does an excellent job of introducing us to Mozart the person, his family, and his career. Despite the time spent on biography, we learn much about his music. I have already listened to a significant amount of Mozart's music and, therefore, was happy that so much time was devoted to his life and times rather than to playing his music. There is plenty of material on his musical development. Yes, there are references to other Greenberg courses. I prefer that he make references to other courses rather than include the same material in multiple courses. The difference is that this course is meant more to be a biography whereas the other courses are more about the music. I agree with other reviewers that Greenberg's humor is sometimes a stretch. I smiled sometimes and laughed out loud a few times. But, it was never a problem and I found it helped me stay focused for the 45-minute lectures. This is an excellent course. If you are interested in Mozart the man, this is the course for you.
Date published: 2015-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Learned a Lot! The Great Masters series is a wonderful introduction to the all-time master composers. We have come to have a far better uinderstanding of their music and the trials and tribulations they faced and overcame in the course of their careers. Professor Greenberg is such a skilled presenter! The subject knowledge, topic organization and humor he brings to the topic provides education and entertainment at the same time. We have thoroughly enjoyed each of these courses.
Date published: 2015-02-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No time, no content This is unquestionably the worst volume pertaining to music to come out of the Great Courses. It's filled with statements like "Due to the short time....," "for brevity's sake....." "we don't have space to...." etc, etc. I would have happily paid a few dollars more for the 4 discs or so that would have made this course worth hearing. Topics are briefly noted, then comes a referral to another Great Courses set. It actually sounds more like a commercial for Great Courses music topics than a lecture on Mozart's music. The better part of 2 out of the 8 discs are devoted to opera; while Mozart's operas may be marvelous examples of his works, they are but a tiny fraction of the hundreds of pieces he wrote. Compare this fiasco to "The Chamber Music of Mozart," an excellent presentation where the music gets a fair shake. I realize that a purported biography will have less emphasis on music, but there still must be enough excerpts to satisfy those who love Mozart's music. The fault therefore lies more in the failure to present examples of Mozart's art than in the survey of his life. Were I a first subscriber to a Great Courses music presentation, this would be my last.
Date published: 2015-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An amazing course. " Professor Robert Geenberg is not only an expert but also a humorous, insightful and delightful presenter who brings the subject to life. I highly recommend beginning with Professor Greenberg's "How to Listen to and Understand Great Music," then select the five or six composers of greatest interest. For example, I have worked through Bach, Mozart, Beethoven, Tchaikovsky and, Wagner. Next is his "How to Listen to and Understand Great Opera" followed by Verdi. Professor Greenberg demonstrates how the individual composer's private life and psyche as well as the historical setting are intimately revealed in their music. If you long to fill that great gap in your education on Western Civilization and culture begin here. Then, you can move on to great literature with Professor Marc C. Connor and his amazing "How to Read and Understand Shakespeare." Walter J. McDonald, Jr. "
Date published: 2015-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enthusiastic presentation (CD review) Professor Greenberg is passionate and dramatic in his delivery style. While some might feel he crosses a line between dramatic and outrageous, I found myself laughing out loud in my car many times while listening. The depth and breadth of his understanding of music in general and Mozart in particular made this most entertaining. Unlike many other history courses I have listened to over the years, Greenberg is excellent when it comes to citing the source of his information regarding events and how the parties involved felt and/or thought about them. Perhaps this is in part owing to the availability of correspondence by Mozart and his family. Additionally he references sources in an almost seamless manner that does not detract from the flow of information. While he does pitch some of his other courses from this company more than once, this was a minor annoyance for me, especially since he did tie it in with the information offered here and say that certain discussions were beyond the scope of this brief course. Given Mozart's large body of work this is reasonable. Overall the course was easy to listen to, offered a masterful blend of musical passages with historical events and kept my interest to the end. I will look for other courses by Professor Greenberg.
Date published: 2014-11-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mozart-His Life and Music This course kept me amused during a long drive, so it was worth the 20 bucks that I paid for it. As a learning experience, however, it's value was minimal. The great advantage of an audio presentation of a musical biography is that it can be used to illustrate the development of a composer's music. It doesn't make much sense to fill up the limited available time with details of the person's life, dcetails that can easily be gotten from a book. If it is felt that some knowledge of the person's life is necessary to understand the music, assign outside reading. Real college courses do that, you know.
Date published: 2014-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding course for anyone who wants to learn more about Mozart. Prof. Greenberg is, as always, entertaining, enthusiastic and well worth listening to.
Date published: 2014-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another gem My previous review on the Schumanns identified myself as a non-musician but having worked my way through Professor Greenberg's course on Robert and Clara I didn't waste any time before purchasing his Mozart course. Other reviewers have confirmed the Professor's love of his subjects and this course provides all the information you require to get a full appreciation of Mozart's life and music. Knowing a little of his music the Professor ably put the various pieces in historical context for me and again hearing about Mozart's complicated life and the lives of the people he touched I found most interesting. The Professor's undoubted love of his subject certainly came across and for anyone with a passing interest in Mozart and his music this is more than a good starting point.
Date published: 2014-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the man behind the myth this course is as good as you’d expect it to be. prof. greenberg + mozart = what could go wrong? as with other great masters courses eight lectures felt like the right amount of time to spend on one composer, although the tradeoff as always is that you can’t look too closely at any one particular work. at the beginning of the course prof. greenberg promises to demythologize mozart, and though i was somewhat skeptical that this would in fact occur, i think he does indeed deliver. any treatment of mozart will by necessity contain a certain amount of sheer awe, but despite this prof. greenberg does consistently manage to portray mozart as a human being—a surprisingly understandable, even relatable human being. he also repeatedly casts mozart as an edgy, difficult composer, a sort of 20th century modernist for the habsburg empire. admittedly this comparison is implied rather than explicitly stated, but while it’s certainly true that mozart’s music could be more challenging than that of his contemporaries, i’m not fully sold that mozart was the 18th century’s boulez. it’s a matter of degree here. if the intended message is that mozart pushed the envelope, then indubitably; but if the implied message is that 20th century composers were simply doing exactly what mozart did, and look at how we all love mozart now, then that may be pressing the analogy too far. that particular bugbear aside however this was a good, satisfying overview of mozart’s life and work. just be prepared when it’s over to find yourself checking to see what other courses on mozart are available!
Date published: 2014-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from W. A. Mozart!! Prof. Greenburg and his knowledge of his subject is excellent. He gives Mozart a voice when he reads letters written over 200 years ago and presents it with excitement and one can tell he enjoys not only his subject but also teaching. He gets you excited about learning as well. What was once considered a boring subject and one in which many may not enroll in at a university is now presented to you at a much lower cost and with great enthusiasm.
Date published: 2014-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Master lecture Professor Greenberg is a master at revealing the personality as well as the music of Mozart in this Great Masters series. The lectures give a non Hollywood, non "Amadeus" look at the complicated life of Mozart. Expectations for this lecture series should revolve around learning the biography of the composer with short selections of music interspersed. The selections are always relevant to the subject matter. I listened to this lecture series a second time after purchasing Mozart's Chamber Music lectures. The two courses are not repetitions of the same story, and are additive in the information given. I would strongly suggest listening to both courses back to back. (I have not listened to the Mozart and opera lectures). Highly recommended!
Date published: 2013-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great course! This is an amazing piece of work. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Congratulations to Professor Greenberg on a job done exceptionally well. Integrating Mozart's life with his music was masterful. Thanks.
Date published: 2013-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from An enjoyable course -- a great composer! This was my second music course from TTC, (the first was Beethoven), and I enjoyed this course more. As opposed to his Beethoven course, Prof. Greenberg uses a more chronological course in his lectures. I appreciated his separating Mozart "the man" from "Mozart the myth." One point comes out clear in the lectures--Mozart's father Leopold used him badly, and his disinheriting him at his death shows how petty and controlling the man was. The fact that Wolfgang succeeded in breaking away from his father and performed/composed for himself is amazing achievement. It is true, though, that his issues with his father wore on Mozart as he got older, and may have led him to make some bad choices along the way. I enjoyed the many musical snippets of Mozart's works--it reinforced my love of Mozart's music, and even though I am not an opera lover, Greenberg takes the time to introduce his audience to the operatic genius that Mozart was. I also appreciated Greenberg's focus on what *probably* caused Mozart's death, and that really makes it all the more tragic. Bloodletting was a common practice at the time, and I believe, caused more harm than good. (I will have to mention that Greenberg has a significant section in Lecture 4 which he relays Mozart's toilet humor and use of foul language--he does warn his listeners, but I won't listen to that part again!) In the end, I will definitely continue to listen to more of Mozart's music, and look forward to buying more Mozart courses in the future, as well.
Date published: 2013-09-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Myths dispelled We have all grown up with the "hype" surrounding Mozart. It is eye-opening and refreshing to have the myths dispelled. Ah, there is no doubt he is a genius, we all know that, but Dr. Greenberg brings his humanness to the fore. This even greatly enriches Mozart's music, if that is really possible. Well worth your time!
Date published: 2013-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I really enjoyed this particular biographical sketch of Mozarts life and music. I played it in the car with my kids too. Really fun and interesting. I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2012-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thoughtful, helpful introduction This is one of the first of the Great Masters series we have listened to, and when we finished this (and the Haydn lecture) we bought five more from the series. We found "Mozart" an excellent use of our time (although you must be realistic about what you can expect from a few lectures on a multi-faceted genius like this composer). Professor Greenberg takes delight in showing us much of what we "know" about Mozart is conjectural (we have few solid facts about his life or death and very little of his current public image is based on sound information). Prof Greenberg shows not all is lost, though, and through the use of our reasoning and common sense, we can establish a more realistic picture of Mozart. For example, my respect for his character was enhanced by knowing that Mozart composed some of his most beautiful and uplifting works when was most stressed by financial and personal ruin, and racked by severe and chronic pain from illnesses ranging from digestive ailments to chronic tooth abscesses. Prof Greenberg gives his typically solid selection of works to illustrate his main points, continues his tradition of illustrating those points with interest and enthusiasm, and concludes with a well-reasoned and intriguing theory of what really did Mozart in, My wife and I enjoyed this course, were sorry it ended, and plan to loan it to several of our musical friends (then we can listen to it again).
Date published: 2012-09-28
  • y_2019, m_7, d_21, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_81
  • loc_en_US, sid_752, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 64.54ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Customers Who Bought This Course Also Bought

Buy together as a Set
and
Save Up To $220.00
Choose a Set Format
$35.90
$79.90