Chemistry, 2nd Edition

Course No. 1012
Professor Frank Cardulla, M.S.
Niles North High School
Share This Course
4.5 out of 5
67 Reviews
82% of reviewers would recommend this product
Course No. 1012
Video Streaming Included Free

Course Overview

Many students struggle in high school chemistry. Even if they succeed in earning a good grade, they often still feel confused and unconfident. Why is this? And what can be done to help every student succeed in this vitally important course? Success in chemistry, according to veteran science teacher Professor Frank Cardulla, doesn't require any special intellectual gifts or talents or advanced mathematical skill. All it requires is a genuine understanding of the ideas that students encounter in the high school chemistry classroom. If students truly understand what they are learning, they will do more than just succeed in high school chemistry; they will find lasting success as they continue to study chemistry in college and beyond.

In Chemistry, 2nd Edition, Professor Cardulla offers 36 carefully designed lectures that provide a solid foundation for future success by giving students a deep and thorough understanding of the fundamental concepts and problem-solving skills needed in the study of chemistry. He has created the perfect course for students who are struggling in their high school chemistry class, for students who simply want to perform better, or for home-schooled students. Even those long out of high school have reaped the benefits of Professor Cardulla's lectures—thousands of our adult customers have purchased and enjoyed the first edition of this course, finding it a useful tool for gaining a better understanding of chemistry.

Learning that Lasts

When students replace rote memorization with a real understanding of what is happening in the problems they encounter, chemistry comes alive. They experience the excitement of grasping the ideas behind the problems and the confidence that comes as they master what they might think of as intimidating material.

That's what happens in Chemistry, 2nd Edition. Through his clear and engaging lectures, Professor Cardulla demonstrates how students can use everyday common sense and logic—intellectual skills they already possess—to truly comprehend the concepts and problems encountered in introductory chemistry. Using examples and analogies drawn from real life, he takes the intimidation out of chemistry and makes this often challenging course accessible for all students.

A Comprehensive Chemistry Course

The course opens with several lectures that outline the instructor's teaching philosophy and demonstrate how students can use logical thinking to help them solve chemistry problems. In subsequent lectures, Professor Cardulla applies these problem-solving skills to key topics in introductory chemistry:

  • The periodic table
  • Balancing chemical equations
  • Elements, atoms, ions, and isotopes
  • Density
  • Equilibrium
  • Le Chatelier's Principle
  • Stoichiometry
  • Titration
  • Molarity
  • Acids and bases

To bring these topics to life, Professor Cardulla makes use of visual aids, including illustrations, graphs, demonstrations, and diagrams that support learning and help students gain a deeper understanding of key concepts.

The result is an effective, carefully crafted course that gives students the tools they need to master the basics of high school chemistry. Chemistry, 2nd Edition can be used as a stand-alone introduction to chemistry or in conjunction with a high school chemistry course.

Hands-on Problem Solving

As Professor Cardulla explains, true comprehension of chemistry comes only when students wrestle with the problems themselves. As a result, these lectures are filled with problems that give students ample opportunity to apply the concepts they've learned and strengthen their general problem-solving skills.

With each problem, students are encouraged to stop the lecture and work with the concepts presented to find their own solutions. Afterward, they return to the lecture, where Professor Cardulla presents a thorough and clear explanation of how to find the correct answer. And since the emphasis is on comprehension rather than memorization, Professor Cardulla often provides different methods for solving these problems. He discusses the merits and drawbacks of these various methods and how they relate to a deeper understanding of the ideas behind the problems.

A New Edition of One of Our Most Popular Courses

Chemistry, 2nd Edition is an updated and enhanced version of our original chemistry course taught by Professor Cardulla. Based on feedback from our customers, this new edition of our high school chemistry course has been expanded to include

  • a new workbook with more than 400 problems and worked-out solutions written by Professor Cardulla;
  • new lectures on elements, the periodic table, ions, and isotopes;
  • a new unit on titration; and
  • enhanced, improved visual aids.

The result is a course that provides an in-depth understanding of key concepts of chemistry while meeting the needs and expectations of today's students.

Masterful Instruction by an Expert Teacher

For students who have had trouble with chemistry or who feel intimidated by the thought of solving problems on their own, Professor Cardulla's teaching method opens up a new world of learning.

His teaching method is shaped by his special sympathy for the students who struggle with chemistry. Approachable and engaging, he is the perfect instructor for students who are facing their first encounter with chemistry or for those who have had difficulty with chemistry in the past and want to strengthen their understanding of this crucial subject. With humor and patience, he guides students to discover their own innate ability to master the fundamentals of chemistry.

As Professor Cardulla says, any student can succeed at high school chemistry. Join him for this engaging and accessible introductory course and discover how high school chemistry can be the "easiest class in school."

Hide Full Description
36 lectures
 |  Average 30 minutes each
  • 1
    Introduction and Philosophy
    In this first lecture, Professor Cardulla explains how any student can find success in chemistry by cultivating a meaningful understanding of the concepts and quantitative thinking operations that underlie this often challenging area of study. x
  • 2
    Basic Concepts of Quantitative Reasoning
    Introductory chemistry is not mysterious: It requires simple quantitative reasoning that comes naturally to most students. You learn about the types of numbers involved in chemistry and how to solve problems commonly encountered in high school chemistry. x
  • 3
    Quantitative Reasoning in Everyday Life
    Only a handful of important ideas must be mastered in order to be successful at solving chemistry problems. In this lecture, you review some basic guidelines for approaching any chemistry problem and try out your skills on a few sample problems that demonstrate how you can use everyday reasoning in your chemistry class. x
  • 4
    Quantitative Reasoning in Chemistry—Density
    Building on the ideas explored in the first three lectures, you examine a fundamental quantitative measurement in chemistry, density, and explore the real-world meaning of this measurement. You then solidify your understanding of this concept by working some basic density problems. x
  • 5
    The SI (Metric) System of Measurement
    Next, you continue to lay a strong foundation for your understanding of chemistry by learning about one of the key tools you'll be using: the International System of Units (SI), or the metric system. This lecture explains why this system is so useful to scientists and lays out the prefixes and units of measurement that make up the metric system. x
  • 6
    Converting between Systems of Measurement
    Now that you have established an understanding of the SI system, put your knowledge to work as you practice converting units from one system of measurement to another. You hone your conversion skills by working several sample problems. x
  • 7
    Elements, Atoms, and the Periodic Table
    In the next three lectures, you cover some fundamental topics that you'll need before you can launch into your study of chemistry. You examine the basic building blocks of matter—elements and the atoms that constitute them—and you learn how to interpret the information about elements presented in the periodic table x
  • 8
    Ions, Compounds, and Interpreting Formulas
    Learn about protons, electrons, and neutrons; how ions are formed from atoms; how these ions can combine to form compounds; and how you can determine the formulas of these compounds. Some molecular substances are discussed and you are introduced to the final number associated with every element—its atomic weight. x
  • 9
    Isotopes and Families of Elements
    Discover how isotopes, which are different atoms of the same element, can actually differ in their weight because they contain different numbers of neutrons in their nuclei. Also, learn how different kinds of elements are grouped into both general categories (such as metals and nonmetals) as well as specific chemical "families," which then are arranged into the periodic table. x
  • 10
    The Mole
    One of the most important concepts to master in an introductory chemistry course is the concept of the mole, which provides chemists with a way to "count" atoms and molecules. Learn how scientists use the mole and explore the quantitative definition of this basic unit. x
  • 11
    Solving Mole Problems
    By solving problems involving moles, you refine the quantitative techniques introduced in earlier lectures while increasing your familiarity with this important chemical value. x
  • 12
    Avogadro's Hypothesis and Molar Volume
    After mastering the mole, you move on to a related concept: the "molar volume," or the amount of space occupied by one mole. You apply this understanding of molar volume as you examine Avogadro's Hypothesis, a principle concerning the molar volume of gases. x
  • 13
    Percent Composition and Empirical Formulas
    In this lecture, you encounter two "classic" types of chemistry problems and learn the basic characteristics of each. The lecture concludes with several practice problems to help you master the skill of solving percent composition problems. x
  • 14
    Solving Empirical Formula Problems
    Continue your consideration of "classic" chemistry problems with a look at empirical formulas, and examine how empirical formulas relate to molecular formulas x
  • 15
    Writing and Balancing Chemical Equations
    What happens when you combine two or more elements? Through a variety of practice problems, you learn to identify when a chemical reaction has occurred, how to write chemical equations, and how to "balance" equations to conserve the atoms. x
  • 16
    An Introduction to Stoichiometry
    What are the quantitative relationships between the substances in a chemical reaction? The study of stoichiometry shows you how to apply your ability to balance equations to solve problems involving chemical reactions. x
  • 17
    Stoichiometry Problems
    You extend your study of stoichiometry to consider more complex problems involving volume, molecules, and energy. x
  • 18
    Advanced Stoichiometry
    As you move on to more advanced stoichiometry problems, you see that they can be solved using a very simple approach. You encounter three terms often applied to chemical reactions: theoretical yields, actual yields, and percent yields. x
  • 19
    An Introduction to Molarity
    One important idea to master in any introductory chemistry course is the concept of concentration of a solution. Here, you explore this concept, the components that make up a solution, and learn about a basic unit of measurement for concentration, molarity. x
  • 20
    Solving Molarity Problems
    Extend your understanding of molarity by solving some typical problems encountered in the high school chemistry classroom. To foster your understanding of these problems, you are asked to draw upon the quantitative reasoning skills you previously used. x
  • 21
    Advanced Molarity Problems
    You are asked to take the concepts you learned about molarity in the last two lectures and apply them to a number of unfamiliar problems. These problems offer an opportunity to test your comprehension of the concepts you've been exploring. x
  • 22
    Basic Concepts of Chemical Equilibrium
    Continue your study of chemical reactions by examining an important new concept: the equilibrium system. You start by looking carefully at the difference between reactions that "go to completion" and those that are "reversible." x
  • 23
    An Introduction to the Equilibrium Constant
    By tracking and graphing a hypothetical reaction as it approaches a state of equilibrium, you gain a deeper understanding of the essential characteristics of equilibrium systems. Then, you're introduced to the single most important expression used to solve equilibrium problems: the equilibrium constant. x
  • 24
    Interpreting an Equilibrium Constant
    Your examination of the equilibrium constant continues. Learn exactly what the numerical value for an equilibrium constant tells and doesn't tell you about an equilibrium system. x
  • 25
    Le Chatelier's Principle—Concentration
    Before you can solve equilibrium problems, you need to understand what happens to an equilibrium system when conditions are changed. You learn about a fundamental idea—Le Chatelier's Principle—which lays the groundwork for a broader understanding of equilibrium. x
  • 26
    Le Chatelier—Pressure and Temperature
    Having established a basic understanding of Le Chatelier's Principle, you explore how this principle plays out in a variety of situations in which an equilibrium system is changed. x
  • 27
    An Introduction to Equilibrium Problems
    You use your basic understanding of equilibrium systems to try to solve some problems. You tackle two kinds of equilibrium problems: ones in which you are asked to calculate the equilibrium constant for an equation, and ones in which you are asked to find the equilibrium concentration of a reactant or product. x
  • 28
    The Self-Ionization of Water
    After examining how different substances may behave when dissolved in water, you learn about the self-ionization of water and use this knowledge to solve problems. The lecture ends with a brief introduction to the pH of solutions. x
  • 29
    Strong Acids and Bases—General Properties
    You return to the topic of pH and learn about how pH relates to two kinds of compounds: acids and bases. Through an introductory problem, you explore the relationship of various ions within these compounds. x
  • 30
    Solving Strong Acid and Base Problems
    You gain a deeper understanding of acids, bases, and pH by working several sample problems. These exercises help clarify the difference between strong and weak acids and bases and between the idea of a "strong" concentration versus a "strong" acid or base. x
  • 31
    Weak Acids and Bases
    Look at weak acids and bases, compounds that are only slightly ionized in water-based solutions. You learn how to solve the "classic" weak acid problem and apply the same approach to weak base problems. x
  • 32
    Titrating Acids and Bases
    Here, you explore "neutralization": the idea that if you add a base to an acid, it will tend to destroy the properties of the acid, and vice versa. You examine this reaction through demonstration of a laboratory procedure called titration. x
  • 33
    Titration Curves and Indicators
    Acid-base indicators, which change color when a solution switches from acid to base and back again, provide a striking demonstration of the transformation that occurs during titration. Learn how to use these indicators to determine the equivalence point of a titration, and examine what happens when you graph these reactions. x
  • 34
    Solubility Equilibria—Principles, Problems
    After learning about equilibrium systems, you move on to a particular type of system: "solubility equlibria," or the equilibria found in saturated solutions of slightly soluble ionic solids. You explore this concept as you practice solving a variety of related problems. x
  • 35
    Solubility Equilibria—Common Ion Effect
    Your study of solubility equilibria continues with some advanced practice problems. Here, you encounter the last major type of equilibrium problem. To solve these problems, you revisit Le Chatelier's Principle and learn about some of the pitfalls to avoid when dealing with these kinds of equilibrium systems. x
  • 36
    Putting It All Together
    In this final lecture, you tackle problems that require you to pull together all the knowledge you've acquired. Through these challenging problems, you build confidence in your ability to unravel new problems and pursue more advanced levels of chemistry. x

Lecture Titles

Clone Content from Your Professor tab

What's Included

What Does Each Format Include?

Video DVD
Instant Video Includes:
  • Download 36 video lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course workbook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
DVD Includes:
  • 36 lectures on 6 DVDs
  • 184-page printed course workbook
  • Downloadable PDF of the course workbook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps

What Does The Course Guidebook Include?

Video DVD
Course Guidebook Details:
  • 184-page printed course workbook
  • Lecture outlines
  • Practice problems & solutions
  • Periodic table of elements

Enjoy This Course On-the-Go with Our Mobile Apps!*

  • App store App store iPhone + iPad
  • Google Play Google Play Android Devices
  • Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Tablet + Firephone
*Courses can be streamed from anywhere you have an internet connection. Standard carrier data rates may apply in areas that do not have wifi connections pursuant to your carrier contract.

Your professor

Frank Cardulla

About Your Professor

Frank Cardulla, M.S.
Niles North High School
Professor Frank Cardulla taught at Niles North High School in Skokie, IL, from 1964 to 1999. He subsequently taught at Lake Forest High School and Libertyville High School. Professor Cardulla earned both his B.S. in Teaching of Chemistry with honors and his M.S. in Teaching of Physical Sciences from the University of Illinois. He has received the National Catalyst Award for Outstanding Chemistry Teaching, a Presidential Award...
Learn More About This Professor
Also By This Professor

Reviews

Chemistry, 2nd Edition is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 67.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gift I bought it as a gift for my granddaughter in Anchorage, AK.
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chemistry, 2nd Edition I sat in Frank Cardulla's chemistry class and his advanced placement chemistry classes my sophomore and senior years at Niles North High School in the 1970s. He was far and away the best teacher I had in any topic, all the way through undergraduate and predoctoral training courses. I decided take this chemistry class to see what I remember, and also to see how he would go about teaching this topic all these years later. He does not disappoint. I strongly recommend you take this class. Mr. Cardulla teaches not just chemistry but more important teaches you how to learn. His class will lay the foundation for learning and help you learn not just chemistry but any science our engineering courses you may take in the future.
Date published: 2016-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perspective from an adult learner I have a background in mathematics and physics but recently caught the chemistry bug. Purely for the fun of it, I purchased a more advanced chemistry course from TGC but realized I needed a more basic introduction to fully appreciate it. This course seemed ideal. However, the first 12 lectures or so seemed very easy and I wondered if the course was TOO basic, but by the end I had been fully stretched and only managed to answer one of the three final challenge questions completely correctly. The course instructor was fantastic. Professor Cardulla is a born educator and I was very touched by his heartfelt comments right at the end of lesson 36. Lucky indeed the students who had him as a teacher. My procedure was to listen to a lecture, pause at the questions, try to solve them on my own first and only then look at the solutions. By the time I'd done the accompanying handbook problems I felt I had a decent grasp of concepts and techniques. The course could have covered more material: there's very little on bonding, for example, but realize that many high school students need lectures on more fundamental material that an adult learner might already know. Overall, I have been very satisfied by this course and I am happy I purchased it.
Date published: 2016-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More Than I Expected I took this course to refresh my basic chemistry from decades ago in preparation for the course on organic chemistry. I found much more than I expected! If you are in high school and taking or planning to take chemistry, this course is the clearest presentation of the basics that I think one could find. If you do well in arithmetic and early algebra but "word problems" blow you away, this is the course that will help to clarify the way to handle such problems. Professor Frank Cardulla has obviously taught more than a sufficient number of students to understand where their thinking and approach to problem solving are inadequate. And he has the patience to explain what needs to be done to understand the problem and then choose a proper route to the solution. So for the student or the parents of a student, this is a good choice to make in preparation for taking chemistry - and really preparation for handling those awful "word problems". And the course gave me what I needed to continue my "studies". Win - win.
Date published: 2016-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I liked very much chemical-equilibrium lectures I originally purchased this course for my daughter. However, being a chemist myself, I decided to take this course as refreshment. I was greatly surprised of the clarity of the explanations of difficult concepts in chemistry, such as chemical equilibrium, including Le Chatelier’s principles. This course is not only excellent for high-school students, it is also great for understanding advanced courses on chemistry (analytical chemistry, physical chemistry, among others).
Date published: 2016-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Okay Frank, Let's Have Part 2! I enjoyed this class very much in spite of it being geared to the high school level. Cardulla has a way of making each and every chemistry problem easy to understand and solve. Excellent. I remember being taught many of these concepts when I was in school and being completely baffled by many of the problems. It seems we were taught the hard way to do everything. This course is a step-by-step course that will make many other science courses easier because Cardulla so clearly explains every concept in real terms. I love that aspect of his teaching. If I can 'see' a problem, I can work it out. When he holds up the box to show molar volume of gas, it gives a very good picture that can be mentally referenced for thinking about future problems. I can't look at a nickel without thinking about...(take the course) This is a high school level course designed to help students with chemistry problems. It serves that function brilliantly. When I went a bit deeper in the course on thermodynamics, the volumes of gas and molar volume concepts were a snap. In other words, the material is highly transferable even if you don't solve chemistry problems. There is a problem. I want more. I hereby ask that Frank be recruited to produce a Chemistry Part 2 which focuses on chemistry sans the math---chemical properties, reactions, interactions, energy, etc. Wouldn't that be great? I'd love to understand more about the chemicals I encounter every day, how those chemicals were discovered and how they are made. There are chemical processes that occur in cooking. I'd love to know more about those processes. This is a great course. Keep in mind that it's designed for high school and the focus is on problem solving. That assumed, it's a great course indeed. I highly recommend this course even if you don't want to get involved in problem solving. There is application in most of the other science courses offered here. Build your foundation.
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't buy this course I was optimistic when I bought this course. I've had great experiences with many other courses the Great Courses offers and give 5/5 star reviews on... but this one reeeeeally falls short. 1. The professor talks too fast. 2. The problems are not explained very well and the process to solve the practice problems are confusing. 3. I've had to seek out tutoring on Youtube just to figure out how to solve the practice problems in the accompanying workbook. 4. The answer keys at the back of the book do a very poor job at explaining how answers were figured out. Don't buy this course. Spend the money on a chemistry tutor at your local school instead.
Date published: 2016-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent This is quite easily the best learning experience I have ever had, and that includes a BSc in Electrical Engineering. Thank you Frank, you are an inspiration! Chemistry is easy, well I think it is now at least! Buy it, you won't regret it
Date published: 2016-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny! Without question, the best teaching experience I have ever had. Science or otherwise. Professor Cardulla breaks down General Chemistry in a way that is fun, understandable and engaging. If you have a high school student who is going into chemistry, or just want to brush up on your fundamentals - this is a must-have! Thank-you for helping me to fall in love with both chemistry and the necessity of intuitive understanding. I'll be sure to put "Force Koran" on a whiteboard and to strand as many people as I can on a desert island with various fruits.
Date published: 2016-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chemistry Revisited and Rivised. A most enjoyable course superbly taught and presented. Stunning graphics, animations and video clips. Strongly recommended.
Date published: 2015-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from thank you Prof Cardulla! I bought this course for my older son like two three years ago. He never found the time to watch it. This past summer, I tried my daughter (now a junior High). As I expected, she accepted to watch it. Yet, for more fun, she suggested to watch it together with me. I said "ok, lets watch and review some chemistry together". Amazing! what a great decision! My daughter and I, not only reviewed the basics of chemistry, but bonded together over a wonderful, organized and well-constructed course. I would like to congratulate Prof Cardulla and the GC team for the fine job they did by putting together this course, and reducing chemistry to a such a lovable and doable subject. Back in time, in my days as a student, I don't recall an instructor as engaging and clear as Prof Cardulla. His long years of study, practice and teaching really paid up. Only one caveat: the first DVD, the first 6 lessons are not really chemistry and you can start the course on lesson 7.
Date published: 2015-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must for H.S. students taking any science class. I watched this course as a refresher on chemistry since I haven’t used this material in over 20 years. The professor is very animated and I’m sure he will keep my kids engaged when I have them watch this course. For me, the beauty of this course is how well the math is presented. The first half of the course really focuses on problem solving and the necessary critical thinking involved when setting up a science problem. I believe that any student taking physics for the first time would also benefit from the information in the first half of the course. As for the chemistry concepts, I think the course is a great introduction for high school students, but will probably fall short for adult learners. There are other courses like the fabulous “The Nature of Matter: Understanding the Physical World” that adult learners should take with this course to really round out a modern overview of chemistry. Please, do your child a favor and buy this course for them if they haven’t done much applied math or high school level science. And please encourage them to work the problems while watching. The extra effort will pay off for them.
Date published: 2015-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As advertised: A high school chemistry course I had inorganic chemistry many years ago, and I bought this course to prepare as a tutor for high school students. I was delighted with the course as it comes to the heart of difficulty some students have with chemistry: solving mole and equilibrium problems. The first 10 lectures are basic. They present the fundamentals of SI notation, unit conversions, the Periodic Table of Elements, and calculating atomic and molecular weights. The subsequent 26 lectures present a progressive approach to problem solving with increasingly complex problems. The course is concluded with solving problems of partial ionization of competing ions given only such data as pH, solubility constants, or concentrations of compounds. In the final lecture, Professor Cardulla finishes the course with the same advice he would give his classroom high school students at the completion of his course. It was easy to tell that once he has invested his time with a student, and the student has worked with him, there is an emotion of separation, but a sense of accomplishment on the part of both. Professor Cardulla teaches thinking. He does not teach rote memorization of formulae or equations. For whom is this course suited? High school chemistry students who need further explanation for calculating chemical processes. High school students who are self-motivated to prepare for the SAT exam or an AP chemistry course. Parents who want to help their students. People such as I who want to review chemistry, or who want to help younger students. Finally, I think current high school teachers could learn from his energetic, knowledgeable, clear approach to the subject.
Date published: 2015-03-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for adults or bright school kids I am really not sure how many stars to give this course because it was so utterly inappropriate for me or anyone I know. I wanted a good review of the chemistry I learned in high school 50 years ago, but found this course far too basic. I would say that if the course has any value, it would be for high school chemistry students who struggle with the most basic arithmetic and are hopelessly lost in their chemistry class. I listened to the first four lectures, all of which seemed to cover little more than the basic idea behind basic division; like 30 students per classroom, or 60 miles per hour, or so many grams per liter. Next were two lectures dedicated to SI units. There was nothing here that I had not fully mastered by the 5th grade. By this point, a 36 lecture course on chemistry was down to just 30 lectures to deal with the actual subject matter, and the professor had already mentioned that "obviously" a complete high school course could not be covered in 36 lectures. I skipped about 10 lectures ahead to one of the substantive lectures to see if there was going to be something of value for me after all. In the first 5 minutes, nothing was mentioned that I had not learned by the time I completed the 6th grade, so I gave up and exchanged this course for something else. On the other hand, this is an award winning high school chemistry teacher with many years experience, and I have no doubt that there are many remedial students at his high school and elsewhere who need this level of treatment. For those students, no doubt his approach is excellent.
Date published: 2015-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent high school chemistry source Mr. Frank Cardulla did an excellent job with the chemistry, 2nd edition. He explained each concept in chemistry very clearly.
Date published: 2014-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a wonderful course and instructor Being an environmental professional in the field I often buy courses from this company for refresher and update courses. Its much cheaper than going to a local college and auditing courses. I really thought this course was awesome. It was presented so well and the teaching style and the way it was all brought together was wonderful! I really enjoyed the way this course and the style of the teacher that brought no pressure and no one fails mentality to the course. I know I am going to have my son who is in high school and a daughter who is in college chance to each take this course! To the teacher I say: thank you thank you a thousand time for this wonderful course!
Date published: 2014-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Touchdown Chemistry Wow chemistry is one of those courses my girls dreaded. They did very well and this course sure helped them out a lot. Each of my girls took 2 years of high school chemistry and this video sure helped them. Any parent with a high school student facing chemistry should spend a few dollars and run a video each evening before the chemistry term begins. Your child will walk in class with more confidence. My girls did.
Date published: 2014-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Course I purchases this course to help my son in honors chemistry. It was fantastic. My son would check to see if Mr. Cardulla had a lecture on any topic about to be covered in class. These lectures make principles very clear; building on this foundation with additional material from his class textbook was much easier than working with only the class text. I highly recommend that you print and use the Mr. Cardulla's associated workbook. The first four lectures just get you "warmed up" and unintimidated. I recommend your student listen to these before chemistry classes begin. It would be great if Mr. Cardulla would do a second Chemistry series covering even more topics in high school chemistry. Worth every penny!
Date published: 2014-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Daughter Hated First 4 videos I bought this course for my daughter because she was taking honors chemistry in 9th grade. She watched the videos in the summer before 9th grade and hated most of the time - she would watch a video and come downstairs and say that if she heard Mr Cardulla talk about fruit or rooms one more time she would scream. She said he annoyed her and she was bored. Fast forward to the last 6 weeks of 9th grade - my daughter said to me this morning - "I am so glad that you made me watch the Chemistry videos. I think Mr Cardulla is the best teacher, he taught me to think." When I asked her to explain I was amazed at the detail of her recall of exaclty what Mr Cardulla said. She has not watched these since last summer and she can still remember his words. The Chemistry videos gave my daughter confidence and a strong foundation - which has fostered a real interest in the subject. The feeling of not being lost - as she describes most people in her class - was worth every penny and more. I wish that there was a Chemistry 2 set - we would definitely buy it. If you find that you are not interested in the video, try to stay on task and keep moving forward. I will admit that I "made" my daughter watch these - If she wanted to hang out with friends she had a certain number of lecture she had to watch each week. Believe it or not, I am on today because she specifically asked me to look for any videos I can find based on the classes she is registered for next year.
Date published: 2014-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from College Chem Secret Weapon I am a nontraditional student taking Intro to Chemistry in college. I have never taken Chemistry courses before, in or out of high school. In College Algebra, Precalc, and Trigonometry, I made 'A' grades. The only reason I mention those grades is to say, I get math, and chemistry is a lot of math. I failed my first test in chemistry - I could not do the math. It did not make any sense to me. It seemed more like the Professor presented the material, not taught it. I was highly discouraged. I did not even try to answer some questions because I knew I did not know what I was doing. I saw this course online. I ordered it, watched the videos and worked all the problems as they were presented. Out of curiosity, I pulled out my test( with a grade of 45) and answered all of the questions I could not answer before. I then went to my professor with my answers and found they were all correct. This course taught me what my college course did not. For that, I am very grateful. At this time I am passing my Chemistry course. This course made that possible for me. I like having the ability to pause and work the problems myself then hit play to see if I got it right. Frank Cardulla almost seems to challenge you to excel. He makes it all seem so easy. I was amazed at what I learned from this course. Mr. Cardulla is an awesome instructor. If only all Instructors were as great. I highly recommend this course to any taking a chemistry class. My son will be watching it this summer to prepare for his Honors Chemistry class (H.S.) starting in the Fall. He has watched some of it with me and gained an interest in chemistry that did not exist before.
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 12 year old's first Chem Class WOW!!! Professor Frank Cardulla is an amazing teacher. My twelve year old son started and finished this class in 3 months. He is lucky to have Prof. Frank to be his first Chem teacher. He solved all the problems in the workbook which adds more value to this class. Prof. Frank's presentation of stoichiometry and equilibrium constants is outstanding. I could tell that Prof. Frank truly cares about the student's understanding of the material. The animation of reverse reactions made it easy to understand the concept well. I understand that while this is not an entire course on HS Chemistry, this course would make it easier to understand other concepts well. For example, kinetic theory of gas gives rise to PV=nRT. Given the volume at STP based on Avogadro hypothesis, a student can work out the value of R by himself or herself. Now, I can only dream of someone making presentations like this in Biology, Geology and Physics. I would love to see first level classes on those. Prof. Frank, Kudos to you for developing my son's interest in Chemistry and thank you for being an excellent teacher.
Date published: 2014-02-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too dry I'm a huge fan of the science and math courses on Great Courses, but I'm not a fan of this one. Chemistry is something I've wanted to understand, but I couldn't get past lecture 3. Its starts off so bogged down with the equations that the interesting parts of chemistry are lost. I'm going to try watching this again, but I really hope this course gets redone by someone like Professor Hazen who created wonderful courses here.
Date published: 2013-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really great course The professor is awesome and his explanations are clear. The book is the only weakness as it had wrong answers in the back sometimes. But the company sent us revisions.
Date published: 2013-12-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Recommended ~ but buy a chemistry textbook too! The lecturer started by claiming how EASY a subject chemistry is, but the course very quickly became intensive, requiring careful concentration and dedicated application. Sorry, but far from easy! For me, as a relative old-timer, it was fascinating to find out that the "inert" gases I learned about in chemistry class are now "noble" gases. And the concept of the "mole" wasn't around in my school days! Professor Cardulla places very heavy emphasis on problem-solving. Immediately after giving us a rule or tenet, he sets about showing how to solve problems that are based on the concept -- and there are more posers in the excellent workbook that comes with the DVDs. Working out the answers is largely simple arithmetic, but it requires a solid grounding in the points of reference, so that you know what to divide into what, or multiply by what. Grasping all the intricacies and interrelationships of molecules, atoms, neutrons, protons, electrons, nuclei, atomic weights, etc may mean running several of the lectures twice or more. Many of the rules and laws that were drummed into me so long ago were omitted from this course, to its overall detriment, I felt. More practical demonstrations would have been helpful, too -- despite the teacher's stated dislike of the "whizz-bang" side of chemistry. This lecturer has a friendly, authoritative, folksy style which I liked, even introduced good humour, and made fine comparisons to assist his explanations. He's quite different from many of the teachers I was subjected to in my early days, some of whom were dull, uninspiring and absolutely no-nonsense types. Clearly, Professor Cardulla is forever bonded to and enamoured by his subject; he's a fine teacher, and I am happy to recommend this course, though I would very strongly advise the student to obtain a good basic chemistry textbook to study additionally.
Date published: 2013-10-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed Good for problem solving but weak on theory. Weak on electron orbitals. Too much talking and not enough demonstrations. Ineffective use of visuals. There is far better free stuff on the Internet.
Date published: 2013-09-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Extremely helpful This teacher is extremely helpful. Not only does he thoroughly understand the concept but more importantly, he knows how to convey it clearly to students. Also, I appreciate the absence of an "audience" in the video. It is much more natural for the viewer in front of the computer to be the "audience" and for the presenter to speak to the camera. Thanks! A request for the Teaching Company: Please don't put animations in the margins of slides during the video. The movement only distracts the student.
Date published: 2013-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for High School Chem Thanks Prof. My son went straight to AP Chem with no other chemistry class and made an A in class and in the Lab. He went through the course over the summer break between 9 and 10 and never had any issues his sophomore year. Outstanding Course, all involved should be very proud.
Date published: 2013-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Chemistry teacher ever! This course is for those who took Chemistry course and had a hard time to grasp the concepts. Chemistry would be my favorite subject if I had you as my teacher. Please make more Chemistry courses, Professor Cardulla. Many thanks!
Date published: 2013-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most Influential Teacher Chemistry is the bedrock of many of the physical sciences. It is also vital to understanding what is going on around you. Without some familiarity with chemistry, one has difficulty navigating drug labels, food labels, claims by industry, claims by the new media, etc. In an age of information overload, a basic understanding of chemistry is of great advantage. My own chemistry background served me well during my years as a physician. Its application to pharmacy helped me discern when a "new drug" was really new [vs a chemically similar novelty that simply cost more], when its mechanism of action made sense, etc. Chemistry helped me decide which "treatment guidelines" should be implemented vs those doomed to change because they made little biochemical sense. As a family practitioner and as a member of multiple pharmacy committees over the years, it helped me keep excellent specialists from ruining their own hard-won recommendations via interactions and side effects. I got this course to evaluate it for a grandson. 40 years after taking chemistry, Frank Cardulla's course was a joy to go through. He is so well organized; I kept wishing I'd gone to his high school class rather than some of the stuff I took as a college freshman. I felt like a kid in a candy store because this course definitely brings out the joy of chemistry. I did all the problems and even filled a notebook with calculations just because it felt great and Cardulla makes you want to do it. Is there math? Absolutely. But Cardulla starts out with lectures like "Intro & Philosophy / Basic Concepts of Quantitative Reasoning". So a student with any seriousness is well oriented. If this course can't light a fire, then one might seriously consider another field. CONS: Another reviewer has done an excellent job of pointing out the additional areas that another 12 lectures could cover. Unfortunately, with Cardulla's retirement in '99, I don't think we'll get that privilege. Perhaps the TC can add another course? SUMMARY: I feel that the Cardulla's citation for being named "most influential teacher" by attending students is really why this course, despite some uncovered topics, is extremely welcome. Given Cardulla's teaching & motivational skills, there will be quite a few who will seek out more about chemistry on their own. It is worth every penny.
Date published: 2013-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Presentation skills I am not a student and knew little about chemistry. I took the course to help students with their homework that I volunteer for at our local library. This is by far the best presenter I have seen in the the great courses programs. Everything is well thought out; he thinks through carefully everything he plans to say without muttering his speech. He uses pauses very effectively to highlight points, and knows when to add humor to make an otherwise dry topic fun to lean. I wished I had you as a teacher in high school or college. I encourage you to do more courses.
Date published: 2013-03-03
  • y_2019, m_9, d_22, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_59
  • loc_en_US, sid_1012, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 59.23ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Customers Who Bought This Course Also Bought