High School Level-World History: The Fertile Crescent to The American Revolution

Course No. 131
Professor Linwood Thompson, M.A.
Bellflower High School, Los Angeles, California
Share This Course
4 out of 5
64 Reviews
62% of reviewers would recommend this product
Course No. 131
Sale
No Streaming Available Unavailable

Course Overview

Give your student a time travelling tour of world history with this brilliant lecture series taught by award winning educator Linwood Thompson. In 30 lectures your student will cover the full story of human civilization, analyzing geography, technology, economies, social institutions and cultural achievements. The magnitude of the material would be daunting for most teachers, but not this one.

One Visual Aid

This is a very unusual course in world history. It is taught by Professor Linwood Thompson, a teacher of both history and of drama at his school. And that's why this course is special.

Professor Thompson is the visual aid for these lectures. Every lesson is delivered in special period costumes and in characters often invented to illustrate the life of their times. Professor Thompson has an arsenal of costumes as well as a firm grasp on the personae of great historical figures. He dresses, talks, and acts like them. He actually becomes them! He's such an entertaining presenter that you learn without knowing it. Every lecture is delivered in costume and in character.

Just sit back, relax, and learn.

The Big Picture

Professor Thompson’s character will inspire students to look at history from new perspectives. Each guide on the student’s tour through history will show students the big picture, the lasting effects of these civilizations were on Western civilization as we know it today.

Through this course students will discover:

  • How the Nile River and its surrounding deserts shaped the history of ancient Egypt
  • The importance of myths and literature, such as Homer’s Iliad, to the people of ancient Greece
  • How ancient, isolated, imperial China developed its unique culture
  • The birth of Athenian democracy and how it compares to American democracy
  • How Byzantium survived 1,000 years after the fall of the Roman Empire
  • The Scandinavian raiders the Vikings, their history, religion, strategies, and ultimately what caused the end of their raids
  • What was happening in Europe during the Dark Ages
  • The rise of Christianity from a few followers to the religion’s central role in the Crusades
  • The resurrection of the humanities during the Renaissance
  • The rise of Europe’s superpowers and Western civilization’s first nation-states
  • Colonialism of European powers in the New World and Africa
  • Early America’s break from the British Empire.

How to Use the Course

Professor Thompson describes the course and how he wants students to approach it:

"We will start our exploration of world history with ancient river valley civilizations in what is now termed the Middle East. Our study explores these fascinating places and tries to discover the influences that they had on subsequent nations in such things as art, architecture, philosophy and religion, political and legal systems, and literature.

"We end with the transition from the 'old world' of 18th-century Europe to the 'new world' of the just-created United States.

"Many of the characters I portray in these lectures are actual historical figures. Other composite characters can be distinguished by the use of my name within the character's name.

"Remember that the lecturers from each period will share certain attitudes and biases while sharing the story of their day and their world. It is important that you gain a truly historical perspective by reading and studying these same incidents as recorded and analyzed in various articles and books.

"Although there is no bibliography with this outline, you can readily find books on all these subjects by going to your school or public library, or using the Internet. This will be a good way to develop research and reading skills that will help you as you advance through your schooling toward college.

"What I have provided you with are questions—essay questions—at the end of each lesson. Use these questions to guide your investigation into the topics. To get the most out of this course, write out the answers after you have found a source. Show it to your teacher or someone who can evaluate it to be sure you have covered all the important facts.

"World history is a vast and rich story of the events that have shaped the modern world, both East and West. We will touch on the civilizations of Africa and Asia, but the majority of the lectures deal with the shaping of Western civilization. Allow the stories to transport you back in time to marvelous places and people. I love world history! I hope you will love it too."

Thumbs-up from Students

Professor Thompson’s history program at Bellflower High School in the suburbs of Los Angeles has attracted international attention for its creativity and innovation.

"History is a blast!" and "He makes history come alive!" are just some of the comments collected from his students.

We should add that this course is too good to restrict it to high school students. Adults will enjoy these performances too. And history, in the hands of these many characters, has far more "sticking power" than any chronological narrative you've ever heard or seen.

Hide Full Description
30 lectures
 |  Average 30 minutes each
  • 1
    Civilizations of the Fertile Crescent
    The audience will compare and contrast the early civilizations that began along the world’s great river systems and understand their influence on later civilizations. x
  • 2
    Egypt—The Gift of the Nile
    The audience will compare and contrast the early civilizations that began along the world’s great river systems and understand their influence on later civilizations. x
  • 3
    Early India and China
    The audience will compare and contrast the early civilizations that began along the world’s great river systems and understand their influence on later civilizations. x
  • 4
    The Ancient Greeks
    Students will make connections between the ancient Greek and Roman Empires and their shared influence on Western culture. x
  • 5
    Ancient Rome
    Students will make connections between the ancient Greek and Roman Empires and their shared influence on Western culture. x
  • 6
    The Growth of Christianity
    Students will make connections between the ancient Greek and Roman Empires and their shared influence on Western culture. x
  • 7
    The Fall of Rome
    Students will make connections between the ancient Greek and Roman Empires and their shared influence on Western culture. x
  • 8
    The Byzantine Empire
    Students will understand the geographical and cultural influences which shaped the Middle East and Eastern Europe. x
  • 9
    The Rise of Islam
    Students will understand the geographical and cultural influences which shaped the Middle East and Eastern Europe. x
  • 10
    Early Russia and the Fall of Constantinople
    Students will understand the geographical and cultural influences which shaped the Middle East and Eastern Europe. x
  • 11
    The Early Christian Church
    Students will explore Europe’s progression from chaos to order as diverse cultures evolve into Christendom. x
  • 12
    The Vikings
    Students will explore Europe’s progression from chaos to order as diverse cultures evolve into Christendom. x
  • 13
    Medieval Life
    Students will explore Europe’s progression from chaos to order as diverse cultures evolve into Christendom. x
  • 14
    The Crusades
    Students will explore Europe’s progression from chaos to order as diverse cultures evolve into Christendom. x
  • 15
    The 1300's, The Age of Despair
    Students will explore Europe’s progression from chaos to order as diverse cultures evolve into Christendom. x
  • 16
    The Renaissance
    Students will realize the cultural changes that were brought to the world because of the Italian Renaissance. x
  • 17
    Africa—The Civilizations of the Sub-Sahara
    Students will understand the geographical and cultural influences that made Africa’s Sub-Sahara so unique. x
  • 18
    China
    The student will contrast and compare the Asian peoples of China, Mongolia, and Japan as they interacted with each other. x
  • 19
    The Mongols and Marco Polo
    The student will contrast and compare the Asian peoples of China, Mongolia, and Japan as they interacted with each other. x
  • 20
    Early Japan through the Tokugawa Period
    The student will contrast and compare the Asian peoples of China, Mongolia, and Japan as they interacted with each other. x
  • 21
    Discoverers and Conquistadors
    Students will understand the facts behind the exploration and colonization of the Americas. The students will also understand the impact that the discovery of the Americas had on the rest of the world. x
  • 22
    North American Explorers
    Students will understand the facts behind the exploration and colonization of the Americas. The students will also understand the impact that the discovery of the Americas had on the rest of the world. x
  • 23
    The Old World vs. The New World—Hazards and Benefits
    Students will understand the facts behind the exploration and colonization of the Americas. The students will also understand the impact that the discovery of the Americas had on the rest of the world. x
  • 24
    Civilizations of The Americas
    Students will understand the facts behind the exploration and colonization of the Americas. The students will also understand the impact that the discovery of the Americas had on the rest of the world. x
  • 25
    The Protestant Reformation
    Students will understand the cultural changes brought to the world because of the Protestant Reformation. x
  • 26
    Tudor England
    The students will compare and contrast the outstanding monarchs of Europe and their impact on European culture. x
  • 27
    The English Civil War and Parliament
    The students will compare and contrast the outstanding monarchs of Europe and their impact on European culture. x
  • 28
    The Monarchs of Europe
    The students will compare and contrast the outstanding monarchs of Europe and their impact on European culture. x
  • 29
    The Growth of Democracy
    The students will compare and contrast the outstanding monarchs of Europe and their impact on European culture. x
  • 30
    The American Revolution
    The students will compare and contrast the outstanding monarchs of Europe and their impact on European culture. x

Lecture Titles

Clone Content from Your Professor tab

What's Included

What Does Each Format Include?

Video DVD
DVD Includes:
  • 30 lectures on 5 DVDs
  • 116-page printed course guidebook

What Does The Course Guidebook Include?

Video DVD
Course Guidebook Details:
  • 116-page printed course guidebook
  • Comprehension questions and answers
  • Essay questions
  • Questions to consider

Enjoy This Course On-the-Go with Our Mobile Apps!*

  • App store App store iPhone + iPad
  • Google Play Google Play Android Devices
  • Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Tablet + Firephone
*Courses can be streamed from anywhere you have an internet connection. Standard carrier data rates may apply in areas that do not have wifi connections pursuant to your carrier contract.

Your professor

Linwood Thompson

About Your Professor

Linwood Thompson, M.A.
Bellflower High School, Los Angeles, California
Linwood Thompson teaches history at Bellflower High School in suburban Los Angeles, where his program has attracted international attention for its creativity and innovation. Professor Thompson received his M.A. at Brigham Young University. The California State Senate honored him for Outstanding Achievement in Education. In 1997-1998, he received the State Superintendent of Public Instruction California Teachers of the...
Learn More About This Professor
Also By This Professor

Reviews

High School Level-World History: The Fertile Crescent to The American Revolution is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 64.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Missing lesson I'm still going through the series, however, one issue is that lecture number 3 is missing, or if there, it won't play. When I attempt to play it, the disc keeps playing the intro. I can't skip to it or access it. It simply starts the intro. I can play lecture 4, but for whatever reason, 3 is just not there. Disappointing, but at the $35.00 sale price, it's not horrible. I just hope it's the only error.
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Average lectures With only two lessons under my belt, I am somewhat frustrated. I do enjoy the professo'rs lectures but there is a need for visual aids: maps, names spelled out, brief outlines to follow lecture. That would make the lessons perfect.
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from First disappointment of three courses so far "Professor" does not suit my learning style or taste. It's almost 100% lecture/talk, no visuals in the first three lessons in a course that cries out for visuals. Maybe it would get better later in the course, but I do not have the patience, am sending it back.
Date published: 2017-03-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It fits the course My wife and I bought this course to occupy your time and perhaps learn something about world history. We are both disappointed. Both of us have college degrees and knows something about history. However, the professor while he is interesting by his dress and dialect, nonetheless is boring. Both of us Fell asleep on several occasions. And his presentation suffers because of a lack of visual materials such as maps diagrams etc.
Date published: 2017-03-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The Fertile Crescent to The American Revolution My wife and I enjoyed the 1st half-hour, but were disappointed that there were no pictures or even maps. All we saw was a lecturer. I looked ahead and all of the half-hour lectures are just that lectures - no maps, no pictures, no nothing except a lecturer who thinks he is cute all dressed up and entertaining. The content is good but the presentation is boring. This is the first "great course" I've been disappointed in. If you buy it, buy the audio only - you won't miss anything.
Date published: 2017-03-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Teacher is Fun in Costumes, but I think course would benefit by the introduction of maps - historical maps and current day geographical map, as well as more use of blackboard - spelling out of important names.
Date published: 2017-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the finest history courses There is nothing silly or superficial about this course. Having been fortunate enough to have followed many of the GreatCourses history Professors, this is the only Professor for whom I have had to furiously & joyously take notes (ditto for his impeccable "Early American History" course). Thompson not only states facts, but gives us insight into the quirks of many of history's characters. He not only discusses the important players but the "minor players", why each one of their contributions is important, and how they all fit in. I really do not understand how Professor Thompson is not teaching on a post-doctoral level. He is simply a machine of information and wonderfully coordinates facts and events. Yes, there are more "specialized" courses on history, but "drilling down" is no more important than a wonderfully detailed and wide-ranging course. While it might be nice to have pictures the course doesn't need them and they might distract from the furious pace of information. Linwood's costuming and sense of humor were needed entertainment as he blasts through a prodigious quantity of material. I have even found it useful to review Thompson's pertinent chapter before going into most specialized GreatCourses history offerings. Things I would love to see with this course: a streaming version and perhaps an audio version for review when exercising. This is a course where buying the transcript would be of great benefit as it would save a lot of note-taking. Best to all GreatCourses students!
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Just goofy I'm shocked that this guy was named teacher of the year in any year in any school system. My daughters (college and high school freshman) burst into hysterical laughter as soon as he came on the screen. The costumes, the accents, we couldn't fathom entering a classroom every day and seeing him dressed like that and not being laughed out of the building. I've been very impressed with the content and structure of other courses I've purchased but this was just abyssmal.
Date published: 2016-07-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from not organized I was looking for a concise , with a clear timeline, world history review. The teacher emphasized so much on presentation (i.e., costumes) and not enough depth on the history itself. I was really disappointed.
Date published: 2016-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High School Level World History My only recommendation is that since the course ends with the American Revolution, that Mr. Thompson could continue with a follow up course from the American Revolution through more current events in history.
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Every HS student (and adult) should see this Linwood Thompson is an actor that teaches history by playing a character of the era he is teaching. Learning through entertainment! Can't get much better than that. Oh, if I would have had him as a history teacher when I was young. I'm 70 years old now and generally knew most of what he discussed, but not as clearly as I do now after taking his class. I purchased it for my grand-daughter and wanted to view a few lessons before I turned it over to her and ended up watching the whole thing within a week. I admire good teachers, and Mr. Thompson is the tops! I got a kick out of some classes that you could actually hear the cameramen cracking up in the background. This class has been around the Teaching Company for many years now, but like a classic movie, it doesn't go out of style. It is minus the graphics and maps that are edited into today's classes, but don't let that stop you from buying it. In fact not having maps may encourage students to break out an atlas and look up places themselves.
Date published: 2016-01-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from May be worthwhile to some high school students. For those students that require to be entertained in this manner to learn or spark an interest it's fine.
Date published: 2016-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Presentation I wish this professor had many more courses. My 9th graders loved watching the lectures. Sometimes they would watch 2 or 3 per day! We stop the video often for discussion because he makes history so real and relatable. I do wish maps would be presented on the video but that's easy enough to do at home. My kids are retaining the information very well. Thanks Great Courses.
Date published: 2016-01-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lack of visual aids is fixable I wish I had read the reviews before buying. The lack of visual aids is a serious drawback. However, I think the Great Courses could easily fix this. Provide a free downloadable companion PDF of visual aids, one chapter for each 30 minute lecture. Then I think you would see this become a five-star course.
Date published: 2015-10-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not what I expected The description said that the professor did the lectures in costume. I expected relevant costumes. I did not expect the professor to do Ancient Egypt as Sam Spade. I get his point, that Egyptologists and other archaeologists are like detectives, piecing together clues to make educated guesses about the past. That was lost on my son, who had never heard of Sam Spade and didn't know the character was supposed to be a detective. He got the impression that archaeologists wear trench coats. My son and I both found the fake accent (New Jersey?# to be distracting and annoying. If you're going to do Ancient Egypt in costume, how about dressing as an ancient Egyptian? Also, the videos do not use appropriate visual aids. When the professor talks about how the Fertile Crescent includes the area between The Tigris and Euphrates rivers, I'd like to see that on a map. When he describes the ziggurats built by the ancient Sumerians, I'd like to see a picture of a ziggurat. Instead I just see him, in his costume, standing in a classroom. I frequently stopped the video to find maps, pictures of ziggurats, and other visual aids on Wikipedia so that my son would have some idea what the professor was talking about. Since we have already paid for the videos, we are going to watch the rest of them #we've seen the first two so far# and find our own visuals on the internet. I'm sure we will learn something. However, if I had known that the costumes were irrelevant and there were no visual aids, I would not have purchased this series. If you are looking for something to listen to while driving #so you're not actually watching it), and if you are not annoyed by the accents, this is OK.
Date published: 2015-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Fertile Crescent to the American Revolution The depth of historical material covered, yet easy going manner with which Professor Thompson presents it, makes this one of my all time favorite history courses. And I love history! His dramatic costumes and accents are cute and make it interesting.... but even more so, the breadth and detail he covers which so adeptly keeps the listener riveted for more. I come away feeling like I really learned something from this! And it stays with you!! Well done, Professor Thompson. Thank you!!
Date published: 2014-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for Middle School This is the first course that my family has watched. I wanted my 10-year-old to have an overview of world history, rather than the way it is taught in school in bits and pieces. This teacher's style was overdone for me, as an adult, but my daughter loved it. I don't know how much she will retain from simply watching the course, but at least it introduced the timeline and important terms. She watched the entire course and asked if the teacher had any more courses, which I consider the highest praise. She found some topics a little boring, which is why she gave 4 stars overall, but this was because certain topics were inherently less interesting to her and not because of the teacher's presentation.
Date published: 2013-08-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We appreciate it but where are the photos and maps I believe one of the keys to a good teacher is that they enjoy their subject. We all remember sitting in classes where we struggled to stay awake, right? No problem with this man ... it is clear that he loves history and loves to teach. His costumes and accents can sometimes be a bit distracting (and silly) at the start of the lecture, however soon we find ourselves drawn into what he is saying and totally forget about the funny accent and costume. My children (ages 16 and 18) and I are enjoying this course HOWEVER we would REALLY like it more if it had pictures and maps to go along with it. If this course would provide maps and photos, it would go from 'good' to 'OUTSTANDING'. I suggest keeping a map or globe near by to look up specific places, as well as a pen and paper to write down events or persons you would like to learn more about or see photos of. It comes with a workbook that has an outline of each lecture on one page and questions about the lecture on the other page. The questions include two essay topics. Nice features for the homeschooler or anyone looking for enrichment activities (which are needed, along with the maps and photos, if you would like more than just an overview). This was our first course; we look forward to getting a few more soon.
Date published: 2013-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Teaching Company Course Ever! I have completed 30-40 Teaching Company courses over the last 3-4 years and this is the best Kick Butt course ever. Mr. Thompson understands history and people better than anyone else. History is the best subject to study. He is my favorite Tecahing Company teacher by far and should do some other courses for the company.
Date published: 2013-07-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mixed Review I liked the course, but my students absolutely refused to sit through it.
Date published: 2013-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the intended audience I've read a number of the reviews of this course, and some of the criticisms are valid. However, remember that the target audience for this course is a high school age student. To me, one key question for most buyers of this course should be: Will my teenager sit down to actually watch these and learn something from them? From that vantage point, I think the answer is a resounding yes. These courses will spur student interest in some of the great civilizations of the world and help the student understand some of the key contributions and key contributors from all over the the world. My teenagers devoured the course and enjoyed the cast of characters that Professor Linwood introduces. Bottom line: this course hits its mark with a unique style and format. The criticisms about the lack of maps or other graphical elements to aid the learner are valid. There are several lectures that would be much easier to follow if they had some onscreen helpers. My supposition (total conjecture) is that these courses were among some of the first produced by TTC and since then they've learned a lot about how to produce a better course. Sadly, they haven't gone back to "remaster" this course but it isn't fatally flawed. Another major criticism seems to be that Professor Thompson missed some key element of a culture, time period, person, etc. But in a broad survey course that reduces great civilizations to a 30 minute lecture, many things are going to be left on the cutting room floor. Constraints on time and lecture content are a good thing. There are literally dozens of other courses from TTC that cover all of these subjects in greater depth. Buy those courses and enjoy them, too.
Date published: 2012-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, but I Have Two Complaints Linwood Thompson's schtick is to dress up in period clothing, become a character of that period and tell what is going on in that time and place. So, he dresses as an Egyptian, a Greek, a Roman, a monk, a Russian Princess (yes! with a beard!). He is entertaining and informative. However, I have a few complaints about the course. - It is is a very cursory look at each period and he uses no maps, no visuals of any kind. That makes the geography, the homes, the people, the customs difficult to grasp. For example, in talking about the ways in which geography protected and aided Byzantium; it would have been very helpful to have a look at the peninsula he was referring to, the sea across which a huge chain was stretched, the three massive walls that held Byzantium strong for a thousand years. But he shows nothing. - Thompsons's personal slant on history makes parsing the truth a job that is left to the viewer. For example, in lecture 11- The Early Christian Church- Thompson refers to that time as "The Dark Ages." That term was replaced long ago and is now commonly referred to as, "The Early Middle Ages." By clinging to the arcane term "Dark Ages," it belies Thompson's slant and prejudice against Christianity. With visuals and some editing of personal opinion, this lecture series could be excellent.
Date published: 2012-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for Homeschool Use I disagree with quite a few others who feel this is only a "supplement" to high school history. I am a firm believer in using what works for each individual child, ie learning styles. My son does not learn well through books. This lecture series is perfect. The study workbook (most high school courses come with these) contains just the things to reinforce the lectures, and see what he has indeed learned. For instance, lecture 16 on The Renaissance has these questions... 1) What does Renaissance mean? 2) What is Machiavelli's book, "The Prince" about? 3) What were the four leading city states in Italy? 4) What powerful family controlled Florence? 5) What is Humanism? 6) Who is regarded as the father of Humanism? 7) What did Boccaccio contribute to literature? 8) Which of the four great Renaissance artists is recognized as a genius in other fields as well? 9) What are the attributes of a Renaissance man? 10) What three factors from the Renaissance Age helped launch the Age of Exploration? Then there are essay questions: 1) Describe the attributes of a perfect Machiavellian ruler. Why would such a leader have to be that way? 2) Explain why the Italian city-states developed the capitalistic and humanistic values that led Europe into the Renaissance Age. What more could you possible want? Watch one lecture, and do the workbook, and that is certainly a days worth of work! Being as there are 30 lessons, nearly a school year, doing on lecture a day will certainly cover an entire year's curriculum. Sure, you may want to hang a map, or add to a written timeline, if that is how your child learns, or how you want to do it. But, this is not supplemental at all! It holds a high schoolers interest, and that is what counts.
Date published: 2011-07-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Almost Great! The presentation is wonderful, but the course begs for some maps! Graphics beyond the costume would make this much more enjoyable and educational. This course is so close to being a home-run for introducing a broad look at this period of time.
Date published: 2011-06-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from good, but needs tweaking We watched this course as a supplement to our home school history course. (And it IS only a supplement, not a full history course.) No doubt the lecturer is talented and engaging! He does have a lively and fun approach. My one complaint (and that of all 8 students who watched the video) is that it needs more multimedia to aid the students. There were no graphics of the type that would help with notetaking: how to spell names and places, how to keep track of main points, etc. I had to stop the video to help the students again and again. I have watched many TTC videos, and most of them help the viewer by adding graphics of names, dates, main points, quotes, etc. This would be a huge improvement for this course, without the need to rerecord it. Please, Teaching Company?
Date published: 2011-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't get enough! Professor Thompson does and excellent job of immediately engaging the student to want to learn more about history. My middle school child watches these videos reapeatedly, not just when it is time to do school work. I would highly recommend the program. My only wish is that there were more supplemental materials to go with the DVD's. The oulines are kind of thin in comparison to the questions provided.
Date published: 2011-04-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great way to brush up on forgotten history When I purchased this course 5 years ago I did not have much understanding of history other than American History. I was hoping to get a big picture grasp of world history through this course, perhaps so it would serve as a nucleating point for other history courses I might purchase. This course did not turn out to be helpful in this way so I set the course aside for a few years. During that time, I have purchased & watched several other Teaching Company history courses and PBS documentaries. After that, I went back to watch Linwood Thompson's course to see 1) what important bits of history I had yet to learn about 2) to solidify what I had learned in those other courses, 3) any other interesting tid-bits. These goals were absolutely met. I think this is an excellent course for someone who already has a pretty good understanding of the sweep of world history (or at least many parts thereof). I was able to zoom back out to the big picture, see what I had missed, recognize and confirm what I already knew, and be entertained by the presentation. While the professor clearly revels in his subject and takes pride in his approach to it, it is presented unpretentiously which makes them easy and fun to watch. Within the first minute of most lectures, I came to believe that I was really watching that historical character. I would recommend this course for someone who already has some grounding in world history and wants to have fun brushing up on it.
Date published: 2011-02-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from World History I teach world history in high school to low level students. This is an excellent supplement to use along with the standard textbook and other materials. I use this as a review right before I test the students on a given topic. I do not feel this could "stand alone" as the primary source to be used in a world hsitory course. It is just too brief and not all topics are covered adequately I believe. Mr. Linwood is a dynamic lecturer and his dress, etc. will capture student's interest.
Date published: 2010-07-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from First Mediocre Apple I have bought many, and done many more of the courses here. And this is the first that did not take. In all honesty I only watched one lecture, but I was teaching a class and needed my two oldest homeschooled boys - who generaly BEG for teaching company lectures - to be occupied for an hour a week. After three weeks they were asking if they could skip them and I was so surprised. So I watched one, and I concur. If you kids are used to the content of the other coursed here this one won't be a good fit.
Date published: 2010-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, but could be much better I have mixed feelings about this course. On the one hand, the presentation is wonderful - very engaging and informative. On the other hand, I definitely felt the lack of visual aids, such as maps. Maps, either in the hard-copy course material shipped with the class or used as part of the actual lecture, would have added a lot to these lectures. For example, both my son and I found ourselves distracted during the Fertile Crescent lecture by trying to figure out exactly where the locations being discussed actually were. I ended up doing some work ahead of time to supplement the lectures with my own visual aids, but it would be fantastic if that could be included. Professor Thompson is amazing, though, and his enthusiasm is very contagious.
Date published: 2010-03-31
  • y_2019, m_6, d_23, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_63
  • loc_en_US, sid_131, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 50.81ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Customers Who Bought This Course Also Bought

Buy together as a Set
and
Save Up To $8.00
Choose a Set Format
$61.90