Historical Jesus

Course No. 643
Professor Bart D. Ehrman, Ph.D., M.Div.
The University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Share This Course
4.2 out of 5
137 Reviews
75% of reviewers would recommend this product
Course No. 643
Sale
Streaming Included Free

Course Overview

Who was Jesus of Nazareth? What was he like? For more than 2,000 years, people and groups of varying convictions have pondered these questions and done their best to answer them. The significance of the subject is apparent. From the late Roman Empire all the way to our own time, no continuously existing institution or belief system has wielded as much influence as Christianity, no figure as much as Jesus.

Worshiped around the globe by more than a billion people today, he is undoubtedly the single most important figure in the story of Western civilization and one of the most significant in world history altogether.

A Wide Range of Opinion, Even among Scholars

Everyone who has even the faintest knowledge of Jesus has an opinion about him, says Professor Bart D. Ehrman, and these opinions vary widely.

Those differences are visible not only among laypeople but even among professional scholars who have devoted their lives to the task of reconstructing what the historical Jesus was probably like and what he most likely said and did.

In this course, you learn what the best historical evidence seems to indicate as you listen to lectures developed with no intention of affirming or denying any particular theological beliefs.

Professor Ehrman—who created this course as a companion to his 24-lecture Teaching Company course on The New Testament—approaches the question from a purely historical perspective. He explains why it has proven so difficult to know about this "Jesus of history." And he reveals the kinds of conclusions modern scholars have drawn about him.

The Principal Sources of Knowledge about Jesus

You open the course with a discussion of the four New Testament Gospels, which everyone agrees are our principal sources of knowledge about Jesus.

You learn that these books are not written as dispassionate histories for impartial observers and that their authors do not claim to have been eyewitnesses to the events they narrate.

Instead, they are writing several decades later, telling stories that they have heard—stories that have been in circulation for decades among the followers of Jesus.

The first step, then, is to determine what kinds of books the Gospels are and to ascertain how reliable their information about Jesus is.

The question will be: Apart from their value as religious documents of faith, what do the Gospels tell historians?

The Challenges Scholars Face

As you soon learn, the Gospels pose considerable challenges to scholars who want to know about the words and deeds of Jesus.

You begin exploring some of these difficulties by asking what sorts of documents the Gospels are:

  • Who wrote them, and why?
  • How do they present themselves?
  • Who was their intended audience?
  • What is their relationship to each other, to the rest of the New Testament, and to other early Christian writings?
  • What is their status as historical narratives?

To help answer these questions, join Professor Ehrman in a careful consideration of other relevant sources. These include the many writings—some unearthed only recently—that did not make it into the New Testament, but which nonetheless claim to relate the life and teachings of Jesus.

Learn about the "Lost Gospel of Q"

Among these is the much-discussed "lost Gospel of Q." You learn why scholars believe such a text existed and what they think might be in it.

Address how much documentary evidence about Jesus can be found in ancient Jewish and Roman sources, what those references tell us, and even how historians approach such sources to begin with once they have them in hand.

Professor Ehrman addresses questions including:

  • What are the criteria scholars use to sift and compare sources?
  • How do they actually dig behind the surface of stories about Jesus to ascertain what he himself was most probably like?
  • What is the reasoning supporting each of these methods of testing evidence?
Reconstructing Jesus' Life and Deeds

Once you've absorbed this introduction to the sources and the ways in which they are handled, Professor Ehrman moves ahead to consider the historical context of Jesus' life. The assumption here is that historical understanding, to whatever extent possible, must begin by seeking to situate Jesus in the context of his own times.

After surveying the political, social, and cultural history of 1st-century Palestine, you proceed to the second major part of the course, a scholarly reconstruction of Jesus' words and deeds in light of the best available historical methods and evidence.

In reconstructing those words and deeds, Professor Ehrman addresses several questions:

  • Why do the earliest sources at our disposal, including the Gospel of Mark, portray Jesus as a Jewish apocalypticist who anticipated that God was soon going to overthrow the forces of evil and establish his good kingdom here on Earth?
  • How close is this portrayal to life?
  • Did Jesus proclaim a coming kingdom?
  • How are his references to the coming of the Son of Man to be understood in light of the best historical analysis and evidence we can muster?
A Fateful Passover
  • How do Jesus' ethical teachings, his own activities, and the events of his final days fit into this analysis?
  • Why did Jesus go to Jerusalem at Passover and what did he plan to do once he got there?
  • What was the situation he found?
  • What were the intentions of those he met there, including the Roman procurator Pontius Pilate, the Temple hierarchy, and the other Jewish authorities?

Historical scholarship has something to teach about all of these questions, and the answers will help to further your understanding of the Jesus of history.

Professor Ehrman closes by considering how Jesus' followers began to speak and eventually write about him in light of their belief that God had raised him from the dead.

Here the focus shifts from the religion of Jesus to the religion aboutJesus, or in other words, from the search for the historical Jesus to the study of early Christianity.

That is a natural place at which to conclude this course, which forms an excellent accompaniment to Professor Ehrman's two-part lecture series on The New Testament and other Teaching Company courses on religion.

Hide Full Description
24 lectures
 |  Average 30 minutes each
  • 1
    The Many Faces of Jesus
    Jesus is undoubtedly the most significant figure in the history of Western civilization. Yet even scholars who have devoted their lives to studying the ancient sources about him come to widely varying conclusions. Working from a strictly historical perspective that neither presupposes nor disallows any particular beliefs, what can we learn about what Jesus most likely said and did? x
  • 2
    One Remarkable Life
    To begin the study of the historical Jesus, it may be best to start by examining the world within which the Christian religion was born. That was a world largely populated by "pagans," i.e., people who, unlike the Jews and then later the Christians, believe not in one but in many gods. x
  • 3
    Scholars Look at the Gospels
    Scholars have approached the Gospels in a number of ways. The monumental work of D. F. Strauss, a German writing in the 1830s, argues that the Gospels are best understood as containing history-like stories that intend to convey truth but did not occur as they were narrated. Why do most scholars today—who do not subscribe to Strauss's precise notion—still find his general approach highly illuminating? x
  • 4
    Fact and Fiction in the Gospels
    Scholars question the historical accuracy of some gospel accounts not out of hostility toward Christianity—many are committed Christians—but because of historical evidence. What is this evidence, and how do historians assess it? x
  • 5
    The Birth of the Gospels
    The Gospels—which do not claim to be eyewitness accounts—appear to date from 35–65 years after the events that they narrate. Thus for a generation accounts of Jesus were passed on by word of mouth. Is it possible for us to move "behind" the written accounts to learn more about this original oral tradition, and perhaps even about Jesus himself as a historical person? x
  • 6
    Some of the Other Gospels
    In addition to the New Testament, other written sources about Jesus have come down to us from antiquity. What are these other, noncanonical Gospels like? Who wrote them, and when? What sources did they use? How much can they tell us about what Jesus himself actually said and did? x
  • 7
    The Coptic Gospel of Thomas
    This book, unearthed in Egypt in 1945, consists of 114 sayings attributed to Jesus. Many resemble sayings in Matthew, Mark, and Luke; others are different. What were the sources for Thomas? x
  • 8
    Other Sources
    First-century pagan authors mention Jesus only twice, in passing. The rest of the New Testament outside the Gospels likewise adds little historical evidence. But there is a hypothetical source to consider—the now-lost document called "Q," from which both Matthew and Luke seemingly drew. x
  • 9
    Historical Criteria—Getting Back to Jesus
    How can the available sources be used to recover the words and deeds of Jesus? Scholars apply three specific criteria for establishing historically reliable material. In this lecture you learn about the first of the three. x
  • 10
    More Historical Criteria
    In addition to the criterion of "independent attestation," scholars use two others to help gauge the historical reliability of traditions about Jesus. From this lecture, you'll learn the logic behind these criteria and then you'll see how they apply to accounts drawn from both canonical and noncanonical sources. x
  • 11
    The Early Life of Jesus
    Using the criteria outlined in the preceding two lectures, which traditions about the birth and childhood of Jesus can be said to be historically authentic? x
  • 12
    Jesus in His Context
    The history of Palestine was a story of war and foreign domination. The Romans took over Israel about 60 years before Jesus was born. Different forms of Judaism had emerged too, though Jesus himself was aligned with no sect, and had deep differences with at least some. x
  • 13
    Jesus and Roman Rule
    Under Roman rule, some Jews embraced convictions that modern scholars group under the label "apocalypticism." According to this set of beliefs, God would soon smash the forces of evil and usher the chosen people into the divine kingdom. Did Jesus himself proclaim some such views? x
  • 14
    Jesus the Apocalyptic Prophet
    Why have many scholars since Albert Schweitzer found this apocalyptic view of Jesus credible? How does it pass the three tests of historical credibility and help us to understand both the origins and the aftereffects of Jesus' public ministry? x
  • 15
    The Apocalyptic Teachings of Jesus
    Having assessed the case for considering Jesus in some sense a Jewish apocalypticist, you can turn to a consideration of some of the things he taught regarding the coming judgment and kingdom of God. x
  • 16
    Other Teachings of Jesus in their Apocalyptic Context
    It is with good reason that Jesus is widely regarded as one of the greatest ethical teachers of all time. By radicalizing the Mosaic commands to love God and one's neighbor wholeheartedly, Jesus presented a different understanding of what it meant to follow the God of the Jews from other leading teachers of his day. x
  • 17
    The Deeds of Jesus in their Apocalyptic Context
    Some scholars have begun to question the view of Jesus as an apocalypticist. This lecture examines two ways scholars have sought to explain evidence that would support an apocalyptic understanding of Jesus. x
  • 18
    Still Other Words and Deeds of Jesus
    Scholars need not deny the possibility of miracles to admit that historical research can never demonstrate their actual occurrence. Historians can, however, discuss recorded reports of miracles. Was Jesus widely held to be able to expel demons, heal the sick, and perform other miracles? x
  • 19
    The Controversies of Jesus
    Jesus often met with opposition. This lecture explores the traditions of Jesus' rejection and some of his disputes with the Pharisees. How did Jesus' radical emphasis on the command to love sit with Scriptural demands for ritual purity? x
  • 20
    The Last Days of Jesus
    There is better documentation for Jesus' final week than for any other period of his life. He went to Jerusalem at Passover. At the temple he caused a disturbance. Why? As Jesus kept preaching, local authorities arranged to have him quietly arrested. Jesus had a last meal with his disciples, warning them that his enemies were about to strike. x
  • 21
    The Last Hours of Jesus
    How precisely did Judas Iscariot betray Jesus? Jesus was not, after all, in hiding. Why did Judas betray Jesus? How did the local Jewish authorities investigate Jesus? Why did they turn him over to the Romans? x
  • 22
    The Death and Resurrection of Jesus
    How good are the sources for what happened at the trial of Jesus? Can they help explain why the Jewish authorities handed Jesus over to Pilate, who ordered immediate torture and crucifixion? Despite discrepancies in their accounts of what transpired at Jesus' tomb, all of the sources agree in important ways. x
  • 23
    The Afterlife of Jesus
    The first Christians were Jewish apocalypticists. They believed that God would raise the dead in the end time, and that Jesus—the first raised—was a major figure in this divine triumph over evil. What happened when people from different backgrounds began to join the church? x
  • 24
    The Prophet of the New Millennium
    If historians seeking to learn what Jesus said and did need to take his context into account as they examine his life, theologians and believers who are interested in appropriating that message need to scrutinize it in light of their own situations. x

Lecture Titles

Clone Content from Your Professor tab

What's Included

What Does Each Format Include?

Video DVD
Instant Video Includes:
  • Ability to download 24 audio lectures from your digital library
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of this course from our website and apps
Video DVD
Instant Audio Includes:
  • Download 24 audio lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE audio streaming of this course from our website and apps
Video DVD
DVD Includes:
  • 24 lectures on 4 DVDs
  • 192-page printed course guidebook
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of this course from our website and apps
Video DVD
CD Includes:
  • 24 lectures on 12 CDs
  • 192-page printed course guidebook
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE audio streaming of this course from our website and apps

What Does The Course Guidebook Include?

Video DVD
Course Guidebook Details:
  • 192-page printed course guidebook
  • Suggested readings
  • Questions to consider
  • Timeline

Enjoy This Course On-the-Go with Our Mobile Apps!*

  • App store App store iPhone + iPad
  • Google Play Google Play Android Devices
  • Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Tablet + Firephone
*Courses can be streamed from anywhere you have an internet connection. Standard carrier data rates may apply in areas that do not have wifi connections pursuant to your carrier contract.

Your professor

Bart D. Ehrman

About Your Professor

Bart D. Ehrman, Ph.D., M.Div.
The University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Dr. Bart D. Ehrman is the James A. Gray Distinguished Professor at The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He completed his undergraduate work at Wheaton College and earned his M.Div. and Ph.D. from Princeton Theological Seminary. Professor Ehrman has written or edited 27 books, including four best sellers on The New York Times list: Misquoting Jesus: The Story behind Who Changed the Bible and Why; God’s...
Learn More About This Professor
Also By This Professor

Reviews

Historical Jesus is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 137.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Pure Speculation The problem with this entire course is that there is no such thing as an "Historical Jesus". i.e. there is no actual evidence that such a person existed. Bart tries to convince us that indeed Jesus existed, but its just pure speculation. Without any evidence at all, its pretty hard to see how it can be claimed that Jesus was a real historical figure. If you are willing to ignore the fact that most likely Jesus didn't even exist, then the course is OK.
Date published: 2015-03-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Informative and Interesting The instructor separates history and religion while showing respect for both. The distinction between fact and faith is both explored and put in the context of the times. Knowing when the various Gospels were written and by whom does not detract from the faith based story. Understanding the influences on early Christianity helps to reconcile fact and faith and provides food for thought. The instructor's style is perfect for the topic.
Date published: 2015-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Class I have been a follower of Bart Ehrman's blog and through the blog found this course. It is an outstanding course and made me interested in pursuing other courses through Great Courses. Dr. Ehrman shares facts in this course and not clouded by theology or beliefs. I highly recommend this class to anyone who wants a factual historical understanding of Jesus and the roots of Christianity. I have recommended this course to many people.
Date published: 2014-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enlightening Overview These 24 half-hour lecture tracks provide a fairly detailed discussion of what it is possible to know about Jesus of Nazareth that is broken up into easily digestible series of topics. You definitely come away seeing a different view of the four canonical gospels than the one you would have absorbed in childhood Sunday school. I found myself hungering for a bit more historical context on certain topics, but no one work can do it all; there are many other resources you will be drawn to.
Date published: 2014-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A foundational lecture for the study of Jesus. Professor Erhman does a great job and I'm sure would draw much interest to a second edition comprising of another 36 lectures. And Professor Erhman, its ok to tell the world that you believe that Jesus was somehow more than a man... Take care.
Date published: 2014-09-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Agnostic teaching the Da Vinci code The teaching company has a self-proclaimed agnostic teaching some of the most important Christian courses like this and the New Testament, but not Islam, Judiasm, or evn the Old Testament. Why? Being catholic but having spent several decades with protestant and catholic biblical scholars, Erhman's comments are easy to discredit and are pop Di Vinci code.
Date published: 2014-08-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Who Was Jesus? CONTENT: Obviously, Christianity changed the Western world completely in relation to the classical age, and at the center of this change is one central figure – Jesus. What do we know about Jesus? Professor Ehrman tells us that in fact we know very little; at least from the historical perspective. The course starts by outlining the literary sources from which we may gain a historical understanding. These include the canonical Gospels of Mark, Matthew, Luke and John, other non-canonical Gospels, the writings of Josephus Flavius (Jewish general turned roman historian) and others. Many of the sources are intrinsically inaccurate in telling the story of Jesus for several different reasons: Many of them were written quite a substantial time after Jesus lived, and they were passed down in oral tradition, making it much harder to keep an accurate account. The texts were written with the Hellenistic culture as the backdrop, and in that culture there are many myths of extraordinary humans becoming gods and performing supernatural deeds. The fact is, that for historical purposes there are rather few sources that one can use if one is looking for the historical facts regarding Jesus. After getting acquainted with the sources, Professor Ehrman outlines the guidelines for judging the historical believability of the texts. Naturally, there is no way of doing this without a shadow of a doubt so the procedure is similar to a trial proceeding – we try to gain enough evidence to present a compelling case either supporting the historical validity of the text or its invalidity. Three criteria are presented. The first simply states that the concept that if a story is independently attested to in different sources, its historical authenticity is higher. If a text describes events things that are against the interests of its authors – there is a good chance that those events actually occurred; why else would the author have written them?! Lastly, if the texts don’t make sense in the historical context of Judea of the first century under Roman rule, they probably aren’t valid. Simple enough… However, using these criteria professor Ehrman shows that huge portions of the canonical Gospels are probably not to be trusted as historical texts. The later the text was written the more its believability falls into question. So of the Gospels, Mark is the most believable historically, followed by Matthew and Luke, and finally John. So, finally, who was Jesus?! It appears that Jesus was definitely Jewish and thought of himself as being a part of the Jewish administration. He does not appear from the texts to have tried to found a new religion. He probably spoke Aramaic and possibly some Greek. He probably did not raise a huge following during his own lifetime, in fact there were other people in that era who claimed to have divine properties and probably had larger followings. He was probably an Apocalyst – believing that judgment was near and that divine judgment would occur his generation (in this belief, he was also not alone within the Jewish sects of that time). He probably was arrested by the Jewish Priestly authorities after causing a commotion in the holy Jewish temple and accusing the priests of corruption, given over to the Roman authorities, tried by Pilot and quite quickly executed. In Professor Ehrman’s opinion, Jesus was probably executed because he told the Romans that he is in fact the Messiah and that this information was gained from Judas Iscariot (his betrayal of Jesus), but he concedes that this is not well established. So finally, we are left understanding that there is not that much that we can consider “known” about Jesus in the historical sense. Professor Ehrman tells us that historical study is really “silent” regarding the REALLY interesting aspects of Jesus such as his miracle workings and his resurrection. Of course these are the very aspects that give him his Divine properties which are really most important – historical study can neither prove them nor disprove them. I am currently listening to another TGC course on Jesus by Professor Johnson titled “Jesus and the Gospels”. There, Professor Johnson contends that the historical approach to understanding Jesus is extremely lacking because it leaves us with an “unusable Jesus”, to use his term. He instead adopts a literary method for trying to understand Jesus. I would have to agree that for a religious person the historical approach would probably be very lacking. LECTURER: I found Professor Ehrman’s presentation to be clear and structured. I found it easy to follow the lectures, and the content was very interesting. However I felt the presentation was actually quite dry. I would have appreciated a bit more wit. Certainly there are other lecturers in the TGC that I enjoyed more listening to.
Date published: 2014-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing distillation of bibilical scholarship This is a beautiful summary of biblical scholarship that evaluates what is known about the actual man who came to be such a central figure in Christian civilization--a Jewish apocalyptic prophet who took on hyperbolic religious significance, first for the Roman Empire, and then for much of the world. This course is fascinating. Compare Luke Johnson's lectures on the story of the Jewish and Christian bibles (taught by a former monk who is skeptical of the search for the historical Jesus), or Philip Carey's history of Christian theology from the perspective of a practicing Episcopalian, and you have it all! They complement each other, but only Ehrman's lectures are indispensable for understanding the straight story--what we know about who the man actually was, and how the myth was created out of the man.
Date published: 2014-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Scholarly but one-sided The professor begins this course with a survey of the available evidence of the life of Jesus. He does an excellent job at describing the challenges of finding the probable facts about a person from historical evidence and how these challenges are met. He also distinguishes the task of investigating what Jesus may have actually done and said from arguing for or against anyone's religious beliefs. However, I have a mixed reaction to the second half of the course. While he makes a compelling argument that Jesus was an apocalyptic prophet, there does not appear to be a consensus for that view (or any other). I would like to have heard some arguments contrasting these theories. While I would not need to hear arguments against creationism in a course on evolution, the conclusions presented here are untestable interpretations of a minimal set of data. Perhaps the most important thing that I learned from this course is how little reliable evidence we have. We have much more evidence about dinosaurs than about Jesus. Another quibble is that it seemed at times like the professor used the criterion of dissimilarity to show that certain events are unlikely to have happened. While a mother’s alibi for her son would usually not meet the criterion of dissimilarity, it does not mean that it is not true.
Date published: 2014-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More than good, it is important Most Great Courses are excellent but this one is life-changing. It takes a subject you think you know and turns it on its head. Jesus is arguably the most important figure in Western history and after this course you will never think about him the same way again.
Date published: 2014-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very worthwhile I have Ehrman's course on lost christianities and looked forward to this.. I was not dissapointed. Ehrman is a scholar and provides careful reasoned arguments in support of his position. the only complaint I would have is he limits his discussion to the Cannon and the gospel of thomas, not using the other Gnostic gospels.. probably because they were later and therefore much more heavily influenced by the early work. Students who listen and think thru his discussion will be rewarded, regardless of their religious beliefs. BUT if you hope your belief in the Jesus of the New Testament and most religions will be supported, you will be dissappointed
Date published: 2014-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Dr. Ehrman’s lectures are well organized and superbly clear. I always learn a lot from him. Thank you Bart!
Date published: 2013-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting, but lacking depth I found the course interesting, and the professor did a good job of trying to present a balanced view. I enjoyed it except for the final lecture which was a waste of time. However I found the course shallow, perhaps because it was limited by the materials - one can only go over Mathew, Mark, Luke and John so much. It would have been helpful to have had more information on the history of the writing of the New Testament (although I understand that this is covered in a separate course) and more on the historical context, as well as something on the controversial issues raised lately by Dan Brown's the Da Vinci Code etc.
Date published: 2013-09-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good, but... Very good. But there was an assumption that this person actually existed. Fine, but that assumption was not stated. On the other hand, some of his claims that the biblical stories did not hold up to history, were incorrect. For instance, there WAS a census during Jesus's birth but it was local (Syria & Judea) not world-wide. And of the 3 criteria by which he says al historians judge the evidence, only 1 I found to be proper.
Date published: 2013-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Real Christianity I ordered this course a long time ago, put it away and never got around to listening to it. (actually on casssettes--that's how long ago!) I've always questioned many facts and/or myths about Jesus, mostly all of which were ingrained in me as a child. I finally got around to listening to it and found it so interesting that I went through it in a few days. After that, I looked up the professor and read some reviews on his course. I noticed some Christians expressed he should not have given this lecture as he's too slanted, being an agnostic, and such a course should only be written by a true Christian. I couldn't disagree more. I don't think he attempts to change or destroy anyone's faith. I appreciated all the points presented by historians. I've always believed that Jesus was an ethical man attempting to help and guide mankind, and following what he preached is more important than never questioning what we are told by clerics. That is the true meaning of living a Christian life.
Date published: 2013-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A "Book" of Revelations I purchased this lecture series immediately after completing Ehrman's history of the canonization of the new testament. While there is some overlap, the Historical Jesus is far more detailed. In a word, Historical Jesus is outstanding. As noted in other comments, Ehrman is a self-professed agnostic, and a historian. He is not a theologian, and did not write the Historical Jesus to satisfy Christians looking for factual confirmation of their beliefs about Jesus and his teachings, as found in scripture. Ehrman challenges what he believes to be historical inaccuracies in the Bible, and supports those challenges with historical evidence. The result is a wonderful historical examination of Jesus the man, and of historical events that affected his life and teachings. The lectures are very thought provoking, regardless of your religious leanings. I must state, though, that If you are a dogmatic Christian, this may challenge some of your beliefs, though not necessarily your faith. Ehrman also addresses competing viewpoints, and attempts to refute views that he believes to be historically inaccurate with an abundance of supporting evidence. Well done, exceptionally educational, and very entertaining.
Date published: 2013-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Meticulously historical. Professor Bart Ehrman presents the subject of the Historical Jesus in a way that is not only entertaining, but convincingly coherent. Many Christians have never read the New Testament, so much of what this course presents will be surprisingly revelatory. It is important to understand the difference between an historical approach the the life of Jesus and a theological approach. History demands the application of rigorous standards to determine authenticity and accuracy; any event of 2,000 years ago is necessarily clouded by a mixture of myth, truth, misconceptions, and forgery. Anyone looking for a theological approach will find fault in this, but it is incumbent upon such people to either reject history entirely or develop their own logical, historically coherent evidence about the life of Jesus.
Date published: 2013-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Prof. Ehrman reviews the historical information to try to help us understand who Jesus was. After looking at the other reviews, I think it is important to mention that Prof. Ehrman has described himself as an agnostic (on the Colbert Report). Many reviewers seem to find that a presentation of this subject by a non-believer is difficult to swallow. Prof. Ehrman lectures well. He provides an excellent course guide. He is quite well-organized. I enjoy his sense of humor. This is, perhaps, the fifth course of Prof. Ehrman's that I have listened to. Approximately, 20-25% of the material is a repetition of the other courses (particularly TTC's "The New Testament"). Unless TTC begins to establish "prerequisites," this is unavoidable. I don't feel that it detracts from the course. The part of the course that I found most enjoyable was the time that Prof. Ehrman took to review his methodology. He spent much of the first half of the course reviewing his methods of analyzing historical evidence. I felt that this was consistent with either upper-level undergraduate or graduate level instruction. While I enjoyed listening to his conclusions about Jesus, education of this sort will stay with me much longer and overflow into my thinking about many other topics. I very much appreciate instruction of this sort and would encourage TTC to present more courses of this nature. Overall, an outstanding presentation. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2012-10-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Engaging presentation I found it interesting when reading the reviews prior to purchase that this course was rated either 5 stars or one. Apparently Professor Ehrman has ruffled some feathers. I appreciate the manner in which the Professor differentiates faith from actual history without discounting one's faith. His presentation is clear and the arguments are comprehensive. One of the most engaging lectures I've purchased.
Date published: 2012-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A real ey opener This course was quite interesting and we watched it several times to try to absorb all the material. I had not realized how scant any references to Jesus were. Bart is very careful in this to sort out what we can and cannot say from the available records of various type. He does an excellent job of walking the fine line of study and belief. People who only want confirmation of their beliefs will not be happy. Those who want an objective historical study will be.
Date published: 2012-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY GOOD Jesus left no writings. Unlike Socrates, he had no students to tell us , in writing, what he was like or what he had to say. Perhaps not even orally. Jesus did not live in a very ancient time. That is , if he existed at all. Yet the instructor fashions a life for him here. Fortunately he couches his findings in probability. He says what is probably the situation. One probable thing hinges on another probable thing. I was facinated by this look into the past. The piecing together of small possibly likely things into something than sounds plausable. This is a very Christiany sort of undertaking. By a Christian. Then again, some may think it's nothing like a Christian's undertaking. Very nice series of talks here. Very nice indeed.
Date published: 2012-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb, comprehensive presentation This is one of the best courses I have seen ~ and I have about 50 Great Courses now. Professor Ehrman is a shining example of how to present a subject in a compelling and informative manner, with explanations easy to follow, and plenty of examples to support his points. He covers an impressive amount of material in a compelling and memorable way over 24 lectures. I learned a lot. Highly-recommended for sure!
Date published: 2012-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Valuable study to differentiate history from faith I am a faithful Christian but am open to all points of view. I found this study so valuable to understand the context of biblical passages and where faith supercedes facts and scientific study. This study helped me scrutinize what I read and hear in Christian discussions. I am comforted by the observation that some of my favorite Christian authors are knowledgeable about the historical Jesus and still have faith in his teachings as an ethical blueprint for our lives.
Date published: 2012-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent presentation I consider myself a Christian, and I was in no way offended by the content of this course. Ehrman is simply applying a strictly scholarly, not faith-based approach to a very important subject. Why can't people realize that faith and critical scholarship don't have to be the same thing--or produce exactly the same results. I've viewed most, if not all of his Great Courses, and in some ways I found this one to be one of his best. I should note that Ehrman keeps showing and referring to a book he obviously uses in his university courses. If you want to learn more, check out the books he has authored to find more on his subject material.
Date published: 2012-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding and truly fascinating I am aware that applying modern historical methods to this subject makes some people upset--but, it really shouldn't. We think with modern minds--we can't help it. Our minds are shaped by modern concepts of truth and reality--in short, we have a post-enlightenment mental framework in looking at the world. Studying the life of Jesus with modern historical tools is fine with me and incredibly fascinating. I must add for those who have problems with it, it is, in my opinion, quite useful also in giving perspective to spiritually; unless, of course, you wish to divorce yourself from the modern world. Good luck with that. In fairness, Ehrman expressly tells us he is not doing theology. This is history and it is first-rate. So, ignore the reviews that in essence complain that Ehrman is doing bad theology. If you are a Christian and you fear this threatens your faith, don't get it. But, it it does, let me warn you, your Christian faith is in trouble regardless of Professor Ehrman. I liked this so much I got Ehrman's "Lost Christianities" and "The making of the New Testament ." They are also well done.
Date published: 2012-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from History at Its Best This is history at its very best. Ehrman presents all of the evidence and sifts through it with rigorous logic, an engaging style, and almost no wasted words. The result is an understanding of the historical Jesus that is very convincing and very much in the mainstream of scholarship going back to Albert Schweitzer’s The Quest of the Historical Jesus. It's a shame so few people seem to be aware of the historical Jesus, even though they pray to him and listen to readings from the New Testament as well as sermons about his life in church. Perhaps this is because an understanding of the historical Jesus is so challenging to previously held beliefs. If the historical Jesus was a Jewish apocalypticist, can he be relevant today?
Date published: 2011-10-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from False premise The idea behind this course is that you take the Gospels and Paul's writings, discard the overtly "Christian" bits and build a picture of "Jesus the man" from what's left. It's a silly proposition and leads to a course that simply comes across as hostile to Christianity. There's absolutely nothing historical about this course. This is the one course I have returned for a refund from many that I've purchased from TGC.
Date published: 2011-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent, addictive There is something addictive about this course - I could not stop listening! Now I am going to read a few books recommended by Professor Ehrman. I highly recommend this course to everyone - whether or not you have interest in Historical Jesus now, you most likely will after you finish the course.
Date published: 2011-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't Blame the Messenger! I think Bart Ehrman is a fantastic teacher. He speaks clearly, is well paced, and has a wonderful conversational style to his presentation. I much prefer to learn from someone who refers to notes rather than reads a teleprompter. What people don't like about his courses is his message, which is really just a consequence of his approach - he's teaching a scholarly course, not Sunday school!
Date published: 2011-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Jesus before he became Christ DVD review. Long story short, assume you were born in a culture where Jesus was only a foreign concept, and that you are not seeking a new religious belief. You are simply curious, just as you could be about Mohammed or the Buddha. Who was this man? How could a crucified criminal in Roman eyes be at the origin of a social movement that eventually permeated a huge empire, and later a significant portion of humanity? You understand that history is tentative and that new archaeological evidence tomorrow might completely change what historians believe today. Still, you want to know where our knowledge of Jesus stands at present. If that is the case, Dr. Ehrman is your man. He is a historian and presents his evidence from the perspective of someone limiting himself only to those bits of information closest to Jesus’ time and corroborated by as many other sources as possible. Most historians specialized in early Christianity believe that the Founder of Christianity is really two entities. There is “Jesus”; the man who accumulated a small following in Judea and was eventually crucified. And there is “Christ”; several strands of interpretation of who Jesus was, created by his followers. Eventually, one strand started by Paul of Tarsus was further developed by the "Church Fathers" and became official Christianity centered in Rome. Other strands (other Christianities) evolved in other places, including North Africa, but most gradually disappeared or were stamped out as heretical. Dr Ehrman’s “Historical Jesus” course is only concerned with Jesus, not Christ. The consensus among independent scholars, he claims, is that Jesus was an apocalyptic prophet who believed that a Messiah would come soon, within the lifetime of his contemporaries, to expel the Romans from Judea and bring justice to his world. Assuming he is right, and there is a scholarly consensus on this except for details here and there, TTC clients seeking a Jesus with answers to their immediate problems may be shocked and disappointed. Other Christians, however, may take comfort in the belief that it was Christ, not Jesus, who became a worldwide phenomenon. Christ is a shifting, collective product, a mirror of mankind in all its yearnings, cruelty, self-interest and blindness, but also in its ability to correct injustices, create great art and inspire others to make a better world. Apart from the “Historical Jesus” course, Dr Ehrman created more Christ-centered courses on the New Testament and on the development of Christianity up to Constantine. These courses as a group remind me of a PBS Frontline special a few years back: "From Jesus to Christ: The First Christians". You may want to look it up. All in all, I found Dr Ehrman’s courses very stimulating. If I was limited to one, I would choose the Constantine one. It gives a good overview."
Date published: 2011-04-24
  • y_2019, m_12, d_4, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_13, tr_124
  • loc_en_US, sid_643, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 54.73ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Customers Who Bought This Course Also Bought

Buy together as a Set
and
Save Up To $14.00
Choose a Set Format
$48.90
$115.90