History of the Bible: The Making of the New Testament Canon

Course No. 6299
Professor Bart D. Ehrman, Ph.D., M.Div.
The University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Share This Course
4 out of 5
128 Reviews
67% of reviewers would recommend this product
Course No. 6299
Sale
Streaming Included Free

Course Overview

The New Testament stands unchallenged, in the words of Professor Bart D. Ehrman, not only as the "'bestseller' of all time," but also as the most important "book—or collection of books—in the history of Western civilization."

Yet how many of us, Christian or otherwise, are as knowledgeable about the New Testament as we would like to be? Even many who consider themselves Christian find themselves asking some—perhaps even all—of the questions so often posed by those who are not.

What different kinds of books are in the New Testament? When, how, and why were they written? What do they teach? Who actually wrote them? How were they passed forward through history? And, perhaps most important of all, why and how did some books, and not others, come to be collected into what Christians came to consider the canon of scripture that would define their belief for all time?

In The History of the Bible: The Making of the New Testament Canon, Professor Ehrman offers a fast-moving yet thorough introduction to these and other key issues in the development of Christianity.

Drawing on the award-winning teaching skills and style that have made him one of our most popular lecturers—respectful yet provocative, scholarly without sacrificing wit—Professor Ehrman has crafted a course designed to deepen the understanding of both Christians and non-Christians alike.

"The New Testament is appreciated and respected far more than it is known, and that's not just true among religious people who consider themselves Christian. ...

"This set of lectures is designed to provide an introduction to the New Testament for people who recognize or appreciate its cultural importance, or who have religious commitments to it, but who have not yet had a chance to get to know where it came from, what it contains, and how it was transmitted down to us today.

"The focus in this course will be historical, rather than theological. The course does not either presuppose faith or deny faith. It's based neither on faith nor skepticism. ... It's simply taught from the perspective of history."

Learn How the Christian Canon Was Shaped and Shared

And it's an illuminating perspective, indeed, ranging across issues of language, oral history, the physical limitations of spreading the written word at a time when the printing press lay far in the future, and, of course, the theological forces that were shaping Christianity, molding a commonly accepted canon from the various expressions of the faith spreading across the ancient world.

All of these factors eventually produced a canon: the New Testament, whose 27 books can be grouped into four genres:

  • The four Gospels, the accounts of the life, ministry, death, and resurrection of Jesus that we know as Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John, though all four were written anonymously, with authorship being attributed only by later Christians
  • The book of Acts, which is a historical account of the life of the Christian Church and its missionary efforts after Jesus' resurrection
  • The 21 Epistles, the letters written by Christian leaders—most notably, Paul—to Christian communities dealing with problems of faith and living
  • The book of Revelation, sometimes called the Apocalypse of John, which describes the end of the world, when God will destroy the forces of evil and establish a perfect utopia on Earth.

In exploring the forces that finally produced this finished canon, Professor Ehrman deals with far more than theology.

Letters, especially those written by Paul, played an important role in the process.

Although many of us associate letters with the modern world, Professor Ehrman explains that they were a common form of communication in the ancient world as well. In addition to being written on papyrus, they were also often cut into the surface of a wax tablet formed in a hollowed-out board. The recipients could then smooth over the wax and reuse it for a reply, sending it, in that era before postal service, just as the original had been sent, by giving it to someone they knew who'd be traveling to the appropriate community.

Because most people in the ancient world could not read or write, letters had to be dictated and recorded by someone who could, a process reversed at the other end, where someone would be found to read the letter to the recipient.

Letters were usually destroyed after being read so the media it was on could be used again, but if there was reason to keep them—as was the case with Paul's letters, which were meant to be read aloud to his communities—the letters would be copied by hand, circulated, and read aloud to small church gatherings.

The Role of Forgery in the Ancient World

The issue of pseudepigraphy, where works are not actually written by the person whose name has been signed to them—what we might call forgery—plays a large role in the development of the New Testament.

Professor Ehrman notes that there are reasons to believe that six of the Pauline letters of the New Testament are, in fact, pseudepigraphical. And the phenomenon was hardly unique to those writings. In fact, such forgery was common in the ancient world.

To illustrate how widespread the practice was in the Greco-Roman world, he relates a telling example about Galen, the Roman physician and prolific writer whose philosophies dominated medical practice for more than 1,000 years.

One day, Galen writes, he overheard an argument at a Roman book mart between two men, debating whether a particular book attributed to Galen was indeed one of the many he had written. It wasn't, and the experience proved so typical that he returned home and began work on still another volume: How to Recognize Books That are Written by Galen.

In discussing why ancient Christian authors, although deeply religious and moral, might engage in similar deceptions, Professor Ehrman draws on the many reasons ancient writers engaged in the practice, which might include motivations that while deceptive, might be, in the writer's mind, as "pure as the driven snow."

One 4th-century Christian author, for example, puzzled as to why Seneca, the most famous philosopher of his time, never mentions Jesus, Paul, Peter, or anything about Christianity anywhere in his works, actually forged a series of letters between Seneca and Paul, to show that Paul was working at the highest levels of philosophy the ancient world had to offer.

A Revealing Look at the Book of Revelation

One of Professor Ehrman's strengths is his ability to recreate the context of the times in which the canon was being assembled so that a student can understand what the message of each written work would have meant to ancient Christians.

Though the book of Revelation, for example, has often been used as a blueprint of our present and a predictor of our future, he presents it, instead, as an example of the ancient genre known as apocalypticism, and he shows how people of the time would have understood its symbolic descriptions in terms of events transpiring in their own day.

These lectures are a compelling introduction not only to the development of the canon, but to all of the forces that would play a role in early Christian history.

A Note to Our Customers

Professor Ehrman's courses for The Teaching Company have been enormously popular and include After the New Testament: The Writings of the Apostolic Fathers; From Jesus to Constantine; The History of Early Christianity; The Historical Jesus; Lost Christianities: Christian Scriptures and the Battles over Authentication; and The New Testament.

We asked Professor Ehrman to create this shorter course to help introduce his fascinating explorations of early Christianity to customers who have not yet enjoyed his work, and we believe it will be just as useful and enjoyable to existing students as new ones. Nevertheless, if you have purchased all or some of his existing courses, you should expect some duplication of material.

Hide Full Description
12 lectures
 |  Average 30 minutes each
  • 1
    The New Testament—An Overview
    The course begins by addressing some of the basic facts about the New Testament: which books it contains, when they were written, in what language, and by whom. x
  • 2
    Paul—Our Earliest Christian Author
    The Epistles of Paul are the earliest books of the New Testament, predating even the Gospels. In considering the realities of writing a letter in the ancient world, we discover some interesting issues that affect how we understand Paul's Epistles and the other writings of the New Testament. x
  • 3
    The Pauline Epistles
    This lecture looks at some of the major teachings of Paul's Epistles and shows how he shaped his theological and ethical views in light of the problems that had emerged in his burgeoning Christian communities. x
  • 4
    The Problem of Pseudonymity
    This lecture considers the broad problem of pseudonymity, or forgery, in the ancient world, and applies our findings to the Pauline letters of the New Testament to see if any, in fact, were written by Paul's followers rather than Paul himself. x
  • 5
    The Beginnings of the Gospel Traditions
    This lecture looks at the roots of the Gospel narratives in the oral traditions that were spread throughout the Mediterranean in the years after Jesus' death, examining how they might have been modified and what we can know about their historical accuracy. x
  • 6
    The Earliest Gospels
    This lecture examines the Gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John, considering what sources of information were available to their anonymous authors, their overarching messages, possible discrepancies among these accounts, and whether they can be trusted as reliable historical documents. x
  • 7
    The Other Gospels
    There were many additional accounts of Jesus' words, deeds, death, and resurrection that were not included in the New Testament. This lecture discusses the reasons why they were excluded, and examines two of the most important of them in greater detail. x
  • 8
    Apocalypticism and the Apocalypse of John
    This lecture examines the Apocalypse of John, otherwise known as the Book of Revelation, explaining both the religious view known as apocalypticism and the way the book's symbolic descriptions would have been understood in the context of the times. x
  • 9
    The Copyists Who Gave Us Scripture
    Why were the books of the New Testament circulated? What made Christians eager to read them? This lecture explores the rarity of a book-based religion in the Roman world and the significance to early Christianity of the decisions about which books to accept as authoritative. x
  • 10
    Authority in the Early Church
    The need to have written authorities for faith and practice is ultimately what drove Christians to construct a distinctively Christian canon of Scripture to add to the existing Old Testament. This lecture explores how Christian leaders decided which books to include in this canon. x
  • 11
    The Importance of Interpretation
    Even as Christians began to agree on which books were to be accepted, they were confronted with the dilemma caused by differing interpretations. This lecture examines the ways early Christians interpreted these texts, with special note on the problems raised by "figurative," and not simply literal, readings. x
  • 12
    When Did the Canon Get Finalized?
    The lecture examines how, why, and when the canon of 27 books was finalized, and includes a look at some that almost made it in, such as the Apocalypse of Peter—and some that almost did not, such as the Apocalypse of John. x

Lecture Titles

Clone Content from Your Professor tab

What's Included

What Does Each Format Include?

Video DVD
Instant Video Includes:
  • Download 12 video lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
Instant Audio Includes:
  • Download 12 audio lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE audio streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
DVD Includes:
  • 12 lectures on 2 DVDs
  • 80-page printed course guidebook
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps

What Does The Course Guidebook Include?

Video DVD
Course Guidebook Details:
  • 80-page printed course guidebook
  • Suggested readings
  • Questions to consider
  • Timeline

Enjoy This Course On-the-Go with Our Mobile Apps!*

  • App store App store iPhone + iPad
  • Google Play Google Play Android Devices
  • Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Tablet + Firephone
*Courses can be streamed from anywhere you have an internet connection. Standard carrier data rates may apply in areas that do not have wifi connections pursuant to your carrier contract.

Your professor

Bart D. Ehrman

About Your Professor

Bart D. Ehrman, Ph.D., M.Div.
The University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Dr. Bart D. Ehrman is the James A. Gray Distinguished Professor at The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He completed his undergraduate work at Wheaton College and earned his M.Div. and Ph.D. from Princeton Theological Seminary. Professor Ehrman has written or edited 27 books, including four best sellers on The New York Times list: Misquoting Jesus: The Story behind Who Changed the Bible and Why; God’s...
Learn More About This Professor
Also By This Professor

Reviews

History of the Bible: The Making of the New Testament Canon is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 128.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Jaded experience I listened to Professor Ehrman's, "The Greatest Controversies of Early Christian History," and was completely fascinated by each lecture. Afterwards I listened to this series and I kept thinking at some point the overlap would end. It didn't. This series is much shorter and the only lecture worth listening after already listening to "Greatest Controversies" was the final lecture. The first 11 lectures are completely rehashed and covered in the same depth, if not more, in that series.
Date published: 2018-02-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from FYI = Professor Ehrman doesn't believe in God I have purchased over a dozen Great Courses and am very satisfied with all of them except the 3 I had which Bart Ehrman teaches. He doesn't believe in God, and it shows. He refers to himself as an agnostic atheist. His voice gets snarky, like he's mocking the viewer for obviously believing in God. He's very full of himself and has a definite derisive attitude when speaking. It aggravated me so much that I couldn't finish watching any of the 3 courses I'd purchased. You can return courses that you're disappointed in. I just contacted the company and they told me how to return them, either for credit towards another course or for cash. I will never purchase another course taught by Ehrman, but look forward to viewing courses by their many other superior instructors. This is just my personal opinion, and yours may be different. It's like taking your child to a pediatrician who doesn't like kids, or taking a math class from a teacher who doesn't like numbers...why would you?
Date published: 2017-08-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Lecturer This was excellent, however I only gave it four stars because the professor repeatedly needed to make snide contemptible and critical comments criticizing Christianity. If this was about the historicity of the Making of the NT Canon, there was no need to bring in personal and obvious biases about modern Evangelical Fundamental Christianity, just be objective. Secondly, there was no mention whatsoever about the impact of periodic intense persecution of Christianity in the early centuries by the Roman Empire and how this influenced the development of the Canon. I found the Lectures interesting and I tried to overlook the professor's negative comments as best as I could to learn from this scholar.
Date published: 2017-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very very good, I have bought other great course before and they are all very.good.I think Bart E. is the best
Date published: 2017-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Covers the New Testament Exceptionally Well This was my first ever Great Course and it really got me hooked on becoming a lifelong learner. Less than three years later I've purchased 90 courses and am officially obsessed. Who knows what my experience would've been if I hadn't started with Professor Ehrman :-) This course was very engaging and well worth my time. It provides great descriptions of the genres of the books found in the New Testament, summaries of the contents, and historical insights into the books, characters, and authors. This is an excellent course for beginners to studying the Bible from a historical perspective. And for those more advanced I still would recommend this as a great addition to your library if not thing else but for reference since the professor covers so many aspects of the New Testament. Pluses: • Great descriptions of the genres of the books found in the New Testament • Great summaries of the contents of the books in the New Testament • Interesting historical insights into the books, characters, and authors Minuses: • While the professor generally seemed to cover the general discussion of how the 27 books came to be collected into a canon, at the course’s end I was left feeling a little more time could’ve been spent on the topic to bring it all together (i.e. the criteria used for inclusion and the discussions/battles that ultimately led to the composition of the canon)
Date published: 2017-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great overview of the New Testament Professor Ehrman does an outstanding job of enlightening readers of the New Testament. The lectures gave me a great framework for launching further studies into the subject and gave me a new appreciation (and more questions) about the book we've always thought we new.
Date published: 2017-02-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from book is better Was hoping that course would cover some topics not covered in his books but nothing significantly new. However, Bart is a good speaker and teacher and does a good job of presenting the historical period. Honestly, would like the course to be twice the length with more in-depth analysis.
Date published: 2017-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bart Erhman is great and neutral on belief I have heard some online video debates and presentations by Prof. Erhman in the past. I really appreciate his neutrality on the whole belief thing, even though I don't believe. It makes his offerings neutral. 'Historians don't tell you if something is true or not, only what those people said in their own writings.' I was listening to these lectures in the car, sometimes with my children (13 and 15 years old). I often had to ask them not to interrupt because Prof. Erhman is so concise and his information so compact that if you miss a sentence you can miss the whole point. Well reasoned, well presented. These lectures made me want to hear him speak on the old testament as well. I'm going to give this as a present to more than one friend. Thanks you very much for this course.
Date published: 2017-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from fresh look I go to bible study every week. This course brought new information to me that helps me better understand how the bible got to where it is now over the last 2000 years. Very enlightening and very well presented. Great value for $20.
Date published: 2016-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very thought-provoking. I thought I knew alot about the Bible but I'm always interested to learn more. This course did just that. It was very interesting and enlightening. At times it challenged my own views, but in a way that felt nonconfrontational. I found it enjoyable and very worthwhile.
Date published: 2016-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, Efffective Overview I think Prof. Ehrman does an effective job of delivering on the promise of the title of this course -- providing a thorough history of the creation of the New Testament. You should know going in that he does not attempt a theological interpretation of how the New Testament came to be but simply details what he understands is the historical record. He does not hide his personal skepticism of the belief of many Christians that the New Testament was divinely inspired (and marshals numerous facts in support of his view), but he needlessly condescends as he discusses his students and the views of those he considers less well-informed. Nonetheless, I think the course is generally well-presented, the professor is very knowledgeable, and the material is informative and well-chosen. As such, I think the course deserves high marks.
Date published: 2016-08-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I always love me some Bart Ehrman! I have spent quite a bit of time reading about Christianity and the Bible and Bart is one of my favorite authors. This Great Course is very informative and does not disappoint! =)
Date published: 2016-06-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good to the very last ( lecture )drop. Professor Ehrman is a very good lecturer. After purchasing a number of his courses, The making of the New Testament Canon helped me to understand more of the history of the bible, as well as its interpretation through the centuries. However, it was not until lecture 10, 11, and 12 that brought the course home. I just received "The History of Christian Theology," Prof Ehrman course can only help my understanding of Christian Theology.
Date published: 2016-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Course, But Need More video download version I bought this course because of professor Ehrman's course "How Jesus Became God", which I found to be interesting , informative and rigorous. And I can say the same about this course, except I felt that a bit more depth was appropriate for both the course and Dr. Ehrman's obvious knowledge of the subject matter. Unfortunately, I purchased this course without having read the reviews that would have guided me "The New Testament", twice as long and also given by professor Ehrman. I'll pay more attention next time. Otherwise, I have no real criticism of the course, the material, or the presentation. For those wishing to save a few bucks and considering this shorter version of the material, consider the audio version, unless watching Ehrman standing at a podium to be fascinating. Recommended for those who want an interesting, but shorter version of the development of the New Testament.
Date published: 2015-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Glad I Finally Took The Plunge I have seen Professor Ehrman's books many times in the bookstore, and have always thought, "Someday I really want to read one of those." So I was really excited when I saw that he is one of the lecturers here. This was the first of his courses that I listened to, and it was a great place to start because it gave me an introduction to his teaching style and a nice overview of the material. It made me want to listen to his longer course on the New Testament, which I also enjoyed very much. I have a lot of background in approaching the Bible from a theological perspective, but have always wished for more information on its historical context. These two courses provided exactly what I was looking for.
Date published: 2015-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Power of Thinking I do have a connection with Princeton. My aunt taught there years ago. This course was loaned to me by someone at the church I attend. It really helped me us my mind, and it did not shake my faith. My faith is not based on the Bible primarily. Instead, my faith is based on my personal relationship with God. I am purchasing this course so that I can return the copy I got to the church acquaintance who loaned it to me.
Date published: 2015-07-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from High in scholarly speculation. Some actual facts are presented here and there. If you wish to know what the current consensus of atheist/agnostic scholarly speculation regarding the new testament, then this course is for you. The lecturer also presented many assertions that I wish he would have supported. Maybe he should have a grad student add foot notes to the transcript.
Date published: 2015-05-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Informative Though it has been a few months since I listened to this course, I can say I enjoyed this course because I learned background about the New Testament that will help me read the New Testament with better understanding. The course has also prompted me to check out other resources mentioned by the instructor.
Date published: 2015-03-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed I was so disappointed with this course. The other courses I have ordered from "The Great Courses" have always been intellectually stimulating. The professors offer ideas and facts, both based on some logical argument or documented research. This course is full of the professor's opinions, which are often times not even logical. His style of presentation uses the force of his personality or even "intellectual snobbery" as a basis for his assumptions. Professor Ehrman has an exciting presentation style and is easy on the ears. However, if you want a course where ideas are presented based on logic, you may want to look elsewhere.
Date published: 2015-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Delivery, But...... The contents of this course is very good, as far as I can tell. Because I don't know the subject well I can only assume that all aspects of the development of the Canon are properly treated. Delivery is well done; the best I've seen from Ehrman. But as with all courses I've seen, visual aids are rarely used.
Date published: 2015-03-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Highly Slanted Perspective Professor Ehrman is no doubt a talented communicator. He does an excellent job of catching and holding the attention of his students. He obviously knows his subject well and presents himself as an authority on the Scriptures. He does a good job of setting up his audience by first calling out those who have a preconceived belief that the Bible is the inerrant Word of God. He begins by mocking them because most of them have a superficial knowledge of Scripture, ignoring the fact that they are in his class because they know this and have chosen to study it. Ehrman honestly professes his belief that the Bible is not the Word of God and leaves you with the feeling that he does not believe in the existence of God. Ehrman claims to approach the Bible strictly from a historical perspective, but close examination of his methods show how flawed his methods are. He mocks Christians for forming their historical perspective from the compilation of all of the text. Yet what historian would not compile all of the voices from history to try to paint a historical picture? It becomes very clear, very soon, that Ehrman is far from neutral regarding Christianity. He has no problem picking and choosing which phrases in the Bible he quotes as fact and which phrases he rejects and often mocks. Obviously historians come to conclusions and many of their conclusions are based upon assumptions. If it were not for the fact that I am well acquainted with Scripture I may not have noticed Ehrmans pronounced anti-christian slant. But I did notice his habit of ignoring obvious facts and drawing conclusions from assumptions based upon supposed innuendos. If you really want to know what the Bible is all about you would have a much clearer picture just by reading the text than following Ehrmans attempt to undermine its authenticity. In "The Making of the New Testament Canon", he never does articulate those very important guidelines that were used to eliminate that which could not be authenticated.
Date published: 2015-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent history of the NT! Bart Ehrman is an excellent, erudite historian of the Bible. He explains in depth how the New Testament was created, book by book, and as a whole, which didn't happen until the 4th century. He discusses how the canon was created, including why and how other books became apocryphal instead. He even explains the content of these discredited books. He also discusses the debates over authorship of some NT books. He offers lots of minute, interesting details, which I loved. Be aware, however, that he is a former Christian, turned skeptic, so you don't get shocked when you realize that his course demonstrates that he doesn't believe in the divine inspiration of the Bible. So, you have to be a Berean, and distinguish doctrine from history. However, I really learned a lot from his lectures, and found them fascinating.
Date published: 2015-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Making of New Testament Canon Is Very Worthwhile Found a great deal of very detailed and logically organized information presented in very easy to follow manner. Filled in lots of gaps in what I had come to understand from past research and reading, and applaud the Professor for not only doing the research, but putting it together for a student of this subject to come away with a vast amount of 'good history' on a variety of topics and subtopics addressed in this course. Bravo for the information, Bravo for the presentation manner, Bravo for the Professor, and Bravo for the Great Courses to find the Professor and putting this set together. I have other Great Courses and this adds to the collection that I will return to as well encourage others to get.
Date published: 2015-03-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The content is good, but the presentation is not. The professor knows his material and is able to convey the information to the viewer. So I do feel like I got the information I was looking for the course to give me. However, the professor's delivery frequently includes a tone that condescends to or even mocks the beliefs of those who have faith in biblical accuracy. To be clear, I am *NOT* such a believer myself; yet even I find his tone annoying. This being despite the fact that I usually ultimately agree with the core criticism underlying that tone. If a very secular person like me, whose personal views on the religion are probably pretty much in line with the professor's, is nonetheless annoyed by the attitude in his presentation that he seems to take toward believers, then those who are religiously devout will *really* be displeased.
Date published: 2015-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Course! Interesting - Informative - Religion from a Historical Viewpoint. Professor made it easy to understand and presented the facts. Love the Course!
Date published: 2015-02-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Skip it I was very disappointed in this course and expected more from "The Great Courses". There is VERY LITTLE material in this course about the actual making of the New Testament Canon (i.e the selection and validation of the books that would ultimately make up the New Testament). I very much enjoyed Dr. Ehrman's other course on "The New Testament". Unfortunately, this is just a re-has of the same material. Its unfortunate that "The Great Courses" decided to sell essential the same set of lectures under two different titles.
Date published: 2015-02-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from critical I found a number of errors and omissions. The author must not have known or deliberately left out some important documents in the possession of the Catholic Church in the Vatican that would have been enlightening. After all it was the Catholics that gave us the 'written word.' There is a book called 'THE FOUR WITNESSES.' Each one of these Doctors of the Church was taught by the original Apostles. Read it!
Date published: 2015-01-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Making of a New Testament Canon. I enjoyed the course in its entirely. The relevant point to me is the historical account as to the formation of this New Canon. It is important to note that, the presentation of this course is not for the deeply devout Christian, but to the one that seeks clarity of dogma.
Date published: 2015-01-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The History of the Bible Prof. Ehrman's aura as an authority on the Christian Bible rests not in his scholarship, but the ignorance of most professed Christians regarding the Bible. Ehrman's flippant lecture style makes for error in citing scripture (disc 1, 16:32). The lectures are either not edited for possible misquote because no one cares, or because no one notices the error. In disc 1, chapter II, Ehrman presents Ehrman's personal speculative reasoning of Paul's intuitive development of who Jesus is. Well maybe, just maybe, Paul had an epiphany; maybe Paul was knocked from a horse by a flash of light and in that ephphany encountered Jesus, an encounter from which no further explanation was necessary of who Jesus is. Misquoting scripture, presuming to know the thoughts of Paul and presenting his (Ehrman's) thoughts as those of Paul, lack of professional objectivity in prresenting information (conspicuous prejudicial cynicism approaching mockery) disqualify Ehrman as a serious scholar. Disappointing lectures, disappointing instructor, disappointing standard for Great Courses.
Date published: 2014-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Bible from a Different Perspective Anyone with even a passing interest in Christianity should hear and see this lecture. Best of all., it's a starting point for a wide range of believers and non-believers. Anyone coming away from this lecture, questioning the viewpoint presented there, has well presented and carefully documented material to challenge. It won't be easy to do so.
Date published: 2014-11-07
  • y_2019, m_9, d_18, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_123
  • loc_en_US, sid_6299, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 82.13ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Customers Who Bought This Course Also Bought

Buy together as a Set
and
Save Up To $14.05
Choose a Set Format
$30.90
$61.90