How the Stock Market Works

Course No. 5852
Professor Ramon P. DeGennaro, Ph.D.
The University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Share This Course
4.7 out of 5
38 Reviews
94% of reviewers would recommend this product
Course No. 5852
Streaming Included Free

Course Overview

You can learn about the stock market in many ways. But most people cannot afford to learn the wrong way—by making expensive mistakes.

The stock market is a way for anyone to own the valuable assets of a company and, as investments, stocks historically have offered a good chance for long-term gains. If you own a well-diversified portfolio of individual stocks or stock funds, your wealth tends to grow when the economy grows. But too many investors succumb to the high-risk pursuit of beating the market by trying to pick winners, predict price trends, or otherwise find opportunities that other investors have missed.

Today, millions of people in all walks of life are invested in the stock market through brokerage accounts and retirement plans such as IRAs and 401(k)s. What to buy and when to sell stocks are up to each investor, who often feels besieged by conflicting advice. The wisest approach is to understand exactly what the stock market is and how it works, appreciating such basic facts as these:

  • Factors of success: Many people focus on increasing their rate of return on stocks, which is hard to do without taking substantial risks. It’s much safer to focus on two other factors that affect how much money you earn.
  • No free lunch: You can’t make much money in the stock market if you miss the handful of best trading days of each year, which are unpredictable. But if you stay invested so that you enjoy the good days, you’ll experience some horrible days too—because there’s no free lunch.
  • Above all, diversify: Diversification is the closest thing to a free lunch in investing. Just holding three different stocks instead of one decreases portfolio variation by about 40% on average. That’s a significant reduction in risk that doesn’t cost anything in terms of expected returns.

For anyone who owns stocks or is thinking of entering the market, How the Stock Market Works provides indispensable advice from Dr. Ramon P. DeGennaro, an award-winning professor in banking and finance at The University of Tennessee, Knoxville. A congenial and straight-talking expert, Professor DeGennaro leads you through 18 detailed lectures that explain the stock market from the inside, introducing you to the factors that make company stocks rise and fall and the information you need to grasp the market’s role in the world economy, evaluate the relative soundness of stocks, and understand the stock investment options available to you.

Even if you have owned stocks for years, you’ll find How the Stock Market Works to be a helpful focus on the fundamentals of investing in stocks. And if you entrust the management of your assets to a financial advisor, this course will give you the insights you need to converse knowledgeably with him or her and be an informed participant in your own financial well-being.

Tailor Your Investments to Fit You

Your decision about whether and how to invest in the stock market should start with an understanding of the fundamental difference between stocks and bonds. Both represent claims on the assets of a company, but with different returns, different levels of risk, and a different relationship between you and the company.

As with other concepts presented in the course, Professor DeGennaro explains these key points with simple examples that are memorable and insightful. He also uses helpful charts, graphs, and other visual aids, some of which are reproduced in the course guidebook for audio customers.

The many topics you cover in How the Stock Market Works include these:

  • How to open a brokerage account and choose a financial advisor
  • The essentials of mutual funds, including index funds, and exchange traded funds (ETFs)
  • How to trade individual stocks, including how to use options
  • The relative advantages of traditional IRAs, Roth IRAs, and 401(k) plans
  • How to minimize transaction costs and use tax laws for your benefit
  • The dangers of frequent trading and other counterproductive habits
  • Financial concepts and terms that allow you to understand business news and communicate more effectively with your broker
  • The basics of corporate balance sheets, income statements, and cash flow statements

Aim to Become Well Off—Slowly

How the Stock Market Works opens with a fascinating lesson for the average investor. Imagine you’re sitting at home, watching your computer screen track the price of a stock that interests you. Suddenly, you see a huge spike; it goes up and down so fast—in just a quarter of a second—that it barely registers on your screen. You wonder, “What was that?”

That, says Professor DeGennaro, was a high-tech computer algorithm automatically placing and canceling dozens and even hundreds of buy and sell orders. Some algorithms exploit tiny differences in prices, multiplying a profit of a fraction of a cent many times over. No one without access to such technology can hope to take advantage of these tiny and fleeting opportunities.

But you shouldn’t be discouraged by the sophisticated techniques available to professionals, says Professor DeGennaro. You should be relieved, because their ceaseless competition means that stock prices are as close to fair as possible. You can invest in the market confident that the price you are paying for most stocks reflects their true worth at that particular moment. This is the efficient market hypothesis in action, an idea that Professor DeGennaro discusses at length throughout the course.

When you view investing not as a contest against quick-acting competitors, but as a long-term strategy for increasing your wealth, you are much less likely to act on impulse. “Instead of trying to get rich quickly,” counsels Professor DeGennaro, “you should aim to become comfortably well off rather slowly and without having to stay up all night worrying about losing everything.”

Whatever investment strategy you decide to pursue, Professor DeGennaro advises you to get started today. He compares saving and investing to planting a tree, dieting, or exercising. Although the best day to start was 15 years ago, the second best day is today! You can do yourself a world of good by acting now.

Disclaimer:

The financial information provided in these lectures is for informational purposes only and not for the purpose of providing specific financial advice. Financial investing carries an inherent risk that you will lose part or all of your investment. Investors must independently and thoroughly research and analyze each and every investment prior to investing. The consequences of such risk may involve but are not limited to: federal/state/municipal tax liabilities, loss of all or part of the investment capital, loss of interest, contract liability to third parties, and other risks not specifically listed herein. Use of these lectures does not create any financial advisor relationship with The Teaching Company or its lecturers, and neither The Teaching Company nor the lecturer is responsible for your use of this educational material or its consequences. You should contact a financial advisor to obtain advice with respect to any specific financial investing questions. The opinions and positions provided in these lectures reflect the opinions and positions of the relevant lecturer and do not necessarily reflect the opinions or positions of The Teaching Company or its affiliates. Pursuant to IRS Circular 230, any tax advice provided in these lectures may not be used to avoid tax penalties or to promote, market, or recommend any matter therein.

The Teaching Company expressly DISCLAIMS LIABILITY for any DIRECT, INDIRECT, INCIDENTAL, SPECIAL, OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES OR LOST PROFITS that result directly or indirectly from the use of these lectures. In states that do not allow some or all of the above limitations of liability, liability shall be limited to the greatest extent allowed by law.

Hide Full Description
18 lectures
 |  Average 30 minutes each
  • 1
    Is Investing in Your Blood?
    Begin the course by exploring the difference between beating the market and investing in it. One carries very high risk, while the other is a much safer strategy. Learn about the human propensity to look for patterns in everything—but are stock returns predictable? x
  • 2
    Understanding Fundamental Securities
    Learn how stock is an outgrowth of simple business relationships. Use an ingenious analogy to compare two major types of securities: stocks and bonds. Both are ways to share the assets that a corporation owns and the cash that it produces—but with crucial differences. x
  • 3
    What Is the Stock Market?
    The stock market may be high-tech and getting more sophisticated every year, but it is essentially like markets you already know, such as grocery stores and car dealerships. Armed with this insight, delve into the special features of stock markets and how they work. x
  • 4
    Historical Returns and Volatility
    Explore the relationship between the risk of investing in stocks and the return you can expect from owning them. Survey the average return on a broad portfolio of stocks held over many decades. Next, focus on the short-term volatility that makes many people understandably nervous. x
  • 5
    Risk, Expected Return, and Diversification
    Address the investment advisor’s favorite question: Do you want to eat well or do you want to sleep well? Analyze your risk tolerance in simple role-playing games. Then investigate strategies for limiting risk and improving your odds of making money in the long run. x
  • 6
    What Determines How Much You’ll Make
    Learn the most important formula in investing—the simple equation for compounding earnings. Then focus on the three variables that determine how much money you’ll have at the end of an investment. Most people worry too much about the one variable that they can’t reliably control. x
  • 7
    The Efficient Market Hypothesis
    Delve into evidence that beating the market is hard even for seasoned professionals. According to the efficient market hypothesis, stock prices are almost always fair, with very few bargains available for sharp-eyed investors. Examine different scenarios and evidence that support this view. x
  • 8
    Choosing a Brokerage Firm
    Walk through the steps for choosing a brokerage firm, which can be as simple as going online and filling out an application or as involved as interviewing multiple firms to find the right fit. Analyze your needs, and dispel misconceptions that you may have about brokers. x
  • 9
    Trading and Investing Basics
    Explore how stock trades are made. Then look at ways you can place orders tailor-made to your needs. For example, you can avoid the emotion of spur-of-the moment decisions by specifying in advance when to buy or sell a stock. Also learn the mechanics of short selling. x
  • 10
    Trading Strategies and Common Mistakes
    Review a range of useful trading strategies, and identify some common trading mistakes, such as confirmation bias, overconfidence, and loss aversion. Finally, survey the fascinating world of options, looking at cases when it makes sense to use them. x
  • 11
    The Language of Financial Reporting
    Dispel the mystery surrounding financial reporting by analyzing three important documents: the corporate balance sheet, income statement, and cash flow statement. You can think of these as analogous to your personal mortgage application, tax return, and checking account statement. x
  • 12
    Corporate Analysis and Valuation
    Dig deeper into corporate finance by looking at different ways to value a corporation. Study the price-earnings ratio, book value, liquidation value, and other measures, evaluating their strengths and weaknesses. In the process, learn terms that are widely used by financial analysts in the media. x
  • 13
    Mutual Funds and Other Investment Companies
    Probe the tremendous growth of mutual funds, one of the most successful examples of financial innovation in history. Examine managed versus index funds, and compare mutual funds with exchange-traded funds (ETFs). x
  • 14
    Minimizing Transaction Costs and Taxes
    Consider various strategies for minimizing taxes and transactions costs, thereby increasing the rate of return on your investments. Discover the good sense behind two investing mantras: (1) the more you trade, the worse you do; (2) sell your losers, and let your winners ride. x
  • 15
    Tax Shelters—Roths, IRAs, and 401(k) Plans
    Focus on tax shelters that work for everybody, not just high earners. Traditional IRAs, Roth IRAs, and 401(k) plans offer tax advantages for even the most casual of investors. Review the requirements and advantages of each type of account. x
  • 16
    Making Sense of IPOs
    Initial public offerings, or IPOs, are some of the most glamorous and lucrative events in the stock market. What are they? How do they work? And what can go wrong? Learn what investment banks do to set the share price for an IPO, and then see how unpredictable market forces take over. x
  • 17
    The Stock Market and the Macro Economy
    Explore national and global economic forces that affect stock prices. Then look at what you should do in a recession. Is there a way to avoid losses? Also examine the purpose and activities of the Federal Reserve System, asking if you need to care about its decisions. x
  • 18
    Investing with Confidence
    In the last lecture, learn how to analyze your current financial position with the goal of deciding how much to invest and how to allocate your assets in a well-diversified portfolio. Now that you know how the stock market works, it’s time to make it work for you! x

Lecture Titles

Clone Content from Your Professor tab

What's Included

What Does Each Format Include?

Video DVD
Instant Video Includes:
  • Download 18 video lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
DVD Includes:
  • 18 lectures on 3 DVDs
  • 152-page printed course guidebook
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps

What Does The Course Guidebook Include?

Video DVD
Course Guidebook Details:
  • 152-page course synopsis
  • photos, diagrams & graphs
  • Suggested readings
  • Questions to consider

Enjoy This Course On-the-Go with Our Mobile Apps!*

  • App store App store iPhone + iPad
  • Google Play Google Play Android Devices
  • Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Tablet + Firephone
*Courses can be streamed from anywhere you have an internet connection. Standard carrier data rates may apply in areas that do not have wifi connections pursuant to your carrier contract.

Your professor

Ramon P. DeGennaro

About Your Professor

Ramon P. DeGennaro, Ph.D.
The University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Dr. Ramon P. DeGennaro is the CBA Professor in Banking and Finance at The University of Tennessee, Knoxville. In addition, he consults in the areas of business valuation, investments, and financial management and is a Luminary Member of the Angel Capital Group. He also served as a Visiting Scholar at the Federal Reserve Banks of Cleveland and Atlanta and for the American Institute for Economic Research. Professor...
Learn More About This Professor
Also By This Professor

Reviews

How the Stock Market Works is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 38.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good advice based on common sense. I've invested in the stock/bond market for many years. Yet I benefitted from this course because it convinced me that complicated strategies are no better (and no worse) than simple ones. And simple strategies are, well, simpler and less time consuming. It saved me time, effort and added greater clarity to my thinking. Thank you.
Date published: 2018-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For learners on the go All it takes is one course and your hooked you are going to want another and another.
Date published: 2018-03-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from More background would've been handy This course wasn't dumbed down enough for me (background in science and engineering, with very little knowledge of finance and the like).
Date published: 2017-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Clear and pragmatic Excellent course that covers some general investment advice in addition to its stock market focus. Clear examples. Pragmatic approach. For example, Professor DeGennaro teaches how to read key items from a company's financial statements but asserts you don't have to study everything before investing. I especially appreciated his perspective and advice about letting go of investments that “got away.”
Date published: 2017-12-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Stock Market video My husband and I are long time stock market investors, but always thought we needed to know more about how it all works. This Great Courses video does the trick.
Date published: 2017-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Video & Great Analogies This was my very first course from the Great Courses. When I first started this course, I had some basic knowledge of how the stock market worked, but now, this video helped enhance that knowledge so I have a better understanding of how everything works. I really like the Professor's analogies that he uses in the video. I was formerly in the Navy, so I definitely liked his analogy of the USS Scorpion disaster and the statistical probability of finding the wreckage. I liked the way he correlated that with the statistical probability of predicting stock market prices and price movements. I really liked the lesson on the types of stock market orders. I also liked the manner in which he toned down the vocabulary, so it's not too complex. It was easy to follow along.
Date published: 2017-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Course on All Things Stock Market Excellent overviews of the stock market and of investing in general including best practices/strategies. Pluses: • A great explanation of the investment vehicles available • Eye-opening insights into what drives the stock market and general principles of investing and the examples of its benefits Minuses: • While the professor was generally good at explaining investment vehicles, there were a few cases in which a simple example or two would’ve really helped one to understand the concept a little better (for example I still get lost trying to understand bonds) This is a course for all ages and levels. If you just want to understand how the stock market works and the different investment vehicles I'd recommend this course. If you are intermediate and want good reinforcement of best practices such as diversification, dollar cost averaging, re-balancing, and long-term vision I would recommend this course. If you are advanced then you will love some of the debates such as the efficient market theory. So yes: I'd recommend this for anyone and everyone!
Date published: 2017-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A ground, up Tutorial on "The Stock Market" This was a surprisingly in-depth course, made easy by the "from square one to square 'n'" approach of the very knowledgeable Professor. As with the Learning Company's course, "Banking & Wealth, What everyone should know", this slightly faster pace leaves no one behind; presenting topics as if easily-traversed stepping stones. When looking back on my investing history, I wish I had had such a tutorial at the outset. It would have prevented numerous errors in my approach. I HIGHLY recommend this course (among others at TLC) for anyone interested in oozing into the stock market safely.
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I usually get grouchy every time I try to learn more about investing. It seems there is a long litany of terms and discrete bits of information that lead nowhere. This course, however, started at the beginning and built up understanding through simple concepts I grasped immediately. Thank you for giving me a more cohesive understanding and the confidence to continue learning. I hope this teacher gives a course on bonds.
Date published: 2016-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love The Great Courses I love the fact that I can attend a college level course and not have to commute and pay all the tuition expenses. I can stop the video when I don't understand and clear it up before I move forward. This way I can get a full understanding of what the Professor is talking about. Also, it's wonderful how I can get the best professor in the field and "personally" give me his lecture. This is the way college ought to be taught. Thank you for bringing these Great Courses to us. It has enriched my life immensely. Gary
Date published: 2016-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from How the Stock Market Works is the only course of the 3 that I recently bought that I've listened to and completed. It was very well done. I'm heading off on a trip now and will not be listening to any courses for some time.
Date published: 2016-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceptional amount of info in an easy format The course coverage is comprehensive and very understandable. For me, I should have had this course a long time ago but having been lucky and received advice at certain times, my investment strategy has worked fairly well. I am now at an MRD age and have had the benefit of making reasonable investments but the course content is excellent to know. The instructor has a very easy manner and excellent presentation of the complexities of the market. Several topics were new to me and I will do additional follow up eg. short selling, options and ETF funds. There are more technical stock market courses but this is a great place to start.
Date published: 2016-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding course... Dr. DeGennaro presents the course material in a very comprehensive manner while keeping the content highly relevant to average investor - not unnecessarily theoretical. His delivery is very professional and yet witty, which makes the course very engaging. I have been a Great Courses customer for years, and this course is one of the best that I have seen. This course is highly recommended.
Date published: 2016-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Review of How the Stock Market Works “We’ll learn what stocks actually are and how they are traded. We’ll learn about the risks you’ll take if you invest in stocks, and why you might find buying them attractive despite those risks.” Ramon DeGennaro, a Professor in Banking and Finance at the University of Tennessee-Knoxville, explains the reality and the myths of the stock market in his illuminating course, How the Stock Market Works. Published by The Great Courses, this series of 24 lectures can help both students and parents become much more conversant with the language of money and finance and the advantages and disadvantages of buying stocks. Dr. DeGennaro provides insightful explanations of key concepts that are often baffling to the average person. He explains the origins of the stock market, the idea of risk and expected returns, and the benefits of compound interest applied to investments over a long period of time. This course also overviews how to evaluate corporations, how mutual funds work, how to choose a brokerage firm and minimize transaction costs, and trading strategies and common mistakes. His analysis of the stock market suggests two crucial lessons. First, “the historical record tells us that you can make a good deal of money investing in stocks”, especially if you have a diversified portfolio held for longer periods of time. Second, “don’t waste your time and money trying to beat the market.” In other words, no one has been able to consistently find a way to pick specific winners and losers in the stock market. Claims that investment counselors can provide huge returns routinely to clients should be viewed skeptically: “The truth is pretty simple: There’s no free lunch. If a deal sounds too good to be true, then it is probably is.” “The stock market is like a teenager,” he wryly notes in explaining efforts to predict the stock market. “Researchers have tried to analyze large one-day market moves to determine their causes but have been unable to find answers.” In other words, the behavior of the stock market from day to day is beyond explanation, a phenomenon also experienced by many parents of adolescents. Dr. DeGennaro also provides lots of practical advice for the personal investor. His final lecture, “Investing with Confidence”, outlines how to understand your financial position, how to set financial goals, and how to start investing. This advice is tempered with the behavioral biases that can influence the individual investor. For instance, the “overconfidence bias” is the belief that you have a skill that others don’t. The “loss-aversion bias” is “the tendency to avoid admitting a mistake or accepting a bad outcome.” How the Stock Market Works is an entertaining course that will appeal to students from middle school and beyond and also to the parents of these students. Dr. DeGennaro helps his viewers understand the mechanics of money and investment. These topics are seldom the subject of educational curriculum despite their importance. This course can be recommended to all families who want to learn more about the world of the stock market.
Date published: 2016-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stocked with Good Information I need to explain my motivation and experience for this review to be helpful. If you are coming from a different place (more or less experienced with the stock market) then you may have a very different experience. I consider myself moderately experienced with the stock market. I have diligently invested in stocks for more than a decade with the goal of saving for the future. Don't get me wrong, I'm not talking about investing large sums but just some extra savings that I hope will someday be worth more in the stock market than sitting in my bank account getting less than one percent interest. I have read numerous books on stock investing and trading, so I cannot say that I learned too much new information from this course, though it was interesting to hear this professor's perspective and a refresher is always welcome. The professor's presentation style is clear and approachable. One of my main motivations for watching was to see if this course would be helpful to my daughter when she is a little older. I am very frustrated with the lack of personal finance taught in school, and I am doing my best to teach it at home. The good news is that I think this course will work for my daughter when she is in late high school. The course is taught at a relatively basic level and does not include advanced issues like options trading and technical analysis. This lack of complexity is bad in the sense that the course does not have a lot to offer to a moderately experienced investor such as myself but good in the sense that it will be perfect for my daughter's personal finance education. That being said, I do not want to make this course sound too rudimentary. It strikes a nice balance between being basic and packing in most of the information that a new investor needs to know. My wish is for the Great Courses to make another course taught by this same professor entitled Advanced Stock Market Techniques and provide information more relevant to moderately skilled investor.
Date published: 2016-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank you for your valuable tips Well balanced and clear. Debunks a lot of misconceptions and educates on the important things to know. Dr. DeGennaro presents each idea with a recent example. He limits his equations to one. Very up to date.
Date published: 2016-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth Every Penny. This Course Pays For Itself I wish my high school economics instructor was as easy to understand and as well informed as this instructor. He takes his time in explaining the concept that he talks about, but he has a knack of keeping the lecture moving along without feeling rushed. This guy is gifted at explaining complex ideas in a non-technical way that makes common sense. It is easier to remember what I learned if I understand the thought process and can put that idea into practice. Everything he talks about is useful if you are thinking about investing in the stock market. It doesn't matter if you want to invest in bonds, or stocks, or even mutual funds. The basic principles of avoiding the hidden fees and lowering your tax bill are universal. I found out why I never want to buy a fund before its distribution date (because you will buy the fund, and then get some of your money back along with a tax bill). How many times have I done that without ever knowing? The tax bill doesn't really tell me how I generated those charges in a manner that means anything to me, so I have racked some unnecessary charges over the years because of my ignorance. That is an example of the practical knowledge you will gain in this course. It pays for itself. I can't recommend this course highly enough. It is outstanding in both presentation, content, and usefulness.
Date published: 2016-01-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Title should be "Investing in the Market" The title of this course is completely misleading. It is really a course on investing for the long term. It does cover the basics of the stock market, but most of the time is spent on the various instruments of investment. I was hoping for some more on the invisible mechanics of the market. Instead my final take away was the all investment products are fairly priced, because the market guarantees fair pricing, and that buy and hold is the only investment strategy that works. My first disappointing course.
Date published: 2015-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hits the Mark ! Professor DeGennaro explains the Stock Market function in a straightforward compelling manner with great examples. His delivery style is second to none, by keeping you focused with a great delivery style, and better yet great charts and examples. I found this approach lacking in other financial courses. If you are a student of the financial world, this is the course for you. You will be compelled to keep going thru the courses until you master the knowledge. I highly recommend it to any student of the Stock Market and the Financial World.
Date published: 2015-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sophisticated and informative DVD: This was an excellent course, and compared to other TC finance courses, did a better job of preparing one to invest in stocks. The course actually went beyond superficial coverage and presented topics such as IPOs, relation to macroeconomy and IRAs in detail sufficient for practical use. It also had excellent coverage on what actually happens when a customer orders a stock. The professor is very knowledgable, well-paced, and presents the material in a captivating style. My only criticism was at times he would use terms (such as price/earnings ratio or bid-ask spreads) before he actually defined them a few minutes later. Although not too problematic, it did force me to go to the internet a few times to find definitions (Investopedia is a great site for this!) and to return back to review what had just been said. My other criticsm was that it did not cover how the stock market is presented in newspapers such as the Wall Street Journal. I think the course leaves you with enough knowledge to do that on your own, but half a lecture on reading the business section and all those tables would have completed the course. I highly recommend this course. Chances are you will watch it twice. I frequently read the course syllabus after the lecture and this consolidated my learning greatly. In any case, it has the detail that is missing in TC's other finance courses and complements them well.
Date published: 2015-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tailor Made for me I did not have much understanding of the stock market, prior to this purchase. This presentation was absolutely tailor made for me in many facets. One learns a strong solid structure and relevant detail without being overwhelmed with technicality or bored. I absolutely recommend this for anyone interested in the stock market.
Date published: 2015-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stays interesting - I knew quite a lot about the market, but he presents some twists on traditional thinking. I'll be watching it more than once.
Date published: 2015-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely Informatove I enjoyed all 3 parts of the lecture. Ramon does an excellent job of speaking to the young investor all the while getting them excited to begin investing. His knowledge seems to be boundless on the subjects and I think the videos show that. I would like to see more videos with him.
Date published: 2015-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Presentation of a Complex Subject Professor DeGennaro does an excellent job of explaining clearly, and with just the right amount of detail, the workings of the stock market including how stock purchases and sales and valuations work. The course goes beyond its title subject, as it also covers the tax implications of investing in stocks as well as the basics of estate planning. The lecturer places reasonable limitations in explaining what amount of detail is important and what's not, and takes a common sense approach to investing. He also explains mutual funds very well. The course is both demystifying as well as practical. Without meaning to belabor the point, the strength of this course is the lecturer's presentation. He neither complicates the subject matter, nor dumbs it down. I came away from this course with a much better understanding of stocks, trading, the market and the attendant tax consequences than I had before this course. I highly recommend it for anyone who ranges from having a slight to great interest in this topic.
Date published: 2014-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Overview for the Novice It's not often I write a review when I can truthfully state that I would recommend a GC course to a friend, but this one I most certainly can. This course was an unexpected surprise, full of important information for the novice investor. The course is nicely paced and the presenter really knows the material. Among the lectures I found interesting were 4,5,6, (risk, volatility, diversification) and towards the end of the course in lectures 14-17 (costs, taxes, shelters. and IPOs). The guidebook follows the presentation fairly closely and is a very readable and useful aid to the presentation. The course comes with usual disclaimers, both in the guidebook and on screen. The best advice is past performance is no indicator of future performance and... above all, do your homework and let the buyer beware.
Date published: 2014-07-24
  • y_2019, m_8, d_19, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_33
  • loc_en_US, sid_5852, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 73.09ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Customers Who Bought This Course Also Bought

Buy together as a Set
and
Save
Choose a Set Format
$434.90
$489.90