How to Stay Fit as You Age

Course No. 1997
Kimberlee Bethany Bonura, Ph.D.
Fitness and Wellness Consultant
Share This Course
4.3 out of 5
81 Reviews
80% of reviewers would recommend this product
Course No. 1997
Streaming Included Free

What Will You Learn?

  • Explore tricks to get - and stay - motivated about taking a holistic approach to your health.
  • Discover how to use your friends, family, and social media as a support system.
  • Learn workplace fitness exercises you can even do at your desk, including "chair" yoga.
  • Focus on relaxation strategies, including the art of practicing fluid motion with Qigong.

Course Overview

Age brings with it many rewarding benefits: wisdom, patience, experience, understanding. But as we get older, we also discover changes in how our bodies move and behave—changes that contradict how young we feel on the inside.

But while your body may no longer look or move as it did when you were in your 30s or 40s, that doesn’t mean you have to just accept the effects of aging. Instead, you can choose to make deliberate decisions that can transform your experience of aging into a positive and, above all, healthy one. And it all starts with staying fit.

Scientific studies have shown that not only does fitness promote happiness and satisfaction in our lives at any age, but it can also help alleviate or even stave off age-related issues such as illness, chronic pain, fatigue, and short-term memory loss. With the knowledge, tools, resources, and support systems recommended by the experts, you can build and maintain fitness in your 60s, 70s, 80s, and beyond. And by doing so, you’ll open the door to a fulfilling life in which you can

  • maintain your physical independence,
  • keep your body and your mind active,
  • increase your happiness and well-being,
  • avoid or ameliorate some of the common ailments of aging, and
  • stay engaged with the wonderful experiences of everyday life.

The path to staying fit as you age starts right here with the 12 engaging lectures and 6 active training sessions of How to Stay Fit as You Age. Delivered by certified fitness expert and wellness consultant Dr. Kimberlee Bethany Bonura, this series is the gateway to creating and practicing a balanced, adaptable fitness program that will help you stay fit throughout your life. Whether you’re already over 65, dealing with chronic health conditions, or proactively planning ahead, you can get the insights, strategies, exercises, and confidence you need to make the most out of every day of your life. Accept Dr. Bonura’s inspirational challenge to start taking charge of the aging process, and discover a rewarding way to age with grace and good health.

Explore Ways to Stay Physically Fit

How to Stay Fit as You Age starts with a series of lectures devoted to physical activity, which has been shown to improve energy, stamina, and immune system functioning, as well as reduce the risk of minor illnesses such as the flu and chronic conditions like diabetes.

Specifically, you’ll follow the FITT method used by fitness experts, which focuses your physical activity on frequency (F), intensity (I), time (T), and type of exercise (T) to better develop a plan that meets your own unique abilities and long-term goals. You’ll follow Dr. Bonura as she explains and demonstrates a wide variety of physical exercises almost anyone can perform, including

  • cardiovascular exercises to get your heart rate going,
  • strength and resistance training to build muscle and support joints,
  • flexibility training to keep you moving with ease, and
  • balance training that increases your body’s stability.

The specific exercises you learn about can be performed almost anywhere, and the few exercises that depend on equipment require little more than a resistance band or a hand weight. Dr. Bonura even explores non-gym-related activities that can support your physical fitness, such as

  • daily chores, including gardening and housekeeping,
  • workplace exercises that cultivate good posture and healthy joints, and
  • social activities such as competitive sports and ballroom dancing.

Reap the Rewards of Mental Fitness

Of course, just as important as physical fitness is mental fitness, and How to Stay Fit as You Age devotes equal time to presenting ways of combining physical and mental exercise to strengthen and improve your emotional and psychological fitness as you age.

Always informative and supportive, Dr. Bonura shows you how to reap the rewards of better mental fitness, which include improved self-esteem, reduced risk of depression and anxiety, and reduced perceptions of pain. You’ll learn how to

  • perform helpful (and fun) mindfulness exercises such as yoga, tai chi, and Pilates;
  • cultivate strong social connections with your family and friends;
  • create the right supportive environment for making smart, healthy decisions;
  • dodge the dangers of overtraining, eating disorders, and exercise addiction;

and much more.

Enjoy Six Active Exercise Sessions

In the six active sessions featured with this course, Dr. Bonura taps into her experience as a public educator and a certified fitness trainer to guide you through step-by-step exercise sessions that are sequenced in a progressive structure and are adaptable to a variety of ability levels.

Featuring peaceful landscapes and music to get you focused and motivated, these 5- to 30-minute sessions include

  • a relaxation program to help you manage stress,
  • physical exercises that work out every muscle group,
  • quick exercises you can easily fit into your busy day (including at work), and
  • Eastern practices such as yoga (on a mat or in a chair) and qigong.

Perform several exercises in a day. Or follow one of the shorter exercise programs when you’re strapped for time. Either way, these active sessions are designed to offer you flexible, adaptable ways to put the concepts you’ve learned about earlier in the course to good use.

With numerous instructor certifications—including group fitness, kickboxing, yoga, and tai chi— issued by the Aerobics and Fitness Association of America, the International Fitness Professionals Association, and yoga schools registered with the Yoga Alliance, as well as a background that combines academic research and fitness instruction, Dr. Bonura offers a unique perspective on healthy aging that makes her the perfect instructor. And her approach to teaching and training, as well as the support and motivation she provides every step of the way, make How to Stay Fit as You Age one of the most inspiring and productive toolkits for personal wellness designed specifically for individuals beyond middle age.

So open your eyes to the many options for building fitness into your life as you age. As Dr. Bonura says, “You can have an impact on your health and well-being. You can make the choice to be active and fit. And you can stay engaged in your life until your very last breath.”

 

Disclaimer: This series of lectures is intended to increase your knowledge of physiology, exercise, and health-related lifestyle choices and their basic effects on the human body as it ages. It is not designed for use as a medical reference to diagnose, treat, or prevent medical illnesses or trauma. Neither The Teaching Company nor Kimberlee Bethany Bonura is responsible for your use of this educational material or its consequences. If you have questions about the diagnosis, treatment, or prevention of a medical condition or illness, you should consult your personal physician.

Hide Full Description
18 lectures
 |  Average 31 minutes each
  • 1
    Aging with Optimism—A Holistic Approach
    When is your age considered “old”? What three health-promoting characteristics make up the foundation of healthy old age? What is your “locus of control”—and why is it so important to have one? These and other questions are answered in this first step on a journey that can change your life. x
  • 2
    Getting and Staying Motivated
    Dr. Bonura discusses the secrets of motivation and illustrates the six stages of behavioral change— precontemplation, contemplation, preparation, action, maintenance, and termination. She also offers tips on conquering several common barriers to change, including procrastination, preconditioned beliefs, and a fear of discomfort. x
  • 3
    Self-Care Fundamentals
    Explore the fundamentals of self-care, which involves choosing behaviors that help balance the stress of modern life. As you look at sleep, nutrition, mental exercise, and stress management, you’ll learn ways to promote self-care in your life through incorporating pre-sleep rituals, strengthening your long-term memory with puzzles, and more. x
  • 4
    Fitness Fundamentals—Choose Your Activity
    How can you use physical activity to take better care of yourself? Find out with this helpful lecture on the components of physical fitness, including three that specifically support healthy aging. Then, learn the basics behind any successful fitness plan—and how to develop one that works for you. x
  • 5
    Fitness beyond the Gym—Active Daily Living
    You don’t need the gym to build movement into your daily life. Here, discover how to stay active throughout your day. By making small, simple choices—such as walking with a colleague instead of e-mailing, taking a dance class, or cultivating better posture—you’ll move better. And feel better, too. x
  • 6
    It’s Not Just Physical—Mindful Fitness
    Mindful fitness is an important part of aging healthfully and involves exercises that cultivate unity between your mind and your body. Among the many exercises you learn about here are basic yoga, tai chi, martial arts, and meditation—all of which combine physical exercise with deliberate breathing and mental training. x
  • 7
    Motivation—Goals and Willpower
    Take another look at why solid goals and environmental support are key to staying healthy as you age. You’ll explore each of the five characteristics of a good goal and discover how your environment affects your health-promoting decisions and supports your willpower. x
  • 8
    Friends, Fitness, and Social Support
    Whether you want them to or not, your friends and family have an effect on your overall fitness. Dr. Bonura shows you how to leverage your social circle at work and at home to support your well-being. How can your relationships inspire your health? And how can fitness cultivate stronger relationships? x
  • 9
    Accepting a New Reality
    Eating disorders such as bulimia and binge eating. Exercise addiction and overtraining. Explore these and other obsessive behaviors that occur when fitness doesn’t support but consumes your life. Learn what causes them, find out how someone can get help, and lower your own risk by cultivating more realistic expectations. x
  • 10
    Challenges—Illness and Chronic Pain
    How you respond to the illnesses and pain that come with advancing age can lead to drastically different outcomes in your ability to maintain or rebuild your physical health. This lecture includes exercises that can reduce pain and improve function. x
  • 11
    Small Steps—A Path to Big Benefits
    The one activity that consistently promotes health: exercise. First, examine some of the many benefits of physical activity on your body (including its ability to reduce your risk for diseases). Then, turn to the psychological benefits, including higher self-esteem, a stronger sense of self, and improved body image. x
  • 12
    Making It Work—The Right Plan for You
    Successful health goals have to be framed in a context that gives them greater purpose. Learn how to do this with a rewarding discussion of our three innate psychological needs (competence, autonomy, and relatedness) and Dr. Bonura’s expert advice on the best approach for maintaining a healthy lifestyle in advancing age. x
  • 13
    Relaxation Strategies
    Who doesn’t want to relax more? Find out how, in the first of several exercise sessions you can follow along with. Here, you’ll practice simple breathing exercises, a full-body progressive relaxation exercise, alternate nostril breathing, and a Japanese energy-based exercise for helping you work through pain and discomfort. x
  • 14
    Foundational Fitness
    Using only simple exercise tools and a yoga mat, discover how to get a well-balanced, 30-minute workout that incorporates both strength training and flexibility. Complete this workout session two to three times a week (along with gentle cardio) for a well-rounded exercise routine to keep you fit as you age. x
  • 15
    Core Strength and Balance
    Maintaining core strength and balance is essential for maintaining our physical independence as we age. In this session, focus on a series of yoga and Pilates exercises—performed both in a chair and on the floor—designed to improve your posture and strengthen the muscles in your core and back. x
  • 16
    Workplace Fitness
    Think you have to wait until after the workday ends to exercise? Here, Dr. Bonura reveals some simple (and surprising) ways that you can stay active and energized at the office by taking short walks, practicing good posture in your chair, performing stretches to work your muscles, and more. x
  • 17
    Chair Yoga
    For those of us with limited mobility, yoga on a floor mat can seem like an activity that we’re better off skipping. But in this fun exercise session, you’ll discover how you can still perform basic yoga routines to work your whole body—all from the ease and accessibility of a chair. x
  • 18
    Qigong—Practicing Fluid Movement
    Explore the world of qigong, an Eastern practice that focuses on slow, deliberate movement integrated with key breathing exercises to increase your mindfulness. With this session, you’ll learn how to tap into the healthy flow of your internal energy—and encourage the balance of opposing forces within your body. x

Lecture Titles

Clone Content from Your Professor tab

What's Included

What Does Each Format Include?

Video DVD
Instant Video Includes:
  • Download 18 video lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
Soundtrack Download Includes:
  • Ability to download 18 audio lectures from your digital library
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE audio streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
DVD Includes:
  • 18 lectures on 5 DVDs
  • 208-page printed course guidebook
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
CD Soundtrack Includes:
  • Audio tracks are taken directly from the video
  • Your 9 CDs include all 18 lectures of this course
  • 208-page printed course guidebook
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE audio streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps

What Does The Course Guidebook Include?

Video DVD
Course Guidebook Details:
  • 208-page course synopsis
  • Photos & illustrations
  • Suggested readings
  • Questions to consider

Enjoy This Course On-the-Go with Our Mobile Apps!*

  • App store App store iPhone + iPad
  • Google Play Google Play Android Devices
  • Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Tablet + Firephone
*Courses can be streamed from anywhere you have an internet connection. Standard carrier data rates may apply in areas that do not have wifi connections pursuant to your carrier contract.

Your professor

Kimberlee Bethany Bonura

About Your Professor

Kimberlee Bethany Bonura, Ph.D.
Fitness and Wellness Consultant
Dr. Kimberlee Bethany Bonura is a fitness and wellness consultant with decades of experience teaching the benefits of physical and mental health to elite athletes, higher education institutions, nonprofit community organizations, and corporations. She earned her Ph.D. in Educational Psychology, with a research emphasis in sport and exercise psychology, from Florida State University. Her doctoral dissertation won national...
Learn More About This Professor
Also By This Professor

Reviews

How to Stay Fit as You Age is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 81.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just Beginning I have been doing the course for four weeks, viewing each lesson twice and taking notes throughout. Listening to Dr. Bonura is very pleasant. She speaks with conviction and I believe she very much wants to do the best job she can to help her students age well. The lectures are packed with statistics and anecdotal stories that help make the information more real. The assignments are thought-provoking and have helped me to think more about my life-style and daily choices. So far the exercises have been very do-able, and easy to remember and perform throughout the day. I am very happy to have purchased this course, and more optimistic after each lesson.
Date published: 2017-01-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Lectures on Aging Showed the first two lectures to an over 55 retired audience of 15 people at an RV Resort. As the sponsor of this event, I was motivated to make it successful. The presentation might be ok for a classroom, but fell far short of being motivational in nature, which is what I ha hoped to achieve. Most folks dozed off. One person left after the first lecture and did not stay for the second lecture, Based only on the first two lectures, I would say it was not snappy enough. It took an hour an a half to say what could have been said and reinforced several times in less than 15 minutes. Retired folks, at whom this is directed, need to be motivated, not preached to. I do not expect to hold my audience for the rest of the series. Possibly, my expectations were too high. I suspect I will have trouble getting an audience for any other such presentation by another presenter. I intend to preview the rest of the lecture so make sure they are not too boriing. I may have misjudged this series given that I have only seen two of the 18 sessions.
Date published: 2017-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply Tremendous! At 68 I am learning how to retire (or how not to retire!). This course has not only taught me what I need to do with respect to mental and physical health, it has been interesting and fascinating. The Doctor's style makes it easy to follow, understand and put into practice. My only regret is that I did not have this information years ago. All in all another Great Courses success.
Date published: 2017-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes the Case for Staying Fit My grandfather lived to 97, and he always told me, "Honey, there's no excuse not to do deep breathing and exercise every day" so I grew up with a healthy respect for staying active. And, I thought I understood the benefits of exercise, so I was tempted to skip the first few lectures of this course--I'm glad I didn't! The instructor does an excellent job of presenting the latest research and benefits of staying active as we age. Her advice is practical, and she provides a range of activities to help viewers develop a realistic plan that works for them. Even if you are already active, this course will provide you with reasons why you should continue and offer advice on exploring and expanding opportunities to staying fit as your life circumstances change. If you're not exercising, this course should motivate you to start! While this course title implies that it's for a mature audience, I think younger viewers would benefit from the advice and be motivated to develop a healthy lifestyle.
Date published: 2016-11-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too basic If you're a sedentary couch potato, this course might get you up and moving. But if, like me, you're pretty fit and exercise regularly, forget it. She has some good tips and many of her lectures are motivational, but I found little of benefit to me in this program.
Date published: 2016-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Compelling and persuasive -- a real motivator Over a two-day period, three (male) friends and I viewed all 18 lectures.. Each of us is over 60 years of age and keenly interested in the general topic of staying healthy. I had already listened to another CD program by Dr Bonura and thus knew of the quality of her presentations. The other guys didn't know what to expect and were astounded at her preparation, delivery, and content. They will never be the same, as a result. This program deserves accolades. By arranging the topics carefully and delivering in a highly credible manner, Ms Bonura manages to motivate her audience to master the health benefits of proper sleep, careful eating, mindful exercise, and stress reduction. This curriculum is a powerhouse of organized information that provides a guide and a framework for daily behavior that is sure to make a vast difference in a person's ability to go through life with optimism about his or her health prospects. She is never preachy, never trite, always sincere, and consistently able to convey the vital importance of the subject matter. Her speaking ability is great and the presentation uses graphics to support key points. In the last few sessions, she gives actual demonstrations of such ephemera as Xi Gong, Tai Chi, and Yoga. Ms Bonura's sincerity and comprehensive grasp of this topic come through clearly in the video. This program is motivational and admirable. This course would be good for family viewing and discussion, perhaps as a lesson at a time, over several weeks. Or if, ,like we did, you discover its value, then taking it in as quickly as possible may become your goal. Either way, this is highly recommended! .
Date published: 2016-10-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from How to Stay Fit as You Age Just started to view the course last evening. It was competing with the football game, so each got equal time. I thought I would complete this evaluation, as I got a new email reminder to do so every day for the past four. This seems to be a very valuable course for seniors like me and from what I have seen so far, it will both motivate and provide detailed exercise "how-tos" . I look forward to viewing the remainder of the course with high hopes. No more emails please.
Date published: 2016-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Activities for Aging Gracefully The course is particularly helpful in theory and practice. The information shared is invaluable and well as helpful in staying active. The last lessons are filled with lots of great exercises. Thanks for keeping our generation in mind!
Date published: 2016-08-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not much to it There is nothing new in this course. I have heard all of it before.
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from How To Stay Fit As You Age Have not seen all of this DVD yet but so far this is really good. The instructor is so nice to listen to. Really appreciate her knowledge and professionalism. Thank you.
Date published: 2016-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent course and easy to recommend! There are innumerable books, videos and courses on exercise and diet, indeed I have written one myself, and I am always looking for things that will help me improve my health as I get older. I suspect many have done the same and like me probably have fallen off the wagon after a few weeks (if not a few days). I found this course to be an excellent compliment to my own work out routine. The course starts with 12 introductory lessons. Much of this I knew but there was also much here that was new as well. I watched these while doing my hour long daily exercise bike routine doing so using streaming video. I did find that despite my high speed internet, lots of RAM and high speed processor that while the streaming worked well on the small version when expanded to full screen there was a delay in the video but not in the voice. This was bit of problem as I could not read the screen in small version from my bike across the room. But that is no fault of the course itself. I suspect you, like me, will agree with some of what is presented and disagree with some but that is true of most courses like this. What I found particularly valuable were the five last lessons which presented exercise routines you could follow along with. I watched most of these on my exercise bike (helping me get my 10,000 steps a day) but the last one I did along with the video and think it is definitely one I will include in my exercise routine. As with many my age I have occasional back issues and many of the exercises here were ones that I had been doing when back issues flared up. But there were several exercises I had not been including but plan to in the future. I hope that if you try this course that you find, as I did, that it has both good information and some helpful and gentle exercises that prove useful in our maintaining independence as we age. My mother at 99 is in a nursing home now but was able to stay in her home until she was well past 98 before a hip break lost her the independence she enjoyed and valued. Perhaps some of these exercises might have given her a bit longer independence. Hopefully the sensible approach in the course will will help me to maintain my independence as long as possible.
Date published: 2016-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Needed This I have been exercising to stay in better physical condition for several decades. But I realized that I can't do today what I had been able to do 30 years ago. My knees won't let me jog anymore. My bones don't bend but break now, so riding a narrow wheeled speed bike has risk of causing long lasting injuries. My muscle strength, balance and flexibility needed attention also. This course gave me the insight and knowledge in all these areas to allow me to move forward (actively). I recommend this course to the beginner or the "pro" regardless of his or her age. Aging doesn't have to stop us from being "fit" and active and enjoying life.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Informative The presenter is knowledgeable and informative in her presentations. There's always something to learn and nuggets to take away to apply to your own journey to a fuller, healthier life.
Date published: 2016-03-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well done This course is a series of lectures that get right to the heart of things--why this is needed, the physical problems this can solve or improve, and how to do it. The instructor is pleasant to listen to and has a pleasant way of approaching even difficult issues. I haven't gotten to the "how to" sessions yet, but I am enjoying what she has to say. I'm 64 and in good health and I exercise regularly, but she is challenging me to do more and telling me why I should.
Date published: 2016-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from How to stay fit as you age. Comprehensive review of the subject. Probably too detailed for the average geriatric patient but very helpful for health care professionals and therapists/trainers who work with the geriatric population.
Date published: 2016-01-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Some Good Content, but an Overall Disappointment The professor was knowledgeable and presented herself well, but I didn't learn a lot from the course. As an active middle-aged male who is well read on exercise physiology. I was expecting information on how to exercise over the upcoming years as my capacity for high intensity workouts diminishes. However, the course only contained basic information on exercise and health, most of which I already knew. The exercise examples were good, but illustrated low intensity workouts for senior citizens or someone just starting an exercise routine. The course would be a good start for an older person wanting to start a better health regimen, but as someone who is already active and informed about health and exercise, it was a bit too basic for me.
Date published: 2016-01-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from How to Stay Fit as You Age I bought this course because I need it. Dr. Bonura is very human and someone I can relate to for not being perfect. Her motivation being her Grandfather disabled due to stroke and wishing to prevent this in herself. The exercise videos are lectures 14, 15, 16, 17 and 18. In lecture 1, 2, or 3 she says some women do not think exercise is ladylike. This is important. I am motivated to listen as she is credible. Her information about the lymph system only working through movement is why a sitting sedentary lifestyle is so dangerous. Her movement and gestures relate well to her statement to mildly fidget and move as it has a beneficial effect in lecture She mentions the bouncy chairs are used in some schools for children with ADHD to help them to be active while focusing. Yes she does have lots of information but she relates it to content of the lectures. It is relevant and meaningful. For $50 it is incredible value for me. I will be doing one of the exercise lectures everyday.
Date published: 2015-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Welcoming, Non-judgemental, and Very Helpful Dr. Kimberlee Bethany Bonura is an engaging and effective presenter because of her sincere and genuine passion for her subject. In this course, she seeks to motivate her audience to understand and appreciate the value of fitness as one approaches, enters and experiences the latter stages of life. The course is very practical in explaining how to self-motivate on the path to achieving better physical fitness as one ages. Its strengths are firstly in its message that fitness is a concern for everyone, not just the ex-jock or the elite athlete, and secondly in demonstrating a variety of ways that the average individual can adopt a healthy routine of physical fitness that need not be daunting, physically overpowering, or difficult to incorporate into one's normal routine. There is even a message for the chronic pain sufferer. The lessons are not intimidating and the course subject should not deter anyone who may feel sensitive about this subject. The lecturer presents in a very inviting and welcoming manner and the course not the least bit shame-based. Dr. Bonura is an exceptionally gifted motivator. An added bonus to the course is an additional disc containing a series of very helpful fitness workouts that can be utilized by anyone regardless of their current level of fitness. This course may not be appreciated as much by those who have always maintained a lifestyle or vigorous exercise or workout routines. Younger viewers may not appreciate its message as much, or may perceive this course as one geared towards an older audience. An open-mind is essential, otherwise it is easy for those with a high level of fitness to conclude that this course doesn't apply to them. There are lessons here to be learned for everyone and they are very well presented
Date published: 2015-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very motivational I am very happy that I purchased How to stay fit as you age. I like the author it's very well done a lot of great information. I struggle with exercising and this is going to be very helpful in getting me started and maintaining the healthy lifestyle plan as I continue into old age.
Date published: 2015-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceeded My High Expectations I hoped this would offer helpful, encouraging, and safe information on fitness as we age. The course covered all I hoped it would and included much more than I expected. The presenter was excellent, professional, and added enough personal life experiences to make the lectures engaging and interesting at all times. The selection of various workout routines are also very useful and are extremely well demonstrated with verbal instruction to help users do the exercises properly. This course was one of the 1st two Great Courses I have tried. The other is Yoga for a Healthy Mind and Body. Both of these courses exceeded my expectations. I don't know if all the Great Courses are this good, but these two are definitely well worth the time to view and I will continue to use the workouts in both of these courses.
Date published: 2015-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I am addicted to The Great Courses! I have purchased a couple of dozen courses in the last 2 years and have enjoyed almost all of them immensely. There was only one course where the subject matter did not interest me as I thought it would and I was allowed to return it for a full refund. I am 72 years old and really appreciate the opportunity to stretch my brain a bit without having to take tests. I also value courses such as How to Stay Fit as You Age because I learn how to stretch and strengthen my body, too.
Date published: 2015-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from senior citizen review My wife and I are in our 70's and desire to maintain our ability to physically function within our environment. I purchased the lecture series with the hope that I would receive instruction that would permit me to obtain the necessary exercise at home rather than commuting to a fitness facility - it has. We have just completed the series of lectures - they were well presented in a manner that the average senior citizen can both identify with and appreciate and exposed us to several forms of exercise that are beneficial in achieving our goal. In the future we will be using several of the lectures as the basis of a daily exercise regiment
Date published: 2015-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from In depth fitness course A detailed presentation of fitness data and activities for the aging population. Information covering details of effects, attitudes, activities, effort levels, etc. combined with an excellent motivational approach. A spectrum of balanced activities appropriate for a range of age groups is included. A well presented, valuable course-- I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2015-01-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from One Pearl My husband and I have watched this series with wonderment. In that, we are wondering what we were getting out of it. I am 68 and he is 74. Perhaps it would be beneficial for younger viewers. We have two criticisms: #1 We feel that educated people of our age are well aware of healthy habits that lead to a better quality of life as we age. #2 While the instructor was very well prepared and a good speaker, her appearance really needed some work. It was distracting to see her in grey colored, tight fitting sacks most of the time. I think if you add a fashion expert to your staff, the audience would really appreciate it. My one pearl was her presentation on "Pain". I think that was unit 10 (?). As I have experienced much chronic pain myself and also an expert in pain by vocation, I think for the most part, she did very well there. My two favorite Great Courses have been: Cyber Security and Nutrition Made Clear.
Date published: 2014-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good purchase Although I have been practicing similar physical exercises for some 40 years or so, I found the additional yoga suggestions very useful.
Date published: 2014-11-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too much talking and not enough activity I had great expectations for this course as a senior who wants to live a long healthy life. I felt it was overwhelmingly filled with talk, whereas, I bought this to exercise and become more active from the get go. Most of what is said is very basic. I gave it 3 stars because if you don't have a lot of background on health and exercise, it would be interesting. If you do, it is not challenging. I wish the active, exercise portions were interspersed throughout the lectures. Then it would be worth the money. Otherwise, I advocate--just get out and walk at a fast pace everyday and take yourself and a friend out to lunch on what you saved.
Date published: 2014-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for anyone who is aging (aren't we all?) I have several Great Courses, and this one currently ranks #1. When my husband experienced some neurological aging issues I bought this course for us to view together. Turned our lives and hearts around. It was educational, inspirational and completely worth the money. Don't wait until you feel you need to fix some issues...get this to help you prevent aging issues!
Date published: 2014-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fitness for Everyone, Regardless of Age or Shape Most of the exercises are gentle enough and at a basic level for almost everyone. A lot of the exercises recommended by the professor could also be performed while sitting on a chair. They give a nice and GENTLE workout! However, the floor exercises are on a more difficult level. You need quite a bit of strength to perform the floor exercises, sometimes having to lift and balance your own weight on one arm. There are 18 lectures in total but only those 13 thro 18 are the active lessons where the professor actually demonstrates workout routines. I wished there were more active sessions in the series. In the other lectures of 1 thro 12 she gives lots of great reasons on why all of us, not matter what age or shape we are in should give fitness top priority. However, I think she could have condensed these lectures and instead expand the active lessons with the demonstrations.
Date published: 2014-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The lecturer is great and knowledgeable. The material very worthwhile, including the assignments if you choose to do them. The only suggestion is NEVER to use the background wall covering again. The shockingly bright pinks and other colors that clash detract from the whole course. I found myself closing my eyes to listen instead of watching the program in order to block out the atrocious background. The lecturer should be visible rather than the wall paper. Highly recommend this course for those aging or those who care for older or chronically disabled or recuperating persons.
Date published: 2014-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from How To Stay Fit as You Age I would recommend this program to anyone at any age. The instructor is very knowledgeable and she gives varied instructions for all levels of fitness. I can do the 30 minute workouts before work and am feeling great.
Date published: 2014-08-27
  • y_2019, m_10, d_16, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_71
  • loc_en_US, sid_1997, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 101.54ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Customers Who Bought This Course Also Bought

Buy together as a Set
and
Save
Choose a Set Format
$434.90
$489.90