Introduction to Astrophysics

Course No. 1360
Professor Joshua Winn, Ph.D.
Princeton University
Share This Course
4.7 out of 5
96 Reviews
90% of reviewers would recommend this product
Course No. 1360
Sale
Video Streaming Included Free

What Will You Learn?

  • numbers The chain of reasoning that led Isaac Newton to his revolutionary theory of universal gravitation.
  • numbers How to predict the fate of stars.
  • numbers The formulas behind our current view of the universe.
  • numbers How to calculate the event horizon of a black hole.
  • numbers Shortcuts for complex calculations.

Course Overview

Everyone loves to observe the beauty of the star-studded night sky, to say nothing of the dazzling images from the Hubble Space Telescope. But how many of us truly understand how stars shine, where Saturn’s rings come from, or why galaxies have their distinctive shapes? Observational astronomy excels at imaging and cataloging celestial objects, but it takes a more rigorous discipline to come up with physical explanations for them. That field is astrophysics.

Astrophysics uses the laws of physics to investigate everything beyond Earth. In the process, it has made breakthroughs such as these:

  • Celestial motion: Astrophysics got its start with Isaac Newton’s laws of motion and universal gravitation, proposed in the late 1600s. Together, these cornerstones of classical physics explain why everything in the universe moves the way it does.
  • A universe of galaxies: In the 1920s, Edwin Hubble’s study of an enigmatic nebula proved that it was, in fact, another galaxy—at a time when the Milky Way was thought to be the only galaxy there was. Since then, we have amassed evidence for hundreds of billions of galaxies.
  • Exoplanets: The hunt for planets orbiting other stars was considered impractical, until a range of clever techniques were developed in the 1990s. Thousands of “exoplanets” have since been discovered, many in planetary orbits unlike anything seen in our solar system.

Introduction to Astrophysics plunges you into this exciting quest, taking you step by step through the calculations that show how planets, stars, and galaxies work. In these 24 illuminating half-hour lectures, taught by noted astrophysicist Professor Joshua Winn of Princeton University, you tour the universe of exploding stars, colliding black holes, dark matter, and other wonders, just as in a traditional astronomy course. But Professor Winn takes you beyond the images and descriptions to teach you how to understand and solve the physics problems at the heart of the field.

Throughout the course, Dr. Winn uses custom-designed graphics and animations to help you visualize what’s happening. As he makes clear from the first lecture, this course relies heavily on high school and first-year college math. As Dr Winn says: “I’ll also rely on first-year physics. Sometimes I’ll go deeper—I’ll use vectors, or take derivatives, which I hope will be helpful to those of you who’ve studied more math. But if not, don’t worry, I promise to do my very best to help you understand the results, even if you can’t follow every step.”

Even if you feel like math and physics are not your strongest subjects, you will find his presentation enthralling, as you witness how astrophysicists frame, analyze, and solve problems that have led to astonishing discoveries throughout the universe.

Experience the Thrill of Discovery

Dr. Winn has wide experience using Earth- and space-based telescopes in his research, and in Introduction to Astrophysics he puts you in the driver’s seat—showing you how to gather data, pick formulas, simplify mathematical expressions, and come up with results that give you the thrill of discovering something concrete and often unexpected about the universe. For example:

  • How dense is the Sun: From observations of total solar eclipses and ocean tides, you can deduce that the Sun is, on average, half as dense as the Moon, or about 1.5 grams per cubic centimeter. This is an important clue about how the Sun and other stars work.
  • The Milky Way’s core: At the center of our galaxy, stars orbit a seemingly empty point in space. It can only be a black hole. But how big is it? Given the orbital period and semimajor axis of one of the stars, the calculation is simple: four million solar masses.
  • Faster than light: The spectra of galaxies reveal that all except the closest are speeding away from us; the farther, the faster—with the most distant seeming to exceed light speed! But this apparent violation of the cosmic speed limit is an illusion, caused by the expansion of space itself.

Cover the Fundamentals

One of the intellectual delights of this course is retracing the steps that led to some of the great ideas in astrophysics. In a typical physics class, Newton’s laws are memorized with little appreciation for where they came from. But Professor Winn shows how Newton was inspired by Johannes Kepler’s three laws of planetary motion. Analyzing the laws with calculus (which he invented for the purpose), Newton discovered principles such as the inverse square law of gravity. His astonishing achievement was to prove that physical laws that apply on Earth also operate throughout the universe—something we take for granted today but which was a revelation to thinkers at the time.

Similarly, most astronomy lectures on the electromagnetic spectrum—the range of wavelengths from radio to visible light to gamma ray—don’t normally explain the ultimate origin of radiation. James Clerk Maxwell’s equations, published in the 1860s, show that electrically charged particles, when accelerated, generate a pattern of electric fields accompanied by magnetic fields—an electromagnetic wave—that travels at the speed of light. Quantum theory later modified this description to handle the case of electrons orbiting around a nucleus. Dr. Winn believes that ideas so fundamental to the physics of stars and telescopes deserve to be treated in detail.

In other cases, detail is exactly what you want to avoid. One of the tricks for dealing with the vast range of concepts and spatial scales in astrophysics is using shortcuts whenever possible, such as:

  • Order of magnitude: Dispense with constants, extra significant figures, and other unnecessary marks of precision, to zero in on the order of magnitude—the nearest factor of ten—of the answer you seek.
  • Dimensional analysis: Normally used to keep units straight in a calculation, this technique sometimes lets you guess the right equation you need, by reverse-engineering it from the known units of the solution.
  • Scaling relation: This trick is a shortcut for creating a streamlined version of an equation, based on a benchmark case with known values. Analogous cases can then be scaled up or down by the appropriate factor.

The Most Amazing Subject in the Universe

An award-winning teacher at both the undergraduate and graduate levels, Professor Winn has a fresh, exciting approach to astrophysics. For example, while many traditional astrophysics classes often don’t touch on black holes until the end of the course, Professor Winn believes it is “a terrible idea—it’s educational malpractice! Black holes are some of the most fascinating things in the universe.” His infectious joy in the subject—even when it is at its most complex—is palpable in every lecture.

He then explains these intriguing objects in depth, walking you through the calculations for the theoretical boundaries of black holes with the mass of Earth (9 millimeters), the Sun (3 kilometers), and the supermassive black hole at the core of the Milky Way Galaxy (12 million kilometers). His treatment of black holes flows seamlessly from his discussion of gravity and tidal forces in the preceding lectures.

In the same enthusiastic spirit, Dr. Winn analyzes supernovas; gravitational waves; the Big Ban; dark energy; and much, much more. “Astrophysics is the concatenation of all of physics,” he says proudly. That makes Introduction to Astrophysics an exploration of the most amazing subject in the universe.

Hide Full Description
24 lectures
 |  Average 32 minutes each
  • 1
    Zooming Out to Distant Galaxies
    Begin by defining the difference between astrophysics and astronomy. Then study the vast range of scales in astrophysics—from nanometers to gigaparsecs, from individual photons to the radiation of trillions of suns. Get the big picture in a breathtaking series of exponential jumps—zooming from Earth, past the planets, stars, galaxies, and finally taking in countless clusters of galaxies. x
  • 2
    Zooming In to Fundamental Particles
    After touring the universe on a macro scale in the previous lecture, now zoom in on the microcosmos—advancing by powers of ten into the realm of molecules, atoms, and nuclei. Learn why elementary particles are just as central to astrophysics as stars and galaxies. Then review the four fundamental forces of nature and perform a calculation that explains why atoms have to be the size they are. x
  • 3
    Making Maps of the Cosmos
    Discover how astrophysicists map the universe. Focus on the tricky problem of calculating distances, seeing how a collection of overlapping techniques provide a “cosmic distance ladder” that works from nearby planets (by means of radar) to stars and galaxies (using parallax and Cepheid variable stars) to far distant galaxies (by observing a type of supernova with a standard intrinsic brightness). x
  • 4
    The Physics Demonstration in the Sky
    In the first of two lectures on motion in the heavens, investigate the connection between Isaac Newton's laws of motion and the earlier laws of planetary motion discovered empirically by Johannes Kepler. Find that Kepler's third law is the ideal method for measuring the mass of practically any phenomenon in astrophysics. Also, study the mathematics behind Kepler's second law. x
  • 5
    Newton's Hardest Problem
    Continue your exploration of motion by discovering the law of gravity just as Newton might have—by analyzing Kepler’s laws with the aid of calculus (which Newton invented for the purpose). Look at a graphical method for understanding orbits, and consider the conservation laws of angular momentum and energy in light of Emmy Noether’s theory that links conservation laws and symmetry. x
  • 6
    Tidal Forces
    Why are the rings around Saturn and the much fainter rings around Jupiter, Uranus, and Neptune at roughly the same relative distances from the planet? Why are large moons spherical? And why are large moons only found in wide orbits (i.e., not close to the planets they orbit)? These problems lead to an analysis of tidal forces and the Roche limit. Close by calculating the density of the Sun based on Earth's ocean tides. x
  • 7
    Black Holes
    Use your analytical skill and knowledge of gravity to probe the strange properties of black holes. Learn to calculate the Schwarzschild radius (also known as the event horizon), which is the boundary beyond which no light can escape. Determine the size of the giant black hole at the center of our galaxy and learn about an effort to image its event horizon with a network of radio telescopes. x
  • 8
    Photons and Particles
    Investigate our prime source of information about the universe: electromagnetic waves, which consist of photons from gamma ray to radio wavelengths. Discover that a dense collection of photons is comparable to a gas obeying the ideal gas law. This law, together with the Stefan-Boltzmann law, Wien's law, and Kepler's third law, help you make sense of the cosmos as the course proceeds. x
  • 9
    Comparative Planetology
    Survey representative planets in our solar system with an astrophysicist's eyes, asking what makes Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Jupiter so different. Why doesn't Mercury have an atmosphere? Why is Venus so much hotter than Earth? Why is Jupiter so huge? Analyze these and other riddles with the help of physical principles such as the Stefan-Boltzmann law. x
  • 10
    Optical Telescopes
    Consider the problem of gleaning information from the severely limited number of optical photons originating from astronomical sources. Our eyes can only do it so well, and telescopes have several major advantages: increased light-gathering power, greater sensitivity of telescopic cameras and sensors such as charge-coupled devices (CCDs), and enhanced angular and spectral resolution. x
  • 11
    Radio and X-Ray Telescopes
    Non-visible wavelengths compose by far the largest part of the electromagnetic spectrum. Even so, many astronomers assumed there was nothing to see in these bands. The invention of radio and X-ray telescopes proved them spectacularly wrong. Examine the challenges of detecting and focusing radio and X-ray light, and the dazzling astronomical phenomena that radiate in these wavelengths. x
  • 12
    The Message in a Spectrum
    Starting with the spectrum of sunlight, notice that thin dark lines are present at certain wavelengths. These absorption lines reveal the composition and temperature of the Sun's outer atmosphere, and similar lines characterize other stars. More diffuse phenomena such as nebulae produce bright emission lines against a dark spectrum. Probe the quantum and thermodynamic events implied by these clues. x
  • 13
    The Properties of Stars
    Take stock of the wide range of stellar luminosities, temperatures, masses, and radii using spectra and other data. In the process, construct the celebrated Hertzsprung–Russell diagram, with its main sequence of stars in the prime of life, including the Sun. Note that two out of three stars have companions. Investigate the orbital dynamics of these binary systems. x
  • 14
    Planets around Other Stars
    Embark on Professor Winn's specialty: extrasolar planets, also known as exoplanets. Calculate the extreme difficulty of observing an Earth-like planet orbiting a Sun-like star in our stellar neighborhood. Then look at the clever techniques that can now overcome this obstacle. Review the surprising characteristics of many exoplanets and focus on five that are especially noteworthy. x
  • 15
    Why Stars Shine
    Get a crash course in nuclear physics as you explore what makes stars shine. Zero in on the Sun, working out the mass it has consumed through nuclear fusion during its 4.5-billion-year history. While it's natural to picture the Sun as a giant furnace of nuclear bombs going off non-stop, calculations show it's more like a collection of toasters; the Sun is luminous simply because it's so big. x
  • 16
    Simple Stellar Models
    Learn how stars work by delving into stellar structure, using the Sun as a model. Relying on several physical principles and sticking to order-of-magnitude calculations, determine the pressure and temperature at the center of the Sun, and the time it takes for energy generated in the interior to reach the surface, which amounts to thousands of years. Apply your conclusions to other stars. x
  • 17
    White Dwarfs
    Discover the fate of solar mass stars after they exhaust their nuclear fuel. The galaxies are teeming with these dim “white dwarfs” that pack the mass of the Sun into a sphere roughly the size of Earth. Venture into quantum theory to understand what keeps these exotic stars from collapsing into black holes, and learn about the Chandrasekhar limit, which determines a white dwarf’s maximum mass. x
  • 18
    When Stars Grow Old
    Trace stellar evolution from two points of view. First, dive into a protostar and witness events unfold as the star begins to contract and fuse hydrogen. Exhausting that, it fuses heavier elements and eventually collapses into a white dwarf—or something even denser. Next, view this story from the outside, seeing how stellar evolution looks to observers studying stars with telescopes. x
  • 19
    Supernovas and Neutron Stars
    Look inside a star that weighs several solar masses to chart its demise after fusing all possible nuclear fuel. Such stars end in a gigantic explosion called a supernova, blowing off outer material and producing a super-compact neutron star, a billion times denser than a white dwarf. Study the rapid spin of neutron stars and the energy they send beaming across the cosmos. x
  • 20
    Gravitational Waves
    Investigate the physics of gravitational waves, a phenomenon predicted by Einstein and long thought to be undetectable. It took one of the most violent events in the universe—colliding black holes—to generate gravitational waves that could be picked up by an experiment called LIGO on Earth, a billion light years away. This remarkable achievement won LIGO scientists the 2017 Nobel Prize in Physics. x
  • 21
    The Milky Way and Other Galaxies
    Take in our entire galaxy, called the Milky Way. Locate Earth’s position; then survey other galaxies, classifying their structure. Use the virial theorem to analyze a typical galaxy, which can be thought of as a “collisionless gas” of stars. Note that galaxies themselves often collide with each other, as the nearby Andromeda Galaxy is destined to do with the Milky Way billions of years from now. x
  • 22
    Dark Matter
    Begin with active galaxies that have supermassive black holes gobbling up nearby stars. Then consider clusters of galaxies and the clues they give for missing mass—dubbed “dark matter.” Chart the distribution of dark matter around galaxies and speculate what it might be. Close with the Big Bang, deduced from evidence that most galaxies are speeding away from us; the farther away, the faster. x
  • 23
    The First Atoms and the First Nuclei
    The Big Bang theory is one pillar of modern cosmology. Another is the cosmic microwave background radiation, which is the faint “echo” of the Big Bang, permeating all of space and discovered in 1965. The third pillar is the cosmic abundances of the lightest elements, which tell the story of the earliest moment of nucleosynthesis taking place in the first few minutes of the Big Bang. x
  • 24
    The History of the Universe
    In this last lecture, follow the trail of the greatest unsolved problem in astrophysics. Along the way, get a grip on the past, present, and future of the universe. Discovered in the 1990s, the problem is “dark energy,” which is causing the expansion of the universe to accelerate. Trace this mysterious force to the lambda term in the celebrated Friedmann equation, proposed in the 1920s. x

Lecture Titles

Clone Content from Your Professor tab

What's Included

What Does Each Format Include?

Video DVD
Instant Video Includes:
  • Ability to download 24 video lectures from your digital library
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
DVD Includes:
  • 24 lectures on 4 DVDs
  • 360-page printed course guidebook
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
  • Closed captioning available

What Does The Course Guidebook Include?

Video DVD
Course Guidebook Details:
  • 360-page printed course guidebook
  • Photos and illustrations
  • Quiz & Quiz Solutions
  • Important Numerical Values

Enjoy This Course On-the-Go with Our Mobile Apps!*

  • App store App store iPhone + iPad
  • Google Play Google Play Android Devices
  • Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Tablet + Firephone
*Courses can be streamed from anywhere you have an internet connection. Standard carrier data rates may apply in areas that do not have wifi connections pursuant to your carrier contract.

Your professor

Joshua Winn

About Your Professor

Joshua Winn, Ph.D.
Princeton University
Dr. Joshua N. Winn is the Professor of Astrophysical Sciences at Princeton University. After earning his Ph.D. in Physics from MIT, he held fellowships from the National Science Foundation and NASA at the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics. Dr. Winn’s research goals are to explore the properties of planets around other stars, understand how planets form and evolve, and make progress on the age-old question of...
Learn More About This Professor
Also By This Professor

Reviews

Introduction to Astrophysics is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 96.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very boring and drifts off topic too much Can someone just explain it in a fun non boring way that doesn’t drift of topic alot ? By fun I mean like Richard Feynman type way
Date published: 2020-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful treatment of an amazing subject Understanding astrophysics involves astronomy, basic physics, and relativistic physics. Really understanding all that involves mathematics. This course is not shy about any of that. It is truly a broad treatment, and involves some mathematics. I suggest not worrying about the math. Getting the basic idea from it is adequate for broad and general understanding, although deeper penetration benefits from the equations. The visual presentation helps a lot. The professor is amazing — his knowledge of the subject is deep and detailed, and his ability to explain it is truly wonderful. He gets into details of the basic science of many factors, such as why planets are different, forms of energy and matter, and the developmental history of the universe. A bit of study, analysis, and thought is required for maximum benefit, but there is so much in it, and it so well-done that even a fast pass through will bring you fresh knowledge and enlightenment.
Date published: 2020-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Course! I bought this course a few weeks ago without any background in astrophysics (but an engineering background) and I was totally impressed with both the material presented and the instructor’s teaching. This series was extremely well organized and the instructor is a gifted speaker. There is a lot of math presented but you don’t have to follow all the details to appreciate the point being made. I look forward to a follow-up from him in a few years when we have more information on the subject. I’m sorry to have gotten to the end of this I was enjoying it so much!
Date published: 2020-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent instructor I really like this course. Its got math! Explained to a "T" by the excellent instructor.
Date published: 2020-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fascinating Subject, Very Well Taught What I especially enjoy about this course is how Dr. Winn leads us through the evolution of Astrophysics, from earlier theories and discoveries to the latest concepts and controversies. He develops the basic conceptual ideas without excessive mathematical detail. His friendly "conversational" tone is very refreshing and effective. His knowledge of the subject is impressive, and his enthusiasm is contagious.
Date published: 2020-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the Effort The author starts the series with a joke about sitting on an airplane and ending conversation with your seatmate by admitting you are a physicist. Indeed this course uses the language of physics, which is mathematics, to describe many of the historical and recent findings about our universe. I had extensive exposure to mathematics 50 years ago but no longer speak the language. It is important that individuals without a math background not to be turned off by the use of math. You don't need to follow all the steps and I certainly could not. But the math is used to justify the concepts, and the concepts are fascinating! First let me commend the producers on the graphics which are among the very best of any of the Great Courses. Most of the concepts are presented graphically with outstanding graphic models, multiple photos, and good mix of graphics and speaker shots. Professor Winn is perhaps one of the most disciplined, methodical, and relaxed speaker of the great lectures in the Great Courses and is able to explain complex topics, albeit with math and models. Current breakthroughs in physics focus on the very small and the very large. This course combines new findings in both areas. After a brief description of sub-atomic forces particles and forces necessary to understand the inner working of stars and the early universe, the author provides several lectures to historical development of planetary physics with concepts used throughout the course. The course then expand outward with a wonderful series historical and current concepts of different star categories from birth to death. His explanation of star endings as either brown dwarfs, white dwarfs, neutron stars or black holes and his approach to describing supernovas quasars, pulsars and other phenomena observed by astronomy is excellent. Throughout the course he adds insights such as the relative spacing of stars compared to the relative spacing of galaxies which help the pupil better visualize the vastness of our universe. Dr Winn ends the course by concisely describing current concepts about dark matter, dark energy, and concepts about the age and evolution of the only universe we know. Overall this course is excellent. The information is carefully organized, methodically presented, has great graphics, and gives the student a taste of the complexity and effort modern physics has expended to understand that which is not easy to understand. The math even though dumb-downed can be a little daunting, but then, this is a physics course. I would recommend this to any Great Courses subscriber and would encourage the Great Courses staff to provide more high quality lectures of this caliber.
Date published: 2020-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You don't have to know the math I enjoyed this course not because I am wanting to become an astrophysicist (I think it would be a good prep for that) but because I envision owning a space-themed business at some point in my later years and I want to understand how things work in space. This course allows you to ignore the math which there's plenty of, if you want to. **NOTE -- the math in the course is pretty heady stuff. I wasn't bothered by upper-level math when I took it in school more than 30 years ago but even my eyes were glazing over in spots** There is so much other periphery information that you can still enjoy it without taking a math test at the end.
Date published: 2019-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent presentation Professor Winn does a great job explaining the fundamentals of astrophysics. The course gives a good introduction to how astrophysics is done and the present understanding of the workings of the universe. The course has a fair amount of math and to understand the math you really need to have studied at least through first year calculus, but it is quite possible to appreciate and understand the course while just ignoring Winn's development of equations and just focusing on the conclusions. This makes it accessible to scientists and non-scientists alike, and it will be interesting to anyone who wants to better understand our universe.
Date published: 2019-12-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from To soon but... I like it. I have only just started but it looks good, though heavy on the math. We’ll see...
Date published: 2019-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enlightening refresher for math and physics fans A more in-depth presentation of Astrophysics than expected and for someone interested in this more rigorous approach – this course is highly recommended. Professor Winn covers a wide range of topics from development of Newtonian gravitation from Kepler’s orbital laws, stellar and galactic properties and processes, white dwarfs and neutron stars, astronomical instruments and data collection/analysis, gravitational waves, dark matter/dark energy, and evolution of the universe from the Big Bang into the future. There’s more math than some viewers may prefer but the instructor attempts to reduce this through order-of-magnitude simplifications that typically convert calculus problems into algebraic problems and then compares the results from both to validate the approximation. This is a good mathematical skill to have even for someone proficient in calculus. Just a couple of minor issues detected: (1) the Chapter 2 (Zooming into Fundamental Particles) video has a neat approach for approximating the size of atoms but when I looked in the book to get more details – it wasn’t included. (2) Chapter 15 (Why Stars Shine) cites that evidence of liquid-water oceans having existed for billions of years support stability of the sun’s luminosity. This seems to contradict Chapter 11 (Snowball Earth – Another Crisis) from the New History of Life course than cites evidence that the Earth has experienced periods of equatorial ocean freezing several times within the last billion years and that these events had nothing to do with the sun’s luminosity.
Date published: 2019-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent survey of astrophysics. I’ve gone through many Teaching Co courses on forefront optics in theoretical physics and found the all uniformly top notch. Introduction to Astrophysics was unique in that it presupposed a knowledge of basic calculus as well as bachelors level knowledge of physics. Full disclosure, I received a PhD in physics four decades ago and have worked as an electrical engineer ever since. Since I never studied astrophysics, the course was perfect for my needs. It is extremely well organized, a great choice of topics, and the presentation was top notch.
Date published: 2019-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well taught The course includes valuable mathematical insights into orbital mechanics as well as thermodynamics and quantum theory, taught in a manner that only a basic knowledge of calculus is required. Working the provided quizzes takes some effort, but greatly fortifies the student's understanding. I highly recommend this introductory course.
Date published: 2019-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great introduction to astrophysics A great course, something for every taste. It has math equations for those mathematically inclined--I am--and also presents numerical results along with the equations for those who just like numbers. Appears to cover things quite well--excellent explanation of gravitational tidal forces and Roche's limit. I really enjoyed the course, it's one of TGC's better courses.
Date published: 2019-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Course I have truly enjoyed this course , and it deserves 5 stars on all levels from me. Prof Winn is an excellent teacher and communicator of a difficult but fascinating subject. It is amazing how much we can know about the universe by using our understanding of (astro)physics, and Prof Winn really does a great job in showing how we know what we know in many topics of modern astronomy. I really enjoyed his use of orders of magnitude calculations and certain assumptions which lead to understanding of some complex astronomical phenomena. The visual diagrams are critical to the course , and they are fantastic. This is not an easy course and requires more than one viewing of each lecture along with readings from the study guide and some studying from the suggested books. Several of the suggested readings are standard text books on astrophysics at the undergraduate level, and I really appreciate these suggested readings. The math that is needed is really no more than freshman calculus. I think this introductory video course and the way it is presented really fulfills a need for someone like me (short of formally attending an academic institution). I give sincere thanks to The Great Courses for making this course available.
Date published: 2019-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing instructor and course! The professor does a great job explaining very complex material.
Date published: 2019-08-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worthy Interesting, you learn a lot of the principles, technical but not too difficult. Done well.
Date published: 2019-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Examples of Equations for Calculating This course was exceptional. I have been purchasing courses for the past four years to learn about all aspects of science. I have learned a great deal! I get to see what the current theories are with regards to the universe. I then compare them to my own theory of everything. I do thought experiments like Einstein because I don't have the resources to do experiments. So far I have predicted and learned about many phenomenon in the universe. I use the courses to write to the professors to discuss what I have learned by to date I haven't gotten any answers. I have my own set of equations that I think are more accurate than what the scientists use to calculate phenomenon. I have identified how to calculate Newton's Gravitational constant for instance and I have written an equation for it and then I plug it into the scientists equations to see what is going on inside stars better than the scientists. I have also been able to make an equation of how to calculate the Stephan-Boltzmann constant and this gives me more accurate information. I also use what I have found out from The Great Courses course to write to the government laboratories like Lawrence Livermore. Most notably the National Ignition Facility Laboratory where they are attempting to get a fusion reactor running. But so far I hear nothing and the fusion reactor never seems to work even though I think I have found something out that it worth discussing with the scientists. I highly recommend this course.
Date published: 2019-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Right this way for genuine astrophysics! When I first decided to purchase this course, I noticed some of the earlier reviews. On one hand, many remarked that there was a lot of "math" in this course. On the other, one reviewer remarked: "This is a well thought out course. It has all the essentials and leads logically from one chapter to the next." ... Or to that effect. Well, I agree with both sides. There is some algebraic formulation in this course. It is on display and very well chosen, It could be useful for a beginner in astronomy or astrophysics, an engineer connected with spacecraft or scientific instruments to observe stars or planets, or an adjunct instructor trying to review for next semester's assignment. Or just anyone trying to decipher the essentials of a very wide field. Whether you are a student or an instructor, the lectures ( and the guidebook!) are very useful for self study. This could be about the best science course I've seen in the Great Course series. The Great Course program from a decade back focused a great deal on classical studies ( e.g., Rome, Greece), history, philosophy and literature. At first it was cautious about courses in quantitative or physical sciences - and (to me) understandably so. There are questions of market size, whether those that purchase the offering will be satisfied with what they find - or whether expertise in a field in one medium will transfer well into another. Well, I think they've got a lecturer with content and format that crosses the finish line in excellent form. From my own standpoint, I have taken the course material in one form or another and have had to work with some or much of it during my professional career. Some on my own periphery of knowledge I simply I need to review. Other parts I need to examine for the best way to convey to others - either in report or lecture as an instructor. For such reasons I am impressed with the effectiveness of Professor Winn's selections: for algebraic explanations or aim to address physical principles. In my own experience my introduction to astrophysics was primarily through stars and spectra, while the mechanics of motion (orbital or celestial mechanics) I picked up in separate studies in engineering classes. Getting both under the same tent in one series of lectures is an accomplishment in itself. About the math: Here is where the guidebook shines. It's all in there. If the algebra appearing on screen is rapid sometimes, don't be alarmed. It can be retraced in the guidebook, a very thorough one rather than an exercise in Roman numeral outlining of a chapter. These derivations can be fascinating, and once you understand some of them, at least in orbital mechanics, doors can open up for answering questions you yourself might pose. Admittedly at this point, I have not completed all the lectures. Worse, I've got a backlog of several other courses. But judging from the guidebook, I am not put off by what's ahead. I expect to compare it with what I had studied earlier: review, search for any new insights and put them to work. If nothing else, use them for a better appreciation of the news arriving in many forms from the space and astrophysics frontiers. Fifty years after the first lunar landing - these are not necessarily idle resolutions. Enjoy.
Date published: 2019-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exciting lectures! It is exciting and very interesting lectures! Thank you very much ! The presentation of course is excellent!
Date published: 2019-07-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from For the physics/math oriented I bought this over a month ago. I was hoping there would be more pictures and less phisics fornulas.
Date published: 2019-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to understand; great teacher. Lots of useful examples; the teacher is terrific; not too much math!!
Date published: 2019-07-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great College Level Course This course is an outstanding education in Astrophysical Math. If you aren't at a college level in alegebra, trig and calculus, you will not have an easy time with this course.
Date published: 2019-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent illustrations. The descriptions and photos were excellent. The mathematics made a great explanation of the life of planets. It was very exciting to watch and learn.
Date published: 2019-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent survey and clear review Very knowledgeable speaker with a pleasant delivery. The inclusion of his family was sappy, but excusable, as it humanized the professor. Difficult concept of spectroscopy was clearly explained as well as the life cycle of stars. Overall it is a well produced and enjoyable program.
Date published: 2019-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb! College Level! Math-Based!!! Wow. This is, as others have noted, an astoundingly excellent course in every respect. But - It is not for everyone! Please, read the entire course description, and look over the reviews! The course presents an outstanding overview of modern astrophysics, from planets to stars to galaxies to the structure and history of the universe, with a look at the mysteries of dark matter and dark energy along the way. And it *is* an introduction! To astrophysics! (Note the course title!) - No prior astrophysics (assuming you know what stars and galaxies are) is assumed. And the course does zip along. This is to be expected when one summarizes an entire field of science in 12 hours. Be aware, however, it is *not* an introduction to physics or math. As the course description makes clear, the course takes you "step by step through the calculations that show how planets, stars, and galaxies work." It "relies heavily on high school and first-year college math." And: "As Dr Winn says: 'I’ll also rely on first-year physics. Sometimes I’ll go deeper—I’ll use vectors, or take derivatives, which I hope will be helpful to those of you who’ve studied more math. But if not, don’t worry, I promise to do my very best to help you understand the results, even if you can’t follow every step.'" Dr. Winn is superb. He is extraordinarily well organized, and crystal clear in every focused sentence, with essentially no unnecessary verbiage or digressions. He speaks in a well-modulated and comfortable tone which is remarkably easy to listen to, especially considering the complexity of his subject matter - which includes many, many detailed descriptions of equations and their derivations. In addition to the math, there are many wonderful visuals, and the Course Guidebook is extremely thorough and well done Full disclosure: Many years ago I made it through multivariable calculus and linear algebra, as well as first year college physics. But I don't remember most of it, and I certainly didn't follow the vast majority of the math in this course. I still found it a completely worthwhile experience, both because of the excellent qualitative understanding of the material which is conveyed, as well as because of the appreciation it led me to feel for the extraordinary depth of understanding of our universe which some of us human beings have been able to achieve. If all this (and the course description and the other reviews) sounds good, this course has my highest recommendation for you. If, on the other hand, you do not want a deeply math-based course, the many other Great Courses covering physics, astrophysics, and cosmology with little to no math are also wonderful. Enjoy.
Date published: 2019-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Paradigm of PERFECTION in Lecturing--in EVERY WAY There is no one adjective I could pick to do justice to the quality of Dr. Winn's lectures. Even a string of superlatives would not serve the purpose of properly conveying to you this: Dr. Winn is the best lecturer I've ever heard. And I have purchased more than about 105 Great Course courses. Even in live courses, only one other person came close to Dr.Winn. It had been on my list for years to get Dr. T (a polymer chemistry professor) transferred onto DVD. He had given me a VHS tape of a talk he'd presented at a conference. No longer is there the need. I have from this Astrophysics Great Course the PARADIGM of A PERFECT LECTURER. My polymer chemistry prof spoke only two "uh's" total -- and one occurred when he'd flip-flopped an order of what he meant to say. I found the lack of "uh's" remarkable. Since then a few, not all certainly, but either a few or maybe even many, Great Courses lecturers are able to avoid the filler "uh's". I don't really pay attention any more. Dr. Winn, though, I found utters not a single "uh" with 24 lectures. Amazing. But absence of filler "uh"s does not a PARADIGM of excellence make. I'll tell you what makes Dr. Winn the best lecturer period in just a bit. But to convey the intensity with which I mean all I say, let me tell you this, and it is NOT metaphorical. He brought tears to my eyes. Literally. That's how PERFECTION he is as a lecturer. See, I know something about teaching myself. I've had training. While lecturing is not the same as interactive teaching, I know enough to recognize PERFECTION ACHIEVED when I see it. And the recognition actually had me get weepy a couple times. I'm being truthful, not flippant. One other thing though first, before I justify why Dr. Winn is a PARADIGM OF PERFECTION. I will say that the CONTENT of the course is immensely rewarding. From having already consumed several astronomy courses, and physics courses (Higgs, Nuclear Physics and others), I thought I'd not learn anything new. I'd just drill home by repetition that which I already knew. Sure, that does happen some. But Dr. Winn presents the material in FULL CONCRETE DETAIL. That doesn't mean the course contains EVERYTHING that other courses contain. Dr. Winn says how, for instance, nuclear physics will go only to a certain level of detail in his course. But other courses in which you think "Yeah, I get that concept. It doesn't mystify me in the least. No need -- except for repetition to do drill-home -- for another presentation." Well no. That's not accurate. An analogy is this. I used to think that for science museum exhibits you could get it all if you were just patient enough to read the text. That doing the knobs (as instructed) was just fun-stuff-for-kids or for folks not patient enough to read. But when you do twiddle the knobs, you "get it" in a further way than the "mere" apprehension of the concept from the passive reading you so patiently did. Similarly with Dr. Winn and the content he presents: That which had been (for some of you), "Yeah. I get it. I have no trouble with that concept at all." Well, no, you did not get it -- not to the extent that is possible. Dr. Winn metaphorically has you twiddling the knobs with the details so you learn what it is like to really get it. And also you really will get what it was like for scientists to puzzle over this or that. The retrospective textbook fairy-tale version may give erroneous impressions of what the scientific process was actually like for that state of knowledge at the time. And, in a parallel way to what I said you'd get, you'll really get the understanding of the scientific process even if a book has tried to give you the non-fairy-tale version. Dr. Winn optimally gives you the details so now you REALLY will get what it was like for the scientists facing the questions. A plethora of non-fairy-tale historical detailing doesn't serve anywhere NEAR as well as what Dr. Winn gives you.. You get the content -- fully, and what it was like for the scientists at the time -- again, fully getting it, way more than any history no matter how accurately told. Now, as to the PARADIGM of LECTURE PERFECTION. Every aspect is perfect. Dr. Winn's voice is pleasant. Dr. Winn employs THE BEST PROSODY CHOICES. Prosody is "the melody of speech". Every choice he makes therein is optimal: pauses, pacing, emphases, intonation contours -- every one serves perfectly. Perfectly for you getting the ideas. Perfectly for you understanding the details. Perfectly for you understanding relative degrees of importance. Perfectly for conveying emotion. Yes, emotion too. Much like Dr. Kloss (art lectures) was an erudite lecturer with perfectly constructed sentences but who ALSO managed to convey emotion and indeed proved that cognitive understanding can have you more emotionally aware too, well so does Dr. Winn -- without unduly emphasizing the fact. The on-screen graphics happen to go excellently with Dr. Winn's lecturing and his prosody choices. Dr. Winn is not humorless. But there's a paradigm here too. You certainly can drop-in tidbits of humor. But how much and where? Dr. Winn shows you how to do it. Purely optional. You don't need it. Emotion is far more important to have at least some constrained presence. But if you choose to plop in a humor tidbit, Dr. Winn shows how to do it appropriately and TOTALLY NON-DISTRACTINGLY. And last, but ABSOLUTELY not least: the ORGANIZATION. Fantastically well-organized. That fact itself would make Dr. Winn a paradigm of a lecturer. The organization was made totally apparent, but without excessive amounts of meta-talk concerning the organization. Meta-talk on organization was in just the right amount. Organization portions were appropriately connected to one another when appropriate and sub-parts of the organization were nicely conceptually-chunked -- again, when appropriate. Conceptual chunking of the material itself is almost a guarantee with a lecturer of this quality. And so it is for Dr. Winn on the material itself. He helps you conceptually chunk the material even as he gives you a fully concrete understanding via all the details that that goal requires. A tiny caveat-type comment. As he says in the guidebook, some fair amount of calculus knowledge is required. Dr. Winn says the same of physics. But really it is far more the calculus you'll need. Dr. Winn RELIES on you knowing a fair amount of calculus more than he relies on you knowing other physics. Exaggerating a little, one could say that the lectures are more for a non-expert audience than for a lay audience. The non-expert audience is highly educated and used to intricate detail, but the subject being presented to them is new to them. More briefly put, you could say these astrophysics lectures have scientists that are not physicists or astronomers as the intended audience. But [1], that's an exaggeration, and [2] with how PERFECT Dr. Winn is in the myriad of considerations I detailed, even a lay audience would benefit. But it is, nonetheless true, that the astrophysics lectures are at a higher level of thoroughness than is typical of the Great Courses. That doesn't mean faster, though. No CONCEPTS are thrown at you at a blinding pace with Dr. Winn expecting you to use them proficiently from thence on (like 1980's Scientific American articles for example). The only thing fast is some of the calculus and or resulting algebra. But those mirror what I said about Dr. Winn's prosody: He used melody of speech to also indicate what is more important and what is less so. It is more important that you see HOW the concepts, folded into the calculus, produce the results. You needn't memorize or be able to reproduce each step yourself. Finally, don't let that last paragraph be discouraging. For some of you, in fact, what I said in that paragraph may be a surprising treat. But a PARADIGM PERFECT LECTURER will get the message across with FULL IMPACT, not just "most of the flavor" -- no, with full impact, to all of you. It is a glorious set of lectures.
Date published: 2019-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from if you were a physics major in college many years ago then you will love this course.
Date published: 2019-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was the best course ever!!! Professor Fillipenko gave such a systematic thorough breakdown of complicated issues and the various topics so enjoyable and enlightening
Date published: 2019-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb Review of Fundamental Concepts One of my all-time favorite courses from the Teaching Company is Cosmology by Professor Whittle, and that is my recommendation for those who do not like a quantitative review. For those who do, this is a wonderful course. Professor Winn is a superb presenter, and the quantitative material was thorough but not at all daunting. This is a wonderful addition to the Teaching Company's catalog of science courses. I highly recommend.
Date published: 2019-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rigorous Course I'm trying to imagine somebody sitting through the lectures without cracking the text and understanding everything. Not me. I'm finding that by slowly grinding my way through the equations and having old neurons wake up to come to understand them, I'm getting a new grip on the cosmos.
Date published: 2019-06-04
  • y_2020, m_6, d_2, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_93
  • loc_en_US, sid_1360, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 177.47ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Customers Who Bought This Course Also Bought

Buy together as a Set
and
Save Up To $15.00
Choose a Set Format
$88.90
$124.90