Late Middle Ages

Course No. 8296
Professor Philip Daileader, Ph.D.
The College of William and Mary
Share This Course
4.8 out of 5
102 Reviews
87% of reviewers would recommend this product
Course No. 8296
Sale
Streaming Included Free

Course Overview

Were the two centuries from c. 1300 to c. 1500—an age that has come to be known as the Late Middle Ages—an era of calamity or an era of rebirth? Should we look on this time as still clearly medieval or as one in which humanity took its first decisive steps into modernity? Was it a period as distant from us as it appears, or was it closer than we suspect? Students of history are still trying, even after so many centuries, to reach anything approaching a consensus on the answers to these questions.

Ponder the many contradictions on your own and you may be frustrated by inconclusive answers. Instead, let Professor Philip Daileader be your guide and set you on the path to answers with The Late Middle Ages, the final course in his excellent trilogy that began with The Early Middle Ages and The High Middle Ages.

This provocative 24-lecture course introduces you to the age's major events, personalities, and developments and arms you with the essentials you need to form your own ideas about this age of extremes—an age that, according to Professor Daileader, "experiences disasters and tragedies of such magnitude that those who survive them cannot remember the like, and doubt that subsequent generations will be capable of believing their descriptions."

An Era of Disease, War, and Religious Turmoil ...

There was the Black Death, which killed perhaps half the population of Europe in four years and remained a constant and terrifying presence for centuries to come. ...

There was the carnage of frequent wars, particularly the Hundred Years War, and a steady progression in the deadly effectiveness of the weapons with which those wars might be waged. ...

There was religious turmoil, with the papacy humiliated, the popes departing Rome, and a Great Papal Schism that ultimately produced three competing popes, leaving the Catholic Church with no clear leader for a period of nearly 40 years. ...

And there was the threat of rebellion in both city and country as disasters and social change took their inevitable toll.

... or Were the Seeds of Modernity Planted?

On the other hand, even as Europe was reeling under these onslaughts, a powerful new way of thinking was coming to fruition. This was the beginning of the intellectual and cultural movement known as Humanism.

By Humanism's precepts, which harkened back to the moral inspiration inherent in Classical artistic values, humans have an enormous capacity for goodness, for creativity, even for the achievement of happiness. Moreover, that happiness was something that could be experienced not in the next life, but in this one.

But these were hardly the only forces that tug modern-day historians in multiple directions. The Middle Ages was also a period when the persisting legacy of knights, serfs, and castles coexisted with the cannons and muskets newly made possible by gunpowder.

It was a period when Scholastic theologians continued to question the nature of God and the salvation of humanity, while this new breed of Humanists urged a focus on humanity itself. And it was a time enlightened enough to welcome and appreciate the rise of the printing press, yet it still permitted and tolerated the torments of the Spanish Inquisition.

With a world of such contradictions and juxtapositions, is it any wonder that historians, including those who have been the most influential and evocative in studying this period, have differed on how history is to judge this era?debating even when it ended and modernity began?

As you might imagine, Professor Daileader is no stranger to this discussion. His opinion is that modernity in Europe came much later than is generally thought, occurring between 1750 and 1850.

More importantly, Professor Daileader's wealth of teaching skills has drawn consistent recognition and honors, beginning with his four Certificates of Distinction while still a graduate student at Harvard and ranging to his current occupancy of one of William and Mary's University Chairs in Teaching Excellence.

Encounter Extraordinary People and Events

The teaching skills that helped earn those honors include a delightful narrative style and a wry and pointed sense of humor, both of which are on regular display throughout these lectures. The result is a compelling course that introduces you to an extraordinary array of people and events.

  • Meet women like Christine de Pizan, possibly the first woman to support herself and her family entirely through her literary efforts. Left to her own devices after the deaths of her husband and father, the Italian-born resident of France put her superb education to work, writing and selling poems, royal biographies, a defense of Joan of Arc, and even a book on military theory. But her greatest contributions were as an early feminist; with major works defending the intellectual and moral equality of women, she launched a discussion that would last for centuries.
  • Encounter rulers who helped turn the tide of history, like Ferdinand and Isabella, who sponsored Columbus's voyages to the Americas but also expelled both the Jews and Muslims from the Iberian Peninsula and established the Spanish Inquisition. Or Philip IV of France, whose drive to assert supremacy over the papacy included the so-called Babylonian Captivity of the popes in Avignon and the arrest and trial of the Knights Templar, the military order supposedly answerable only to the pope.
  • And discover radical thinkers and theologians such as John Wycliffe, Jan Hus, and William Ockham, whose ideas dared to approach—and cross—the forbidden lines of heresy, sparking controversy, rebellion, and the sometimes fatal opposition of the church.

But as fascinating as the people of the Late Middle Ages were, its signpost events and developments were no less gripping, and Professor Daileader creates vibrant pictures in showing how each contributed to this complex and important era, including:

  • The Black Death, which claimed what some historians now believe to be fully half of Europe's population in its first four-year visit (there were others) and left in its wake not only death and grief but widespread social and economic complications.
  • The influence of the Inquisition's courts and the idea of the "witch"—especially the female witch—as well as the occurrence of the first witch trials and the widespread ordeals women fell prey to in the 16th and 17th centuries.
  • The coming of paper to Europe, after its invention in China 1,000 years earlier, and the replacement of parchment by paper. This development was critical to the feasibility and spread of the printing press, perhaps even more so than the demands presented by the rise of literacy.
  • The far-reaching effects of the historical transaction that has come to be known as the Columbian Exchange. The massive trade of plants, animals, and diseases between the Old and New Worlds rapidly changed both areas forever. As Europe gained enormous demographic and economic benefits, it was often at the cost of profound devastation to the Americas.

The impact of the exchange that began with Columbus's voyage is still felt today, as is the impact of the entire era whose end it roughly marks and whose story is presented so brilliantly in The Late Middle Ages.

Hide Full Description
24 lectures
 |  Average 30 minutes each
  • 1
    Late Middle Ages—Rebirth, Waning, Calamity?
    This lecture introduces the course and its focus on two major questions debated by historians for centuries: Did the 14th and 15th centuries mark the turning point between the medieval and the modern? Was this period a high or a low point in European history? x
  • 2
    Philip the Fair versus Boniface VIII
    You'll examine the conflict between the king of France and the papacy. The results—a growth of French influence and a weakened papacy—will shape the religious history of 14th-century Europe. x
  • 3
    Fall of the Templars and the Avignon Papacy
    Continued French defiance of papal authority generates a perception of French influence that—even though exaggerated by influential foreign voices such as Petrarch's—can only diminish the authority of an institution that aspires to universality. x
  • 4
    The Great Papal Schism
    Two unusual papal elections produce two popes, one in Rome and the other in Avignon, with each claiming legitimacy. The resulting split, complete with competing lines of popes, will divide Christian Europe for nearly two generations. x
  • 5
    The Hundred Years War, Part 1
    The political history of 14th-century Europe will be dominated by more than a century of continual conflict between France and England over the latter's claims to the French throne. x
  • 6
    The Hundred Years War, Part 2
    Although the thrones of the combatants ultimately remain unchanged, the war demonstrates the effectiveness of the longbow against knights and contributes to the emergence of larger, infantry-based armies—a trend that will soon have political and social repercussions. x
  • 7
    The Black Death, Part 1
    With its population at a difficult level to sustain, Europe is ill-equipped to confront the calamity that arrives in 1347. Medical and cultural assumptions of the time are limited and the population drops by one-third, perhaps by one-half, in four years. x
  • 8
    The Black Death, Part 2
    The consequences of the Black Death and subsequent outbreaks of plague include an increase in geographical mobility and wages and a drop in rents, land values, and food prices. The result is a rising gap between rich and poor, increasing the social tensions that sometimes manifested themselves in revolt. x
  • 9
    Revolt in Town and Country
    The Late Middle Ages witnessed a relatively high number of large-scale revolts, and you'll examine both rural and urban examples: the Peasants' Revolt in England of 1381 and the revolt of the Ciompi in Florence in 1378. x
  • 10
    William Ockham
    You'll learn about the life and works of a man whose theological views and criticisms of the papacy made him a polarizing figure, not only during his own lifetime but for centuries to come. x
  • 11
    John Wycliffe and the Lollards
    Another controversial English Scholastic theologian has an even greater impact than Ockham, inspiring—through his ideas about the church, priesthood, and spiritual authority—the first large-scale heretical movement to emerge in medieval England. x
  • 12
    Jan Hus and the Hussite Rebellion
    The execution of the man willing to defend Wycliffe's ideas in the Holy Roman Empire touches off a series of revolts known as the Hussite Wars, during which the Hussites become the only medieval heretical group to fight successfully for the establishment of their own church. x
  • 13
    Witchcraft
    Although the 16th and 17th centuries were the great age of European witch hunts, the first European witch trials date to the Late Middle Ages. You'll discover the fusion of the concepts of heresy and "harmful" magic that set the stage for those witch hunts. x
  • 14
    Christine de Pizan and Catherine of Siena
    You'll look at the work of two of the late-medieval culture's most noteworthy women: one perhaps the first self-supporting female author, the other a mystic who was to become one of the first female Doctors of the Church. x
  • 15
    Gunpowder
    The introduction of gunpowder and the weapons for it is one of the most important technological developments in late-medieval Europe, altering the balance of power and, together with other changes in military technology, forcing the medieval nobility to function less as warriors and more as courtiers. x
  • 16
    The Printing Press
    The printing press greatly increases the efficiency with which knowledge is disseminated, making it easier for subsequent generations to build on and surpass the intellectual achievements of their predecessors. x
  • 17
    Renaissance Humanism, Part 1
    This first of two lectures on Humanism looks at the emergence of this strong belief in the inherent goodness, intellectual capability, and dignity of the individual, combined with a profound admiration for Classical literature and art and a desire to revive the literary and artistic values of antiquity. x
  • 18
    Renaissance Humanism, Part 2
    Continuing our discussion of Hu­man­ism, you'll look at its differences from the dominant intellectual method of the time—Scholasticism—and the role Hu­manist ideas were destined to play in Euro­pean intellectual life. x
  • 19
    The Fall of the Byzantine Empire
    The eastern half of the Roman Empire outlives the western half by nearly 1,000 years. This lecture traces the fall of that empire, with the resulting migration of Byzantine scholars to Italy, helping to fuel the revival of antiquity's values then taking place in the West. x
  • 20
    Ferdinand and Isabella
    The marriage of the heir to the throne of Aragon to the heir to the throne of Castile sets the stage for one of the most important political events of the late 15th century: the dynastic unification of most of present-day Spain. x
  • 21
    The Spanish Inquisition
    In 1478, Ferdinand and Isabella establish the Spanish Inquisition. It is a reaction to the large number of Jews converting to Christianity in the aftermath of earlier pogroms and doubts about their sincerity, with Spanish Inquisitors likely playing a role in the decision to expel the Jews in 1492. x
  • 22
    The Age of Exploration
    During the 15th century, Portuguese and Spanish explorers begin to venture down the west coast of Africa and farther out into the Atlantic Ocean, reaching places where no European, to anyone's knowledge, had ever been before—with enormous economic consequences to Europe. x
  • 23
    Columbus and the Columbian Exchange
    Christopher Columbus's voyage to the Americas in 1492 marks a turning point not just in European history but in global history. Trading plants, animals, minerals, and diseases between the Americas and Europe quickly changed both continents. x
  • 24
    When Did the Middle Ages End?
    Humanists of the Italian Renaissance came to believe they had brought the Middle Ages to an end, but there are several reasons to dispute that claim, as this closing lecture makes clear. x

Lecture Titles

Clone Content from Your Professor tab

What's Included

What Does Each Format Include?

Video DVD
Instant Video Includes:
  • Download 24 video lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
Instant Audio Includes:
  • Download 24 audio lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE audio streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
DVD Includes:
  • 24 lectures on 4 DVDs
  • 136-page printed course guidebook
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps

What Does The Course Guidebook Include?

Video DVD
Course Guidebook Details:
  • 136-page printed course guidebook
  • Timeline
  • Glossary
  • Biographical notes

Enjoy This Course On-the-Go with Our Mobile Apps!*

  • App store App store iPhone + iPad
  • Google Play Google Play Android Devices
  • Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Tablet + Firephone
*Courses can be streamed from anywhere you have an internet connection. Standard carrier data rates may apply in areas that do not have wifi connections pursuant to your carrier contract.

Your professor

Philip Daileader

About Your Professor

Philip Daileader, Ph.D.
The College of William and Mary
Dr. Philip Daileader is Associate Professor of History at The College of William and Mary. He earned his B.A. in History from Johns Hopkins University and his M.A. and Ph.D. in History from Harvard University. Before taking his position at William and Mary, he taught at the University of Alabama and the State University of New York at New Paltz. Professor Daileader received William and Mary's 2004 Alumni Fellowship Award...
Learn More About This Professor
Also By This Professor

Reviews

Late Middle Ages is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 102.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The "Past" Is Closer Than We Often Think I remember how, when I was a young student, anytime I heard a reference to, or -- even worse -- had to take a course on -- "the Middle Ages," I thought boring! After all, the "good stuff" ended when the Roman Empire fell and didn't pick up again until the Renaissance! Well, the period did have knights and castles, but... So young and so wrong! I appreciate how this engaging professor so clearly demonstrated the threads of continuity running through -- and evolving with -- the 1,000 year period of the Middle Ages that he covers in his three courses. I also found interesting his contention that the Middle Ages did not exactly "end" when many historians have long said they did (at the tumultuous time of the Renaissance and Reformation). Rather, elements of them -- methods of work, viewpoints on the relationship between humankind and a divinity, and on fixed social divisions -- continued on for several more centuries. Indeed, in many ways, we today are a lot less different from those times than I suspect we would like to think. We have our own certitudes about "how the universe works" that, while up to snuff with regards to current scientific knowledge, are in many respects not a lot unlike the commonly accepted beliefs in the Middle Ages about what their own state of knowledge taught them: that the centrality of the earth in the heavens was well established. Just as Galileo and Copernicus rocked that boat, so I suspect is our own little life raft going to be rocked again and again by what future generations of scientists discover. Too, while we can also shudder with horror at the incredibly disastrous waves of the Black Death that so devastated Europe, we are but one step away from an as yet unknown pandemic -- or nuclear warfare induced decades-long global winter -- from suffering similar massive losses of life. And do we dare smile at the rigidities of their religious beliefs, given some of our own time's pronouncements? This course is not only a fascinating review of a truly interesting -- and equally horrifying -- period of history, but it also gives us a chance -- as we listen to these lectures and imagine ourselves, however briefly, as possible residents of those distant centuries -- to gain a fresh perspective on our own times which, as people have always thought before us, are, indeed, truly modern times. History teaches, inspires, and humbles -- and these are all good things. Recommended for questing minds!
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent third course in a series on the middle a I watched this course after watching The Early Middle Ages and the High Middle Ages, taught by Daileader. I think they can each stand nd alone. The instructor presents the material clearly, describes different interpretations of the texts and evidence, and does not barrage the viewer with names and dates. Audio.version would probably be sufficient.
Date published: 2017-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply Wonderful! We have three courses by Professor Daileader - "Early Middle Ages", "High Middle Ages", and "The Late Middle Ages". They are all simply wonderful courses. The Professor is extremely knowledgeable and so obviously enthused about the material. The presentation is very well organized and so logical. Thank you, Professor Daileader! We would recommend this and the other two courses without reservation to anyone.
Date published: 2017-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Late Middle Ages Exceeded expectations and well worth investment. Good finish to the presenters two previous classes, Early Middle Ages and High Middole Ages.
Date published: 2017-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent course! Especially enjoyed comparative analysis of notable historians of the period, and the professor's own compelling analysis.
Date published: 2017-03-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Late Middle Ages Enjoyed this, but the lass could have had more visual features. There are many things that could have easily been shown while the instructor was talking. The instructor was well-informed and selected good topics. Although a few maps and still photos of people were shown, the majority of the videos were based on straight lecture and watching the instructor.
Date published: 2017-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best courses I've found I've listened to or watched several dozen Great Courses and The Late Middle Ages by Professor Daileader is one of the two or three best. The Professor combines both thorough knowledge of the subject matter and an engaging, entertaining style, which is not easy to do. I'm a history buff and have read many books about the Middle Ages, but Prof. Daileader puts the history together in a unified whole and shows how various events affected each other and ultimately produced the modern world. Along the way, I learned about Medieval people that were unknown to me, such as Prester John, the mythical Christian king many Medieval people searched for. I just listened to the last lecture in the series, in which Prof. Daileader discussed when the Middle Ages ended. It ended (in the 17th Century or maybe as late as the early 19th Century) when more and more people began to doubt the existence of the God of traditional religions and questioned whether monarchy was the best form of government. This course is not to be missed.
Date published: 2017-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from How Late is Late? Very Late video download version In this third of Professor Daileader's courses on the Middle Ages, I have not much more to write than I did about the first two courses (Early and High). Dr. Daileader eschews polemics, unlike some of the other Teaching Company lecturers of the same period, spending plenty of time describing the era. I was particularly interested in his evolving narrative that seemed to inexorably move society from the Middle Ages to the Renaissance. The fall of many of the parts of society that defined the Middle Ages, revolts, technical inventions that doomed some segments of the period (gunpowder and the printing press) through to the Catholic monarchs of Spain and the Inquisition to the Age of Exploration and Humanism. It seemed to inevitable. Still, I found his last lecture most interesting, as he posits that the Middle Ages (or at least many of the defining measures of the time) lasted in some places well into what we would consider Modernity. Highly Recommended
Date published: 2016-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from always surprising and enlightening Finally we are given a clear demarkation of the dates and defining characteristics of the Middle Ages. This third part of Professor Daileader's coverage of the Middle Ages surprised me, as did the whole series. First, I am more than pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed these courses. Even Professor Daileader admits to being surprised that there are people out there interested about the middle ages? A big part of my view is that I enjoy the professor's presentation. He is clear, with lots of concise details, and sprinkles professor jokes throughout. Professor jokes are attempts at humor that are cringe inducing, mercifully short, and nonetheless illicit grins. I was surprised at the complex detail about an era that I always thought of as being devoid of interesting history. Second, I had a misconception of the period dates. The professor gives 300 to 1500 as the generally accepted dates, though he argues that one can use as late as 1850 as the point at which a full transition away from the defining characteristics of the era finally culminated. For me starting at 300CE was particularly surprising. In my own mind I had defined the middle ages as starting after the fall of the Roman Empire whereas the professor uses the start of the fall as the beginning. For me, as one long interested in the history of the Romans, starting in 300 greatly enriched the course. " Early Middle Ages" covers the fall of the Roman Empire better than I had been able to find in other courses. The professors discussion of why he believes the ending date may be much later than normally given occurs in this third part and is very interesting. Third, my naive view of the Dark Ages was that after the deterioration of central government, the population fell into illiteracy, religious turmoil, war, famine, pestilence and whatever other bad thing you can think of before gradually rising out of the stupor with the renaissance and enlightenment. A lot of that is true but the causes, effects and chronology are much more complex than that. Professor Daileader brings in technical details like the effects of population growth and decline, perhaps more details about the Black Death than you want to know, and details about the academic nature of the period including the church's central role. Chronologically it was the High Middle Ages, as described in the second course, that cover a period of recovery, of rising population, of developments in the higher educational system, and of improving economic conditions. The late middle ages rather than being purely a period of recovery as I had thought started with severe decline associated with the war, papal tumult and the plague and only later brought in the inventions of paper and the printing press, exploration, and the renaissance. To summarize I do recommend this entire series with a very high recommendation for "The Early Middle Ages".
Date published: 2016-08-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Informative and well presented I'll be briefer than some other reviewers! I bought all three of these courses in audio only format (Early, HIgh, and Late Middle Ages) and found them all very enjoyable.. History is not like a chemical reaction or a mathematical formula. People are not objective in their accounts of contemporary events and records are often misleading. The passage of time may make events easier or more difficult to understand. Different historians may come to different views, especially if they live in different eras from each other. However, what I wanted here was an overview of the broad sweep of the MIddle Ages in Western Europe, at a level that would be interesting in 2016 to an intelligent person who is not a historian. That is what I got. I found the lectures interesting and they filled in some basic ignorance of mine - who was Charlemagne exactly? What was the Holy Roman empire? How come it was still going in relatively modern times? I had absolutely no problem with anything about the course. It may be that some experts might draw different conclusions from the material or that new discoveries have recently changed or will change our ideas in some areas. However, in general I found this course well worth while and I recommend it to anyone who wants a grounding in the subject.
Date published: 2016-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Late and Extended Middle-Ages The Late Middle Ages by Professor Philip Daileder encompasses the conventional historical period 13th – 15th century range of events, developments, and personalities. However, it critically questions the quality and direction of whether the “late” of the medieval world should be significantly “later” by extending the periodization towards a SOCIAL TOTALITY that is more expressive of modernism than of medievalism. If correct, then the centuries: 15th Renaissance Humanism, the 16th Reformation, and the 17th Age of Science were still “primarily rooted” in a MEDIEVAL context (essential aspects: agrarian, hereditary monarchs, nobility warriors, ideals of chivalry, feudal serfdom, scholastic logic, Catholicism, ancient texts, etc.); and the centuries: 18th Enlightenment and French Revolution, and 19th Liberalism and Industrialization are posited as the “essential forces” of MODERNITY (aspects: urbanity, mass democracy, individualism, ideals of the courtier, wage labor, humanist literature, Protestantism, modern philosophy, etc.). This critique significantly extends medieval Europe’s TURNING POINT toward 1750 –1850, well beyond the traditional 15th century of most scholars. The professor invites his listeners to the medieval-modern DEBATES accompanied by the historians: J. Burckhardt (The Civilization of the Renaissance in Italy), J. Huizinga (The Waning of the Middle Ages), and B.Tuchman (A Distant Mirror: The Calamitous 14th Century). These researchers have disagreed over whether medieval Europe is fundamentally DEFINED as a period of growth, decay, or disaster, and whether the periods of the 13th through the 15th centuries accurately DEMARCATE the boundaries of late medieval European civilization. The following sample of historical narratives, personalities, and developments are offered in the course: HISTORICAL EVENTS: the Babylonian Captivity, the Great Papal Schism, the 100 years War, the Black Death, the fall of the Byzantine Empire, rise of the Ottoman Turks, the Spanish Inquisition, Jewish and Muslim expulsions, the Age of Exploration, the Columbian Exchange, the New World etc., are analyzed. MAJOR PERSONALITIES: Ockham, Wycliffe, Hus, Joan of Arc, Boniface VIII, Philip IV, Petrarch, Gutenberg, Christine de Pizan, Erasmus, Ferdinand and Isabella, Columbus, etc., are discussed. GENERAL DEVELOPMENTS: scholasticism, humanism, courtier, military gunpowder, caravel ships, print technology, witch trials, general councils, flagellant movement, heresies, pogroms, etc., are considered. From the combined historical narratives, the contributions of major personalities, and the cultural and technological changes during the 13th – 15th centuries, participants can answer for themselves the questions raised above concerning the quality and range of THE LATE MIDDLE AGES. These lectures complete the professor’s TRILOGY concerning the Early, High, and Late MIDDLE AGES. By participating in these lectures and supplemented with the professor’s course on How the Crusades Changed History, they combine and offer to the mind’s eye – a vast intellectual range of knowledge, the depth of the wisdom of history, and an aesthetic perception of global dimensions -- stimulating the listener’s consciousness, reason, and imagination to another level of awareness. MODERNITY is still very much indebted to yesterday’s medieval European world for its CIVILIZATION and its DISCONTENTS. *** Very Highly Recommended ***
Date published: 2016-03-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Middle Ages in Crisis; a Journey Unfulfilled Philip Daileader's Middle Ages Trilogy had been on my wishlist for over a year, but upon completing Dorsey Armstrong's courses on the Medieval World and the Medieval Mind, I bought this as soon as it was on sale. In total, Daileader's trilogy gives 72 lectures that bring European Civilization form the Late Antiquity Crisis and Transformation to the Dawn of the Renaissance. Part one covered the Dark Ages, a term that both Daileader and Armstrong protest vehemently. Part two was about what most people imagine when they think of the Middle Ages. Part Three introduces us to a world in crisis and transition. The course opens with the French King succeeding where the German Kings failed in challenging Papal Authority. A theme that runs through every subsequent course is a clash between the past and the present. It feels as though this course is building somewhere - and it is. The Renaissance and the Rise of the Modern World. I know this. Daileader knows this. Most readers know this. However, the course comes off all the poorer for not paying off at the end. I must concur with some of the few dark clouds in the review section that have put forward this complaint. Daileader, who spends numerous times explaining at length that the Middle Ages do not end when they are generally regarded to have ended, ends his course where traditional study would have done so. I was sold on the idea of seventy-two lectures bringing us the entire story of the Medieval Age, but it looks as though that will be left unfulfilled. I might have been tempted to give this a pass considering there is already a Renaissance Course, but the reviews of it have made me cringe. I can only hope that this trilogy one day becomes a Quadrilogy, or at the very least we get a second edition of the Renaissance that is more to the standards of the Teaching Company. So, where to go from here? I have harped on enough about Professor Armstrong's Medieval World for that to go now without saying. It is assumed that you would also have listened to the other courses taught by Daileader, but if you haven't already I suggest you do so for some much needed context. The History of England from the Tudors to the Stuarts by Professor Bucholtz brings England from the Medieval Era to the Early Modern, which is something I hope we can get more broadly for the entirety of Europe. Professor Bucholtz's Foundation of Western Civilization II is a broader course for Europe, but is something of a lightning course for the time period in question. Professor Gregory's flawed, but still highly useful, History of Christianity in the Reformation is particularly useful should you want to explore the religious transitions just after this course ended - though you may want to read the reviews first. Overall it was a fun journey. Daileader's trilogy was fascinating and insightful. My complaints tend to be few, but they can seem rather damning. No real focus on the East, and not even a single lecture devoted to Hungary, Bulgaria, Russia, Poland, the Mongols, North Africa, or even Scandinavia apart from one general lecture about the Vikings. I forgive Daileader for this, since he really must be economical about what he can talk about with his lectures. Should each of these courses have been 36 lectures long, then he would have had no excuse. Though that may seem to end this review on a sour note, I actively encourage you to read other reviews. I have given this course a 4 out of 5, but as of this posting this course has a 4.8 out of 80 reviews. 96% of the people who have taken this course have recommended it to you, and I am no different. It is nice to want more, but it would be idiotic to let that spoil a tremendous opportunity.
Date published: 2015-10-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good Overview of Late Middle Ages This course serves as a reliable survey of major events, historical figures and trends that characterize the Late Middle Ages. The lecturer is clearly knowledgeable in his field, but he speaks very haltingly, as if trying to find the right words in between the frequent sighs noted by other reviewers. Given that he rarely fails to look at the notes on his lectern, it's a bit puzzling just why he looks as though he is struggling to frame sentences. As for content, he covers a lot of ground in considerable detail. In particular, his coverage of theologians that predate and influence Protestants ( e.g. Wycliffe and Hus) is excellent. In other areas such as economic, political and cultural structures and institutions he is a very reliable and knowledgeable guide. However, I think there are a few questionable assertions made here and there. One of them is his creative (if slightly odd) claim that the middle ages didn't draw to a close until the late 18th century. The entire last lecture of the series is used to argue this claim. Though the borderlines between historical periods are fuzzier than text book chronologies suggest, I think he goes too far with his own dates. Perhaps we could say that a residue of the Middle Ages was still present until that time-- but I disagree on the Prof's view that the scientific revolution did not mark (in some ways and to some extent) a break from the authority of Christianity. The break from the hegemony of scholastic natural philosophy (i.e. science) defined in terms of deductive Aristotelian logic; the introduction of early modern empiricism (e.g. Bacon, Hobbes, Locke); and the crisis of a Church unable to tolerate Heliocentrism (which was condemned as a heresy) are just a few counter-examples to his claim that early modern science conformed to Medieval Theology. ( Charles Kor's course, The Birth of the Modern Mind covers these and related topics quite well) In the political domain, the move towards liberalism and representative government in the Glorious Revolution of 1688, the Lockean articulation of Natural Rights and the rise of a new middle class involved in the commercial revolution in England and the Dutch Republic are just a few counter-examples that come to mind. But Professor Daileader provokes thought by correctly pointing out that the somewhat standard view of a definitive and rapid break from the middle ages during the Renaisance, or even the period of the early scientific revolution, is often overstated. His reminder that scientists were still largely interested in spiritual and occult matters (e.g. alchemy and astrology) is a welcome antidote to the exaggerated depictions of the scientific revolution as a thoroughly rational and secular movement. More troubling, though, is Daileader's claim that the Spanish Inquisition was not as severe as most historians maintain. He largely misses the point by discussing the logistics and techniques of the Inquisition without saying much about the rationale for the torture and interrogations. In the context of his lecture on the subject, the purpose of the Inquisition was to eradicate all traces of "crypto-Judaism" from Castille by making it a capital offense to be a "Crypto-Jew". Does he consider Jewish members of the audience who have different views on what happened to the Sephardic Jews in Spain after 1492? For a more detailed account of that dark chapter in history I recommend Teoflo Ruiz' excellent course, "The Other 1492." Overall, I learned a lot from the course despite one or two misgivings. I definitely recommend it for anyone who wants to fill in a few blanks in their knowledge of the period. Also recommended: http://www.thegreatcourses.com/courses/birth-of-the-modern-mind-the-intellectual-history-of-the-17th-and-18th-centuries.html and http://www.thegreatcourses.com/courses/other-1492-ferdinand-isabella-and-the-making-of-an-empire.html
Date published: 2015-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enlightening and marvelous. I never dreamed how relevant to modern life the world of 1300-1500 is. He is superb. I especially enjoyed his droll connections between the Middle Ages and our popular culture eg: Ferdinand Magellan and Fidelity Magellan.
Date published: 2015-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First-Rate Scholarship I have reviewed all three of Philip Daileader's course on the Middle Ages, and all of them are excellent. Daileader presents information on the late Middle Ages, and he relates it theories that have been produced by leading historians. He is very well organized, and he has a great dry sense of humor. I wrote more detailed comments on his other two Middle Ages courses.
Date published: 2015-07-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good history course. Instructor does much better on some topics than on others. Seemed to focus on selected areas, and pursued them thoroughly. I think he did not cover some important areas, such as the specific heresies of the 14th Century ( I'm far from knowledgeable on these, however). He could have covered Pope John 22nd in more depth. Sonny
Date published: 2015-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent course I have bought all three of Professor Daileader's 'Middle Ages' courses. He is a passionate and engaging lecturer, who occasionally inserts humour into his presentation. While I bought these courses some years ago, I have just watched them all for the third time. I learn something new each time I watch them.
Date published: 2015-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow!!! This is my third course in Professor Daileader’s trilogy on th middle ages. This one covers the fourteenth and fifteenth centuries – right up to the eruption of the renaissance and the Columbian exchange which will introduce another phase in human development. This period is so packed with pivotal historical events that it was absolutely stunning. The first important process, is the strengthening of the secular French leadership in relation to papal authority, under King Phillip the Fair. This was to indirectly cause the papal schism in which there was more than one pope at a time, one in Avignon and one in Rome, at times even three. A second fascinating topic of that era (lasting more than a hundred years), was the hundred year was between England and France. The war erupted for primarily two reasons: the first was that due to the Norman Conquest of England and the Norman’s accession to the British throne in the 11th century, the British kings came to hold lands in France. These land holdings were in later generations greatly enhanced through marriage alliances and inheritance, primarily through Henry the second’s marriage to Eleanor of Aquitaine in the 12th century. The second reason for the resentment was that since the Norman kings were also French subjects, the British king was in a way the vassal of the French king. This was more a matter of prestige than of any practical importance, but the French kings used it often to yank on the British king’s chains. This came to a head in 1337 when King Edward the 4th refused to pay homage to King Phillip the 6th of France, and thus his French holdings were confiscated. This war, or actually a series of wars and battles with intermittent haphazard diplomatic solutions was to last until 1453. The wars in that era were usually not fought in outright battles, as that was far too dangerous – you may get injured or even killed in battles. Instead, the war was much more about attrition than about anything else. At the beginning, the British would lead harrying assaults through the French countryside, killing peasants, pillaging and burning crops and houses. The French were on the defense. It took French peasant girl from Orleans to change the tides. Joan of Arc by sheer charisma and strength of character managed to convince the French king to allow her to lead an attack on the British army holding siege on the city of Orleans. Miraculously, she was successful. She was later to lead more successful compaigns against the British. She was eventually captured by the British, tried for Heresy and burned at the stake, but from this point on Britain was on the defensive and its countryside was to be harried by French armies. The next fascinating chapter has to do with the Black Death, peaking between 1346 and 1353. This was to change European demography in an extreme way. The actual numbers and percentage of people who died is really hard to calculate, but some learned estimates say that on average between a third and a half of the European population died with some areas with as much as eighty per cent casualty. Obviously this had many far reaching effects. Many strange religious movement sought to understand and remedy the situation. The most well-known is the religious flagellant movement whose members would whip themselves in order to repent for their sins and thus avoid god’s punishment through plague. Another consequence, was that the usual scapegoats – the Jews, were blamed for the plague and many were massacred in well-orchestrated pogroms. Unbelievably, this was going on at the same time as the Hundred Year War was in full swing. The huge drop in population create very strong economic and sociological reactions. The land owning classes were accustomed to renting their lands out in exchange for rent, or for employing serfs. Now that there was a much smaller population, the demand for land decreased, and the price of land dropped. At the same time, the price of labor was on the rise. Although in Britain the price was to be legally checked by parliament, the market dynamics were just too strong and labor prices did in fact rise. It became much easier and cheaper to acquire land, and this led to the diminishing of serfdom. The British Parliament’s legislation created a huge amount of friction with the peasants and this eventually led among other factors to the peasant’s revolt in 1381. The course goes on to cover other pivotal events and processes, but Professor Daileader does not cover them into with the same level of detail as with the prior ones mentioned, simply because it would make the course much too long: the invention of gunpowder, the printing press, fall of the Byzantine empire to the Turks, Columbus’ voyage to America, and the beginning of the Humanistic movement. Each of these would probably merit a full course on its own. Overall this has been a fantastic course, absolutely brimming with content and fascinating insight. Professor Daileader, as I have already come to expect, presented the material in a fascinating manner often seasoning the lectures with much appreciated wit.
Date published: 2014-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brought the late Middle Ages into the present A fantastic series of lectures by Dr. Philip Daileader, a marvelous, engaging and fun lecturer. His interest in the subject is genuine and this aspect certainly comes through. For anyone with even a mild interest or curiosity in the Middle Ages, such as was, at least initially, the case for me, I highy recommend this course of lectures, as well as Dr. Daileader's lectures on the early and high middle ages. My perspective on present day issues has certainly been enriched with background material I was unaware of.
Date published: 2014-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really good Just a great course. Professor Daileader has a real gift for teaching.
Date published: 2014-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent courses. This review holds for all three courses: early, high and middle ages. Dr. Daileader is master of his subject. He makes a complicated subject easy to understand and appreciate. His lectures are thorough yet kept together as a whole. I enjoyed not only his narrative approach but more importantly his comprehensive in-depth analysis: such as his ability to provide mechanisms of history and cause-and-effect perspective. At the end of each lecture, you get the feeling “aha”, “hmm it makes sense” which I believe are the ultimate expressions of learning. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2014-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Continuing a strong series Just finished Late Middle Ages, the third of three courses by Daileader. It is just as good as the other two, which is a high bar indeed. The material is covered in a cumulative, rather than repetitious, manner, with an occasional dash of deadpan humor thrown in. Daileader is especially good at explaining what aspects of the Middle Ages did not end when most historians think the Middle Ages, themselves, did.
Date published: 2014-03-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Late Middle Ages I have listened to and absorbed all three series of Prof. Dailreader's lectures on the Middle Ages, including this one. The content is sound, though understandably superficial given the range of topics covered. I read widely in historical subjects (and appreciate historiography and examining footnote and citation levels of supporting information) and found this series to be most helpful in positioning themes in relationship to one another...and, I am pleased to say, it does not approach history narrowly in political terms, but addresses cultural, economic, theological, and broadly social events as well. While there are several ways in which this information could be organized, the audio course does a good job of providing a structured historical context, and Prof. Dailreader helps the listener to maintain interest by interspersing dynastic events with cultural patterns and interesting historical personalities. The one persistently irritating aspect is the professor's diction. He sighs almost as a rhetorical device (makes it seem as though he is bored with having to present what he is about to say), has a distressingly nasal twang, and lingers over the conjunction "and" so that it comes out "a-a-a-a-nd". The overwhelming impression conveyed by the stylistic peculiarities is that one is listening to Bugs Bunny.
Date published: 2014-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Riveting! Absolutely love this course, and look forward to each segment. Prof. Daileader brings these times to life in a fun, informative manner. A real pleasure to learn history from him.
Date published: 2013-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a strong conclusion to the trilogy this was a good, solid course. in some ways it felt more successful than its two predecessors, perhaps mainly because this time we were dealing with only two centuries and so it was easier to give everything the space it deserved. i appreciated for instance having not one but two lectures on the hundred years’ war. there was also a broader geographical scope, so whereas previous courses felt like they were focused mainly on england and france, in this course we spend notable amounts of time in spain, italy, byzantium, and even bohemia. there was still no attention paid to eastern europe, but given time constraints that can perhaps be understood. many of my minor quibbles with previous courses still stand, such as the professor’s uncritical use of the word “heretic” and the fact that he almost seems to be defending the inquisition. nonetheless these quibbles bothered me less this time around. on the flip side, prof. daileader’s usual strengths were also still very much present: the clarity of organization, the occasional wry humour, and the tendency to present disputed subjects as disputed. i also find his course outlines to be very nicely structured and extremely user-friendly. i did prof. daileader’s three courses on the middle ages in order, and if you have the time and interest this is probably the best way to do it. concepts mentioned briefly here for instance are often developed more fully in earlier courses, and it’s easier to understand the state of affairs in the late middle ages if you also understand what came before. nonetheless i think this course would stand on its own quite well, and the professor certainly doesn’t assume any prior knowledge. in sum, this was a strong and enjoyable conclusion to an excellent three-part introduction to the middle ages.
Date published: 2013-09-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Content, But Professor Needs to Stop Sighing The content of this course is fabulous and for that reason, I highly recommend it. Thorough, well-rounded, and covering a wide range of topics, the lectures in this course are entertaining and informative. My only complaint is the frequency of the sighs which the professor seems obliged to exhale. Every two sentences or so, he sighs yet again. It's very distracting and, quite honestly, irritating. If he could only get over his sighing habit, I'd rate this course a five-star!
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Review of Late Middle Ages This is the third of the series of Medieval history that I completed. I thoroughly enjoyed all 3 series (early, high and late). I felt a little depressed because the series came to an end (like finishing a really good book) but learned a great deal by taking all 3 courses back to back to provide more immediate continuity. Professor Daileader has his topics well laid out, has a great presentation style, always starts out with a review of the last lecture then what he is going to talk about and then at the end what he talked about. That actually helps to pull it together after each lecture. He has a very relaxed but profession style and he obviously loves his subject matter.
Date published: 2013-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Explore themes and individuals w/detail Prof. Daileader doesn't waste a word. He is constantly interesting, has a sense of humor, and yet he provides great detail. I am preparing for an upcoming trip to the British Isles. I have a much better idea of what has come before. He is one of the top three Teaching Company lecturers in my view. The 72-lecture series is very comprehensive and seems like a year-long college course.
Date published: 2013-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truly Excellent This is a great great course. After listening to this course and the two preceding Daileader courses, one can see the roots and early outcroppings of modernity in the Middle Ages. I now see that much is lost if one confines oneself to antiquity and modernity. The lectures on the Hundred Years War (and the rise of the early modern state), the Great Mortality (and the resulting demographic and economic changes in Europe), the proto-Protestants (not the Professor's title) and developments in Iberia are alone worth the price of the course. One can only imagine how long it took to put this course together.
Date published: 2012-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fives across the board. This has been an excellent course on CD. Very interesting, informative, and Prof. Daileader has just the right touch for sprinkling a little humor among the facts. I listened to all three segments, Early, High, and Late Middle ages, and I was surprised to find that I thought the Late period was the most interesting. Lots of good information here, and I suppose it could be called a survey course, but there was plenty of detail. I was previously unaware of the divisions of society of the time into those who work, fight, pray, etc. He even covered some architectural details of the time, letting us know why corner turrets on castles were rounded only after the introduction of gunpowder. All three periods were equally good.
Date published: 2012-11-02
  • y_2019, m_9, d_15, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_91
  • loc_en_US, sid_8296, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 151.02ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Customers Who Bought This Course Also Bought

Buy together as a Set
and
Save Up To $208.00
Choose a Set Format
$70.90
$44.90
$106.90