Masterworks of American Art

Course No. 7158
Professor William Kloss, M.A.
Independent Art Historian
Share This Course
4.9 out of 5
52 Reviews
100% of reviewers would recommend this product
Course No. 7158
Sale
Video Streaming Included Free

Course Overview

A nation's identity is expressed through its art. Great painters capture the essence of a culture's brightest hopes, deepest anxieties, and most profound aspirations. They provide an aesthetic road map to a nation's history, recording the lives of its citizens and reflecting the personality of an entire people.

But all too often, Americans themselves are unfamiliar with the great artistic legacy of their own country. Many of us study the great artists of Europe—Leonardo and Rubens, Degas and Monet—but neglect the remarkable painters of our own national tradition.

And yet the tradition of American art is filled with spectacular masterpieces that raise intriguing questions:

  • How did the founding of this new nation find expression in art?
  • Have our democratic ideals influenced the growth and development of American art?
  • Did artists in this nascent culture follow time-honored aesthetic models, or did they pioneer new styles to communicate their burgeoning sense of national pride?
  • Is there something uniquely "American" about American art?

These are the kinds of questions you explore in Masterworks of American Art. In this sweeping survey, you encounter the brilliant paintings of the homegrown masters who documented the birth of our nation from its colonial roots up to the brink of World War I and the birth of Modernism. As you examine this vital artistic tradition in its historical, cultural, and political contexts, you discover how appreciating the legacy of American art is crucial to fully understanding the story of our great nation.

A New Art for a New Nation

Your guide is Professor William Kloss. A noted scholar and art historian, Professor Kloss has taught more than 100 courses as an independent lecturer for the Smithsonian Institution's seminar and travel program. Through 24 engaging and informative lectures, he shares his deep passion for the art of this nation while offering remarkable insights into the relationship between America's history and its art.

What you discover is a revolution in art. Sometimes borrowing from European models, just as often departing from them, American artists pioneered new attitudes and styles to express the aspirations of a new nation.

Professor Kloss highlights this uniquely American approach to art, examining some of the greatest paintings of the tradition within the larger context of our country's history and culture. The result is a grand survey of the American experience, in which some of the most critical eras of this nation's history are viewed through the lens of great art:

  • The American Revolution: Great artists captured a new spirit of liberty through scenes of war and government. You examine key examples of their revolutionary approach to art, including The Death of General Wolfe, in which Benjamin West pioneered a new vision of democratic leadership by rendering the British general in contemporary dress.
  • The Civil War: You see how this tumultuous period of American history found expression on memorable canvases, such as James Hamilton's symbolic representation of the battered ship of state in Old Ironsides and Winslow Homer's vivid reenactment of skirmishes on the front, Inviting a Shot before Petersburg.
  • The Reconstruction: After the war, painters sought to create an image of the nation reunited, as in George P. A. Healy's portrait of The Peacemakers, while others reflected the readjustments of postwar life, as in Homer's A Visit from the Old Mistress.
  • The Westward Expansion: Great masters such as Albert Bierstadt, in his monumental canvas Valley of the Yosemite, recorded the natural splendors of a nation pushing westward, while Emanuel Gottlieb Leutze's allegorical mural Westward the Course of Empire Takes Its Way embodied the idea of Manifest Destiny.

At the same time, you witness the rise of the great artistic institutions that fostered the development of the nation's arts, such as New York's Metropolitan Museum of Art, Boston's Museum of Fine Arts, and the Philadelphia Museum of Art.

Memorable Masterpieces

Along the way, you sample some of the finest works in the American tradition—memorable masterpieces that rival the great paintings of Europe. These masterworks represent a wide rich array of styles and subjects—from sweeping landscapes to intimate portraits to scenes of everyday life.

With Professor Kloss as your guide, you will appreciate the hallmark innovations and breathtaking artistry of American painting:

  • An emphasis on linearity and weightlessness in the earliest works of the American tradition—qualities that sprang from generations of self-trained artists who cultivated a unique, homegrown aesthetic
  • The remarkably lifelike trompe l'oeil paintings of William Hartnett and Charles Willson Peale, who created painstaking, dazzling reproductions of objects in real life
  • James McNeill Whistler's simple but striking use of shape, line, and a muted color palette, as seen in his famous portrait of his mother
  • The vivid portrayal of physical movement in art, as exemplified in remarkable compositions such as Thomas Eakins's The Biglin Brothers Racing.

With each example, you not only gain a sense of the larger trajectory of the American tradition in painting, but you also develop your appreciation of the artistry represented in each work. With his insightful comments on style, composition, and color, Professor Kloss offers an enlightening guide to appreciating virtually any great work of art.

The American Experience—on the Canvas

With Masterworks of American Art, you view these great works as part of an ever-developing story, in which master artists capture the portrait of a nation as it grows and changes. As you savor Professor Kloss's enlightening commentary, you also enjoy a feast for the eyes, as each painting is shown in rich, full-color reproductions worthy of these great masterpieces.

If you've already studied the great art of Europe, Masterworks of American Art is an essential complement to your studies, and if you're new to the world of painting, this course offers an enlivening introduction to this remarkable body of work.

Join Professor Kloss as he reveals the vital and vibrant tradition of American art, and witness the birth, growth, and development of our great nation as it was painted by some of the greatest artists the world has known.

Hide Full Description
24 lectures
 |  Average 30 minutes each
  • 1
    Art in the New World
    From its earliest days, the United States has been home to talented, often self-trained artists. In this first lecture, you preview the signature themes, modes, and styles employed by these homegrown geniuses and begin your trip through American art with some of the earliest examples of art of the colonial period. x
  • 2
    18th-Century Colonial Art
    Continue our survey of art produced during the colonial period with a close examination of some of the great portraits by such talented painters as John Smibert, Robert Feke, and Joseph Blackburn. You see how portraiture reflected not only the character of its sitters, but also had much to say about this burgeoning society, its practices, and its values. x
  • 3
    The Genius of Copley and C. W. Peale
    This lecture examines the fascinating interplay between American and British schools of art during the second half of the 18th century, beginning with detailed, realistic portraits by John Singleton Copley and concluding with two highly symbolic portraits by Charles Willson Peale. x
  • 4
    A Revolution in Art
    Trace the development of history painting from its roots in classical subject matter to its role in military commemoration, starting with Benjamin West, whose unprecedented use of contemporary subjects created a sensation and revolutionized the genre. This consideration also includes the work of two artists—Charles Willson Peale and John Trumbull—Revolutionary War veterans who applied their talents to recording the birth of the nation. x
  • 5
    Portraiture in Federal America
    From Gilbert Stuart's famous "Lansdowne" portrait of George Washington to the witty, skillful Staircase Group by Charles Willson Peale, the art of portraiture flourished during the early days of the American Republic. Throughout, these masterworks showcase the ability of these great painters to capture the intelligence, dignity, and character of the founding generation. x
  • 6
    Early Historical and Landscape Painting
    Historical subjects continued to have a hold on American painters, but many painters turned their skills to the project of documenting the beauties of the new country through landscape painting. Examine both genres and see how painters who traveled abroad incorporated the influence of Romanticism and Neoclassicism. x
  • 7
    The 1820s—Art in the Era of Good Feelings
    Following the tumultuous Revolutionary era, the country experienced a period of relative peace, which was echoed in the flourishing of still-life painting. Here, you examine examples from the masterful still-life painter Raphaelle Peale, as well as the historical portraits that commemorated the nation's first citizens. x
  • 8
    Thomas Cole and the American Landscape
    At the age of 25, with only a year of formal training, painter Thomas Cole became a founding member of the National Academy of Design. In this lecture, you explore the early works of Cole, the first great American landscape painter, including his The Subsiding of the Waters of the Deluge and Distant View of Niagara Falls, and examine how his innovative series, The Course of Empire, reveals a surprisingly pessimistic perspective on the fate of civilization. x
  • 9
    Thomas Cole—The Late Years
    You look at some of Cole's later paintings, which ranged from depictions of distinctly American subjects to works that reflected his time in Europe. The lecture concludes with a consideration of his unfinished religious cycle, The Cross and the World. x
  • 10
    Other Views, Other Visions
    Cole's legacy continued in the works of his peer, Asher B. Durand, who added his own Transcendentalist sensibilities and commitment to nature to the landscape art pioneered by Cole. This lecture also considers the work of Cole's student, Frederic Edwin Church, who contributed a new and daring perspective on the natural wonder of Niagara, and the luminous landscapes of Fitz Henry Lane. x
  • 11
    American Genre Painting
    In genre painting, the artist acts as storyteller, capturing implied narratives in scenes from everyday life. Here, you sample some masterful examples of this mode, and see how literature, landscape, and history painting interact on the canvas. x
  • 12
    Native Americans and Westward Expansion
    Next, turn your attention to the frontier and the depiction of Native Americans produced by some of the period's greatest painters, including Charles Bird King, George Catlin, and William Ranney. You see how these images combined a sympathy for the native people with a faith in the idea of Manifest Destiny. x
  • 13
    The Civil War in Art
    As the Civil War approached, artists turned to landscape painting and symbolic representations to interpret the rising conflict. You survey a range of these images, from the quiet, reassuring paintings of George Henry Durrie and John Frederick Kensett to Winslow Homer's detailed and startling images from the front. x
  • 14
    The Glow of Peace
    At the end of the war, artists expressed a new hope, as seen in glowing images of peace and harvest captured by Winslow Homer and George Inness. The evocations of a "New Eden" are seen in the majestic western landscapes of Albert Bierstadt and George P. A. Healy's bittersweet evocation of the move from war to peace. x
  • 15
    Art—The Mirror of Social Change
    The paintings of Winslow Homer and others provide a remarkable perspective on the striking social changes after the Civil War, including shifts in gender roles, professions, national identity, and race relations. You also look at the cult of childhood that surfaced, as portrayed in Eastman Johnson's Barn Swallows. x
  • 16
    1876–1893—The Civic Revival of the Nation
    The period 1876–1893 witnessed an increasing devotion to artistic endeavors as American cultural life began to emulate European models. Paintings reflected this greater interest in the arts, including images inspired by opera and literature. x
  • 17
    1885–1900—Contrasts of Dark and Light
    You examine the striking dichotomy between light and dark through the dark, quiet tableaus of William Harnett and John F. Peto, with their beautiful trompe l'oeil illusions, and the vibrant paintings of plein air artists such as William Merritt Chase and Childe Hassam. x
  • 18
    Americans Abroad—Expatriate Painters
    In their search for the finest American artists, the organizers of the 1893 World's Columbian Exposition considered painters living in American cities as well as those in Europe. This lecture examines three famous American artists who, despite their expatriate status, are among America's greatest talents: James McNeill Whistler, Mary Cassatt, and John Singer Sargent. x
  • 19
    Thomas Eakins—Innovation and Rejection
    This lecture initiates a three-part consideration of one of the greatest and most controversial of American artists, Thomas Eakins. In this first lecture, you examine his early works, including his series of paintings of rowers and his masterpiece, The Gross Clinic. x
  • 20
    Thomas Eakins—Success and Scandal
    Eakins' interest in verisimilitude can be seen in some of his virtuoso representations of the human form based on his careful observations of the body in motion. This interest ultimately led to his downfall, as his studies of and professional fixation on the nude human body elicited outrage and led to scandal. x
  • 21
    The Last Years—"And Who Is Eakins?"
    This final lecture on Thomas Eakins examines the artist's later works, including his remarkable images of boxing scenes and his haunting portraits of women that seem to reflect the artist's own increasing sense of isolation and disappointment. x
  • 22
    Winslow Homer in England and New England
    Here, you return to the works of Winslow Homer, You start by viewing some of his powerful paintings of seascapes and nature scenes that reflect his time spent in England and New England. You also begin to explore Homer's remarkable sympathy for animals, as seen in his remarkable hunting scenes. x
  • 23
    Winslow Homer—The Last Years
    By his mid-50s, Homer was not so much a recluse as a man deeply immersed in the natural world—in the wilderness, the tropics, and the sea. You explore how he rendered these settings in some of his greatest paintings, including Fox Hunt and The Gulf Stream. x
  • 24
    Ourselves and Our Posterity
    In this final lecture, you take a fresh look at the trajectory of American art and reconsider some of these great paintings within the broader context of our rich artistic legacy, a legacy that endures and continues to inspire American artists to interpret our world. x

Lecture Titles

Clone Content from Your Professor tab

What's Included

What Does Each Format Include?

Video DVD
Instant Video Includes:
  • Download 24 video lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
DVD Includes:
  • 24 lectures on 4 DVDs
  • 168-page printed course guidebook
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps

What Does The Course Guidebook Include?

Video DVD
Course Guidebook Details:
  • 168-page printed course guidebook
  • Suggested readings
  • Questions to consider
  • Timeline

Enjoy This Course On-the-Go with Our Mobile Apps!*

  • App store App store iPhone + iPad
  • Google Play Google Play Android Devices
  • Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Tablet + Firephone
*Courses can be streamed from anywhere you have an internet connection. Standard carrier data rates may apply in areas that do not have wifi connections pursuant to your carrier contract.

Your professor

William Kloss

About Your Professor

William Kloss, M.A.
Independent Art Historian
Professor William Kloss is an independent art historian and scholar who lectures and writes about a wide range of European and American art. He was educated at Oberlin College, where he earned a B.A. in English and an M.A. in Art History. He continued his postgraduate work on a teaching fellowship at the University of Michigan and was then awarded a Fulbright Fellowship for two years of study in Rome. As Assistant Professor...
Learn More About This Professor
Also By This Professor

Reviews

Masterworks of American Art is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 52.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I RATED THIS "POOR" BECAUSE I HAVEN'T REC'D IT YET I ORDERED THIS AND AN E-COURSE FOR MY GRANDDAUGHTER. BOTH WERE CHARGED TO MY CREDIT CARD, BUT NEVER SENT TOMORROW MY GRANDDAUGHTER HAS A TEST ON THE NIGHT SKY IN HER ASTRONOMY COURSE, AND CERTAINLY COULD HAVE USED "OUR NIGHT SKY"
Date published: 2017-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Marvelous introduction to American art This lecturer conveys his well-founded enthusiasm for American art as he surveys American artists from early colonial days until the beginning of the 20th Century. The lectures place developments in American art in their historical context.
Date published: 2017-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Still viewing the product will study for a while. So far, I am happy with the product. still reviewing,
Date published: 2017-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Passionate Professor I enjoyed this course as I have all of the others in the Art History series. Professor Kloss' passion for art history is infectious.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hidden Art I bought this course because my hobby is painting and I was searching for another perspective. I sure was not disappointed. where was this collection hiding . Really great paintings combined with comprehensive historical facts about the subjects and the painters. There's really two courses here, biography's of the artists and a history of the subjects and their importance in American History. Although the Professor's presentation is a little dry the content will fascinate you.
Date published: 2017-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Could use some updating Not the best quality images, however, the lectures are very informative. Great Courses should consider adding some higher resolution images to the package, especially considering this is mainly a visual experience.
Date published: 2016-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have had many art histories at several major universities given by many different lecturers and all the lectures by Professor Willian Kloss are by far the most informative and enjoyable I have ever attended. I have all of his lectures and hope he will do more.
Date published: 2016-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent course Dr. Kloss is always an excellent presenter and teacher and this course is not an exception. I have taken all his art courses and am amazed at his ability to convey art and art appreciation concepts to those who may be taking a first course in art. He is clear, concise and very insightful. The course is well put together and looks at only the early part of Amercian art, but it certainly makes one want to go east to view these masterpieces in person in the various museums he mentioned. Hopefully TGC will produce a modern art class some time in the future as that is a fertile area to investigate and learn.
Date published: 2015-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT A perfect course. I highly recommend any course taught by Professor Kloss. I enjoy his teaching style very much. I learned so much about art and style and history and the artists themselves, it was very informative. I will be investing in more courses by Professor Kloss as soon as I can afford them. Every day I look forward to the time when I can watch my course discs. I am very happy with this purchase. -K
Date published: 2015-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Wonderful Introduction to the Great Courses! My first review: The twelve hours literally flew by. And it was time well spent. Thanks to Prof. Kloss, I now have a personal top 10 list of my favorite American paintings. Artists I had never heard of were revealed through this fantastic course. Prof. Kloss repeatedly demonstrated his appreciation and passion for the paintings, the artists, and the underlying stories of how art developed in America. Well done, Prof. Kloss! I'm looking forward to future visits to Boston, New York and Washington D.C. to see some of our rich art heritage.
Date published: 2014-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Outstanding Course by Prof. Kloss Because my knowledge of early American art and artists was negligible, I was a little apprehensive about ordering the course, but since it was taught by my favorite professor and had such great reviews, I decided to go ahead. Well, the great reviews were well-earned and Professor Kloss did his usual superb job. Just as he did with the Dutch Masters course, Professor Kloss has given me an appreciation and excitement about paintings and artists that I had previously (and stupidly) either ignored or dismissed. My first stop at the next museum visit will be the American collection. An engaging and enjoyable experience!
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Wonderful Tour of American Art This is my second course from Dr. Kloss, and I find him again engaging and reply engaged in his topic. My only complaint is that the course doesn't go beyond the first World War; I would love to hear his interpretation of later 20th-century American art. Kloss is a little formal but unashamedly in love with his topic, and his lectures have brought out details—even in paintings I've seen many times before—that I had never noticed. This is a thoroughly enjoyable, immersive, and edifying experience.
Date published: 2013-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Experience ~ Highly-recommended Highly-recommended course! Professor Kloss presents a very fine "survey" of American painting ~ up to 1910. The cut-off date is a cause of concern for some reviewers, but I found it quite acceptable. The lecturer's explanations and stories are very informative and even fascinating at times. I felt fully absorbed by every lecture, always looking forward to the next. The graphics are superb, providing us with full views and details of the art. This course is a real winner ~ essential for anyone interested in art history of the United States. Well done!
Date published: 2013-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the 2nd course by Prof. Kloss that I have bought, and I recommend it highly. I think he is one of the best Great Courses lecturers, This is a great overview course with many good illustrations. Unfortunately, it stops at the WWI era.
Date published: 2013-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Wonderful Experience This is approximately my sixth Great Course, and my first one on art history. Every lecturer I have had excels in different areas. This professor's strength was in his calm,gracious, unhurried, refined manner (beginning each lecture with either "Good Morning" or "Good Afternoon" and a slight bow) that seemed to match the subject matter. I found him utterly charming and a throwback to a more polite age. In each lecture, he shows and discusses a number of paintings. The camera moves in and out to show detail, and the reproduction quality seems very good. In spite of his calmness, the lecturer was good at setting up drama as he prepared you to see the next painting. Many times I gasped outloud when the painting first appeared on the screen, stunned by its beauty or drama. Most of the paintings were new to me. I will never look at American art in the same way again. I used to avoid the American art sections of art museums and head right for the European art, but that will be reversed now. If the course has a weakness, it is that he does not provide you with much of an intellectual framework for understanding American art as a whole, although he tries in the final lecture. However, I still give the course five stars because of what I got out of it. I may not be able to explain to you what makes American art distinctive, but I have a huge appetite now for looking at and learning more about American art, esp. that of the time period this course covers, which is about 1650 to 1910.
Date published: 2013-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Experience It was a pleasurable journey into previously unfamiliar to me subject. After first few lectures and beginning with 19th century, I came to appreciate great masters like Winslow Homer little known in Europe as well as Dr. Kloss' reserved, insightful and refined manner of presentation. I also learned great deal of American history along the way. Great experience.
Date published: 2013-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Luminous Journey American history has been my life-long passion, even though I have not taught it at the college level for some time. While I have been "aware" of American art because of my studies, I have never given it the attention it clearly deserves. I too quickly dismissed colonial era art, for example, as "flat" or "simple," when in fact it is often neither. And, while I have always loved landscape painting, I allowed my untrained eyes to too quickly pass over those paintings' surfaces, failing to "drink in" all of the riches -- real and suggested -- that they presented. Thanks to Professor Kloss' exciting and visually sumptuous course, I am now aware of what I have overlooked all these years. Amazing how often I have "looked" but just not "seen!" Dr. Kloss has the wonderful ability to explain to persons relatively unfamiliar with art intriguing details of the times and experiences of each artist, as well as explaining selected artists' representative works and those characteristics which make them noteworthy. Because of this course, I find that I look through the viewfinder of my camera with a different eye, aware of nuances of groupings of light and shadow, and of the intriguing presence of line and diagonal slopes, of which I was unaware before. There is not a single dull -- or difficult to follow -- moment in this luminous course. Professor Kloss is an absolutely charming, pleasant, and accessible teacher whose presence in my home, now that I have finished the course, I will miss. I am very grateful that I had the sense to purchase this course. Wonderful, wonderful!
Date published: 2012-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best! After completing this course, I realized that I did not know much about American art and I really appreciated what I learned in this course. Dr. Kloss is a master of his subject and of teaching. He ignited my interest in American art and I appreciated his inclusion of the historical context of the selected works and information about the artists' lives. I'm anxiously awaiting another course by Dr. Kloss that covers American Art from WWII to the present. I'm especially looking forward to seeing more works from female artists. Every section of this course is excellent and has inspired me to research the various artists that were discussed. I thoroughly enjoyed Dr. Kloss' presentation. Don't miss this wonderful experience!
Date published: 2011-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our National Treasures This course is a splendid visual treat, enhanced with a wealth of fascinating personal and historical background. Every artist and work is placed in the context of our American experience. I had first watched this course some time ago, and on a second viewing was even more satisfied and impressed. Masterworks covers American art from our colonial period roughly through the nineteenth century (stopping there for reasons Mr. Kloss explains). Each lecture held my attention throughout. Mr. Kloss' delivery is pleasantly articulate, often eloquent. His quiet, personable manner draws you in, not condescending or pretentious but helpfully informative, especially to those of us who appreciate and enjoy art but lack artistic sophistication or background. Mr. Kloss gives us given ample time to observe the paintings while he draws our eye to each nuance - quite an educator! I'm sure I'll watch American Masterworks again. It is as close to sublime (there's an term of art for you) as any Great Course I've taken. I recommend it highly.
Date published: 2011-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rich, Informative, and Entertaining! Prof. Kloss is masterful in his rich, detailed, interesting descriptions of American paintings and painters from colonial times up to the World War I era. I thought he was good in a previous teaching company course I purchased (history of European Art), and good enough to purchase another of his courses, but he was even better in this course. I felt he has a deep passion for American art and it energized and shone through in this series of lectures. He describes each painting not only for its content and technique, including composition, use of light, and historical allusions, but also relates the works to the artist's personal history and circumstances, and to the cultural and historical context as well. He also comes through time and again with a dry, impish sense of humor. Prof. Kloss has encyclopedic knowledge of his subject matter but manages to avoid coming across as pedantic or overly intellectual. I would recommend this course to everyone who wants to better understand, appreciate, and enjoy American art. One criticism - and this is no doubt the fault of the Teaching Company and not Prof. Kloss - the featured painting that this website uses to sell the course - Emmanuel Leutze's iconic "Washington Crossing the Delaware" - is nowhere mentioned in the course itself!! Well, this is probably a flaw in Kloss' choice of paintings as well. I was very interested in learning more about this painting, and I was a bit disappointed not to see it discussed in this course (Kloss does briefly show and discuss a different painting by Leutze, however).
Date published: 2011-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Delicious Blend of Art and History This is a lovely course. Professor Kloss has selected a wonderful potpourri of American art, and explains each work in the context of national developments and the literary and cultural trends of the time. Prof. Kloss gives wonderful details about each artist's life; he provides just enough critical commentary on the paintings themselves to help us appreciate and enjoy them - but also invites us to develop our own opinions and observations. Besides being the expert he obviously is, Kloss comes across as a warm, senstive man - an almost courtly gentleman who loves American art, and wants us to love it too. As with most of the Teaching Company's instructors, letting this teacher into your home is like welcoming a very nice, smart stranger who enriches your life for all too short a time - when he leaves you're sad and wish he would return.
Date published: 2011-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kloss continues to delight, w/ a small caveat Professor Kloss' courses, to me, are the very best that TTC offers. I recommend them to anyone who has or wants an interest in art. But perhaps it isn't for you. If you dislike an academic approach or subjective descriptions of art, it may not be. Some viewers have described him as "stuffy." Personally, I do not find that to be so; instead he is one of the warmest professor's TTC has, but I can imagine that some viewers would not see it this way. I did have one personal disappointment with this course. It stops at WW I. I had hoped to see Jackson Pollock's or Hans Hoffman's works covered. But this did not dampen my enjoyment of what *was* offered. Here I have made an effort to describe what you *might* not like about the course. Honestly, it was an effort to come up with good reasons not to like it. Kloss' courses are the five-starriest courses in TTC's course catalog.
Date published: 2011-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comprehensive course! I am a museum tour guide and focus on this period of American art. I found this to be an excellent course to cover the artists and significant works of this early period of American art. This presentation paralleled the class I attended at the museum and covered artists, pieces and history that are not as well represented in our collection. It is great to have it recorded for future reviews.
Date published: 2011-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Masterworks of American Art I continue to be enthralled by the art courses taught by William Kloss. His deep understanding and passion for art and life are truly a joy to witness. I've watched this course three times -- and probably will do so again. I get more out of it each time. Would love to see a course by him in genre paintings of many lands.
Date published: 2011-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AN IMPORTANT GAP FILLED As with all his lectures, Professor Kloss makes this survey interesting, educational, entertaining and enlighting. What makes him such a joy to watch on the DVD's is his enthusiasm for the subject. For some reason, American art has been something of a stepchild to art scholars. The Teaching Company is to be commended for presenting this sorely needed series of lectures. They would be useful to art teachers, art students, anyone interested in art as well as those who are just drawn to what is beautiful and gives immense pleasure.
Date published: 2010-09-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Much Needed Course Fills in the Missing Gap William Kloss has further cemented his reputation as one of the top art history professors, as well as any professor in general, within the Teaching Company's repertoire, with his latest course on Masterworks of American Art. One should not underestimate the subtleties being discussed in these lectures. Indeed, one may think that dwelling on the abstractions and details that William seems so fond of, may be missing some overall point. Yet every effort to follow him point out the nuances in these artworks, will be brought to a relevant conclusion in the end. So your effort in following his orchestration, so to speak, will be well worth it. This is especially true if you are able to go to the museums that display the paintings in these lectures. Living in Washington DC, I certainly have done so, and my visits are increasingly more rewarding. Of course, if this isn't possible, that shouldn't stop you from watching the course. William always includes enough historical information to make the artworks appealing, regardless if they can be seen in person, or whether you know much about the art of painting itself. This course was much-need, as it fills in a big gap from the lack of Fine Arts courses on devoted to American art. We can only hope for many more such courses from him in the future.
Date published: 2010-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! Very interesting course. The professor was thorough, and obviously loved his subject. Highly recommended!.
Date published: 2010-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! I so enjoyed Professor Kloss's course on American Art. Being able to relate the art to its historical context made it so much more enjoyable for me. He left me wanting more! I have an awareness of a subject which I knew nothing about...and will continue to appreciate as I visit museums here and abroad. Professor Kloss, is there a lecture in the making for Modern American Art?
Date published: 2010-02-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from High Marks, with Caveats I join with all the other reviewers in praising Professor Kloss and this course. But I cannot do so without criticism. The course is indeed splendid. Professor Kloss understands the art with great depth, and he does a magnificent job of discussing it in its historical context. Thus, a student of American history gets the bonus of learning about the art and the painters within their times and the arc of the development of the American story. Further, the professor does fabulous work in dissecting each painting to reveal fascinating insights into the structure, the content, the meaning, and other important features of the art. I found myself looking forward with anticipation to his take on the major paintings he discussed. Yet, the course is not without flaws. The focus on history and the painters themselves prevents the professor from giving enough attention to changes in the development of art itself. The transition from realism to the more abstract styles of impressionism and expressionism gets lost in the discussion. For me, it would have been interesting to hear Kloss more on this subject. I understand his decision to cut off the course with the end of the 19th century, but I think he should have paid more attention to where art was headed at the end of the period he covered. Further, I believe the course would have had more value for me if the professor had spent more time on the transition to the 20th century with artists such as Inness and less time surveying quite as many minor artists in earlier periods. This greater focus on aesthetic matters and the developments and transitions would, in my opinion, have made a very good course an excellent course. Still, I strongly recommend this course.
Date published: 2009-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Timely release Compared with European art and old masters, American art is relatively underappreciated, particularly outside of America. Hopefully, this course will help to change that. It is particularly timely, as many museums are expanding their American collections or building new wings for such art, such as the Metropolitan museum, Boston MFA, Smithsonian museum of American art, Cleveland Museum of art, Detroit institute of arts, Huntington Library, and the Nelson Atkins museum, just to name a few. American art is ripe for new research and discoveries, and a superb exhibition of American art at the Met and LACMA in 2009-2010 is just one example. Professor Kloss is at the top of his game, and explores the topic thoroughly and with appropriate pauses and emotion. He places particular emphasis on Thomas Eakins, which alone makes the course worthwhile. After listening to his lectures, you will be better prepared to visit the American art in NYC, Boston, D.C., Philadelphia, and many others.
Date published: 2009-11-27
  • y_2019, m_9, d_18, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_47
  • loc_en_US, sid_7158, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 93.23ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Customers Who Bought This Course Also Bought

Buy together as a Set
and
Save Up To $15.00
Choose a Set Format
$124.90