Medical School for Everyone: Grand Rounds Cases

Course No. 1977
Professor Roy Benaroch, M.D.
Emory University
Share This Course
4.9 out of 5
98 Reviews
97% of reviewers would recommend this product
Course No. 1977
Sale
Streaming Included Free

Course Overview

When you’re sick, you go to a doctor to figure out what’s wrong. But how doctors work isn’t some impenetrable mystery. Rather, there’s an art and science that goes into how they diagnose and treat patients.

Where do doctors gain these skills? The answer: the Grand Rounds experience, an essential part of medical students’ education and the ongoing process whereby doctors practice how to make diagnoses by examining real patients. Watching doctors solve medical problems like detectives is a fascinating way to explore medicine. And by understanding how doctors help patients, you’ll

  • make better sense of future visits to your doctor;
  • improve the way you communicate with your doctor;
  • get a rewarding introduction to how doctors think and work; and
  • witness critical thinking skills at work in the medical world.

With The Great Courses, you don’t have to soldier through medical school to learn how doctors diagnose and treat patients. All you need is Medical School for Everyone: Grand Rounds Cases, in which Dr. Roy Benaroch, a practicing physician and an adjunct assistant professor of pediatrics at the Emory University School of Medicine, guides you through 24 unique Grand Rounds that reveal insights into how doctors do what they do. Whether you’re a patient, a current or future medical professional, or someone just looking to enjoy a good mystery, you’ll discover how doctors

  • use medical science to identify and combat conditions, injuries, and diseases;
  • uncover tiny clues patients can sometimes fail to notice;
  • sometimes make misdiagnoses that lead to costly (and life-threatening) problems; and
  • think their way toward putting patients on the fast track to proper treatment.

Investigate Intriguing Medical Mysteries

Each lecture is a specific Grand Rounds in which you’re presented with a perplexing problem and then follow an expert as he takes the necessary steps to figure out the underlying issue and how best to treat it. Among the insights you’ll learn are

  • what specific questions doctors ask—and why;
  • what doctors look for during physical exams or when examining test results; and
  • how doctors use a network of information to narrow down a diagnosis.

Drawn from actual medical stories, these 24 Grand Rounds take you everywhere from the calm of a doctor’s office to the chaos of an emergency room.

  • A 33-year-old man has a fever he can’t get rid of and mouth sores. Yet he was perfectly healthy two months ago. How does a doctor go from this to discovering one of today’s most notorious diseases?
  • A member of an Antarctic expedition, suffering from constant nausea, needs emergency surgery. But he’s the only person who can perform it. Why is this nausea so life threatening?
  • You’re the only eyewitness to a horrible motorcycle accident. How does one treat a trauma patient when every second matters? And what happens after you get to the emergency room?

These and other individuals offer intimate ways for you to practice the same strategic thinking and decision-making skills doctors rely on to save lives.

Become a Smarter, Healthier Patient

In the hands of Dr. Benaroch, you’ll get a rewarding learning experience that illustrates his knowledge of medicine and, above all, his ability to transform medical cases into thrilling adventures that will have you thoroughly captivated.

Because Dr. Benaroch can teach off the strengths of his roles as a full-time practicing physician and instructor of pediatrics, you’ll gain medical knowledge in layman’s terms that can be easily understood by the average patient. Couple that with in-studio demonstrations, diagrams of the human body, and other informative visual elements, and you’ve got an exciting new way to think about medicine—and to become the smarter, healthier patient you deserve to be.

About Your Professor

Dr. Roy Benaroch is Adjunct Assistant Professor of Pediatrics at the Emory University School of Medicine and practices medicine full time at Pediatric Physicians, PC, located near Atlanta, Georgia. He earned his M.D. from Emory University.

Hide Full Description
24 lectures
 |  Average 30 minutes each
  • 1
    I Never Feel Good
    Start your rounds with a trip to a general clinic, where you meet a patient whose chief complaint is, “I never feel good.” Along the way, you’ll learn how doctors solve mysteries like this with the aid of several tools—the most important being the patient’s medical history. x
  • 2
    A Persistent Fever
    Go back to an outpatient clinic in 1981, where a young man’s fever, cough, and ulcers led to a surprising diagnosis. This powerful lecture is an opportunity to learn more of the basic tools of medical diagnoses and to discover how doctors began to fight back against this modern epidemic. x
  • 3
    Puzzling Pain
    Learn how critical a complete medical history, a thorough physical exam, and collaboration between doctors can be to make a tricky diagnosis. Your patient: “Louisa,” a woman who has suffered from abdominal pain for years. Does she have irritable bowel syndrome? Is it all just psychological? Or is it something else entirely? x
  • 4
    Just Look at Me
    This lecture’s case involves an illness that’s been around for millennia but which many of today’s physicians have never seen. It involves a 10-year-old boy suffering from a rash that doesn’t bother him, red-appearing eyes, and a cough. And the true culprit is one that could easily have been prevented. x
  • 5
    Headaches in Wonderland
    Your patient is back in the emergency room with another “sinus headache,” but the nurses think he’s just after drugs. What’s the real story? In finding out, you’ll learn how physicians diagnose headaches; the differences between primary and secondary headaches; red flags doctors look for when determining their severity; and more. x
  • 6
    The Tennis Player
    Discover how doctors diagnose a common disease that can kill a healthy 36-year-old woman in months but, in a 90-year-old, may not need to be treated at all. Through the case of a woman with increasing hip pain, you’ll learn more about the genetics of this disease, ways to test for it, and more. x
  • 7
    Sudden Collapse
    You’re at the grocery and the person next to you suddenly collapses. What do you do? Here, learn how doctors (and laypeople) can use basic lifesaving steps to deal with a sudden catastrophe. Also, explore the methods physicians use to prevent health emergencies before they happen. x
  • 8
    School Failure
    Meet a surly young man who could just be your typical teenager—or who could be suffering from an illness that’s a severe threat to young adults. His story is a fascinating window into how doctors sort through myriad symptoms to diagnose and alleviate a highly prevalent—and all too serious—medical problem. x
  • 9
    Dizzy Attacks
    Tina suffers from attacks of dizziness and is certain she has hypoglycemia, but doctors should never fall into the mental trap of starting a diagnosis with a false assumption. In this intriguing lecture, Dr. Benaroch shows you how physicians make expert diagnoses when one specific test isn’t available. x
  • 10
    Weight Loss
    Charlene has come into your office for a checkup and it is clear that she’s lost a significant amount of weight. Follow along as Dr. Benaroch uses his medical savvy to make a diagnosis, reveal insights into what the real problem is, and establish a course of treatment that goes far beyond just taking pills. x
  • 11
    I Can’t Walk
    Discover how a young man’s painful calves lead to a surprising diagnosis. As you’ll learn, sometimes even the most uncommon of complaints can signify the presence of a fairly common illness. You’ll also discover why you should never underestimate the seriousness of this particular diagnosis. x
  • 12
    Learning from Failure
    Sometimes doctors make mistakes. As Dr. Benaroch guides you through the diagnosis of a patient with a case of recurrent hives, he reveals several powerful lessons for both doctors and patients. These include insisting on clear instructions and remembering that treating the disease is not the same as treating the patient. x
  • 13
    The Children Who Come and Go
    The case here - a weak and listless baby - offers an illuminating window into how doctors treat sick infants diagnosed with this mystery condition (which has powerful roots in our genetic code). You’ll learn how genes encode for proteins; the psychopathology of diseases caused by genetic structural changes; and more. x
  • 14
    Guardian’s Day
    How does a doctor get from the common complaint of constipation to a diagnosis of something much more dangerous? In solving this medical riddle, you’ll learn about a particular medical epidemic so powerful and prevalent that, in one county in Kentucky, it’s deprived many children of their parents. x
  • 15
    Dickens’s Diagnosis
    At 55 years of age and quite overweight, Joe falls asleep all the time. Is it narcolepsy? Is it kidney disease? The real culprit, you’ll discover, is a condition originally described by author Charles Dickens; one whose effects are more wide-ranging (and life-threatening) on the human body than you can imagine. x
  • 16
    Shaking Sammi
    Meet Sammi, an infant girl who’s brought to the emergency room and suddenly starts shaking right on the examining table. How do doctors act to both help her and diagnose her as the attack happens? And what are the mysterious connections between the underlying diagnosis and a critical deficiency? x
  • 17
    Hickam’s Dictum
    Sometimes, a single patient can have more than one disease (a medical “philosophy” called Hickam’s Dictum). This idea is illustrated by a middle-aged woman who can’t stop vomiting. The road to determining her interconnected diagnoses is a harrowing story that illustrates why doctors always need to stay on their toes. x
  • 18
    Forgetting Jerusalem
    Explore from two perspectives the case of a patient with a mysterious illness. First, see how doctors diagnose his condition and work with the patient to prevent a medical emergency so old it’s mentioned in the Bible. Then, find out what happens in the worst-case scenario, where time is of the essence in saving a life. x
  • 19
    Sherlock’s Investigation
    Step inside a university’s student health center, where your patient, Elena, makes repeated visits complaining of nausea, then vision troubles, then a urinary tract infection. What’s going on here? Investigate how seasoned doctors act like Sherlock Holmes to arrive at a diagnosis of a disease that predominantly affects young adults. x
  • 20
    The Boy Who Doesn’t Speak
    This lecture’s diagnosis is surrounded by controversy about what causes this specific illness, how it should be treated, and even how common it is. In exploring how doctors approach it, you’ll learn insights into childhood development; specifically, how to know when something may be wrong and what tests can help narrow down a cause. x
  • 21
    Antarctic Adventure
    You’re on an expedition in Antarctica. You’re diagnosed with a problem that requires immediate emergency surgery, and there’s only one person who can perform it: you. Use this real-life scenario from the Soviet Union’s Sixth Antarctic Expedition in 1961 as an intriguing window into how doctors diagnose and treat this problem in less extreme, 21st-century circumstances. x
  • 22
    A Sunday Drive
    This Grand Rounds starts with you as an eyewitness to a serious motorbike accident, where the diagnosis is obvious and the story lies in what happens to the body when it’s pushed to the edge of survival. Follow this patient from treatment at the site to lifesaving strategies in the emergency room. x
  • 23
    Cough, Cough, Cough
    Margo, a 49-year-old woman, goes to the doctor with a persistent cough. What are the common (and not-so-common) causes of persistent coughing? How do trained doctors analyze cough for clues about an underlying diagnosis? And when this particular diagnosis is reached—how is it treated in an outpatient clinic? x
  • 24
    A Confused Father
    Dr. Benaroch concludes this lecture series with an elderly patient who has frequent confusion and forgetfulness. Is the most obvious diagnosis the correct one? Then, he sums up the many lessons you’ve learned throughout the course, both about being a good doctor and a good patient. x

Lecture Titles

Clone Content from Your Professor tab

What's Included

What Does Each Format Include?

Video DVD
Video Download Includes:
  • Download 24 video lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
DVD Includes:
  • 24 lectures on 4 DVDs
  • 208-page printed course guidebook
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps

What Does The Course Guidebook Include?

Video DVD
Course Guidebook Details:
  • 208-page course synopsis
  • Photos & illustrations
  • Suggested readings
  • Questions to consider

Enjoy This Course On-the-Go with Our Mobile Apps!*

  • App store App store iPhone + iPad
  • Google Play Google Play Android Devices
  • Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Tablet + Firephone
*Courses can be streamed from anywhere you have an internet connection. Standard carrier data rates may apply in areas that do not have wifi connections pursuant to your carrier contract.

Your professor

Roy Benaroch

About Your Professor

Roy Benaroch, M.D.
Emory University
Dr. Roy Benaroch is Adjunct Assistant Professor of Pediatrics at the Emory University School of Medicine. He earned his B.S. in Engineering at Tulane University, followed by his M.D. at Emory University. He completed his residency through Emory University’s affiliated hospitals in 1997, serving as chief resident and instructor of pediatrics in 1998. Board certified in general pediatrics in 1997, Dr. Benaroch practices...
Learn More About This Professor
Also By This Professor

Reviews

Medical School for Everyone: Grand Rounds Cases is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 98.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Professor! Clear, articulate and engaging presentation and discussion.
Date published: 2018-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Should have a better title. The format is great. It give one case history after another and shows how tricky a diagnosis and sometimes a patient can be.
Date published: 2017-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Medical Knowledge for the layman The Grand Round Series of individual case studies of patients is a good way to gain general knowledge and refresher or revision about a disease condition. I look forward to more of these cases as it is a comfortable armchair way to gain useful medical knowledge that provides me the knowledge to help my family members if the need arises. Perhaps, other medical reviews or studies could come from a Traditional Chinese Medicine perspective as the market for them could be significant from China.
Date published: 2017-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Insight Into How a Physician Diagnoses This was a very enjoyable course to listen to even though it was not a heavily academic course. The professor is a great speaker, very easy to listen to you, and has a congenial delivery. This is not a course I will likely keep on my shelf as a reference, but it is very engaging to go through as it focuses on the systematic thinking that physicians use when presented a list of symptoms needing a diagnosis. Some of the cases were straightforward, and some required a bit more sleuthing. There is wide spectrum of conditions presented, from pediatric to emergent to psychological to routine. It gives many tips to the viewer as a patient in how to directly and efficiently communicate to one's own physicians during office visits. Plenty of medical terminology was presented with clear and understandable definitions. All in all, a pleasurable course that is just deep enough to maintain interest and learning, yet not so cerebral as to require intense concentration.
Date published: 2017-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent introduction to medical problem solving This is an unusual course for The Teaching Company. It would seem to have a limited potential audience. I am in that audience, but I wonder how many others will find it helpful. Dr. Benaroch presents two dozen medical cases and goes through them in a manner that would be typical of grand rounds in a teaching hospital. He begins with the patient’s reason for the visit to the clinic or emergency department (“the chief complaint”) and then walks the viewer through the list of possible diagnoses that would explain the problem, finally narrowing the diagnosis to one. He does this in a very logical and thorough manner, and along the way he introduces some basic medical terminology, anatomy, and physiology. He emphasizes the importance of the history and downplays the use of sophisticated technology. That is the way day-to-day medicine is practiced by experienced and well-trained physicians. Exotic lab tests and high tech equipment are invaluable in some cases, but they always have to be used against the background of a thorough history and physical exam. He also points out the all too common problems of fragmented care, poor communication among physicians, and overuse of drugs (polypharmacy). The diseases he presents are almost all common or at least not rare: asthma, appendicitis, celiac disease, massive trauma, and breast cancer, for example. While all he does is talk, with no actual patients in front of the camera, Dr. Benaroch does a remarkably good job of making the subjects of his cases seem like real people. He brings them to life by giving every patient a name and personal information. I am sure they are composites or purely made up, but he makes them seem authentic by recounting in sometimes humorous detail their mannerisms and responses to the physician. He described the supposed bickering between a husband and wife in the exam room with such realism that I had to laugh. I am a physician, but I have been a laboratory doctor for decades and do not treat patients in my practice. I found this an excellent review to help me think along with a clinical physician in areas I do not see in my practice, and I looked forward to every presentation. My wife is a nurse and also found it a useful supplement and review. I imagine any lay person who is interested in how doctors approach problems would find the course helpful. And despite the lecture-only format and specialized subject matter, it is anything but dry.
Date published: 2017-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great course This course was a fun and interesting way to learn how doctors go about diagnosing an illness and how a patient can help themselves and the doctor out by bringing up things that are going on in their life. It was kind of like listening to a mystery.
Date published: 2017-06-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Concerned about cite to narcotics study Overall the series was interesting and informative. However in the discussion of natcotics addiction he cited to "one study of 24,000 patients with chronic pain". I question whether this is in fact a reference to the study cited in a letter that was actually of hospital surgery patients. If so this confusion is part of what contributed greatly to the narcotic additions that led to heroine. If so it raises serious concerns about the quality of information in this course.
Date published: 2017-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Explained a lot. It was a gift for my granddaughter who is wanting to be a doctor.
Date published: 2017-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Professor presentation style, easy to watch, informative.
Date published: 2017-03-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing I am disappointed in the course. From reading the catalog I expected actual video scenes of a doctor doing rounds, with patient interaction. Instead we have a series of lectures. And, some lectures don't have anything to do with a doctor/patient situation. Lectures on the importance of being vaccinated, for example, or the lecture on how to operate an external defibrillator. Good to know but not what I expected in the course.
Date published: 2017-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth viewing It's been a year or more (at my age who knows?) since I watched this, but I watched every episode at least twice. It's on my 'look again' shelf' to see again. Having had a quasi-medical career I could sometimes guess the diagnosis, often not. How a diagnosis is arrived at is interesting, and points to the importance of honesty with one's physician, and having a physician with whom you feel comfortable. This is a very well produced course.
Date published: 2016-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Helpful I am just nicely into this course. The presentation makes very clear the methodology used by physicians as they eliminate possible sources of the presenting problem. The course helps patients to understand how important their own presentation of a problem is when they visit a doctor. The illnesses or problems presented are common experiences that many of us will encounter through life.
Date published: 2016-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grand Rounds on Steroids This is without a doubt one of the best courses I have heard. As a health care professional (Registered Nurse) I was a bit skeptical of its value to me but decided to give it a try. I could not be more pleased. I just hope this guy has done more of these. I will buy them all! What a rare and wonderful treat!! Thank you!
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Grand Rounds I ordered this CD thinking that "Grand Rounds" meant making rounds and talking to or listening to various patients. Instead, the CD was just a lecture by a doctor . It taught me some things but was definitely not what I expected.
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Medical Diagnosis You Wouldn't Necessarily Know I really enjoyed this course. The only down side was that I started to wonder if I was experiencing all of those symptoms. :)
Date published: 2016-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Medical Course This is a good course to understand how to help your doctor to diagnose your problem. After a few lessons, you can be able to figure out the illness. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2016-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Buy For My Grandson My grandson aspires to be a doctor and this was a perfect gift for him.
Date published: 2016-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better Than Average I have some medical background - military training - though I have not practiced in that field for 42 years. I've found the course lectures very easy to follow and understand. The presentations are well delivered and are succinct. They certainly increase my awareness of different conditions. I would recommend this course.
Date published: 2016-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent course I've just completed this course and I have to say it was well presented, very informative and I learn a lot about medical and health vocabulary. I must say I bought the course because I wanted to learn more vocabulary and my main concern was language. It's great to learn things about language by learning things that, apparently, have nothing to do with language. I found Doctor Roy Benaroch's presentation excellent.
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More Informative Than I Anticipated Dr. Benaroch did an excellent job of making each case study interesting. Initially I was concerned that many of the illnesses that would be discussed would be boring if I had not specifically encountered them, either personally or through a family member. However, he did a thorough job of discussing alternative diagnoses leading up to the final one. These discussions give the listener a mini-course on many topics in additional to the primary one. He also gives relatively detailed discussions on preventative care and treatment of many common conditions. In my opinion, the most beneficial aspect of the course is the information on how doctors approach diagnosing patients and what information is most helpful to them. His presentation style is laid-back and humorous at times. My wife and I enjoyed taking our best guesses at the correct "answer" during the discussions. I would definitely recommend the course, but I believe it would be more interesting to the 40-50+ age group, since we tend to be more interested in medical issues than younger people.
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from How to help your doctor help you I already had watched "Emergency medicine" by the same team with delight. Although there is some overlap with this course, they complement each other very well. Dr. Benaroch leads you through captivating cases touching on the science, the psychology, the humanity of the Doctor's art. His talents as a story teller, actor and physician, his clear empathy and great humanity help you understand better how doctors think. As Dr. Benaroch mentions in the last case study , this course is about "how to give and get the best medical care for you and your family". I also particularly liked his quoting the Greek poet and lawmaker Solon (638BC-558BC) which describes so well why we buy these courses "I grow old learning something new every day".
Date published: 2016-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thoughtful, informative, well presented Each case presents lots of information thoughtfully organized and easy to understand. The presenter has a very pleasant manner and obviously relishes the puzzles individual patients present. He offers his medical approach in an easy to grasp, extremely logical way. He includes pertinent, related information without interrupting the thread of the case at hand and so provides a great deal of information -- without causing overload -- with each case. I'm really enjoying this course and actually prefer it to watching high quality fictional entertainment. I'm sorry to think this course will end! If you're at all interested in the subject matter, you can't go wrong with this great Great Course.
Date published: 2016-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Most Favorite Course Yet I listen to these courses while I drive to and from work. Sometimes my mind wanders as I think about what I need to do that day and I end up missing some of what is said. Not the case here. Each lesson grabs hold of me and won't let go. Might not be a good thing while driving. You may not learn how to be a doctor when you are done with this course, but you will know how to better communicate with your doctor when a diagnosis needs to be made.
Date published: 2016-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Program (Audio Only Review) I have purchased I guess around 40 lectures from The Great Courses over the past 20 years and have immensely enjoyed just about all of them. This one certainly fits that description and more. Each lecture starts with a medical issue and in the next 30 minutes you get a chance to understand that medical issues, what tests are used to help determine the cause, how a doctor might come up with a diagnose and so on. If you ever enjoyed the medical side of the TV show House, you will probable enjoy these lectures. One thing in particular I really liked, was Professor/Dr. Benaroch would take pauses from the case at hand and dive into topic’s such as the history of a disease, or how and why certain tests are used, even if the test for the particular case comes up negative. The Professor speaking style was very clear and easy to listen too. I normally only listen while I drive, and these easily held my interest. Normally the first 10-15 minutes of each lecture were spent describing the medical issue at hand as well as possible options , tests and follow-up information that might be needed. The listener is given plenty of information to come up with your own guess, before case is solved. The information might be too limited for a practicing doctor, but for someone just interested in learning more about health and how to handle medical issues, this was great. Even though I listened to it on audio, there was no part of the course where I felt I was missing something. I think the listener will pick up information that can be very valuable to them in their everyday life. There are notes on how to give chest compressions, how to use a defibrillator machine and what to do in different types of emergency situations. These topic’s alone to me were worth the purchase of the course. I know there is a follow-up course on Medical Emergencies and I plan to purchase that one soon. I would also like to suggest to Dr. Benaroch that he add to this series. A program on a variety of first aid medical issues including, cuts, choking, poisoning and so on, I think would be interesting and helpful for listeners. (Especially with Dr. Benaroch presentation method of including history and other antidotes about each topic.) I also think a program on specific, but less common or historical diseases, as well as historical ways of treating medical issues would be interesting. Maybe similar to the lecture on AID’s and combining history, tests, and treatment on things like Polio, The Plague, Scurvy and so on. Overall, I found this to be a very enjoyable as well as valuable course.
Date published: 2015-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Deal in Education Anywhere There is so much, but if you take the time, the payoff is incredible. Between this and the Nutrition Made Clear course, I can't read through The New York Times bits on medicine or health without noting at least one glaring omission per article. Taking control of your own health decisions has never been easier. The style of this course is investigatory. The standard lecture format is "a patient walks in...and has the following symptoms..." From initial complaint to final diagnosis & treatment, the student follows along through the physician's investigation of symptoms to diagnose the problem, and what the physician weighs in determining a treatment. There is a lot of information, and to get everything, well, you will have to work at it & take notes. But there's enough here that even a casual once through listening will teach you a lot & change how you look at the world. (but seriously <---listen more than once, lots of good information here. Useful trivia in this course include: Why early detection of asymptomatic Breast Cancer in young women may get them killed? How much money does it cost the public to contain a measles outbreak after a single anti-vaccser catches the measles? How to diagnose a stroke early, & how to diagnose a migraine vs other headaches? When does a headache require hospital level examination? How can having the flu last week, make you bedridden unable to use your legs this week? All this and more when you go through the Grand Rounds Cases in Medical School for Everybody.
Date published: 2015-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent This is a excellent course, and you will look forward to every lecture. Five stars!
Date published: 2015-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Useful and valuable Video download review. ©2014. Guidebook 203 pages. Actually, I have slightly mixed assessment of this course even though it’s highly rated by a majority of viewers. If you happen to read Discover magazine, which has a column titled Vital Signs, you’ll find it’s quite similar. First of all, I want to say that I found the material to be useful and valuable for a general audience. It doesn’t require any background knowledge and it’s easy to go through several lectures at a sitting. In my case, I think it’s helpful in building awareness of medical jargon, exam room procedures, and diagnostic testing; furthermore, it’s a practical course in that doctor-patient interactions are highlighted. I think everyone would benefit from learning how doctors think and assess a medical situation. The Guidebook is concise and provides an organized review of material. Finally, the presentation is really good. Dr. Benaroch is a natural in front of the camera, so I hope to see him again in a sequel. The drawback for me was that I found the individual lectures to vary in interest and complexity. They start off rather gently and then it’s not until after 10 or so lectures that become more intellectually satisfying. But that’s just me. Don’t let this put you off!
Date published: 2015-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very interesting These case studies are diagnostic situations -- what's going on here? How will the physician figure it out? I found it very interesting, and at the right level of complexity (not too simple, not too technical). I would love to listen to a sequel with 12 more such cases.
Date published: 2015-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from like a series of mysteries This series is similar to watching Sherlock Holmes: you are given evidence and have to determine what is going on, learning something along the way. I looked forward to each lecture. The professor shows a clear love for teaching and a caring heart for patients. You also learn how to be a better patient, should you have a malady. Excellent series.
Date published: 2015-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Interesting and Practical Dr. Benaroch has a very easy style. Through a series of cases, Dr. Benaroch explains how doctors think (or should think) when assessing the symptoms of any medical situation. From the symptoms, he suggests potential causes, and then works through them, eliminating possible causes based on other evidence from the patient’s history and examination. In terms of taking a patient’s history, he also emphasizes the important role that the patient must play in presenting his or her own symptoms. This is not the kind of course that one comes away from with a deep structured understanding of illnesses and their presentations, but it does give the viewer a greater appreciation of medical science by working through those cases. Most important, throughout, and in the summary lecture, Dr. Benaroch reiterates the takeaway message that, as patients, we need to play a very active role in our interactions with the medical profession.
Date published: 2015-07-10
  • y_2019, m_4, d_21, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_89
  • loc_en_US, sid_1977, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 49.11ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Customers Who Bought This Course Also Bought

Buy together as a Set
and
Save Up To $12.00
Choose a Set Format
$66.90
$97.90