Odyssey of Homer

Course No. 302
Professor Elizabeth Vandiver, Ph.D.
Whitman College
Share This Course
4.9 out of 5
115 Reviews
90% of reviewers would recommend this product
Course No. 302
Sale
Audio Streaming Included Free

Course Overview

Keats compared discovering Homer to "finding a new planet." What is it in Homer's great works—and especially the Odyssey—that so enthralled him? Why have readers before and since reacted the same way?

By joining award-winning classics professor Elizabeth Vandiver for these lectures on the Odyssey, you can get answers to these and hundreds of other questions.

At first glance, those first two questions indeed seem troubling.

For the Odyssey tells of a long-dead epoch that seems utterly alien to us. Indeed, the Bronze Age Aegean was a distant memory even to the original audiences of these works.

But age seems only to have burnished the luster of this epic.

It may be precisely because of its very strangeness and distance that generation after generation of readers have come to love it so much.

This strangeness and distance throw sharply into focus the timeless human issues that ride along on Odysseus's journey, voyaging to strange lands on the shores of wine-dark seas, dealing face-to-face with gods and monsters.

A Single Riveting Question... and the Others It Raises

The epic's exploration centers around a single question about the protagonist, and the two related questions it immediately suggests:

  • Why does Odysseus long so powerfully to go home?
  • What holds people together and keeps them going in extreme situationn such as war or shipwreck?
  • Why do we love our own so strongly?

It is this universal theme that seems of paramount importance. What does it mean to live?

Professor Vandiver builds her analyses skillfully around meticulous, insightful examinations of the most important episodes in the Odyssey.

She explains the cultural assumptions that lie behind Homer's lines, and you join her in weighing the basic critical and interpretive issues.

Just as knowledge of the Trojan War legend is necessary for understanding the Iliad—available as a companion course—the Odyssey assumes that its audience knows how the war ended and what happened next.

Learn the Story between the Epics

Lecture 1. We begin with an overview of the traditional Trojan War story that took place after the Iliad. Next we examine the difference between kleos epic, with its primary focus on glory, and nostos epic, which focuses instead on homecoming.

Lecture 2. This lecture defines and examines xenia, a concept that is of key importance for understanding the Odyssey and the characters of Telemachos and the suitors.

Xenia is usually translated "guest-host relationship." It is a reciprocal relationship between two xenoi—a word which means guest, host, stranger, friend, and foreigner. It is not based on friendship, but rather on obligation.

In addition to examining xenia, the lecture also highlights two other important narrative elements established in the Telemachy:

  • the use of Agamemnon's story as a parallel for Odysseus's own
  • Telemachos's need to assert his maturity.

Lecture 3. In this lecture, we turn to Odysseus himself as a character in the Odyssey.

The lecture concentrates on the aspects of Odysseus's character that are introduced in these two books:

  • his desire to return home as a desire to reestablish his own identity
  • his superb skills as a rhetorician, able to craft his speech to appeal to whomever he is addressing.

Enter Odysseus... in His Own Voice

Lecture 4. This lecture continues to follow Odysseus's interactions with the Phaiakians, and moves on into the beginnings of his own great narrative of his past adventures.

The lecture addresses several key themes, including the continued importance of xenia as offered by the Phaiakians and how the conception of kleos in the Odyssey differs from that of the Iliad.

Professor Vandiver also discusses how the appearance of the bard Demodokos in Book VIII may reflect the original three-day performance structure of the Odyssey.

As the lecture concludes, we see how the encounter with the cyclops Polyphemos shows Odysseus at his most clever and quick-thinking but also causes all his subsequent troubles.

Lecture 5. We continue following Odysseus's own narrative of the "Great Wanderings"—Odysseus's narrative of his trip to Hades—including an examination of his encounter with Circe and the implications of the sexual double standard reflected in it and in the rest of the Odyssey.

A Journey into Hades

The lecture looks at the first half of the pivotal episode in the Great Wanderings and ends with a discussion of the reasons for and effects of the abrupt break in the text, where the poem returns briefly to the third-person narrative.

Lecture 6. This lecture continues to look at Odysseus's narrative of his journey to Hades.

Professor Vandiver notes elements in the Hades narrative that seem particularly designed to enchant Odysseus's Phaiakian audience.

She also considers the vexing question of Odysseus's own veracity before moving on to the final episode of the "Great Wanderings"—the killing of Helios's cattle and the death of Odysseus's remaining companions.

Lecture 7. This lecture moves to the second half of the Odyssey by discussing the change in pace and subject matter in the "Ithakan"books.

The lecture looks in detail at several important moments in the story:

  • Odysseus's arrival on Ithaka
  • the significance for xenia of the formulaic lines he speaks here for the third time
  • his encounter with the disguised Athena
  • their plan for his vengeance on the suitors.

Lecture 8. The two books covered in this lecture, XVI and XVII, include Odysseus's reunion with his son Telemachos and his entry into his own palace disguised as a beggar.

Follow Odysseus's Trials of Suppression

Throughout this section of the Odyssey the poet stresses Odysseus's emotional trials, for he must not:

  • show joy at the sight of Telemachos
  • display anger at the evil goatherd, Melanthios
  • reveal sorrow at the death of his dog Argos.

Each encounter reiterates Odysseus's supreme self-control and moves him closer to his utmost danger and most extreme trial.

Lecture 9. This lecture looks in close detail at the two lengthy conversations between Odysseus—still disguised as a beggar—and Penelope in Book XIX, and the scene that separates those conversations, in which Eurykleia recognizes Odysseus.

Lecture 10. This lecture, which covers Books XX through XXII, examines the "contest of the bow," Odysseus's revelation of his identity to the loyal slaves Eumaios and Philoitios, and the slaughter of the suitors.

Professor Vandiver continues her consideration of Penelope's knowledge and motives, as well as her focus on Homer's narrative strategies for increasing the sense of inevitability as the suitors' doom approaches.

Lecture 11. This last lecture on the Odyssey itself discusses the final reunion of Odysseus and Penelope in Book XXIII and the resolution of several themes and issues in Book XXIV.

Does Homer's Ending Work?

The lecture concludes with an examination of the Odyssey's ending and a discussion of whether or not it is effective.

Lecture 12. In this final lecture, Professor Vandiver turns to the question of whether the Trojan War has any historical basis.

After looking at the history of this question, she recounts the story of Heinrich Schliemann's 19th-century excavations at Hisarlik and Mycenae and examines some of the issues still left unresolved by those excavations.

Hide Full Description
12 lectures
 |  Average 30 minutes each
  • 1
    Heroes' Homecomings
    After an overview of the background story, we examine the difference between a kleos epic such as The Iliad, with its primary focus on glory, and a nostos epic such as The Odyssey, which deals with homecoming. We then examine The Odyssey's own complicated chronology and plot. x
  • 2
    Guests and Hosts
    This lecture defines and examines xenia, guest-host relations, which is a key concept in The Odyssey. How does xenia permeate the first four books of The Odyssey and affect our understanding of Telemachos and the suitors? Why does Homer continually evoke Agamemnon's story as a parallel to that of Odysseus? What drives Telemachos? x
  • 3
    A Goddess and a Princess
    In this lecture, we examine the first appearance of Odysseus, in Book V, and his interaction with Kalypso and later the Phaiakian princess Nausikaa. The lecture focuses on the rhetorical skills of Odysseus, and on his desire to return home and re-establish his own identity. Finally, we discuss the ongoing thematic importance of xenia. x
  • 4
    Odysseus among the Phaiakians
    We see Odysseus as bard, relating a narrative of his adventures to his Phaiakian hosts. These lead us to ponder key themes of xenia and glory. We ask whether The Odyssey handles the latter theme the same way The Iliad does. Book IX brings us to the famous encounter with the Cyclops. x
  • 5
    Odysseus Tells His Own Story
    We continue following Odysseus's retelling of his "Great Wanderings." His encounter with Circe raises the issue of the sexual double standard in Homer. Finally, the lecture looks at the first half of the pivotal episode in the Great Wanderings, Odysseus's sojourn among the dead in Hades. x
  • 6
    From Persephone's Land to the Island of Helios
    We note how Odysseus tailors his Hades narrative to his Phaiakian audience. A question has always troubled readers of Homer: Is Odysseus telling the truth? x
  • 7
    The Goddess, the Swineherd, and the Beggar
    This lecture begins our study of the second half of The Odyssey by discussing the change in pace and subject matter in the Ithakan books. From Book XIII onward, the pace is much slower, and the challenges Odysseus faces are very different from those we have seen earlier. The lecture looks in detail at Odysseus's arrival on Ithaka and the situation he finds there. x
  • 8
    Reunion and Return
    Books XVI and XVII include Odysseus's reunion with Telemachos, and his entry, disguised as a beggar, into the royal court of Ithaka. Throughout the poet stresses how hard Odysseus must strive to conceal his emotions during a series of encounters. Each encounter reiterates Odysseus's supreme self-control and moves him closer to the tremendous danger and difficulty that await him in his own palace. x
  • 9
    Odysseus and Penelope
    In Book XIX we hear two lengthy conversations between the disguised Odysseus and Penelope that are separated by a scene in which Odysseus's old nurse recognizes him. We look at the significance of Odysseus's name, and then at the great enigma of whether Penelope recognizes the ragged beggar. x
  • 10
    Recognitions and Revenge
    Books XX to XXII recount the "contest of the bow," Odysseus's revelation of his identity to the loyal slaves Eumaios and Philoitios, and the slaughter of the suitors. We continue to ask what Penelope knows, and what motives drive her, and then ask: Were Odysseus's slaughter of the suitors and the disloyal slave woman justified? x
  • 11
    Reunion and Resolution
    The final lecture on The Odyssey turns to the final reunion of Odysseus and Penelope in Book XXIII, and to resolve several themes in Book XXIV. The lecture analyzes the tremendous symbolic and narrative significance of Odysseus's and Penelope's marriage bed. Finally, we look at Book XXIV and discuss whether The Odyssey's conclusion is an effective one. x
  • 12
    The Trojan War and the Archaeologists
    What can history and archaeology tell us about the Trojan War? We examine the famous 19th-century excavations of Heinrich Schliemann and touch on some of the controversies he left behind. Finally, we trace the discoveries made by more recent excavators. x

Lecture Titles

Clone Content from Your Professor tab

What's Included

What Does Each Format Include?

Video DVD
Instant Audio Includes:
  • Download 12 audio lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE audio streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
DVD Includes:
  • 12 lectures on 2 DVDs
  • 80-page printed course guidebook
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook

What Does The Course Guidebook Include?

Video DVD
Course Guidebook Details:
  • 80-page printed course guidebook
  • Suggested readings
  • Questions to consider
  • Timeline

Enjoy This Course On-the-Go with Our Mobile Apps!*

  • App store App store iPhone + iPad
  • Google Play Google Play Android Devices
  • Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Tablet + Firephone
*Courses can be streamed from anywhere you have an internet connection. Standard carrier data rates may apply in areas that do not have wifi connections pursuant to your carrier contract.

Your professor

Elizabeth Vandiver

About Your Professor

Elizabeth Vandiver, Ph.D.
Whitman College
Dr. Elizabeth Vandiver is Professor of Classics and Clement Biddle Penrose Professor of Latin at Whitman College in Walla Walla, Washington. She was formerly Director of the Honors Humanities program at the University of Maryland at College Park, where she also taught in the Department of Classics. She completed her undergraduate work at Shimer College and went on to earn her M.A. and Ph.D. from The University of Texas at...
Learn More About This Professor
Also By This Professor

Reviews

Odyssey of Homer is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 115.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Informative After reviewing the Iliad, I wanted this and it was just excellent...far better than reading just the book.
Date published: 2017-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great walk through of the story. Prof. Vandiver provided a great walk through of the grand themes in the Odyssey and opened much more of the richness of this story.
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Understanding the Odyssey as an Ancient Greek The way Professior Vandiver presents the information allows you to understand and appreciate the story as an Ancient Greek would have. She doesn't just explain the cultural importance of The Odyssey to the Greeks, but goes farther and explains the Greek customs and traditions needed to understand how the Greeks themselves would interpret this work. Adding to the beauty and understanding of the epic.
Date published: 2017-07-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simplified a tough book Good overview and details for a high-school boy who's not good at reading. Not bad for his father either.
Date published: 2017-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits the content perfectly This course really excites me. Dr. Vandiver presents her in-depth analysis is a clear and succinct way, and as a high school English teacher, I am able to use her insights in my classroom. The students respond well to it, and it leads to lively discussions. Thank you, Dr. Vandiver and The Teaching Company. I look forward to purchasing more courses that Dr. Vandiver has participated in.
Date published: 2017-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Engrossing Tale This course was my introduction to Homer- the first thing I learned was that I really should have started with the Iliad. That's an example of how little I knew about the subject matter as I started the first lecture. What an Epic story! I'm reading The Iliad now, and this course left me very familiar with the Gods and major characters, and the world as Homer crafted it. Without that frame of reference, Iliad would be half as enjoyable at best; with it, I'm enjoying reading about how things played out before Homer started his wild journey back to Ithaca. The best part is, it was a lot of fun to listen to! Perfect tale for a roadtrip. This course is a great introduction The Odyssey!
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredibly Clear, Interesting, and Insightful Normally I do not review anything until I have finished the entire course. I'm making an exception in hopes that anyone contemplating purchasing this course will hit the "complete my order" button (or whatever it is on this site) right away. Professor Vandiver presents information in a concise yet thorough manner and is able to flow smoothly from one session to the next. The meaning behind the tale and the nuances of the language are brought to life with her lectures. In addition, she has a pleasing voice, is not rushed, and for me - I don't want to stop listening - even though I do have other activities in my life! Buy it.
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Odyssey This is an awesome course on the Odyssey of Homer. Explanations of Greek customs make it easier to understand.Professor Vandivers makes the book come alive with her enthusiasm. This course is highly recommended...
Date published: 2017-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Prof. Vandiver's Odyssey of Homer is outstanding I have never read the Illiad or the Odyssey, but after Prof. Vandiver's courses I will read both of them and enjoy and understand them. Every one of her lectures is interesting, she gives such great background and then describes each chapter of the books. No way I could have read them without these courses first.
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb in every respect Of the 30 or so courses I've taken over the years, this is among the very best. The blend of summary and commentary is perfectly balanced; the spread of issues comprehensive but not exhausting. Vandiver's selection of topics is flawless: the very points the judicious reader might inquire about. Her approach is firm but not pushy--on key questions she provides direction on how to think properly about the answers, without insisting on her own opinion as being definitive. She maintains a proper gravitas but adds welcome touches of with and irony. She reminds us, over and again, that Homer, for all the commitment he has to the ethos of his own age, still raises as many questions as he answers, inviting every generation to bring its own sensibility to the poem. Vandiver's presentational style is most effective, a pleasant voice, a deliberate but unhurried pace. One possible hitch: it will help if the listener has read the poem in advance. Otherwise, the opening lectures will be challenging--but certainly not impossible--to follow.
Date published: 2016-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Course Was Excellent This was a superb course. I can even imagine Zeus, Athena, and Poseidon all listening to this course and saying, "this professor really seems to know her stuff. Now, what do you see we order some take-out food and listen to the rest of these lectures." I don't know what they would order. Maybe a pizza or some beef chow-mein. I ordered some of the other courses offered by this professor, and I plan on listening to them soon. Maybe next week depending how things go. I've been on the road on business, and I'd like to make it home before I start in on another course.
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oops! Now I want to read it. I actually did this course as my younger son had to read The Odyssey in English class. I wanted to seem semi-literate about the work, but I really went into it with expectations of being bored to tears. While Professor Vandiver isn't the most charismatic presenter, she's very thoughtful, knowledgeable, & has a way of grabbing your attention with her delivery. I was quickly intrigued & really enjoyed the lectures and the epic. I'm actually planning to read the thing now & I have no doubt I'll enjoy it MUCH more now that I have an understanding of the pertinent themes.
Date published: 2016-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Vandiver is outstanding and The Odyssey Great Course adds a lot for both adult and my 9th grade son (part of his homeschooling class). Vandiver's lectures add a lot to the reading, and she's just what you'd want in a teacher: she's interesting, informative, and balanced. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2016-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Course Prof. Vandiver is fascinating, detailed and does such a great job at putting things in historical perspective. All of her courses I have listened to have been superb.
Date published: 2016-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy Both; Listen to the Iliad First audio download version As others have suggested, this course must have been originally meant to be a single 24 lecture course combined with the Iliad. This is because the first two lectures of the Iliad deal generally with epics and Homer, providing background for both the Iliad and the Odyssey, while the last lecture of the Odyssey, deals generally with historical and archeological evidence regarding Troy and the possibility of the Trojan War, issues germane to both epics. Other than to generally repeat in the most positive terms my review of the Iliad for this course, there is little more to add. Professor Vandiver has a fantastic command of her subject and is able to bring her extensive knowledge to a level that can be understood by those of us with a non-classical background. Other than occasionally being a bit too repetitious (no doubt I sometimes need the repetition) her style is clear and easily understood. When I listened to the Iliad, I did not follow her suggestion (actually she writes required readings in the course book) as to reading the Iliad along with her lectures, but read the entire poem after finishing her course. This time I read each section before listening to each lecture and found that to be a far superior approach, as I was more easily able to understand the points she was bringing out about both the poem and the culture of that time. Highly Recommended.
Date published: 2016-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Odyssey of Homer - Amazing Course! I really enjoyed this course! I learned so much from Prof. Van Diver's Lectures that I truly cannot wait to purchase more of her courses. I am a Homeschool teacher and mother to a teenager, and I purchased this course to supplement a Literature Study of the book "The Odyssey". I have previewed all of the lectures and I cannot wait to share it with my student! Prof. Van Diver is well spoken, easy to understand, and very on point with her knowledge and the material she presents. She has left me with a deeper understanding of this great epic, and has ignited a passion to want to learn even more! I could have listened to her lecture on this subject for months and was sad to come to the end of the course.
Date published: 2015-08-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Engaging Work by Dr. Vandiver, Ending Felt Off Pluses: • A great book-by-book summary of the events of the Odyssey • Frequent citing of examples of two common themes: 1- The definition of good and bad hospitality; 2- Odysseus’s craftiness at being able to read people and tailoring his message or approach based on the situation • The professor was easy to listen to (almost every sentence was easy to understand and there is an avoidance of flowery language that makes understanding difficult) Minuses: - The professor tended to explain the same point multiple times and seemed to repeat sentences (the point could’ve been made in less sentences) - The ending of the course felt off for two reasons: 1- The last lecture seemed somewhat out of place and probably would fit better in the Iliad course; 2- The course seemed to be missing concluding thoughts/final analysis of the work or its literary themes
Date published: 2015-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Journey Guided Well Dr. Vandiver details the exciting plot of The Odyssey thoroughly and enthusiastically. She shares much more than that, though, in the twelve lectures of this Great Course. I now feel that I understand why this Homeric epic is a superb poem as well as a superb story. Examples of how poetic devices functioned differently and better in the original Greek than they do in translation were especially fascinating. The professor explains clearly how The Odyssey would have been received in its day, both as an entertainment and as a cultural/educational program. I appreciate that she is fair-minded when it comes to explaining how and why other scholars' interpretations of the work may differ from some of her own. Also, I have received insights into how the whole community of scholars goes about studying ancient literature—plus “bonus” information about what archeologists and historians are able to say about the ancient societies of both Greece and Rome, about the work of bards in an oral tradition, and about the background story of the Trojan War. As with two other courses by Dr. Vandiver that I deeply appreciated, I give the present course full marks. By the way, I bought the CD audio format of this course, and it seemed perfectly adequate.
Date published: 2015-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great course I highly highly recommend it. I am teaching a world literature sophomore class and found the lectures really rich and informative.
Date published: 2015-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from outstanding course After viewing the Iliad by this same professor, I eagerly looked forward to her course on the Odyssey. It did not disappoint me in any way. She provided so much information on how the book was organized, the terminology, and the culture of the day, that I came away with a much deeper understanding of the story. You don't absolutely need to watch the Iliad first, but it would help a lot in understanding the context of the story--where it starts and the references it makes back to the Trojan war.
Date published: 2015-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love these courses I am in my car going to appointments all day. I really enjoy all of the courses I listened to, but Prof Vandiver is one of my favorites. She not does a fabulous job of presenting the material, her ability to provide context for the story is truly amazing.
Date published: 2015-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Vandiver Hits a Homer! I have the download versions of The Iliad, The Odyssey, and The Aeneid and they should be listened to in that order. (Due to the order of sales, I bought and listened to the Aeneid first. Not a big deal, but this led to some belated aha moments while listening to the others.) All 3 courses are truly great. Vandiver manages to get in all the scholarly stuff, all the necessary interpretations, and the story, without diminishing any of the three aspects. I understand the works much better now than I did when I was forced to study them in high school and college. And each now makes sense internally and in relation to the other two. Note that it appears that The Illiad and The Odyssey were meant to be, or were created as, a single 24-lecture course but were split into 2 12-lecture courses. Not a big deal, but if you only buy one you'll miss out on some of the introductory lectures from the other that should be heard. Vandiver speaks clearly and maintained my interest throughout. She is definitely one of the top Great Courses professors and I've only got one more of her courses to buy... I have the DVD version of another of her courses and the graphics in that course were of poor quality. I therefore purchased the download versions of The Iliad, The Odyssey, and The Aeneid and they were fine: I never felt I had missed something by not having the graphics or maps. Some familiarity with the geography will help but is not necessary. Yes, I realize I've used essentially the same review for The Iliad, The Odyssey, and The Aeneid, but they make up parts of a much longer epic and, therefore, I feel the same comments apply.
Date published: 2015-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Course This is a first-rate course. Elizabeth Vandiver has gut feeling for the Odyssey and the larger context of the Greek world in which it is set. The world of the Greek Gods is so different from ours that it is very difficult to present the situation so that it seems natural to us. Prof. Vandiver does a good job handling this situation. She is a master at communicating what is really going on. I thoroughly enjoyed the course. I have listened to Prof. Vandiver's course on the the Iliad and on Classical Mythology, and I would recommend both of them as well.
Date published: 2015-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fascinating series I think Elizabeth Vandiver is an excellent storyteller, and really knows her content. She conveys her enthusiasm for the material in such a way as to draw in the listener. She is able to keep the material interesting by weaving her historical knowledge into the story, keeping it alive and interesting.
Date published: 2014-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Honey, I'm home....r! Audio download. Professor Vandiver has a direct lecturing style that shows her depth of knowledge of both the historicity of the story and the context (oral delivery, handed down for over 400 years until it was finally recorded on 'paper') within which it was originally sung. The story is one that we all know, but what a story it is (after nearly 3000 years it still works). I have attempted to read translations (by Pope and then Cowper...Cowper is the better)...basically because they are free kindle downloads...but quickly got bogged-down (patience is not my best quality). Vandiver recommends the Lattimore version, claiming it has the best rendition of the verse style...she's most probably right...maybe I should try reading that version aloud over several days, though it might test the strength of my marriage These lectures allowed me to easily capture the storyline and meaning in 12 fast-paced lectures, as a sequel to the Iliad (also by Dr Vandiver)...this was my second time listening. This is a great lecture series and highly recommended, especially when on sale (and with a coupon).
Date published: 2014-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent course! This was an excellent course. Professor Vandiver is knowledgable, organized, and interesting. She includes enough basic information about the story itself that if you haven't read the Odyssey in a long time - or ever - you don't feel like it's over your head. At the same time, there is a lot more to the course than simply recapping the story, so if you are more familiar with the book, it's still new and informative. I really enjoy this professor's style and presentation, and am looking forward to my next course, which she also teaches.
Date published: 2014-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DVD Format. This is my third course by Dr. Vandiver and, like the first two (The Illiad of Homer and Classic Mythology), it is outstanding. For a story to endure for 3000 years, it must be good; this we know. What makes this course so enjoyable is Dr. Vandiver's thorough knowledge of the classic and her ability to clearly articulate the important points and memorable highlights of the 24-book story. The myth is riveting in part, because of this course.
Date published: 2014-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can I be her graduate student? I dove into this right after completing her course on the Iliad. Great decision. She is deeply knowledgeable about the subject, not afraid to give her own opinions (which she clearly identifies as such), and very easy to listen to. Plus she is somehow so personally involved in how the stories relate to the whole human condition -- a very thoughtful scholar. Also, she painlessly feeds you a lot of Greek history along the way, too. An excellent teacher.
Date published: 2014-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Epic return from the war with Troy This is the second course describing Homer's huge epic on the Trojan war, the first being the Iliad. Both courses are given under the TGC by professor Vandiver, and I found them both absolutely fascinating - in fact I couldn't stop listening and finished them both in two days. In this epic, Homer describes Odysseus's long and painful journey home to Ithaca , his kingdom, following the defeat of the Trojans. Professor Vandiver points the audience to fine details concerning ancient Greek culture, some of which seems reasonable to us and some is totally alien. She emphasizes that there is still a lot of scholarly debate in analyzing both of Homer's famous epics, and many times voices her own scholarly opinion. This is certainly a fascinating introduction into Homer's Odyssey, and at least for me, it opened the appetite to learn more.
Date published: 2014-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Part 2 of THE great epic (This is the same review as for part 1 - "The Iliad of Homer". I was originally more familiar and interested in the Odyssey, but am glad I bought the set, and got the complete story. As such they deserve to be reviewed as a whole.) This is an excellently informative and wonderfully entertaining synopsis from a truly expert commentator. Professor Vandiver is both very knowledgable and articulate in conveying both the essence and details of these epics (the Iliad and the Odyssey) - practically racing through in 12 lectures each a story she claims to have read countless times herself, and what could easily have been drawn out to be 10 times as long. The result is a concise yet thorough retelling (occasionally being a bit wordy and repetitive in her desire to be thorough), revealing it as a timeless masterpiece of world literature (regardless of its true origins and authorship). Providing authoritative understanding of the language and cultural background as well as the general mythic significance (a universal human meaning we can so easily recognize and appreciate more than 3000 years later), Prof. Vandiver does an excellent job making this an engaging and relevant story. Basically the Iliad is a tale of war, and the concern of warriors for time' (honor) and kleos (glory), while the Odyssey is a story of subsequent homecoming and the central role of xenia (guest-host relationship) and fidelity in holding a civil society together. And in this rather grand way it is the story of each of us (via Achilles the greatest warrior faced with a choice of fates - unending glory or obscure peaceful longevity, and "Odysseus", as he who causes and receives pain, being as good a synonym for an individuating ego as literature has ever offered up). As a plus the final lecture of the Odyssey course on the actual historical/archeological evidence for Troy is a nice post script. Overall, a highly recommended set of courses.
Date published: 2013-12-06
  • y_2019, m_9, d_20, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_105
  • loc_en_US, sid_302, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 50.86ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Customers Who Bought This Course Also Bought