Rise and Fall of the British Empire

Course No. 8480
Professor Patrick N. Allitt, Ph.D.
Emory University
Share This Course
4.4 out of 5
90 Reviews
85% of reviewers would recommend this product
Course No. 8480
Sale
Streaming Included Free

Course Overview

At its peak in the early 20th century, Britain's empire was the largest in the history of the world, greater even than that of ancient Rome. It embraced more than a fourth of the world's population and affected the course of Western civilization in ways almost too numerous to imagine.

Even today, with the advantages of historical perspective and hindsight, it is still nearly impossible to overstate the scope and importance of its stunning legacy.

Consider:

  • British colonists brought to the New World ideas of liberty, justice, and political stability-ideas that formed the foundation of our own revolution and Constitution and are still reflected in the aspirations of emerging democracies the world over.
  • British exploration, mapping, and colonization of remote areas of the world in the late 18th and early 19th centuries accelerated our scientific knowledge.
  • Britain was the first nation to undertake large-scale industrialization, and it contributed to a host of technological advances that revolutionized manufacturing, navigation, international communications, travel on land and sea, and more.
  • Britain was the first major world power to make the moral choices to end its own extremely profitable slave trade and then to work toward the abolition of slavery worldwide.

That is only a bare sampling of a legacy that also encompassed language, literature, the invention of sophisticated modern banking and insurance systems, and the foundations of modern capitalism.

Yet only seven decades after achieving its unprecedented global reach, the British Empire had virtually disappeared, swept aside by historical forces as powerful as those that had first propelled it into being.

How and why did this happen? What were those forces that thrust the British Empire to its extraordinary position and then just as powerfully drove it into decline? And why are the lives of not only Americans but also of the citizens of nearly every nation on earth, in one way or another, the consequence of the British Empire?

In the 36 lectures of The Rise and Fall of the British Empire, award-winning Professor Patrick N. Allitt of Emory University leads you through four centuries of British power, innovation, influence, and, ultimately, diminishment-four profound centuries that literally remade the world and bequeathed the complex global legacy that continues to shape your everyday life.

It's a remarkable course that will give you fresh insights into world history in a wide range of areas-political, economic, technological, social, and more. And it will also give you a comprehensive overview you won't find offered anywhere else-a context into which you can integrate new knowledge about this country, as well as understand the background of current events in so many other countries that were once part of Britain's empire, from Ireland to China, and in Africa and the Caribbean.

Indeed, it seems fair to say that one cannot truly understand the most important aspects of world history without a firm grasp of the history of the British Empire.

In giving you that grasp, Professor Allitt draws on a vast range of critical events, riveting personalities, revealing anecdotes, and eloquent quotations-which become virtuoso performances in the hands of the English-born Allitt, who invests each line with the political, social, or moral implications that would have been obvious to contemporary readers and listeners.

Meet Some of History's Most Riveting Personalities

Unlike them, however, trapped in their own specific moment in time, you get to take the entire fascinating journey, encountering as you do some of history's most important, forceful, and interesting personalities, often from a totally new vantage point:

  • Winston Churchill, the very personification of the British Lion, who, after inspiring his nation to unexpected survival during the darkest days of World War II, was rewarded with defeat at the polls.
  • Robert Clive, who rose from his beginnings as a teenaged clerk for the British East India Company to avenge the brutality of the infamous "Black Hole of Calcutta," achieve British hegemony in India along with great personal power and ill-gotten wealth, and ultimately die at his own hand, imprisoned by both depression and his addiction to opium.
  • Orde Wingate, the British general whose achievements in the Ethiopian campaign and in the Zionist guerrilla war against the Arab revolt in Palestine could never obscure his personal eccentricities. One of those was a proclivity to wander about naked, often with a raw onion suspended around his neck, from which he would take hearty bites while inspecting his troop.
  • William Wilberforce, the Christian evangelical and Member of Parliament who provided the political leadership and moral lifeblood for Britain's antislavery crusade, and who lived long enough to see his nearly half-century struggle culminate in the 1833 abolition of slavery throughout most of the British Empire.

And that, of course, is only a small sample of a course that encompasses rulers and slaves, politicians and scientists, explorers, inventors and fighters, and even the importance of cricket! Sir Francis Drake, Mohandas Gandhi, John Hancock, Adam Smith, Captains James Cook and William Bligh, the Zulu warrior king Chaka, James Watt, Lord Louis Mountbatten, Field Marshall Bernard Montgomery—these and many, many others all step forward during this comprehensive course.

Understand How Britain's History Helped Define the Shape of Its Future—and the World's

And as they do, with Professor Allitt leading you through the British Empire's extraordinary history, he explains not only the hows and whys of its momentous events and conflicts, but leaves you with a nuanced understanding of just what kind of historical pathways were set into place for succeeding generations to follow:

  • You learn that although the British could often be ruthless in projecting their power, suppressing customs and traditions in alien cultures, an intellectual minority among them also began to study those cultures with interest and sympathy, helping to develop not only a missionary tradition but also new disciplines like anthropology and comparative religion.
  • You gain a new appreciation of perhaps the most widespread of Britain's bequests—the language that is not only spoken here, but that remains the most widely spoken around the world.And you come to understand the full extent of that gift, as well, as Professor Allitt explores the British Empire's ongoing literary legacy.
  • You grasp how Britain's finest writers, including the Brontë sisters, Rudyard Kipling, E. M. Forster, and George Orwell, by exploring the social and moral implications of almost every aspect of the British Empire, have left us a profound cultural record—a record since added to by subsequent generations of British authors and by the greatest writers of her former colonies.

In organizing a vast wealth of historical material, Professor Allitt approaches his subject from a variety of perspectives as he traces the mercantilist, imperial, and free trade ideologies that fueled the development of the empire.

Key among these is his thorough discussion of both the role of slavery in building and maintaining the empire and the evolution of Britain's ultimate decision to end its participation in the practice.

He explains the innovations in banking and insurance that fueled British prosperity and enabled Britain to finance the military power necessary to fight its wars and protect its far-flung colonies. He explores cultural and political changes inside Britain and their impact on Britain's global decisions. And he examines the changing cultural manifestations of the empire as it evolved.

Just as important, he never allows himself to settle into an Anglocentric view of Britain's empire. He discusses not only the experiences of Britain's colonists, but also those of the native peoples of those colonies, whose own lives—as well as the destinies of their countries—were irrevocably shaped by British imperialism.

Compelling, comprehensive, and astonishing in the force of its narrative power, The Rise and Fall of the British Empire will give you a refreshing new understanding of what made the British Empire both great in its achievements and vulnerable to its eventual downfall.

Hide Full Description
36 lectures
 |  Average 30 minutes each
  • 1
    The Sun Never Set
    Learn how history's greatest colonial empire came about not according to a master plan, but in response to great shifts in the currents that move nations. This lecture previews the roles played by military power, trade, slavery, industrialization, and many other forces in motivating Britain to acquire, maintain, and, ultimately, relinquish its empire. x
  • 2
    The Challenge to Spain in the New World
    Britannia didn't always rule the waves. See how jealousy over Spanish and Portuguese wealth combined with religious rivalry and advances in nautical knowledge to push England toward its own role in the New World. x
  • 3
    African Slavery and the West Indies
    Although a more enlightened Britain would eventually do away with both its African slave trade and then slavery itself, it originally looked on the issue as strictly economic. Gain a grasp of slavery's importance to not only Britain's New World colonies, but to its entire economy. x
  • 4
    Imperial Beginnings in India
    For its first 150 years, the British East India Company —granted a monopoly by the queen in 1600—had no intention of becoming the political overlord of India. Explore how circumstances overrode that intention and set the stage for British rule. x
  • 5
    Clive and the Conquest of India
    See how a rapidly rising young officer named Robert Clive, who initially attempted to quell local instability, won a succession of victories that quickly earned him fame, power, and ill-gotten wealth. His actions laid the foundation for British domination of India. x
  • 6
    Wolfe and the Conquest of Canada
    Britain's victory over the French in the Seven Years' War redrew the world's map in Britain's favor—including control over Canada—but at great cost. The debt was so massive it would ultimately contribute to England losing her American colonies. x
  • 7
    The Loss of the American Colonies
    Britain's desperate need for revenue ended years of "benign neglect" of its increasingly prosperous American colonies. Colonial resentment of "taxation without representation" triggered the American Revolution that, with French help, inflicted a stunning defeat on the empire. x
  • 8
    Exploring the Planet
    Although it was trade that prompted Britain to build an empire, the path was marked by great strides in exploration, invention, and science. See how accelerating scientific knowledge in the late 18th and early 19th centuries connected directly to British exploration, mapping, and colonization of previously remote areas of the world. x
  • 9
    Napoleon Challenges the Empire
    The French Revolution, the overthrow of France's monarchy, and the rise of Napoleon created an unprecedented crisis for the empire. But Britain's domination of the seas and an innovative banking system that enabled it to fund more than two decades of war ultimately proved too much for even Napoleon. x
  • 10
    The Other Side of the World
    The Indian model—a massive indigenous population dominated by just a handful of colonizers—was only one model of British empire building. Learn how Australia and New Zealand illustrated the other—an indigenous population vanquished by disease and war, which cleared the way for large-scale white settlement. x
  • 11
    Abolition of the Slave Trade and Slavery
    With slavery widespread throughout history, the surprise is less that Britain used slavery than that it eventually decided to abolish it. This lecture gives you insight into the motives that led Britain to reverse course on what had become an economic pillar of its empire. x
  • 12
    Early African Colonies
    Britain first gained a colonial foothold in Africa by seizing Holland's Cape of Good Hope settlement during the Napoleonic Wars. See how its 1833 abolition of slavery intensified the still-simmering tensions between Britain and the region's Dutch settlers. x
  • 13
    China and the Opium Wars
    Witness the mid-19th century collision between the British policy of free trade (logical for a nation that enjoyed industrial and nautical supremacy) and the closed culture of the Chinese. It was a collision China could not win, as Britain used its military might to impose total domination on China and compelled it to accept the lucrative opium trade. x
  • 14
    Britain—The Imperial Center
    Watch as Britain emerged from the Napoleonic Wars as the most powerful nation on earth. Its industrial revolution, sophisticated banking and insurance techniques, political stability, and social mobility each contributed to its ability to project power around the world. x
  • 15
    Ireland—The Tragic Relationship
    In the first of two lectures devoted to Britain's troubled relationship with Ireland, you gain insight into how religion, politics, and social factors—including a catastrophic famine—combined to create this most puzzling and tragic element of British history. x
  • 16
    India and the "Great Game"
    Deepen your understanding of the intricate relationship between Britain and India. This lecture gives you the opportunity to examine both the changing face of British domination and the disastrous results when Britain tried to safeguard that regional dominance against Russian encroachment by invading Afghanistan. x
  • 17
    Rebellion and Mutiny in India
    Track the factors that contributed to a growing unrest, which finally exploded in an outright mutiny among Indian soldiers of the East India Company's army. British forces violently suppressed the uprising, after which the British government dissolved the East India Company in 1858 and undertook direct government of the subcontinent. x
  • 18
    How Canada Became a Nation
    Learn how Canada, although remaining loyal to Britain during the American Revolution, also disliked being governed from the other side of the Atlantic without adequate representation. See how its provinces gained self-government and then unification without the need for large-scale revolution. x
  • 19
    The Exploration and Settlement of Africa
    Travel along with British explorers as they journey across Africa, mapping its mountains, tracing its river systems, and ultimately triggering a scramble among Europe's colonial powers to conquer Africa in the last three decades of the 19th century. The scramble intensified with the discovery of diamonds and gold in South Africa. x
  • 20
    Gold, Greed, and Geopolitics in Africa
    The 1886 discovery of gold near present-day Johannesburg transformed a pastoral backwater into a center of dynamic economic activity. The great wealth at stake ultimately brought military violence and even disease-ridden concentration camps in an ominous premonition of 20th-century warfare. x
  • 21
    The Empire in Literature
    The empire influenced British literature as much as it did British life. A fascinating tour through works both celebrated and obscure—including Shakespeare's The Tempest, Defoe's Robinson Crusoe, and Jean Rhys's Wide Sargasso Sea—illustrates the colonies' role in introducing new ideas, new forms of wealth, and difficult moral questions to British audiences. x
  • 22
    Economics and Theories of Empire
    Throughout the 19th century, advocates of the empire claimed they were bringing progress to backward peoples: the blessings of honest government, Christianity, education, railways, medicine, and commerce. Above all, however, they were making money, and in this lecture you learn about the 19th-century debate over the ethics and economics of empire. x
  • 23
    The British Empire Fights Imperial Germany
    Follow the First World War from the perspective of Britain's colonies as you track the participation of colonial populations, the role of the colonies in providing necessary supplies, and the impact of the war on the empire itself. x
  • 24
    Versailles and Disillusionment
    Learn how Britain and France secured the vengeful peace treaty they desired, circumventing Woodrow Wilson's Fourteen Points, which would have brought the European powers' colonial empires to an end. Nevertheless the war undermined British confidence in its imperial mission, even as independence movements began to arise in many colonies. x
  • 25
    Ireland Divided
    Return to Ireland and learn the history of its battle for self-government. You conclude with the 1922 creation of the Irish Free State and the loyalist North, and the ensuing civil war in the Free State between those who accepted partition and those who rejected it. x
  • 26
    Cricket and the British Empire
    Enjoy a fascinating look at the game that was both the sport of the British Empire and a metaphor for many of the ideals Britain saw itself spreading. Even as colonies struggled for independence, they often used cricket analogies to force the British to admit the contrast between their ideas of fair play and the harsh reality of their use of power. x
  • 27
    British India between the World Wars
    Follow the early career of Mohandas "Mahatma" Gandhi, as he led the struggle for independence. Although since World War I the British had conceded in principle the idea of eventual Indian self-government, they still retained all the apparatus of repression. x
  • 28
    World War II—England Alone
    Hamstrung by strong antiwar feelings after World War I, Britain began World War II woefully behind in munitions and research and development. Early defeats and a humiliating retreat from Dunkirk brought Winston Churchill to the premiership with a grim determination to prevail. x
  • 29
    World War II—The Pyrrhic Victory
    Follow the progress of the war—the tide of which turned in 1942 with a British victory at El Alamein and an American victory over the Japanese at Midway. Despite the Allies' ultimate triumph, the 1945 election brought a jarring shock as Churchill was defeated and the new Labour government of Clement Attlee began to dismantle the empire. x
  • 30
    Twilight of the Raj
    Watch as India's long-awaited 1947 independence comes at a ghastly price: the death of a half-million people in Hindu and Muslim massacres before and after the historic date—and the assassination of Gandhi. x
  • 31
    Israel, Egypt, and the Suez Canal
    Learn how Britain's attempt to partition Israel and Palestine in 1948—a strategy unsuccessfully attempted in both Ireland and India—suffered a similar fate. See also how the Suez Crisis of 1956 demonstrated that Britain was no longer capable of unilateral imperial action. x
  • 32
    The Decolonization of Africa
    Although postwar Britain had once harbored hopes of preserving its African colonies in spite of India's and Israel's independence, the Suez crisis prompted a shift in policy. Britain began to offer early independence to its ill-prepared African colonies, with politicians from both major parties feeling they had no real alternative. x
  • 33
    The White Dominions
    Gain fresh insights into the 20th-century evolution of Canada, Australia, and New Zealand. All three countries tried to balance the increasing allure of America as their principal partner in questions of trade and defense against the sentiment, loyalty, and ethnic traditions that bound them to Britain. x
  • 34
    Britain after the Empire
    After World War II, Britain had to decide what its primary international partners would be once the empire had gone, choosing between its former colony—the United States—or the rest of Europe. See how Britain ultimately recognized the need to take its place in a Europe fast becoming commercially and politically united. x
  • 35
    Colonial and Postcolonial Literature
    Returning to the world of literature, learn how the literature of the 20th-century British Empire and its aftermath dealt in dramatic contrasts, passionate extremes, ideas about exoticism, and questions of divided loyalty. Professor Allitt offers several examples from some of Africa and India's finest writers, including Alan Paton, Chinua Achebe, Nadine Gordimer, V. S. Naipaul, and Salman Rushdie. x
  • 36
    Epitaph and Legacy
    An opportunity for added perspective: Was the British Empire just a disgraceful episode of greed, exploitation, and racism? Was it an unmatched achievement in the advancement of Western civilization? Or was it some potent combination of both? And what does that say about the nature of empires and the prospect that they will persist? x

Lecture Titles

Clone Content from Your Professor tab

What's Included

What Does Each Format Include?

Video DVD
Video Download Includes:
  • Download 36 video lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
DVD Includes:
  • 36 lectures on 6 DVDs
  • 144-page printed course guidebook
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps

What Does The Course Guidebook Include?

Video DVD
Course Guidebook Details:
  • 144-page printed course guidebook
  • Suggested readings
  • Questions to consider
  • Timeline

Enjoy This Course On-the-Go with Our Mobile Apps!*

  • App store App store iPhone + iPad
  • Google Play Google Play Android Devices
  • Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Tablet + Firephone
*Courses can be streamed from anywhere you have an internet connection. Standard carrier data rates may apply in areas that do not have wifi connections pursuant to your carrier contract.

Your professor

Patrick N. Allitt

About Your Professor

Patrick N. Allitt, Ph.D.
Emory University
Dr. Patrick N. Allitt is Cahoon Family Professor of American History at Emory University, where he has taught since 1988. The holder of a doctorate in history from the University of California, Berkeley, Professor Allitt-an Oxford University graduate-has also taught American religious history at Harvard Divinity School, where he was a Henry Luce Postdoctoral Fellow. He was the Director of Emory College's Center for Teaching...
Learn More About This Professor
Also By This Professor

Reviews

Rise and Fall of the British Empire is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 89.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Thorough, fair treatment, and pleasing to watch This gave me exactly what I was looking for - a thorough discussion of how the British empire came into being, and the factors relating to its decline. The professor has a very pleasant speaking style and manner. This course is of an older production. I took off one star because I felt the graphics could have been better: for example, more graphs of regions that were discussed. Many lectures are filled with quotations from people, thrown up on the screen. Although the quotes give depth and richness to the subject, they can be a bit boring visually. Besides being comprehensive, you get mini-histories of Canada, Australia, Ireland, India, and South Africa. The professor closely follows the supplied text, almost 95% of the time. And, although he appears to be reading the script sometimes, he frequently embellishes the (read) script. Quite honestly, I really prefer a presentation that closely follows the course guide book. The professor, I felt, was very fair in his treatment of the British. He highlights failings as well as successes. The lectures follow, in general, a chronological course, highlighting the important events and people that shaped policy and the evolution of the empire. He touches upon all aspects of the empire - including cricket and literature. I used the video presentation, and definitely prefer that medium. However, I think one could get most of the content by listening to the audio only presentation. If you look for sales, you can generally get the downloaded video courses for around $2 per lecture. I definitely enjoyed this course, and I definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a broad, but fairly in depth review of the subject.
Date published: 2017-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Huge Undertaking, One of a Kind Course. This course is the only one that attempts to look at the British Empire as a whole, which is an extremely ambitious undertaking. The British Empire was huge, and covered colonies in North America, Africa, Asia, The Middle East, Oceania, Ireland and more! A history could be written about the interaction of the British Empire and any one of these colonies. A history could be written not just of the British Empire in Africa, but of the British Empire in South Africa specifically or the British Empire in Egypt specifically. So when other reviewers say that this overview is lacking in details, they are absolutely right. To go into detail, would require full books worth of material for EACH colony. Just the exploits of Britain in India would be several books. No. This is not a detailed history. This is an overview, and it may be the only audio course that covers the British Empire as a whole. This is a very important perspective as it makes it clear that the empire grew not with a plan, but much more haphazardly and for different reasons in different areas. This is just not a perspective you would get if you looked at the extended history of Britain and the American Colonies, or Britain and Rhodesia. Given that, if specific colonies interest you, then by all means seek a more detailed history. I already have several areas that I'd love to check out in more detail. And I thank this course for bringing them to my attention.
Date published: 2017-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great overview - valuable context and perspective. Interesting to both laypeople and students of Empires - Alitt's course presents a 'balanced' view of both the Rise and the Fall of the British Empire. Alitt takes great pains to present dialogue concerning how the British people thought about and debated the issues of the day The presentation of this particular viewpoint was extremely helpful. Alitt uses numerous quotes (of the then current literature and political figures) to provide context and perspective about the boundary and shape of the particular debates. The coverage of the U.K.'s entrance into and participation within World Wars I and II felt "condensed" to me. Alitt's discussion of the transition of the U.K.'s former African colonies in the ate 1950's and 1960's was particularly insightful. I enjoyed this course and would recommend this course. Carl Gallozzi
Date published: 2017-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OUTSTANDING I find it connects all of the dots in my history education. Enlightening and one of the best historical investments I have ever made.
Date published: 2017-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good I listen to a lot of Great Courses, particularly the history courses. This course is very well-done and very educational. I particularly like the professor's style and approach. It is popular among some modern historians to viciously attack the British Empire without recognizing the good that it accomplished. The professor is not an apologist for the Empire. He recognizes the Empires faults; however, he does not allow the faults to overshadow the course. The professor recognizes both the good and the bad, successfully navigating a middle road that many historians find very difficult. He does a very good job of covering all of the major areas of British settlement and reflecting on how the Empire was acquired, the impact that the British made in the area and the lasting legacy (for good and evil). On a related note, this course was produced in 2008. I would be really interested in hearing an additional lecture on the professor's thoughts about the impact of Brexit. It's not often that a history course needs to be updated, but this one could benefit from a second edition.
Date published: 2017-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent course on fascinating period of history. The British Empire touched almost all areas of the world and set the stage for much of what it is today. The professor was born in England and educated at Oxford. His crisp British accent helps draw you in to the Empire even more. He is pretty scrupulous about avoiding judgemental commentary on this history which many times tempts you in that direction.
Date published: 2017-03-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Much more pro-British than I expected Except for a few sections that were heavy with military detail, I found this an entertaining and informative course. I especially enjoyed the sections on Canada, Australia, South Africa, the game of cricket and post-colonial literature. However, I was very surprised at the extent to which the professor justifies British empire building as a morally decent endeavor, at the paucity of source material from the non-British, non-white subjugated peoples and the degree to which the descriptions of events come mainly from the British point of view. For example, because I'd learned the story of Captain Cook's death in 1779 from the Hawaiian point of view, I was startled to hear him portrayed as a fair-minded hero. From the Hawaiian perspective, he was nasty, ill-tempered, brutal and brought on his own death from his behavior - quite a difference from the positive way he was portrayed in this course. There were only a few points in the course where we hear first-hand from those who suffered because of Britain's empire building. For example, the professor quotes from Olaudah Equiano about the horrors of being captured into slavery. Such quotes come mainly from British-educated colonials, including Gandhi. The professor seems to feel that empire building is in itself a morally neutral endeavor and can only be appropriately judged by whether it left people better or worse off, and he rates the British empire as on the whole a very good thing. This seems wacky to me, but of course you can make up your own mind on this point. He also acts as a cheerleader for capitalism, which again might be a positive or negative for you. While there were several passages where the professor's British personal history added an interesting and helpful dimension to the course, I feel that the course was more tainted by his pro-British beliefs and narratives than I thought was appropriate. It would be interesting to read up on alternate views of the Empire - but I don't feel we were given very many clues about how or where to do that.
Date published: 2016-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite course This course was a pure pleasure to listen to, and I was sorry when it was over. Patrick Allitt is a teacher of rare ability, knowledge and charm. I found the course to be extraordinarily informative and engrossing. Even though I am Canadian by birth his coverage of Canada and of its history within the Empire was a revelation to me. I especially appreciated his balance--in spite of the anti-colonialist zeitgeist, and the flaws of the empire (which he does not whitewash), he gives equal coverage to the benefits the Empire conferred on its peoples--such as the long duty the Royal Navy served of patrolling the waters of Liberia in order to protect that nation of liberated slaves. Not to be missed also is the delightful lecture on the importance of cricket in cementing the ties of Empire.
Date published: 2016-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for commuting to work I really enjoyed this course during my daily commute. The british accent and the subjective insights was inspiring. Content is fine (who am I to know any better) but I felt academically entertained throughout the course.
Date published: 2016-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rise and Fall of the British Empire Being born, raised and educated in the Britain of the 1940's to 60's this course brought back fond memories of school history lessons and then memories of the decolonization period before and after emigrating to Canada in the late 60's. An excellent, well presented course.
Date published: 2016-08-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fell Below Expectations There were arguably two British Empires. Version 1.0 (1607-1776) centered on the Atlantic Ocean, sought to exclude other countries’ trade with its colonial possessions, and promoted plantation slavery. Version 2.0 (1833-c. 1960) centered on both Atlantic and Indian Oceans, favored global free trade and sought to suppress the slave trade and then slavery itself. This version protected the independence of Spain’s former colonies in Latin America while making formal colonies of South Asia and British Africa and fostering semi-autonomous “white Dominions” in Canada, Australia and New Zealand. In between was a transitional period (1776-1833) in which the Empire lost most of North America (i.e. the U.S.) and conquered India while turning against slavery. Britain peacefully gave up its Empire after WWII because it cost more than it was worth, unlike the French, who insisted on fighting it out in Vietnam and Algeria, and the Portuguese, in Angola, Mozambique and Guinea-Bissau. I found this course disappointing for a number of reasons. Professor Allitt begins the course with no overall interpretive framework, immediately diving right into a historical narrative that focuses mostly on territorial gains and losses to the empire, with emphasis on the role of great men. So there is little discussion of the empire’s relationship to the rise of global capitalism, except for mentioning the Bank of England. There are no comparisons to other European empires. There is also nothing on imperial administration, whether at the periphery (indigenous leaders, colonial agents and governors) or at the center in London (Board of Trade and Plantations and the later Colonial Office). At this level the history of the British Empire becomes, as the saying goes, just one d****d thing after another. Although Allitt devotes a lecture to the Irish famine of the 1840s, he skips over the great famines of late 19th and early 20th century India that killed far great numbers of people and must stand at the top of any indictment of the Empire. For more on this topic, one can watch Simon Schama’s “History of Britain” documentary series or read Mike Davis’s Late Victorian Holocausts. I also found his adherence to the view that the British attacked slavery merely out of humanitarian motives old-fashioned and naïve. Now the course does have some good points. It is useful for those who don’t know much about British imperial history, especially the white dominions. There are some strong topical lectures that persuaded me to keep the course rather than return it: Lecture 22 (on 19th century economics and theories of empire); Lectures 21 and 35 (on imperial and postcolonial literature); and Lecture 26 (on cricket). I also like Professor Allitt’s effective use of quotations from historians and historical actors themselves. So if you want to learn about the British Empire, feel free to buy this course, but with the knowledge that it could have been better.
Date published: 2016-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my favorites I have heard all of the TGC courses on England and found them all to be some of the most fascinating and well taught courses within the TGC library of courses. This course continues this tradition. The course is primarily narrative, following the evolution of the huge expanse of all of the different territories that eventually came to be ruled under Britain. There are many analytical threads, however, including the important and interesting analysis of how British thought of this empire as it evolved when Britain was becoming more and more dominated by liberal ideas. How could Britain justify its attainment of wealth through slave trading or through (forced) Opium trading to China? These were plaguing questions to the British, and they forced many reforms to take place, including total abolition of the salve trade and allowance of local rule in many of their territories (though not all). This topic is not treated as a central theme in any other course in the TGC (at least none that I am aware of), and for me it was definitely worth the time and effort to hear it considering the central role that England played in world history in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Much of the success of Britain during this era was made possible through the establishment of this empire. Professor Allitt emphasizes that it was different from other empires in the course of history: it was based on trade; in fact, its main purpose was to insure that British trade could prosper. The British, at least initially, were not that interested in direct rule of foreign peoples. Professor Allitt emphasizes time and again that the empire was not really planned from the beginning, and it basically grew of its own inertia because of several qualities that were peculiar to Britain: its massive navy, its relatively solid financial infrastructure, its dominant industrial innovation, and its relatively mature political mechanisms which enabled rational (if sometimes cynical) exploitation of opportunity. Certainly it had better tools for developing such an empire than most of its European competitors (the Dutch serve as an interesting example in this respect, as they also developed a relatively strong trading empire). I have now heard all of Professor Allitt’s courses in the TGC centering on Britain: “The industrial revolution”, “Victorian Britain” and this current one. I think he is definitely one of its best presenters. All of his courses feel extremely unrushed and are filled with many examples that manifest the points, attacking it from many different perspectives; some of them really quite creative and thought provoking. One method he uses a lot is to read from contemporary sources of how people saw the point he was discussing at the time. These can be newspaper articles, poems, excerpts from novels and so forth. I found these to often give very interesting and surprising perspectives. The courses do not feel rushed, and yet all of the ground is eventually covered, and the analysis is quite deep in my opinion. I found the presentation style to be very pleasant and conversational. He does not hesitate to give his own opinions, and these always struck me as fair-minded and to manifest lots of common sense. Particularly, this goes for the most important point of criticism in the course on how we should judge this British Empire and if indeed we can from our perspective today…My one point of criticism, and it is not such a trivial one, is that there is a huge amount of overlap between his courses on British history. Many lectures are simply repeated in all three courses or in at least two. While I found this inefficient and a bit irritating, in fairness I do not see how you can talk about the British Empire without discussing Victorian Britain or aspects of the Industrial revolution. The topics seem to be deeply entangled. Perhaps the only solution would have been to combine all three courses to one big course. Overall this has been a delightful, fascinating and important course for me and I am very glad I decided to hear it…
Date published: 2016-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the rise and fall of the british empire the british empire has been so detramental to the course of history that this is a must course (no pun intended). i am in awe at the ability to summorize a few centuries to 36 lectures sans bias, but here it is! i also loved the "anacdotal" info here and there that made the course so user friendly and broke the constant need to follow the plot (the one that comes to mind is the gift toroise and clive). another probably unintended "gift" was the fact that profs. alitt sounded so much like the great and talented actor tim pigott smith. the only issue, and a small one i may add, is that prof. allitt sounded like he was reading and losing his line here and there. none the less, it did not deterr me from wanting to relish in more of what he had to say. well done.
Date published: 2015-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My son convinced me This was one of my favorite courses among the many I have taken thus far. I won't repeat what other reviewers have said so well, but I will simply agree that it was both fascinating and entertaining, thought-provoking and fast-moving. Even more than other courses, however, this one provided a wealth of crystallized knowledge that is simply essential if one is to have more than just a passing understanding of the last three centuries of Western Civilization. Upon realizing the larger importance of the course's content, I required that my 12-year-old son (a budding history buff) listen to it, so that at least he could get a jump on things. Although he normally resists anything I "require" (if only for that reason), this time I heard no complaints. Shortly thereafter, when I attended his debate competitions, I began to notice facts and historical examples from this course sprinkled in his arguments. And not long after that, I found that my son actually remembered the contents of the course more clearly than I did. All of this convinced me that, not only is this among the very best of the Great Courses, it is one of the extremely small number of courses that I know I will find myself enjoying over again in the near future. How many times can one honestly say that about a series of lectures?
Date published: 2015-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent to Learn About the British Empire This course is an excellent course, especially those outside of English, to learn about the British Empire from its creations to its eventual demise. Professor Allitt presents the history of the British Empire in a logical and understandable manner. Not only does Professor Allitt describe the actions and results, he also explains the driving factors and the resultant consequences of the actions undertaken. The history classes on the American Revolution that I had during my childhood only portrayed the conflict from the colonies’ point of view. However, there are two sides to any conflict. It was very enlightening to have some of England’s point of view and England’s associated issues. For example, even though the American colonies were complaining about taxes to the crown, the taxes paid by the populace of England were many times higher than the amount being paid by the colonists. None of my past history courses had mentioned this interesting bit of information. I have not had a good understanding of the history of Ireland. In lecture 25, Professor Allitt provides a good explanation of the situation which was called in those days “the Irish Question”. I now have a much better understand of Ireland, its development, and evolution to the modern day. As an American, one aspect of British life that I never understood is the game of cricket. Some of the British TV shows and movies that I watch include a cricket game but I never understood what has happening. However, Professor Allitt’s lecture #26 provided me with a basic understanding of the game of cricket and its importance to the culture of the British Empire. Professor Allitt also provided a nice “rule of thumb” about the countries which were part of the British Empire. – if they play cricket in that country then that country was a one time a part of the British Empire.
Date published: 2015-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thouroughly enjoyed this course Professor Allitt has done it again. His love of his topics and his presentation style make him a professor that I go back to each time I see a course by him. One point he makes in this course, which I value, is to not judge an event by the outcome or by today's standards, but rather to judge it by what was known or going on at the time of the event. [I use this concept in my personal life when I look back at some of the things I did when I was much younger.] Other reviewers have commented that the lectures sometimes ended rather abruptly. I appreciated this as Professor Allitt did not waste even a millisecond of time on "what I'm going to tell you in this lecture," or "what I told you in this lecture," or "what I'm going to tell you in the next lecture." So back to the course itself. Professor Allitt takes us through the many stages of colonization -- from trade to colonization to maintenance to decolonization -- of many of Britian's major holdings around the world. He does not cover each of the colonies in depth but does give us an idea of the entire process. Because of the structure of the course #as above# he does seem to jump around a lot. Some found this disturbing but I did not. While his Course notes are sparse, his timeline and bibliography are exemplary. With nine pages of bibliography one could keep busy for a lifetime reading more in depth of the topics covered. I know I will look for many of these books to read further. Thank you, Professor Allitt, for giving me a means to flesh out what you could not possibly cover 36 lectures.
Date published: 2014-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from British history outside the British Isles I should begin by saying that I bought the AUDIO version of this course, so I am judging it on that basis alone. Many of the negative comments in these reviews have to do with the VIDEO version, but I did not have the same kind of response whilst just listening to Prof. Allitt. (I used “whilst” out of respect for our British instructor.) This is my third course from Prof. Allitt, all of which were in audio version, and all of which were enjoyable and informative. If you have studied English History, this course makes a fine supplement, because it focuses on what was going on OUTSIDE England, in the various places where Britons ruled and conducted their business. You’ll spend time in China, India, Africa, Ireland, North America, the Middle East, and the Antipodes, learning how these places came under the influence (and eventual rule) of the British. Prof. Allitt grew up in the UK at a time when students were still taught to respect the Empire, and his positive attitude shows. However, he is not afraid to point out the failures and questionable practices that have fired up critics of imperialism. The strictly historical lectures are spiced up by “sidebar” topics such as the literature of the Empire, and the spread of the game of cricket. Because the focus is geographical rather than chronological, there is some jumping back and forth in time, but that would have been hard to avoid in a course like this. The Prof spices up his own words with well-chosen quotations from authors and historical figures. This is an excellent overview of the topic, shedding light not only on Britain but on the other European powers who ruled the globe in past centuries.
Date published: 2013-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Compelling presentation Loved the content, the presentation and the accent. Interesting to hear British perspective on their history, including the intersections with our own (American) history.
Date published: 2013-10-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Enormous Content, Difficult to Follow Professor Allitt is an engaging lecturer with a satisfying accent, given the course material. He covers an incredible amount of ground in English european history, English eastern colonial history, and English western colonial history. The problems lie in the amount of material, and the structure of the presentations. Allitt focuses on each colonial territory as time advances, which resulted in jumbled dates, perspectives, and to me, quite a bit of confusion. It was difficult to follow as a relatively linear story, and seemed like watching three documentaries on three televisions at the same time. If you can handle the regional and chronological transitions, it's a fascinating lecture that covers more information than I could hope to remember. This reminded me of a true college course, though without the benefit of hundreds of pages of required supplemental reading to make the pieces all fit together. Good, but not great. Value takes into account sale purchase price.
Date published: 2013-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most interesting teacher Dr. Allitt is one of my favorite speakers for TTC. He is very fair to all sides when presenting an event. I normally listen to one lecture a day, but with this course I could not stop with one. If you are interested in modern history, this comes highly recommended.
Date published: 2013-02-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Please Do Over I have purchased over 20 courses from the company and this is by far the worst one I have encountered. Dr. Allitt is so uncomfortable in front of the camera and with the teleprompter that is painful to watch. He is quite boring as he corrects his wording and only seems at home reading from quotations. I'm sure he knows his subject well but his presentation is awful and needs to be redone. He is confusing and waviers as to facts and how to best present them. Dr. Hazen, please watch this course and see what you think as you should help this gentleman so he can be better prepared for the task he has under taken.
Date published: 2013-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Course I have listened to dozens of Teaching Company courses. Most I have enjoyed, and some I have considered really excellent. This is, however, my favorite to date. I was a little dubious about whether the subject would be interesting enough; it sounded a bit dry. But in fact the history of the British Empire is a window into three centuries of world history. I find Allitt's speaking style to be clear and engaging; the lectures are fully scripted but not at all monotone or routinized. I particularly like the way Allitt presents history as a combination of large socio-political forces and individual personalities. His biographical sketches are my favorite parts, but he also doesn't lose the forest for the trees. Highly recommended!
Date published: 2013-02-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Good idea ... but ... The professor seems to be knowledgeable and the course content is excellent. I ,however, could not finish the course because I could not concentrate. This is the first time this happens to me with over 12 courses I have bought from the Teaching Company. Maybe it is that I cannot deal with the proffessor's english accent or maybe I dont like the way he presents the material. Maybe he speaks too fast. I just couldn't deal with it. If you have problems with english accents, beware before buying.
Date published: 2012-12-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Good Start, but... I will begin with the "PRO'S" Very good broad overview of a large portion of world history. The professor was well spoken, clear and interesting. The fact that he was English also provided a good perspective though he never allowed his personal opinion to cloud the history. The overall flow of the series covered the high points, while touching on some of the factors leading to major transitions in the Empire. "CONS" Some of the lectures end very abruptly. As if the professor hit the bottom of the page and gave you the feeling of a hard landing instead of a soft transition from topic to topic. This is not fault of the series but I felt the course was still too vague. After listening to other lectures that covered many reaching portions of history I felt more details were needed to really grasp the history. Also, some of the teachers modern thoughts on British History fail to show some of the real challenges facing modern England. One has to only look at England today to draw some conclusions of failed policies, which the professor did not elaborate on. In conclusion this is a good lecture and is probably a 3 1/2 star lecture but there needs to be a second edition with more attention to detail. If "TGC" wants they could easily subdivide this series with more attention to the British Empire in India, Asia, Africa, etc...This would be well worth the purchase if the chose to do so.
Date published: 2012-07-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed I agree with musashi09's evaluation of "Dry as Toast". I cannot possibly critique the content (I ordered to course because I had a very limited knowledge of the topic and was eager to increase that base) as to accuracy. I do know that listening to the audio version became more an act of will than a pleasure. I felt as though I was hearing a very structured recitation of facts which seemed to all be weighted similarly as to import....better than a grocery list but lacking in excitement or spark I have observed in other courses.
Date published: 2012-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent job Professor Allitt did an excellent job. I've listened to over a dozen TC history courses. They were all very good, but this is one is in the top two or three. On a side note, Professor Allitt's prediction that the UK would join the euro zone is a bit off.
Date published: 2012-07-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mediocre Once again, I find myself in the minority. Allitt provides an adequate narrative account, but he's far too superficial--far too much reliance on anecdote, not nearly enough effort to explore context or structure. There are many better ways to get a grip on the British empire.
Date published: 2012-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Course Being English himself, Professor Allitt might be forgiven for being slightly prejudiced toward the good side of the British Empire, which he is. Yet he does not shy away at all from reporting the many atrocities it committed along with the very real benefits it often brought, eventually, to backward and barbaric peoples. The Empire's leading role in eliminating slavery from most of the earth was among the latter. Overall, I found the course balanced, very informative, and very interesting. His description of the American Revolution from the British perspective was fascinating, and certainly unlike anything any American high school student, or adult voter, ever hears.
Date published: 2012-04-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Britain from a different perspective. I frequently travel to England and find it helpful to have more than a casual knowledge of my host country. This course is a big help. Most history of England and the British Empire approach the subject chronologically by ruler. Professor Allitt takes a broader and more helpful view by treating the Empire as a political continuum. I find that names and dates are easily forgotten; causes and concepts seem to make more sense. For this reason I found this course to be both interesting and instructive.
Date published: 2012-04-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Some Refining Would Be Beneficial This series of lectures covers the whole history of the British Empire from its inception in the 16th century to Mrs. Thatcher’s Falkland’s war. The breadth of the topics covered is at once an asset and a liability. It is indeed quite enjoyable to listen about India in one lecture, Africa in the next and Ireland in the third. Clearly, however, Professor must rely on a limited number of sources for each lecture. In the case of 19th Canadian century, for instance, this leads to serious misinformation. It is not even hinted that Canada was not yet industrialized what led a very sizeable portion of its population to emigrate to the United States, a phenomenon emphasized by the fact that French-speakers and Catholics in general were discouraged from settling in the Canadian Prairies. Although there are definitely some repetitions from one lecture to another and that a whole (superfluous) chapter is devoted to cricket and another two to literature, there are strange omissions. Newfoundland, the oldest colony is hardly mentioned if at all. The same applies to the Bahamas, Barbados, Jamaica, Bermuda, Gibraltar, Cyprus, etc. This series, certainly not as well done as ‘Victorian Britain’ by the same lecturer, can sadly not be recommended in its current state. Those interested are advised to wait for a second edition that will be riper and better balanced.
Date published: 2012-03-13
  • y_2019, m_6, d_18, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_82
  • loc_en_US, sid_8480, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 68.93ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Customers Who Bought This Course Also Bought

Buy together as a Set
and
Save Up To $17.00
Choose a Set Format
$137.90