Shape of Nature

Course No. 1460
Professor Satyan L. Devadoss, Ph.D.
Williams College
Share This Course
4 out of 5
50 Reviews
66% of reviewers would recommend this product
Course No. 1460
Video Streaming Included Free

Course Overview

How do you measure the size of a black hole? The motion of individual particles at the subatomic level? The possible shape of space-time itself? In short: How do you mathematically describe the world around you? The answer lies in the fascinating ways mathematicians use geometry and topology to study and understand the shape of nature, whether leaf formations, DNA entanglements, or quantum fields. Mysterious, complex, and undeniably captivating, the study of the shape of nature lies at the forefront of current research in both mathematics and science. What's more: It's provided us with previously unimaginable scientific and technological advances, including our ability to:

Read genetic data to better determine the relationships between species; Closely study how proteins are built through the intricate process of folding; Model and predict wind currents around the globe; Map the seemingly random terrain of vast mountain ranges; Develop facial recognition software for cameras and high-level security systems; and Design and improve the way that robots move and behave.

While the mathematics involved in the study of shapes and nature is important to how we grasp and live in the world, it remains a mystery to many of us. But these concepts and ideas are not completely inaccessible. All you need is the right guide and an engaging way to approach the subject—both of which are available in The Shape of Nature. This visually stunning course is your authoritative guide to the mathematical shapes around us: how they're formed, how they're studied, and how they're applied to our everyday lives.

In 36 lectures, you'll discover the intricate relationship between mathematics and nature, get a pointed introduction to the language mathematicians use to study shapes and dimensions, and learn how to finally make sense of this abstract—yet undeniably intriguing—subject. And it's all brought to you by award-winning Professor Satyan L. Devadoss of Williams College, a dynamic instructor with an abiding and contagious passion for the worlds of geometry and topology. His clear and engaging presentation style, accompanied with eye-catching animations and graphics, will make your journey into the world of shapes both insightful and unforgettable.

Explore Fascinating Shapes

The vibrant heart of The Shape of Nature lies in its spirited exploration of the world of shapes. And the secret to understanding how shapes are created and how they work involves two powerful mathematical fields:

Geometry, the ancient discipline that focuses on quantitative notions such as the length, area, and volume of a particular shape

Topology, the modern field that focuses on qualitative notions such as connectivity, underlying structures, and the relationships between shapes.

After an engaging introduction to these two fields and their critical role in understanding shapes, Professor Devadoss takes you deep into the four main categories of shapes. Each category occupies its own particular dimension, has its own unique characteristics, and plays an important role in the worlds of physics, biology, and chemistry.

Knots: Begin your journey by learning about the simplest of shapes, the knot. Defined as circles placed in 3-D, knots appear throughout the world in DNA, in string theory, in knotted molecules, and in genetic mutations. These shapes serve as a jumping-off point from which you examine other simple shapes, including tangles, braids, and links.

Surfaces: Surfaces are the most common shapes in nature; essentially everything you see is the surface of some object, and these shapes are involved in everything from origami designs to wind flows to colored patterns on animals. Among the surfaces you study in this group of lectures are spheres, the five Platonic solids (the tetrahedron, cube, octahedron, dodecahedron, and icosahedron), the Klein bottle, and the projective plane.

Manifolds: Also known as 3-manifolds, these shapes are fascinating 3-D objects that can be finite or infinite in volume; can have boundaries or be without them; and can be orientable or non-orientable. As you move through these beautiful and complex shapes, you learn how to build them using simple operations such as multiplication and gluing and discover how they are instrumental in understanding the topology of the universe itself.

Higher dimensions: Leave the comfort of three dimensions and enter worlds that stretch our imagination. The 4-D polytopes are considered higher-dimensional analogs to the Platonic solids, including the famous 120-cell polytope (made of dodecahedra), the 600-cell polytope (made of tetrahedra), and the associahedron—the most influential shape of the last 25 years. Then move to arbitrary dimensions and enter the inner workings of particle collisions, robotic motions, genetic evolution, and more; even fractals and chaos theory make an appearance.

With each of these categories, you learn methods for building these shapes, the ways they relate to one another, the important theorems and ideas that advanced our understanding of how they look, and more. Professor Devadoss, an expert at making the theoretical practical, takes care to guide you through this challenging and rewarding mathematical territory with detailed explanations, stunning examples, in-studio demonstrations, and helpful summaries, so that while the shapes are challenging and require a deep interest in mathematics, you'll never feel overwhelmed by what you're learning.

Discover New Mathematical Ideas and Tools

Because The Shape of Nature tackles pioneering concepts in mathematics, it also serves as a powerful introduction to the revolutionary ideas and tools that modern mathematicians use to understand and work with shapes. In addition to helping you make sense of concepts such as equivalence, isotopy, and homeomorphism, Professor Devadoss demonstrates some of the many intriguing theorems and devices that have vastly expanded our understanding of shapes and the natural world.

These include:

The Poincaré conjecture, the milestone in mathematical thought that helps mathematicians distinguish spheres from other manifolds;

Voronoi diagrams, which aid in analyzing and interpreting the areas of influence that emerge from clusters of objects known as point clouds;

The Jones polynomial, a powerful polynomial that, so far, has been able to distinguish any knot from the unknot and is related to the ideas in string theory;

The Seifert algorithm, a famous algorithm that, using any given knot, is able to build an orientable surface whose boundary is that knot; and

Dehn surgery, a method of cutting, twisting, and gluing manifolds to form new ones.

Learning about the techniques involved in the study of nature's shapes will not only give you a thorough grasp of the world of topology, it will round out your understanding of the mathematical world by introducing you to the mathematical issues and concepts of the last quarter-century.

Enter a World of Mathematical Mystery

What makes The Shape of Nature so engrossing and accessible despite the complexity of its subject matter is the undeniable passion and teaching skills of Professor Devadoss. Adept at bringing to life the fascinating world of shapes and explaining the mathematics behind them, he makes each lecture a joy to listen to. In addition, the eye-grabbing animations and visual demonstrations that flavor these lectures—many crafted by Professor Devadoss himself—bring the multidimensional wonders of the world to vivid life.

"It's amazing how much nature holds in her mysteries," Professor Devadoss remarks with his characteristic excitement and enthusiasm. And by the concluding lecture of The Shape of Nature, as you bring to a close your journey through this mathematical territory rarely charted for the average individual, you'll undoubtedly find yourself nodding in agreement.

Hide Full Description
36 lectures
 |  Average 31 minutes each
  • 1
    Understanding Nature
    Start your investigation with this introductory lecture that gives you an overview of the course, explains the critical importance of studying shapes at all scales of nature, and reveals why mathematics is the key to understanding these complexities. x
  • 2
    The Language of Shapes
    Discover why geometry and topology (the study of shapes through their relationships) are the best mathematical tools for grasping the shape of nature. Also, explore two important and recurring concepts: equivalence and dimension. x
  • 3
    Knots and Strings
    Knots and strings appear almost everywhere in nature: in chemistry (as knotted molecules), in biology (as the shape of DNA), and much more. In addition to examining strings, learn how three mathematical moves—known as the Reidmeister moves—allow us to study a knot's 2-D projection without altering the knot itself. x
  • 4
    Creating New Knots from Old
    Learn how to manipulate knots through addition and why the subtraction of knots is impossible. Then, see how two classic knot invariants—properties assigned to knots that don't change with deformation—play roles in two of knot theory's biggest unsolved problems. x
  • 5
    DNA Entanglement
    Two or more knots tangled together are called links. Professor Devadoss introduces you to fascinating examples of links (such as the Borromean rings), as well as two tools used to measure their different aspects: the linking number (the amount two knots are tangled) and the writhe (how twisted an individual knot is). x
  • 6
    The Jones Revolution
    Create from scratch the Jones polynomial, a powerful invariant that assigns not a number but an entire polynomial to any knot. As you construct the Jones polynomial, you gain insight into how mathematicians attack complex problems and the critical role of algebra in differentiating knots and links. x
  • 7
    Symmetries of Molecules
    One of the broadest issues in the study of shapes is symmetry. Investigate why the Jones polynomial is beautifully designed to help us examine the mirror images of knots, and how chemists use this power in their work with molecular compounds and topological stereoisomers. x
  • 8
    The Messy Business of Tangles and Mutations
    Move from the world of chemistry to the world of biology; specifically, the structure of DNA. Here, uncover how tangles—parts of a projection of a knot or link around a circle crossing it exactly four times—allow scientists to explore and discuss genetic mutation from a mathematical point of view. x
  • 9
    Braids and the Language of Groups
    Braiding is one of the oldest forms of pattern making and one of the most basic shapes related to knots and tangles. Learn how the concept of a group—one of the most important algebraic structures in mathematics—is a key tool for understanding the deeper structure of braids. x
  • 10
    Platonic Solids and Euler's Masterpiece
    Turn from one-dimensional shapes to two-dimensional shapes with this illuminating look at surfaces: the most important of all shapes. This lecture focuses on the five Platonic solids—the tetrahedron, cube, octahedron, dodecahedron, and icosahedron—as well as the impact of Euler's formula on the study of these and other polyhedra. x
  • 11
    Surfaces and a New Notion of Equivalence
    You've learned how to compare and distinguish knots—but how can you study surfaces? Motivated by an intriguing question about the Earth, explore the notion of homeomorphism (similarity of form) and discover why mathematics is not the study of objects but of the relationships between them. x
  • 12
    Reaching Boundaries and Losing Orientations
    Explore the wildest surfaces in topology: those that are non-orientable and possessing only one side. Professor Devadoss demonstrates how to build surfaces of any genus from gluing together simple polygons, shows how to classify every possible homeomorphically equivalent surface imaginable, and more. x
  • 13
    Knots and Surfaces
    Using your newfound understanding of surfaces, attack problems about knots. Is there an invariant of the genus of a surface? If so, how do you find it? How does addition make knotting more complicated? What are the distinctions between classic mutant knots? x
  • 14
    Wind Flows and Currents
    Turn back to the Earth and study more about its properties, this time focusing on how wind flows along its surface. Investigate how the relationship between vector fields and shapes helps us model the flow of wind and uncover the properties of how wind currents behave. x
  • 15
    Curvature and Gauss's Geometric Gem
    Curvature is one of the most important geometric notions ever discovered. Here, learn what it means for curves and surfaces to have curvature, and encounter the profound Gauss-Bonnet theorem, which shows that there is a deep relationship between the curvature of rigid geometrical surfaces and the flexible surfaces of topology. x
  • 16
    Playing with Scissors and Polygons
    Get a taste of discrete geometry in this lecture on its building block: the polygon. See how scissors congruency (when smaller pieces of one polygon can be rearranged to form another polygon) helps us grasp the perplexing shapes and designs found in the natural world. x
  • 17
    Bending Chains and Folding Origami
    Instead of cutting and gluing, focus on the problem of folding. In this lecture, explore how folding works in both the one-dimensional world (through linkages that can be seen in protein folding and robot motion) and the two-dimensional world (through origami, which is found in plant leaves and package design). x
  • 18
    Cauchy's Rigidity and Connelly's Flexibility
    Move from folding to the opposite side of the spectrum: rigidity. Here, Professor Devadoss leads a guided tour of Cauchy's Rigidity Theorem—which states that a convex polyhedron with rigid faces and flexible edges cannot be deformed—and Robert Connelly's result about the existence of flexible polyhedra. x
  • 19
    Mountain Terrains and Surface Reconstruction
    How can polygons help us approximate the geography of our planet? Find out the answer in this lecture on how graphing triangulations made from terrain data (in the form of point clouds) allow us to actually reconstruct mountain ranges and other large-scale terrains of the Earth. x
  • 20
    Voronoi's Regions of Influence
    Voronoi diagrams (regions of influence that emanate from two-dimensional point clouds) are useful for planning cities and studying populations, rainfall, and cell growth. Explore a powerful method for constructing these diagrams and discover the intriguing relationship that Voronoi diagrams have with triangulations. x
  • 21
    Convex Hulls and Computational Complexity
    Given a point set, the convex hull is the smallest convex set that contains the point set. Study how to compute the convex hull; use it to understand the similarities and differences in the ways mathematicians and computer scientists think; and examine what happens when this idea is pushed into data points in three dimensions. x
  • 22
    Patterns and Colors
    Investigate a series of theorems underlying the structure of patterns and the topology of coloring on both planes and spheres through an engaging question: If two adjacent countries on a map must have different colors, how many colors are needed to successfully color the map? x
  • 23
    Orange Stackings and Bubble Partitions
    What's the most efficient way to pack identical spheres as tightly as possible within a given space? What's the best way to partition space into regions of equal volume with the least surface area between them? Delve into the world of geometric optimization: geometry problems that deal with getting the most out of a situation. x
  • 24
    The Topology of the Universe
    Embark on your first full adventure into the three-dimensional realm with this lecture on 3-D objects known as manifolds. With an understanding of how to build manifolds through the familiar tool of multiplication, you'll be able to better grasp some of the possible shapes of our universe. x
  • 25
    Tetrahedra and Mathematical Surgery
    Explore in detail three different ways to construct all the possible shapes in the universe: gluing together the sides of some polyhedron; gluing together the boundaries of two solid surfaces (also known as handlebodies); and cutting and gluing knot and link complements (a process known as Dehn surgery). x
  • 26
    The Fundamental Group
    Look at one of the greatest and most useful invariants that assigns an algebraic group structure to shapes: the fundamental group. Also, get an introduction to a new form of equivalence—homotopy—that helps define the elements of this group, and learn how to calculate some fundamental groups of simple surfaces. x
  • 27
    Poincaré's Question and Perelman's Answer
    Now apply your newfound knowledge of the fundamental group to knots and 3-manifolds, specifically the 3-sphere. Bringing these concepts together, Professor Devadoss takes you through the greatest problem in the history of topology: the Poincaré conjecture, whose recent solution became a milestone in mathematical thought. x
  • 28
    The Geometry of the Universe
    Enter the world of space-time, the four-dimensional universe we inhabit that is bound by Einstein's revolutionary theories. As you look at the cosmos through a geometric lens, you learn how our understanding of two-dimensional and three-dimensional geometries grew and how these ideas were woven into Einstein's notions of special and general relativity. x
  • 29
    Visualizing in Higher Dimensions
    Venture into the frontiers of higher dimensions and discover how to understand them not only mathematically, but visually as well. How can colors and "movies" help you to actually see higher dimensions? What does the now-familiar concept of knots reveal about the powers of four dimensions? Uncover the eye-opening answers here. x
  • 30
    Polyhedra in Higher Dimensions
    Encounter two of the most famous polytopes (which describe polyhedra in arbitrary dimensions): the 120-cell made of dodecahedra and the 600-cell made of tetrahedra. Learn how to explore these fascinating objects and visualize them with Shlegel diagrams—a tool that lets us draw 4-D objects using 3-D tools. x
  • 31
    Particle Motions
    The key to grasping the world of higher dimensions, you'll find, can be based on simple notions such as particles moving back and forth along an interval. Here, use the language of a configuration space (a space containing all possible movements) and Shlegel diagrams to study particle motions on lines and circles. x
  • 32
    Particle Collisions
    Turn from particle motions to particle collisions. As you explore ways to manipulate and alter the configuration space of particles to study these collisions, you'll find yourself coming face to face with the associahedron—the most famous and influential polyhedron of the last 25 years. x
  • 33
    Evolutionary Trees
    What happens when you apply the idea of configuration spaces to theoretical biology and the study of genetics? In this lecture, learn how techniques of higher-dimensional study—in the form of phylogenetic "tree" structures—help reveal the relationship between certain organisms based on their genetic data. x
  • 34
    Chaos and Fractals
    Take a brief, enlightening excursion into the mysterious worlds of chaos theory and fractals. A highlight of this lecture: Professor Devadoss's engaging explanations of famous fractals such as the Sierpinski Triangle (a fractal built from infinite removals) and Koch's Snowflake (a fractal built from infinite additions). x
  • 35
    Reclaiming Leonardo da Vinci
    Many people believe that mathematics has always been connected with the sciences, not the humanities. Dispel that notion with this penultimate lecture that discusses how both iconic artists (like Leonardo and Dali) and contemporary artists (like Sol LeWitt and Julie Mehretu) push their masterpieces against the boundaries of shape. x
  • 36
    Pushing the Forefront
    Finish the course with a look back at all the fascinating mathematical territory you've charted in the previous 35 lectures. And as a final coda to The Shape of Nature, Professor Devadoss gives you a peek into what fruits current and future research in this revolutionary field may yield. x

Lecture Titles

Clone Content from Your Professor tab

What's Included

What Does Each Format Include?

Video DVD
Instant Video Includes:
  • Download 36 video lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
DVD Includes:
  • 36 lectures on 6 DVDs
  • 120-page printed course guidebook
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps

What Does The Course Guidebook Include?

Video DVD
Course Guidebook Details:
  • 120-page printed course guidebook
  • Suggested readings
  • Questions to consider
  • Glossary

Enjoy This Course On-the-Go with Our Mobile Apps!*

  • App store App store iPhone + iPad
  • Google Play Google Play Android Devices
  • Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Tablet + Firephone
*Courses can be streamed from anywhere you have an internet connection. Standard carrier data rates may apply in areas that do not have wifi connections pursuant to your carrier contract.

Your professor

Satyan L. Devadoss

About Your Professor

Satyan L. Devadoss, Ph.D.
Williams College
Dr. Satyan L. Devadoss is Associate Professor of Mathematics at Williams College, where he has taught for more than eight years. Before joining the faculty of the Mathematics and Statistics Department at Williams, Professor Devadoss was a Ross Assistant Professor at The Ohio State University. He holds a Ph.D. in Mathematics from The Johns Hopkins University. Professor Devadoss has earned accolades for both his scholarship...
Learn More About This Professor
Also By This Professor

Reviews

Shape of Nature is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 50.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Torn I am torn. It is far easier to order a Great Course than it is to sit still long enough to view it.
Date published: 2017-11-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mind blowing This course starts with very easy notions and builds on those foundations throughout . The mathematics is kept to a manageable level but the concepts become increasingly challenging and towards the end it is very difficult to to visualise the shapes Professor Devadoss is presenting as they can't physically exist in our 3D world. I have only given four stars because towards the end the more difficult ideas could benefit from more time than the 30 minute bites and the Professor has to gloss over some big assumptions to present the ideas.The course is very well presented. Professor Devadoss is a very natural, interesting and easy to listen to presenter.
Date published: 2017-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful course This is a wonderful course and is presented by wonderful professor. I hope that The Great Courses can continue to provide courses in the future of such high caliber. The material is fascinating, and the presentation masterful, making complex concepts highly accessible even to non-experts. This course was a fantastically exciting adventure.
Date published: 2017-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The final lecture: Wow! This course is akin to sipping single malt whisky. It should be taken in small amounts; it should not be diluted; it should not be mixed; it should be savored; the result will not be immediate. This may be the most challenging of the Great Courses which I have taken. The nomenclature is unfamiliar, many of the concepts are new, and the applications are vast. I can understand why many other reviewers have given this course low ratings and have abandoned it before completion. It is tempting early-on just to quit. The applications vary from biology, including protein geometry, gene folding and unfolding; cosmology, the shape of the universe and the effects of black holes on the dynamics of shape; on applications of building and using robots; on the seemingly simple task of stacking spherical objects (apples, oranges, etc.) in the grocery store. Origami is a physical example of the use of topology for creating three-dimensional objects for a one-dimensional object. This Japanese art-form becomes a powerful method for creating objects to be moved from one location to another. I could continue with many examples of the beauty and power of this course. Buy this course if you want an intellectual challenge that is mind-expanding. It will take you into the future of science and technology. Finally, Dr. Devadoss is passionate about this field of mathematics. His enthusiasm is infectious.
Date published: 2017-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Striking topic! Given the description of the topic, I was almost instantly drawn to give it a shot. I have always thought there is an incredible amount life application and understanding in the study of nature. I have seen the simplest observations yield an abundance of insight and understanding. This topic starts with a good deal of detail and time spent on knots and branches out from there into many other fields of equal import. My only observation was that there was not enough time/attention given to develop more thoroughly those topics and consequently those topics seemed to be rather 'disconnected' from the main overall assertion that nature and it's vast compliment is deeply connected. Given this , I still recommend, highly, this study. The presenter is more than capable in conveying the depth and interest of the topic. Money and time well spent per this viewer.
Date published: 2017-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best review of this material I know I have read a lot about this, and I do have a science background (though not physics specifically) and this course is fantastic. A real peek into how a working physics experimentalist looks at the material.
Date published: 2017-05-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The Shape of Nature - NOT The lecturer gives little attention to the Shape of Nature as least through the first six boring lectures. In orgiastic delight he presents obscure principles and discoveries about strings and knots, gushes about the POWER of the routine, then he asks what does that have to do with anything and even he draws a blank! A very big disappointment and do not have the time or interest to discover if he every actually gets to the Shape of Nature - don't waste your money!
Date published: 2016-10-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wasn't what I expected. I wanted a course that explores the mathematics in all of nature and sky, not just shapes.
Date published: 2016-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An excellent introduction to topology This has to be one of the best courses that I have watched from Great Courses. The slick proof of the Poincare-Hopf theorem is worth the price alone. Be warned this course will stretch you and take you out of your comfort zone but if you go along for the ride and watch some of the tricky bits a couple of times you will end up get a real feel for some fascinating bits of modern maths. This is a real intellectual adventure, I enjoyed it so much that I picked up a couple of intro text books, including one writtend by the orofessor to delve more deeply into some of the topics. If you enjoy math even a little bit, you will definitely not regret watching this course.
Date published: 2016-09-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from For the Dedicated Mathematician I returned this course as it was for a theoretical math student. I couldn't get past the 8 lessons on string theory. I found no practical application, and nothing that related to shapes of nature. Basically the course was over my head. I didn't discount it totally because I felt that the professor did know his topic, I just wasn't interested enough to want to do the research to bring myself up to speed on this topic.
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Course on Topology Having never taken a course on this subject, I was impressed with this course because it gave me a lot to think about. It's not a course that one can casually watch; immersion in the concepts is necessary to gain the most from it. What I appreciated most of all was the professor's enthusiasm and his organization of the material. The practical applications of this subject were presented very well. Contemporary research in this subject was presented well and the historical aspects were presented very well, tying the subject together. Integration with computer science was explained and new ways of looking at the subject were covered. The contrast between arithmetic and this type of mathematics was expertly presented. The professor's own research is amazing and I will do more reading and study in this subject as a result of studying this course. If one wants a good mental workout, this course will fit the bill. I highly recommend it!
Date published: 2016-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent presentation introduction to topology Very well done. first part covers some detail on topology, but stick with it - the concepts are used later on. Graphics are very good - they really help convey the ideas with examples. The instructor does look at the camera - feels like he is talking to me. No noticeable reading of prompting texts. Very clear speech, easy to understand. Sub title could be "introduction to topology" Some math concepts background are helpful. Covers very good explanations of algebra, geometry, analysis, points, planes, shapes, etc. Very interesting presentations & very well explained with useful, astounding graphics. Audio only would not do well. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2016-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Math Lecture Series As an engineer and mathematician this is by far my favourite math lecture series. Most of what The Great Courses offers is targeted toward a general, lay audience; however, Shape of Nature is one of a handful of about 35 titles I own (from all categories) that actually digs quite deeply into the subject matter (i.e. Topology, which might not be evident from the title or other descriptions). I enjoy all the courses I own, but this one is a pure gem: the professor is lucid, the topics give an intuitive feel for the abstractness of topology, and challenging math is offered (e.g. computing Jones polynomials for knots (though other skein relations are probably easier to use)). I've always wished that Prof. Devadoss would create another lecture series, either on a totally new area of math (e.g. differential geometry, graph theory, group theory, etc.) or one that continues into higher topology (e.g. manifolds, simplexes, homology, etc.) If you have a fairly good background in math, this lecture series should be mostly understandable; if you don't have a solid foundation, you will still receive lots of qualitative/diagrammatic information to make the journey easier, making you more appreciative of math, especially of the (often difficult to understand) fact that it's really hardly about numbers.
Date published: 2016-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The ADVANCED History and Future of Geometry This is a tough cookie to review....My feelings on it are about as complex as the material it covers. I stand by my solid 5s for the course but those ratings and positive recommendation come with serious caveats. 1. The title and description are a bit deceptive. This course felt way more like theory than application. Relationships are mentioned, but it's by no means a brilliant and seamless melding of mathematics and its relationship to nature. 2. This isn't a 5 star course for everybody. If you are expecting this will be at the conceptual or technical level of "The Queen of the Sciences: A History of Mathematics" course, or something like "A Brief History of Time" you will sorely disappointed. If there was an accessibility rating on courses this one would get about a 2/5 for the average American...maybe less. 3. If you aren't fairly comfortable with at least the basics geometry you won't have a good time... I managed to make it to trigonometry in high school and I am still pretty baffled by plenty of the concepts. Thankfully physics and calculus are hardly mentioned. Why this Course Deserves 5 Stars: 1. If you are obtaining or are already applying a degree in ANY branch of mathematics but ESPECIALLY computer science, topology, cosmology, number theory, set theory, and finite mathematics you will be doing yourself a huge favor in taking this course. 2. This course is surprisingly up to date. It's one of the reasons I would recommend it to mathematicians who are already well out of school. There's a lot of math history that is covered but he drives the story straight through to symmetries and extensions of concepts that were only just realized or proven in the last decade or so. 3. The presentation is brilliant. The topic is incomprehensibly immense and inherently difficult to explain, but Professor Devadoss is undaunted and quite successful in describing, measuring and manipulating geometry in anywhere from one to 5 or more dimensions. Like a good math text book the lectures couldn't have been presented in a more logical order. 4. Might make a great gift for the mathematician who knows it all. All in all this is THE MOST advanced "layman" math course I've taken from The Great Courses by miles so if you are worried it's going to be too superficial for a real mathematician you should really reconsider.
Date published: 2015-12-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Topology of the Universe- Advanced This was the most difficult course I have ever taken. I took college calculus but nothing prepared me for this course. I was going to give it one star but then did not feel that was fair - I understood very little and was extremely disappointed, especially because of the misleading title of the course. I provided what I thought would be a better title for the course. On the other hand the lecturer for a math teacher was outstanding and enthusiastic. The visual presentations were great, but then he started going too fast (yes with a DVD I could have hit the rewind button, but by then I just wanted to finish it.). So be warned- this is not about nature in the common usage of this term; it is about topology, knots, multiple dimensions and things that I have never heard of before- maybe it was for that reason I increased my rating to 3 stars. Good luck to you if you get it.
Date published: 2015-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Look at How Mathematicians Think I have a background in academic mathematics, and one of the things that struck me about this course was how well Prof. Devadoss incorporated not just the basics, but cutting-edge research (including some of his own research). In addition, Prof. Devadoss talks about how mathematicians think and attack problems generally, and what Prof. Devadoss said rang true to me. In terms of the other content, I thought it was fantastic: the presentation was easy-going enough for this format, yet detailed enough to satisfy someone looking for real mathematical details. I would recommend it to anyone with a mathematical bent.
Date published: 2014-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Where'd this Come From? In the beginning of this course I was totally confused, having explored nothing beyond beginning calculus in school. However, once I got used to the idea that everything in this course is totally new to me, and interesting in it's own right, I thoroughly enjoyed the new concepts. Lots of visuals helped enormously to a rudimentary understanding of some concepts, and the material was very well presented. If you like new ideas, go for this course.
Date published: 2013-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Astonishing and Wonderful. Give It a Chance! If you are into mathematics, and already know you have a liking for topology and higher-dimensional geometry, you will love this course. If you are not into math, you may *still* love this course! I urge you, very strongly and very sincerely, to give it a chance. It will introduce you to ways of thinking about the shape of the world, and especially about shape in mathematics, that you likely have never encountered before. More importantly, it will encourage your sense of wonder at the beauty of mathematics and at the incredible creativity of the human mind. The course is primarily an introduction to areas of advanced mathematics - topology and higher-dimensional geometry - with which most of us (including me) have zero experience. It is taught at a very elementary level, so that any reasonably intelligent, reasonably interested viewer will be able to get the basic ideas. And, Professor Devadoss is outstanding. He speaks beautifully, in crisp, clear, enthusiastic sentences that convey this complex material as well as I think humanly possible. He is the first science/math professor at The Great Courses - or anywhere else, for that matter - that I would consider the equal of my favorite prof, Alex Filippenko. The visuals are remarkably excellent as well, plentiful and wonderfully done, despite their illustration of very complex material. The Course Guidebook is the only disappointment - it is so brief and superficial as to be almost useless, with a very inadequate glossary. But - do not expect to come away with anything more than a very general, qualitative impression. If you think you understand any lecture fully, you are either a genius or a math professor, or you weren't listening. And do *not* think this is a course about nature. Despite the title, it is not. The few sentences connecting the math with the natural world in each lecture add little to the course, and were clearly encouraged by the editors as a selling point, since calling the course "An Introduction to Topology" would probably not have been a good marketing move. This course is pure, abstract math. It is also wonderful. If you take it with an open mind, not expecting it to give insight into anything in the "real" world of our everyday experience, but simply to appreciate the magnificence of the ideas and of the human mind, you may find it very, very rewarding. For these reasons - whether you think you like math or not - I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2013-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Passionate Topologist I have to say, when I took this course I knew nothing of topology, despite having a broad math background. And while the course was a bit hard in places, the professor kept the subject moving pretty well. What was most impressive was the professor's passion for topology and how well he could speak about topology with only a few misspeaks here and there, as well as his great use of body language and movement to communicate. In short a great lecturer. I wish many of the other instructors for these Great Courses would watch his presentation style and learn from him. Although I probably learned more about knots than I cared to, it was amazing to think how math could be used for such an application. Perhaps the most interesting thing was to learn and understand more about dimensions better. This course is probably not for those who just want an introductory lesson with few details, but if you really want to delve into the topic and be challenged, this course will provide a lot of fun.
Date published: 2013-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stunningly awesome Professor Devadoss may be the most enthusiastic professor in the entire Great Courses catalog. Perhaps the entire world. At one point, Prof. Devadoss promises the student that he (the student) will cry tears of joy upon hearing the amazing payoff of one of his lectures. While the crying was not technically true in my own case, the awe-inspiring level of enthusiasm evinced by this comment was well taken. But Prof. Devadoss's enthusiasm is not the only good thing about the course. When considering the abstruse topics discussed in these lectures, I simply can't believe I found myself "getting it." The course, obviously, didn't make me a topologist, I'd say that a few more repetitions of this course will surely make me an "educated layman" about the subject. Well recommended.
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not the "Shape of Nature" Attractive lesson titles like String Theory, DNA Entanglement, Symmetries of Molecules... but the Prof. hardly talked about these things in his lesson.... Wrong title for this course.
Date published: 2013-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Excellent course. The professor made a superb job in planning the content and sequence of the lectures. He is a true teacher: laying the foundations, introducing interesting histroical anecdotes just at the right time, explaining and repeating the main ideas and highlighting advanced topics then tying things togeter.
Date published: 2012-12-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from An Introduction to Topology... Would have been a better title. As someone with a BS in Applied Math, I greatly enjoyed this set; but some of the material is very abstract and has to be watched multiple times before sinking in. There are some applications but the focus is on topology and geometry, not so much on "nature". Being true to the title would require another set. A good buy but only if you enjoy the math.
Date published: 2012-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great course!! This is a great course from the Great Courses. This is the best presentation of Topology I have seen. I have tried studying Topology on my own, and this course makes it clear that the visuals and presentation of the topic are everything. A great professor can make clear concepts that are murky on the written page. Dr. Devadoss shows the value of live lectures. He demonstrates the beauty of the subject, and his enthusiasm is infectious. It is actually exciting to listen to him. I'm in my second pass through this course, and it is better the second time. I hope that the Teaching Company continues to produce higher level mathematics courses such as this and the one on differential equations. I also hope that Professor Devadoss can be persuaded to produce additional more detailed and in depth courses on this subject .
Date published: 2012-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Topology Survey, Great Visuals Near the best of the dozens of courses I've purchased. The professor clearly knows his field and his enthusiasm shines through. Topology is an eclectic field where learning to visualize objects and transformations is critical. The course makes excellent use of very effective animations and other visuals to convey information in ways that would be very difficult in a book or traditional classroom. The course covers a wide range of topics, but still manages to dive into important details. He doesn't just skim the surface of the subject, which is always a danger in a popular math course. The course requires some intellectual work. A good math background would be helpful, but since the course is mostly self contained, it's not essential. Take that to mean, you don't have to remember high school calculus to learn about knot theory, graph theory or topology. But to get the most out of the course, you'll need to be willing to think hard about some of the concepts, with the same kind of rigor that you would use for studying any other mathematical subject. This is really a beautifully presented and stimulating course. One of my absolute favorites.
Date published: 2012-08-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Highly-Specialised Course for Mathematicians Regret to say I could not finish this course as it deals with very high-level, abstract mathematical theories which, as far as I could determine, have no application or relevance to my world or life. Professor Devadoss is clearly very enthusiastic & excited about his subject; he is eminently qualified, earned his doctorate at an early age. He comes across as a little smug, which is not exactly endearing or encouraging. The course should, I feel, be re-named: perhaps "The Shapes of Mathematical Theories" OR "Topology: Mathematical Shapes" would be more descriptive of the actual content. The inclusion of "Nature" strikes me as somewhat misleading unfortunately. For those with a very profound, absorbing interest in higher mathematics (and preferably with at least a basic degree in maths or a directly-related field), this course may well be a treat and a compelling intellectual excercise, but I found it inscrutable and bewildering. I have bought more than 70 Great Courses and have benefitted greatly from most, but this particular course is so extremely specialised that it does not seem to fit in. Sorry.
Date published: 2012-07-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Shape of Nature I have completed 7 other "Great Courses" in mathematics, and all were good-to-excellent. This topology course is awful, and I could not finish it. Perhaps it is my problem, but I could not stand the professor, particularly his repeated (and I mean repeated and repeated) self-congratulatory pap about the superiority of mathematicians. The content was fine, but I honestly could no longer bring myself to watch because so much time was wasted on the professor's repetitive auto-ego-stroking. Truly obnoxious.
Date published: 2012-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perceptual gymnastics Brace yourself for and engaging and accessible introduction to the history and theory of geometry and topology. Dr. Devadoss covers an expanse of subject material that leaves one hungry for more. The course guide provides a bibliography and other suggested reading which is well worth exploring to plumb deeper into the depths of the mathematics and its theorists (Euler, Poincare, Weeks, Yau). This course is a joy to watch if you are not a mathematician but are looking for something beyond the superficial; an intellectual challenge in one, two, three or more dimensions.
Date published: 2012-06-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great course but difficult for average learner I bought this course expecting that this course would be lot about exploring mathematical designs in flowers, plants, animals and human structures. The course has something on that line, but most of the content is on topology. I am a medical doctor and I did not understand most of what the professor was talking, may be it is above my head, I don't know. But overall I recommend this course because it gives a good introduction to topology. The professor in one lecture says that mathematics is not just numbers, not just equations, it is about ideas. So, universe built on mathematics is built upon ideas. Ideas point us to a Mind, This one point I quickly noted and used in essay I have been writing on Design Argument, God as the Author of all ideas on which universe is built upon. Overall, this is a great course. Thanks to Teaching Company and the Professor Devadoss. He reminds me Ramanujan, a great Indian mathematician.
Date published: 2012-05-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from An Honorable Effort I like this guy and I want him to succeed--for his sake and mine together--but I don't think he's solved his very challenging problem of presentation here. You could tell he'd given a lot of thought to making his material accessible but at any number of points, insights that he thought self-evident or proven came across as not at all obvious to me. I found myself wishing for his breakout discussion sessions. Aside from that, I'd love to sit with him through a frame-by-frame analysis as we worked to make a potentially important course worth his time and effort. I hope GC gives him another chance but this isn't there yet.
Date published: 2012-05-03
  • y_2019, m_8, d_19, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_48
  • loc_en_US, sid_1460, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 71.46ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Customers Who Bought This Course Also Bought

Buy together as a Set
and
Save
Choose a Set Format
$534.90
$629.90