The Everyday Gourmet: How to Master Outdoor Cooking

In partnership with
Taught By Multiple Professors
Share This Course
4.4 out of 5
41 Reviews
78% of reviewers would recommend this product
Course No. 9271
Video Streaming Included Free

Course Overview

Steak. Asparagus. Pineapple. On a pleasant day when family or friends are near, nothing beats firing up the grill for a great meal. Most of us, however, don’t take full advantage of all the possibilities for outdoor cooking. Not only can the grill provide a savory seared crust on a juicy steak or add smoky flavor to some barbecue chicken, the grill can also enhance salads, side dishes, and a variety of meats beyond your traditional hamburgers and hot dogs.

Picture a Caesar salad with bread charred on the grill and topped with reggiano parmesan. Or how about a king salmon cooked over cedar plank wood, a mixed grill with marinated quail and Italian sausage, or iber-roasted potatoes to accompany the main course? And of course, you’ll want a nice vinaigrette with your side salad.

Whether you’re just starting out or you have a wide range of skills, The Everyday Gourmet: How to Master Outdoor Cooking gives you the chance to boost your culinary repertoire and take full advantage of the grill—your “outdoor kitchen.” Taught by Bill Briwa and Patrick Clark, two highly acclaimed chefs at the Culinary Institute of America, these twelve informative lectures are filled with detailed demonstrations of techniques and recipes from around the world that will liven up your summer meals.

The beauty of outdoor cooking is in going back to basics, using simple tools and your own sensual awareness of the process to make delicious food. Whether it’s the feel of heat from the grill, the sweet smell of fire-roasted onions, or the sound of a sizzling steak over flame, all of your senses play a role in success with the grill. Your instructors show you what the various sights, sounds, and smells mean—and how to make adjustments as you go to create the perfect dish, every time.

Explore All the Fundamentals of Outdoor Cooking

Along with clear lessons in cooking techniques and recipes, Chefs Briwa and Clark also tell you everything you need to know about operating the grill. For instance, you will:

  • Explore different types of wood and charcoal fuel sources, including oak and mesquite.
  • Consider different cuts of meat, from beef brisket to pork shoulder to fish, and how best to cook them.
  • Find out what utensils you need to get the job done, from charcoal chimneys to skewers.
  • See how to create “zones” of heat on the grill to select just the right temperature for cooking different foods.

You’ll get a number of insider tricks for cooking on and off the grill, as well as tips for how to avoid some of the most common mistakes people make. You’ll learn how to tell how well done meat is cooked by using your thumb and forefinger. Away from the grill, you’ll examine several rules of thumb for creating marinades, dry rubs, vinaigrettes, and more. Plus, discover an easier way of cutting garlic and chopping walnuts, among other handy shortcuts.

Whether you’re a novice griller who sticks to hamburgers and hot dogs around the holidays or an experienced cook interesting in expanding your repertoire, Chefs Briwa and Clark guide you through all the ins and outs of outdoor cooking.

Discover Recipes From Around the World

There might not be anything more quintessentially American than grilling on Memorial Day or the Fourth of July, but outdoor cooking is global in its appeal. Cooking over an open fire has brought humans together for millennia, so it’s no surprise to find delicious recipes from many culinary traditions. As you learn to infuse different flavors and ingredients, you’ll see step-by-step instructions for recipes from around the world:

The Mediterranean: Sicilian steak with rich tomato sauce, eggplant sandwich with homemade tzatziki, lamb kabobs, and more.

East and Southeast Asia: Vietnamese liongrass pork, Korean marinated short ribs, Japanese yakitori, Thai beef satay in peanut sauce, and beyond.

Latin America: Caribbean jerk chicken with fire-and-ice fruit salad, skirt steak with orange mojo, pibil-marinated halibut cooked inside banana leaves… the list goes on.

In addition to a wealth of recipes from around the world, you’ll also discover a few new takes on some classic American dishes. Travel through the South for a survey of the great barbeque cultures in the Carolinas, Tennessee, and Texas—including the different types of regional sauces. You’ll also learn how to make your own pizza dough, whip up a number of marinades, and much, much more.

Master Every Course of the Meal

While we may associate meat with the grill, Chefs Briwa and Clark show you how the grill is really your outdoor kitchen—capable of preparing every course of the meal, from appetizers and salads to side dishes and dessert. In fact, some of the most creative and delicious entrees rely on little or no meat.

Whether you’re hosting a summer block party or just looking to cook something unique for your immediate family, you’ll learn how to make grilled Bartlett pears with bitter greens and blue cheese, a grilled vegetable platter with shirred eggs, bruschetta, crostini, and more. Your chefs also give you a wide range of marinade and vinaigrette recipes to compliment what you cook on the grill.

From fire-roasted salsa to a sweet treat made from grilled bread and chocolate, outdoor cooking is one of the most versatile, accessible ways to prepare a meal. In short, grilled food simply tastes better, and The Everyday Gourmet: How to Master Outdoor Cooking gives you masterful instruction to take your culinary skills to the next level.

Hide Full Description
12 lectures
 |  Average 33 minutes each
  • 1
    The Art of Grilling
    Start your course with the basics of grilling: choosing wood, cleaning the grill, tools of the trade, and a few lessons in food safety. Then try your hand at three simple recipes - two types of steak and a grilled salad - to get a feel for cooking over live fire. This first lesson offers a wealth of rules of thumb. x
  • 2
    Grilled Vegetable Starters and Salads
    Now that you're up to speed on all things grilling, take a closer look at preparing different types of salads, from pancetta-wrapped endive to Bartlett pears and greens. In addition to branching away from the traditional main course meat, this lecture on fruits and vegetables shows you how the grill can enhance your homemade salad dressings. x
  • 3
    Flatbreads and Pizza on the Grill
    Delve deeper into cooking with different types of charcoal. Here, you'll find out how to make different types of bread recipes on the grill, including a delicious bruschetta and a savory crostini. Then turn to homemade pizza dough and various sauces and toppings. Plus, see how to use leftover breads to make a sweet treat with the coal embers. x
  • 4
    Grilling Seafood
    Fish can be a tricky meat and requires close attention. Discover some common mistakes with grilling seafood and find out how best to prepare salmon, tuna, halibut, and more. Along the way, you'll learn crucial lessons about making marinades and vinaigrettes. End with a pair of recipes for grilled oysters and marinated shrimp. x
  • 5
    Mediterranean-Style Grilling
    Enjoy a wealth of multicultural dishes with this tour of the Mediterranean, from Italy and Greece to Turkey and Tunisia. Here, you'll explore several popular outdoor cooking recipes. Highlights include lessons in sauces such as muhammara and tzatziki, ember-roasted vegetable dishes, sandwiches and pitas, and lamb kabobs. x
  • 6
    Grilling Poultry
    Take a deep dive into chicken on the grill. After reviewing the different parts of the chicken, learn how to make a classic American barbeque chicken dish, a unique marinated quail mixed grill, and a non-traditional smoke-roasted turkey with a complementary three-grain salad - sure to spice up your next holiday gathering. x
  • 7
    Latin American-Style Grilling
    Swing down to the Caribbean to sample the flavor of the islands. Start with a skirt steak in orange mojo sauce, and move on to an original jerk chicken recipe. Then hop over to the Yucatan for a unique twist on a traditional Mexican dish. Traditionally made with marinated pork, your cochinita pibil dish here is a barbeque halibut with fire-roasted salsa and tortillas. x
  • 8
    Grilling Lamb and Beef
    When we think of the grill, many of us think of meat first. Look beyond the traditional burgers and hot dogs to explore different cuts of meat. Your chefs show you how to grill a marinated Thai-style hangar steak, a dry rub flat-iron steak with coal-roasted potatoes, and hoisin-glazed pork tenderloin. x
  • 9
    Asian-Style Grilling
    Thailand. Japan. Vietnam. Korea. Asia is home to some of the most delicious recipes on the planet, and this lecture surveys some of the popular Asian cuisines that can be prepared on the grill. After a series of skewered meat dishes - including beef satay and yakitori chicken - you'll end with Korean barbeque short ribs. x
  • 10
    Grilling Veggie Savories and Sides
    Shift your attention from meat to the rest of the meal. Learn how to time different types of vegetables on the grill, which will cook fast and caramelize depending on the combination of heat and sugar. Make a splendid vegetable platter with shirred eggs - perfect for a summer brunch - and then turn to grilled corn and portobello mushroom burgers. x
  • 11
    The American Tradition of Barbecue
    Travel south for a tour of the great barbeque styles (vinegar-, ketchup- or mustard-based) and places (the Carolinas, Tennessee, St. Louis, and Texas). After exploring the history and culture of barbeque, see how to make your own with a variety of meats, dry rubs, and sauces. Cook everything from pork butts to ribs to brisket. x
  • 12
    Entertaining - Grilling for a Group
    What's a grill without the occasional outdoor party? Put together everything you've learned with several scrumptious recipes for one amazing party this summer: smoked and grilled appetizers, cedar-plank grilled king salmon, and a dry rub leg of lamb - plus a few special desserts for the road. x

Lecture Titles

Clone Content from Your Professor tab

What's Included

What Does Each Format Include?

Video DVD
Instant Video Includes:
  • Download 12 video lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
DVD Includes:
  • 12 lectures on 2 DVDs
  • 128-page printed course guidebook
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps

What Does The Course Guidebook Include?

Video DVD
Course Guidebook Details:
  • 128-page printed course guidebook
  • Full-color photographs
  • Recipes
  • Bibliography

Enjoy This Course On-the-Go with Our Mobile Apps!*

  • App store App store iPhone + iPad
  • Google Play Google Play Android Devices
  • Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Tablet + Firephone
*Courses can be streamed from anywhere you have an internet connection. Standard carrier data rates may apply in areas that do not have wifi connections pursuant to your carrier contract.

Your professors

Bill Briwa Patrick Clark

Professor 1 of 2

Bill Briwa
The Culinary Institute of America

Professor 2 of 2

Patrick Clark
The Culinary Institute of America
A popular chef-instructor at the Culinary Institute of America (CIA), Bill Briwa has worked in the hospitality business as a professional chef and culinary instructor for experts and laypeople around the world for more than 30 years. He was the resident chef for The Hess Collection Winery in the Napa Valley, California; the executive chef for The Wine Spectator Restaurant at the CIA at Greystone; and an officer on the board...
Learn More About This Professor
Also By This Professor
Patrick Clark has been a chef-instructor at the Culinary Institute of America (CIA) since 2008. A 1991 graduate of the California Culinary Academy (now called Le Cordon Bleu College of Culinary Arts), he brought strong industry experience in high-end, high-volume dining, most recently at Sutro’s restaurant in San Francisco's historic Cliff House, where he won accolades for his farm-fresh, California-coastal cuisine....
Learn More About This Professor
Also By This Professor

Reviews

The Everyday Gourmet: How to Master Outdoor Cooking is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 41.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Practical tips for grilling Professional culinary educators demonstrate techniques and share recipes for the home cook. They use ingredients available to the average cook and recipes that are not overly complicated.
Date published: 2018-04-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from master outdoor cooking not exactly what i expected but picked up a few tips.. would have liked to have learned more about building the fire, tips on cooking foods.. I didn't get the sense that the chefs were honing in on how to create the cooked food, no tips on timings or temps or how to really smoke foods..
Date published: 2018-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am just starting this course. However, I find its beginning lectures just as interesting and informative as the 3 previously studied courses presented by these professors. Definitely a high recommendation.
Date published: 2018-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific course! I have become a big fan of Chef Briwa and find him to be a terrific teacher of the culinary arts. I am a cooking novice and took this course because I do know how to grill out. I found this course highly informative and entertaining, and I am confident it will help me expand and improve what I can do on the grill. Chef Briwa has an infectious enthusiasm for cooking, and while he tends to the fancy and gourmet side of things, he offers so much practical advice that everyone with an interest in cooking can enjoy his presentations and learn from his teaching. Highly recommended!
Date published: 2018-01-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay but lacking true grilling for the average grillure
Date published: 2017-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Return to the Grill I just bought a new grill and the lessons have been great to make me look atrilling in a new way. Not only meat but lots of vegetables make great meals grilled. I especially liked the section on kale!
Date published: 2017-11-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Some good and some bad After watching the entire DVD, I felt this was not the best that has been produced. The main author does a good job, but he brings in his friend, another person from the CIA, who I felt was an almosta chef that was trying to get a feel for what a TV set was and how to address it. As a food critic I paid careful attention to recipes, techniques and tips. I felt that the ones from the extra person were often not valid and that the show could have easily been made without him. I'm glad this was not a full price DVD, because had it been I'd have certainly returned it.
Date published: 2017-09-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lame is the only way to describe this I have tried to view these video's on several occasions and I just can't. the Subject matter would have been great if they had someone else be the instructor but this guy is so bland and boring its to the point of sickening. And all is this course is this. "watch me make some fancy dinner on a grill with ingredients you don't have access too at your local store" What a waste of my valuable time.
Date published: 2017-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Instructors, Inspirational Chef Briwa and Clark remind me of the excellent professors I had for my engineering degree - Subject Matter Experts who are passionate about their subject, but more importantly, ones who can impart that knowledge to those interested and willing to learn. All in all the course as inspirational and a great deal of fun to watch and experiment. Well done!
Date published: 2017-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Master Outdoor Cooking A really outstanding course with a great amount of information.
Date published: 2017-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved the variety Loved how much variety this course teaches-- grilling vegetables, poultry, seafood, etc.
Date published: 2017-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Everyday Gourmet I have all 4 courses and Chef Bill Briwa makes the course fun and informative. His attitude is one learning and doing it with enjoyment because you can experience his enjoyment of his profession! He has inspired me to venture into new territories of cooking and spices! Do not hesitate get them all now!
Date published: 2017-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great teachers This is done as well as the other cooking series. They are excellent teachers & are very inspiring.
Date published: 2017-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great grilling information My husband felt that my grilling skills were too limited and suggested I buy this course to expand my repertoire. The two chefs are very interesting and the visuals in the instruction are clear and attractive. The 2-DVD set comes with a book, as well, so the recipes are available to read at any time. I totally recommend this Great Course
Date published: 2016-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comprehensive and fun This DVD set and the other cooking sets from the Culinary Institute of America are all done very well. The accompanying books are also very helpful. What's particularly nice is the courses are about TECHNIQUES and not just recipes. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2016-10-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Course! My only wish is that gas grilling would have been given more scope in this course. Otherwise, I'm already getting some great ideas!
Date published: 2016-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Former grilling The chefs offer some very good ideas for grilling. However, they have unlimited access to fresh herbs and high quality olive oil which many weekend cooks don't have. Also, it would be helpful to know the exact ratio of ingredients v
Date published: 2016-07-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from How to Master Outdoor Cooking I am 53 and have cooked outdoors for 50 years since I camped in the Sierra Nevadas while gold prospecting with my uncle. I'm not afraid to say that I learned a few new tricks...and seen how and why some of my own observations have developed on methods and techniques of cooking over gas or charcoal. I am eager to explore cooking fish and seafood and utilizing spices and herbs to enhance flavor in ways that I haven't previously encountered.
Date published: 2016-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from well worth the cost I have learned so much from the courses I have purchased. I love to cook and this series is the best.
Date published: 2016-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from For Gourmets, Not Gourmands Yeah, I should have read the other reviews before I bought this course. It is definitely for gourmets, not for gourmands like me. I was looking for a course that showed me how to throw some wood on a grill and turn it on and this is definitely not that course. (By the way, my grades are for a student who is as much a novice as I. I assume that somebody who is skilled would get much more out of it than I.) This course is a series of recipes, typically about three per 30-minute segment. I was surprised to see that perhaps half of the recipes were for salad. Although the grill is used for a meat or roasted vegetables used in the salad, the bulk of the attention is actually away from the grill itself. I was also stunned to learn that grilling is very different from barbecuing. My apologies to the chefs involved,. I reiterate that they were far better teachers than I was as a student.
Date published: 2016-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good course good lectures, generally useful background on a topics with a lot of information that i did not know about beforehand and recipes to follow or modify.
Date published: 2016-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Master Outdoor Cooking Overall learned a lot and was inspiring. Presentation was very good. sometimes the ingredient list is very long and some ingredients are not available, and I live in a large city. Buy this when it goes on sale.
Date published: 2016-06-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Emphasis is on 'gourmet' This class was very well presented by the two chefs, however the emphasis is really on 'gourmet'. About 3/4 of the recipes have key ingredients that are not even available to me. I fail to see how 'everyday' aged California goat cheese, mizuna or thinly sliced pancetta is -- and that is in the first 10 pages. Also the book mostly treats the grill as just a source of heat with few of the recipes actually taking advantage of the unique properties of cooking over live fire nor is much time spent showing specific cooking techniques. They did walk through a low-and-slow brisket but while they do mention the 8-12 hour cooking time they make no mention of how to maintain hot coals for this long. The chefs clearly are experts in their field and their presentation is excellent. But I cannot recommend purchasing this video series to learn how to grill.
Date published: 2016-04-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for the average cook I have to agree with a previous reviewer that this course will not teach the average person how to grill. I loved watching the 2 chefs grill in the beautiful setting, but the ingredient list far exceeds anything I will find in rural Pennsylvania. We do not have access to gourmet farms providing Easter egg radishes. Also I haven't used charcoal or wood to grill unless we were camping. I was more interested in the "how to's" and practical recipes for my friends and family and there was very little of that. However, as I said the chefs are very entertaining and easy to listen to. They clearly know their material and have a passion for cooking. I did learn a few tricks that hopefully I can apply to my gas grill.
Date published: 2016-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Course - even for indoor "grilling" I own all of Chef Briwa's other cooking courses, and initially I held off on purchasing this one, since i don't have an outdoor grill, and one of the questions asked whether this would be a good course if you don't cook outdoors. Well, I have to say YES! It is! I do own a cast iron grill pan to use stove top, and honestly, I would say that 90% of this course content/recipes/flavor combinations would work fine for an indoor stove top griller like myself. Where I would say an indoor griller can watch, but not participate (that was OK for me), was in the discussion of the different types of outdoor grilling and a couple of the cooking techniques that involve putting the food item directly on the coals. Chef Briwa, as always, is fantastic - a true natural in front of the camera. A great instructor and easy to follow. Chef Clark has a different style, but is also a really good instructor. What I loved best about this course was sitting back, enjoying the set outdoors, and seeing the great flavor combinations and different ethnic cooking styles. As with Chef Briwa's other courses, this course may feel a bit challenging for a brand new cook - he does assume some familiarity with cooking and cooking techniques. Overall a great purchase and can't wait for the next Great Courses cooking course!
Date published: 2016-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truly a "great" course I'm not a cook, and never have been, but this course tempts me to try my hand at grilling vegetables and steak when the weather gets better. Bill Briwa makes it seem so easy -- though it really isn't -- to make a number of dishes that I never thought could be done on an outdoor grill. Particularly, I want to try the grilled vegetable salads he prepares during the Mediterranean section. Great course.
Date published: 2016-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun with Fire This was an interesting course that explored grilling techniques and recipes designed for outdoor cooking. The course also explored several regional varieties of outdoor cooking, including Latin American, Asian and American BBQ. Overall, the course was very good. It was taught by two professors alternating lectures between them. The course was overall relatively advanced and assumed more than a basic knowledge of cooking, food safety, etc… I recommend starting with the more fundamental The Everyday Gourmet: Rediscovering the Lost Art of Cooking before taking this course. Perhaps the best part of this course was the last lecture where the two professors worked together to demonstrate using the grill to prepare a party from appetizers to main course to dessert. My major regret regarding this course is the format that I purchased. This was the first course that I decided to purchase as a video download to watch on my iPad. There were no problems watching it on my iPad, but I regret not having a hard copy of the book. The course book has many recipes that I would like to try, but it is very difficult to use my iPad to follow the recipes. Also, the Great Courses App does not have a bookmark or quick search mechanism, which makes the online course book clunky to use as a cookbook. So, my advice is to buy the DVD version of this course to get the hardcopy course book.
Date published: 2015-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not bad but expected a bit more. I was hoping for more explanation into how cooking works, and how to put meals together. This course was mostly showcasing how two great chefs would prepare a menu. So it is pretty much like any cooking show you might see on TV or youtube and for the most part, you could just cook from the recipes. However, if you really would like to see how everything is done clearly, then this course works. If you are interested in cooking something besides exactly what they prepared before your eyes then you might not be satisfied.
Date published: 2015-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Compliments to Both Chefs I recently discovered the Everyday Gourmet courses and my taste buds have been resurrected ever since. This course is no different than the other cooking courses … they are all first-rate and excellent. I must stress that you are wasting your time unless you physically perform what they are doing. Your palate will thank you for it. As usual I thought I knew what I was doing with the grill until I took this course. I grilled about 7 or 8 dishes (mostly marinate recipes) from the instructors. It was a stunning experience. Delicious is an understatement. More importantly, you will even learn new techniques. I never would have thought of using grape leaves to cook halibut let alone putting fish on a grill. The true charm of this course is the immense range of food that can be cooked. I never put vegetables and fruit on the grill until now. A very flavorful addition to my meals. After viewing this course you will no longer use the barbeque just for hot dogs and hamburgers. Bill Briwa, of course, is very likable and outstanding cook. My friends and family can attest to that. I cook and present a dish from him regularly on Saturdays. Now that it is spring I’m using the grill to entertain my friends. Many have asked questions about these two cooks and have copied down their recipes. Speaking of cooks…we have a new addition to the Everyday Gourmet. Bring back Patrick Clark and let him do a course alone on seafood or poultry. His segment on seafood was heavenly. The chicken I usually cooked on the grill is simply inferior compared to his quail and sausage meal. He even cooked a turkey on the grill. Truly amazing! Think about it….he won medals cooking in an Olympic competition in Germany. You will not regret getting this course.
Date published: 2015-05-29
  • y_2019, m_10, d_21, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_37
  • loc_en_US, sid_9271, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 55.86ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Customers Who Bought This Course Also Bought