The Life and Death of Stars

Course No. 1872
Professor Keivan G. Stassun, Ph.D.
Vanderbilt University
Share This Course
4.3 out of 5
52 Reviews
76% of reviewers would recommend this product
Course No. 1872
Video Streaming Included Free

Course Overview

For thousands of years, stars have been the prime example of something unattainable and unknowable—places so far away that we can learn almost nothing about them. Yet amazingly, astronomers have been able to discover exactly what stars are made of, how they are born, how they shine, how they die, and how they play a surprisingly direct role in our lives. Over the past century, this research has truly touched the stars, uncovering the essential nature of the beautiful panoply of twinkling lights that spans the night sky.

Consider these remarkable discoveries about the stars:

  • We are stardust: Every atom heavier than hydrogen and a few other light elements was forged at the heart of a star. The oxygen we breathe, the carbon in every cell of our bodies, and practically all other chemical elements are, in fact, stellar ashes.
  • Light fingerprints: Stars emit light across the entire range of the electromagnetic spectrum. Spectral lines and other features of starlight act like fingerprints to identify what a star is made of, its temperature, motion, and other properties.
  • Diamonds in the sky: Carbon is the end product of stars that are roughly the size of our sun. When such stars die, they shrink down to an unimaginably dense and inert ball of carbon atoms—a massive diamond in the sky called a white dwarf.
  • Space weather: Stars produce more than light and heat. Their outermost layer emits a steady stream of charged particles that constitutes a stellar wind. This wind can be strong enough to strip an atmosphere off a nearby planet.

No other large-scale object in the universe is as fundamental as a star. Galaxies are made of stars. Planets, asteroids, and comets are leftover debris from star formation. Nebulae are the remnants of dead stars and the seedbed for a new generation of stars. Even black holes, which are bizarre deformations of spacetime with infinite density, are a product of stars, typically created when a high-mass star ends its life in core collapse and a supernova explosion. And, of course, the sun is a star, without which we couldn’t exist.

Long ago, the magnificence of the star-filled sky and its clock-like motions inspired people to invent myths to explain this impressive feature of nature. Now we understand the stars at a much deeper level, not as legendary figures connected with constellations, but as engines of matter, energy, and the raw material of life itself. And thanks to powerful telescopes, our view of the stars is more stunning than ever.

The Life and Death of Stars introduces you to this spectacular story in 24 beautifully illustrated half-hour lectures that lead you through the essential ideas of astrophysics—the science of stars. Your guide is Professor Keivan G. Stassun of Vanderbilt University, an award-winning teacher and noted astrophysicist. Professor Stassun provides lively, eloquent, and authoritative explanations at a level suitable for science novices as well as for those who already know their way around the starry sky.

Understand Astronomy at a Fundamental Level

Stars are a central topic of astronomy, and because the study of stars encompasses key concepts in nuclear physics, electromagnetism, chemistry, and other disciplines, it is an ideal introduction to how we understand the universe at the smallest and largest scales. Indeed, today’s most important mysteries about the origin and fate of the universe are closely connected to the behavior of stars. For example, the accelerating expansion of the universe due to a mysterious dark energy was discovered thanks to a special type of supernova explosion that serves as an accurate distance marker across the universe. And another enigma, dark matter, may have played a crucial role in the formation of the earliest stars.

Using dazzling images from instruments such as the Hubble Space Telescope, along with informative graphics and computer animations, The Life and Death of Stars takes you to some otherworldly destinations, including these:

  • Stellar nurseries: Stars form inside vast clouds of interstellar gas and dust, where every phase of stellar growth can often be seen. Take a virtual fly-through of the Orion Nebula, witnessing the dynamism of stellar creation and the immensity of the regions where stars are born.
  • Planetary nebulae: Mislabeled “planetary” because they were originally thought to involve planets, these slowly expanding shells of glowing gas are the last outbursts of dying stars. They vary widely in shape and color and are among the most beautiful of celestial sights.
  • Core of the sun: We can’t see into the sun, but sunquakes and other clues reveal the extreme conditions at its center, 400,000 miles below the visible surface. Make an imaginary trip there, viewing the layers that transfer heat from the 15-million-degree Celsius cauldron at the sun’s core.
  • Protoplanetary systems: Planets form inside disks of gas and dust surrounding young stars. See how newborn planets jockey for position close to their parent stars and how some planets are ejected from the system—a fate that may have befallen planets orbiting our own sun.

Reach for the Stars

Just as fascinating as the places you visit are the observational techniques you learn about. One of Professor Stassun’s research areas is exoplanetary systems—planets orbiting other stars. You investigate the different methods astronomers use to detect inconspicuous, lightless planets lost in the glare of brilliant stars, seen from many light-years away. You also explore the principles of telescopes and light detectors, and you learn about the vast range of the electromagnetic spectrum, the largest part of which is invisible to human eyes—but not to our instruments.

An astronomer’s other tools for understanding stars include the invaluable Hertzsprung-Russell diagram, which tells the complete story of stellar evolution in one information-rich graphic. You compare the sun’s position on this chart with the entire range of other star types that have varying masses, temperatures, and colors.

You also become familiar with the periodic table of elements, discovering how fusion reactions inside stars forge successively heavier atoms, producing some in abundance, temporarily skipping others, and creating everything heavier than iron in the cataclysmic blast of a supernova. Nickel, copper, gold, and scores of other elements important to humans thus owe their existence to the most energetically powerful phenomenon in the cosmos. You see, too, how astronomers use computer models to analyze the rapid sequence of events that leads to a supernova.

“Hitch your wagon to a star,” advised Ralph Waldo Emerson. In other words, reach for the stars! The Life and Death of Stars is your guide to this lofty goal.

Hide Full Description
24 lectures
 |  Average 29 minutes each
  • 1
    Why the Stellar Life Cycle Matters
    View the life cycle of a star in its broadest context, seeing how stars serve as agents of alchemy, transforming the simplest element—hydrogen—into the panoply of heavier elements that compose life and all other material objects in the universe. x
  • 2
    The Stars’ Information Messenger
    Discover that there is much more to light than what we can see with our eyes. Investigate the properties of light and the electromagnetic spectrum, which extends from gamma rays to radio waves. Then learn how astronomers read a star’s spectrum to determine the star’s elemental composition. x
  • 3
    Measuring the Stars with Light
    Uncover more information encoded in starlight, learning how color and patterns of emission and absorption reveal the surface temperature of a star and its motion relative to Earth. Examine the scientific laws that explain stellar spectra, and find out how stellar distances are measured. x
  • 4
    Stellar Nurseries
    Probe the places where stars begin their lives: stellar nurseries. Use what you’ve learned about light to interpret the incredible colors and sculpted shapes in glowing clouds of gas and dust. See how star death leads to a new generation of stars. Close with a virtual fly-through of the stellar nursery in the Orion Nebula. x
  • 5
    Gravitational Collapse and Protostars
    Chart the stages of star birth in stunning astronomical images. From Bok globules and Herbig-Haro objects to protoplanetary disks, these phases develop as gravity brings together material within denser regions of a stellar nursery. Clumps of matter eventually collapse into stars, which often include surrounding planetary systems. x
  • 6
    The Dynamics of Star Formation
    Hundreds of stars can form inside a single cloud of collapsing gas and dust. Zoom in on the intricate details of this process. First, watch a computer simulation of star formation. Then, see how double, triple, and other gravitationally bound combinations of stars arise. x
  • 7
    Solar Systems in the Making
    Follow the formation of newborn planets as they jockey for position close to their parent stars. Computer simulations show how some planets can be ejected out of their solar systems. Such models suggest that our sun and its planetary system might have looked markedly different in the past than it does now. x
  • 8
    Telescopes—Our Eyes on the Stars
    Focus on the instruments that observe and measure stars: telescopes. Investigate the major types and the detectors they use to extract the maximum amount of information from starlight. Telescopes on Earth and in space can survey the entire range of the electromagnetic spectrum. x
  • 9
    Mass—The DNA of Stars
    Learn how mass is like a star’s DNA, as it determines all of a star’s physical characteristics. Astronomers can measure a star’s mass by observing another star in orbit around it. Explore the Hertzsprung-Russell diagram, which shows that stars of different masses fall into well-defined classes. x
  • 10
    Eclipses of Stars—Truth in the Shadows
    Investigate the remarkable usefulness of eclipses. When our moon passes in front of a star or one star eclipses another, astronomers can gather a treasure trove of data, such as stellar diameters. Eclipses also allow astronomers to identify planets orbiting other stars. x
  • 11
    Stellar Families
    Survey the two major types of star clusters. Open clusters typically form within the disk of a galaxy and represent recent generations of stars, enriched in heavier elements. By contrast, globular clusters form a halo around the centers of galaxies and are some of the most ancient stars in the universe. x
  • 12
    A Portrait of Our Star, the Sun
    Explore the nearest star, the sun, in an imaginary voyage through its fiery photosphere down to the center. Discover the sun’s rich inner structure, with strata ranging from the extremely hot and dense core—denser than solid lead—to the more rarefied outer layers. x
  • 13
    E = mc2—Energy for a Star’s Life
    Probe the physics of nuclear fusion, which is the process that powers stars by turning mass into energy, according to Einstein’s famous equation. Then examine two lines of evidence that show what’s happening inside the sun, proving that nuclear reactions must indeed be taking place. x
  • 14
    Stars in Middle Age
    Delve deeper into the lessons of the Hertzsprung-Russell diagram, introduced in Lecture 9. One of its most important features is the main sequence curve, along which most stars are found for most of their lives. Focus on the nuclear reactions occurring inside stars during this stable period. x
  • 15
    Stellar Death
    Stars like the sun end as white dwarfs, surrounded by an envelope of expelled material called a planetary nebula. Explore the complicated and beautiful structure of these dying outbursts. Then investigate the spectacular end of the most massive stars, which explode as supernovae, forging the elements of life in their violent demise. x
  • 16
    Stellar Corpses—Diamonds in the Sky
    Analyze three major types of stellar remains. Low mass stars like the sun leave behind white dwarfs, composed of carbon in a compact diamond-like state. Heavier stars collapse into super-dense neutron stars. And stars weighing more than 20 solar masses end as bizarre black holes. x
  • 17
    Dying Breaths—Cepheids and Supernovae
    Stars vary in brightness during their final phases. Study two phenomena that allow astronomers to measure distances with great accuracy across vast reaches of space: Cepheid variable stars and white dwarf supernovae. Zoom in on the processes that produce these valuable cosmic yardsticks. x
  • 18
    Supernova Remnants and Galactic Geysers
    Explore amazing images of the remnants of supernova explosions, charting how these cosmic catastrophes unfold as if in slow motion. Expanding clouds of supernova debris can trigger new star formation nearby and even carve enormous chimney-like structures in a galaxy. x
  • 19
    Stillborn Stars
    Follow the search for brown dwarfs—objects that are larger than planets but too small to ignite stellar fires. Hear about Professor Stassun’s work that identified the mass of these elusive objects, showing the crucial role of magnetism in setting the basic properties of all stars. x
  • 20
    The Dark Mystery of the First Stars
    Join the hunt for the first stars in the universe, focusing on the nearby “Methuselah” star. Explore evidence that the earliest stars were giants, even by stellar standards. They may even have included mammoth dark stars composed of mysterious dark matter. x
  • 21
    Stars as Magnets
    Because stars spin like dynamos, they generate magnetic fields—a phenomenon that explains many features of stars. See how the slowing rate of rotation of stars like the sun allows astronomers to infer their ages. Also investigate the clock-like magnetic pulses of pulsars, which were originally thought to be signals from extraterrestrials. x
  • 22
    Solar Storms—The Perils of Life with a Star
    The sun and stars produce more than just light and heat. Their periodic blasts of charged particles constitute space weather. Examine this phenomenon—from beautiful aurorae to damaging bursts of high-energy particles that disrupt electronics, the climate, and even life. x
  • 23
    The Stellar Recipe of Life
    Survey the periodic table of elements, focusing on the elements that are vital to life. From carbon, oxygen, and nitrogen to phosphorous, copper, and zinc, virtually every constituent of life was forged in a star during some phase of its life cycle. x
  • 24
    A Tale of Two Stars
    Close your introduction to stellar evolution by contrasting the life cycles of two markedly different stars: one like our sun and another 10 times more massive. Professor Stassun compares their histories to milestones in the lives of humans, bringing a personal dimension to the science of stars. x

Lecture Titles

Clone Content from Your Professor tab

What's Included

What Does Each Format Include?

Video DVD
Video Download Includes:
  • Download 24 video lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
DVD Includes:
  • 24 lectures on 4 DVDs
  • 184-page printed course guidebook
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps

What Does The Course Guidebook Include?

Video DVD
Course Guidebook Details:
  • 184-page printed course guidebook
  • Photos, illustrations, charts & diagrams
  • Suggested readings
  • Questions to consider

Enjoy This Course On-the-Go with Our Mobile Apps!*

  • App store App store iPhone + iPad
  • Google Play Google Play Android Devices
  • Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Tablet + Firephone
*Courses can be streamed from anywhere you have an internet connection. Standard carrier data rates may apply in areas that do not have wifi connections pursuant to your carrier contract.

Your professor

Keivan G. Stassun

About Your Professor

Keivan G. Stassun, Ph.D.
Vanderbilt University
Dr. Keivan G. Stassun is Professor of Physics and Astronomy at Vanderbilt University. He earned his Ph.D. in Astronomy as a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellow at the University of Wisconsin, Madison. He was a postdoctoral research fellow with the NASA Hubble Space Telescope Program before joining the faculty at Vanderbilt. Professor Stassun's research on the birth of stars, eclipsing binary stars,...
Learn More About This Professor
Also By This Professor

Reviews

The Life and Death of Stars is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 52.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sparks interest in course at a glance. This is an excellent course to recommend and use to help students interested in astronomy.
Date published: 2018-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the Best! I have not finished this course yet but I find that it is the best, most informative series of lectures that I have seen through your program. Professor Stasson is an excellent teacher. Thank you!
Date published: 2018-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to understand and comprehensive Astronomy Very pleased with this course. I aspired to be an astronomer as a youth so was familiar with many of the concepts but my knowledge was dated and incomplete. This course laid it all out with excellent graphics and easy to understand explanations. One of the most enjoyable Great Courses.
Date published: 2018-06-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fascinating subject and well taught My one bug bear was how often the camera angel changed. The constant moving from side to side was distracting and got quite annoying. There was no need for such over direction as the professor was engaging and would of been fine behind a desk or a podium. I would of given it 5 stars if this had been the case.
Date published: 2018-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant course! I found this course absolutely fascinating. I have read the course transcript so many times that it is falling apart. The professor has a knack of explaining difficult concepts in a way that anyone can understand, without dumbing down the course. I sincerely hope he writes another one for The Great Courses Company!
Date published: 2018-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this course recently and am about 1/2 way through. I have taken five other Teaching Company astronomy courses including Professor Filippenko's Introduction to Astronomy. Still, I am learning from this course, and would definitely recommend to to others who want a good course about stars. It is a slower paced course which is fine with me. I do not find the repetition tiresome, but actually very helpful. This is a solid course and am happy to be studying it.
Date published: 2017-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exciting! Dr. Stassun is not like the other lecturers that rapidly repeat a string of hard-to-understand scientific facts. He actually teaches. He pauses and makes good use of repetition. If you don't have much science knowledge, you could probably understand most of this course. I suspect that Dr. Stassun knows that science is difficult for many of us and mercifully kept us in mind as his target audience. If your knowledge of astronomy is already advanced, you will not like this course. (You might enjoy the articles that are on a certain famous free online encyclopedia.) My only complaint, similar to others, is not the comparison of star life stages to human life stages per se, but that it's a bit overdone, and I found myself being distracted and even confused by it. But that complaint describes a very small percentage of the presentation. For me this was a great purchase. My thanks to both Dr. Stassun and Great Courses (Teaching Company).
Date published: 2017-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GOOD for teaching where periodic table created! bought it for me as the full monte on astronomy was purchased for 16 yr old grandson but now that I finished viewing the DVD will be passed to the 14 yr old grandson who evidences an interest in Chemistry. I remember asking the chem teacher in high school, decades ago as I always did, & still do, But how did the chemicals get made in the first place. His little bro worked at Los Alamos so he should have known. This prof explains in each lesson why we are as Sagan said, Star Stuff.
Date published: 2017-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent lectures This series of lectures is clear, interesting and very well presented. I hope this lecturer will present another astronomy course soon!!
Date published: 2017-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Life and Death of Stars This was a beautiful series of lectures which I thoroughly enjoyed. Very good graphics aswell. I am new to astronomy and this course has encouraged me to find out more. Good value for money.
Date published: 2017-10-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Life and Death of Stars What a waste of money. This is worst than a chick flick. The superlatives, adjectives and other similarities take up half to the talk. I wanted data and some good physics but got nothing but hype. Come on Great Courses..... This is not what we want from you course. We are science people that want the data and the math that take us to the next level. This has only about 20% of what I was hoping to get from your course. If this keeps up I will watch the Science Chanel. They far out did you on this matter
Date published: 2017-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, super service.... As usual for The Great Courses!!
Date published: 2017-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Instructive and inspiring I have little scientific background, so I watched this over a period of time, sometimes repeating a lecture or a part of a lecture, but Professor Stassun is so clear and thoughtful in his presentation, that I both enjoyed and learned from this Great Course.
Date published: 2017-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Course The course had a wealth of interesting content presented in an understandable way. Professor was enthusiastic and knowlegeable. I will probably review parts of these lessons as the subject matter comes up in my personal or professional life.
Date published: 2017-06-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very sub-standard Very slow paced and bloated with cutesy tangents, this is perhaps a course for grade schoolers. Importantly, what cannot be forgiven is the imprecise used of language resulting in generalizations that are both misleading and incorrect. The most hilarious nonsense is this person's attempt to anthropomorphize the stellar life cycle. Not even close to the expected standard of The Great Courses and should be pulled from the portfolio.
Date published: 2017-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for Beginners If you have little to no knowledge of star formation or stellar death processes, this is a great course especially considering the cost relative to other Great Course lectures, but if you understand these topics I would not bother with this course. It was a great review of concepts for me, but it did not include very extensive information on the topics covered. The instructor used many interesting computer simulations and images that made concepts that are difficult to visualize more easy to digest. I also loved the use of well-known objects as examples for multiple star systems, planetary nebulae, supernova remnants, etc. I was disappointed by the lack of math and actual physics in this course, especially considering the professor’s impressive list of accomplishments. This is not a college level course. It more closely resembles an introduction or remedial class. This course did not cover much more than Alex Filippenko did in the “Understanding the Universe” lectures. The Professor’s instruction bothered me. This course is a bit slow in the beginning. It took a few lectures to get accustomed to how slow he talks, and the rather slow pace of the lectures. There is an annoying over abundance of the metaphors analogizing stars to family members, brothers, sisters, babies, wombs… especially his use of “stellar nurseries” as if he was afraid to say nebula. I consider it intellectual betrayal. I would hate to be the fledgling astronomer referring to “The Orion Nebula stellar nursery” who gets corrected. No self-respecting astronomer would call a nebula a stellar nursery repeatedly. I did enjoy the class, and it is a great value (on sale, around fifty dollars). I would be hard pressed to find a better introduction to the life and death of stars for the price.
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great material, flawed presentation I was quite excited about this course form the description, but find it unwatchable after two lectures. The subject matter is interesting and deep, well worth a TC course. But the professor speaks so slowly, and in such a sing-song voice, that the course comes across as one aimed at slow 5th graders. I just had to stop.
Date published: 2017-03-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very disappointing I am not sure what audience this course is aimed at but it is not a University level course. Seems to be more of a Middle Level High School presentation. Most of it falls into the classification of a data dump without much real analysis. The presentation is somewhat condescending with many comparisons between star formation and human birth that fail to provide any real insight into what is really going on. He also talks about stars like they were intelligent creatures going about their business of become stars. Many of the visuals I had no idea of just what I was supposed to see in the vast jumble of stars and nebula. There are several other Teaching Company courses that present this same material in a much more insightful manner. On a positive tone, the professor does maintain a consistent use of color and sudo-color throughout the course, always using blue for hotter and red for cooler which is physically correct.
Date published: 2017-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good Let me start by saying I truly enjoyed this course and I am being honest when I give it 5/5 stars. Having a background in the sciences, I understand some of the misgivings of other reviewers regarding professor Stassun's tendency to anthropomorphize. To be fair though, he repeatedly mentioned he was using analogies to make the content more meaningful to the human experience. I really enjoyed his style for many reasons. I found his pacing, approach, and use of language engaging. Should pacing always be rapid in lectures? The way he presented information was accessible, fun, and entertaining. "Humanizing" science is not always easy to do, but finding the 'balance' is of the utmost importance so learning is accessible. This is the kind of course that I can share with my young daughter and friends who have no background in chemistry and physics. Many complex concepts were explained clearly and with excellent analogies. I not only learned new content, but also discovered practical language to express these complex concepts to others. For me, this is great because there's nothing better to do with one's learning than to share it. Thank you, professor Stassun, for providing the framework and language for myself and others to do so.
Date published: 2017-01-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sesame Street Astronomy I'm sorry I bought this course. It's unfortunate that Teaching Company tries to pass this off as a college level presentation. The instructor comes across as a cartoonish creation of some kids TV program. If you took out all of the gobbly -gook you wouldn't have much science left.
Date published: 2016-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from YET ANOTHER STAR IN CONSTELLATION TC-GC This course is relatively simple and is taught at a comfortable pace—it is pleasantly easy going and often feels like a documentary. The course seems to possess the luxury of abundant time—for example the final lecture is pure, most welcome, constructive and useful revision! Moreover, the lecturer can afford to delve into an explication of the electromagnetic spectrum and into a detailed analysis of the function of telescopes—highly appropriately, I think. There is not much reliance really on prior knowledge— familiarization with physics, even at elementary high school level, would confer an advantage, still the course can, in my view, be profitably watched even by “poets”— the term has been beautifully defined by a reviewer on this site, I cannot, I’m afraid, recall at this moment in relation to which Great Course (tmitch57 invokes the term in the present lot of reviews). Poets’ likely absorption rate for Professor Stassun’s course would, I reckon, easily top 50%. But, in my view, the course is not addressed exclusively or even particularly to poets: I’m not really a poet (not an utter poet, at any rate!)—and yet I enjoyed the course immensely. Stassun is refined and suave and radiates cosmic serenity and grace. He does a superb job in bringing the stars down to the level of our armchairs, indeed (I suspect) without doing violence to the stars, i.e., without unduly and arbitrarily oversimplifying or committing gross errors of omission, and certainly without really overwhelming the minds of the occupants of the armchairs with the technicalities and also sparing us from the drudgery of which there is a lot in science. A more mathematical treatment to follow (not to replace) this course would be quite constructive and appealing to me too. If I had to engage in nit-picking, I would note that it would have been beneficial, on occasion, for Stassun to have been less urbane and more mundane and to have gotten his hands dirty. It would have been beneficial to have destroyed, in some instances, the documentary atmosphere, and to have made good use of the ample time with which the course is endowed, in order to illustrate, with higher resolution and in greater detail, things on diagrams and flow-charts, step-by-step, painstakingly moving from one point to the other on the graph, using more numerous arrows on astronomical photographs and pointing at things with a laser pointer, even at the risk of spoiling the mystique and of boring poets. Some explanations, though delivered in Stassun’s warm and confident voice, do not add-up if one thinks twice, lacunae seem to be present. The magnetism of the sun, in particular, and of the rest of the stars, in general, is not well explained—probably this is a very advanced, unpleasantly complicated field. The account of black-holes, however, is highly comprehensible and far better, in my opinion, than Fillipenko’s course which is after all devoted to this topic exclusively. As for the issue of anthropomorphism raised by a number of reviewers, for me it represents an aide memoire: it has worked in my case, it has helped my memory. I cannot imagine how it could be sinister. Perhaps it is just silly, but even stellar scientists have a childish strain. Now as far real children watching this course are concerned, I don’t think that any youngster capable of meaningfully absorbing even as little as 10% of what Stassun says, is ever likely to be taken-in by his metaphors.
Date published: 2016-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from outstanding introduction to astral science Professor Stassun exhibits an impressive command of the material and a teaching style which reflects a master's understanding of those aspects of the science which are most baffling to the uninitiated by anticipating our questions. As with most Teaching Company offerings, this one enriches and enlightens, and is a must-see for anyone interested in beginning to fathom the wonders of the universe. The one criticism I will make, and it is inconsequential in comparison to what I state above, is that Dr. Stassun strays from the scientific method to anthropomorphize much of the material. Stars are not born, do not struggle to withstand gravitational forces, do not have sibling rivalries with their neighbors, do not raise planetary families, and do not exist to produce the elements which make up life. They are the result of physical forces which act on matter in known and predictable ways. One can have a spiritual take on the cosmos, but science need not be weighted with such innuendo.
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great astronomy course I found this course to be up to date, complete, and interesting throughout. The professor kept my focus and was very likeable, but I have to say that I got really sick of his constant anthropomorphising of "baby stars".
Date published: 2016-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Review of a difficult subject. A clear and concise review of a subject seldom reviewed in commonly accessed academic articles and often time poorly reviewed in the national media with many errors documented as being true.
Date published: 2016-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good Introduction to the Study of Stars This comprised 24 lectures 30 minutes each. No mathematics is necessary to understand the material. Like Hawking in Brief History of Time, almost the only equation he throws at the audience is E=MC`2 which one can hardly avoid when the central feature of stars is precisely the process of fusion, converting matter and releasing energy. This course covers several aspects I had never heard presented in any detail before, such as the "main sequence" and secondary sequences of stars and what they mean. He covers almost everything one would want: the lifespans of stars, how they begin, when they begin, how they evolve, binaries, trinaries and larger star systems, planets, spectral analysis, search for habitable exoplanets, frequency of planet formation, neutron stars, white dwarfs, black dwarfs, black holes, brown dwarfs, pulsars, novas, supernovas, white-dwarf-novas, theories of the earliest stars and dark-matter stars, as well as naturally, how the stars give rise to almost all the elements in the universe above helium. There are a few issues with the course. Frequently mentioned is the extensive anthropomorphic language in his explanations. I assume he uses this mainly to help the audience more easily grasp the story, and at one point late in the course he explicitly says just that, but eventually one worries how many people will start taking his metaphors seriously. Less-frequently mentioned: his voice. He has a pleasant, soothing and well modulated voice. A little TOO pleasant and soothing. I often found myself fighting sleep, somewhat more so than with most of these courses. Had he not become an astronomer, he probably would have been a successful hypnotist. Pacing and camera-cutting: he always turns his head AFTER the camera view is switched. Early on, between sessions, I wish the camera man had suggested he not walk quite as far so there would be less inclination to change the camera view. It's a little awkward and disconcerting at times but was only a minor distraction. Visuals: he does show some beautiful images, but I wish he had shown a few more. The ones he does use, he often uses repeatedly during the lectures. I also would have liked some additional diagrammatic depictions and computer-generated simulations: for example how novas and supernovas can contribute to compaction and star-formation rather than just dispersing everything. I learned several new things from this, some of them extremely interesting. Generally a fine introduction to the topic, even for those who have seen other overviews of the universe, the Hubble telescope or other related courses.
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Many negative reviews off target When this course came out, I passed up buying it because, based on several reviews, I thought it would be an overly simplistic presentation will little scientific content. Not at all. I've been watching it via The Great Courses Plus and find it a very good course. There is a lot of good scientific information on stars throughout and a lot of good, relevant astronomical photos/images. If you are interested in learning about, well, the life and death of stars, I'd recommend it.
Date published: 2016-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very worthwhile introduction Video download Yes, I admit it, math is not my strong point. So I enjoyed Dr Stassun's THE LIFE AND DEATH OF STARS as a refreshing, memorable, and dare I say very entertaining exploration of the universe we live in. TGC's astronomy courses span a range from the least demanding, yet wonderful EXPERIENCING HUBBLE to Dr Filippenko's epic 96-lecture UNDERSTANDING THE UNIVERSE. STARS is halfway between the two. It is non-mathematical, designed as an introduction for non-scientists, including young viewers interested in an accurate introduction that does not bury them in minutia. At that level, Stassun does a splendid job. _____________________ And now for the bad. To make his course more relatable, Stassun anthropomorphizes a lot. Family and life cycle analogies are to some extent understandable. But stars are also endowed with a will to "survive". Here is a quote from Chapter 13: "As long as the Sun possesses mass — and the Sun has a mass equivalent to one million Earths — gravity will not relent. Unless the Sun stands up for itself, gravity will crush it into non-existence. So, for as long as it is able, the Sun does the only thing it can do to survive, which is push back. The Sun produces heat, which creates outward pressure against the compressing force of gravity." Another quote from the last chapter describing the death of a star: "This is an elderly parent, still glowing with life, knowing that it is banking up the wealth for the next generation that it had prepared for throughout its life — storing up entire worlds worth of carbon, the stuff of life." Not only do stars "fight" to survive, but Christ-like, they eventually die so that we may live. ______________________ Endowing balls of gas with will and intentions is not very scientific, a strange approach in a course designed to introduce astronomy from a naturalistic perspective. Not being literal-minded, I saw it merely as a communication strategy. Still, if you watch this course as a family, Stassun's analogies are worth discussing in connection with religious belief and intelligent design. At what point do impersonal forces betray some kind of "intentionality"? I'm just throwing this out there. Being a skeptic, I see no evidence of larger spiritual forces. You may feel otherwise. Who knows what Dr. Stassun thinks? _____________________ Presentation was excellent. Stassun is a good speaker. Graphics and Hubble photos also add enormously to the whole experience. The 170p guidebook is a good summary and includes a useful annotated bibliography. Very strongly recommended.
Date published: 2016-05-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Presentation. I think the content of this course is satisfactory but I recommend two things: 1. Please stand still, professor. Every other sentence the camera angle changes and you pace back and forth. This is distracting. Dr. Filippenko does it better in "Understanding the Universe". 2. Stop using so many analogies relating to human birth - womb, baby star, kicking to be born, nursery, etc. I'm pretty sure that there are suitable scientific terms for these processes. Too much anthropomorphism.
Date published: 2016-01-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sun...Sun... Sun!!!!!!!!! An interesting and satisfying course in general but the Professor does tend to repeat himself. Also, rather morbidly dressed at times. The graphics, animations and video clips are excellent however but again some are shown several times. To sum up; if you can sustain the Bachian repeats still worthy of a recommendation.
Date published: 2015-11-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Essentially Targets Children I understand that "The Great Courses" are trying to reach the widest audience possible, including extremely non-technical folks. However, Professor Stassun literally speaks to his audience as though he were reading small children a bedtime story. And the level of material generally coincides. There is a difference between "non-technical" and "stupid" or "immature". Because of this, it was sometimes almost torture to get through this course. There are good examples of professors who present astronomy related technical material to their non-technical audience elsewhere in The Great Course's line-up who don't condescend (Mark Whittle and Sean Carroll are excellent examples). I wish Professor Stassun had followed their lead. That said, there was some current and interesting information in this course, if you could stand to listen to it.
Date published: 2015-08-19
  • y_2019, m_5, d_22, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_52
  • loc_en_US, sid_1872, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 52.89ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Customers Who Bought This Course Also Bought