Rise of Humans: Great Scientific Debates

Course No. 1612
Professor John Hawks, Ph.D.
University of Wisconsin, Madison
Share This Course
4.6 out of 5
58 Reviews
93% of reviewers would recommend this product
Course No. 1612
Streaming Included Free

Course Overview

Trying to understand our human origins has always been a fundamental part of who we are. One of the core things we want to know is how we came to be. Thousands of years ago, human civilizations developed elaborate stories to explain the origins of humans. But today, with the help of dramatic archaeological discoveries and groundbreaking advancements in technology and scientific understanding, we are closer than ever before to learning the true story. In recent decades, paleoanthropology has exploded, bringing us closer than ever before to making sense of this controversial subject and providing us with a richer understanding of our origins. It's also sparked continued debate among the greatest minds in the field and prompted anthropologists to revise, update, and even, in some cases, overturn ideas and theories about key issues in human evolution.

  • Was Australopithecus afarensis really our earliest ancestor?
  • Did early humans evolve in Africa alone, or in regions throughout the world?
  • Do Neandertals play an important role in our genetic heritage and, if so, how?
  • Why did prehistoric humans form cooperative communities and create art?

Complete your understanding of the most up-to-date science behind our origins with The Rise of Humans: Great Scientific Debates. Delivered by expert paleoanthropologist and professor John Hawks of the University of Wisconsin–Madison, these 24 lectures bring you to the forefront of scientific arguments and questions that will become more important in the coming years. Surveying both the questions that continue to rile the world's greatest minds in anthropology and the cutting-edge science responsible for them, this course is an expert guide to the wide-ranging debates over the most essential questions we can ask. Meticulously crafted and packed with insights, this rewarding and sometimes even provocative course is a fascinating investigation of the branches, trunk, and roots of the greatest family tree there is.

Profound Answers to Questions about Your Origins

Each lecture of The Rise of Humans focuses on a single profound question about human origins and the sometimes surprising, sometimes fierce, and always illuminating debates surrounding them. You'll learn how paleoanthropologists have used everything from the tiniest fossil remains (such as teeth and fragments of jawbones) and stone tools to DNA sequencing and genetic mapping in an effort to definitively determine how we got to be the way we are today.

Here are just four of the many exciting debates Professor Hawks describes in this masterful course.

  • Was Africa or Asia more central to human origins? Charles Darwin believed that Africa was the most likely place for humans to have originated because of our relationship to African apes. Other scientists, such as Ernst Haeckel, argued that Southeast Asia was the most likely site of human origins because geography would have differentiated us from African apes. While it's now clear that early hominins were all found in Africa, debate continues over whether our genus Homo might have involved a time of evolution in Asia.
  • What did prehistoric cultural groups look like? Early archaeologists systematized the stone tool traditions in prehistory by recognizing types of artifacts that might be found in one tradition and not others. The debate over two different perspectives on differences in stone tools—that they reflect different traditions or that they reflect the tasks a single group of prehistoric people performed—has deepened our understanding of rich archaeological sites.
  • How long ago did humans reach the New World? Scrutiny over archaeological discoveries in the United States led to the "Clovis first" hypothesis, which held that the first humans to enter the New World came over ice sheets that once covered northern North America about 12,000 years ago. Yet during the 1990s, geneticists began to contribute to the debate, tracing the origins of today's American Indians to a small population that left Asia sometime closer to 15,000 years ago.
  • How important was symbolic representation to modern humans? Prehistoric art found in caves throughout France and Spain show a growing interest among our ancestors for artistically representing the world. Anthropologists still debate the importance of this kind of representation to our evolution; some argue that prehistoric art is fundamental to our cultural abilities, while others posit that it's merely a side effect of human intelligence.

Reunite with Some of Your Earliest Ancestors

With these lectures, you'll travel across time and around the world, from Ethiopia and Tanzania to Pakistan and Java to Sumatra and North America. You'll peer over the shoulders of archaeologists as they unearth fossils, tools, and other artifacts from the earth and reconstruct the bodies and lives of our earliest ancestors. You'll follow geneticists as they use mitochondrial DNA to draw startling connections between prehistoric human populations from around the world. And you'll encounter some of our most intriguing distant relatives.

  • Australopithecus afarensis: In the 1970s, paleoanthropologist Mary Leakey uncovered evidence for the earliest known hominin in Tanzania, at a site that preserved not only the jaws and teeth of this prehistoric species but also fossil footprints showing its adaptation to upright walking. Paleoanthropologists still argue over whether better evidence for the ancestry of Homo will come from A. afarensis or some earlier, as-yet-unknown species.
  • Homo habilis: A series of skulls dating back to around 2 million years, with larger brains than other species, was described by paleoanthropologist Philip Tobias as the earliest members of our genus Homo. With a body like Australopithecus and a meat-based diet, H. habilis could be part of our genus; although with some evidence of Homo erectus dating back to the same age as these fossils, it could be a totally different kind of hominin.
  • Homo floresiensis: A recent burning debate in paleoanthropology is over the identity of Homo floresiensis. A fossil skull found on the island of Flores suggests an extremely small-bodied population with individuals about three to four feet tall. Found together with indigenous animals such as pygmy mastodons and giant storks, these "hobbits" could represent a unique population of humans isolated from the rest of humanity.
  • Neandertals: Neandertals were the earliest fossil humans to have been found and, at the time of their discovery, there was debate over whether they were our ancestors or part of a much less specialized population. We now understand that humans and Neandertals trace a common ancestry to sometime before 250,000 years ago and that the early population of Europe may reflect the emerging Neandertal population. In fact, people of European descent can have up to 4% of Neandertal genes in their DNA.

Your Guide to Human Evolutionary History

What makes The Rise of Humans so unique is the approach Professor Hawks brings toward explaining the field's hottest debates. One of the first paleoanthropologists to study fossil evidence and genetic information together in order to test hypotheses about human prehistory, Professor Hawks is adept at looking at human origins not just with one lens, but with two.

He has traveled around the world to examine delicate skeletal remains and pore over the complex results of genetic testing. His research and scholarship on human evolutionary history has been featured in a variety of publications, including Science, American Journal of Physical Anthropology, Slate, and Journal of Human Evolution.

But more than that, Professor Hawks has crafted a course that demonstrates the passion and excitement involved in the field of paleoanthropology. With his engaging lecturing style and his use of fossil finds taken from his personal collection, Professor Hawks will capture your attention and show you all the drama and excitement to be found in eavesdropping on the latest debates about human evolutionary history.

So join him for this engrossing and eye-opening learning experience—one that will bring you to the cusp of our 21st-century knowledge about the origin of humans, that will fill in critical gaps in your understanding of where we come from, and that will better prepare you for the great discoveries and fresh debates of tomorrow.

Hide Full Description
24 lectures
 |  Average 32 minutes each
  • 1
    Ramapithecus—Ape Man
    There’s no better illustration of scientific debates over the rise of humans than the story of how Ramapithecus was cast out of our ancestry. In this first lecture, witness how fossil evidence and molecular evidence—working both together and independently—can help explain some of anthropology’s most complex issues. x
  • 2
    Australopithecus afarensis—Ancestor or Not?
    One of the most famous scientific debates in anthropology took place in the 1970s, with the discovery of fossil remains of a possible Homo ancestor, Australopithecus afarensis. Where exactly did Homo come from? Follow this highly public story from the perspective of the key personalities involved: scientists Don Johanson and Richard Leakey. x
  • 3
    Ardipithecus—Hominin or Not?
    In 1994, paleontologists discovered the 4.4-million-year-old remains of Ardipithecus ramidus. Is it a true hominin? What skeletal features suggest the tradeoffs between being an effective climber and walking bipedally? Answer these and other questions by closely examining the fossil and genetic evidence of this fascinating “ground ape.” x
  • 4
    Brain Structure versus Brain Size
    Your brain separates you more from apes than any other anatomical feature. Investigate the gradual increase in hominid brain size in the fossil record. Looking at what fossil skulls (such as the Taung skull) reveal about blood circulation and cooling, you’ll shed new light on brain size and skull structure. x
  • 5
    The Dietary Hypothesis
    Explore the relationship between diet and morphology in this lecture on Australopithecus robustus and Australopithecus africanus. The teeth and jaws of these two species, you’ll discover, offer intriguing windows into the fierce debate surrounding the dietary hypothesis and the true adaptive differences between robust and gracile hominids. x
  • 6
    Africa or Asia?
    Was Africa or Asia more central to human origins? How can we tell? Drawing on the ideas and theories of prominent scientists, including Charles Darwin, Ernst Haeckel, and Louis Leakey, learn how we found the truth about where our genus Homo came from—and where it evolved. x
  • 7
    An Ape’s View of the Oldowan
    Tool use marks a tremendously important step in evolution. But how important is it really, considering chimpanzees can also make and use tools? Professor Martin offers you a detailed picture of what early stone toolmakers were like, as well as some of the primitive tools found in parts of Africa. x
  • 8
    Who Was Homo habilis?
    Examine what the fossil record reveals about Homo habilis, a species that serves as a transitional marker between Australopithecines and the rest of the genus Homo. A key mystery in this lecture: how Homo habilis can have the anatomy to be our ancestor yet not exist at the right time in evolutionary history. x
  • 9
    How Big Was Homo erectus?
    Using a magnificent find of the skeleton of a 1.5-million-year-old boy (known as the Nariokotome skeleton), delve into the issue of how important size was to becoming human. Recent discoveries of Homo erectus remains, as you’ll discover, have led to a reevaluation of the growth process of these hunters and gatherers. x
  • 10
    The Movius Line
    Professor Hawks explains the complexities of the Movius Line, a fairly clear line that separates the Western distribution of hand axes from areas in the East where they were rarely made. Central to this constant puzzler in the story of evolution are the more than 500,000-year-old remains of the Peking Man. x
  • 11
    The Hobbits of Flores
    The identity of Homo floresiensis, a species of small-brained humans that averaged a height of 3.5 feet, is the most burning debate in paleoanthropology. Investigate the origins of these mysterious “hobbits” and whether they represented a new species of human or were merely the remains of abnormally developed modern humans. x
  • 12
    Archaeology and Cooperation
    Explore what archaeology tells us about cooperation and compassion in prehistoric people with this insightful lecture. Professor Hawks reveals how archaeological remains and other kinds of evidence offer intriguing clues about how prehistoric people worked together to make tools, hunt animals, share meals, and even take care of their injured. x
  • 13
    Presapiens or Preneandertal?
    Working with the European fossil record, examine the debate over whether Neandertals were our true ancestors, or simply a much less specialized population. Along the way, you’ll comb through remains from Spanish caves in Atapuerca and encounter the notorious evolutionary forgery known as the Piltdown Man. x
  • 14
    What Do Stone Tools Reveal about Early Man?
    French archaeologist Francois Bordes interpreted variations in stone tool remains as evidence of different groups of people who existed in the past. American archaeologist Lewis Binford, however, believed these variations reflected different activities. Who was right? Find out in this lecture on the way scientists interpret the archaeological record. x
  • 15
    Did Neandertals Speak?
    How important was language to shaping human evolution? Discover the answer to this question by studying the skeletal remains of Neandertals discovered in the late 20th century. Learn how anthropologists, with the help of a specific bone and a key language gene, determined that Neandertals could—contrary to earlier beliefs—talk. x
  • 16
    Neandertals—Extinct or Ancestors?
    Follow along as scientists examine Neandertal genes to determine just how close our ties are to this primitive species, which disappeared about 30,000 years ago. What scientists found when the entire genome sequence of Neandertals was reconstructed in 2010—and what it reveals about the true fate of Neandertals—may surprise you. x
  • 17
    Is Our Neandertal Heritage Important?
    Are there behaviors we can trace back to our Neandertal heritage by closely studying mitochondrial DNA? If so, what’s useful? What isn’t? It’s a debate nearly as old as anthropology itself—and Professor Hawks’s explanation of how it works forms the subject of this provocative and insightful lecture. x
  • 18
    Multiregional Evolution versus Out of Africa
    Did modern humans emerge from Africa? Or did they evolve in regions around the world? These two competing questions became the most persistent debate in anthropology in the late 20th century. Consider evidence for either scenario and learn how scientists reached their current understanding of the dispersal of modern humans. x
  • 19
    Climate’s Impact on Our Evolution
    Investigate the important role of climate change events—specifically the catastrophic eruption of Mount Toba around 74,000 years ago—in shaping the rise of man. Did this event cause a population crash among prehistoric humans, finishing off some populations and paving the way for the spread of modern humanity? x
  • 20
    Language—Adaptation or Spandrel?
    For decades, scientists debated over whether language was a target of natural selection in evolution or merely a side effect. Blending anthropology and linguistics, Professor Hawks helps you make sense of what Charles Darwin, Noam Chomsky, and others had to say about evolution’s role in the development of human language. x
  • 21
    Why Did Humans Start Creating Art?
    Is prehistoric art just a side-effect of our intelligence, or is it somehow fundamental to our cultural abilities? Explore this perplexing question by closely examining beads, utilitarian tools, decorative objects, rock art, and other primitive art forms unearthed at archaeological sites in Europe, Africa, and Australia. x
  • 22
    Clovis or Pre-Clovis?
    Professor Hawks discusses the continuing debate over the arrival of humans in the New World. Some anthropologists believe that the Clovis culture was the first to spread south across North America about 12,000 years ago. Others believe there may have been even earlier migrations to the Americas. x
  • 23
    Farming—Migration or Diffusion?
    In this lecture, investigate the relationship between agriculture and the spread of early human societies throughout Europe. Central to this is the argument over whether agriculture spread through population movements into widespread areas, or whether adjacent populations simply adopted farming practices (as well as new languages) without mass migration. x
  • 24
    Are Humans Still Evolving?
    To conclude the course, Professor Hawks addresses some of 21st-century anthropology’s most important questions. Are we still evolving? Is human evolution slowing down or speeding up? What are we going to look like in the future? And is it possible for us to actually bring evolution under our control? x

Lecture Titles

Clone Content from Your Professor tab

What's Included

What Does Each Format Include?

Video DVD
Instant Video Includes:
  • Download 24 video lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
Instant Audio Includes:
  • Download 24 audio lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE audio streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
DVD Includes:
  • 24 lectures on 4 DVDs
  • 152-page printed course guidebook
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps

What Does The Course Guidebook Include?

Video DVD
Course Guidebook Details:
  • 152-page printed course guidebook
  • Photos & illustrations
  • Suggested readings
  • Questions to consider

Enjoy This Course On-the-Go with Our Mobile Apps!*

  • App store App store iPhone + iPad
  • Google Play Google Play Android Devices
  • Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Tablet + Firephone
*Courses can be streamed from anywhere you have an internet connection. Standard carrier data rates may apply in areas that do not have wifi connections pursuant to your carrier contract.

Your professor

John Hawks

About Your Professor

John Hawks, Ph.D.
University of Wisconsin, Madison
Dr. John Hawks is Associate Professor of Anthropology at the University of WisconsinñMadison, where he has taught courses ranging from biological anthropology to brain evolution since 2002. He earned his B.S. in Anthropology from Kansas State University and M.S. and Ph.D. in Anthropology from the University of Michigan. Early in his career, Dr. Hawks focused on fossil and archaeological evidence for human evolution....
Learn More About This Professor
Also By This Professor

Reviews

Rise of Humans: Great Scientific Debates is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 58.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great course The format of the lectures - great scientific debates - not only gives you the information about hominid species known today, but also different views on the available data, which I find the most informative and fascinating. I also liked Professor Hawks style, he is very engaging.
Date published: 2019-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent exposition by a most engaging lecturer With a basic understanding of human evolution, this series fleshed out in great detail the omissions in my knowledge. Professor Hawks has a most engaging style and his expert knowledge shines through. Loved it!
Date published: 2019-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good! Very good overview of human evolution. The state of human paleontology is extremely confusing because sometimes the old names are used in current articles, there are feuds between opposing scientists and there are so many new finds to the point that trying to keep up with the field is next to impossible. Professor Hawks presents the information clearly, offers differing views, explains controversies, and goes into side stories that I found very interesting. I learned a great deal of solid information from these side stories. Actually, I wouldn't mind if he had told even more side stories. I can imagine he would conduct a very interesting class on campus. He actually reminded me of an old geology professor I had in college.
Date published: 2019-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Informative, met my needs I was looking for interest and informative discussion of how we came to be the people we are. I found the class interesting. The professor corrected a few of my misconceptions which were based on very old information.
Date published: 2019-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Enjoying This Course We're about a quarter of the way through this course and we're really enjoying it. We watch some every night and it's one of the best Great Courses I've purchased, and I've purchased a couple of dozen. I particularly like the professor's easy style and how comfortable he seems in front of the camera. Very easy to watch and understand, and you can tell he's passionate about the subject. Be aware, however, this isn't just an evolutionary history course. It's not just this guy evolved from that guy. It's about the debates and questions in the search to understand human evolution. Good stuff.
Date published: 2019-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Detailed I really liked this course. It might be a little too much detail for some people but if you want an in depth review, done very well, by an interesting and well informed instructor, this is the course for you.
Date published: 2019-03-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good professor The professor is excellent. The material is a bit dry at times but I still found it interesting as I knew nothing about it before.
Date published: 2018-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Important Questions, All Answers Not In Yet This course brings to mind so many important issues concerning human evolution it is a must "read". I would like to give this course a 4.5 but the system does not allow it. I've taken many of TGC's with many real 5.0 presentations. This course is really good but I thought the presentation and explanations of the professor just were not up to the 5.0 level of many other TGC's. What is great about this course is it will get you thinking about just what is a human and, when and where did we get to the point that "we" were human and the previous version was not a "human". The professor does a good job of explaining how genetics are now being used to refine our knowledge of evolution. But, as the professor points out at the beginning, as many new questions arise as answers. From Darwin onward the earliest anthropologist and archaeologists were looking for a rather simple answer. This course points out the answer is not simple and many factors such as diet, climate, migration, genetics, and possible interactions of various "pre-humans" all could have an effect on our evolution. At some point, not clearly defined, "we" acquired a brain that was capable of what some scientist call "collective and continuous learning" (not this professor's term) which allowed "us" to innovate, invent, build on each new piece of knowledge, and pass on that knowledge continuously to future generations in large social groups. This course is well worth taking to understand the complications in getting to "the definitive" answers of human evolution.
Date published: 2018-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Professor Professor Hawks is a very gifted teacher who is an expert in his field. His enthusiasm for the subject is obvious, and I was impressed with the clarity of his lectures. The course is quite comprehensive and will be be best appreciated by students with a genuine interest in paleoanthropology.
Date published: 2017-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Teaching at its best Professor Hawks makes an interesting subject--paleoanthropology--fascinating. He combines great knowledge with excellent organization, clear illustrations, and the ability to simplify complexity. Highly recommend this valuable video course.
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great course! Awesome course! One of my favorites! Definitely recommended.
Date published: 2017-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great in both audio and video I've watched and listened to this course at least 10 times since I got it. Very enjoyable.
Date published: 2017-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Invitation to assess Messr. Hawks presentation of human development? Alright, I’ll bite. First, the aural ambient speaks of someone with unique memory. Not anything developmentally or summarily evident, just the procedural coherent content of delivery. Wish I had that. Well, at least the top of his head seems to be the clone of mine. Something came along and pushed the follicles to the side. Maybe we’re in the same phylum at least. Something that blew me away is accentuation in a skull 1.9 million years old; indication of a developed Broca’s area of the brain. These people had a developing capacitance of speech!? What took so long for it to become evident in picture and writing? But… A word so often invoked that said the professor was skeptical of the findings now extant. Nonetheless, he got through a course that said there were elements of advancement toward humanity – humans do have ancestry. The intermix of it all is a bit enthralling, and disconcerting. Humanity progenated from something, mostly everything, now no longer evident in meristematic evidence. Then where is humanity headed (not anthropology’s domain). Question that speaks of a course that has half the answer. Merely my concern that robotics promises to become the dynamo of world animation. So, I am left in quandary of a question whose answer Is insoluble in the sea of its occupation: What is a human being?
Date published: 2017-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting and worth buying I enjoyed the course and learned some new things about the evolution of humans. I will admit that I could not keep up with all the names of different species, but have a better understanding, as an overview, of human evolution. The audio download was fine for this course, in my opinion. The professor describes what he is showing; I don't think the video is essential.
Date published: 2017-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Speaking of the hyoid bone... This course is not for everyone, yet everyone should be interested in the substance of the course...it's about us, after all. This is a course in Paleoanthropology, tracing the origins of Homo sapiens back nearly 7 million years in Africa, and is a college-level survey course that requires a bit of background and a willingness to research for yourself outside the video and guidebook. Dr Hawks, for me, represents the newest generation of scientists, looking to merge different disciplines to solve some of the 'debates' of the older generations of scientist. OK, back to the review. For those considering purchasing, please get a video version...unless you are listening with an internet connection close at hand. I usually prefer audio...but you need to see this stuff. You should have some background understanding of biology, geology (especially the law of superposition), chemistry, geography and anthropology...it's not that you have to be an expert, just aware. This is probably considered as an upper-level survey course that needs some introduction...Barbara King's course is probably a good one (almost always on sale). There are a lot of names...you will forget them, just like the names of all your classmates taking Anthro 101 your freshman year. But you will remember the progression from simple primate to cave-art makers to farmers with the ability to grow the makings of a crude beer. And keep in mind how quickly (geologically speaking) all this happened. Highly recommended course...I've watched it twice, as well as read most of Hawks' online comments. Pretty soon you'll be well on your way to getting that junior paleoanthropologist ring you've always wanted. Get it on sale during TGC's half-off promo (have I mentioned that before?)
Date published: 2016-10-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Man and Mankind. An interesting and entertaining course expertly taught and presented with some quite good visuals. I would recommend these set of lectures.
Date published: 2016-09-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Bit Disjointed Version: Audio. Much like the fossils discussed in this course, there are many pieces missing. But the pieces that are there are interesting, fascinating, and well-presented. Professor Hawks is great -- very clear in his presentations of sometimes complex theories, very knowledgeable, and very articulate. All of the material presented in all of the lectures has been really, really good. The only issue I have with the course is that it feels like a "tasting" event -- I'm getting lots of samples of a variety of really delicious foods, but not enough of each one to be satisfying, and certainly not a complete meal. Of course, the subject area of "The Rise of Humans" is far too vast for a single course, even if it were twice as long as this 24-lecture series. At the same time, the course does not seem focused on the "Great Scientific Debates" either. Some of the lectures are informational: Here's a bit of history about how this area of paleontology developed, or here's what we know about this species. Some lectures do discuss scientific debates about certain topics. Some lectures just present theories about certain topics that don't really rise to the level of great scientific debates. And there seems to be a lot about very early hominid species, then a lot about Neanderthals, but not an overview showing the progression. Bottom line -- great course, well worth it, but it leaves me wanting more. That's not a bad thing!
Date published: 2016-07-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not up to par This is a low rating for me. I've listened to several dozen of the courses and rate most of them as 4s or 5s. I should say that I listened to these lectures on CD, and it is the first time I feel I've been misled about the information that the course is fine in this format. There were many references to visual material, the absence of which undercut my appreciation for the lectures. The separate lectures are not well related to each other. The first one dives in without any overview or larger framework, and the relationship between the parts never gets much clearer. Perhaps this course would be better appreciated by someone who already had a better--or more recent--knowledge of human evolution and who was approaching this one as an "advanced topics" course. (Just a guess.) Having presented these complaints, I'll say that there was much material I found interesting, even without having a good sense of the overall context. The ways DNA analysis have changed interpretations of evidence and some discussions about early art are two examples.
Date published: 2016-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great course! I have been purchasing The Great Courses since at least 2006. That was when the courses were sold in audio cassettes. I was working then and listened to them walking before work, at lunch, and walking after work. I am not an intellectual like most of the course evaluators here seem to be, but i do have a college degree, not that it should matter. A lot of life learners don't have a lot of formal education, but just a lot of interest and curiosity in learning about all subject matters, which is why The Great Courses is such a wonderful venue, Anyhow, to get back to the subject of The Rise of Humans, I just find this course so helpful in what I've been trying to understand about how we came to be us. Prof. Hawks is great. I've been interested in the origin of humans for some time now. I've started reading Harari's "Sapiens, A Brief History of Humankind" but stopped to listen to this course so that I can better understand the book. There's nothing greater than life-long learning. And I am so grateful for The Great Courses.
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best course I've listened to so far I adore Robert Sapolsky and have all his lectures. I would have easily said his courses were the best hands down until I listened to this one. My graduate degree is in Biological Anthropology and this course did a wonderful job of updating my knowledge of paleoanthropology. If someone does not have a good working knowledge of anatomy, the DVD (which I assume has visuals when he is discussing skull features, etc) might be a better choice but the audio is certainly well worth the time if anyone, like me, uses these courses during lengthy commutes. I'd like to see the professor update this course with the new fossils recently discovered.
Date published: 2015-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent review of current issues This course provides an excellent review of current issues in physical anthropology. The lecturer does a superb job of explaining the material for the non-professional and providing the context for the issues. This is critical for those who want to get the real facts rather than the theories shown in popular educational programs because recent finds and technology (such as DNA analysis, have changed and continue to change our understanding of human evolution. For example, I was totally unaware that all of the Neanderthal remains found to date were from females. This means that nothing is known about the Neanderthal Y-chromosome and how it may have influenced their ability to adapt to the environment. Those who want to update their understanding of the scientific debate in this field will find this course fascinating and exceptionally well presented.
Date published: 2015-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rise of Humans:Great Scientific Debates Excellent course for anyone interested in Human Evolution and Anthropology.Professor Hawks presents many different ancient relatives and ancestors to modern man as well as explaining theories on Brain size,Diet,climate impact on evolution,language and theories on how it came to be.Thought it was a great course and very interesting.Would also recommend Major Transitions in Evolution which Professor Hawks shares with Professor Anthony Martin.
Date published: 2015-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Professor Hawks is the best Professor Hawks' knowledge and enthusiasm make his lectures engaging and easily understood by people who are outside his field. He manages to explain simple concepts without ever seeming condescending, and complicated ones without ever being inaccessible. He has a very pleasant speaking voice.
Date published: 2015-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding! Knowing close to nothing about paleoanthropology before I watched this course, I won't presume to comment on any technical issues. I will say only that Professor Hawks is a great lecturer; his understanding of and enthusiasm for the subject matter is inspiring; the subject is fascinating; the format (great debates) is original; and of the many Great Courses I've watched or listened to, this clearly is one of the best - on a par with the courses given by Professor Elizabeth Vandiver. I would hope that Professor Hawks can be persuaded to do another one.
Date published: 2014-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Course! I loved this course! I had many questions going into it, and he managed to answer all of them! I loved the format. The instructor did a great job of explaining both sides of these scientific debates and made it so much easier to understand and appreciate the process scientists go through before they say "we now know..." Other reviewers have criticized his hand movements. I didn't find anything objectionable about his presentation. His enthusiasm was contagious. Loved the course.
Date published: 2014-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fsacinating survey course of human evolution Prior to hearing this course, I heard another TGC course in which twelve lectures (a third of the full course) were on the subject of early human evolution: "human prehistory and the first civilizations" by professor Fagan. After finishing the course, I felt that I was not satisfied with the extent to which this topic was covered, and found this course on the topic. This is one of the courses that I had enjoyed most so far in the TGC. Professor Hawks describes in some detail current understandings of the field, and how firm these understandings are. This is usually done by presenting in some detail the scientific techniques used in arriving at some of the conclusions; what other evidence can support the theory and what evidence weakens the theory or even invalidates it. He takes great care that at the end of each lecture, the listener has a pretty good idea of how firm the theory is on the specific aspect that was discussed. Some of the techniques described were extremely interesting within themselves, such as using differences in neutral regions of genomes (non functional regions), in order to date a divergence in evolution of two related species or populations. The field appears to be extremely multidisciplinary, involving research from as diverse fields as biology, linguistics, archeology and genetics (to name just a few). The way in which all of these different fields of research are harnessed in order to substantiate or invalidate a particular theory (or even one tiny aspect of a particular theory) is fascsinating, and all of this is presented in profound detail and talent by professor Hawks. Wonderful course...
Date published: 2013-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from How we got to be human I found all of the information interesting, but what I enjoyed most was the description of how paleoanthropologists work with other scientists to advance knowledge in their field. Anthropology, archaeology, biology, genetics, geology,and other fields are combined to give us a window into ancient hominid history.
Date published: 2013-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Engaging course-why I recommend I am a neophyte to this subject matter and I loved the course. I was a bit lost the first lecture but by the second lecture I became totally engrossed. The course is well named because in each lecture the Prof deals with an unresolved scientific debate. I found myself not only interested in the lectures but eager to read and learn more about the subject matter. Really a fine course
Date published: 2013-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow. Possibly the Best Course so far. I love to watch selections from the Great Courses. It's fun to refresh old memories of topics learned in college years ago and sometimes learn new things I haven't been exposed to before. This course is the best one I've seen so far out of nearly a dozen. The topic is not just interesting, it's captivating. The organization is straightforward, concise and precise with only a few tangents and unnecessary repetitions here and there. And Professor Hawks' presentation is very well executed. I dinged him a star because he can't seem to keep his hands still when he speaks and it was distracting at times, but overall this is an A+ course. Thanks to all who made it happen.
Date published: 2013-03-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ambivalent Prof. Hawks is so focused on the structure of "debate" by which he means unresolved theories that confusion reigns particularly in the first half . Given the relative dearth of evidence of early hominids no single theory is likely to be absolutely confirmable, but I did not get a sense of which theory is currently predominant . Its like one gets a fully & equal explication of the heliocentric theory along with the Copernican one . Confusing . Once Hawks gets to the Neolithic he is on familiar ground & is very affirmative , clear & much more precise -all to the benefit of the listener .
Date published: 2012-07-22
  • y_2020, m_5, d_26, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_55
  • loc_en_US, sid_1612, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 66.36ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Customers Who Bought This Course Also Bought