Understanding Linguistics: The Science of Language

Course No. 2270
Professor John McWhorter, Ph.D.
Columbia University
Share This Course
4.6 out of 5
80 Reviews
87% of reviewers would recommend this product
Course No. 2270
Video Streaming Included Free

Course Overview

We all use language every day of our lives. Language, regardless of the particular dialect spoken, is the tool we use to express our wants, our needs, and our feelings.

Recently, many experts who study language have become convinced by an idea about this remarkable human trait that was, only a few decades ago, utterly revolutionary. These experts believe that the capacity for spoken language and the rules for its structure are not cultural but universal—a set of rules shared by humans in every culture and that even may be hardwired into our brains. Moreover, these rules apply regardless of which of the world's 6,000 languages are being spoken.

But what are these rules? How do they work? And how can knowing them enhance your experience of the world?

The 36 lectures of Understanding Linguistics: The Science of Language—taught by acclaimed linguist, author, and Professor John McWhorter from Columbia University—are your opportunity to take a revealing journey through the fascinating terrain of linguistics. You focus on the scientific aspects of human language that were left out of any classes you may have taken in English or a foreign language, and you emerge from your journey with a newfound appreciation of the mysterious machinery built into all of us—an appreciation likely to surface time and again in your everyday life.

Gain Insights into How We Speak

"When we talk about language, we talk about the way people talk," says Professor McWhorter. Just as linguistics opens windows into our past, it can also reveal more about the world we live in today.

It was once possible, perhaps even likely, to go through daily life without encountering someone who spoke a different language. But in today's increasingly diverse world, where you can encounter different languages in different settings and where you might even speak multiple languages yourself, understanding how languages operate is increasingly important and can be extraordinarily rewarding.

In Understanding Linguistics, you explore the vast field of scientific linguistics and discover why this burgeoning field is becoming increasingly important in your everyday life:

  • Glean the real meanings hidden in everyday conversations.
  • Understand the process by which young children learn to speak.
  • Comprehend that changes in language (including new words, constructions, or usages) are a normal and inevitable part of the language's evolution.
  • Grasp the complex interaction of language, brain structure, and the physiology of the human mouth.
  • See how the science of language can reveal nuances of human history beyond the reach of any other discipline.

From Building Blocks to Social Tools

Professor McWhorter explains and illustrates the critical elements and purposes of language, from its most basic building blocks to its uses as a nuanced social tool:

  • The basic sounds from which human language is built and why the English alphabet, with only 26 letters, is inadequate to deal with the 44 sounds of our own language—a dilemma solved by the International Phonetic Alphabet
  • How these sounds are combined into words and words into sentences, and how rules of structure hardwired into everyone's brain work to ensure that those sentences have meaning within whatever language is being spoken
  • How children learn to acquire their first language spontaneously but why learning a second language can be so difficult
  • Why language, from the level of basic sounds to the customs of usage, inevitably changes over time
  • How writing systems, which exist for only about 200 of the world's approximately 6,000 languages, evolved

Meet Pioneering Linguists

Understanding Linguistics also introduces you to many of the individuals who have most influenced our scientific understanding of language. The business of linguists isn't policing language, correcting your grammar, or acting as a translator; instead, linguists devote themselves to the scientific study of human language. These are some of the many pioneers of the field whom you meet in this course:

  • Jacob Grimm: Best known to the general public for the often-dark folk tales he collected with his brother, Grimm demonstrated the systematic and predictable way the sounds of a language evolve, offering linguists a way to trace current languages back to their roots.
  • Noam Chomsky: Also a political commentator and activist, Chomsky founded the influential school of syntactic analysis—the study of how words are ordered into sentences—and developed the now widely accepted hypothesis of a hardwired human capacity for language.
  • Edward Sapir: Sapir first put forth the seed of what was ultimately to become one of linguistics' most enduring theories: that languages, to some extent, reflect the thought patterns and cultural outlooks of their speakers.
  • Benjamin Whorf: Building on the ideas of Sapir, Whorf developed what became known as the Sapir-Whorf hypothesis: the idea that people's languages actually channel the way in which they perceive the world.
  • Ferdinand de Saussure: Straddling the 19th and 20th centuries, de Saussure laid the foundation for modern linguistics analysis with his idea that language could be analyzed as it exists in the moment and not just from a historical perspective.
  • William Labov: One of the first linguists to examine how race, class, and gender influence language, Labov, in his signature study The Social Stratification of English in New York City, inaugurated the now-vigorous subfield of sociolinguistics.

An Entertaining, Captivating Instructor

Professor McWhorter, a prolific writer and frequent media commentator, makes the process of understanding linguistics intensely rewarding.

Supplementing his own considerable teaching skills with recorded materials and exclusively developed graphics designed to make even complex ideas immediately graspable, he takes you inside your own mind and into cultures and social situations around the world to explain the surprisingly orderly and hierarchical levels of human language.

In exploring the ideas and people that make this course both intellectually rigorous and readily accessible, Professor McWhorter is tirelessly entertaining and as captivated by his subject as he wants you to be. His use of humor, personal anecdotes, and unexpected forays into contemporary culture make Understanding Linguistics a course you'll savor long after you've finished the final lecture.

Undoubtedly, you'll find its insights surfacing whenever you experience the language around you.

Hide Full Description
36 lectures
 |  Average 30 minutes each
  • 1
    What Is Linguistics?
    Linguistics is the scientific study of human language. This lecture introduces your course's key elements, from language's building blocks to the many ways linguistic practitioners use them to learn more about us and the role of language in our lives. x
  • 2
    The Sounds of Language—Consonants
    The English alphabet, with only 26 letters, offers only an approximate sense of the 44 sounds English uses. You learn how linguists therefore transcribe x
  • 3
    The Other Sounds—Vowels
    You continue your exploration of the International Phonetic Alphabet with a look at its vowels—a much larger resource than the five provided by the conventional alphabet—and are able to transcribe entire words and sentences in the IPA. x
  • 4
    In the Head versus On the Lips
    Some sounds are "real" ones that distinguish meaning; others are just variations. In exploring how words are generated on two levels, you learn about a contrast basic to modern linguistics: the difference between phonemic and phonetic sounds. x
  • 5
    How to Make a Word
    Just as actual sounds correspond only partially to the alphabet, the words we write correspond only partially to actual units of meaning. This lecture introduces you to the linguistic "unit of meaning" called a morpheme, several of which might be contained in a single word. x
  • 6
    The Chomskyan Revolution
    Although best known outside linguistics for his political writings, Noam Chomsky inaugurated a revolution in linguistic thought, proposing in the 1950s that the capacity for language is innate, driven by a neurological configuration that generates words in a hierarchical, branching "tree" format known as phrase structure. x
  • 7
    Deep Structure and Surface Structure
    You learn the evidence for Chomsky's argument that the sentences we utter at "surface structure" level often emerge with a different constituent ordering than was in place at "deep structure" level—the result of processes of movement he originally called transformations. x
  • 8
    The On-Off Switches of Grammar
    Syntax, in linguistics, refers to the mechanisms that order words in sentences. This lecture introduces you to the idea that languages' syntaxes differ according to whether certain parameters—such as whether objects come before or after verbs—are set to "on" or "off." x
  • 9
    Shades of Meaning and Semantic Roles
    Languages differ in how they express basic concepts of meaning, such as person, space, and tense. This lecture introduces you to semantics—the ways in which different languages use the building blocks you've learned about to communicate messages about the full range of reality. x
  • 10
    From Sentence to Storytelling
    You begin to learn about pragmatics—how we move beyond the literal meaning of sentences to real-world matters like attitude, general presuppositions, and what is known versus what is new. Pragmatics is what makes strings of words express the full range of humanity and consciousness. x
  • 11
    Language on Its Way to Becoming a New One
    Jacob Grimm was more than a compiler of fairy tales. In learning how Grimm's Law spurred the development of a scientific way of charting sound changes, you are introduced to historical linguistics, the study of how language changes over time. x
  • 12
    Recovering Languages of the Past
    Linguists can reconstruct what earlier languages were like by comparing their modern descendants. In this lecture you see how comparative reconstruction is applied to the recovery of the ancestor of the Romance languages and the ancestor to the Polynesian languages. x
  • 13
    Where Grammar Comes From
    Where do a language's "grammatical" words—words that, like "about," have no independent meaning in the sense that a concrete word like "apple" does—actually come from? You learn how independent words marking concrete concepts are reinterpreted over time to serve as grammatical markers. x
  • 14
    Language Change from Old English to Now
    You get a chance to observe the process of language change described in the previous three lectures, examining a passage of Old English to see how changes in sound patterns, word formation, and grammatical patterns changed that language into the one we now speak. x
  • 15
    What Is an Impossible Language?
    There are ways in which a language can and does change, but there are also ways in which it cannot. You gain an understanding of the concept of markedness and its key role in defining the constraints on a language's possible changes. x
  • 16
    How Children Learn to Speak
    Children acquire language spontaneously without being explicitly taught how. In examining how this is accomplished, you learn about the strong evidence that such ability is innate and that much of language acquisition is about the ability to master underlying rules rather than to memorize words. x
  • 17
    How We Learn Languages as Adults
    Unlike learning a first language, learning a second can be a slippery slope, with rules of the first often bleeding into the second. You learn why this is so and what factors can make the process easier. x
  • 18
    How You Talk and How They Talk
    You encounter the field of sociolinguistics, which investigates how social factors like class affect the way in which people say words or arrange their sentences grammatically. x
  • 19
    How Class Defines Speech
    You continue your examination of sociolinguistics with a look at two ways in which researchers have presented the impact of social factors on the way people express themselves, including Basil Bernstein's controversial hypothesis that working-class people use a more restricted code of language that hampers educational achievement. x
  • 20
    Speaking Differently, Changing the Language
    You learn how variation is often an early sign of change in a language and that the working class, because its members are less constrained by prescriptive norms and maintain new variants as "in-group" markers, is the source of most change in a language. x
  • 21
    Language and Gender
    How we speak is determined significantly by whether we are men or women. You learn the many ways by which this difference is brought to bear, including grammatical markers, the social favor or disfavor of a form, and other social factors. x
  • 22
    Languages Sharing the World—Bilingualism
    With 6,000 languages coexisting in just 200 or so nations, bilingualism and multilingualism are not oddities; they are norms. What happens in such a situation? This lecture shows you the results of bilingualism according to social context. x
  • 23
    Languages Sharing a Sentence—Code-Switching
    One of the consequences of widespread bilingualism and multilingualism is the use of two languages within one conversation and even within the same sentence. This does not occur randomly but according to specific linguistic traffic rules and social factors—a phenomenon known as code-switching. x
  • 24
    The Rules of Conversation
    Linguists and sociologists have discovered that conversation between people—with not only its conveyance of data but also its interruptions and strategies—is guided by subconsciously controlled rules, just as syntax is. You gain insight into those rules in this lecture on conversation analysis. x
  • 25
    What Is This Thing Called Language?
    You meet Ferdinand de Saussure, who established linguistics as a discipline concerned with language in a present-tense sense rather than as a historical procession. De Saussure inaugurated the study of language as a human activity, rather than as something recorded on paper. x
  • 26
    Speech as Action
    Much of what we say is as much about doing something as saying something; as much about serving a social function as communicating. This is the concept termed the "speech act," and you learn in this lecture how the various kinds of speech acts have been explained and categorized. x
  • 27
    Uses of Talk from Culture to Culture
    How a language is actually used in various situations can vary widely from culture to culture, where differing social norms define how a speaker functions within the language. You gain an introduction to what is called the ethnography of communication. x
  • 28
    Does Language Channel Thought? The Evidence
    This lecture introduces you to a seductive theory known as the Sapir-Whorf Hypothesis—the idea that a language's particular vocabulary and grammar determine how its speakers process the world—and its inherent problems, despite its persistent popular acceptance. x
  • 29
    Does Language Channel Thought? New Findings
    You continue your exploration of the Whorfian hypothesis, learning that sociological concerns as well as linguistic ones have determined many of its adherents' approaches, before moving on to interesting new studies that suggest a less stark version of the Whorfian idea. x
  • 30
    Is Language Going to the Dogs?
    Linguists have had little success in convincing the public that there is no such thing as "bad grammar" and that casual speech is not an imperfect version of "proper" language. You explore why this is so and why past changes in English are viewed as acceptable in a way that current, ongoing change is not. x
  • 31
    Why Languages Are Never Perfect
    You continue your examination of the argument for descriptivism over prescriptivism begun in the previous lecture, learning that there is no human language without logical lapses and imperfections and why there is little point in trying to build one. x
  • 32
    The Evolution of Writing
    Writing is not language but only a secondary expression of it, a representation of it on the page. This lecture explains how writing first emerged, exploring the picture-based system that became abstract cuneiform, Egyptian hieroglyphics, and the alphabetic system that became the source of the Roman alphabet. x
  • 33
    Writing Systems
    You explore the Chinese, Japanese, and Korean writing systems before plunging into the fascinating story behind the decoding of the extinct Greek writing system known as Linear B, discovered on the island of Crete in 1900. Mistakenly assumed to be a lost Cretan language, Linear B was ultimately deciphered in 1953 and shown to be a form of Greek. x
  • 34
    Doing Linguistics—With a Head Start
    You get the opportunity to learn something about actually being a linguist as you explore the grammar of a language called Saramaccan—a hybrid of English, Portuguese, and African languages, with a little Dutch—which is spoken in the Republic of Surinam in South America. x
  • 35
    Doing Linguistics—From the Ground Up
    In this lecture, your foray into practical linguistics involves an obscure, difficult, and peculiar language—Kabardian—presented as if you were encountering it for the first time. Spoken in the Caucasus Mountains of Russia, Kabardian's sound system and syntax show various concepts you have seen in this course. x
  • 36
    The Evolution of Language
    Interest in how language emerged in humans, long dormant in the field, has recently re-emerged. You conclude the course with a brief look at some of this new work, including Ray Jackendorf's assertions that sentence generation, contrary to Chomskyan theory, begins with semantics, not syntax. x

Lecture Titles

Clone Content from Your Professor tab

What's Included

What Does Each Format Include?

Video DVD
Instant Video Includes:
  • Download 36 video lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
DVD Includes:
  • 36 lectures on 6 DVDs
  • 216-page printed course guidebook
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps

What Does The Course Guidebook Include?

Video DVD
Course Guidebook Details:
  • 216-page printed course guidebook
  • Suggested readings
  • Questions to consider
  • Timeline

Enjoy This Course On-the-Go with Our Mobile Apps!*

  • App store App store iPhone + iPad
  • Google Play Google Play Android Devices
  • Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Tablet + Firephone
*Courses can be streamed from anywhere you have an internet connection. Standard carrier data rates may apply in areas that do not have wifi connections pursuant to your carrier contract.

Your professor

John McWhorter

About Your Professor

John McWhorter, Ph.D.
Columbia University
Dr. John McWhorter is Associate Professor of English and Comparative Literature at Columbia University. He previously was Associate Professor of Linguistics at the University of California, Berkeley. He earned his B.A. from Rutgers University, his M.A. from New York University, and his Ph.D. in Linguistics from Stanford University. Professor McWhorter specializes in language change and language contact. He is the author of...
Learn More About This Professor
Also By This Professor

Reviews

Understanding Linguistics: The Science of Language is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 80.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very in-depth and really neat! I would recommend this course to anyone who has an interest in languages and how they work! There is a ton of information in every lecture and additional resources to really dive into any of the topics if you're curious to learn more!
Date published: 2018-06-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing I purchased this course based on the many excellent reviews but am so disappointed in it that I'm trying to return it. I do not find the presentation engaging at all, and there are times when I feel the instructor is rushing. I forced myself through the first six lectures, then gave up. I haven't been able to reach customer service yet, but if and when I do, I will be returning this course.
Date published: 2018-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely fascinating course This is one of three courses I have bought on the same subject matter from the same Prof. I have been excited about the subject and the Prof's presentation is excellent. The three courses, this one being the basic one, open the learner to a deep perception of language. The exposure to Noam Chomsky's hypotheses is a real enlightening moment.
Date published: 2018-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Semantics, Syntax and Oh My! This is the second course I have taken from Professor McWhorter, the other being “Story of Human Language”, which I liked so much I purchased another of his courses. That course was much easier than this one. With no background or any linguistic training even the terminology was difficult for me to assimilate. At times terms like morphemes, bilabials, velars, and many, many others left me gasping for breath. Dr. McWhorter does a fine job in his explanations, but my total unfamiliarity with the subject matter meant lots of backing up and going to the glossary. I am sure that the partially initiated will have no trouble grasping most of the lectures on first viewing, but be aware that this is not a casual course. The upside is that there is plenty of richness and depth in the material presented. The material is fascinating, if technical. On the good side, I finally learned why I can’t distinguish between ‘B’ and ‘V’ in Spanish, but I am not sure that I really care if I know exactly the difference between a fricative and a glide (learned it anyway), Fortunately Professor McWhorter’s delivery leavens the potential dryness of the material, as he interjects personal anecdotes and makes humorous, though outrageous comparisons while explaining technical, linguistic points. For example comparing some theoretical points of syntax to Bette Davis movies is superb, but not quite as good as using his cat, Laura as a comparison to another fine point. As I read other reviews, it occurs to me that Professor McWhorter’s style is much like Dr. Greenberg’s. A delivery that appeals to many and is completely off-putting to a few. I fall in the “love his digressions” camp, but even if you do not, there is much to learn from this course. It is also the case (raised by many reviewers) that he does not use “perfect” grammar. Some of this I am sure is deliberate, as he makes the distinction between prescriptive and descriptive. He makes the point that language is always changing and many of the prescriptive “rules” are arbitrary. As in, “a preposition is a poor choice of words to end a sentence with”.
Date published: 2018-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I've watched two other courses on language with McWhorter as instructor. They were both good but this one is the best. He is funny and quirky and interesting. He is at his best when illustrating some linguistic concept with a story about his cat. I wish he could be a bit more critical of Chomsky's concepts which tend to lack empirical bases. The visual supports were excellent.
Date published: 2017-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent introduction to fascinating linguistics I did graduate work in linguistics back in the beginning of the 1970's just as new ideas were taking hold, and then I went on to other things. I bought this now to see how linguistics developed after I left it. The instructor, John McWhorter, presented everything that's been going on since then in a very entertaining and personable style. When I was studying it, almost all the new ideas were based on English, which I was sceptical about. McWhorter really knows the area, and presented these concepts based on languages from all over the globe, some of which he knows personally and some through his readings. I was fascinated and entertained. If you know a few languages, you will love this course. If you only know English, you'll be inspired to learn others.
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A favorite professor McWhorter is a fabulous professor. His presentations are extremely interesting, and he has a unique and entertaining sense of humor, which makes what one would think to be a rather dry subject very interesting. He is right up there on a level with Neil deGrasse Tyson.
Date published: 2016-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Language deciphered As varied as human languages can be, there are rules and basics that all of them follow. Understanding that makes all languages make more sense and breaks the tendency to make some kind of "better to worse" hierarchy among them. Once we see that, we can enjoy the wonderful variation in human expression. This is definitely a treasure of a course, and Dr. McWhorter's soft and understated delivery and humor make following it a delight.
Date published: 2016-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Entertaining and Informative. The first few lectures on the International Phonetic Alphabet, and his reference to it in the many examples which follow, are a revelation. And his 'voices' are a continual source of hilarity. Great.
Date published: 2016-08-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting and informative This course was very interesting and informative. It covered the subject in an easy-to follow way and emphasized learning and presenting information rather than academic 'showing off.' I recommend this to anyone who is interested in anthropology and the formation of cultures.
Date published: 2016-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great presenter - but American! I've only listed to the first 3 lectures, but am really enjoying the course. Professor McWhorter is an inspirational speaker who is able to bring a rather dry subject to life. I have just one (minor) criticism - when explaining the phonetic alphabet he refers to "English". There are of course many varieties of English, his happens to be American, whereas I teach British English and the symbols for some of the vowels and all of the diphthongs are different. However, on the plus side, I now know how to pronounce the Russian "i" as in the Russian words for "we", "you", etc. Looking forward to the rest of the course.
Date published: 2016-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent course, excellent presenter My wife and I really enjoyed this course, and we regard it as the best of the dozen or so GC courses we have watched so far. A wide range of topics were covered during the 36 lectures; all were fascinating. Just as one example, we loved the lecture on code-switching, since we previously lived in an area where it happens frequently, and we have always wondered about the phenomenon. Professor McWhorter comes across as highly knowledgeable, and his delivery is precise and articulate. We have nothing negative to say about this course, except to wish it had been longer. However, we see that his other course on human language has gone on sale, so we will order it later today.
Date published: 2015-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grt job John Really really enjoyed it, was interesting, informative and entertaining. John is one of the best lecturers the Grt Courses have. learn so much and was hooked the whole time. one of the best courses available anywhere on anything. i would have liked a bit more info on the nuts and bolts of how languages change and evolve. he does talk about it but i think he could gone the extra mile on the detail. regardless still a must buy
Date published: 2015-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Language is Fascinating Language is something that is normally taken for granted. While taking this course I became intrigued by various aspects of language. This course is a great introduction to linguistics because it provides a lot of information that someone new to linguistics can comprehend, and it wets one's appetite to learn more.
Date published: 2015-01-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Understanding Linguistics: The Science of Language You are getting very Sleepy, Sleepy, Sleepy. Should be a Hypnotism Course. Speaker puts you to sleep.
Date published: 2015-01-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for people who value good grammar If you believe that some languages are naturally better and more expressive than others, and that within the English language, there is such a thing as good grammar, then this course is not for you. You will be made to feel that those are uninformed, Neanderthal opinions by Professor McWhorter. His quirky, wise-acre attitude seemed to poison the whole series of lectures, even though, now and then, there were some factual points of interest. I have purchased about a dozen Great Courses, and this is the only one that I would NOT rate as being worth four or five stars. Fortunately, I was able to re-sell the course on Amazon (at a price less than I paid for it, of course). Too bad GC did not choose a more dignified, more objective professor to teach linguistics.
Date published: 2014-07-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent! But. . . . I love Dr. McWhorter. He is delightful, engaging, at times zany, and thoroughly knowledgeable in his explanations. I am very happy with what I learned in this course, and the content is "meaty" enough to want to go back and do it all over again to glean more the second time around. BUT I have to laugh at Dr. McWhorter's obvious adherence to the "science" of evolution. Lecture 36 made me LAUGH OUT LOUD at the unbelievable theories of how humans evolved into talking beings. I'm assuming that, if asked directly, he would say he does not closely subscribe to any religion. But the ludicrous theories he proposes in this lecture certainly take a lot more faith to swallow than the logical Biblical explanation that humans are CREATED beings who arrived READY MADE with the ability to talk. Instead, we are supposed to understand that we broke off from the chimpanzee line 6 million years ago and a mere two animo acid differentiation accounts for us being fully talking humans, and chimpanzees still being, well, chimpanzees. Thank you for the laugh, but no thank you for presenting that preposterous theory as carrying any sort of truth. The Biblical account is the only one that makes logical sense, but that wasn't even mentioned in the lecture. I guess that's too taboo among academia halls today and Dr. McWhorter is trying to maintain the status quo there. Still, great job, Dr. McWhorter. I am capable enough to chew on the meat you provide in your lectures and spit out the bones.
Date published: 2014-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb, Normally not my Cup of Tea This series is superb. Whereas I tend toward the hard sciences, this piqued my interest and, in fact, it's one of the best courses I've purchased. First of all, the lectures are 15' not 30'. This was a huge factor in that I could listen to a lecture on the fly without having to stop mid way through. Often I listen to podcasts simply because of this. I wish more courses offered this. Secondly, the lecturer is hilarious, articulate (should be for a linguistics series!), engaging, and the course material is just great. I'd be surprised if most listeners wouldn't enjoy this course. Great Courses: Please consider more courses in 15' segments.
Date published: 2014-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant, Informative, Entertaining, and Memorabl I have enjoyed McWhorter's writings, and I was overawed by his spectacular verbal skill as a lecturer. McWhorter's overall approach to language was already very familiar to me from his (and many other) books, but several ideas from the series—particularly the illustration of his cat's tendency to worm its way into a suitcase—have really stuck with me. I've become something of an apologist for a "McWhorterian" view of language, and he's a master at finding illustrations and rhetorical strategies for advancing that view. It's shocking to me how fuzzy educated people often are about how words mean, as it were. The only portion of the lectures I found underwhelming were those dealing with the initial formation of human language. As with materialist efforts at describing the emergence of human consciousness, I am unconvinced. I do not believe in a Deus ex machina, but a God who made us in His image. We speak (and think) because He does, according to Genesis 1.
Date published: 2014-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great course for beginner I was very pleased with this course. It provided exactly what I was looking for. It gave a very complete look at the various disciplines within linguistics, giving me the background to consider which aspect I might pursue more deeply. I found Dr. McWhorter very entertaining as well as very easy to understand. I was amazed at his ability to pronounce many different languages with sounds not familiar to an English speaker.
Date published: 2013-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Execellent course for my purpose I read reviews before taking the course and felt I had to come back and add my two cents after taking it. I feel some of the reviews I read were entirely too critical (picky). Sounds like some of them feel elitist and Dr. McWhorter didn't live up to their standards. I come to the course as an ordinary person who works in another field but happens to have a strong interest in language. I found this the perfect course for me. It gives me a broad view of all the disciplines within linguistics presented in a way that I can easily comprehend. It gives me a starting point to decide what aspect of linguistics I would like to pursue further. I liked Dr. McWhorter's style and presentation. Not only did I not detect a lisp, I was actually quite impressed with how he was able to pronounce some sounds that are not used in English. It's a very good course for a beginner.
Date published: 2013-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Impressive course, condescending teacher A firmly-recommended course for anyone with an interest in languages or linguistics. No previous specialised knowledge is needed. Be aware that Professor McWhorter has a rather cocky attitude, often injects tangential material and asides of anecdotal personal interest, smiling at his cleverness and knowledge of trivia. His minor speech impediment, a lisp, is not troublesome to me; nor does his inordinately excessive use of "and" bother me; not even his cringeworthy impersonations! I sense that he feels uncomfortable in his teacher role, and he is very class-conscious. Just soar above the quirks & presentation shortfalls, because there's an enjoyable, truly valuable, educational course ahead! This highly-qualified lecturer and author starts off with excellent explanations of the International Phonetic Alphabet: stops, fricatives, nasals etc, and on to phenomes, morphemes, words, sentences, and we're right at the heart of linguistics. Lecture 7 (Deep Structure and Surface Structure) felt contrived, gave me a headache; lecture 19 on Saussure was flat. Unfortunately, Dr McWhorter is not especially mindful of grammar. One sentence he uses to illustrate a point is "Who do you want to win the game?" Clearly, the "Who" should be "Whom" but he never mentions this. OK, I realise hardly anyone would actually SAY "Whom" in speaking this sentence, but why use an ungrammatical sentence? (unless to consider the error itself, which is NOT the reason this sentence is used) I noticed his lack of concern over grammar in his other Great Courses series, in which he states that using the colloquial "Me and Billie" as the subject of a sentence is perfectly acceptable (as opposed to the standard "Billie and I"). Again, in this course, he promotes "Me and Billie" as the subject of a sentence. I wonder how he feels about the role of L'Académie française? Me think me know! In his example of a language which uses a "do" word to form verb tenses (the periphrastic form), for "I closed" the professor uses the Welsh "Nes i agor". However, the standard Welsh for "I closed" is the one word "Agorais" (inflected form which does not use a "do" auxiliary). The "do" form is generally not used throughout Wales; in the north, the positive marker "Mi" starts the periphrastic form: "Mi wnes i agor". One astoundingly gigantic howler by Dr McWhorter in this course is "It seems very normal to we Indo-European speakers". OUCH! That "we" should be "us". Basic grammar. I observed a few errors in material onscreen, e.g. a grave instead of an acute accent mark over the "e" in the Spanish male pronoun "él". Spanish does not use a grave accent mark. Sure, a small point, but this is a course teaching linguistics. In Spanish, "el" means "the" and "él" means "he". In another instance, the onscreen Spanish for "I am writing" is shown as "you estoy escribiendo" instead of the correct "yo estoy escribiendo". Lesson 12 (Recovering Languages of the Past) is a winner ~ right up my street! Lecture 17 (How We Learn Languages as Adults) is extremely useful. Lectures 28 and 29 (Does Language Channel Thought?) indeed give pause for thought, fascinating. The lectures on the evolution of writing and writing systems are classic stuff! Dr McWhorter gives Thomas Young the accolades he deserves for his major contribution in deciphering the hieroglyphs on the Rosetta Stone (usually only Champollion is credited). The 206-page guidebook is a handy, important reference, and the professor has included manythought-provoking questions to ponder... but WHY OH WHY isn't the International Phonetic Alphabet chart shown? Or at least a chart of all the sounds in English? That's a significant and critical omission, but don't despair: the IPA chart may be found and printed out from various sources on the Web.
Date published: 2013-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome course Absolutely the best course yet for me. Never boring. Clear presentation. Made linguistics fun.
Date published: 2012-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very worthwhile but... McWhorter knows much about linguistics and language[s]. You can learn much about English compared to other languages and how English fits in with them.The course gets technical, but he explains many concepts if you stick through the whole course. The possible downside is his manner. He is extremely informal,too much so for some. He does not stand still enough,crosses his legs while talking , holds the cup of whatever while talking. I am used to professors stopping for a moment for a sip and then continuing.He sometimes holds the mug while talking,very distracting to me.He does a lot of imitations in a falsetto voice and gets distracted by trivia.When he is on track he imparts a great deal of technical info.in a used friendly way.I wish the English professors I had as a major were as good overall as he is. Watch all the episodes and learn a great deal.
Date published: 2012-03-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Story of Human Language was much Better This is my second course by Prof McWhorter after I listened to his first course (Story of Human Language) which I liked and learnt a lot from (I gave it 4 stars). However, this course in my view is too bland compared to 'Story of Human Language'. The coure is organised among different aspects of linguistics (which is the study of human language). Although the first quarter or so of the course started reasonably well with the description of the IPA sounds, phonemes, morphology, syntax, semantics, pragmatics, one-off switches of the grammar of various languages (which was very insightful I thought!) etc., after that the course became too boring for me. The final two lectures about the study of two languages from the perspective of a linguist were quite good. I hope there are more lectures like these in this course! There are also some overlaps (total of 4 lectures or so) with the 'story of human language' course, for example when this course covered the origins of human language as well as whether languages channel thought. Prof McWorther's presentation itself in my view is fine. He has his mode of jokes which was 'unique' compared to that of other presenters from The Great Courses (I have made comments on this in my review of his other course), but I don't mind this style in this course.
Date published: 2012-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great content, questionable presentation First off, I did like the course content very much. There are plenty of noteworthy studies and the subject matter was often engrossing. But to be honest, for me the somewhat noxious presentation ruined my overall experience. Starting with the good: This is an analysis of how language is used in the real world. You can expect to learn about the intricacies of everyday speech; the sociolinguistics of how gender impacts speech; class and race differences; bilingualism and learning languages; children learning to talk; the IPA transcription system and how we articulate sounds; the descriptive vs. prescriptive debate, etc. Yes, there is a good deal of value in this course when you realize you can observe speech at the next dinner party right in your own home or contemplate language change. He talked about some very interesting studies done on how we use language and how it’s changing over time. The charts and graphs were helpful, and the ones about the sound system were essential. The parts on linguistic forensics were fascinating (assimilation, consonant weakening, and comparative reconstruction). The inclusion of foreign languages (Russian, Polish, Japanese, Korean, etc.) added to many lectures, for example to illustrate code switching or highlight grammatical differences, etc. The last 12 lectures, more philosophical, were thought provoking. The Guidebook is thick, comprehensive, and well written. To sum up, the content and sequencing were rewarding and stimulating. It’s what I expect of TGC courses. But sadly, the presentation was terribly marred by Professor McWhorter. Don’t get me wrong. It’s not like it was 18 unbearable hours. When he’s on topic and not flouting some of Grice’s Maxims, he’s quite affable and intelligent. And I loved the lava lamp—very kitsch yet cool. But… If I had $1 for every “AND,” I could buy the entire TGC inventory of DVDs and a gift certificate for future releases. His posture, swinging and swaying behind the lecture stand, was at times maddening. Having his hands always in his pockets was irksome. I’d certainly hate to be his neighbor, friend, colleague, or student because every lecture is riddled with condescending, belittling, gossipy remarks on just about everyone he’s ever known. Any ol’ idea that came into his mind ran out of his mouth unfiltered, so his presentation style is clearly very casual. I’d have no problem with this laid-back approach if not for the frequently toxic commentary. While I love TGC professors who show a bit of individuality and share RELEVANT anecdotes from their personal life, this lecturer mostly shared an endless list of pet peeves. In Lecture 24, he ended by telling us that TGC producers wanted him to smile more at the end of lectures, so he gave a big haughty grin as smug as he could muster. He’s exactly the opposite of what I expect from TGC professors. Admittedly, by the end of the course I warmed up to his delivery and found him endearing. I’ll probably even get his other course (on audio). Every other lecture I thought about FedExing this straight back to Chantilly for a refund, but the subject matter / content offsets the delivery.
Date published: 2011-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fascinating If you are new to linguistics, and if you are considering this series, I think it is very worthwhile. I'm only half way through it and I'm already addicted. I had to write a review now because I'll forget later. This is an overview of linguistics and the many branches it covers. It starts with a basic understanding of phonetics, the international phonetic alphabet and builds up through the way we communicated and learn a language. You won't end up with a degree in LInguistics, but you will be better informed to pursue a deeper understanding and more specialised learning. These lectures would be useless without watching the video, so those who are looking for audio only, would find it impossible to follow.
Date published: 2011-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good overview This was in general a good course with some shortcomings. The professor has an engaging presentation style and a great sense of humor and his incredible ability to present complex topics makes it easy to follow more complicated topics. My main criticisms are (1) The rather incomplete coverage of philosophy of language. About 6 lectures were devoted to philosophy and mainly "does language channel thought". There was no mention of Wittgenstein or Derrida nor other aspects of language philosophy. (2) The childhood language section did not mention aberrancies and disorders such as autism or dyslexia. Granted this in not a clinical course, a brief mention of why these children do not develop as expected would have been appropriate. Overall, I do recommned this course. For those interested in philosophy only, lectures 25-30 (stressing philosophy) can be listened to on their own and do not depend on knowledge of the previous sections.
Date published: 2011-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Interesting material, well explained Everything about this course lived up to my expectations. The amount and types of content were just right for the 18 hours. Dr. McWhorter explains concepts well and offers helpful analogies. I looked forward to the next lecture, even near the end of the course. I definitely recommend this course. Quibbles with the presentation are the pronounced "and"s he uses and a quirky sense of humor. I didn't find the "and"s nearly as distracting as some professors' pronounced use of "um". Most of the time I appreciated the humor as seasoning among the meaty technical material, but some might be distracted by some of the good doctor's tangential observations.
Date published: 2011-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great course, very informative Dr. McWhorter does another great job at presenting this field. I'd already enjoyed his Story of Human Language. While there is a little overlap between the two (they're both about human language, after all), he does a great job of making this one almost a completely different course. In fact, he clarifies this at the very beginning. One of my research areas (I'm a computer-science/engineering professor) is natural language processing and computational linguistics. Although much of what is presented here is material I already know, I was almost always engaged and found some aspect that was new and intriguing. Dr. McWhorter seems more comfortable presenting here than he did in the other series. Still, his analogies, humor, and side comments tend to be a little off sometimes. Apparently he has interests in certain esoteric aspects of American life and history, like silent films and Bette Davis, but these examples don't generally connect, in my opinion. (And we're about the same age.) He tends to spend too much time explaining sometimes how the analogy is supposed to work (e.g., implication), when the point of analogy is to let it do the speaking for itself. But otherwise, I thoroughly enjoyed this series and recommend it to anyone with an interest in language and linguistics.
Date published: 2011-11-03
  • y_2019, m_7, d_20, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_74
  • loc_en_US, sid_2270, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 72.65ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Customers Who Bought This Course Also Bought